Kiwis plan victory parade
18 Oct 2011
Reports in New Zealand indicate that plans are already underway to stage a ticker-tape parade for the All Blacks in Auckland next week.
The All Blacks lifted a nation when they beat the Wallabies in last Sunday’s semi-final. While their coaches and players are talking up their final opponents and shunning those that would suggest that they have one collective hand on the Webb Ellis Cup, preparations for the post-match victory lap have already begun.
According to The New Zealand Herald, Auckland Council chiefs and the New Zealand Rugby Union have been in talks to organise a ticker-tape parade up Queen Street on Wednesday or Thursday next week. Some of the locals feel this is presumptuous, while others are worried that it is simply tempting fate.
The newspaper reports that those involved in the staging of such a parade have been reluctant to comment, with NZRU spokeswoman Julie Clausen stressing that the focus is on winning the competition and that all talk of victory parades is premature.
It has been confirmed that a celebratory event will be staged regardless of Sunday’s result. Organisers of the Labour Day festival, Kiwi Day Out, say this is not a pre-emptive party for All Black success, but rather a celebration of all teams in the World Cup.

675 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All
18 Oct 2011, 08:25 am
Good morning all.
Arrived back yesterday so just want to congrats the Ab’s with the win vs the Wallas.
Did not see the game so can’t comment.
Regarding the final. Imo… it’s a done deal.
As said previously, Ab’s will win easily! Like taking candy from a kid!
Deservedly so.
18 Oct 2011, 08:25 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-149: why is it NZs responsibility to help the pacific nations? do you remember 2003, when the English clubs you so proudly claim help these guys didnt release their Samoans for the WC?
the 15 NZ born samoan players, where do you think they played all their junior rugby? like I said, keep going, its funny to watch..
18 Oct 2011, 08:26 am
And except the overweight panther, of course.
18 Oct 2011, 08:27 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-128:
Oh pantie, don’t worry, we all had a good old larf at your knowledge of the Laws of Rugby but being a plain d.ickhead does not count as being funny in my books. Maybe you should try and change your approach a little…
18 Oct 2011, 08:27 am
@grant10(grant10)-143:
as a foreigner john mitchell will never coach the springboks, besides he doesn’t have the most spectacular of records.
mallet’s baggage just wont make it possible for him to come back, and as good as his record has been with the boks he has made critical blunders at critical times. also didn’t have the honest maturity to admit it at the time…too arrogant or proud.
venter’s really just a lot of hype as a coach, with a similarly not too impressive resume…i wouldn’t risk him with the boks until he proves himself in the s15 at the very least.
meyer…well…his record speaks for itself so i would hope he chooses to make himself availabe.
if ever we were to take in a foreigner then i would throw big money at mckenzie.
18 Oct 2011, 08:28 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-149:
So why doesn’t England let a Romanian team or Russian team or who ever play in its club competition.
18 Oct 2011, 08:29 am
@Brads(Brads)-145: No it wont and nobody would expect them too either. When the USA hosted the soccer world cup they were a joke of a soccer nation, but it was the most attended world cup in history, it brought an unbelievable amount of cash to the football governing body. The USA has since become a far more competitive nation at soccer, has set up its own league and looks to be going from strength to strength.
Would the same thing possibly happening for Rugby in Asia be a bad thing, or is it more important to be sentimental and give the world cup to New Zealand, because they are the number 1 ranked team in the world?
18 Oct 2011, 08:30 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-155:
I would be appalled if Mitchell was appointed Bok coach.
Surely there is better talent than him to choose from in SA.
18 Oct 2011, 08:31 am
@Brads(Brads)-156: It does in the European cup.
18 Oct 2011, 08:34 am
and we have the pacific nations cup. hongkong. your point?
18 Oct 2011, 08:37 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-152: That was just Trevor Leota taking the cash, he always had the option to go.
If New Zealand has no intention of growing the game, why should it have the world cup? South Africa added teh Pumas and Namibia to its Vodacom cup and it made it a better tournament. New Zealand could easily do the same thing, but because of their small man syndrome and paranoia the idea has never been entertained.
