Slick Lions maul Province
22 Oct 2011
SIMON BORCHARDT watched the Golden Lions beat Western Province 29-20 at Ellis Park to secure a home final against the Sharks next Saturday.
WP came into this game as favourites. They had five World Cup Springboks in their starting XV compared to the Lions’ one. This was their third consecutive appearance in the Currie Cup play-offs, while the Lions had not reached this stage since 2008.
Yet it was the young Lions side that played like experienced veterans, scoring two unanswered tries to reach their first final since 2007. WP looked disinterested for the first hour and by the time they woke up, the game was long gone.
Elton Jantjies was successful with all seven of his kicks at goal, which forced Province to play catch-up throughout. The Lions were the more threatening side on attack and were solid on defence, especially in the second half when they had just 40% of the ball (compared to 60% in the first half). Derick Minnie produced a big performance at the breakdown, while Franco van der Merwe impressed with ball in hand.
The Lions deservedly led 19-12 at the break, after Jantjies and Demetri Catrakilis each kicked four penalties, and Jaco Taute scored a try on the 35-minute mark after an inside pass from Deon van Rensburg.
WP weren’t helped by injuries to Siya Kolisi, whose head collided with Jantjies’ elbow during an attempted tackle, and Bryan Habana, who was replaced on the half-hour mark by Juan de Jongh (he went to centre with Jean de Villiers moving to the wing). However, the Province scrum did improve when Frans Malherbe came on at tighthead prop with Brok Harris moving to loosehead.
The Lions extended their lead to 14 early in the second half when a poor pass from Nicholas Groom was intercepted by Michael Killian, and the left wing went over in the corner. That prompted the surprise return of Habana, who until then had been sitting on the bench as if his match was over.
Catrakilis and Jantjies exchanged penalties to make it 29-15 going into the final quarter, as WP began to dominate possession and territory. They came close to scoring when Schalk Burger offloaded in the tackle to Harris, who was stopped inches short of the tryline. The Lions tackled courageously during this period but a double-skip pass from Burger eventually put De Jongh over with 10 minutes remaining.
Catrakilis, though, missed the crucial conversion that would have brought his side back to within striking range, and the Lions finished the match inside the WP half.

507 Comments
22 Oct 2011, 16:31 pm
Go Province.
Going to be warm out there. Perfect rugby conditions. No wind to speak of.
22 Oct 2011, 16:33 pm
Roar, the den is cooking dragons … and so am I.
Folks no live commentary from me today … but enjoy the match.
Brokebacks your guys are going down.
22 Oct 2011, 16:34 pm
Sorry to say, but lions will win this.
22 Oct 2011, 16:41 pm
The loose forward battle is going to be key. I reckon the Lions shade us there, especially in the tight loose.
22 Oct 2011, 16:48 pm
Die vaste los. Better in Afrikaans.
22 Oct 2011, 16:51 pm
With all the blue and white hoops at the coke blik, Province will think this is a home game.
22 Oct 2011, 16:53 pm
Last time I watched that contest at Ellis Park, it was an epic battle between Stransky and Gavin Johnson with Hennie Le Roux, G. Groblaar, Hendriks and Mulder in the Lions’ side and Pieter Rossouw, Justin Swart and Jame Small all in the WP side.
The Kitch Christie’s led Tvl won in the final minutes by a Johnson’s score with more than just a little help ‘from’ Tappa Henning.
If you haven’t got tired already watching Habana and Aplon then have fun watching the ‘epic’ battle!
22 Oct 2011, 16:55 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-7:
You actually take up a lot of space saying nothing at all.
Sad really.
22 Oct 2011, 16:57 pm
With hondo, white is right.
22 Oct 2011, 17:00 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-7: Not possible. Small was at WP from ’97, after Christie was no longer coaching.
22 Oct 2011, 17:05 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-9: He is also lying. Christie was on his death bed in ’97, the year Small joined WP.
22 Oct 2011, 17:06 pm
Great run Habana.
22 Oct 2011, 17:10 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-12:
Yeah, looks like the WP Bok backs are saying, “thank g*d we’re out of that Springbok sh*t and can start playing rugby”
22 Oct 2011, 17:12 pm
Every Lions player in front of the ball at kickoff.
WP!!!!!!!!!!!!Backline Running looks good 3-0
@David(David)-13:
Exactly. You can see the way they’re running onto the ball.
22 Oct 2011, 17:14 pm
Damn, Kolisi looks bad.
22 Oct 2011, 17:21 pm
Good game this
22 Oct 2011, 17:25 pm
Is Tertius Daniller related to Hennie from the Cheetahs
22 Oct 2011, 17:26 pm
Great game with both sides prepared to run. Certainly not helter skelter though.
22 Oct 2011, 17:27 pm
Peypers “touch, pause, engage,” timing is a bit strange.
22 Oct 2011, 17:30 pm
Score?
22 Oct 2011, 17:33 pm
@JL1(JL1)-19:
Brothers. 12 6 to Lions
22 Oct 2011, 17:35 pm
Sigh. I fear for the brothers.
22 Oct 2011, 17:36 pm
Pyper hasn’t heard of the forward pass either.
22 Oct 2011, 17:37 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-23: lol
22 Oct 2011, 17:39 pm
Am laid back re this game.
Kitties my 2nd team.
22 Oct 2011, 17:39 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-10:
It actually took place in June 1994 prior to the NZ tour, Tvl won the CC that year Vs OFS
Gavin Johnson hasn’t played after 1995
22 Oct 2011, 17:40 pm
Oh my hat where is Jock!
22 Oct 2011, 17:41 pm
TAUTE!
22 Oct 2011, 17:42 pm
That was a lovely try, I hate to say. All in the timing of the passes after drawing their men.
22 Oct 2011, 17:42 pm
WP and all their overrated overpaid Boks getting schooled today. Fantastic to watch. Puts Boks’ performance at WC into perspective.
22 Oct 2011, 17:44 pm
Dankie kwas.
this lions team is so bloody well coached. Out of a team of nobodies…against a springbok (some way over-rated) laden team
Bokless Lions 19 – 9 Burgerville ‘Boks
22 Oct 2011, 17:46 pm
Latest Update:
‘Bokless Lions 19 – 12 Burgerville ‘Boks
H-T.
22 Oct 2011, 17:48 pm
Thanks for nothing
We not blind and have TVs
22 Oct 2011, 17:50 pm
Taute to please play 15 for the boks next year!!!!!!!!
9.Hougaard
10.Lambie/Jantjies/Goosen
11.Aplon
12.J Fourie
13.F Steyn
14.JP/Mvovo
15.Taute
22 Oct 2011, 17:53 pm
Elstadt,Bekker an Vermeulen………..WE NEED U!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Some Duvenage would not be bad right now as well………deserved half-time lead Lions,cummon boytjies we still in this game
22 Oct 2011, 17:56 pm
@ET.(ET.)-36:
Yeah, but Butch’s on the bench. There’s still time for him to come on and change the game.
22 Oct 2011, 17:57 pm
I work with a guy named Ashraf.
Waterslams.
The Fast makes him furious.
22 Oct 2011, 17:57 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-28: Small didn’t play for WP until ’97.
22 Oct 2011, 17:58 pm
lets see if the Bokless Lions can beat a Bok laden WP? And perhaps put the credentials of A Coetzee into perspective?!!!
22 Oct 2011, 17:59 pm
Interesting match. Come on boys!
Two well-coached teams. Come on guys, don’t slame one coach just because you like the other. Both coaches are good.
22 Oct 2011, 17:59 pm
@XV(XV)-43: Since when do credentials matter in SA rugby?
22 Oct 2011, 18:00 pm
@David(David)-40:
Yes, but my post was headlined, Latest Update.
On the bench is not on the active playing field and does not affect the state of the game until he gets ref. permission to cross the real white line.
22 Oct 2011, 18:02 pm
Such insight!
22 Oct 2011, 18:03 pm
@kwas(kwas)-45: very good point! Michael….when the Bok coaching role is open its a very relevant point.
22 Oct 2011, 18:04 pm
Minnie has been impressive all season. I bet he has the best stats in terms of steals this season…
22 Oct 2011, 18:06 pm
KILIAN!
WP has a battle on their hands now..
That wasn’t supposed to happen.
22 Oct 2011, 18:07 pm
Can that be the NAIL that sends the Burgerville ‘Boks on holiday?
Jantjies for Bok 10! BMT this boy…
Oh lala Province better catch a wake up
22 Oct 2011, 18:08 pm
Don’t know what skulk has done to be nominated player of the year.
22 Oct 2011, 18:09 pm
Taute needs to reduce his little errors if he wants to play international footy..
@I am a stormer moffie(I am a stormer moffie)-52:
What really is supposed to happen when opponents in a sporting contest confront each other, Dummy?
Lol there’s the little guy from Middle Earth next to Mitchell again.
22 Oct 2011, 18:11 pm
Dirty tactics there no 2.
Idiot Schalk. Even with 2 tries we’re still not in front.
No need for moffie you onbeskofte kont
22 Oct 2011, 18:12 pm
Vokken onmanierlike name-calling foreigner
22 Oct 2011, 18:12 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-59: LOL
22 Oct 2011, 18:13 pm
Tree, how do you fancy Sharks chances v Lions?
Deon van Rensburg making some people eat their words here. His defense has been huge.
The Lions team is very fit!
22 Oct 2011, 18:14 pm
@ET.(ET.)-58: Why have you become so nasty to every one all the time, you never used to be like this
22 Oct 2011, 18:14 pm
Kick the 3 Points,Schalk Burger just does not learn!!!!!!!!!He did the same thing in the final against the Sharks last year……….
22 Oct 2011, 18:15 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-68: His ******* must be in bloom.
22 Oct 2011, 18:16 pm
@theOracle(theOracle)-67:
It called ‘Altitude’
22 Oct 2011, 18:16 pm
The New Zealand influence is quite obvious in the way the Lions play. Great rugby.
22 Oct 2011, 18:17 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-65: eish Dawn, thats difficult, think the Lions are playing better rugby right now and are uber confident, put it this way I DONT KNOW
I just want us to win.
@EthnicTurd(EthnicTurd)-58:
It was an intercept, you old goat.
I put the Lions to win by a 10-13 margin
The mighty Habana and Aplon might spoil my party tonight
22 Oct 2011, 18:18 pm
What a idiot!!!!5minutes later he decides to kick the penalty………..would have been a 8point ball game,what a twat
22 Oct 2011, 18:19 pm
lions are playing GREAT rugby! hands down
@>^..^< katman(katman)-70: the stars ?? whats the word ?
Always said skulk was few sandwiches short of picnic
7 out of 7 for Jantjies tonight!!
JANTJIES!
22 Oct 2011, 18:20 pm
Jantjes has a cool kicking style
@AssassinWP(Ashraf Ismail)-76:
If he’d taken the first points it would have changed the future and we might not have got the next one.
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-78: A S S H O L E
22 Oct 2011, 18:21 pm
Is jantjies the word?
We are being well and truly outplayed. The Lions deserve to win this.
@David(David)-83: Yes, and someone might not have met his future wife, and some leader might have pressed the big red button.
22 Oct 2011, 18:22 pm
@David(David)-72:
The fact that the coach has managed to get a bunch of palookas actually playing half decent rugby boggles the mind
What would the man do with the talen availablet on his doorstep as a Bok coach….
Peyper: “Eks stem saam, dis ‘n nosedive hierdie”
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-68:
Is blatant taunting ever sweet?
Siily, even stupid comments need to be placed in perspective by mocking.
22 Oct 2011, 18:23 pm
Well, two kiwi coaches head to head next week.
Ripper!
Don’t see WP saving this one.
22 Oct 2011, 18:23 pm
If the Lions score again… it will be game over!
