Currie Cup latest – Peyper, Jonker to ref semis
18 Oct 2011
Keo.co.za brings you news from the Currie Cup.
Peyper, Jonker to ref semis – Jaco Peyper and Marius Jonker will officiate the Currie Cup semi-finals this Saturday.
Peyper will take charge of the WP/Lions clash in Johannesburg and will be partnered by Stuart Berry and Cobus Wessels. Jonker will officiate the Sharks/Cheetahs game in Durban and will have Pro Legoete and Marc van Zyl as his assistants.
Burger escapes suspension – Schalk Burger was cited for a no-arms tackle during WP’s victory over the Pumas last Saturday and was found not guilty at the disciplinary hearing on Monday.
The tackle was made during the second half on Pumas lock JP Mostert. Burger was not given a ban at his hearing, making him available for selection for WP’s semi-final encounter against the Lions in Johannesburg on Saturday.
It’s been reported that there was a complaint from Pumas coach Jimmy Stonehouse, who used it as an example of how referees ‘favour the strong over the weak’.
Elstadt set for early return – Lock Rynhardt Elstadt could make surprise return in WP’s semi-final clash against the Lions this Saturday.
The 21-year-old suffered a serious knee injury during the Super Rugby semi-final defeat to the Crusaders and was set to miss the rest of the season.
However, WP head coach Allister Coetzee confirmed that Elstadt could make the match 22 this weekend, especially with Hilton Lobberts struggling with a shoulder injury.
‘We will monitor Rynhardt and see how it goes in terms of the technical side,’ said Coetzee. ‘His knee is 100%. We have a lineout session on Wednesday and that normally puts a lot of strain on the knees.’
In other injury news, flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis missed Monday’s practice after suffering a head injury against the Pumas last weekend, but is expected to recover in time for the trip to Ellis Park. Gio Aplon and Conrad Jantjes will provide pivot cover.

132 Comments
18 Oct 2011, 10:40 am
Unneccessary Dragons!
18 Oct 2011, 10:42 am
There is no need to play him. Let him rest completely and get over his injuries. We will need him big time next year….all of the teams will be gunning to be S.A number 1 team!
18 Oct 2011, 10:43 am
Rather give Etzebeth a taste of top flight rugby.
18 Oct 2011, 10:52 am
Agree. Still it’s good to see an early recovery.
18 Oct 2011, 11:08 am
oh dear…did someone say the lions will win the cc?
hopefully this will once and for all expose the fraud that is john mitchell.
no, of course it wont…that will have to wait until the middle of nex year…
18 Oct 2011, 11:55 am
My team for the weekend:
15 Gio Aplon
14 Jean De Villiers
13 Jaque Fourie
12 Juan De Jongh
11 Bryan Habana
10 Dimitri Ketrakillis
9 Nic Groom
8 Nick Koster
7 Siya Kolisi
6 Schalk Burger
5 Adriaan Fondse
4 Hilton Lobberts
3 Frans Marlhebe
2 Tiaan Liebenberg
1 JC Kritzinger
16 Deon Fourie
17 Brok Harris
18 Rynhardt Elstadt
19 ???????????
20 Louis Schroeder
21 Conrad Jantjes
22 Danie Poolman
18 Oct 2011, 11:58 am
Habana & Lobberts won’t get game time at any other team in SA! advantage Lions!
18 Oct 2011, 12:34 pm
What had happened to Anton van Zyl?
18 Oct 2011, 12:36 pm
au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir… Unfortunately there are ******* like you. Blabbering for the sake of blabbering and losing all credibility! Why register and leaving **** like that is beyond me! If you do watch rugby and enjoy the rivalry between two old foes, please take note that the Lions are back. Forget about last week, it will be a good and close game and when the Lion’s lift the Currie Cup, I hope you will please log in and blabber again….idiot!
18 Oct 2011, 12:38 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-6: Nizaam Carr at 19 maybe?
18 Oct 2011, 13:27 pm
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-8: He returned to the UK again.
18 Oct 2011, 13:28 pm
Yessssssss! Good news about Elstadt!
