KeoTV: Dagg’s a class apart
20 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE says All Blacks fullback Israel Dagg has been the best player at the 2011 World Cup.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article19 May 2013
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won't break to accommodate an international window. Super Rugby will shift to a March start and won't break for test matches, the June window will be shifted to July and all players will have a 14 to 16-week off-season. Other innovative plans are being discussed, such as building a world series of tests in years that fall between the World Cup and British Lions tours. The revolution that All Black coach Steve Hansen called for last week is coming. The players ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article20 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE says All Blacks fullback Israel Dagg has been the best player at the 2011 World Cup.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
19 Oct 2011
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won’t break to accommodate an international window. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

808 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 17 » Show All
20 Oct 2011, 10:15 am
@Brads(Brads)-194:
I’d rather we were playing Wales than France Brads.
20 Oct 2011, 10:16 am
You have to have a blend of youth and experience in a side. The Ab’s have it right in the right places. An experienced pack, and a young exciting back 3.
Walla that’s how you do it!!
I dissagree with Grant. I think our forwards were perfect, especially with the impact our bench could do.
But we had no game breakers. Steyn’s long boot was the closest we would get for x-factor lol.
2007 Habana was incredible, we had no player of the same dynamic in 2011. AB’s entire back 3 are pretty potent and Dagg is awesome.
@Bismarck Burger(Bismarck Burger)-186: I would rather have LW sister at 8 than that bloody showpony spies!
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-164: Stander? Kruger?
Which Bok Midweek Specials team are we talking about here?
Seriously JJ, this is not the Rapport.
@Mike H(Mike H)-189:
hahaha well said mate.
The last time the All Blacks played SA, they lost.
The last time the Boks played Aus, they lost
The last time the Aussies played Samoa, they lost
The last time Samoa played Wales, they lost
The last time Wales played Fra, they lost.
The last time Fra played Tonga, they lost
The last time Tonga played Canada, they lost
So at the moment, Canada should be world champs
@Transformation(Transformation)-177:
Slow down, cowboy.
Stander captained South Africa and the Bulls at age group level, and is only 21 this year. Gonna be a regular player in the Bulls S15 squad next year and in a few years time probably in the Bok team, with all the necessary leadership credentials.
But then, one year below him we have Arno Botha – ALSO the SA U20 captain, and he is already looking good at senior level.
So there’s lots of competition for leadership positions down the line.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-188: Yes, Kiwis and AB’s are definitely not writing off the French…
They keep repeating that mantra…
While they relax…
Only 80mins left against “turkeys” and then they are “laughing”…. (Quoted from Kiwi journos)
20 Oct 2011, 10:17 am
@DocNZ(DocNZ)-199: I would be very unhappy if Spies gets it. I;m sure he is a fine man, but he vhas not proven himself at 8 and I don’t think he should be first choice.
20 Oct 2011, 10:18 am
@cane(cane)-201:
Only because of history.
This is a vrap French team. Ab’s will kill them Saturday.
No doubt about it.
If Carter was there, i’d say i’d put R10,000 on a AB win. WIthout i’m putting R5,000.
@Mike H(Mike H)-193:
Maybe the Ozzies were to young but i think 2015, they will be a force
@>^..^< katman(katman)-204: Harmse in the house
20 Oct 2011, 10:19 am
@grant10(grant10)-203: With you on that one
20 Oct 2011, 10:19 am
Most drop goals at RWC 2011:
Scotland – 4
Namibia – 3
Who knew?
20 Oct 2011, 10:20 am
What have the All Blacks got to worry about…
They thrashed France in the pool game…
Granted, Alain “Buck” Rolland was reffing the game, but….
France only took them apart for 10mins… and then they surrendered, like they always do…
Nope, Kiwis are right to feel “Relaxed”….
@Helen(Helen)-206:
I like Canada
@cane(cane)-201:
Well of course.
We can be confident in how they will play, and muster up accordingly.
Damn Frog’s, are aliens.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-207: Arno looks the part – a real tearaway flanker!
20 Oct 2011, 10:22 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-208:
HG correct, the boys need to relax.
Cant have them all uptight or mistakes will happen.
20 Oct 2011, 10:22 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-204:
I think he’s talking about robbing banks.