22 Oct 2011, 18:25 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-84: lol and here is was thinking cactus or something but knew you would have have put something different and interesting,
22 Oct 2011, 18:26 pm
That was a nice pass by Skulk
22 Oct 2011, 18:26 pm
Intelligent offload from Burger, recipient was unlucky not to score.
22 Oct 2011, 18:28 pm
I’m sure Peyper missed a big knock on at that ruck.
Oracle
Ever since the litte middle earth guy has been sitting with John, Lions have been winning.
@Bod(bod)-88:
I certainly wouldn’t call the Lions a bunch of palookas. There’s some serious talent there. Mitchell has just brought it out.
22 Oct 2011, 18:29 pm
come on lions – turnover looked fine.
@ET.(ET.)-90: You are not a happy person if you think that way
Go Lions you truly deserve this!
22 Oct 2011, 18:30 pm
Lions defence is impressive… WP needs to score now if they want to win this game!
22 Oct 2011, 18:30 pm
Even with 2 converted tries and a draw, the Lions take this.
22 Oct 2011, 18:31 pm
It’s not over yet.
At effing last!
@Dawn(Dawn)-97: I think that’s Samwise Gamjee.
huge pass Schalk, De jongh try
22 Oct 2011, 18:32 pm
the Greek chap missed
I would rather have JdJ on my side that Habana, and that was co of the skulkanator.
Demitri has cracked!!
22 Oct 2011, 18:33 pm
@David(David)-98:
I’ve seen far better WP teams losing at Ellis Park
It called ‘Altitude’
The miss doesn’t matter, it’s only 2 points and we need a goal and penalty to win.
@EthnicTurd.(EthnicTurd.)-90:
Well then you’ve certainly cornered the market when it comes to stupid comments.
GAME OVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Potato crisp anyone?
22 Oct 2011, 18:34 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-111:
Not for the first 50 minutes.
Havent a clue what that penalty is for, very frustrating
Why was Jantjies subbed??
22 Oct 2011, 18:35 pm
Samwise Gamjee!!!!????
OK then. I want him for next Bok coach.
butch is kak
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-100:
And I am asked to believe and accept that you are the finest psychologist, without the required qualifications, to delve into the seeming matters of the human mind?
Waste your time elsewhere for it is wasted on me.
22 Oct 2011, 18:36 pm
Last 10 minutes are the killer for any visiting team at Ellis Park
22 Oct 2011, 18:36 pm
lol, the old master hugh ‘ill have another’ bladen correcting brosniham, ‘there still a little bit of time warren”…
22 Oct 2011, 18:37 pm
@ET.(ET.)-121: Shut it, you irrelevant ****.
22 Oct 2011, 18:37 pm
@David(David)-116:
No
22 Oct 2011, 18:38 pm
Think the gun runner and IT billionaire are kicking themselves right now.
22 Oct 2011, 18:38 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-122: wp look up for it though
22 Oct 2011, 18:39 pm
Jantjies for Man of the Match!
Nick Groom cost Wp the game idiot!!!!!!1st half turnover ball kicks it down to Lions and Taute scores,2nd half intercept try passes the ball straight to Killian……….
Samwise Gamjee is the power behind the throne.
Laurel and Hardy in the WP coaching box look a little vexed.
22 Oct 2011, 18:40 pm
Jantjies looks fitter than earlier in the year
22 Oct 2011, 18:40 pm
Cheesy Football ?
22 Oct 2011, 18:41 pm
Burger is an idiot.
WP done and dusted.
“no tickle contest”?!?! LOL – yoh he can only talk the kak.
22 Oct 2011, 18:42 pm
@theOracle(theOracle)-135: yeah, they’re done, stick a fork in ‘em
Rhodes is a tough bugger!
Katman what was that word?
22 Oct 2011, 18:43 pm
Burger great Player but not a CAPTAIN!!!!!!
@Transformation(Transformation)-127:
must be a missed calc!
I fell short by one point with the bookie, damn Schalk
seems first time ellis has had a decent atmopshere for a lions game in years.
probably more exciting than the RWC final tomoro.
The hobbit looks happy.
22 Oct 2011, 18:44 pm
Well done Lions. You were the better team on the day.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-131:
Enjoy the win,boet. And just beat the Sharks next week. That’ll shut them up.
22 Oct 2011, 18:45 pm
Samwise gamjee made all the difference in this Lions team.
@Dawn(Dawn)-139: Arsehole. He’s a blooming arsehole.
Well done Sharks and Lions. The two top teams and both deserve to be there. A great final at Ellis Park in the making.
Good luck and well done to their supporters.
The era in which burger, de villiers, fourie and habana have played for province have come and gone without any real silverware. Sad, very sad!!!
@Dawn(Dawn)-139:
He said it, we think it…!!
22 Oct 2011, 18:46 pm
WTF was Butch doing?
Congratulations Lions. A well deserved victory and it bodes well for the future, unless the Bulls come shopping.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-134:
he is no ‘Alfred Einstein’ (Jono Gibbs) for sure
No less than five(5) 2011 RWC backline ‘Boks in the WP team and almost zero creativity exhibited. They prefer to run into brick walls it seems?
How smart is that and they deem they were cheated from a semi-final against a team of ABs that has close to the best, if not the best, creative players presently?
22 Oct 2011, 18:47 pm
Well done my 2nd team and the little guy in the box
Butch is a wily ol fella!!
so the lions beat WP with all their BOKKE back
All the King’s horses
And all their Bok Men
Couldn’t secure
A Frikkiin Province wen
@ET.(ET.)-121: Nobody asked you to believe or accept anything, it is logical by your comments, everything that comes out of you is always derogatory and demeaning, for some reason you turn on every one that has been friendly or even just civil to you.
22 Oct 2011, 18:49 pm
Prooooovince! Take your overrated Boks back to Cape Town – Habana, you useless show pony – go and shower in your golden pay package. Contributes sweet blue fkall. Burger, Jaque F, Jean Div, Schalk, bla bla bla. Too many over the hill Boks.
Difficult for a team to win sharing one brain cell.
Catrikilis must really be brain tired tonight.
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-158: doll, don’t waste ur precious time…enjoy ur day
that result should get Coetzee the Bok job!
22 Oct 2011, 18:50 pm
Now now Hef. Be nice!
@Transformation(Transformation)-156:
The game was won upfront, with only Schalk a Bok. The backs played pretty well with the ball they had available.
1 plays 2 in the final.
Way it should be.
22 Oct 2011, 18:51 pm
Probably the very worst Currie Cup competition in S. African rugby history(barely above Vodacom Cup level) and the Burgerville Boks cannot even win against a team of inexperieenced newbies?
Something really is rotten and stinks in the state of the Western Cape.
22 Oct 2011, 18:51 pm
@XV(XV)-162:
And Skulk the captaincy (need I add).
22 Oct 2011, 18:52 pm
Dankie kwas
22 Oct 2011, 18:52 pm
This made my weekend. Not the Lions winning, but Province out of senior, u21, u19 cups. The true chokers of this era. At least I will be watching some rugby next weekend. WP supporters, geniet julle week. Ek moes maar stil bly die week, nou is dit julle beurt. Haha! Chokers!
22 Oct 2011, 18:53 pm
Some say the Lions played the Currie Cup with the 2011 S15 side
I say they played the S15 with their Currie Cup side…
@David(David)-164: the lions are well drilled though…there you go minnie MoM I told grant!
Yeah, congratulations to the Lions!
A team of no name brands beating a choking WP team! It has become pretty much a trend for Province, when the big games come they fade.
The Lions clearly the more composed team and well deserved winners!
The HUGE positive of course is that Allister Coetzee is not mistaken for the sa rugby messiah.
Just shows again how excellent coaching can make a difference.
So the 2 coaches in the final are kiwis – what does that tell you?
Quite frankly I would like the Lions to win the Currie Cup as they play the more enterprising rugby. Sharks play the dumb brand of taking it up with forwards all the time
22 Oct 2011, 18:54 pm
so who’s gonna have the first slice of pie? at least this lions win has shown how little the commentators on this site know about rugby. Well done John, Josh and all lions players! now bring back gumede!
22 Oct 2011, 18:54 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-158:
” everything that comes out of you ”
Faecal matter and vomitus too?
Be careful now as if you go any deeper you WILL drown, you veritable clown.
22 Oct 2011, 18:55 pm
Hahahah AC. So you want to be bokke coach but you hqve no clue. Jaco poesper did his bit and schalk showed his frustration with being the team being facked in the but over the last few playoffs but how do you not prepare for incomponent refs like this .The whole panel is blue bull infected. I am done with sa rugby. Not worth my time and money. Fack this kak
22 Oct 2011, 18:56 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-161:
twit
Was thinking you should go to that game dressed as the guy from the Rocky Horror, big wig, blue eye shadow, fishnets, bustier thingie. lol
22 Oct 2011, 18:56 pm
Is the little guy’s name Josh?
22 Oct 2011, 18:57 pm
Next week will be a cracker!
Lions playing great rugby, but that Sharks pack is packed full of stars and big-hitters. Would probably beat the bok pack with Bismark and Alberts starting. Total mismatch on paper, but Mitchell got the Lions operating at its peak. Quite like the lions 10 and 12 tho.
Despite Supersport’s Allistair Coetzee marketing campaign (switching to his can’t-control-my-bladder expression about 5 times for every one instance of showing John Mitchell’s reaction to an on-field event) this will hopefully be the end of Allistair’s bid for the Bok coaching position.
He is simply not good enough.
Great game Lions. Really enjoyed supporting you guys today.
@ET.(ET.)-174:
Oh calm down cupcake!!
@Hoops(Hoops)-175: Agreed. Peyper was useless, but does anyone want AC for Bok coach based on this showing?
WP:
No tight five
No fetcher
No lineout
No clue
22 Oct 2011, 18:59 pm
Suck it!! (you know who you are)
Lekker hier in die blik vanaand.
22 Oct 2011, 19:00 pm
Elton Jantjes…perfect kicking record.Controlled the game well,manned up on defence and most importantly showed maturity with performance.With a pooer quality personnel
Young Johan Goosen for Cheetahs has lots of talent,but at business end of competition,he flaked a bit.Bright future,but still a bit from Bok colours or Bok saviour as many were professing.
Jantjes has the goods to be a Bok 10.
Lambie as well looked very good at 10 after hooror show from Michalak.
Jantjes & Lambie showed they were Bok future 10′s elect today.
22 Oct 2011, 19:02 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-184:
Elton Jantjies was ten times better than Butch James today.
He is really looking good.
But this is his second season in first class rugby. Goosen had his first game about 5 matches ago. Give him some time.
22 Oct 2011, 19:02 pm
Don’t call her a clown. Namecalling shows lack of ability to converse intelligently.
Having said that, extraball you smelly piece of fishbait.
22 Oct 2011, 19:03 pm
@ET.(ET.)-174:
22 Oct 2011, 19:03 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-184:
I agree; Lambie and Jantjies our future 10′s
Maybe a season or two but that Lions win today has a lot to do with Jantjies
Those are the the kind of players that can unlock backlines; on that matter we need a proper backline coach
South African coaches seem to be clueless in that department
22 Oct 2011, 19:04 pm
@carol(carol)-181:
Do you not like cupcakes sometimes?
I do.
Since Leeds United are in the top 6 with a game in hand whiich can take them to 2ndposition on Tues., you will find no one calmer even when setting delinquents straight.
22 Oct 2011, 19:04 pm
Well done Lions – after reading yesterdays comments there must be a sh*t load of humble pie beaing eaten right now
This game shows why AC should not be Bok coach, and Burger not be SA captain.
22 Oct 2011, 19:05 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-185:
in James’ defence when is the last time he played a full game of rugby?
22 Oct 2011, 19:05 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-184: Spot on Mshini,
A few months ago the Elton & the Lions ran everything from their 22, to their detriment, but this time Elton mixed it up nicely..
