Kiwis plan victory parade
18 Oct 2011
Reports in New Zealand indicate that plans are already underway to stage a ticker-tape parade for the All Blacks in Auckland next week.
The All Blacks lifted a nation when they beat the Wallabies in last Sunday’s semi-final. While their coaches and players are talking up their final opponents and shunning those that would suggest that they have one collective hand on the Webb Ellis Cup, preparations for the post-match victory lap have already begun.
According to The New Zealand Herald, Auckland Council chiefs and the New Zealand Rugby Union have been in talks to organise a ticker-tape parade up Queen Street on Wednesday or Thursday next week. Some of the locals feel this is presumptuous, while others are worried that it is simply tempting fate.
The newspaper reports that those involved in the staging of such a parade have been reluctant to comment, with NZRU spokeswoman Julie Clausen stressing that the focus is on winning the competition and that all talk of victory parades is premature.
It has been confirmed that a celebratory event will be staged regardless of Sunday’s result. Organisers of the Labour Day festival, Kiwi Day Out, say this is not a pre-emptive party for All Black success, but rather a celebration of all teams in the World Cup.

675 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All
18 Oct 2011, 07:21 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-98:
f uck he’s so lame
18 Oct 2011, 07:22 am
@Brads(Brads)-99: its still under contemplation
18 Oct 2011, 07:23 am
In all fairness if you’re going to have a parade you do need to do a bit of planning before hand anway so I dont think its arrogance at all. Whether you win or not you still need to plan for the possibility of winning so that you are ready to go, if you dont win then you just shelve the plans.
18 Oct 2011, 07:24 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-95:
We could host it.
But it would never be awarded, as you fully know.
Having said that, Aus are talking about putting in a bid, and if they did so, it could include NZ as hosts of one of the pools.
18 Oct 2011, 07:26 am
I dont really understand all the ongoing antagonism flying here between Saffas and kiwis.
perhaps Saffas need to learn to become a bit more introspective and think about where we went wrong and how we can improve rather than lashing out childishly at the wonderful Kiwi team….
Serioulsy I have been gobsmacked by the reactions of a large pool of Saffas on this site…..farkit….
18 Oct 2011, 07:26 am
France should also have made the 95′ final but the ref was in the Saffa’s pockets, it was clearly a try.
18 Oct 2011, 07:27 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-98:
Hey I’d smaak to share a few beers with the dude actually.
Yep and looking forward to the Currie Cup knock-out stages…at least if The Sharks win I will have some measure of justice.
18 Oct 2011, 07:27 am
@My nr1 nr2 too(trupisero)-102:
Agreed.
But if you saw the paper today you would think the deal was done and dusted.
18 Oct 2011, 07:28 am
@Brads(Brads)-104:
Sounds good.
18 Oct 2011, 07:31 am
Brads
which it most definitely isn’t!!
Its like the guy who got tattooed in 07. eish. why not wait until the games been played, then if they win organise one. a week in-between won’t lessen the amount of people turning out.
18 Oct 2011, 07:33 am
@Brads(Brads)-108: After all the **** the kiwis had this year this will be a great end to the year for them.
Pity we didn’t get to face you guys in the semi’s – I suspect there would have been even more busted noses on both sides.
18 Oct 2011, 07:33 am
@David(David)-60: Who cares? A yarpie is a yarpie is a yarpie, whether they like it or not.
18 Oct 2011, 07:35 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-110: pops, the frogs have played their final and almost lost against 14 men. Ain’t no way they will win.
18 Oct 2011, 07:37 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-112: Sheep in both hemispheres are relieved it’s not a Wales/NZ final.
18 Oct 2011, 07:38 am
The All Blacks should win it, the alternative is just too depressing. But I do think a victory parade is a little premature.
Hopefully the AB’s don’t beat themselves.
18 Oct 2011, 07:38 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-89: Lets see…. Gerogia, Romania, Russia, USA, Canada, Argentina, Fiji, Samoa off the top of my head all have the majority of their national squad players playing professionally in Europe, developing as players. Then able to go and represent their countries at world cups with distinction. South Africa allowing the Pumas development team and Namibia to go and enter the vodacom cup and develop. New Zealand????? Bugger all apart from the odd poach of pacific talent here and there, moaning that Twickenham makes too much money and that they should give it to New Zealand. Get a life whiner!
18 Oct 2011, 07:43 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-106: Clearly? **** bru, you must have x-ray eyes. If that’s the case then Ruben Kruger’s try was also valid in the final and we actualy beat you guys by 7 points.
18 Oct 2011, 07:45 am
Clearly a Media-inspired wind up
Never fear, McCaw wont even be reading the papers. The squad have been banned.
18 Oct 2011, 07:46 am
boy oh boy…i hope this blows up in their faces.
18 Oct 2011, 07:48 am
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-117:
Not a Try by Kruger
1. bodies between Kruger and ball, no contact with turf (or the padding, only)
2. a knock-on (by Os, if memory serves)
18 Oct 2011, 07:49 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-1:
The ‘Immortals’ Must Be Crazy
18 Oct 2011, 07:51 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-120: the scoreboard is all that counts and we know what it said, in 95 and 11.