20 Oct 2011, 10:23 am
@Mike H(Mike H)-202: our game breakers were bissy and alberts and hougaard…..
and they sat on the bench while the fat boy tried his hand at shuttle diplomacy, spies modelled sports clothes, and FDP nursed his shoulder.
Mike….we were done and dusted before we atarted because we stupidly bought into the super bench syndrome as it became an easy excuse to avoid making the tough selection calls…
we were beaten by ourselves….via a spinel;ess jelly fish coach that was manipulated by a egotistical son of a b itch fat boy that was part of a fat boy cabal club of self glory seeking prima donnas…..
@>^..^< katman(katman)-204:
Whoever becomes Bulls captain for our next dynasty will be a long term Bok captaincy contender.
As I said, Burger or someone will be caretaker captain for the next couple of years, but after that one of the next generation will take over.
Don’t rate Chilli unfortunately. He would be another Smit – never first choice in his position. Adriaan Strauss has always been better than him, even at provincial level.
ABs are relaxed…
Les Bleus are a disorganised rabble…
One way traffic.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-215:
But as you have also stated, NZ had the ref in the pocket that game and France played their B team.
Different ref and different team isnt that right HG?
20 Oct 2011, 10:24 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-211:
Yip definitely – **** they will be a serious force the next 4 years mate.
This team has been building with babies from 4 years,. now they are becomign men, and they sure have talent.
I think SA and AB’s need to be a little nervous of the next 4 years. We both lose a lot of hero’s
and have some rebuilding to do.
It depends on the SA coached picked i guess. You guys have less politics in that department. You never know what might happen here in SA
20 Oct 2011, 10:25 am
France have gone from 15/2 to 8/1…
ABs have stabilised at 1/8…
Everyone is relaxed. Its clear who everyone thinks will win.
20 Oct 2011, 10:26 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-222:
I have to say that Potgeiter dude at 6 looks like the business.
Maybe we can offload stegasorous on to Province.
In exchamge for that Estbeth guy.
20 Oct 2011, 10:28 am
@grant10(grant10)-221:
We played so well in that quarter mate. It was WC winning rugby.
Dominated everything. But if you team is not allowed to get penalties to score points and can;t score tries because the other team is allowed to take the ball when they want. You can’t win. Well you can win but the aussies line defense is real good i will say. But we should have had a lot more penalties and won by 10.
I think where we fucked up was not taking more drop goals. When we realised that the ref wasn;t going to penalise the Aussies or let us go through phases in the 22, we HSOULD HAVE:
DROPPED KICKED MOrE POINTS!!!!
Agree with you on Hougaard starting. Yes. Bissie against tired legs is amazing to watch. He was perfect in that 30 minute role. He started against Samoa and didn;t have the same impact.
20 Oct 2011, 10:29 am
@Gunther(gunther)-227:
hahahaha Stegasauraus LOL LOL LOL
20 Oct 2011, 10:29 am
i also would not write off the French….
I also believe like HG they have not pulled the trigger as yet….fark me if 1 team can do the dirty it is the french…..
That 8 and 3 never played last time vs kiwis……they are both class acts….hardinoquy and mas….
I am not sure the french have the selection right at 10…..but these okes are a strange bunch…..kiwis should bring there A game or farken tears coming…
20 Oct 2011, 10:30 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-222:
I must say i wouldn;t like to see Bissie miss out starting for another 4 years. He is in his prime and the next 4 to 6 years need to be his.
20 Oct 2011, 10:32 am
1/2 odds on ABs winning by 16+ points.
20 Oct 2011, 10:32 am
@Mike H(Mike H)-228: no mate…plod vs bissy was simply a huge mismatch….and we chose the cripple fat boy over an athlete at the height of his powers….
you can spin this all day Mike….we never had the balls to do the right thing…we were weak and diven by the fat boys club……
insane and we will always suffer because of candy floss weak kneed sentiment….
and that is the truth of the matter….hard to face and harder to stomach…..but thats the facts of the matter…
20 Oct 2011, 10:33 am
The Bulls are soon going to be so full of Province players it’s going to be hard not to like them !!!
20 Oct 2011, 10:34 am
In other news I see it’s costing R 398 million to keep a roof over our President-in-Thief’s head.
yoh.
20 Oct 2011, 10:35 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-222: First things first – Adrian Strauss is average personified. He is the kind of player who ends up spending his entire career at the Cheetahs, apart from a couple of seasons in Ireland or France. The Cheetahs team is littered with them. Collectively they punch above their weight, but individually the Cheetahs only have one star – Juan Smith.