22 Oct 2011, 19:06 pm
@ET.(ET.)-189: Why do you come to this site, isnt there a “Learn Woodwork with Julius Malema” site you can go to
22 Oct 2011, 19:06 pm
@mshiniwami. True based on today’s game, but goosen will play super 15 next year, then U20 final and then he should be ready. He also kicked his goals today and had a hand in their try. Made some crucial errors, but that is part of the learning process.
22 Oct 2011, 19:07 pm
Tac 185
I fully agree about Goosen,I’m just replying to those who were annointing him better than Jantjes already and Lambie
Goosen will def be very good in future
Jantjes though manned up today.Classy performance
22 Oct 2011, 19:07 pm
@carol(carol)-181: @Dawn(Dawn)-186: LOLOL girls united
22 Oct 2011, 19:08 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-171:
I’ve had my eye on Minnie for a couple of seasons. The important thing is that the future looks good for the Boks with these youngsters coming though.
22 Oct 2011, 19:08 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-195:
Yip. I was very impressed by Jantjies. Fantastic performance. The entire Lions game revolves around him. As it should.
As opposed to WP, where it seems Burger tries to run the show at the back with his long passes. Bizarre.
22 Oct 2011, 19:09 pm
Schalkie and the Disney backline were exposed today. The blond bomb failed to ignite. The poor performance of the Province “All Stars” explains why we didn’t make it at the World Cup.
22 Oct 2011, 19:09 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-187:
Good, that wisdom, however, escapes you though when you pathologically place animals ahead of humans. Do humans qualify for your attention and affection when they are treated worse than animals as they have been in S. Africa for so long?
Moral, just questionable morals. And spare me your misguided logic.
22 Oct 2011, 19:11 pm
Franco, Rhodes, Minnie, Josh… these guys are still to reach their potential… even if they lose next week… this Lions team is looking good for the future…
Pragtig!
@frunobulax(frunobulax)-182:
No Bekker or Elstadt
No Flo
No Vermeulen
No Bekker
Elton has been defending well these past few weeks..
22 Oct 2011, 19:12 pm
Maku delivered a mixed bag today…
22 Oct 2011, 19:12 pm
Meaningless discourse sought from a sundowners club? Surely not me?
22 Oct 2011, 19:13 pm
I could sense the Province anxiety and lack of belief; the Lions on the other hand absorbed the pressure and in the end did enough to secure the victory
Jaco Taute growing with every season!!!
Just pasued for interviews with Mitch and Elton J- you could see these guys had the mental upperhand from the word go
Actually the first thing Mitch referred to was the ‘composure’ of his team
22 Oct 2011, 19:14 pm
Think SA got some good young THs coming thru as well, the young guy that propped against cj in the 2nd half gave him a bit of a going over, he’ll only get stronger with age, then there’s also that ginger kitshoff who looks like a silverback – seems we got THs and creative flyhalves coming thru now all we need is a young no 4 to take over from Bakkies and we might have a chance at the next RWC yet.
22 Oct 2011, 19:15 pm
@David(David)-203:
Really weak as the opposition does not choose your team.
They simply play which 15 to up to 22 that is put in front of them for 80 or so minutes.
@ET.(ET.)-200: ok
Well done Lions !! Deserved winners. I said it should be a easy enough win for WP but in the end it was a easy win for the lions. Elton Janjies is probably the best flyhalf in SA after that display. Eish this pie is nogals bitter.
@ loyal Lion I concede u were right and I was wrong buddy. Nou gaan ek liewers vis vang !! Lol
S T F U
22 Oct 2011, 19:16 pm
Ashwin wearing his heart on his sleeves…
22 Oct 2011, 19:18 pm
ROAR!
22 Oct 2011, 19:20 pm
@theOracle(theOracle)-213:
Yeah Ashwin and Owen together with Bob actually bringing something fresh to rugby commentary
I guess that’s what we all want: fresh talent, fresh moves/idea , fresh players and of course fresh team of coaches
22 Oct 2011, 19:22 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-210:
Good doggie(pats on the head) or would you prefer “minkey”(your favourite)?
22 Oct 2011, 19:23 pm
Se moer man , is Coetzee ‘n afrigter ? hy is useless , jammer om te se , maar daar is beter as hy , hy het gery op Jake White ! hy behoort nie oorweeg te word vir afrigter van die bokke nie. SE MOER MAN !
22 Oct 2011, 19:24 pm
@Andre_WP(Andre_WP)-217:
Had your Damascus moment today?
22 Oct 2011, 19:24 pm
So this is a die hard Western Province fan saying congratulations to a better side
There was leadership and it showed
Mitch deflecting much of the praise but everyone knows that many have tried to do something meaningful with the Lions: Jake, **** but they could not.
It makes it abundantly clear to have only Butch and CJ in that team – and they hardly had an impact – that coaching after all, makes all the difference
22 Oct 2011, 19:25 pm
My moer is so gestrip ! hoe de fok sit jy met ‘n springbok span en jy kan nie die leeus wen nie ? fok die hele WP setup !
22 Oct 2011, 19:27 pm
Tree just ignore. Every day there’s someone different to insult, belittle and demean.
Wonder what kind of fecked up household he grew up in.
He obviously never learnt respect for his fellow human beings.
22 Oct 2011, 19:28 pm
Hello Tac.
22 Oct 2011, 19:29 pm
All the injuries only point to questionable conditioning
The clear theme emerging is that the WP coaching team simply does not have it within them to prepare the team mentally for the big occasion
It comes down to fight or flight and mentally they end up embracing the ‘flight’ option
Best thing about the Lions today was their composure. They have been a bit cavalier at times this season, especially when constantly turning down kicks at goal. Today they played knockout rugby, scored points when they were on offer and attacked and defended with serious intensity. Great to watch
Well done to Mitchell, win or lose next week he has really turned this team around. Agree with others, Jantjies played outstanding today. Apart from a couple of silly mistakes Taute had another strong game. Some great young talent in SA at the moment, the future looks good. Please please please just pick the right coach for the Boks – and that is clearly NOT AC!!
WP laded with boks ! but they can’t ply rugby ? **** WP rugby !
22 Oct 2011, 19:30 pm
Cheers fellas! Enjoy kat and crew
22 Oct 2011, 19:32 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-222:
Hi Dawn.
22 Oct 2011, 19:34 pm
As I’ve always said. Allistair Coetzee isn’t k*k. He is just mediocre.
And the Boks deserve better than mediocre.
22 Oct 2011, 19:35 pm
Bryce Lawrence disguised himself as Jaco Peyper today
22 Oct 2011, 19:35 pm
@ET.(ET.)-200: But natural, the dog gets the front seat and the workers must sit at the back. Baas is king.
In the ghetto, viva and all that
22 Oct 2011, 19:36 pm
The reality is that the WP Bok backline always looked dangerous with the ball. The problem was the forwards who were totally dominated in the loose and tight loose.
I can understand the joy of the Lions supporters, as the Lions fully deserved the victory, but please try to maintain a reasonable sense of objectivity, you not Kiwis.
22 Oct 2011, 19:36 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-229:
Oh please.
WP’s problem is that your most ill disciplined player disguised himself as the captain today.
22 Oct 2011, 19:38 pm
Congrats Lions. Lions really deserve to hold this final.
Congrats to all the Lions supporters here.
One and two on the log face each other in the final. Kinda the way it should be.
Should be a cracker.
Go Sharks.
22 Oct 2011, 19:39 pm
@David(David)-231:
Really? Seemed to me Doppies le Grange dominated your guys with his physical midfield defense.
And Michale Killian looked far more dangerous than Bryan Old-Legs Habana.
Heck, even Deon van Rensburg seemed to have a better skillset than his opposite number, with his intelligent play at the tackle point and his dominance in the tackle.
The Lions are simply better coached.
22 Oct 2011, 19:41 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-228: John Mitchell?
Just look what he has done with such a young team. He did say he was not interested in the Bok job though.
22 Oct 2011, 19:41 pm
@David(David)-231:
WTF?! Please point out any Lions supporters who haven’t been reasonable?
If you want to see unreasonable supporters go and read comments by plenty WP supporters on friday who were convinced they only needed to turn up to win. Lions had no chance now the Boks are back blah blah. Humble pie well earned!
Lions won a great game, but winning the final is all that really matters so I don’t see too many getting ahead of themselves
22 Oct 2011, 19:43 pm
@Puma(Puma)-235:
That’s the problem Puma – too many of the better coaches have already ruled themselves out. Mitchell, HM etc who is left?
If it’s between AC, Rassie and Smal I would go for Rassie
22 Oct 2011, 19:44 pm
@Puma(Puma)-235:
Eddie Jones said that he heard the job was already offered to someone.
Cue Supersport’s cameras focusing on Allistair today like he was an A-list celebrity, while Mitchell hardly got any screentime.
22 Oct 2011, 19:44 pm
@Andre_WP(Andre_WP)-220: Cause some of the Lions will be Springboks themselves one day. They very good players and very well coached.
My Sharks lay in wait though..lol. Should be a cracker next week.
22 Oct 2011, 19:45 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-232: I’m not a WP supporter. Not at all. I’d rather see Australia win than WP (but not England
)
I just think he blew them out of the game.
22 Oct 2011, 19:46 pm
As Bulls born but WP lived I can quite honestly say well done Lions, you deserve the final.
Happy for you guys, and your supporters. It’s been a long time since you have had something to really celebrate.
Hope you win next week.
22 Oct 2011, 19:46 pm
WP vs Lions underlined the problems in SA rugby. We have talent, we have speed, and we have (contrary to popular opinion) even the skills, but we don’t have the tactical nous when it comes to team selection and when it comes down to the wire, we don’t have the instinct and feeling for the game to know how to win. Thank God for the two NZ coaches pointing the way.
Heyneke Meyer has the tactical insight to play to his strengths. He won a couple of titles with a monster pack and mediocrity from 10 – 15. He would probably have developed by leaps and bounds and one could easily see that he realized the importance of 10-15. Subsequently the Bulls bought WP’s finest talent over the past couple of years in Hougaard, Sadie, Engelbrecht and Visser among others. How WP could let Hougaard go to accommodate Januarie will be the mystery of the ages. It remains a question if Meyer can take our rugby to a level of our peers. If Australia had our depth, they would probably have a winning percentage of close to 100%.
Allister and Rassie are to my mind not equal to the task in taking WP forward, and definitely not equipped to take the Boks further. Maybe the time has come
to appoint a NZ or Aussie coach (Eddie Jones?) for the Boks.
22 Oct 2011, 19:47 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-240:
Nope, you’re thinking of Jonker who blew Free State out of the other semifinal, seemingly ignoring every knock-on by the Sharks in the interest of “letting the game flow”.
22 Oct 2011, 19:48 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-238: Well I just hope we get the best this time round. Mitchell is our best also Meyer. BUT they both don’t want the job. I think no top coach will want to work with saru.
Seems to be a done deal from what I have read. AC, Rassie and Gert Smal.
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-237: Rassie did make a difference in the short time he was with the Boks. But from what we have all read it will be AC with Rassie and Smal. Not sure if Gert will want to be a assistant coach again. Think top job or nothing for him.
22 Oct 2011, 19:51 pm
@Suidkapenaar(Suidkapenaar)-242:
So next year WP have a backline in which De Villiers, Fourie, Jantjes and Habana are all a year older, and the Bulls have a backline in which Hougaard, Francois Venter, Johan Sadie and JJ Engelbrecht are all a year older.
Difference is, in the former instance a year older means a year slower and kakker, while in the latter a year older means a year closer to their peak, and therefore better than a year before.
Good move Allistair.
22 Oct 2011, 19:55 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-243: I agree Jonker had a shocker. The irony of course is that Watson asks the teams who they want as referee and the Sharks didn’t want Marius… so he was appointed, against the wishes of the Union and still messes up.
Funny how that works isn’t it.
