KeoTV: Dagg’s a class apart
20 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE says All Blacks fullback Israel Dagg has been the best player at the 2011 World Cup.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article25 May 2013
Morne Steyn kicked 18 points to beat the Sharks and end the hosts Super Rugby play-off aspirations. The Sharks looked to have conjured up a remarkable victory when Charl McLeod scored and Pat Lambie converted in the 75th minute. But within two minutes the Sharks were guilty of a lineout infringement and Steyn punished the lack of discipline. The Sharks had opportunities to sneak the victory in a frantic finish but lacked the decision-making to turn a possession and field position advantage into victory. The Bulls, thanks to Steyn's kicking, consolidated their position at the top of the ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article20 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE says All Blacks fullback Israel Dagg has been the best player at the 2011 World Cup.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
19 Oct 2011
Morne Steyn kicked 18 points to beat the Sharks and end the hosts Super Rugby play-off aspirations. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

808 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 … 17 » Show All
20 Oct 2011, 13:08 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-429: Zuma is underestimated… continually, like France in the RWC.
Often chaotic…
Contradictory…
Shoots himself in the foot…
Seems to be weak…
But somehow comes through against all odds…
20 Oct 2011, 13:09 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-440: Lets stick to Bok v Wallaby game, 2 wrongs don’t make a right. So because the AB’s were done, the Boks should be done. Sorry but that is weird logic.
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-449:
where you from?
@Connag(1112Connag)-447: And everytime the Boks lose it’s match fixing?
20 Oct 2011, 13:11 pm
@Connag(1112Connag)-452:
Weird logic rules around here.
Wait until ET logs on, then you’ll sluk your words and be thankful for the logic on here.
ET will make you wish you never learnt to read.
20 Oct 2011, 13:12 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-454: Nope. No match fixing in the 1999 RWC when the Boks lost against Australia. The better team won. The ref was fair and honest.
No match fixing in the 2003 RWC when the Boks lost against NZ. The better team won. The ref was fair and honest.
A different story all together in the Rigged World Cup 2011.
But I know its not in your nature to be logical.
20 Oct 2011, 13:13 pm
@Connag(1112Connag)-452: I was refering to 2007 (ab’s), then 2011 (boks). Abs are not done. Boks are.
20 Oct 2011, 13:14 pm
@Helen(Helen)-453: South Africa.
20 Oct 2011, 13:14 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-426:
To be fair katman,
I think some of it goes back as far the 1970 AB Tour of The Republic.
The only coloured or black people seen at those games, on TV,
were sitting behind the goal posts,
cheering whenever BG Williams had a run with the ball.
Why cheer BG Williams………………………………………..because he looked a little like they did.
And those that didn’t look them had the good seats. And always did have.
I would like to see all SAfricans’ embrace their National Team. And eventually they will.
But SA Rugby has to earn that support.
Yours is a most complicated Country.
20 Oct 2011, 13:15 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-454:
The Boks are the best team EVER.
In the interest of placating our Maori brothers who were discriminated against and to let kiwis have more than just Edmund Hillary to be proud of, we let them win. Shame, they have no Madiba, no Steve, no Oscar…. heaven knows they need to win at SOMETHING!
In the case of the Aussies, the shackledraggers struck a deal with Madiba to win every 2 out of 3 games. Someting to do with ex con courtesy.
@ufo(ufo)-435:
rosso…
a simple yes or no will suffice…
@Transformation(Transformation)-444:
and yet you’re incredulous that i could simply support a south african team just because it is a south african team…
your term… “high horses” comes to mind…
@>^..^< katman(katman)-426: “But I am pretty sure that the majority of the local AB fans don’t have such noble motives.”
you see this is why it is futile to have this debate with you are just begging the question. you’ve already arrogantly made up your mind on the supposed motives of the people you know sshit about and their conditioning. that is fine but don’t purport that people who “supported” the all blacks in the 1960′s were just consumers of a well marketed brand.
support for the all blacks was born out of defience and was passed on to progeny, who some for reasons known to themselves carry it still.
when gio aplon was picked to play for the boks in the tri-nations last year he said some of the old people in his neighbourhood said they will now change and support the boks since one of their own was there but some said never.
20 Oct 2011, 13:16 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-457: Sorry still does not make sense.
20 Oct 2011, 13:17 pm
@cane(cane)-459: A Kiwi expert on race relations.
A Kiwi expert on South Africa…
My, oh my, what can’t Kiwis do or pronounce about…?
20 Oct 2011, 13:17 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-456:
Agree.
Because of Bryce “swiss bank account” Lawrence, there is a hollowness about this RWC final. Same as 1987 when the Boks weren’t allowed to play
The Boks were the only team with a game plan that could match / neutralise the Kiwis. Things could’ve been very different if someone else had blown that qrt final
20 Oct 2011, 13:18 pm
@Helen(Helen)-460: To you maybe. Not to me.