Secondly, while Stander and Botha seem to be decent players, they are not the undisputed best young loose forwards in SA. Kolisi (WP), Labuschagne (Cheetahs) and Coetzee (Sharks) have impressed too. So there is no guarantee for them of Bok berths.
And finally, their leadership qualities might not be the kind needed to unite and fire up the Boks. I’m sure they’d make great head boys at Affies or Waterkloof, but the Bok captain needs to have a slightly broader appeal, if you catch my drift.
But use these leadership qualities at the Bulls, by all means. Alongside the superb leadership skills of the likes of Dewald Potgieter, Gerrit-Jan van Veldze etc etc.
@grant10(grant10)-230:
right on.
We need to play our A game or a result us kiwis dont want to think about will happen.
This French team is scary. Looked average to say the least,played a good game against England when needed. Its like they have just played enough to be there, nothing special. But when will that special game that they are noted for happen?
If its in the final, we will lose if we dont play our best, simple.
NO upset this year.
The FRench have some decent players in their pack. They have an awesome front row though. I would take their props anyday. BUT they are out partying, their coach hates his own players, the players hate their coach. Their 10 sucks.
How the hell they are in a final god only knows.
The AB’s will be on their A-game as they know too well the hoodoo.
I call a AB’s win.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-207: haven’t we seen this movie before? dewalt, captain SASchools etc, strong feature on the bulls set-up, captain of Emerging Boks, yeah yeah keep going and bang where is he now?, i bet you dewalt is going overseas after next year
stander, van velze ngumgubo wengxowa enye…average at the moment!
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-224: Nearly the same team, but yes, different ref.
Relax… all logic says so.
ABs thrashed France in their pool… So did Tonga… Japan nearly did, and Canada gave them a fright.
And yet….
20 Oct 2011, 10:36 am
@Mike H(Mike H)-238:
Oh yes I remember how they got to the final.
They played an English Team that went out to NZ to pick up hotel maids and bungey jump, they beat a 14 man team – ah yes.
I remember
What a disgrace
I will gladly and happily take steggies into the wp / stormers fold….
We will give you Fondse back…
@Gunther(gunther)-235: Of which R170 million was just for interior renovations (not including any furniture).
The revolution won’t be kind.
20 Oct 2011, 10:37 am
Was there ever a bigger underdog and favourite in the World Cup final…?
Wonder what the odds were on the Boks and ABs in 1995?
20 Oct 2011, 10:38 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-236: brussow not a star?
20 Oct 2011, 10:38 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-222:
hahahaha yeah right,just like Anton Leonard,Victor Matfield were Bok captains who were also captains of Blue Dynasty perhaps? Dont think so.
And another thing is that its not a given that Bulls will dominate SA rugby landscape again.Not even Vince Lombardi had multiple generations of dominance,Heyneke has some work on his hands. When last didnt Bulls make CC semi??Not going to plan so far. Plus the junior teams arent as uber dominant as previous generation.Have watched them and there are no real “once in a generation” type talents so far. Good players in Mbonambi,Botha,Breedt,Jantjes,Frans Venter,CJ Stander but thats about it…Cornell Hess has stagnated a bit etc Its unlike likes of Spies,Strauss,Rallapelle,Potgieter etc generation.
Its all up in the air right now…To be honest WP looks by far the most impressive with their young player stocks coming through in: Kitshoff,Etzebeth,Kolisi,Carr,Mbovane,JP du Plessis,Koster REAL standouts.. Then likes of Johaness,Shreuder,Hartzenberg,Groom,Ntubeni some decent provincial players at very least.
Dont think any other union has that level of young talent to match WP at present.
20 Oct 2011, 10:39 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-237: yip….I do believe Henry will get you boys in the right mental space though….
20 Oct 2011, 10:41 am
@grant10(grant10)-247:
For sure
They know all too well the feeling of losing to France in WC’s, many of these guys were there last time.
It won;t happen again.
Ab’s by 10
20 Oct 2011, 10:43 am
@grant10(grant10)-233: leave it, it is over and donw with, plod is Saracens’ problem now. Schalk Brits is kak bang!
20 Oct 2011, 10:44 am
@grant10(grant10)-245: He is already one. They guys I mention are future stars.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 17 » Show All