If I were FS I would be super cross, I can’t believe he missed so much. He also missed FS hands in the ruck on their line when the Sharks were about to score in the first half so it evens out.
22 Oct 2011, 19:56 pm
I just pray that we can take some of this form into the Super 15.
Not a religious prayer – more a kind of hope.
22 Oct 2011, 19:57 pm
Saru had better select wise this time who will be Bok coach. WE have huge, huge young talent that can’t be messed about with. We need a absolute genius rugby brain to work with the huge talented youngsters coming through. We pick the best coach, we could really be number one by next year with the talent we have and for years we could stay at number one if we select the right coach.
Most countries just don’t have the huge depth of talent we have coming through. We just don’t have coaches here to match our talent coming through. Meyer or Rassie? Not so sure about them either. Wish we could get Mitchell.
Mitchell has turned very young players into stars. Very easy to see who should be our coach. Just that Mitchell don’t want the Bok Coaching job. Probably seen how many of the Bok coaches have been messed about. Pity.
22 Oct 2011, 19:58 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-247:
Congrats Katman. Brilliant performance.
Not sure what’s gonna happen next week, cause the Sharks have a pack that can trouble you guys, but I’ll be backing the Lions.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-247:
Naand dominee Katman
Nee dominee se span het baie goed gespeel en verdien die oorwinning dubbel en dwars
Province tight 5 could not man up, well done Lions, Good luck in the final,
Katman maybe, just maybe the movie this year will end differently !!
22 Oct 2011, 19:59 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-221: Dawn he is not freaking me out, i find it amusing, specially him thinking my ok was submissive when it was actually just dismissive. I feel quite sorry for him being the way he is, like an animal that has always been abused and does not recognize kindness.
22 Oct 2011, 20:06 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-247: Congrats to your Lions Katman.
See your boys next week at Ellis Park. Should be a cracker.
22 Oct 2011, 20:08 pm
Dominee katman????
22 Oct 2011, 20:09 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-245: Spot on. It defies all logic!
22 Oct 2011, 20:15 pm
I’ll be honest. To me the most important players in the Lions backline are Elton Jantjes, Doppies le Grange and Michael Killian.
Taute is good, but I don’t quite get the immense hype around him from Lions fans.
Doesn’t look like his pace is blistering – although it certainly would be if measured against our incumbant fullbacks, Lambie and Frans Steyn – and he is not exactly as elusive as say Israel Dagg or Gio Aplon.
He is a good prospect, but I don’t quite get the “international star in the making” feeling when I look at his play.
22 Oct 2011, 20:16 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-252:
And the pats on the head? How affectionate and endearing was that besides placing you exactly where you belon, Danish girl?
Think seriously about your clearly misguided morals of humans after animals.
22 Oct 2011, 20:16 pm
@ET.(ET.)-257:
should read “belong”
22 Oct 2011, 20:20 pm
STFU
22 Oct 2011, 20:22 pm
Love halloween month. Lotsa cheap horror flicks.
22 Oct 2011, 20:25 pm
According to racist Fern there is a HORROR in your mirror!
22 Oct 2011, 20:25 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-260: so you enjoyed the diving our the window with the guys intestine last night in Machete lol.
22 Oct 2011, 20:27 pm
Really extraball? Where?
Haven’t seen that HORROR yet!
22 Oct 2011, 20:28 pm
Naah tree that movie was just schlock!
22 Oct 2011, 20:29 pm
Something astonishing has happened in our part of the Cotswolds..
We can get curry delivered to our door!!
How incredibly surburban!! I am quite excited!
22 Oct 2011, 20:32 pm
@ET.(ET.)-261:
So, now say something nice?
About anyone or anything……Give it a go!
22 Oct 2011, 20:33 pm
Fern is typical of extraball’s type.
Self esteem the size of a gnat, resorts to insults when females don’t fall for his “I’m not a stud” line.
In mean who wants to join his thousands of fecked women club.
22 Oct 2011, 20:34 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-267:
I think a little exaggeration may creep in occasionally!!
22 Oct 2011, 20:37 pm
@XV(XV)-48: Allister is still an apprentice coach. Mitchell is a master. Looks at the scoreboard.
22 Oct 2011, 20:39 pm
Ja tackler and he’s here in SA!
Just don’t break into French whatever you do.
22 Oct 2011, 20:40 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-264: that was the best part of the whole movie
I persevered until about 5 minutes from the end and then turned to cartoons
22 Oct 2011, 20:42 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-249: @Sheriff(Sheriff)-250: @Puma(Puma)-253: Thanks gents. But unless we clobber the pilchards next week, we have achieved nothing.
But we should. Similar score to today’s game, I reckon. We’ll keep them just more than a converted try away for the final stretch.
22 Oct 2011, 20:43 pm
@carol(carol)-265: I can just imagine some one trying to get down your long driveway when you all snowed in.
22 Oct 2011, 20:45 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-272:
Today is a great day to be a Lions supporter, it may get even better!!
22 Oct 2011, 20:46 pm
@carol(carol)-268: occasionally !!
22 Oct 2011, 20:46 pm
@carol(carol)-274: That pales in comparison to door-to-door curry.
22 Oct 2011, 20:48 pm
@carol(carol)-266:
How has your day been thus far?
Is that “nice” enough?
Oh! To be in England now that Leeds United are on their way up their to where they belong.
Now that sounds smartly more enticing than just ” nice “.
22 Oct 2011, 20:50 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-272: Brave words after sharks left the lions running around on bl**dy stumps by games end
22 Oct 2011, 20:52 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-273:
I would not be so cruel…The Indian guys seem to like to drive very low slung, souped up, spoiler type cars, not reknown for 4WD performance!
22 Oct 2011, 20:57 pm
@ET.(ET.)-277:
You know, you could get the hang of being pleasant…you were once!
Leeds … I have never been to Leeds, West Yorkshire is not top of my list of ‘Staycation’ destinations and as for football!! Humm…..
22 Oct 2011, 21:00 pm
and these dumb fck klutzes wanna make Coetsee Bok coach with Burger Bok captain.. go figure.. more demented dumb fck hero worship sentiment gonna fck up our rugby till dooms day as long as these stupendously stupid saffa delinquents continue not understanding how and why and where games are lost or won…
exactly how Boks lost the 1/4 final at the WC is how WP lost the semi today.. relying on dumb fck ignoramus mindless hero worship and lack of cohesion where it counts and matters on the field of play…
Minnie schooled Burger, Mitchell schooled Coetsee.. yet Burger will be Bok captain before long and the JW lackey Coetsee will be Bok coach .. just wait and see…
22 Oct 2011, 21:03 pm
Gotta say Hollow Man 2 not half as good as the first one.
22 Oct 2011, 21:11 pm
@ET.(ET.)-277: little fckup of a runtcunt Anglican choir boy.. shows his ‘human’ side once in a while….
keep at it punk.. one day they may bury you alongside your Holy Anglican reminiscences .. maybe even in the holy Leeds united burial grounds… alongside Billy Bremner and Jack Charlton
22 Oct 2011, 21:12 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-272: Actually the Lions achieved a lot if you compared them to last year. It will only get better and with the revenue that’s being generated over this weekend and next weekend it will certainly help. Also from my sources I hear some good talent coming to the Lions and the new partner is on board etc etc. They are on the up, now it’s time to keep the poachers away because they are lurking. Or they will just go overseas and buy some frogs or glove wearing poms.
22 Oct 2011, 21:12 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-282< What channel, I am jumping between a science fiction on sabc3 and Beverly hills cop 3 waiting for the 9.30 movie "Push".
22 Oct 2011, 21:18 pm
The sun shines bright on my old Philadephia home
‘Tis fall and the people are G A Y
The young folks roll on the old cabin floor
While the birds make music all the day
Weep no more my lady
Oh! Weep no more today
We will sing one song for the old Capey home
For the old Cape Town home far away – highly modified.
Now how “nice” is that Carol?
I will sing this now when I mow the lawn for the last time this year, I hope.
22 Oct 2011, 21:19 pm
Jonker blew Free State out of the one semi game and Pyper blew WP out the other.. but it still comes down to tactical nous and rugby smarts on the field of play where Burger totally lost the plot as he frequently does from captaincy position.. and so did Strauss for Cheetahs… as did John Smit for Boks in the WC 1/4 final… and every game he’s captained Boks since 2009…
Frantic stupid rush and desperation type play does NOT win game.. clear calculated composure and knowing how to win DOES.. Burger got fokol idea.. as he always has just a muther of a demolition operative but not a captains A.Hole is Schalk Burger
and watch them make him Bok captain with Coetsee Bok coach.. just watch and witness more fckup hero impregnated delusions ruling the game in this country another 4 years…
22 Oct 2011, 21:19 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-283: Hahaha Skop vs E.T.! This is awesome…
Well done Lions, well deserved victory, will be supporting you next week but I suspect the Sharks forwards will crunch it out for them.
Ai but our forwards were pap… Really need Duane and Bekker back. Still livid about selling all our development to the Bulls. Absolutely shocking stuff from the WP team once again…
To be a Province fan…
22 Oct 2011, 21:20 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-256: and yet he is 100% better than the Niknaks mascot you guys have there at the back.
22 Oct 2011, 21:21 pm
@carol(carol)-280:
It is simply called giving the bitter medicine back to those who enjoyed giving it for hundreds of years.
I have lawn to mow.
22 Oct 2011, 21:21 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-281:
Somewhere in that rambling rant is a core message I actually agree with.
Namely that they would be friggin loony to make Coetzee coach and Burger captain.
But sounds like it’s just about a done deal.
22 Oct 2011, 21:22 pm
Ch 106 but it’s almost finished!
Am waiting for primeval on ch 107
22 Oct 2011, 21:22 pm
@Tuna(Tuna)-289:
No worries, I don’t rate Sideshow Bob, so I’m not gonna argue with you on that point.
22 Oct 2011, 21:23 pm
283:
All you need, A Sham poopal, is simply STFU Joel. you rotten Pole.
22 Oct 2011, 21:23 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-288: You havent lived until you have seen skop and et going at it, gripping stuff.
22 Oct 2011, 21:24 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-293: I hear guthro is going over the sea and Watermeyer. This true?
22 Oct 2011, 21:26 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-288:
No match, Bagel. he will just say ” no mas, no mas ” like the little Burger chicken he is.
How are the studies progressing?
22 Oct 2011, 21:27 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-292: Damn, I havent seen it, have seen Primeval, not scarey just bad and not entertaining, used to be a brit serious called Primeval, loved it.
22 Oct 2011, 21:28 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-298: series
22 Oct 2011, 21:29 pm
@Tuna(Tuna)-296:
Yes and no. They are both going, but not together, and not to the same place.
OK, gonna watch this sci fi movie on Mnet HD now.
Later.
@Dawn(Dawn)-292: @ @Treehugger(Treehugger)-298: Go watch The Ward and Insidious for a lekker skrik.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-291:
Thats South African rugby for you.. Fitzpatrick was quite right about our rugby maladies here.. we do not know how to employ the top two inches.. seems our idiocy is simply ingrained where we pick on every wrong idea or sentiment and we are ruled by dumb blind hero worship inadequacies…
That is how we got baled out the WC in the 1/4′s 2 weeks ago and how WP have failed to fulfill any continuity toward reaching any degree of cohesive dominance in the last decade.. that is how rugby conditioning is entrenched here and seems will continue on the vague unclear road ahead till some messiah comes and bales us out our forlorn state of stupor once again..
I heard its almost written Burger will be captain and Coetsee will be coach.. that is how far along the road we have come in our South African rugby relevant evolution since the days where real rugby sentiments ruled this game once upon a time .. long long ago…
22 Oct 2011, 21:31 pm
@ET.(ET.)-297: Start next week with Human Geography and then Zoology and Atmospheric Science the following week. Being on this site is not helping my cause to get into honours…
Horrible sporting weekend after watching Province balls up another play-off match as well as realising that most of the talent we’ve developed is going to the team I absolutely despise and then Liverpool held by Norwich… AT ANFIELD!