18 Oct 2011, 07:51 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-116:
we allow our third rate has beens to play for your national team I reckon thats very generous of us and helps your development, crikey how bad would England be without all the foreign imports
18 Oct 2011, 07:52 am
1. bodies between Kruger and ball, no contact with turf (or the padding, only)
So clearly a try?
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-119:
keep hoping, you got your French jersey?
@Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster(Porra)-20:
beeeeeeeautiful
18 Oct 2011, 07:53 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-116: Samoa poached 15 kiwis for this WC.. try using facts, they really help!
18 Oct 2011, 07:54 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-124:
We know humour is a foreign concept to the average Bok fan (thats you) but DO ‘try’ to keep up.
18 Oct 2011, 07:55 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-123: Fine thanks, to date England has been the only country to win the world cup with all its players born in its own country.
18 Oct 2011, 07:57 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-129:
England and the Bokke ranked 7 and 8th in the world should be a good match up next time, very evenly matched
18 Oct 2011, 07:57 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-127: And who was responsible for their training, conditioning, livelihoods and Professional development? I’m guessing not their big friendly Pacific brothers New Zealand?
18 Oct 2011, 07:58 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-27:
its a common theme from the vast majority of Neanderworld
Porra, Gunther, Tacitus, BlueAlligator, BlueDik…..
Poor Winners, Porra Losers
18 Oct 2011, 07:58 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-129:
Perhaps England should stick to that plan always.
18 Oct 2011, 08:00 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-125:
i wouldn’t tempt fate if i were you…honest…
18 Oct 2011, 08:01 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-130: Drifting off the point and slinging petit insults. Class. It really doesn’t bother me whether my team is ranked 1 or 100, I’ll still support them and I wont beat my wife!
18 Oct 2011, 08:02 am
boks dropped to 4 th in the rankings now….!
instead of bad mouthing kiwis all day we should be looking to the future and ensuring we never again put our fotunes into the hands of wallys like the 3 stooges and ageing plonkers like plod….
we better find the right head coach or we going into freefall…
18 Oct 2011, 08:02 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-41:
It only became a ‘farce’ once your sad sorry limited lot took their seats in Departure Lounge.
18 Oct 2011, 08:06 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-67:
you must have missed it. Theyve been planning their own Victory Parade for the past 4 years. Every 4 years.
Another 4 Years.
18 Oct 2011, 08:09 am
They could have this victory parade on saturday. Play on sunday and get back to work by monday!
18 Oct 2011, 08:12 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-137: Is that the best you can do? I think perhaps my argument has slightly more substance? But then again I might just be crazy for thinking it doesn’t make any sense to award the rights to a World Championships that involves more countries then any other rugby tournament, that is the biggest driving force to the development of the game to a country that doesn’t need the development and will make a massive financial loss, that will have to be corrected by another country that doesn’t need the development either 4 years later and only then will the global show-piece go to a lesser developed country with the potential to open up the biggest market in the world. New Zealand hosting the world cup has put back the development of Rugby 8 years.
Oh hang on, now that I look at it, you have a fine point!
18 Oct 2011, 08:12 am
@grant10(grant10)-136:
three words…heyneke meyer.
18 Oct 2011, 08:13 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-131: you mean players like Fotualili and Schwalger? who both played S15 for NZ franchises?
lmfao keep going though, your ignorance is noteworthy..
18 Oct 2011, 08:14 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-141: my 4 th choice…..H Meyer…
1 ….Mitchell
2 Mallet
3 B Venter
4 H Meyer….
18 Oct 2011, 08:15 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-142: Paul Williams etc etc etc
yep, NZ did nothing for their development…. next
18 Oct 2011, 08:19 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-140:
Dreamer
You could hold the RWC in Japan, China and Korea over successive 4 year periods, and those countries will still not be ranked in the top 5 unless they were bolstered by imports.
Genetics doesn’t get cured by exposure to sport.
18 Oct 2011, 08:20 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-112:
Onbeskof!!!!
18 Oct 2011, 08:21 am
Anyhoo good morning to our Kiwi brothers, except Tackler.
18 Oct 2011, 08:22 am
Jake white appointed,
SA ranked 6th
Jake White resigns
SA ranked 1st
Divvy appointed
SA ranked 1st
Divvy resigns
SA ranked 4th
18 Oct 2011, 08:22 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-142: And so is your failure to read. I said the majority of the squad. 20 of the Samoa world cup squad play in Europe.
I’m quite sure that if New Zealand allowed one team each from Samoa, Tonga and Fiji into their NPC they would have a better tournament, which would be supported in greater numbers, richer in culture and would benefit all. However, does a good playing platform for Pacific Islanders benefit the All Blacks? Thats probably why the idea is not entertained.
18 Oct 2011, 08:24 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-140:
Agree.
RWC should go to places like Italy, Spain, Argentina, USA, Canada, Russia. That will develope the game more than hosting it in a rugby saturated country like NZ
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All