You tell me would it be such a disaster to allow other teams into the NPC?
18 Oct 2011, 08:38 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-155: Mitchell is a brilliant coach imo…..and will not take kak like the 3 stooges from a cabal of so called senior fat boys….
Same as Mallet and B Venter.
I pray for a foreigner….we need to get out the laager and acknowledge that coaches like Deans….Henry…Gatland are miles above our soft conservative wallys that have our rugby in turbo reverse.
We need a hard core coach….someone who will not tolerate the prima donnas….
I still cannot believe the power that was allowed to be placed in the hands of the fat boys…..disgusts me i tell you…
Heyneke may be a decent choice……I would not be sad if he gets it….
But only those 4 for me….anyone else I will have major concerns and reservations….
Lets wait and see…..
I am so the moer in with AC…….he now wants schalk back at openside this weekend…..it is this nonsensical type decisions that irk me badly!
18 Oct 2011, 08:38 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-157:
Why don’t you stop after reading a post and attempt to work out the message.
You claim that exposure will widen the games fan base.
Well let me tell you this, getting thrashed everytime you play a top team in front of your own supporters is not a hard on maker for the average fan.
Besides, that is not what I alluded to.
Genetics buddy, genetics. These guys will always be small and while they may compete with lesser skilled teams they will forever be dominated by all the major teams who have much more physical presence.
18 Oct 2011, 08:44 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-159:
Not the domestic competition.
If you want to level that against NZ, why not include Australia and SA
18 Oct 2011, 08:46 am
@grant10(grant10)-162: Ja that doesnt make sense. Schalk must stay at 7 or 8. Maybe its just for the Currie Cup…to accomodate Kolisi at 7.
18 Oct 2011, 08:47 am
Not a fan of Victory Parades, we’re better than that, lets just get wasted.
18 Oct 2011, 08:47 am
@Brads(Brads)-163: Protect your game and don’t let anyone else play it, great idea! Should you only be allowed to play the game if you are going to be the very best?
Basket ball is an even more important game when concerning genetics, because you can’t workout to get taller, where as you can workout to get bulkier for rugby. What you fail to gather is that unlike you and brain cells, Asia has huge numbers! They may not be as good as the states, but they are still pretty good, contrary to your genetics theory.
18 Oct 2011, 08:50 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-161:
No they didn’t they added the Pampas, which is a high performance team.
Seeing as they won all 11 of their games this year, I suspect the Vodacom cup is way below their potential.
A bit like NZ letting a team each from Fiji, Samo and Tonga play in the Heartland competition.
Marginal value to the invitation team, other than the battle between themselves, and zero value to local teams who are all 100% through and through amateur.
You argument would carry more weight if SARU let those two teams take a spot in the Currie Cup.
Could I suggest a promotion relegation system, where the likes of the Lions would be consigned to the vodacom Cup if they fell off the pace.
I am sure your idea would get traction …not
18 Oct 2011, 08:54 am
@grant10(grant10)-162:
Grant, keep in mind that there won’t be the same ‘senior’ players around for the next coach.
I am not too worried about players controlling the next coach.
Our senior players will amount to Habana, Bismarck, Burger & M Steyn, hardly worthy of a cabal
18 Oct 2011, 08:54 am
@grant10(grant10)-162:
Hi Grant. I have not been here for a while. Have you had your “I told you so” yet? I missed it if you had. It would have made for interesting reading, I’m sure.
18 Oct 2011, 08:55 am
@Brads(Brads)-168: Pampas was mainly young guys who didn’t have professional contracts in Europe, so they got a go at applying themselves on a better stage for a full season. Not a bad thing really is it?
18 Oct 2011, 09:00 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-167:
Again you missed the point.
I said if the RWC was run over three consecutive tournaments in Asia, the level of competitiveness by the regaional teams would not move to the point where they would seriously compete against the top teams.
China, can cobble together a reasonable basketball team to compete at the Olympics, but they would be destroyed in the NBL.
By the way, abusing me doesn’t make the point yuo raise any more valid.
