Burger, Bismarck in tussle for SA gong

Schalk Burger and Bismarck du Plessis are the strongest of the five nominees for the SA Player of the Year award.

Francois Hougaard, Pat Lambie and Victor Matfield were also nominated by the South African media in this category. The winner will be announced on 3 November at a Saru function at Gold Reef City.

Burger and Du Plessis have also been nominated in the category for Super Rugby Player of the Year, while Hougaard and Lambie also feature in the list of nominees for Young Player of the Year.

The full list of nominees for the 2011 SA Rugby Awards:

Player of the Year:
1. Schalk Burger
2. Bismarck du Plessis
3. Francois Hougaard
4. Pat Lambie
5. Victor Matfield

Young Player of the Year:
1. Johan Goosen
2. Francois Hougaard
3. Elton Jantjies
4. Pat Lambie
5. Jaco Taute

Team of the Year:
1. Boland Cavaliers
2. Golden Lions
3. Springbok Sevens
4. Stormers
5. University of Cape Town

Coach of the Year:
1. Allister Coetzee
2. Eugene Eloff
3. John Mitchell
4. John Plumtree
5. Paul Treu

Super Rugby Player of the Year:
1. Gio Aplon
2. Schalk Burger
3. Bismarck du Plessis
4. Sarel Pretorius
5. Duane Vermeulen

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year:
1. Johan Goosen
2. Elton Jantjies
3. Frederic Michalak
4. Josh Strauss
5. Jaco Taute

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year:
1. Bolla Conradie (Boland Cavaliers)
2. Danwel Demas (Boland Cavaliers)
3. Willie le Roux (Boland Cavaliers)
4. Luke Watson (EP Kings)
5. Elgar Watts (Boland Cavaliers)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year:
1. Marnitz Boshoff (Blue Bulls)
2. Marcell Coetzee (Sharks XV)
3. Lionel Cronje (WP)
4. JJ Engelbrecht (WP)
5. Juan Imhoff (Pampas XV)

110 Comments

• 51.grant10: Reply to this comment

gents enjoy the semis and the final tomorrow

viva rugby….best game ever

• 52.poppa69: Reply to this comment

no nomination for PDV?

best coach FOR SA by a mile..

lets hope they give him four more years, the laughs alone are worth it..

• 53.grant10: Reply to this comment

mitchell

mithchell

mallet

mallet

b venter

b venter

heyneke

heyneke…

• 54.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-42: Mitchell said he does not want the Bok Coaching Job.

Who would want to work with saru? Not many. So don’t blame MItchell for not wanting the job.

Only thing with Mitchell he could stray a bit too much from our strengths if he ever got the job. Needs to just combine what we have with some good attacking flair. That is if he ever wanted the Bok job. Mallett also said no way will he coach the Boks again. Jake said the same. None of the very best want it for now.

Will be AC with Rassie. Read Smal might want it too. Just have to see.

• 55.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Cane

who is this player “pass” you speak of? Ive never seen a SA player that was capable of a pass…

• 56.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Troll Alert!

• 57.Puma: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-52: Good luck to your ABs tomorrow Poppa. Though they really don’t need any luck. They will win it by plenty. Like I told you they would against Oz.

Going to get the braai ready my Sharks are playing in the semi in less than a hour from now. Very hot here today too. Probably far to hot to play rugby today. Not sure why we starting so early. Normally a 5pm and 7pm semi start time.

Out of here now. Cheers Poppa.

• 58.poppa69: Reply to this comment

didnt think a country that came 8th would even bother with “rugby” awards..

if anything, they should award the pest control people..

keeping the termites from eating that empty trophy cabinet must be a full time job..

• 59.cane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-55:

• 60.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Johann Sadie’s name should’ve been there.

• 61.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-57: wish i could be as certain as you mate, know too well how the French can cause us heartache…
    enjoy the game today mate, and good luck for your sharks and thank you for your kind wishes for tomorrow..

• 62.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Go France!

• 63.cane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-58:

Are you ready to riot if we lose tomorrow?

I’m heading straight for the SA Embassy.
    The Cops will be heading for the French embassy.

I’ll give them a wave as we PASS each other bye.

• 64.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Loser alert!!

• 65.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-47: Yeah wish we had Fransie for inside centre. Crikey then Sharks would be awesome for next year. Not to be though. Read he might be playing for Cheetahs after his contract ends next June.