@sparticus(sparticus)-11 and stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-8: Im I heard he has gone to the Lions…
Tis a shame – he is a great leader and player (ala Baa-Baas game)
18 Oct 2011, 13:33 pm
Obviously with all the exitement about Elstadt, everyone forgot to remember that Steenkamp will more than likely feature against the Lions, seeing as he missed the previous game with a stomach bug… team will more than likely look like this:
15. Aplon
14. Engelbrecht
13. Fourie
12. De Villiers
11. Habana
10. Catrakilis
09. Groom
08. Burger
07. Kolisi
06. Louw
05. Steenkamp
04. Fondse
03. Harris
02. Liebenberg
01. Kritzinger
16. Fourie
17. Malherbe
18. Elstadt
19. Koster
20. Schreuder
21. Jantjes
22. De Jongh
18 Oct 2011, 13:35 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-6: Jean Div is too slow for wing ! I would keep JJ and Habs as wings. Where is the redhead prop ? Kitchoff ? I would bring on Carr in the second half in place of Kolisi and move Schalk to 7 with Carr at 6. I feel WP should easily beat the Lions , the only reason the Lions are did so well is simply becos they competed with teams that had important players at the World Cup. Sorry nothing personal , I see a WP/Sharks final to be honest.
One more thing , the Bulls fans must be a little nervous cos without their senior boks they seem to be the 5th best team in SA and as it is their senior boks are not coming back. Time will tell.
15 Gio Aplon
14 JJ
13 Jaque Fourie
12 Jean De Villiers
11 Bryan Habana
10 Dimitri Ketrakillis
9 Nic Groom
8 Nick Koster
7 Siya Kolisi
6 Schalk Burger
5 Adriaan Fondse
4 Rynhardt Elstadt
3 Brock Harris
2 Tiaan Liebenberg
1 JC Kritzinger
16 Deon Fourie
17 Frans Marlhebe
18 Hilton Lobberts
19 Nizaam Carr
20 Louis Schroeder
21 Conrad Jantjes
22 Juan De Jongh
18 Oct 2011, 13:38 pm
@thesaint(thesaint)-13: oops , forgot about De Kock ! I agree he should start then but I can tell u now so will Koster. He is WP long term number 8. Loosies will be ,
8 – Koster
7 – Kolisi
6 – Schalk
Wuth Carr and Louw covering on the bench , should Elkstadt be fit one of them might even fall away as he can cover lock and loosie.
18 Oct 2011, 13:45 pm
@sparticus
Let’s not forget about the return of Vermeulen one of these days, I think Koster does too many stupid things ie. knocking the ball in contact, getting isolated losing turnovers, backing himself to run EVERY ball, falling off tackles, agreed, he has its moment, but the future is hardly a reason to keep him in the starting XV, play him off the bench, as they do with Fourie. Koster is too much of a “Bobby Skinstad” type player than I am completely comfortable with… At the moment the WP Front 8 should look at stability ahead of dynamic, let the backs run the show, just give them the ball.
18 Oct 2011, 13:52 pm
I like Catrikilis, with the Super 15 looming, I can easily see him alongside Grant and Van Aswegen, all three are hard on defense and choose to take the ball flat, Van Aswegen and Catrikilis can also take the ball deeper because of their prodigeous boots. Bar another injury nightmare like 2011, I think Coetzee will be able to switch them around nicely, different horses for different courses. IMO Van Aswegen will probably compete with Johan Goosen of the Cheetahs for national honours come Tri(Quad)-Nations 2012, Lambie will remain a fullback. At this time though, should Goosen pass the Super 15 baptism of fire, I can see him being a greater player than even Daniel Carter in the future…that boy has it all.
18 Oct 2011, 13:53 pm
I say bring it on Lions. Lets see if you’re all that , after beating WP a few weeks ago you’re expecting the same to happen again… HUGE mistake – you bunch of toothless circus lions.
18 Oct 2011, 13:53 pm
Lions are k@k and is all this hype about resurgence etc etc. The fact is the lions did well because of the best players at WC. Lions got a moerse reality check last weekend and will again this weekend
18 Oct 2011, 13:56 pm
John mitchell is a showboat and has ackerman who is as thick as ten planks and another showboat spencer who hasn’t coached prior to lions. Winning combinations huh
18 Oct 2011, 13:57 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-19: @Slappes(Slappes)-18: I don’t think it is just a Cut and Paste WP Victory…it’s gonna be tough.
WP forwards needs to bring it! If the battle upfront remains equal, WP might have the edge…
18 Oct 2011, 13:58 pm
Anyone know when Vermeulen will be back?
18 Oct 2011, 13:59 pm
Ja the Bulls were a lot worse than the WP (1 point), especially the last couple of weeks in the tournament. WP will get Schalk, old Jean, old Habana, Aplon, de Jongh back for next year. Is Jaque Fourie going to play next year? the Bulls will get Hougaard, Steyn, Spies, Ralepele, Sadie and Engelbrecht. Not a big difference? Combine that with the fact that the Bulls changed their gameplan with a new coach in a couple of months’ time and still ended only 1 point behind WP.
