Beale back for Wallabies

Kurtley Beale has recovered from injury and will start against Wales in Friday’s third-place play-off.

Beale’s return at fullback sees Adam Ashley-Cooper shifting back to outside centre. Coach Robbie Deans has also brought Berrick Barnes into the midfield to replace the injured Pat McCabe.

Other changes see Ben McCalman starting at No 8, Scott Higginbotham at blindside flank and Nathan Sharpe in the second row. Deans has also opted for an entirely new front row in James Slipper, Tatafu Polota-Nau and Salesi Ma’afu.

Australia - 15. Kurtley Beale, 14. James O’Connor, 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12. Berrick Barnes, 11. Digby Ioane, 10. Quade Cooper, 9. Will Genia, 8. Ben McCalman, 7. David Pocock, 6. Scott Higginbotham, 5. Nathan Sharpe, 4. James Horwill (c), 3. Salesi Ma’afu, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. James Slipper,
Subs: 16. Saia Faingaa, 17. Ben Alexander, 18. Rob Simmons, 19. Radike Samo, 20. Luke Burgess, 21. Anthony Faingaa, 22 Rob Horne.