We just need to bring in our youngsters. We have some very good talent coming through.

Now really out of here.

• 66.cane: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-57:

Good luck against them Cheetahs Puma.

They play attractive rugby and will take some beating.

• 67.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-63: nah, going to PASS on the riot mate… if we lose we lose, thats life and its only rugby…

I will come here though and see the absolute delight on so many forlorn Saffa faces, they will be besides themselves (thats 7th or 9th place beside them I think) ..

dont think they’ll PASS on the opportunity to put the boot in (dirty thugs that they are)..

• 68.Bryce Dickhead Lawrence: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-48:

Thank you, I’m honoured, I’ll take you and all other Kiwis up on the beer thing. I’m just a NZ patriot who did what was necessary, although the hefty some paid by the NZRU into my bank account sweetened things a lot! Viva the All Blacks, viva the NZRU, viva myself! VIVA!

• 69.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

“Sean Everitt and his Sharks under 21 side turned the tables on their more-fancied Western Province opponents for the second time this season, prevailing in last night’s semi-final to claim a place in the final next week.”

• 70.cane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-64:

You are very sharp of late Popps!

• 71.David: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-54:
    I’ve always been suspicious of the term, “our traditional strengths”. The coaches and selectors are the ones who decide on the players and tactics. Certainly we have always had big, fast players available, if that’s what you mean, but the decision to concentrate on forward power and attempted dominance, has come back to bite us on many occassions.

• 72.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

“The Bulls have lost three more players to the Euro, adding to their already pretty big list of Fourie du Preez, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha and Danie Rossouw.

It has been reported today that Gurthro Steenkamp and Currie Cup captain Gary Botha have signed three year deals to join Toulouse in France.

Stefan Watermeyer has also been released to the Welsh Ospreys.”

• 73.Bryce Dickhead Lawrence: Reply to this comment

@Bryce ******** Lawrence(Bryce ******** Lawrence)-68:

“although the hefty FEE paid by the NZRU into my bank account”

There, I fixed it!

• 74.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-66: Thanks Cane.

They our bogey team too. With out Boks back we should beat them. We beat the top of the log lions last week by 53 – 9. Just shows with some players missing a team struggles.

Good luck to your ABs Cane. Enjoy the win and the celebrations. It will be huge. I will have a few glasses of red for you tomorrow. Nothing quite like celebrating your country winning the wc. Enjoy mate.

Now out of here for real now…………hahahahaha.

• 75.poppa69: Reply to this comment

BL @ 68

we all love our patriots mate… did they give you the farm they had marked down for hayman? I klnow it hasnt gone to anyone else and it is a prime lot of real estate… They also mentioned they were going to give you a brand new bakkie, and they were going to acquire a herd of Springbokke for said property..

it was mentioned that you knew something about

“having deer in headlights”

@cane(cane)-70:

• 76.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-69:

Been saying for a while now that Sean Everitt needs to be brought into The Sharks senior coaching team.

The man clearly has a talent for coaching and he is well spoken and intelligent.

• 77.David: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-60:
    Nah, they didn’t want any Bulls to hold that title for the next year. :lol:

• 78.David: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-72:
    Isn’t Fourie going to Japan?

• 79.cane: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-74:

It is not yet won Puma.

These Frogs will give it their all.
    I for one, think it will be close. very close.

• 80.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

NZ should win by 40!

• 81.Bryce Dickhead Lawrence: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-75:

They said nothing about the farm. You think I should get it too? That will be nice! what is a bakkie? If it’s something nice, I want it too! My lawyer will contact Tew on Monday and sort things out. If you and the other AB fans will support me, I think I can have a farm and a bakkie (whatever that is) as well! But I don’t want the Springboks, only loads of Kiwi birds and such.

• 82.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-72:

Only Gary Botha and Watermeyer are news to me.

Just looks like the Bulls shopping list is going to get longer and longer.

• 83.Bryce Dickhead Lawrence: Reply to this comment

Who says cheating doesn’t pay? I’ve cheated myself into wealth, and I’ve cheated the Boks OUT OF and the ABs INTO the RWC final. I’m happy, the Kiwis are happy, maybe the Boks are not happy – STUFF THEM.