22 Oct 2011, 21:39 pm
Am waiting for Insidious on dvd
Movies xpensive!
22 Oct 2011, 21:39 pm
@Tuna(Tuna)-301: Dawn is into scary, not me, chit i watch cartoons before i go every sleep every night so i have no bad stuff in head and dont have nightmares.
22 Oct 2011, 21:43 pm
@ET.(ET.)-286:
That was really quite sweet – !!
I also mowed my lawns for the last time today…refuse to refuel the mower again in 2011…
22 Oct 2011, 21:43 pm
@ET.(ET.)-297: pathetic little pissarse punk come try your feeble fck’d up luck… feeble little forlorn exiled runtcuntqueer who lost the love of his life here on this blogosphere and now like a miserable scorned fckup of a peanut brained lady boy he tries to usurp some lost ground through riling all his former ‘friends’ the little arsecreepqueer used to vociferously climb up into… anyone remotely thinking this miserable little feeble cn’teyed creep is in anyway educated or intelligent is being fooled almost as much as this feeble little piece of trash pathetic prick thinks so himself…
22 Oct 2011, 21:47 pm
@carol(carol)-306: you into ‘sweet” how pitiful is sweet from sour for you?
little poefta brain is a cherub up some fannyboys backside and some feeble pom pom’s pretend its all ‘sweet’ shows how forlorn and feeble ‘sweetness’ actually gets when it turns to miserable and sour…
22 Oct 2011, 21:48 pm
@ET.(ET.)-290:
Reference bitter medicine given for over hundreds of years…..
Blimey, just how old ARE you??
22 Oct 2011, 21:49 pm
yooooooooohoooooooooo Dawn this PUSH is a good movie !!!!!!!!!!!!!
22 Oct 2011, 21:50 pm
Best killer croc movie ever is “Rogue”
22 Oct 2011, 21:51 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-308:
Hi Skop
The ‘sweet’ was possibly a tad ironic!
22 Oct 2011, 21:54 pm
@carol(carol)-309: He’s a timeless poepol.
22 Oct 2011, 21:55 pm
Am recording it! SssSsshhhh!
22 Oct 2011, 21:56 pm
Girls –
We would never agree on a movie….I watched ‘The First of a Few’ 1942 b/w WWII movie today.
Flipping excellent, David Niven and real RAF Fighter pilots in some roles!
22 Oct 2011, 21:57 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-313:
Kat what is a ‘poepol’ ?
Shall I google it?
22 Oct 2011, 21:58 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-302: I totally agree. Coetzee took the Stormers and WP nowhere, and as valuable a workhorse Burger is, he is no captain from a tactical point of view. It’s been decades since we had a captain that understands rugby. Skinstadt for a couple of games, Teichmann, Pienaar during Kitch’s reign, Naas, Divan, Morne. The rest were up to shite!
Get a decent coach (i.e. Nic Mallet, Mitchell, Brendan Venter) AND a good, clever captain (JdV would have been my choice, but he is on the brink of retirement). Of the new crop, I don’t know of any SA provincial player that has a rugby brain (they are so over coached), so picking a captain is almost impossible.
22 Oct 2011, 21:59 pm
Anglican choir boy practice and horror flieks
nope this is way out of my jurisdiction.. seeing that all the rugger is pretty much washed up and one more final before the curtain falls and skittle sticks about to become the order of the bloody pom pom day..
its getting less and less appealing to even venture onto these so called rugby boards as the level of reasonable creative banter has decidedly been almost totally worn away…
22 Oct 2011, 21:59 pm
@carol(carol)-316: Yes, do. Should be interesting.
It’s anatomical, but the implied meaning carries a lot of cultural insult.
Calling someone a poepol is very satisfying.
22 Oct 2011, 22:04 pm
Skop we been talking rugby all day where the hell were you and what the feck is wrong with some movie chat.
Go to rugby talk if you so gatvol.
22 Oct 2011, 22:05 pm
If they had any brains they’d get Mitchell, but instead they’ll go with Coetzee who fits the transformation criteria and is a readonable coach – it’s all abot compromise – not about getting the best – the time is rip for a maverick who will smash player power and reputations if needs be – not coetzee now.
22 Oct 2011, 22:06 pm
@skopskiet. Who will be your captain for SA? I agree that burger should not be captain.
22 Oct 2011, 22:06 pm
@skopskiet. Who will be your captain for SA? I agree that burger should not be captain
22 Oct 2011, 22:07 pm
Skopskiet, who will be your captain for SA? I agree that burger should not be captain
@Suidkapenaar(Suidkapenaar)-317:
JdV would have taken WP/Stormers places but these dunces that rule the roost in these parts are so f’ng mesmerized bu=y Burger’s socalled die hard commitment and zeal that they get FOOLED into thinking he is anything near to being of reasonable captaincy credibility…
They stuffed it up with Smit at Boks and with Burger at WP something CHRONIC.. and yet they continue in this blind man’s bluff realm of idiotic delinquency…
Coetsee is blind and hopeless and Rassie was instrumental in making Burger the mid field ball carrying go to man.. even at Boks which is partly what killed our 1/4 final vs Australia weekend before last…this incessant bashing away at the advantage line with NO idea of creating cohesive opportunity through phase play and some interaction through some creative ingenuity is where we came up short… and where we will continue to go nowhere in the near future in a hurry..
@carol(carol)-315: think you right there @carol(carol)-316: like calling someone a tosser but the word is anal lol.
@Dawn(Dawn)-311: Haven’t seen it, seen Lake Placid, oy ve ! Open Water, still gets me, cant get it out of my head.
22 Oct 2011, 22:08 pm
@Horings(Horings)-324: That’s right. Carry on asking until he answers you.
22 Oct 2011, 22:08 pm
Here is rugby talk.
Smit div useless, AC schalk useless, skop’s 1000 words contribution summed up in six words.
Reasonable creative banter.
22 Oct 2011, 22:09 pm
Sorry, seems blackberry and keo doesnt work.
22 Oct 2011, 22:14 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-328: You had your oats this morning lol.
22 Oct 2011, 22:18 pm
@Horings(Horings)-323:
medium term I would have gone with Smith or JdV .. even since 2009 when Smit should have p’ssd off as far as possible and we would have had a decent run at the WC.. even under Matfield with Bismark and Alberts and Hougaard starting I reckon we might have made semi’s and perhaps even final.
I would never make Burger Bok captain ever…
and now there is a quandary because no one has been groomed since everyone was saying it would be Chili after Smit..
JdV would be a very good captain both for Boks and for WP.. or Smith if he was physically up to it.. but they are both at the end of their careers so now a new kid with leadership abilities has to be earmarked and groomed.. for the long haul…and quite honestly I don’t know who it should be
I would have considered Francoise Louw if he was staying local… or Dewalt Potgieter if he was up to the task of being best in his position but I fear he ain’t.
Perhaps a total new thinking pattern like identifying a new leader from junior status like Botha of Bulls.. or somebody with leadership credential that can be fostered and developed over the next 4 years.. like Wales have done with Warburton .. something along those lines.
22 Oct 2011, 22:20 pm
Until he extends his circle of compassion to all living things, man will not himself find peace.
~ Albert Schweitzer?
Night Night all……………
22 Oct 2011, 22:23 pm
Yeah but treehugger are you saying u don’t like to roast the chicken or lamb with some gravy ?
22 Oct 2011, 22:24 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-328: so wtf is more anal then talking chainsaws cutting human limbs off or Dracula risen from the f’ng grave..
I did once upon a time think this here blog was distinctly designed for rugby banter and chitter chatter no matter how many times I say Smit fckd up Boks hopes which is an absolute FACT.. at least it is STILL relevant to the prime objective of this blog site which is to discuss the pro’s and con’s of SA rugby progress or regress whichever comes first…
22 Oct 2011, 22:25 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-331: I like your analysis. It’s very close to my own.
With regards to the captain, we need a captain that knows what it takes to win. I can’t think of any province that has a captain that can be around for 5 to 6 years that understands rugby and knows how to win.
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-332: “The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”
- Mahatma Gandhi
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-332:
its good to be compassionate and humane to all living beings.. including humans and animals.. and that includes not eating them.. whether you able to stretch your high moral status of compassion as far as that…
22 Oct 2011, 22:26 pm
The Bulls have the same problem in picking their next captain. Very good options, but none of them standing out. Must say I like the look of Botha. Between him, hougaard, sadie and venter the Bulls could build up a very good young team. Meyer has also hinted at a new brand of running rugby for the Bulls. Seems some Province supporters won’t know who to support.
22 Oct 2011, 22:27 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-336: when is your next spit roast planned for.. tomorrow after church ?
22 Oct 2011, 22:28 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-334: Come on Skoppie, most of your late night ramblings have fckall to do with rugger. When you down your rum and step into your philosopher’s onnerbroek, even Smit takes a backseat. So take the cricket bat from thine own eye.
22 Oct 2011, 22:30 pm
Fine. That cuts me out as I obviously don’t talk enough rugby.
22 Oct 2011, 22:30 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-339: I can’t start tomorrow. That’s too late. I’m already marinading. And you? Do you soak your lentils overnight?
22 Oct 2011, 22:31 pm
@Suidkapenaar(Suidkapenaar)-335:
Frans Louw could have done it he’s got the right brain and mind and qualities to have been a very good captain.. but now he’s gone..
Botha of Bulls was a good captain at junior level .. and Strauss at Lions is showing under Mitchell what he can do with a young team of committed players.. Daniel at Sharks doing a decent job too.. but which of those are good enough to command a starting spot in the Bok team ??
22 Oct 2011, 22:31 pm
Yessus man yessus I can’t see what is so criminal about tucking into a drumstick? Call me a barbarian.
22 Oct 2011, 22:33 pm
Don’t see the point of blathering repetitively about who should be in the team or out or what’s gonna happen before the game is even played.
My bad.
22 Oct 2011, 22:33 pm
@cab(cab)-344: Ask Skop about his leather shoes, his belt or his wallet. I’m sure he’s got a good story for those.
22 Oct 2011, 22:36 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-342: Nope I buy them ready made from Pick n Pay.. but why you quoting Ghandi when you don’t even half way consider or apply his principles ??
BTW I ain’t pushing any agenda here just opening up some correlated moralizing expansion if such be the discussion on the general see saw or roundabout here ??
I prefer talking rugby with Horings and Suidkapenaar though unless its moralizing around the rosemary bush you prefer to wanna go…
22 Oct 2011, 22:36 pm
346 kat
knowing ou doosie his shoes are probably made from cauliflower, the belt from cabbage and the wallet from leather.
22 Oct 2011, 22:38 pm
@cab(cab)-344: so wtf was so bad about those New Guinea cannibals that made off with the German tourist and had his guts for evening stew…?? They were simply following their cannibalistic instincts.. same as you..
22 Oct 2011, 22:39 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-343: It’s ridiculous that we have really a lot of talent to pick from, but no obvious captain! That’s the story of SA rugby, no brains in charge.
22 Oct 2011, 22:39 pm
Don’t suppose he watches movies either.
22 Oct 2011, 22:40 pm
Sorry leather = turnips
no to leather. This is one wierrdarse fkn philosophy – what I want to know is WTF do the poor lions do – I don’t think their stomachs can handle parsnips – strange universal laws these.
22 Oct 2011, 22:40 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-347: Shall I remind you of your rugby-or-nothing principles next time you fckoff on some expletive laden rant or pseudo philosophical thesis in 24 parts?
22 Oct 2011, 22:42 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-346: you ever seen a cow taken to the abattoir to be slaughtered for its hide for the leather industry?
