Kiwis plan victory parade

Reports in New Zealand indicate that plans are already underway to stage a ticker-tape parade for the All Blacks in Auckland next week.

The All Blacks lifted a nation when they beat the Wallabies in last Sunday’s semi-final. While their coaches and players are talking up their final opponents and shunning those that would suggest that they have one collective hand on the Webb Ellis Cup, preparations for the post-match victory lap have already begun.

According to The New Zealand Herald, Auckland Council chiefs and the New Zealand Rugby Union have been in talks to organise a ticker-tape parade up Queen Street on Wednesday or Thursday next week. Some of the locals feel this is presumptuous, while others are worried that it is simply tempting fate.

The newspaper reports that those involved in the staging of such a parade have been reluctant to comment, with NZRU spokeswoman Julie Clausen stressing that the focus is on winning the competition and that all talk of victory parades is premature.

It has been confirmed that a celebratory event will be staged regardless of Sunday’s result. Organisers of the Labour Day festival, Kiwi Day Out, say this is not a pre-emptive party for All Black success, but rather a celebration of all teams in the World Cup.

675 Comments

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 » Show All

• 551.raven: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-543:
    First sentence is the most relevant -you can only hide things for that long – especially in these technologically advanced times – bet my last dollar that the sleuths are looking hard.

Paddy is the right place to start……….he’s been fingered before………

• 552.poppa69: Reply to this comment

wow… cant believe the heirarchy in SA rugby have all fallen for the conspiracy angle..

how very sad, and embarassing being a Bokke supporter..

we dont lose, the rest of the world conspires to beat us..

eish…

• 553.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-552: they’re just having their Suzie moment, they’ll get over it…

• 554.oscarthedawg: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-552: For once I agree with you Poppa. If we weren’t always, we seem to have become a paranoid society. Much better to analyze what went wrong and try to improve on it.

• 555.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-543: Its about time Saffa’s realised that blaming the ref takes your eye off the glaring issues that need to be tackled in SA rugby and also gives the power over your rugby future to someone else. The kind of thinking is that its not our fault or responsibility. We should be saying that despite whatever refs or administrators throw at us we will overcome the hurdles by playing exceptional rugby and if we lose we will take it on the chin and come back stronger and wiser. Right now the excuses are being used to make us feel good about what really was a dismal failure. We had 68% possession and couldn’t get more than 9 points with 60% territory as well. Therein lies the problem.

• 556.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-553: lol understand completely… hell our union made a 2000 page dossier on what happened also, so you guys arent alone in that respect :D

• 557.maximus1: Reply to this comment

Oh Poppa 69 you make me laugh, Aus NZ’s same difference, all a bunch of sheep shaggers and convicts, only reason the tri-nations and your team survive is because South Africa subsidizes your crappy teams, with TV rights, NZ rugby union is broke, don’t worry, the Springboks and South Africa will bail you out, enjoy your first world cup win, oh yes, let’s not forget, they haven’t won it yet.
    True even if NZ didn’t make to the final, none of your crappy refs would be there.

• 558.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@maximus1(maximus1)-557: your right of course, I guess the SA public dont mind paying to see decent rugby teams huh? 3 wins in fifteen years means you should bring something to the table, if its money so be it…

thanks for subsidising the number one team in the world…

• 559.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Maximus try to have sensible debate without sheepshaggers and convicts please.

• 560.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-281:

Yes

Yes, I have.

On these very pages, in fact.

Unless, of course, someone would like to accuse me of ‘lying’.

• 561.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-549: SARU administration needs to get its house in order… So it can actually serve the interests of SA Rugby properly on the world stage. Intermittent success occurs despite, not because, of this very dysfunctional organisation.

SA Rugby has been a patsy for a while now – undoubtedly SA gets shagged more often than not in S15 and 3N SANZAR negotiations. The Argies are finding out all about it at the moment – dog eat dog.

Bolt on solutions only go so far, but there comes a time when the whole organisation may need root and branch reform in order for it to serve its purpose – to look after the interests of SA Rugby.

SA Rugby has been getting thumped off field and is continually getting thumped onfield – not by opposing teams, but by officialdom. Because they can. SA Rugby allows it to happen.

SA Rugby’s failure on field is a symptom of the system and organisation behind it and it seemingly frustrates the livinghell out of people who try and work for this organisation…

Thus you get these disorganised spurts of frustration that keep happening. SA Rugby either needs a dictator or needs total reform to function properly.

A new and improved SA Rugby needs to get the antipodeans, because they have been getting the yarpies for far too long now.