18 Oct 2011, 09:07 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-165: same old s hit from AC…..
Makes me the moer in beyond description….
18 Oct 2011, 09:08 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-171:
I suppose not, it would have been a nice hit out for the Argentinian players concerned.
That would be like here in NZ putting the under 21 AB’s, who won their world age group tournament for the umpteenth time, in the Heartland comp.
Or sending that same team to the islands to beat up the locals in their domestic competition.
The question you have to ask is this. What value did they bring to the other teams players, none of whom will likely get to play at a higher level.
@Helen(Helen)-169: pity you didnt have the balls to acknowledge the previous cabal of fat boys….instead youopenly supported them….
@Brads(Brads)-158:
it leaves me cold, to be honest. i just hope its media hype chasing stories and it is not in fact true that saru have his name on a short list. yes, there are worthy candidates in sa imo. however, if we were to try and rope in a foreigner then i would throw big money at mckenzie.
@grant10(grant10)-162:
well the lions have only managed a show of sorts in the cc against vastly underpowered oppostion…they may not even make the final to be honest. if the lions can show the same form in next seasons s15 and place in the top 5 or 6 i would then consider saying mitchell’s a ‘brilliant’ coach, maybe.
18 Oct 2011, 09:09 am
@Brads(Brads)-158:
it leaves me cold, to be honest. i just hope its media hype chasing stories and it is not in fact true that saru have his name on a short list. yes, there are worthy candidates in sa imo. however, if we were to try and rope in a foreigner then i would throw big money at mckenzie.
@grant10(grant10)-162:
well the lions have only managed a show of sorts in the cc against vastly underpowered oppostion…they may not even make the final to be honest. if the lions can show the same form in next seasons s15 and place in the top 5 or 6 i would then consider saying mitchell’s a ‘brilliant’ coach, maybe.
please refer to brads post #158
18 Oct 2011, 09:10 am
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-170: oh trust me he did but he is done with that now. Its finished.
18 Oct 2011, 09:10 am
I’m sure they can just adapt the theme of the parade and use it for something else, should the AB’s fail.
Like a g.ay pride parade.
Or a “Join the Australian Union” march.
Or a “Welcome Home, Quade” parade.
Or a walkathon to raise money to get the AB’s to 2015.
18 Oct 2011, 09:13 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-165: Kolisi is the future at no 7. He will be a Bok before long. Our new Juan Smith.
18 Oct 2011, 09:16 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-155: mckenzie has already been earmarked by o’neill as the guy to take over from deans in 2014. and you know in australia o’neiil gets whatever he wants
18 Oct 2011, 09:16 am
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-170: I may have had a rant….but bloody heartbroken so gloating is a hollow feeling.
I tell you something for nothing though….losing is only okay if we learn and improve from the experience….we need to deeply introspect…..saffa arrogance must be replaced by humility and proper introspection.
We simply cannot continue like we have over last 2 years….we allowed sentimentality, favoritism and a few fat boys to dictate terms….we need a head coach of stature….that is going to be key….
And yes….I absolutely knew our chickens would come home to roost…..bloody self gratification and selfich self interest killed us….and with the weak coaches we were always on a hiding to nothing….the wales game, instead of being a warning to us, was allowed to become a razzatazz for a super bench….which was crazy and nothing more and nothing less than an excuse to bench Hougaard, alberts and bissy….that was the tragedy ….we bought the s hit hook line and sinker….and all the while we should have been starting the best for as long as possible….
we got carried away with the luck…..we are a dumb nation lead by dummies and fall for the rubbish ver and over again.
Pleased that Plod outta the country……that is 90 % of the kak solved already…
Now for the right coach….please!
18 Oct 2011, 09:18 am
18 Oct 2011, 09:20 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-180: he stil has a lot of work to do though before he gets to that level but he’s had a great 1 currie cup season. i’d like to see him concentrate more as a lot of time he seems to go walk-about and watch the game instead of tracking the play.