Nope .. it ain’t the case they are taken to the abattoir for the meat you buy at Pick and pay and Woolworths .. the stuff you are marinating right now .. not for my belt or wallet or shoes
22 Oct 2011, 22:43 pm
So now we all cannibals.
22 Oct 2011, 22:45 pm
If god didn’t want us to swim in the water, he wouldn’t have made it wet.
If he didn’t want us to look at women, he wouldn’t have given them boobies.
And if he didn’t want us to eat lamb chops, they wouldn’t have tasted so good.
22 Oct 2011, 22:46 pm
Oops gotta go – must put the sports on hold.
22 Oct 2011, 22:46 pm
@Suidkapenaar(Suidkapenaar)-350: Correct boggerall brains in charge of SA rugby just rondfok around the merry go round till we fall over our own mindlessness and try find out where we aiming at or where we going… No captain of real credibility is groomed and now we have to start again from base one having just wasted an entire four years chasing after Mr. Has Been’s ego rampant self centered ambitions…
What a bloody waste of 4 whole years for nothing..!!
22 Oct 2011, 22:48 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-354: Oh, so your shoes and lederhosen are just the bonus spoils of war. That beast died for my sins, so you just went and took his hide.
No mate, it’s all or nothing. You can’t be half outraged by animal products.
22 Oct 2011, 22:49 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-355: not quite but not that far apart.. why don’t you eat your puppy dog or kitty cat.. the Chinese do? Same consciousness as the cow that tastes oh soooo good..
22 Oct 2011, 22:56 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-359:
in holistic civilization the animal was not murdered or slaughtered for its hide unless eaten first then the hide was used.. why the outrage at trappers trapping for fur .. or whalers whaling for blubber while you killing how many cows and innocent lambs and calves for the delectable tastes upon your screwed up palate? Leather is a bye product of the meat industry not the other way around..
There are plenty synthetic materials for these uses like shoes and belts etc but an animal can die from natural causes too… and humans can also donate organs like kidneys and livers and eyes and after they are dead to those who need them after they are gone…
You just looking for a justification to condone your blood lust.. nothing more.
22 Oct 2011, 22:59 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-361: That’s just what you tell yourself when you slip your Grasshoppers on. That it was dead already when the shoe people found it.
Talk about justification. Well, whatever makes you sleep a little easier.
22 Oct 2011, 23:02 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-362: nope I never killed nobody for my grasshoppers so you talking kak out your hat … you wanna condone your blood lust by looking for an angle to divert the attention from the crime then carry on bullshitting yourself you are pretty good at that…
why don’t you focus on the ACTUAL issue and not the byproduct of your weak justification..
22 Oct 2011, 23:03 pm
Vegetarians are supposed to be even tempered.
Why skop always so befuck.
22 Oct 2011, 23:07 pm
@cab(cab)-352: you a lion or a human.. Lions eat meat.. humans not… check their teeth and digestive tracts as to what their natural diet is…. unless their ancestors got screwed around the brain some time back
22 Oct 2011, 23:09 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-364: because I’m a befuckte vegetarian … hardly a good example.. you should consider Ghandi or Mother Theresa or George Bernard Shaw or JC superstar if you looking for non befuckte examples…
22 Oct 2011, 23:10 pm
Today we all lions
22 Oct 2011, 23:13 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-363: What are you talking about, old man? I didn’t kill my cow either before eating it. Same with you and your shoes. We get others to do the dirty for us, but we both share the blame. This byproduct argument is just lame and baseless. There are two industries based on killing cows – meat and leather. I support both, you support only one. But your shoes still belonged to a living breathing cow once. I know this doesn’t sit well with you.
22 Oct 2011, 23:15 pm
Anyway, that’s me. Just a quick turn of the steaks in the marinade before I hit the sack.
Sweet dreams.
22 Oct 2011, 23:19 pm
Vegetarians are cuckoo.
22 Oct 2011, 23:21 pm
Well, this result was another nail in the “No Cups” coffin for Coetzee.
Bok coach material? I say not.
22 Oct 2011, 23:24 pm
I am starting to think the All Blacks are going to choke. Marc Lievremont will probably show the ’99 semi final to his team as many times as possible. I have watched it a couple of times this week.
22 Oct 2011, 23:31 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-368: you talking absolute kak again.. no animal is slaughtered for its hide unless its in North Saskatchewan at the turn of the last century when trappers and hunters went out hunting for fur and hides…
There are civilizations on this planet that have been vegetarian for centuries and eons for countless generations and never have they resorted to killing animals for their hides…
You are the idiot who is totally confused and trying to justify your penchant for killing for the sake of the taste bud conditioning of your palate while you are championing the morality of being humane on the other hand and while you are being a murderer in the very next breath…
So get it straight.. NO animal is killed or slaughtered for its hide or its leather.. which is an absolute by product of the meat industry.. if it were NOT for humans eating meat to the degree they do.. leather would NOT be the industry it is…and humans would find a different means to manufacture belts and shoes if the hides were insufficient from animals which have died from natural causes..
Animals are not killed for hides except by humans who seek to create industries for profit such as crocodile or ostrich farms etc for that specific purpose .. animals are killed for food and that is the PRIME motive and reason for the meat industry and leather is a by product.. not a primary one.
22 Oct 2011, 23:33 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-370: go tell the millions or billions of cuckoo vegetarians whose ancient civilizations are WAY further advanced and civilized than yours you dumb fck ignoramus heathen barbarian fckd up dunce..
22 Oct 2011, 23:34 pm
cloud cuckoo land.
22 Oct 2011, 23:35 pm
freedom of choice and all that, but I can’t stand the sorts who try and preach their ways as the only way.
22 Oct 2011, 23:40 pm
@Horings(Horings)-372:
could very well happen.. as the hours and minutes tick by toward kickoff I reckon the sweat on the AB palms start getting more and more noticeable and the tickling in the throat region a little more prevalent…
they may just choke again.. Frogs got way less to lose than NZ has
22 Oct 2011, 23:41 pm
The ticker tape parade isn’t in any threat. It’s only a question of by how much…
Or at least, so the Kiwis tell us…
22 Oct 2011, 23:44 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-376: nobody preaching some dumb fck barbarians came on here a little while ago seeking an argument about shoes and leather belts while I was talking rugby but dumbfck cuckoo imbeciles like you will never know the difference between freedom of choice and conditioned reaction … bottom line you don’t have an iota of any freedom of any choice .. your dumb fck actions have been predetermined for you from way back in your dumb fck preconditioned fckd up mindless preconditioning… poor pathetic ignoramus barbarian imbecile dunce that you are..
22 Oct 2011, 23:48 pm
Man is a preditor, always has been, carnivor – omnivore…..4ward faceing eyes.
Herbavore – eyes on the side of head.
Have never seen a cow with incisors
Vegetarian will eat dairy products
vegan…. No animal products at all…..that includes toothpaste, soap, shampoo, makeup….plastic or material shoes etc. Most that i know order there stuf from Lush.
leather is a byproduct from the abbatoirs where we get our meat
abbatoirs hideous places, a nessesary evil as humans cant all hunt 4 there food in this day and age.
vegan and vegatarian is a lifestyle choice. Oh and saying 2 Dawn about eating a pet cat or dog was stupid, preditors dont eat preditors mostly.. Its an aberration
I will say no more, it could go on infinitly. This took 4ever on phone, those beans, peas, apples are all living b4 the die, pick it from the soil and you are eating dieing vegetation. This is life, your conscience is yr guide.
22 Oct 2011, 23:48 pm
@378. The funny thing is that France were in arguably worse shape back in ’99 and ’07 and NZ had Mehrtens and Carter. Now they have Weepu kicking for goals. I am not convinced that he can take the pressure and France have been quite disciplined. He will not get that many chances. France is also the only team in the top 4 with a good goalkicker. Surely they can defend for 80 minutes of their lives and then it is a matter of which team converts their chances.
22 Oct 2011, 23:49 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-379:
————————~<
22 Oct 2011, 23:50 pm
—————~<
22 Oct 2011, 23:51 pm
something went a bit haywire there.
23 Oct 2011, 00:04 am
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-380: according to Darwin the father of modern archaeological treatise on evolution.. man is an advanced Gorilla or Orangutan .. who are both vegetarian..
Man is an omnivore.. where herbivores eat only vegetables (lowest form of living consciousness alive) and carnivores eat only flesh (highest form of living consciousness) .. man eats anything .. from slugs and eggs (which only snakes do in the animal kingdom) or goggas and crawling insects.. and crabs and frogs and dogs and cats and horses and cows and sheep and goats…and some even eat each other in societies on remote islands where perhaps the necessity to remain dominant was to kill and eat their foes
HOWEVER if you read Genesis there is a certain passage which reads as follows…:
God said, “I have given you every plant with seeds on the face of the earth and every tree that has fruit with seeds. This will be your food.” Genesis 1:29
1. every tree bearing seed
Examples: apples, avocados, grapefruit, pecans, papaya, cherries, olives
2. every plant bearing seed
Examples: tomatoes, beans, lentils, wheat, berries, squash, corn, rye
Man does NOT need to kill for his sustenance or his dietary needs.. he does so purely from a barbaric blood lust which he has bred through genetic association and conditioning through parts of his history … his NATURAL disposition and metabolism is towards being vegan or vegetarian.. and NOT a carnivore as felines and canines are…..
23 Oct 2011, 00:19 am
As a WP fan, I would like to say well done to the Lions. Jantjies is a must for the Boks, so is Strauss.
1. Beast
2. Bismark
3. Jannie
4. Flip Van der Merwe?
5. Andries Bekker
6. Brussow
7. Schalk
8. Josh Straus
9. Hougaard
10. Elton Jantjies
11. Mvovo
12. Frans Steyn
13. Sadie
14. JP Pieterson
15. Pat Lambie
16. Chilli
17. Coenie Oosthuisen
18. Elstadt
19. Whitley
20. Sarel Pretorius
21. Jaun De Jong
22. Johan Goosen
The future looks good, now just get the right coach, please!
23 Oct 2011, 00:24 am
This is something that is debated by greater minds than ours (well greater than mine anyway) one will lean this way and the other the other way. Night skop cartoon time, Johnny Bravo lol.
23 Oct 2011, 00:29 am
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-380: the great humane moralist moralizing about killing a cow or a calf for her food while protecting the wild or the infirm animal from the degenerate human animals that hunt them down …. and at same time you butchering or buying your cow meat from pick and pay to put on your Sunday braai…while the Korean or Chinese meat eater is selecting his favorite cat or dog or horse meat at the morning market for his delectable dinner or lunch….
how can you call your conscience your guide when you equate the life of an apple with the life of a cow.. so where does the life of a human fit into your justified mercy killing conscience ??
Why don’t you justify cannibalism if you go so far as to justify killing life is life.. the apple or the wheat stalk is same level of life as a pig or cow or horse or cat or dog or human to you .. so who you trying to bullshit that its same degree of life… you only bullshitting yourself.. instead of buying your meat from pick and pay slaughter it yourself.. look into the eye of the little lamb before you slit its throat and cut it up and put it on your braaivleis.. then come talk justification about the equivalent of killing of apples and killing of cows..
23 Oct 2011, 00:39 am
@MG(MG)-386: very nice side now just find a coach who has eyes in his head and some brain cells between his ears to see it the same way…
23 Oct 2011, 00:42 am
lmao – an advanced gorrila, wtf u talking shite for…
23 Oct 2011, 00:45 am
Skoppie, who will be YOUR next Bok coach and captain?
Just trying to lighten the mood. You seem a bit worked up about eating goggas and kuk.
23 Oct 2011, 00:50 am
how do you think the modern human brain developed?
how do you think we developed the cognitive abilities to feel sorry for bobo the bullmastif?
The human brain requires immense amounts of energy, it is a very energy-intensive organ and evolved eating a high protein diet, long before agriculture.
catch a wake-up stop being conned by BS scriptures, when god wrote genesis he’d obviously never experienced the constant rip-snorting ****-bombs emanating from a high-fibre diet.