• 562.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-277:

@GUFFAW@

• 563.Brads: Reply to this comment

The really sad (pathetic) outcome of emotional rants from rugby officials, from any country, is that a small number of weak minded people who hold similar views take the rant on board as not only being gospel, it is also the view shared by the officials employers.

On that note, I see Gatland is still banging on about the Warburton red card. Unfortunately for him he could now face censure by the IRB for even airing his views that he and his coaching team contemplated cheating so as to even up the game in Wales favour.

• 564.Dawn: Reply to this comment

300 posts later

• 565.maximus1: Reply to this comment

Oh Poppa69, the whole rundown about consistently being the best team in the world between world cups, who cares, nobody remembers who was the best soccer team in 1963, but 1964, Brazil’s world cup winning team, everybody does, who cares if the All Blacks were the best team in 2006, everybody remembers SA winning in 2007, yeah 3/15 is pretty poor, who cares though, if NZ wins on Sunday, great, everybody will remember and life moves on, but constant barraging of the South African rugby by glory NZ supporters on this blogsite is pathetic, yes NZ have played well so far, good luck on Sunday.

• 566.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-309:

HUH ?!?

Boks win = Bryce OK

Boks lose = Facebook campaigns to ban him; death threats on SA-rugby blogs.

ABs lose with Barnes (Cardiff’07) = Bok fans praise Barnes

Boks lose with Barnes (Brisbane’09) = Barnes is “a cheat”

its a simple correlation, figure it out for yourself.

• 567.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The Boks overestimate their value to the global game. A side ranked only #4 really should hunker down and be quiet and up their game instead of rationalising their perennial poor showing by inventing all sorts of loony conspiracy theories.

• 568.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-316:

In fact, I never ever would have included YOU amongst the Sour Ones here on Keo.

Oh well.

• 569.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@raven(raven)-551: Bryce is either a crook along with OBrien or the weakest, most incompetent ref to have been ever allowed to ref at international level, no doubt. I’m sorry to say but his crookery and incompetence may have benefited the Boks in the past.

Its easy to dismiss criticism or slating of Lawrence as “sour grapes” but if something is really rotten then I would say it is cowardly to say nothing.

I would love to know the basis behind his selection for the quarters. By his own admission he made several fark ups in the Ire vs Aus match.

I would also love to know why SH refs, reffed on the SH side of the draw, and vice versa for NH refs.

SA has been sucking the hindtit with disciplinaries, citings and ref performances for too long now.

The rigging of the QF was the last straw.

• 570.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@maximus1(maximus1)-565: champ, winning 4 out of every 5 games is something to care about, for me anyways…

the constant barraging of NZ rugby by glory SA supporters on this blogsite for the past four years has been pathetic, so much so that now some SA supporters (such as yourself) are want to be upset when some kiwi’s remind those same supporters by way of similar comments in return…

strange how it works huh?

• 571.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-569: strange, yet again, that when we mentioned this re Barnes four years ago we were told we simply werent good enough, should have taken a drop goal etc etc etc .. our thoughts of being cheated were seen as sour grapes, now it IS an issue all of a sudden? puh-lease

“hardenthefuckup”

• 572.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-403:

at least Bok fans STILL have…..

“Honour and Bravery in Defeat”

• 573.maximus1: Reply to this comment

ah tackler is back, with his low self image of nz, a glory supporter at best.
    All blacks overestimate their value to world rugby, NZ rugby union is broke, the 4th ranked team in the world’s rugby union will have to bail them out, like the greeks, think of it as germany bailing out the greeks constantly

• 574.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-572: perhaps a few sidesteps, or alternatively, youth in “defeat” may have been a better option for them :D

• 575.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-555: Boks and SARU are responsible for their own actions and they should start being responsible enough to say “don’t fck us around”….

Its not good enough to continually bend over and say “Fark me, please”. This is not taking responsibility. This is being weak.

Wales and Gatland are whining about one solitary decision, which was quite debatable – Boks had a whole match full WRONG decisions – no debate.

SARU and Saffas take too much shy.te – its almost like an inferiority complex with these antipodeans. They need to grow some spines, start asking the right questions and saying the right “fark yous”

• 576.Brads: Reply to this comment

@maximus1(maximus1)-565:
    What World Cup was played in 1964?

If you are typical of the average Bok supporter, who only cares about their teams performances during RWC tournaments, it is no wonder the angst is so great.

Consider this, SA has been to 5 tournaments to date and won twice. So two time in the last 16 years you have been a happy camper, the rest of the time you spend working out conspiracy excuses.