18 Oct 2011, 09:26 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-184: True. And he probably needs to contribute more on defense. But as a ball carrier and link between backs and forwards he is outstanding. I like the way he finds gaps that allow for extra meters in the tackle (wish Schalk would learn how to do this), and he seems to be very quick for a big guy. He also has a great rugby pedigree at the various age group levels.
18 Oct 2011, 09:30 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-154:
cut Pantie some slack, he’d rather we all forgot about that little incident
18 Oct 2011, 09:31 am
@grant10(grant10)-182:
Could not agree more.
18 Oct 2011, 09:32 am
if wp dont learn to scrum this week….lions will chow us and spit us out…..
6 love 6 love
goodnite nurse…
all over rover…
farkeit….we spendinhg millions on retaining habs and trying to retaion JF…..but we turbo reversing like crazy still…..
WP/ Stormers and there priorities leave a lot to be desired…
18 Oct 2011, 09:34 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-180: @Transformation(Transformation)-184:
Yes Sir!!!!! Kolisi has the good,will put on more size as well(only 20)l.Reminds me very much of Juan Smith who burst onto the scene with Cats in 02/03.Great hands,big engine,physical. He still has deficiencies in his game which is natural for a 20 year old,I remember Juan at RWC 03′ couldnt control the ball at the back of scrum well and took a couple of years to grow into his own(AJ Venter,Jaque Cronje played ahead of him around 04/05 seasons).
Only became truly class around 05-06 period.After making Bok debut in 03.But has become a great player. I believe Kolisi if given the same guidance and leeway to grow,he can be a Smith type player both in skillset and quality.
Add likes of Arno Botha,Nizaam Carr,Marcel Coetzee,CJ Stander,Nick Koster,Lubabalo Mthembu,Lappies Labuschagne etc The SA loose forward factory is very very healthy
18 Oct 2011, 09:35 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-185: yeah, that’s always been his strength – ball carrying – even when he played for Grey PE. he played mostly at 8 and then at SASchools they fielded him at 6 which didn’t work very well as he is not the type of player who plays towards the ball.
18 Oct 2011, 09:36 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-179:
We are sure to see blackie on one of the floats then.
Surrounded by his saffer mates.
I wonder what he will go as?
A 6 foot 4 ****?
18 Oct 2011, 09:37 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-186:
too bad, its gonna be his personal ‘four more years’ ******- on the back by the looks of it.
18 Oct 2011, 09:38 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-112: You give Yarpies a bad name you dumb twit. You will ALWAYS be a yarpie and no amount of trying to be a fake Kiwi fill change that. You fake coward
18 Oct 2011, 09:38 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-86: getting our act together? Hang on, the IRB wanted clean stadia free of advertising, and no access to the corp boxes etc, and catering contracts. The fact both Auck & Wgtn had pre-existing contracts in place created a legal nightmare, as box owners bought them on the premise they had access to them during the tournament. It was a legal fiasco, that the NZRFU and Eden Park and Stadium Wellington would have been lible for. In the end, once the Cup was taken away it prevented any legal cases from going forward.
18 Oct 2011, 09:41 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-189: daai lappies is a tryline sniffer! everywhere.
18 Oct 2011, 09:44 am
jeepuz!
german guy on a five year voyage sailing around the world gets eaten by cannibals…and its an island close to nz by the sounds of it.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3878047/The-cannibal.html
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3875350/Man-feared-eaten-by-cannibals.html
18 Oct 2011, 09:47 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-189: Yes Kolisi has the potential to be a Bok great. What are his phyiscal stats though? Isnt he a bit too short to be compared to Juan Smith?
18 Oct 2011, 09:49 am
@Gunther(gunther)-191: Poor Panto Ne.gro didn’t grasp the concept of a float. For his first and last g.ay pride parade he turned his uncle’s flatbed truck into a 9m long floater, complete with giant carrot bits.
Out in Auckland haven’t asked him back since.
18 Oct 2011, 09:50 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-195: Sign of a good loose forward.
18 Oct 2011, 09:51 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-197: He gets used regularly (and successfully) as a line-out option, so we’re not talking Luke Watsisname here.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All