I am not saying the Bulls will make the playoffs of Super15 2012, but if you take into account that Pienaar will coach the Vodacom Cup, and he will take some consistency into the Currie Cup, and our U19s and U21s is top of the log, although at least 4 stars of the Currie Cup season were U21s. Face it, the Bulls are setting themselves up nicely for the next era and they are already miles ahead of the other provinces in their planning.
By the sounds of it they will also employ a not too “boring” gameplan in future.
Lions lack true leadership, Joshua strauss is a very good player but not a very good captain. The ref gave a dubious penalty against lions, strauss walked to him and ask if it was a penalty and the ref said yes. Strauss walked way. Ridiculous
@thesaint(thesaint)-21:
Yeah and they were manhandled by the Pumas! Very worried about the pack.
18 Oct 2011, 14:06 pm
I read the leopards coach made himself not available for bok coach posisition.
Bwahahahahahahaha
Huge loss for Boks, how can we go on?
Bwahahahahahahah
18 Oct 2011, 14:06 pm
@Horings(Horings)-23: WP teams u19 and u21 also there and thereabouts…they had to contend with giving players up weekly because of injuries to the senior team, we even drew u19′s…, still all three of our representative teams made the cut…
Take into account also the returns of Elstadt, Bekker, Vermeulen, Grant and maybe one or two surprise buys here and there, and a lucky dip out of the Varsity Cup and Bob’s your uncle…
18 Oct 2011, 14:09 pm
My only concern is our current tight five. They are not good enough, we shouldve invested in forwards for next year:
Coenie
Liebenberg
WP Nel
Elstadt
Bekker
Brussouw
Burger
Vermeulen
18 Oct 2011, 14:11 pm
Jimmy Stonehouse…too much steroids in his early life. The bloody fool Pumas lock ran into Burgers chest and nearly died… someone tell him to stop doing it, I can hear the ref now, “Yellow Card for chest charging” sounds like an offence Dolly Parton might be guilty of.
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-28:
Hold that thought.
Regarding the lions game, my only concern is the plane, if the plane lands safely then we will win
18 Oct 2011, 14:13 pm
The lions will see on saturday if they have progressed , I mean after getting drilled in the S15 they got the CC from heaven. I say Province by 15+.
18 Oct 2011, 14:16 pm
@thesaint I am not saying Province will not do well, because they have had their structures in place a while now, but to say the Bulls are the 5th best team in SA, is like saying the Lions are the best team in SA.
Province had some ridiculous luck with injuries this season, but where the Stormers are a couple of years into their era, we are starting all over again, but I do foresee us to be serious contendors in next year’s Currie Cup already, because the Bulls are rebuilding from a solid base.
I must say I think the next era will be better than the previous one as all our Unions have their house in order. The previous era had great individuals that changed the game and the next era will be built on the strides those individuals made in SA rugby. Just compare the state of our rugby in 2003 to 2011. In 2003 the Provinces were a mess, and only the Bulls started to work on a long term plan. The Sharks joined them in 2005 and WP joined in 2009. It seems as if the Lions also got some good structures in place now.
18 Oct 2011, 14:19 pm
Jonker to fck over the Cheetahs again like he did in the S15?
18 Oct 2011, 14:24 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-9:
gee whiskers man…i’m sorry i’ve rubbed you up the wrong way, please accept my apology.
i honestly do not think the lions will do it now that the sharks, wp (consider that elstadt and possibly etsebeth is also in the frame) and the cheetahs have their springboks back but if they do i will log in and congratulate them and all their long suffering fans.
in all fairness, take note that the lions will only really be back if there is a top 4 or 5 showing in the s15 next season, but good luck all the same.
@Horings(Horings)-23: I take it you disagree with my assessment ? The point though I was trying to make is how u gonna replace the likes of Matfield , Guthroe , Botha and FDP. All four are exceptional players that are major difficult to replace , only one so far I can see is scrummie where hourgaard offers a lot on attack. Does he have the defense game ? Time will tell but I dont feel he does. As for the rest of your returning Boks , Spies and Steyn makes the team weaker and only your WP boys will offer something positive.
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-22: Hopefully in time for pre-season training. So guessing End November or December
18 Oct 2011, 14:26 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-24: You’re right – he should have punched him.
18 Oct 2011, 14:26 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-35: Can someone please enlighten me on this etsebeth player ? Thought I knew every up and coming laaitie at WP
PS – The loss of Sadie will be more than made up by the likes of JP Du Plessis , in 2015 I predict there will be 2 players in the Bok team that will set the tournament alight bearing injuries and they are JP De Plessis and Johan Goosen. There is just something very special of these 2 guys that I have not seen for a long time in a SA player.
