Wallabies edge sterile sideshow

RYAN VREDE watched Australia stutter to an uninspiring 21-18 victory over Wales in the World Cup bronze medal match at Eden Park.

Naturally this contest lacked the intensity and compelling appeal of a match where the result was meaningful. Consequently it descended into a structureless, error-strewn and utterly unpalatable sideshow to Sunday’s final.

It would have been more bearable if either side had earned the right to play expansively by showing some appreciation for building a platform. Instead the strike runners in either pack were rarely deployed often enough to achieve this, with the showmen in the back division asked to enthral and entertain the 60 000 poor souls who paid to be punished.

Handling errors abound and Australia’s lethargy in sending cleaners into rucks often resulted in turnovers in the Welsh 22m. Their troubles were compounded and cause undermined when key play makers Kurtley Beale and Quade Cooper were injured before 25 minutes had elapsed. The latter, did, however, craft a try for Berrick Barnes with a deft offload, before his exit.

Australia looked a better side than the impotent Welsh, whose struggles were rooted in their inability to impose themselves at the gainline. They also missed suspended captain Sam Warburton’s ability to stifle the opposition’s attacking flow through his breakdown work. Indeed Warren Gatland’s side played with the verve, accuracy and innovation that suggested they’d had spent their week working their way through Auckland’s pubs and nightclubs.

Wales missed three goalkicks but still trailed by just four points (7-3) with with 30 minutes to play, before scoring courtesy of a clear forward pass. On the evidence of that incorrect decision, it appeared referee Wayne Barnes and his assistant had been lulled into a slumber themselves.

James O’Connor kicked two penalties to regain the lead for the Wallabies before Barnes took the Wallabies eight points ahead with a drop goal. Stephen Jones set up a tense final 10 minutes with a three pointer.

Adam Ashley-Cooper should have sealed the result with six minutes to play, but he grassed the ball in a tackle a metre for the goal line. Ben McCalman, however, made no mistake shortly thereafter. Wales would score after the siren had sounded, but were undeserving of victory.

The Wallabies thus finish in third place, which is much like almost bagging the hottest girl at the party, then having to settle for her ugly friend.

649 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 51.ET.: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-35:

Just giving perspective, nothing serious. We all saw the S15 and the TNs and the niggles.

Do ALL now who have so immaturely booed him feel happy that he may now be out of rugby for six months or more?
    I would like to believe they feel a bit silly and vindictive now.

Just to set you at ease I still say (since 2008 already) the ABs will win the big one and I will be extremely happy for that will give me 7 for 7 in these RWC KOs.

• 52.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-50: uyasebenzisa thuvi futhi… Ha weeeeeeee :lol:

• 53.chch: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-49:

It is bad with the booing. It is much worse in Australia though (an observation from having been in many games in both countries and not from some twisted prejudice or because my team just got kicked out of the World Cup).

There were many many company tickets purchased for this game so I am hoping that most are not true rugby fans or rugby fans at all.

• 54.ET.: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-18:

http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/10210/1/world-cup-bronze-final-:–wales-vs-australia.html

• 55.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-18: get yourself a dstv drifta device. connects via usb to your pc/laptop and you can watch dstv anywhere for your normal subscription. costs about R400.
    too late now, but for future reference.

• 56.chch: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-51:

No problem. I hate the booing. There are much more creative and humorous ways to give someone a hard time but NZ fans don’t even sing.

• 57.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-53: Playground defence, “but he did it also”…

It does not look good.

• 58.poppa69: Reply to this comment

gawd I hope all Saffas arent like HG..

what an example of SA he is, hasnt stopped crying and needs to belittle others to feel important himself..

please convince me he isnt the epitome of SA males…. please..

• 59.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-53: apparently (if Tony Johnson is to be believed) your kiwi media has been driving this “hate quade cooper campaign” and he actually said on Reunion that he is sick of it. i guess every country has D!ckheads, some more than others :D

• 60.poppa69: Reply to this comment

must say, the way the Bokke didnt travel to NZ during the 3Ns really worked out didnt it..

still laughing at that one actually…do you think they were well rested in time for the WC?

• 61.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Australians dont roll away… Penalty… Amazing how Bryce’s criminal non reffing has been shown up by every game since, and every ref. Even Wayne Barnes looks magnificent in comparison.

• 62.chch: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-57:

No, just surprised you singled out NZ for booing when it is 3 to 4 times worse in Australia. Makes you cringe standing in the crowd there. Especially with a Sydney crowd of which half don’t even know the rules.

• 63.Gunther: Reply to this comment

The EVIL PINKISH EUROS

Is the evil beigeish brownish extraball talking about the 500 euro note?

• 64.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transfornication-50:

True to your state of lacking simple understanding of the language, the point I made is about stealing ideas and distorting it out of sheer personal stupidity in thhe process. That is plagiarism, even if unknowingly distorted.

If originality is NOT your forte then I guess I cannot ask the moron to be original, can I now?

• 65.stew: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-62: Have you been to Loftus ? Disgraceful attitude to both players and opposition fans – not a place to go with your family

• 66.ET.: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-56:

Thanks, just eagerly waiting for the big one Sunday so that the business can be done.

• 67.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Naah he’s talking about pinkish whities

• 68.chch: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-59:

Really the White Noise (All Whites) and Yellow Fever (Wellington Phoenix) put rugby crowds to shame and they are tiny by comparison.

Having some radio DJ hired to try to rev up NZ crowds has always been an annoying embarrassment. Like fingers down a blackboard.
    End up like American sport/TV when people are prompted to cheer.