• 577.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-575: bwahahaha need some tissues mate… you guys got more penalties in the second half alone then we did in cardiff.. yet you deemed that to be fine, not a problem..

how youve changed HG, whats the matter, dont like the stink now its attached to you huh?

Im loving this, it seems your 4 year diatribe at NZ complaints about barnes have come full circle and bitten you squarely on your derriere.. wonderful stuff…

• 578.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@maximus1(maximus1)-573: Yeah, but SA has been taking greek for too long in the SANZAR “partnership”…

Now, O Neill even presumes to speak for SARU in public regarding the whole “boycott” saga.

SARU is a spineless, fcked up organisation that allows this shy.te to happen.

• 579.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-577: Barnes is clean as a whistle compared to Lawrence and Paddy OBrien.

This World Cup was not the first anyone heard any complaints about OBrien from Saffas.

There has been a problem for a while.

Nope, so no full circle. AB’s choking in 2007 is nothing like the crookery of the QF in the Rigged World Cup 2011

• 580.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-579: delusional, plain and simple..

what a sad man (?) you are… really..

• 581.JL1: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-580: ..and why are you covering for Paddy and Bryce?

• 582.malcolm: Reply to this comment

This whining by some has really become ridiculous. I was just reading some of the comments on the ban Bryce Lawrence facebook page. It has become embarrassing. We had a bad ref who ignored the rules at the breakdown. We also had the most experienced Springbok team in history on the field. They should have adapted. The many oppertunities to win the game were not taken and that cost us the game. If there is team with a legitimate gripe about not being in this weekends final it is Wales. They were hard done by the refs in two seperate games. While the ref against France can justify his decision going strictly by the rules a top ref should also use some judgement. A yellow card would have been the correct call. His decision cost Wales an almost sure win and ruined the game as a spectacle for millions of viewers.

We should learn from this campaign. Our excuse that ten man rugby wins world cups has been proven to no longer be valid. There is no doubt had we been capable of a more 15 man approach that we would have beaten the Aussies in the Quarters. Had we won that game playing our present brand of rugby the All Blacks playing how they played last weekend would have handed us a rugby lesson. We have the athletes to play a much more expansive game while still using our forward strengths. This should be the lessons we take away and not harp on the referee.

• 583.mvk: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-577: ****,did zimbabwe play at this wc? :D

• 584.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@malcolm(malcolm)-582: They tried to adapt. But it seemed that when they adapted, Bryce would just double adapt.

They had a meeting before the game and discussed the breakdown – only to find Lawrence reffing 180 degrees from how he said he was going to ref.

Smit repeatedly talked to Lawrence during the game and was getting told one thing whereas Bryce would blow another…

In the second half you can visibly see the Boks adapting by sealing off the ball (foetal over ball), which they didn’t do in the 1st half… To no avail. Aussies outrageously slowed the ball down and Lawrence just let it happen, not to mention blowing up the Boks for sealing off.

So please, open your eyes, and realise the Boks did try and adapt. The ref adapted at the same time in step with the Aussies.

To deny the Lawrence scandal is spineless, Imho

• 585.mudrockshark: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-561:

Well said.

******* the kiwis and Aus

I wont be watching another game if either of them are involved.

• 586.mudrockshark: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-577:

“Im loving this, it seems your 4 year diatribe at NZ complaints about barnes have come full circle and bitten you squarely on your derriere.. wonderful stuff…”

What a load of horse $ hit !
    SA had no involvement in the one desision Barnes got wrong. This was a NZ WC with a NZ ref, with a family history of “we’ll get those japies”, having one of the wost reffing displays on record.

F— off you one eyed kiwi c–t!

• 587.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mudrockshark(mudrockshark)-585: SARU needs to be sorted out once and for all… Then a strong SARU can properly protect the interests of SA Rugby from the weasels of the Rugby world.

• 588.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

When all the **** measuring is done, the simple fact remains that what we are getting is simply not good enough.

Yeah it’s easy to call the losing party whingers or whatever – problem is, every team will lose at some stage or another because of elements that CAN be controlled like the quality of referees or structures that limits the beautiful game.

Time to look beyond the point of view of just rubbing the other okes nose in it and realise that the game itself, and for that matter all of us, suffer because of a corrupt system that should be called and named (and shamed) for the sham it is.

• 589.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mudrockshark(mudrockshark)-586: Yeah, the Boks have a history with “fair” Kiwi refs:

- Bryce
    - Paul Honiss (The Ireland tap penalty???)
    - Paddy OBrien

• 590.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

And I am out.

For my Kiwi buddies – go kick France’s *** boys, even though I am third generation French those sissy boys need to be taught a lesson – and if there was ever one team that deserve a fairy-tale in what will be their last RWC hosted event, it is a country that values the game as much as we do.

