Henry thrilled with Joubert appointment

All Blacks coach Graham Henry believes that referee Craig Joubert’s good rapport with the players bodes well for Sunday’s World Cup final.

On Monday, Joubert was announced as the man to handle the showpiece match. In a tournament where referees have been heavily criticised for some dubious calls and in some instances a lackadaisical approach, Joubert has stood out as the most fair and consistent official. Many feel he deserved the final appointment, and Henry is among his admirers.

‘He’s a very good referee, relates well to the players, is very clear in his instruction, has got a lot of composure and has developed as one of the top refs in the world,’ Henry told stuff.co.nz. ‘It’s pleasing because the players enjoy playing when he’s referee, and that’s a sign of a good ref.’

Joubert handled the breakdown well in last week’s semifinal between the All Blacks and Wallabies. While France have no out-and-out fetcher to counter New Zealand’s Richie McCaw, they have also been impressive in this facet of play. If they dominate the collisions, then they could also obtain just reward from Joubert, a referee who favours a dominant, attacking side.

Meanwhile, Henry has confirmed that the All Blacks have no serious injuries following Sunday’s game in Auckland. Centre Ma’a Nonu (shoulder), Cory Jane, Andy Ellis (both nose) and Piri Weepu (virus) are expected to be available for the final.

195 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

• 101.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(p0ppa69)-91: imitation is the sincerest form of flattery…

cant believe this site allows others to use the same usernames again… how very amateur… come on keo, sort this rubbish out!

• 102.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-93:

No he was not, but if he was a kiwi in all likelihood he would have been

Kiwis will remain the 2nd rugby nation forever unless Wales surpass them

Bok rugby = the essence of rugby union

• 103.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-97: we have bad WC history with the French, I am very worried because the more they hear they have no chance the more they are likely to really lift…

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-94: Id like to be confident like yourself, but have been burnt too many times before to walk that road again. :D

• 104.cane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-94:

Skeppie,

- France are the underdog, no pressure.
    - France is France.
    - France is NZ’s boggie Team.
    - They are a better Team than their form might suggest. i.e. in the 1st half against England they were magnifique.
    - NZ could be over confident.
    - NZ have to lift themselves again. Harder than it might sound.
    - These Froggs have ONE SHOT at immortality. One Shot to turn themselves into chick magnets. The Chick Magnet thing is very important to Le Froggie.

Anything is possible…………………………………….and they are not here to lie down.

• 105.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-95:

Boks far to physical for the ABs; that is why they needed to be bryced out of this year’s tournament

Yeah the fear of the Boks run deep in the land of the white marijuana cloud

• 106.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-102: Whatever mate.

Until then, may enjoy the 7th/8th place playoff.

And keep posting, I enjoy it very much. :D

• 107.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-98: You know Cane won’t respond to compliments…best way to get to him is…uuuhhhmmmmm…..Now NZLND could possibly do what the Boks did by holding the TN WC and 7′s crown at the same time…never been done before…but they could just follow in our footsteps…as usual ;-)

Now sit back and wait for the response :-)

• 108.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-104: Not gonna happen, the AB’s will clean the Frenchies up on the floor, edge the set pieces and pile on enough pressure to win even if it needs to be ugly. 99 can’t happen again, that was a “once-in-100years” performance

• 109.cane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-90:

True ……………………………….You Okes did start this lineout lifting stuff.

• 110.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-105: YAWN… how can the boks be too physical when they will be sitting at home watching on the television like all the other “spectators” ?

• 111.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy(Golden Boy)-107: Seems we are leaders, trendsetters in rugby

• 112.poppa69: Reply to this comment

I remeber the night i had s3x for the first time, think i was 25 or 26 – the lady (37 or so) asked me if i expected to score after our date – i remember telling her : A guy always expects to score, but you also prepare yourself for the worst. Thats how i feel for the final – i expect us to win – but i am prepared incase the lose! – hope this makes sense!

• 113.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-106:

Mate I’m here to help you grow

You need to value people like me in your life

I show you the way…

• 114.Nils: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-110: It requires a stamina to hold a beer can. ;)

• 115.Michael: Reply to this comment

The French are to you what the Aussies are tous at WCs.
    Which French side turns up is anyone’s guess. The only way to keep them quiet is to score quickly at the start and again after the break.

• 116.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-113: Honestly, thanks, but no thanks.

I do not want to evolve into advanced stage of a clown really. ;)

• 117.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-110:

Paddy threw the most physical sides in world rugby at Boks and we pulverised them

Paddy then had to go to Plan B which was orginally his Plan A – Bryce

• 118.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(p0ppa69)-112: no it doesnt imposter, too scared to blog under your own nick..

gutless..

what a coward..

run along schoolboy..

