Currie Cup latest – Peyper, Jonker to ref semis
18 Oct 2011
Keo.co.za brings you news from the Currie Cup.
Peyper, Jonker to ref semis – Jaco Peyper and Marius Jonker will officiate the Currie Cup semi-finals this Saturday.
Peyper will take charge of the WP/Lions clash in Johannesburg and will be partnered by Stuart Berry and Cobus Wessels. Jonker will officiate the Sharks/Cheetahs game in Durban and will have Pro Legoete and Marc van Zyl as his assistants.
Burger escapes suspension – Schalk Burger was cited for a no-arms tackle during WP’s victory over the Pumas last Saturday and was found not guilty at the disciplinary hearing on Monday.
The tackle was made during the second half on Pumas lock JP Mostert. Burger was not given a ban at his hearing, making him available for selection for WP’s semi-final encounter against the Lions in Johannesburg on Saturday.
It’s been reported that there was a complaint from Pumas coach Jimmy Stonehouse, who used it as an example of how referees ‘favour the strong over the weak’.
Elstadt set for early return – Lock Rynhardt Elstadt could make surprise return in WP’s semi-final clash against the Lions this Saturday.
The 21-year-old suffered a serious knee injury during the Super Rugby semi-final defeat to the Crusaders and was set to miss the rest of the season.
However, WP head coach Allister Coetzee confirmed that Elstadt could make the match 22 this weekend, especially with Hilton Lobberts struggling with a shoulder injury.
‘We will monitor Rynhardt and see how it goes in terms of the technical side,’ said Coetzee. ‘His knee is 100%. We have a lineout session on Wednesday and that normally puts a lot of strain on the knees.’
In other injury news, flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis missed Monday’s practice after suffering a head injury against the Pumas last weekend, but is expected to recover in time for the trip to Ellis Park. Gio Aplon and Conrad Jantjes will provide pivot cover.

132 Comments
18 Oct 2011, 15:02 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-39:
there was about five or so of them and they could empty out a bar full of bikers with ease when they wanted too, the kinda guys who never took a step back.
if this kids anything like his dad then there is hope for wp but more importantly for the springboks. replacing bakkies is going to be huge.
18 Oct 2011, 15:05 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-50: Some future stars in that team. Watch out for Mbovane, JP du Plessis, Sam Lane, Louis Schreuder, Eben Etzebeth, Ntubeni, William van Wyk and Tythan Adams.
18 Oct 2011, 15:06 pm
‘WP u21 – 13. JP du Plessis’
Is this the former Paul Roos guy? The one who singed for Sydney Roosters in league, then for the Melbourne Rebels in Superrugby?
18 Oct 2011, 15:09 pm
@gecko(gecko)-53: Yes.
18 Oct 2011, 15:10 pm
@36 “Does he have the defense game ? Time will tell but I dont feel he does”. You referring to Francois Hougaard right? Of course does he have a strong defense. It is one of his many strenghts. One thing he needs to work on is his basic srumhalf play, but that is only because he has not played there too much.
Sure, we will miss Matfield and the likes, but when they are gone it opens up places and some budget for the likes of Sadie and Engelbrecht. If the Bulls were a team like WP then we would have bought players who are just over the hill.
Some serious contendors to take over from the legends are: J Kruger, A Botha, Stander, J Potgieter, Fouche, Venter, Sadie and Engelbrecht. Take into account that our best players in this year’s Super 15 were Greyling, Hougaard, Ralepele and Basson then our future does not look too bleak.
18 Oct 2011, 15:11 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-48:
Yip, he is a combination between an enforcer/athletic type of lock. Sadly he seemed to be on the injury list since the junior IRB tournament, it would have been ideal if they could have given him some exposure during the CC.
His 2 uncles (Cliffie and Skattie) were the real ” infamous” ones of that family – Cliffie played lock for Province and both of them were SA extra heavyweight wrestling champions and brawlers of note- the standing room in front of the Grandstand were not for sissies during those days- specially between the halfway line and the ten yard line on the Northern side of the field where they more or less called the rules
18 Oct 2011, 15:23 pm
@Horings(Horings)-55: I would like Hougaard to test the fringes a bit more. When he plays scrumhalf he just passes and kicks. He rarely tries a sniping break but as you say that will come with time.
18 Oct 2011, 15:23 pm
@Robzim.