• 69.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-58:

nobody needs to convince you of anything poops old boy.

did anyone ever wonder whether you were the epitome of the typical NZ male during alll your ups and downs?

• 70.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-65: but Loftus was empty for big parts of this year???

• 71.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-54:
    Thanks, think the link I found is ‘bad’ enough, stuttering through the phase :-)

@the peanut gallery(peanut)-55:
    Heard about that ye, but will probably only need rugby on tap in 4 years time again.
    @poppa69(poppa69)-58:

Everybody has their own way of dealing with disappointment :-)

Is it just my slow connection or is this game kinda boring?

• 72.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-68:

did he wash his Y fronts with Mrs Xtraball red knickers on the hot setting again?

• 73.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-62: Well it seems the antipodes are not known for sportsmanship of the crowd then especially considering reports from Aussies saying they have been spat on and sworn at by Kiwis in the crowds at this World Cup.

I’m cringing from in front of the TV its so bad.

• 74.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-71: it must be played in ultra slow mo, its been the 33rd minute of the game on keo here for the last 10 minutes….

• 75.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-64: you are so far up your own arse your windscreen is a shade of Thuvi! what was “original” about HG calling me “neo-racist”?

ungumnqundu qha :D

• 76.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Digby vs George… Round 1 to George.

• 77.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-73: yeah agreed, just waiting for the day a kiwi runs onto the feild and wallops a ref, then we’ll certainly be a much better class of spectator

• 78.chch: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-65:
    Really? I thought that South Africa was good (have been told so anyway).

@ET.(ET.)-66:
    It is going to be good no matter how it goes.

Incidentally the NZRU and WC organisers are celebrating reaching the 87% crowd target. I consider it a failure that they are directly responsible for. Damn they have done some stupid stuff.

• 79.Bod: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-58:

Please tell us you are not the epitome of NZ males…… please!

• 80.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-75: Yoh! uyabetha ExtraThuvi, yekha man, yena sokhala… :lol:

• 81.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-78: don’t start criticizing the NZRU black panty will be on your case. your country has hosted the “best world cup ever, probably” :D

• 82.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-69:

Sorry…. I thought no-one had picked it up!

• 83.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-77: That’ll be the day… a Kiwi being “a better class of spectator”… laugh out loud.

No point spitting at your screen either, I am not there… it wont affect me.

• 84.chch: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-73:

Check out the World Cup Rugby League final. Australian fans went about abusing anyone there not Australia. Families and all. Throwing all sorts of objects.

That has only happened in NZ at that rugby league double header they had in Auckland.

That stuff is very isolated in Rugby here. I saw rugby violence in Australia but in fairness it was mostly non-rugby fans going to games (Australians will watch anything they are winning in).

• 85.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-83: youre the only one spitting at the screen mate, seems you stutter quite often on the word bryce… but you are improving, its been 4 whole posts since youve mentioned him..

big ups for that..

• 86.stew: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-78: As a Sader supporter , and a proud kiwi , we went to watch the Bulls v Saders at Loftus with my wife and daughter ( both Lions supporters) – we were made to feel so unwelcome , and my wife nearly got into a fight with a Bulls supporter due to the language being thrown around …. Needless to say we will never go to Loftus again , and it was a bad reflection on a sport where all are welcome and fans of all sides mingle and make good freinds

• 87.ET.: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-58:

Many of the ‘pinkos’ are like him but he, as the chief maggot, is closest to the centre of the cow-dung pat where it is most moist, warm and the stinkest. He thrives on those factors plus the faecal nourishment that normals regard as sheer waste matter.
    If he is not there he is somewhere in the centre of the wettest dog pile equivalent.

He has been extremely at his sickest ,as you have noted , since the quarter finals’ results. His glorious irrelevance has ensured that deathly, grey state of his being.

• 88.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-82:

de nada.

you are allowed the odd senior moment.

those cycling shorts may be restricting your blood supply.

Poops is pondering the issue.

• 89.Bod: Reply to this comment

Whenever I watch Wales play, it takes me back to my old mate Joel “two tons of snot” Stransky.

I can just picture him watching his telly at home getting orgasmic watching Mike Phillips trying to play rugby

• 90.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-65: At a Baabaas game vs ABs I saw some Kiwis make a spectacle of themselves at Twickenham… Definitely no great ambassadors… Many nationalities there but Kiwis were behaving like Millwall supporters. Classy!

• 91.chch: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-77:

Already done …
    Football World Cup football qualifying NZ vs China 1981. The coke can

• 92.chch: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-81:
    really :)

• 93.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-87: I just hope he enjoys watching the WC final… and the playoff for 3rd and 4th..

I mean, coming 8th at the WC does tend to be a kick in the guts :D

• 94.chch: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-81:
    Meant to say …
    Really? I thought Auckland won the rights to the 2011 World Cup?

• 95.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-84: What do you expect, Rugby League is game for supporters who don’t want to be soccer hooligans because they dont like soccer… They still need an outlet though. Scum.

• 96.stew: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-90: I am sure it is happening everywhere now – it really bad for the game i am sure you agree – i personally dont want rugby to become like soccer where fans are caged and yob mentality is encouraged

• 97.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-85: Out of character for me. But you have been known to spit… You are a Kiwi after all… especially on Aussies…

• 98.chch: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-86:

wow, lucky my mate that wants me to go to SA is a Cheetahs supporter

• 99.ET.: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-71:

In a case of urgent need here is another:

http://www.hitsports.net/

If you need to when there click on channel 1.

The FINAL is days away and you have to be prepared,like a good scout.

• 100.poppa69: Reply to this comment

any update on the score in this game? its been the 33rd minute for almost half an hour now..

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.