23 Oct 2011, 00:59 am
@kwas(kwas)-391:
Paul Treu head coach
Carel dup backline
John Mitchell forwards
Captain is a problem.. I won’t tie myself to any yet, use an interim captain like JdV and watch and see who comes through the ranks with the correct level of leadership character and expertise..
23 Oct 2011, 01:02 am
@cab(cab)-392: you talk the biggest load of kak out.. who taught you your human history … which fuckup of a useless dunce professor of archaeology taught you that man is primarily a meat eater who eats flesh of living creatures as his natural dietary intake.. which ignoramus conditioned justifying arsehole taught conditioned fucked up flesh eating dunces like you that ???
23 Oct 2011, 01:09 am
@cab(cab)-392: I haven’t eaten meat or flesh since 1970 and I can still out think and outwit you and possibly run 100 mts faster than you and I’m twice your age .. plus none of my children have ever eaten any meat in their entire lifetime and they are both far quicker witted than you and far more humane humans than you could ever hope to become….
You are so fucked up conditioned by your western predatory barbaric ignorance that you don’t even know who the fck you are or what kind species the human animal actually is.. or where it originated and what its purpose of life is for… dumb ignorant creature of conditioned self mesmerized delusions of fucked up western scientific grandeur..
so where you get your fucked up thesis on how much protein the human metabolism requires and what type protein is preferable.. as there is plenty protein from beans and pulses and nuts.. far better source of protein than the decaying lactic acidic fucked up poisonous second hand protein you get from eating the carcasses of dead decaying animals you dumb fck ignoramus dunce…
23 Oct 2011, 01:13 am
we all evolved from a common ancestor, probably a bacteria way back called ralph, who had some kids who became plants, others who became gazelles that ate the plants, and others that became lions that ate the gazelles. One of ralphs kids became apes who really ate whatever they could to survive cos food were not plentiful on the savannah and so some of them developed a taste for meat, which in turn fueled the development of bigger brains with their bigger metabolic selective demands, the kids of these bigger brained apes became humans and they have several important differences over other animals including their ape parents, for one thing they had more elongated ******* tracts for digesting meat as compared to their closest chimp relos and for another they had an especially curved respiratory structure which allows you to talk the kak you do.
all those indian civilizations wouldnt be where they are considering the morality of the universe if grandpappy had not devoured the sacred cow.
23 Oct 2011, 01:16 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-395: 1968 to be precise..
23 Oct 2011, 01:18 am
if you say so, i dont think u or your kids can do any of those things. world of difference between quick-witted streetsmarts and really deep thinking.
23 Oct 2011, 01:21 am
@cab(cab)-396: now THAT is some cockamamie fckng screwball whatsatutu theory of evolution if EVER I heard such a bullshit baffling brainless explanation on wtf YOU are ACTUALLY doing HERE on this godforsaken planet out in the far reaches of the milky way galaxy at this juncture in YOUR personal evolution.. you poor screwball denial driven lets bullshit our way to absolute delusion of who the human animal is and WTF he is ACTUALLY doing living through this rigmarole of living and dying and procreating and existing and killing and eating or being eaten for the sake of WHAT !! ??
23 Oct 2011, 01:23 am
@cab(cab)-398: so you reckon you are the deep thinker do you.. how deep do you actually think.. like how much do you ACTUALLY KNOW and how much do you just regurgitate the garbage you suck up through your dumbfck ignoramus spoon fed intellect that ACTUALLY KNOWS NOTHING ?
23 Oct 2011, 01:28 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-400:
the stuff i regurgitate here is common knowledge, but more importantly its got evidence to back it up so its probably true, you aint got the foggiest what deep thinking is about – u still in the minors of that i have no doubt – but that is afterall the way the watchatutus want it after all – no thinking means no questioning. in fact, the kind of thinking im talking about has absolutely nothing to do with known facts, but u will never grasp that so we rather sit on the quite-witted, or in my case duncified, planes here on keo.
23 Oct 2011, 01:41 am
@cab(cab)-401: WTF is a KNOWN FACT??
That Ralph begat the gazelle and then some of Ralph offspring begat a chimp and another of Ralph offspring begat a lion and so on and so forth so that dumb fck IGNORANT screwball idiots like you who wanna bullshit themselves that this is who you ARE
NONE of this krap you are spouting is KNOWN FACT.. it is bullshit baffling brains garbage THEORY and contorted speculation of who the fck YOU are and WTF YOU are actually doing on this little planet out in nowhere’sville…
In other words what you garbage theorists BELIEVE to be fact is NOTHING like FACT whatsoever.. it is NOT supported by factual evidence.. it is NOT a truth .. it is speculated ramifications of one bullshit baffled brainless hypothesis on top of another one.. but it is SO far removed from ACTUAL FACT that you don’t have the vaguest foggiest notion whatsoever of WHO you or the human being IS.. and what in FACT you ignoramus arsehole dunce are ACTUALLY doing here living through this human experience you call life…
23 Oct 2011, 01:47 am
So WP team laden with 5 experienced Springboks got laid low by the Lowly Lions? Good grief there is something rotten in the upper echelons of SA rugby. I think the rarefied air up there is too rare and sparse for AC’s brain and I’m doubtful he is actually getting enough oxygen to his cerebral cortex. This is the man who Saru want to take over from the prize clown village idiot and his Plop idol Smit.
I am delighted for the Lions and this result demonstrates the huge gap between the standard of Mitchell’s coaching and Coetzee’s. Daylight between the two of them.
If Coetzee is made coach of the Boks the same skop en jag impotent backline crashball game plan will be kept and we will sink even further down the rankings. Maybe Argentina might even fancy their chances against us in the ‘Quad-Nations’.
23 Oct 2011, 01:54 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-402:
excellent question, ask yourself that.
dunno it it was fact that ralph was actually the bacteria or that his kids were gazelles, lions, plants or apes, but for the purposes of this exchange, i think its about as close to facts as we likely to come.
but the real cracker, is that your archetypal narrow-minded arrogant scientists is not the one who deals in facts, or perhaps more accurately for this conversation ‘absolutes’, instead they deal in probabilities based on evidence.
23 Oct 2011, 02:22 am
there are no accurate probabilities when you are dealing in guesswork and theoretical hullabaloo based on intellectualized mathematical equations contorting what is actual reality from what is relative to reality…
You think that your senses are capable to determine FACT .. you are WRONG !! So are your mathematical equation and apparatuses POOR useless incompetent measures of what reality and life actually IS
You dumb fck scientists are SO far behind the 8 ball of where life begins or ends or where time begins or ends or where matter begins or ends or where YOU were begat or were shat out into existence that you are still in the KINDERGARTEN of the school of knowledge relative to REAL and discernible realizable knowable FACTS…
Go to a REAL school of REAL knowledge not these fake fucked up self aggrandized piece of trash hypothetical concocted fallacies of intellectualized bumph that leads no one nearer to anywhere relative to WHO the exactly ARE..
Dumb fck useless hyper intellectualized garbage shallow thinking self deluded trash that knows NOWT about NOTHING worth knowing at all..
Get to a REAL school or at least a REAL knower who KNOWS wtf he is talking about and not some hyper self aggrandized theorist who’s guessing or speculating or using his useless non evolved intellect to try fathom what his REAL human personality and human psychological make up IS
that my last take on this rigmarole going nowhere fast.. you going around in circles getting nowhere.. and its a superfluous exercise in wastefulness beating around the intellectual bush trying to find out who the human personality and creature of consciousness is when it is ACTUALLY staring you in your non realizing face… you going absolutely nowhere down that endless nondescript non knowing theoretical road.. and I ain’t in the least interested in wasting any more superfluous energy even contemplating the uselessness and superficiality of the exercise..
23 Oct 2011, 02:35 am
guesswork, lol, oh the irony, what a load of it, same old line of shite u been indoctriinated with while contemplating your inner bollocks.
so which is it that they told you about the limited scientists, senses or mathematics or both? Cos you do realise they are completely different modes of insight into reality? What when they happen to agree? And what happens to the understanding acquired that is counterintuitive to our senses or mathematics?
you dont even know what science is based on, you dont even have the faintest clue, let alone what anyone else might actually be thinking.
its goddamn criminal that you were allowed to indoctrinate those kids in the way you have, how do you know that they would not have loved a goddamn sunday roast lamb with crispy potatoes in duck fat and gravy? a complete abomination that these practices are allowed to continue in the 21 century, out!
23 Oct 2011, 03:22 am
In terms of pure coaching nous, Mitchell behind the wheel of a Mazda 2 would beat Coetzee behind the wheel of a Corvette by about a lap and a half in a six-lap race.
Allister Coetzee is clueless and is another victim of the Peter Principle — prematurely promoted to a point beyond his own competence.
23 Oct 2011, 05:03 am
AC is a quota appointee, but I doubt he really calls the shots at the Stormers/WP, I believe Erasmus is in control
23 Oct 2011, 06:04 am
WP losing..thatt makes my year
23 Oct 2011, 06:22 am
Anyone noticing a trend here. Two Kiwi coached teams are mopping the floor with the South African coached teams.
Not a good sign for the future.
23 Oct 2011, 06:24 am
mitchell….
jantjes
the future.
on your knees hoskins……on your farken knees !
23 Oct 2011, 06:24 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-410: catch a wakey…..we need MITCHELL……NOT BLOODY SOFT C O CK ac!!
23 Oct 2011, 06:31 am
had llions by 8…..
WP lack grunt ….as usual…
and schalk a great blindsider…..but not an opensider….
Hopefully public presssure will build into Tsunami proportions for Mitchell as Head Coach.
AC will be a disaster …..
23 Oct 2011, 06:32 am
Problem is the gifted Mitchell don’t want us !!
23 Oct 2011, 06:34 am
Province need Bekker , Elstahdt, Vermuelen to add voema to that lightweight pack that got bullied last night !!
23 Oct 2011, 06:44 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-415: and we need more quality depth at prop……..and Fondse must take a ride into the sunset….
23 Oct 2011, 06:46 am
@grant10(grant10)-412:
No foreign coaches…and he’s not interested.
Just wait…SARU will hire another duh Villiers type in the spirit of transformation.
23 Oct 2011, 06:48 am
@grant10(grant10)-416:
And a fetche r !!
23 Oct 2011, 06:50 am
Can anyone tell me at what time the final starts here in SA? Keos time is the usual BS.
23 Oct 2011, 06:54 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-417:
If Jake White reckons that Alistair is the man for the job, why would all the JW fans not believe him?
23 Oct 2011, 06:55 am
@David(David)-419:
Kickoff is at 10. Talking heads on TV from 9.
23 Oct 2011, 07:04 am
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-421:
Thanks. We’ve got a plumbing problem and my wife is trying to find out when we can fix it and turn the water back on.
23 Oct 2011, 07:11 am
Eish….. Hierdie babalas is die moeite werd gewees.
Unsung hero last night….. Micheal Rhodes.
23 Oct 2011, 07:19 am
@David(David)-420:
Jake is having a laugh. He knows just how to get the right balance between irony and sarcasm.
23 Oct 2011, 07:24 am
David, tell her around lunch time.
23 Oct 2011, 07:27 am
HHS, daai ou is uitstekend. En hy sou nooit ‘n kans by die sharks gekry het nie. Franco en Cilliers was ook goed.
23 Oct 2011, 07:28 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-424:
Jake taught Allistair everything he knows.
23 Oct 2011, 07:29 am
I am a stormer – I’ll definitely tune in at 9 then. I love that band. Got all their albums.
23 Oct 2011, 07:37 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-428:
Very sharp.I enjoy that band too.
I hope the Lions finish the job next Sat.
23 Oct 2011, 07:40 am
@David(David)-427:
I remember when Allister was the Bok backline coach how they were battling to score tries back then. Not much has changed. With each passing year, I’m becoming more disillustioned with AC.