@ufo(ufo)-461: I dont know what you talking about. re post your issue.
@Transformation(Transformation)-462: Well said. Deep down I would feel like a traitor if I wore the Bok jersey.
20 Oct 2011, 13:19 pm
@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-439:
That’s was an underhanded jab to the jaw when the Okes weren’t ready for it.
I like that in a man.
20 Oct 2011, 13:20 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-464:
Something strange happens to the psycholigical wisdom of a person once they’ve tasted the fluffy bits of a free range sheep.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-359:
Yeah Yeah Tac,the way your post is worded clearly illuminates your level of “interest” of “you lot”.
But Anyway to answer your question.
The very nature of changing a country with the history of South Africa and past policies/results of such is more complicated then that layman hypothesis you have just presented.
Leaders past and present have stood up and aimed to change the lives of the downtrodden people in this country. And have achieved that in varying degrees throughout the 17 or so years of democratic rule. There have been plenty of mistakes made but there has also been astounding progress in many areas. One doubting any of those 2 is delusional.
About keeping competent non-white in their positions,the question is are those individual willing to contribute to the developing of this country? Because with the developing of this country and the ultimate goal of spreading the resource base to the greater majority/population of South Africa-this directly & indirectly means that the current status quo of which demographically a certain minority controls resource base(financially and otherwise)-is commandeered to change & has to through various policies employed. Are they will to change that,contribute to that change? ie: farmers & willing buyer/willing seller land appropriation policy.Not willing co-operate, not willing after land is sold to enter mentorship programmes to help or contribute to farms to be productive even after theyve gone.The education/mentorship process. etc not willing to sell at market related prices etc etc
The Corrollas and beemers issue is really nothing in the greater scheme of things and the indescrepancies that exist in this country. And with the volatile nature of politics in this country and danger facing politicians(spate of poltical murders,etc) such vehicles one can argue are imperative for their protection. You wont find bullet proof corrolla’s speeding away from immediate danger etc
In terms of China/*Japan/Korea etc they have a completely different traits and dynamics to their society encompassing all spheres: politically,societal,industrial etc. For one the fused ideologies that exist amongst Asian countries namely China of one of years of systematic Communist ideals in conjunction with current Capitalist attitudes allows China to function in an environment unique to their society and that no other nation can even profess to know about-especially West or Western influenced. And its what allows them to flourish at present along with their obvious strategic advantages that exist in their industrial expertise & massive labour force governed by that fused ideological ideal.. Dont profess to be an expert but some of the stuff I have read,studied etc point to such.
But that is in no way to excuse some of the balls-ups that have been made especially in last 5 years or so by SA government. Its still very much a work in progress,liie for instances during current dispensation there has been more prosecutions, investigations, corruptions tribunals etc and the like in government many dating back a very long time ie: Arms Deal,The 3 Amigos,Malema & Youth League tribunal,active role of Public Protector Madonsela etc.
Agh one can go on for days about this.But its a work in progress,let it not cloud the victories & accomplishments that have been achieved(ex: SA to a large extent averting impacts of depression/financial crisis while likes of Greece,Portugal,Spain implode etc)
Still a long way to go though.
And no Malema wont become president.
@Transformation(Transformation)-462: “who some for reasons known to themselves carry it still.”…. What reasons?
20 Oct 2011, 13:21 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-466:
don’t worry about it…
@Connag(1112Connag)-463: Are you saying what was done to the Ab’s was wrong, and the Irb, should have ensured that it never happens to any other team, and the second wrong that happend was to the boks? Is that what you are saying?
In reply. You’re right. But I didn’t see you lot crying for the injustice done to the Ab’s 4 years ago, you just celebrated the fact that you were world cup winners. Therefore, I feel nothing for your plight now.
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-466: So you feel a sense of “belonging” wearing an AB jersey.
Weird really weird. Same as your 2 wrongs make a right. Weird really weird.
Each to their own.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-456: The better team did win in the 2011 QF – recent results confirm that and SA had a coach in title only. Senior players have admitted they ran the team and that’s what it looked like from the outside. When you got players running the team, the game-plan stagnate because they’re not experienced coaches. BL had a poor game but the Boks were worse as they have been for two years now – haven’t fired a shot.
Conclusion – The Boks are not good right now, if only you could see it.
20 Oct 2011, 13:22 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-466:
That was tongue in cheek fella… I’m at PnP, should I pick up a bottle of sense fof humour for you?
@cane(cane)-467:
I’m glad you like men. Explains why you want to chase away everyone with a va gina.
20 Oct 2011, 13:23 pm
@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-439: Just cheating, pure unadulterated cheating. DNA?
@Helen(Helen)-468: I wonder what it is? Is it a type of myopia?