Stay safe all.

Cheers.

• 591.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Oh and of course – hoping Wales will kick the Aussies *** on Friday – they do not deserve ****.

• 592.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-218: IMHO, every Olympics are “the best ever”, every football WC/EC “the best ever” etc. etc. I do not believe those official lip services.

This WC may be good, maybe even great, but best ever? er…. I don’t think so.

For me France and Australia looked better.

• 593.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

I can see it now, Heavens Game and Maximus holding on to each others dangly bits whilst standing in a bar in Joberg high fiving each other about their anti NZ rants on a web site.

You really are embarrasing for South Africans. Your hatred consumes you. No wonder youre still there, whilst the 80,000 plus sensible ones now live in New Zealand.

Says it all really.

• 594.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-590: Cheers

• 595.malcolm: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-584: Our attack is one dimentional to the extreme. The Australian tight five were shown to still be their weakness by the Irish and we exploited this weakness brillantly (as did the All Blacks). However one thing the Aussies do better than anyone is defend. The Boks spent 80 minutes trying to bash through them never attacking the spaces and playing for penalties. Time and time again Burger and crew charged forward only to be driven back by the defence. The Aussies can defend against that type of attack all day. Yes Pocock got away with playing the ball on the ground (Brussow was there to do the same thing) but even with that if we had a more expansive gameplan to have utilised when it became apparent that relying on penalties may not win us the game we could have won. The one time we really moved the ball through the backline Lambie almost scored. The All Blacks only scored one try against the Aussies but ran them ragged and caused them to infringe constantly and not only Pocock. If they had kicked for posts a bit better they would have beaten the Aussies by 30 points.

• 596.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@mudrockshark(mudrockshark)-586:
    Well your memory seems to be very clouded.
    2007 NZ against France was not over one forward pass. It was the other infringing where Barnes did not penalise france. There was alot on their try line. Barnes ruined the RWC for us, his bad reffing was part of the problem, and of course NZ having lost all our # 10s and not taking the drop kicks was the other parts.
    Unlike some of the fools on here, you included Boks lost cos of bad reffing, bad decision making, bad backline and no plan B.

• 597.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@malcolm(malcolm)-595: One dimensionally extreme enough to break through to 1m of the line and the ball is ripped illegally by a tackler who did not let Schalk go in full view of the officials…

One dimensional enough to break through twice and twice get called for forward passes. (one was JdV to Lambie, one was Mossie to Habana)

and on…
    and on…

The Boks were not relying on penalties to win the game, they tried to win the game by playing with the ball in hand.

How much more expansive do you want… especially if ruck ball is being slowed down with a big free for all.

Your last sentence is pertinent – just substitute All Blacks for Boks and, Yes the Aussies were runragged against the Boks,infringed constantly and not only Pocock – except they were never penalised. They were given carte blanche.

I

• 598.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@KiaKahaNZ(KiaKahaNZ)-593:
    last thing we need is HG in NZ.
    The only thing thats corrupt is his damn head.
    Not one thing mentioned for years about corruption and match fixing until his team lost a QF. Sour grapes and lack of balls to accept the loss.

• 599.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-590: IRB have stated the RWC needs to be played in countries like NZ and NZ will host it again one day, its important for rugby to stay true to its core values of not just where its going but also where its been. Maybe in conjuncion with Australia, who knows, but having the tournament in a place like Germany or Spain for example will not grow the game despite the romantic notion that it would.

England have already stated they will not match the passion exhibited by the people of NZ, but did guarantee more cash will be generated – is that the only thing that matters – for some, maybe, but not for all.

After England, we have Japan, it will be sterile and mechanical, from there it should reach Argentina, Italy, USA and or Canada, then maybe back to SA/Aus/NZ moving on to Ireland/Scotland/Wales then perhaps an Asian mix inc HK, Singapore, Thailand and Malaysia – a logistical nightmare, but fun, then back to say Uruguay or Portugal or Brazil.

For all the talk about expanding the reach of rugby, really, other than those countries above, who else would seriously be able to provide a succesful tournament? The middle east is a melting pot of warfare, the sub continent countries dont give a damn about rugby, most of Africa is in civil strife, and central america hardly know the game.

NZ have hosted a terrific tournament, its what the RWC actually needed before being farmed out for cash only. The emotional spirit and connection we, Saffas, Welsh etc all have in this game must be honored.

• 600.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-598: Don’t think that only after the WC QF is the first time I have had some pertinent questions about the impartiality of Paddy O Brien.

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.