My 16 cents
18 Oct 2011, 14:29 pm
Oh and WTF re Schalk’s disciplinary appearance ? The guy literally bounced off him before he could make the tackle ! He was only halfway into the tackle and the oke fell off. Sorry for me it looked like incomplete tackle at worst , almost like giving a high tackle when the opposing players slips into the tackle , can hardly blame the tackler !
18 Oct 2011, 14:30 pm
Jonker is the Cheetahnaaier.
18 Oct 2011, 14:36 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-39: He is from Tygerberg High. Matriculated in 2010. Played U/20 Boks this year. He is 2.03m and still growing. He is one mean lock forward. Ask Stormersboy when you see him for more info.
18 Oct 2011, 14:36 pm
Jonker and Legoeta officiating in the same game?!
Was Bryce not available?
18 Oct 2011, 14:43 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-39: I thought JP du Plessis was signed to the Rebels.
18 Oct 2011, 14:45 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-39: Where is JP Du Plessis? Is he still in Australia or is he coming home?
18 Oct 2011, 14:46 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-43: Throw Lourens van der Merwe in the mix there and you will have a party.
18 Oct 2011, 14:54 pm
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-44: He is Back in CT , been playing here for the last 2-3 months already , he originally signed as a teen for a league team roosters and last year he was part of the rebels squad. I believe he was released and I see he was part of the WP squad a few weeks ago.
18 Oct 2011, 14:55 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-39:
well he certainly looks the deal and is possibly an able replacement for bakkies one day. is a very solid piece of meat. i think he’s should absolutely be a four only, but others say he could be a five too, and was a wrecking ball in the u20 wc.
he’s contracted to province so its just a matter of time before he gets game time with the stormers.
apparently he’s the son of one of the ‘infamous’ etzebeth brothers…these guys were from goodwood or somewhere and were renowned for starting moerse fights with guys at newlands, in front of the grandstands, among other things.
18 Oct 2011, 14:58 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-48: Ja I also heard about that.
18 Oct 2011, 14:59 pm
This was the team a few weeks ago , the WP website does not have his name on their list of contracted players so thats scary as I dont think he does have a actual contract here but I know he is back in CT. See below at 13 !
15/09/2011
John Dobson, head coach of DHL WP U21, today named his team to take on the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday 17 September at 14h30.
The team is as follows:
15. Heinrich Steyl
14. Tshotsho Mbovane
13. JP du Plessis
12. Ryan Nell
11. Paul Cohen
10. Sam Lane
9. Louis Schreuder
8. Jacques-Pier Swanepoel
7. Helmut Lehman (C)
6. Reuben Johannes
5. Reniel Hugo
4. Eben Etzebeth
3. Tom Botha
2. Siyabonga Ntubeni
1. Brummer Badenhorst
Reserves:
16. Rob Herring
17. Francois van Wyk
18. Wilhelm van der Sluys
19. Grant Hattingh
20. Fred Muller
21. William van Wyk
22. Tythan Adams
18 Oct 2011, 15:02 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-39:
there was about five or so of them and they could empty out a bar full of bikers with ease when they wanted too, the kinda guys who never took a step back.
if this kids anything like his dad then there is hope for wp but more importantly for the springboks. replacing bakkies is going to be huge.
18 Oct 2011, 15:05 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-50: Some future stars in that team. Watch out for Mbovane, JP du Plessis, Sam Lane, Louis Schreuder, Eben Etzebeth, Ntubeni, William van Wyk and Tythan Adams.
18 Oct 2011, 15:06 pm
‘WP u21 – 13. JP du Plessis’
Is this the former Paul Roos guy? The one who singed for Sydney Roosters in league, then for the Melbourne Rebels in Superrugby?
18 Oct 2011, 15:09 pm
@gecko(gecko)-53: Yes.
18 Oct 2011, 15:10 pm
@36 “Does he have the defense game ? Time will tell but I dont feel he does”. You referring to Francois Hougaard right? Of course does he have a strong defense. It is one of his many strenghts. One thing he needs to work on is his basic srumhalf play, but that is only because he has not played there too much.
Sure, we will miss Matfield and the likes, but when they are gone it opens up places and some budget for the likes of Sadie and Engelbrecht. If the Bulls were a team like WP then we would have bought players who are just over the hill.