Allthough Cliffie Etzebeth was very tall for a prop, that is where he played for Province in the early 80′s
18 Oct 2011, 15:25 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-56:
I remember the Cliffie/Skattie brawl with Dale Calder.
I was under 20 at Northerns and those two were the untouchables. You stayed out of their way for sure.
18 Oct 2011, 15:26 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-14: I think you missed a lot of rugby. The Lions were very competative in both games against The Stormers in the S15 and hammered the Sharks at Ellis Park in the last round roibin game. That argument you are using is of someone clearly showing his lack of knowledge!
18 Oct 2011, 15:27 pm
@Horings(Horings)-55: Give me your 1st choice Bulls 22 for next year.
18 Oct 2011, 15:28 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-56:
the kinda guys who like schalk says about bakkies “bakkies is een van daai manne wie as hy jou gevat het, dan weet jy – jy was gevat”..no doubt.
well i hope he’s a chip off the two uncle’s old block and fills out as an enforcer physically more so than an athletic/jumper type.
18 Oct 2011, 15:28 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-60:
Going to be very close. I just hope my province boys take it. At Ellis Park it is always difficult.
18 Oct 2011, 15:31 pm
Glad we didn’t get Jonker. SA’s version of Bryce Lawrence.
18 Oct 2011, 15:31 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-18: Hey Slappes, we will see who will be toothless come Saturday….you can buy humble pie at Ellis Park! You will be seriously disapointed Boet and will have to come up with another excuse why your stompies choked again…
18 Oct 2011, 15:33 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-19: Do you know anything about rugby? The Lion’s were at Ellis Park already thinking about WP, please get a hobby and stop jerking your name like that!
18 Oct 2011, 15:36 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-31: Hehehe, enjoy the humble pie big mouth!
18 Oct 2011, 15:36 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-60:
wow…you sshat me out from a dizzy ‘hillbrow nigerian apartment block’ height for daring to say a few unkind words about your lions…and THATS what you have to say to him?…..huh?….nevermind posts# 17, 18 19, 20, 24, 31 and 32?…huh?
18 Oct 2011, 15:38 pm
@Sremrots(Sremrots)-58:
OK, I can vaguely remember him playing prop as well.
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-59:
Dale Calder from Hamiltons?- I think he used to play water polo too.
There were some big okes in those days, – you probably will then also remember Allan Deuchar (UCT) and later Bobby Murtagh (Villagers).
I was once “removed” by one of the Etsebeths from my hard earned standing room in front of the Grandstand- had to sneak back to the “scholar enclosure” tail between the legs, lol.
18 Oct 2011, 15:41 pm
Sharks vs. WP final in Durban.
18 Oct 2011, 15:41 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-69:
That’s him and I remember both Allan Deuchar and Bobby Murtagh.
The U/20′s were asked to man up to the First fifteen at the Wednesday practice before their game against the Bobbies. Northerns then had. Henning Van Aswegen, Robert Cockerell and Straus as their front row. We were crapping half bricks…
18 Oct 2011, 15:42 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-63: Yes, I think it is going to be a good game. Province did very well to qualify for the playoffs…respect..good luck!
18 Oct 2011, 15:42 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-69:
Oh and Cliffie and Skattie were the locks. Yeah man…
18 Oct 2011, 15:43 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-69:
given the possible range of options then ‘removed’ wasn’t such a bad i’m sure…
18 Oct 2011, 15:43 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-72:
Cheers mate! I may take the highway down to Ellis Park this weekend. Not a bad idea…
18 Oct 2011, 15:46 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-69:
Oh and my pops coached False Bay to their first Grand Challenge.
Remember these names:
Otto Jaekael
Frans Oschger
Butch Watson Smith
Richard Nurse
Mike English etc…man my age… LOL
18 Oct 2011, 15:46 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-68: The disrespect some of your Province boys are showing is shocking to say the least. The Lions played well in the Currie Cup and won most of our games, but do you see us being so disrespectful? C’mon lets hope for a good game and a showcase for SA Rugby…
18 Oct 2011, 15:47 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-68: Dude, the Lions fans are so nervous, they can’t help but react stupidly. They have already gone into defensive mode. I reckon all the pharmacies in Joburg have already sold out of immodium.
Whether it was a nothing game or not, I am pretty sure they didn’t plan to have 50 points put past them last weekend. I think the reality dawned on them after the game that the Currie Cup has suddenly warped into the Super 15 with the returning Springboks and WP and Sharks back to full strength.