• 84.JKBridge: Reply to this comment

@Poppa69
    What makes you think we came 8th. More like 5th which is not bad considering we had a clown for a coach and a captain that refused to call it quits! And if we had played you guys in the semi’s we would have won even with a clown as our coach! And by the way don’t count your chickens before they hatch. The French are going to spoil your party! And what trophy besides your NPC trophy is in your cabinet? Super 15 = NO! Tri-Nations = NO! So wake up and smell the coffee bro! LOSER!!!

• 85.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

“1,000 people are gathering in Diepsloot township to listen to Malema talk of the “struggle” for “Economic Freedom” today.

Diepsloot is a township with no running water or sanitation services. Sewage flows freely on the dirt paths between shacks.

Will Malema mention the recently announced plans of the government to spend R400 million on upgrading “presidential facilities”?

The “President’s Palaces” are planned for upgrading as follows:

Bryntirion Estate – R192.7m, including new security gates and a dog unit (R39m), boundary fences (R61.7m), electrical reticulation (R22m), a generator room and substation (R15m) and a new road (R55m) within this presidential and ministerial complex. “It must be noted that the above estimated costs have been checked and verified by our departmental professional team prior to approval,” the ministry emphasised in its reply;

Mahlamba Ndlopfu – R168.7m for interior refurbishments alone. And while no cost estimate was provided for other renovations, the minister said these would include upgrades to security, fire detection, “danger warning” systems and “escape routes”, a new surveillance system, the construction of a “sauna/steam room” and the restoration of various historic elements to their original condition, as per SA Heritage Resource Authority guidelines.

Tuynhuys – R24.4m, including furniture (R778 000); and,

Genadendal – R13.5m.

The people of Diepsloot have been failed by their government. But, will they even be aware of this planned expenditure of money when they live in sewage filth?

Malema, will no doubt keep this information to himself.”

• 86.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@83

hear hear, you truly are a fine kiwi lad…

right up there with Walshy imo..

dont ever change, and Im sure your dad keith must be so proud… the message got through..

• 87.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@JKBridge(JKBridge)-84: I havent discounted the French at all…

what makes you think you come 5th? you come 8th loser..

still, you can always explain it as building for the 2015 WC… bwahahaha

did you go to OR Tambo two weeks ago to welcome back your vanquished heroines?

moer hulle indeed…

• 88.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Poopie clearly didn’t do Maths at school.

• 89.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Popsicle clearly didn’t do Maths at school.

• 90.Bryce Dickhead Lawrence: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-86:

I don’t think Daddy was ever as big a cheat as I am, but who knows, I always thought he was a bit of a dark horse!

• 91.David: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-82:
    I don’t know why they don’t just relocate to Cape Town. Our Vodacom team needs a bit of strengthening next year.

• 92.cane: Reply to this comment

@JKBridge(JKBridge)-84:

“” And if we had played you guys in the semi’s we would have won even with a clown as our coach!”"

Yeah Right.

If
    should
    would
    could
    But didn’t!

• 93.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-89: yeah I did..

I know 11 beats 9 any day of the week…

• 94.cane: Reply to this comment

@JKBridge(JKBridge)-84:

“What makes you think we came 8th”.

True………………………………………you came “8th equal”.

• 95.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-92:

doot doot oodle doodle oot doot do do

leave pogliaci alone, cant you see hes hurting already…

Im starting a petition to send to SARU..

its simply going to be called

“Justice4diddy’

we are going to demand another 4 year term, world rugby needs its clowns…

• 96.David: Reply to this comment

I’ll be shouting for the ABs tomorrow, but if they lose, Poppa can always console himself with his favourite song on his way home, “Ewe are my one and only!”.

• 97.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-96: if they lose they lose..

and thats not my favourite song..

my fav song is a song by Smokey Robinson, simply called

“the tears of a clown”

• 98.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I like that song too, but for entirely different reasons.

It’s Motown!

• 99.saru1983: Reply to this comment

They should just give schalk everything.he is worth 5 extra players

• 100.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Player of the Year:
    1. Schalk Burger

Young Player of the Year:
    2. Francois Hougaard (Unlucky Lambie)

Team of the Year:
    4. Stormers (Should always be based on S15)

Coach of the Year:
    1. Allister Coetzee (See above – Wtf John Plumtree?)

Super Rugby Player of the Year:
    2. Schalk Burger

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year:
    4. Josh Strauss (Animal- Unlucky Elton)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year:
    2. Danwel Demas (Didn’t watch a game but I see he scored 15 tries….)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year:
    3. Lionel Cronje (Didn’t watch a game but I’m from Cape Town!)

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.