Some serious contendors to take over from the legends are: J Kruger, A Botha, Stander, J Potgieter, Fouche, Venter, Sadie and Engelbrecht. Take into account that our best players in this year’s Super 15 were Greyling, Hougaard, Ralepele and Basson then our future does not look too bleak.
18 Oct 2011, 15:11 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-48:
Yip, he is a combination between an enforcer/athletic type of lock. Sadly he seemed to be on the injury list since the junior IRB tournament, it would have been ideal if they could have given him some exposure during the CC.
His 2 uncles (Cliffie and Skattie) were the real ” infamous” ones of that family – Cliffie played lock for Province and both of them were SA extra heavyweight wrestling champions and brawlers of note- the standing room in front of the Grandstand were not for sissies during those days- specially between the halfway line and the ten yard line on the Northern side of the field where they more or less called the rules
18 Oct 2011, 15:23 pm
@Horings(Horings)-55: I would like Hougaard to test the fringes a bit more. When he plays scrumhalf he just passes and kicks. He rarely tries a sniping break but as you say that will come with time.
18 Oct 2011, 15:23 pm
@Robzim.
Allthough Cliffie Etzebeth was very tall for a prop, that is where he played for Province in the early 80′s
18 Oct 2011, 15:25 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-56:
I remember the Cliffie/Skattie brawl with Dale Calder.
I was under 20 at Northerns and those two were the untouchables. You stayed out of their way for sure.
18 Oct 2011, 15:26 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-14: I think you missed a lot of rugby. The Lions were very competative in both games against The Stormers in the S15 and hammered the Sharks at Ellis Park in the last round roibin game. That argument you are using is of someone clearly showing his lack of knowledge!
18 Oct 2011, 15:27 pm
@Horings(Horings)-55: Give me your 1st choice Bulls 22 for next year.
18 Oct 2011, 15:28 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-56:
the kinda guys who like schalk says about bakkies “bakkies is een van daai manne wie as hy jou gevat het, dan weet jy – jy was gevat”..no doubt.
well i hope he’s a chip off the two uncle’s old block and fills out as an enforcer physically more so than an athletic/jumper type.
18 Oct 2011, 15:28 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-60:
Going to be very close. I just hope my province boys take it. At Ellis Park it is always difficult.
18 Oct 2011, 15:31 pm
Glad we didn’t get Jonker. SA’s version of Bryce Lawrence.
18 Oct 2011, 15:31 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-18: Hey Slappes, we will see who will be toothless come Saturday….you can buy humble pie at Ellis Park! You will be seriously disapointed Boet and will have to come up with another excuse why your stompies choked again…
18 Oct 2011, 15:33 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-19: Do you know anything about rugby? The Lion’s were at Ellis Park already thinking about WP, please get a hobby and stop jerking your name like that!
18 Oct 2011, 15:36 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-31: Hehehe, enjoy the humble pie big mouth!
18 Oct 2011, 15:36 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-60:
wow…you sshat me out from a dizzy ‘hillbrow nigerian apartment block’ height for daring to say a few unkind words about your lions…and THATS what you have to say to him?…..huh?….nevermind posts# 17, 18 19, 20, 24, 31 and 32?…huh?
18 Oct 2011, 15:38 pm
@Sremrots(Sremrots)-58:
OK, I can vaguely remember him playing prop as well.
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-59:
Dale Calder from Hamiltons?- I think he used to play water polo too.
There were some big okes in those days, – you probably will then also remember Allan Deuchar (UCT) and later Bobby Murtagh (Villagers).
I was once “removed” by one of the Etsebeths from my hard earned standing room in front of the Grandstand- had to sneak back to the “scholar enclosure” tail between the legs, lol.
18 Oct 2011, 15:41 pm
Sharks vs. WP final in Durban.
18 Oct 2011, 15:41 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-69:
That’s him and I remember both Allan Deuchar and Bobby Murtagh.
The U/20′s were asked to man up to the First fifteen at the Wednesday practice before their game against the Bobbies. Northerns then had. Henning Van Aswegen, Robert Cockerell and Straus as their front row. We were crapping half bricks…
18 Oct 2011, 15:42 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-63: Yes, I think it is going to be a good game. Province did very well to qualify for the playoffs…respect..good luck!
18 Oct 2011, 15:42 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-69:
Oh and Cliffie and Skattie were the locks. Yeah man…
18 Oct 2011, 15:43 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-69:
given the possible range of options then ‘removed’ wasn’t such a bad i’m sure…
18 Oct 2011, 15:43 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-72:
Cheers mate! I may take the highway down to Ellis Park this weekend. Not a bad idea…
18 Oct 2011, 15:46 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-69:
Oh and my pops coached False Bay to their first Grand Challenge.