• 119.poppa69: Reply to this comment

… but then again – i never took a “NO” from any chick! so yeah!

• 120.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

If the Kiwis win then they will be regarded World Cup Champions only in NZ; the rest of the world knows that they are 2nd after the Boks

RWC Trophy can only be associated with the Boks

• 121.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

Hows this for a general question to my dear NZ compatriots……if you had to pick one NZ rugby player to bestow the title of “I’mamassivedouchebag” on, who would it be?

• 122.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Oh by the way, whatever we do, we must never forget that keo is really a kiwi at heart, now wonder it comes so easy to write article like ‘ McCaw the master’

A son after his mom’s heart

• 123.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(p0ppa69)-119: imposter…

• 124.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-100:

Yes Dawn.

Mostly a big yawn.

However Paddy O’Brien turned up.
    as did,
    Buck Shelford ( NZ greatest capt).
    Super Sid Going,
    Bernie McCahil.
    Micheal Jones,
    Zinny’s 5 brothers,
    1 sister,
    Mum and Dad,
    A Primary School Teacher, who had told Zinny to ” forget rugby, that won’t make you a living”.
    Also many people, to whom Zinny had shown kindness and philanthropy.

• 125.cane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-121:

James Small.

• 126.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-125: Dude…I said NZ rugby player…….Or are all of your warriors stand up muckers?

• 127.cane: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-122:

The day before the Semi’s,
    Keo was on National TV, here in NZ,
    telling us all, how Aussie was going to smash us and go on to become WC Champs.

(So you are wrong again Lawman).
    LOSER!!!

• 128.JL1: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-125: Not Frik, Cane?

Come tell all around here what you think of one of the greatest rugby players ever

• 129.cane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-126:

Oooooooops.

1- Kevin Putt. (never made the AB’s).
    2- Robbie Deans.
    3- Sean Fitzpatrick.

• 130.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-118:

Mail the moderator:

roy@osoutsource.co.za

• 131.cane: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-128:

Frikke was a thug.

He was the Bakkies of his day.

• 132.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-124:

How can anything with Zinny be a big yawn

• 133.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-130: thanks Dawn

• 134.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-132:

I’m not sure Zinzan wanted the attention Dawn.

He is actually quite shy, believe it or not.

His Wife said………….”it took him 6 months to work up the courage to ask her out”.

• 135.JL1: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-131: Rated with Colin Meads, yes, Colin Meads as a top 10 greates rugby player to have ever played he game.

And you call him a p r i c k

• 136.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-134:

Ag man that’s so sweet!!!!!

• 137.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-129: Interesting…..if I had to pick one of the current crop it would be Jimmy Cowan, he is a tosser right up there with Quade Cooper, Mike Phillips and Brian o Driscoll

• 138.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-137: Justin Marshall for me, no one rates him like he does himself :D

• 139.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-120: Are you drinking Sheriff? :lol: Hahahahahahaha.

• 140.superba: Reply to this comment

A shame that Hansie isn’t with us anymore as he could have given Craig some good advice .

• 141.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-138: Aaaaah c’mon Poppa. I actually like Justin. He was so excited commentating on the match on Sunday his voice actually squeeked! :lol: I said to Transformation, “Justin is speaking so fast and is way too hyped!”

• 142.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Be funny as heck if he blocks the wrong popper.

• 143.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Shane Watson is the new hansie!

• 144.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@superba(superba)-140: Are you advocating that we must laud famous SA cheaters? :lol: Surely a new low huh?

• 145.cane: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-135:

I do look at the world through rainbow tinted glasses JL.

I NEVER said he was not a great player.

Just that he was a prick…………………………a thug.

Sir Colin had a little mongrel in him as well. Though not to the extent of Frikke.

• 146.JL1: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-138: Very good commentator and studio pundit. In fact one of the few who call it the way they see it

Nice guy in real life

• 147.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Robin Brooke?? isn’t he the bloke who touched 15 year old girls>??

• 148.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-146: ok have heard conflicting reports about him, never met him so only going on conjecture…. great player though..

• 149.cane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-137:

Jimmy is a little misunderstood.
    He suffers from (or did suffer from) low self esteem.

He never thought of himself as being worthy of being an AB.
    This caused problems with Alcoholic binge drinking etc.

But he has come through this I think. Perhaps it was Bakkies tap to his head that rectified things in this area.

• 150.JL1: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-145: Of course not, Colin Meads must be a little cherub in your opinion

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.