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-464:
I know, I know………………………………………………… HG.
You are right.
A know all Kiwi, etc, etc.
Then tell me why,
so many of yours…………………………….prefer ours.
(It cannot be because you are LOSERRRRRRS, surely).
20 Oct 2011, 13:24 pm
@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-474:
You can’t possibly believe that???
Surely not?
No-one intelligent enough to own a PC and write a full sentence in English, could possibly believe that Aus were the better team.
The ref cost us a minimum of 24 points in that game…. Admit it that refs can determine the outcome of a game and that is what happened
20 Oct 2011, 13:24 pm
@ufo(ufo)-461: “incredulous” – i said “good for you” point out the incredulity
20 Oct 2011, 13:25 pm
@ufo(ufo)-435: I would not support them. I just don’t like the Boks and no magic wand is going to make me.
20 Oct 2011, 13:25 pm
@Helen(Helen)-460: I didn’t realise this was comedy hour.
20 Oct 2011, 13:26 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-472: So that makes the cheating right. Yep weird, fukced up in fact. Doesn’t change a Kiwi cheated the Boks, a Saffa did not cheat the Kiwis.
Hollow, hollow oh so very hollow.
20 Oct 2011, 13:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-480: He also doesn’t fully comprehend the extent of the illustration. At least I don’t think he does. His answer makes no sense to me, unless he is insane.
20 Oct 2011, 13:27 pm
@Helen(Helen)-475:
Are not trying to tell me you are post-op Helen.
No more balls to scratch?
20 Oct 2011, 13:28 pm
@Connag(1112Connag)-483:
LLLLLLLLOOOOOOOSSSSSSSEEEEEERRRRR!
@cane(cane)-478: and why so many of yours prefer Australia….CCCHHEEEAAATTTEEERRSSS.
@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-474: Peripheral issues for one game… No doubt important if considering the overall context of the last 4 years.
But for this one game, there is no question which team was dominant… and no question that the ref was as crooked as a hairpin bend… especially when considering the following game where the ABs similarly dominated and were rewarded…
20 Oct 2011, 13:29 pm
@Connag(1112Connag)-483: So it’s all about the irb in relation to the South Africans. Not the right or wrong of detrimental decisions by an irb ref. Tell me, were all Nzlanders supposed to take their hate out on all English people for the past 4 years, because of where Wayne Barnes’ comes from? Does that make sense to you?
See why I feel fokkol for your anger and pain. Deep down I think back to the 1995 france semi final, and the gold watch from Louis Luyt, and I think the Boks deserved it. Karma if you will.
20 Oct 2011, 13:31 pm
@Helen(Helen)-460:
Helen.
You make me laugh.
Is this the same Boks that is out of the RWC, lying 4th on the rankings,that have lost more tri nations than any?
I think maybe yhou think they are the best ever and good on you but the stats, rankings and head to head begs to differ.
@Helen(Helen)-479: Sorry, AUS has prevailed over the Bokke 5 of the last 6 now. It’s not hard to see the pattern. You can see it takes more than possesion and territory to win a game – SA don’t have it right now. It’s sad and I weep for you.
I don’t think Keo, JC, and Ryan will go home.
Would you?
Yeah right.
@cane(cane)-478: Be proud of Caped Crusader support.
It is thoroughly deserved.
Especially for Winners. Winners of RWC 2011 already it seems.
@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-474:
Time to hit the backyard. Those sheep won’t shaggg themselves you know? You are bringing down the average intelligence of this blog.
@cane(cane)-478:
Itt is more an indictment of those who have no sense of patriotism than it is on your team, so don’t flatter yourself. We don’t judge all kiwis just because a section of your population are cannibals, do we?
@Connag(1112Connag)-476:
Now, you are the one making no sense…
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-477:
For me it seems that NOT supporting your national team because of someting that ended 17 years ago, is just silly…. It is called a national team for a reason, isn’t it? It’s not like it is a club or something. It’s akin to rooting for a stranger when he’s in a fight against your brother. It’s just not natural!!
@Connag(1112Connag)-473: To each their own.
20 Oct 2011, 13:33 pm
Look at this.
I am laughing so hard at the poor South Africans.
Sorry but you guys are becoming a pathetic little bunch.
20 Oct 2011, 13:33 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-493:
NOTHING HAS BEEN WON.
end of.
full stop.
period.
France is France.
A monumental clash awaits.
20 Oct 2011, 13:34 pm
@Helen(Helen)-494: I don’t know any of the Bok players. They are strangers to me and I certainly don’t feel like they are my brothers. I support the team I grew up supporting. See no reason to switch to yours. No reason whatsoever.
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-481: Dude, not to be silly but if you dislike the boks..and by defualts saffas, why visit this site?
@cane(cane)-492:
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 … 17 » Show All