Remember these names:
Otto Jaekael
Frans Oschger
Butch Watson Smith
Richard Nurse
Mike English etc…man my age… LOL
18 Oct 2011, 15:46 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-68: The disrespect some of your Province boys are showing is shocking to say the least. The Lions played well in the Currie Cup and won most of our games, but do you see us being so disrespectful? C’mon lets hope for a good game and a showcase for SA Rugby…
18 Oct 2011, 15:47 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-68: Dude, the Lions fans are so nervous, they can’t help but react stupidly. They have already gone into defensive mode. I reckon all the pharmacies in Joburg have already sold out of immodium.
Whether it was a nothing game or not, I am pretty sure they didn’t plan to have 50 points put past them last weekend. I think the reality dawned on them after the game that the Currie Cup has suddenly warped into the Super 15 with the returning Springboks and WP and Sharks back to full strength.
Luckily for them, the schedule played in their favor, and the Bulls Boks arrived home just a week too late, or they may well have been facing a full strength Bulls side this weekend.
We all know how brilliantly well the Lions did in the Super 15. 14th out of 15. Only the rookie Rebels below them on the log. So, the only thing in their flavor is home ground advantage in my opinion, and I don’t think it will be enough. WP to beat the Lions and probably Sharks to beat Cheetahs.
We will have a repeat of last years final.
18 Oct 2011, 15:48 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-73:
Those were the days- sadly, poor Robert died a few years ago from cancer I think.
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-74:
I was scared sh i tless- they were monsters, man
18 Oct 2011, 15:50 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-79:
I think they were from Epping at the time. Not sure though. Yeah they were monsters for sure.
18 Oct 2011, 15:51 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-79:
Yes he died of cancer. His boet was Charlie Cockerel…
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-77:
Lions 24 – WP 38
Sharks 22 – Cheetahs 16
@Dusky(Dusky)-82:
Oh I hope you are right!
18 Oct 2011, 15:54 pm
@61
1. Greyling 2. Ralepele 3. Kruger 4. Flip 5. Kruger 6. Stegmann/ D Potgieter 7. CJ Stander 8. Spies 9. Hougaard 10. Steyn 11. Engelbrecht 12. Venter 13. Sadie 14. Basson 15. Visser 16. Wepener 17. De Klerk 18. J Potgieter 19. A Botha 20. Vermaak 21. Fouche 22. Olivier
I am not sure on Stegmann and Olivier as they had very poor seasons based on their high standards (for Super 15 rugby).
18 Oct 2011, 15:55 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-76:
I remember- Otto and Frans used to play for False Bay but then moved to Bellville- Otto was the second slowest fullback in the history of the game- the slowest played for the Bulls- cannot remember his name, but he is currently headmaster of a boys high school in pretoria.
I got to run- cheers
@Horings(Horings)-84:
Good team!
‘Otto Jaekael’ – has the most beautiful daughter (she was at school anyway), now a publihsed author.
nb.co.za/Authors/7870
18 Oct 2011, 15:56 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-85:
Edwards
18 Oct 2011, 15:56 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-85:
Cheers! Have a good one mate.
18 Oct 2011, 15:57 pm
@gecko(gecko)-87:
Will take a look…
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-83: Yes, unfortunately my prediction for the final does not go in WPs favour. WPs scrum is just struggling a bit at the moment.
That Sharks scrum is just on fire at the moment, and we saw last year that if the Sharks even get parity up front they become a difficult animal to tame. I think the Lion cubs got a bit of a taste of that last weekend.
That’s why the Sharks have struggled, and played mediocre rugby all Currie Cup, with second and third rate front rowers. We saw last weekend what they can do with a solid set phase platform.
I wasn’t positive at all a couple of weeks back, but now I can actually see the Sharks retaining their title. Not something anyone would have said after they got thrashed by the Cheetahs. But – the Boks that are back are important ones – and most of those guys are on form.
Deysel and Alberts on the field together is devastating….
If Spies does not pick up his game then I would probably go with 6. D Potgieter 7. J Potgieter 8. CJ Stander with A Botha the impact player.
18 Oct 2011, 15:59 pm
@gecko(gecko)-87:
Yeah she is too. A lawyer! My daughter has just finished BCom Law and now doing her LLB.