Luckily for them, the schedule played in their favor, and the Bulls Boks arrived home just a week too late, or they may well have been facing a full strength Bulls side this weekend.
We all know how brilliantly well the Lions did in the Super 15. 14th out of 15. Only the rookie Rebels below them on the log. So, the only thing in their flavor is home ground advantage in my opinion, and I don’t think it will be enough. WP to beat the Lions and probably Sharks to beat Cheetahs.
We will have a repeat of last years final.
18 Oct 2011, 15:48 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-73:
Those were the days- sadly, poor Robert died a few years ago from cancer I think.
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-74:
I was scared sh i tless- they were monsters, man
18 Oct 2011, 15:50 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-79:
I think they were from Epping at the time. Not sure though. Yeah they were monsters for sure.
18 Oct 2011, 15:51 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-79:
Yes he died of cancer. His boet was Charlie Cockerel…
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-77:
Lions 24 – WP 38
Sharks 22 – Cheetahs 16
@Dusky(Dusky)-82:
Oh I hope you are right!
18 Oct 2011, 15:54 pm
@61
1. Greyling 2. Ralepele 3. Kruger 4. Flip 5. Kruger 6. Stegmann/ D Potgieter 7. CJ Stander 8. Spies 9. Hougaard 10. Steyn 11. Engelbrecht 12. Venter 13. Sadie 14. Basson 15. Visser 16. Wepener 17. De Klerk 18. J Potgieter 19. A Botha 20. Vermaak 21. Fouche 22. Olivier
I am not sure on Stegmann and Olivier as they had very poor seasons based on their high standards (for Super 15 rugby).
18 Oct 2011, 15:55 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-76:
I remember- Otto and Frans used to play for False Bay but then moved to Bellville- Otto was the second slowest fullback in the history of the game- the slowest played for the Bulls- cannot remember his name, but he is currently headmaster of a boys high school in pretoria.
I got to run- cheers
@Horings(Horings)-84:
Good team!
‘Otto Jaekael’ – has the most beautiful daughter (she was at school anyway), now a publihsed author.
nb.co.za/Authors/7870
18 Oct 2011, 15:56 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-85:
Edwards
18 Oct 2011, 15:56 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-85:
Cheers! Have a good one mate.
18 Oct 2011, 15:57 pm
@gecko(gecko)-87:
Will take a look…
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-83: Yes, unfortunately my prediction for the final does not go in WPs favour. WPs scrum is just struggling a bit at the moment.
That Sharks scrum is just on fire at the moment, and we saw last year that if the Sharks even get parity up front they become a difficult animal to tame. I think the Lion cubs got a bit of a taste of that last weekend.
That’s why the Sharks have struggled, and played mediocre rugby all Currie Cup, with second and third rate front rowers. We saw last weekend what they can do with a solid set phase platform.
I wasn’t positive at all a couple of weeks back, but now I can actually see the Sharks retaining their title. Not something anyone would have said after they got thrashed by the Cheetahs. But – the Boks that are back are important ones – and most of those guys are on form.
Deysel and Alberts on the field together is devastating….
If Spies does not pick up his game then I would probably go with 6. D Potgieter 7. J Potgieter 8. CJ Stander with A Botha the impact player.
18 Oct 2011, 15:59 pm
@gecko(gecko)-87:
Yeah she is too. A lawyer! My daughter has just finished BCom Law and now doing her LLB.
18 Oct 2011, 16:00 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-91:
Well I knew that mate! LOL
Yeah our light five is a real problem and if at the Shark Tank then I have to agree with you.
18 Oct 2011, 16:00 pm
Cheers all! I have to run too.
18 Oct 2011, 16:01 pm
you okes are all just lucky that the bulls aren’t there this season….sic
@Horings(Horings)-92:
you should start warming to the idea of spies as captain because it is a definate possibility.
18 Oct 2011, 16:02 pm
personally, I think the sharks will do it again this season with all the boks back.
18 Oct 2011, 16:04 pm
@Horings(Horings)-84: Not bad. Some tough picks in there.
18 Oct 2011, 16:05 pm
@Brigadier. If he is captain material then I would welcome it and pick him in my team. the Bulls need players such as Chilli, Spies, Potgieter, Kruger and Hougaard to stand up in that regard. Up and coming leaders include Stander and Botha.
18 Oct 2011, 16:06 pm
@Horings(Horings)-92: @Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-96: Who will be your captain? Chili?