Burger, Bismarck in tussle for SA gong

Schalk Burger and Bismarck du Plessis are the strongest of the five nominees for the SA Player of the Year award.

Francois Hougaard, Pat Lambie and Victor Matfield were also nominated by the South African media in this category. The winner will be announced on 3 November at a Saru function at Gold Reef City.

Burger and Du Plessis have also been nominated in the category for Super Rugby Player of the Year, while Hougaard and Lambie also feature in the list of nominees for Young Player of the Year.

The full list of nominees for the 2011 SA Rugby Awards:

Player of the Year:
1. Schalk Burger
2. Bismarck du Plessis
3. Francois Hougaard
4. Pat Lambie
5. Victor Matfield

Young Player of the Year:
1. Johan Goosen
2. Francois Hougaard
3. Elton Jantjies
4. Pat Lambie
5. Jaco Taute

Team of the Year:
1. Boland Cavaliers
2. Golden Lions
3. Springbok Sevens
4. Stormers
5. University of Cape Town

Coach of the Year:
1. Allister Coetzee
2. Eugene Eloff
3. John Mitchell
4. John Plumtree
5. Paul Treu

Super Rugby Player of the Year:
1. Gio Aplon
2. Schalk Burger
3. Bismarck du Plessis
4. Sarel Pretorius
5. Duane Vermeulen

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year:
1. Johan Goosen
2. Elton Jantjies
3. Frederic Michalak
4. Josh Strauss
5. Jaco Taute

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year:
1. Bolla Conradie (Boland Cavaliers)
2. Danwel Demas (Boland Cavaliers)
3. Willie le Roux (Boland Cavaliers)
4. Luke Watson (EP Kings)
5. Elgar Watts (Boland Cavaliers)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year:
1. Marnitz Boshoff (Blue Bulls)
2. Marcell Coetzee (Sharks XV)
3. Lionel Cronje (WP)
4. JJ Engelbrecht (WP)
5. Juan Imhoff (Pampas XV)