18 Oct 2011, 16:00 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-91:
Well I knew that mate! LOL
Yeah our light five is a real problem and if at the Shark Tank then I have to agree with you.
18 Oct 2011, 16:00 pm
Cheers all! I have to run too.
18 Oct 2011, 16:01 pm
you okes are all just lucky that the bulls aren’t there this season….sic
@Horings(Horings)-92:
you should start warming to the idea of spies as captain because it is a definate possibility.
18 Oct 2011, 16:02 pm
personally, I think the sharks will do it again this season with all the boks back.
18 Oct 2011, 16:04 pm
@Horings(Horings)-84: Not bad. Some tough picks in there.
18 Oct 2011, 16:05 pm
@Brigadier. If he is captain material then I would welcome it and pick him in my team. the Bulls need players such as Chilli, Spies, Potgieter, Kruger and Hougaard to stand up in that regard. Up and coming leaders include Stander and Botha.
18 Oct 2011, 16:06 pm
@Horings(Horings)-92: @Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-96: Who will be your captain? Chili?
18 Oct 2011, 16:06 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-77:
no worries man,
look, i’m sure its going to be a good game at least and may the best team win. bear in mind the sharks look really hungry too, as well the cheetahs always lurking.
i would love to place a few bets but i cant pick a winner at the bookies for the life of me between them….its that close maybe…
@Dusky(Dusky)-78:
loyal lion must be one of em. i tried to say this in a nice way but it didn’t go down so nicely. that, as you say, for the lions its now a case of ‘this is not the cc as we know it’ anymore.
i just cant see the fairytale coming true for them, so yeah, wp to play the sharks.
18 Oct 2011, 16:08 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-97: Sharks boogey team is the Cheetahs….you know that right?
18 Oct 2011, 16:20 pm
@sasuke I would have preferred Chilli, but I do not like commmenting on captaincy as I do not know any of the players on a personal level. If Spies is inspirational he could become the next Smit. Now would some guys on this site not enjoy that
18 Oct 2011, 16:22 pm
dewald potgieter is likely candidate
18 Oct 2011, 16:24 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-102:
possibly but can’t see it this season, at full strengh the sharks should be too strong even with oupa terblanche there…
18 Oct 2011, 16:41 pm
I’m glad we are getting Peyper, he is competent and fair … unlike many of the muirhead refs out there.
18 Oct 2011, 16:46 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-101: you do realise that Dusky is not a real guppy, he admitted to be a vallie who became sick of supporting the Lions, before waking up one morning, deciding to visit Mr Price to buy a guppy shirt.
It is true, check the archives.
18 Oct 2011, 17:16 pm
@Loyal lonely toothless lion, you lions fans are pathetic. A certain lions website just reaffirmed this. 2 weeks before the boks returned those idiots were worried already! They wished it not happen so they could continue winning b teams. They fear WP with Schalk, jean, juan, jacques , gio, rhynardt, jj, sadie, zorba etc. Jacques Fourie has said that he wants to score 2 tries of the wps 5. WP BY 20
18 Oct 2011, 17:21 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-31: I see you are already have the polish out. Typical Province supporter mistake.
& @Dusky(Dusky)-70: If I were you. Shoot a prayer up stairs and ask that Johan Goosen don’t play this weekend. Last time I checked he made that Sharkie backline look like rubbish. Also if you thing your pack will just do what they did this past weekend, that FS pack will match your pack and if that happens Goosen might just score another 23 points on his own against you guys.
18 Oct 2011, 17:28 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-108: Yup those Lions fear those guys. Like they did in the S15. First game if Elton had his eye in like now Province would have lost…. and if Jonker didn’t raked the Lions over the coals the second meeting it would have been another loose for Stormers. So please tell where this confidence is coming from?
18 Oct 2011, 17:46 pm
@Horings(Horings)-84:
1.Greyling 2. Ralepele 3. Kruger 4. Flip 5. Steenkamp 6. Stegmann 7.D.Potgieter 8. Spies
9. Hougaard 10. Steyn 11. Ndungane 12. Olivier 13. Sadie 14. Basson 15. Kirchner
16. Wepener 17. De Klerk/Kirsten 18. Kruger 19.Stander 20. Vermaak 21. Fouche 22. JJ Engelbrecht
18 Oct 2011, 17:57 pm
lions…..cheetahs final….
watch.
18 Oct 2011, 18:08 pm
@Tuna – ifs,buts and supposedly crooked refs – the lions lost and expect the same on saturday. Tell me why lions could win? This is the big league mate. @Grant10, howzit mate and why are you drinking already?
18 Oct 2011, 18:25 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-113: LOL
Hi Bud…trust you well?
Bloody wp cant scrum for toffee my man….until we sort that out I think we pretty much up the creek with no farken paddle my man!
18 Oct 2011, 18:30 pm
Cheetahs have been playing the most entertaining rugby since Johan Goosen started and the Lions prior to that with Elton Jantjies. Lets hope that the final is between the most entertaining teams and not the circus of the World Cup.
18 Oct 2011, 18:38 pm
@Grant10, everythings good here mate. Dont worry fat-matt proudfatfoot will devise a plan. The lions are gonna be blitzed.
18 Oct 2011, 18:44 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-116: hope u right my man…
Mitchell got those Lions primed though….throw in altitude and a turbo reverse….!
18 Oct 2011, 18:49 pm
@111 I know that is the regular 22, but the Bulls have realised that the stegmann, potgieter and spies combo does not work. The bulls need a better ball carrier at 7 flank and dewald showed he can cover openside if you have a hard working loose trio combo. The bulls also need to fast track venter, arno botha and cj stander as they are our future stars. They should also get rid of kirchner asap.
18 Oct 2011, 18:50 pm
@111 I know that is the regular 22, but the Bulls should have realised that the stegmann, potgieter and spies combo does not work. The bulls need a better ball carrier at 7 flank and dewald showed he can cover openside if you have a hard working loose trio combo. The bulls also need to fast track venter, arno botha and cj stander as they are our future stars. They should also get rid of kirchner asap.
18 Oct 2011, 19:15 pm
@RL(RL)-107:
ok, i’ll check the archives cos he sure doesn’t sound like he’s in love with the lions to me.
18 Oct 2011, 19:48 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-113: I’ve never said that the Lions will win it. I can give you a few reasons why it will be tough. Minnie is going to have field day. No really to counter him and if Grobbelaar plays the Lions have 2 fetchers on the field. The Lions scrum is stronger (you will not say this after last weekend but they are if you compare them against Province). Habana will again try and show the world he is still great but it will only result in a comedy of errors from his side. He should jsut play he’s normal game, but won’t. There is still a ? mark of Dimitri and Dewaldt is not playing like we all know he can. Now if the Lions pressure those two and their pack that star back line of yours will not do well. Were Province can target the Lions is at lineout time and there is also one massive ? over their number 9. People have already written off the Lions because of last week. Go and have a close look at that game. Their players was never switched on for that game and JM’s usual fits was also not present when they farked up.
Oh and Sharkies….. Goosen is playing on Sat. I hope you guys have a plan for that boy wonder.
18 Oct 2011, 21:11 pm
Mmm, possible Sharks vs Lions clash? Two kiwi coaches
19 Oct 2011, 06:34 am
@G10
You are one pathetic supporter dude, all-round, be it the boks or the province, always calling negatively against your team, if you are wrong, you can say ‘Wow what a great surprise’ if you are right its ‘See? I told you so!’ pathetic man, you should have gotten in the plane taking JS to Saracens…cause you sound like a pommy in any case…
19 Oct 2011, 08:49 am
Oh dearie me gwanty; “wp can’t scrum for toffee”. Wot’s happened to that beastie Bwok Hawwis you were touting for the Boks? Piss off bigot.
By the way Brok’s not a bad player. Just larf at your twattish gabble.
19 Oct 2011, 09:11 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-78: We are not defensive and yes we are nervous aren’t you? Luckily that is just your empty opinion regarding the final, we will see…
19 Oct 2011, 09:12 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-82: Nostradamus hey!! Idiot…
19 Oct 2011, 09:16 am
@RL(RL)-107: Thanks for that RL, now I know why this mannetjie knows so little!
19 Oct 2011, 09:18 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-101: Yip, I reckon it’s going to be 2 very close games and I don’t think it will be as set in stone as everybody thinks.
19 Oct 2011, 09:20 am
@Slappes(Slappes)-108: In your dreams boet…bring it on and as for pathetic..look whos talking…See you on Monday with humble pie…that is if you got the balls to log in!
19 Oct 2011, 09:23 am
@Tuna(Tuna)-110: That is what I would love to find out as well Tuna. I take it you are a Cheetah? Lions and Cheetah final! Would love to see WP and Sharks supporters watching the final with tears running down their faces!
19 Oct 2011, 09:27 am
@thesaint(thesaint)-123: Trust me, he knows his rugby mate. He is a true WP supporter but is also very objective and realistic, which is more what you can say!
19 Oct 2011, 14:52 pm
Cheetahs / Province final.