And between Rassie and AC, the way they’ve let youngsters go is just mindboggling.
23 Oct 2011, 07:41 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-426: ja nee, my sharks vriende braak gal oor Rhodes. Die mannetjie lyk goed maar hy kan bietjie sy kop verloor soos hy deur die jaar gewys het. Soos jy se Franco en Pat net so goed en kyk ek kritiseer Deon baie maar hy was goed gister en ek hoop nou hy bly so speel. Maar daai poep oog Minnie het die WP laat skarrel en ons senters het daai Bok duo mooi op gepas en selfs laat tos lyk. Ek is trots op die manne hulle verdien dit, maar volgende naweek gaan taai wees.
23 Oct 2011, 07:46 am
Good morning to all you 2ndraters fans out there, after yesterdays result you all must be babalaas after drowning your sorrows in another arsehole performance by your team in hoops and just to make your day most of these players will be there for next season is`nt life good.Enjoy your day suckers.
23 Oct 2011, 07:53 am
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-430:
To be fair, Fleck is the backline coach and we didn’t do too badly considering we had two novices at 9 and 10. Our problem was up front, especially with 3 ball carrying loosies and nobody clearing out.
23 Oct 2011, 08:03 am
Here is a possible starting 15 for the bulls for next season
1 Dean Greyling
2 Chilliboy(unless we sign bismark)
3 Werner kruger
4 Flip
5 Juandre Kruger
6 CJ Stander
7 Jaque Potgeiter
8 Pierre Spies
9 Francois Hougaard
10 Morne Steyn
11 Bjorn Basson
12 Francois Venter
13 Johan Sadie
14 JJ Engelbrecht
15 Jurgen Visser
Not a bad starting team for the bulls read it and weep all you 2nd raters out there especially skopshite.
23 Oct 2011, 08:08 am
@blueboy(blueboy)-434:
mid table finish for the Bulls next season
23 Oct 2011, 08:12 am
I hope this gets taken into account when Coetzee’s case for the Bok job is assessed. I hope they go beyond experience and qualifications and actually assess his success at club level in terms of silverware, of which there has not been a great deal.
23 Oct 2011, 08:13 am
On ya Saffa’s!!
7.06pm: A huddled group of Springbok fans told nzherald.co.nz’s Tory Rawhiti Forbes they were at Eden Park to show their support for the All Blacks.
“We won it in 1995 in South Africa, and we want the All Blacks to win it here tonight,” said Bertine Terblanche.
“It is important for New Zealanders to feel it in your own country
23 Oct 2011, 08:43 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-405: Wow, being vegetarian sure makes a person aggressive. A filthy mouth like yours doesn’t actually deserve a 48 day dry aged sirloin, rare, with a dollop of Beurre de Paris.
23 Oct 2011, 08:46 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-426:
The sign of a talented coach is how he adapts to the changes and moves forward…..
23 Oct 2011, 08:50 am
How much longer are WP fans going to be happy to put up with their incompetent administration?
Year after year we have this argument. They take pride in being loyal supporters, filling stands in good times and in bad, and criticize us Bulls fans for being very harsh on our own team when they don’t perform, to the point of voting with our feet and leaving Loftus empty when the Bulls don’t perform.
But look at the contrasting results of these two approaches. The Bulls management know they have to pull finger with sucg rabidly critical supporters to account to, and as a result they have aggressively moved to recruit the best young talent in the country to replace our retiring stalwarts.
WP on the other hand are happy to cruise along in Cupless mediocrity formore than a decade now, with next year promising to be more of the same.
People talk about the decade of the 90′s being the Bulls lean years, but even in the 90′s we won 2 Currie Cups. And it was followed by the greatest decade any SA team has ever experienced.
WP are now on 10 years with NOTHING to show in the trophy cabinet, and things aren’t looking like improving any time soon.
Shocking, considering the talent the Western Cape produces.
Guess we Bulls supporters may be on to something, giving our team the whip if they don’t meet expectations. All WP knows is adulation, win or lose.
23 Oct 2011, 08:53 am
Howzit howzit!!!
Where is all the guys saying that the Lions “only looked good playing against vodacom cup teams”. Lions showed heart is bigger than certain names in a team sheet. Maybe province should go play vodacom cup to get some silverware
Congrats Lions you made me proud!!!!
23 Oct 2011, 08:56 am
@Chris4Lions(Chris4Lions)-441: They will be here on Monday under different nicks giving the Lions kuk again. You know…. like little girls.
23 Oct 2011, 08:59 am
@David(David)-427:
The sign of a talented coach is how he adapts to the changes and moves forward…..
23 Oct 2011, 09:00 am
This is not getting old.
PVR – Hollenbach BOOM! – Burger Down — Rewind – Hollenbach BOOM! – Burger Down — Rewind- Hollenbach BOOM! – Burger Down — Rewind- Hollenbach BOOM! – Burger Down — Rewind- Hollenbach BOOM! – Burger Down — Rewind- Hollenbach BOOM! – Burger Down — Rewind
Credit to Burger… I would have stayed down like a little b1tch.
23 Oct 2011, 09:02 am
@Chris4Lions(Chris4Lions)-441: No. We said that the Lions “only looked good against Vodacom Cup QUALITY teams”.

We are yet to be proved wrong.
Just kidding WP supporters, hope its not too soon.
23 Oct 2011, 09:20 am
Jantjies was awesome, very physical and the way he KOd Kolisi was impressive. Hell all of the backs were good and outplayed the older and way more experienced Bok backline by a mile.
Mitch’s tight five moered the WP light five with ease and my MOTM is a carbon copy of Juan Smith. Big, tall and mean Michael Rhodes had the match of his live.
Guppies bring it.
23 Oct 2011, 09:23 am
@Tuna(Tuna)-444:
Jantjies on Kolisi, boom lights out and Butch on Conrad Jantjes, boom lights out.
23 Oct 2011, 10:00 am
Baie geluk aan die Leeus en hul ondersteuners. Vriend en vyand is verras en julle het gewys dat drome realiteit kan word. “Commitment” kan nie gekoop word nie.
Die feit dat die Bokke nie in die CB gespeel het nie, het verseker ‘n groot rol gespeel. Sou die Cheethas gister daar gewees het? Waarskynlik nie. Die Bulle het egter hul kanse gehad en dit verspeel vs Griekwas – net soos die WP gister.
Daar is heelwat spelers in SA wat van hul troontjies kan afklim. Naas Botha het in sy speeljare gese dat hy eerder saam met 14 spelers speel wat WIL as 14 wat KAN speel. Schalk Burger is een. Hy het gister weereens soos ‘n besetene te kere gegaan en homself byna afgeskryf, sonder om effektief te wees.
Wie ookal die Bokke gaan afrig, moet asb die oogklappe weggooi, vergeet spelers wat in 2015 waarskynlik verby hul beste gaan wees. Kies die beste span en dan ‘n kaptein. Kies ‘n betroubare stelskopper. Omring jouself met ‘n ervare bestuurspan en hulp-afrigters. Moenie huiwer om hulp van oorsee af in te bring nie.
15. Jaco Taute
14. Francois Hougaard
13. Francois Steyn
12. Juan de Jongh
11. Lwazi Mvovu
10. Elton Jantjes
9. Jano Vermaak
1. Beast Mtwarira
2. Bismarck du Plessis
3. WP Nel
6. Heinrich Brussouw
4. Flip vd Merwe – net as hy 2010 vorm herwin
5. Andries Bekker
7. Willem Alberts
8. Duanne Vermeulen
16. Chilliboy Rallepele
17. Coenie Oosthuizen
18. Juandre Kruger
19. Josh Strauss
20. Charl McCloud
21. Pat Lambie
22. Johan Sadie
23 Oct 2011, 10:17 am
@Tjokker(Tjokker)-448:
**** ****! stem saam! my span:
15. Patrick Lambie (Taute) GK
14. Pietersen
13. Taute (De Jongh) LGK
12. Steyn LGK
11. Sadie/Engelbrecht
10. Goosen (Lambie, Jantjies) al drie GK
9. Hougaard
8. Strauss
7. Brussouw
6. Burger
5. Bekker
4. Alberts
3. Du Plessis
2. Du Plessis
1. Mtawarira
23 Oct 2011, 18:40 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-211: Hard luck there mate. WP’s tight five is seriously not good enough. Nou waars daai windgat Dusky!
23 Oct 2011, 18:48 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-440: If I could I’d certainly fire the bunch boet. No excuses for having so many bites at the cherry over the past years and not winning any important tropies.
Not acceptable at all.
Still love my team, but things need to change, or things will just stay the same.
23 Oct 2011, 19:03 pm
To all the WP supporters who were not arrogant before the game and actually talked rugby…hard luck guys. We know all about it and know about losing…To the grootbek, arrogant loud mouthed supporters of WP…I feel nothing regarding your hammering at the hands of the Vodacom Cup Lions! Eat your humble pie and enjoy the final next weekend. Regards from the Vodacom Cup Lions!
23 Oct 2011, 19:09 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-452: Lions deserved the win.
i commented before the game that if the trend of the past years is to continue, a team that has played together well for the season will beat the team that is suddenly bolstered by the return of springboks.
Turns out to be correct. And probably correctly so.
Annoyed as a supporter but oddly happy for the Lions. You guys had a great CC tournament. Hope you go on to win it!
24 Oct 2011, 05:27 am
Mitchell !!!
Mitchell!!
Mitchell!!
Are you listening Hoskins??
Are you listening SARU????
1 CHANCE…..
24 Oct 2011, 05:32 am
@grant10(grant10)-454:
Mitchell, the one and only, the original, the first, “Judge me at the World Cup’ Mitchell? No thanks.
24 Oct 2011, 05:55 am
@RL(RL)-446:
Aw doodums should we leave Terblanche out of the team to make it a fair match this time? After all, to beat you table topping Lazy Lions by a cricket score is hardly fair….is it?
24 Oct 2011, 07:20 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-455: you go throw your 2 cents in afor the aussies Uitlander….
24 Oct 2011, 07:23 am
Mitchell……for me the possible saviour!
All the rest pretenders….
Please not AC or Rassie….asseblief.tog!
24 Oct 2011, 07:24 am
@grant10(grant10)-457:
Lame comeback grantie, very lame…
24 Oct 2011, 07:34 am
Congratulations to the Lions for reaching the CC Final. Really well deserved and well played!
To Katman, HHS, RL and all the other Lion supporters… Enjoy… and good luck for the final!!!
24 Oct 2011, 07:36 am
I hope Lions do the business in the final….create a Tsunami of support for Mitchell…
Only the best for the Boks….and AC and Rassie dont cut it!
24 Oct 2011, 07:52 am
@ufo(ufo)-460: Thank you, appreciate it.
Do me a favor, please phone AC and tell him to chase that Fondse chap away.
24 Oct 2011, 08:08 am
HHS… you’re welcome… Lions have set the pace all season and it would’ve been a travesty if they hadn’t made the final.
Yeah… Not just him… Unlike most on keo… I think we’re missing Bekker n Elstadt big time and our weakness at lock is what needs sorting out… Hopefully Andries and Rynhardt will ne back for the Super 15. But we do need a couple of good young props too…
24 Oct 2011, 08:33 am
@grant10(grant10)-461: Hi Grant, hope you are well
Can you give me a reason why Mitchell?
As far as i can tell, and I know a bit about the guy, but he’s left nothing but mediocrity in his wake.
All Blacks in the 2003 WC
Waikato big failures in his time there
Western Force failing to live up to expectations despite big money being thrown at it, marquee players and all
Lions finishing (again) as massive embarrassments in the Super 15
The only glimmer of success is the potential CC title, which is not surprising since it’s basically the Super 15 team against very watered down provincial teams without their springboks. If he doesn’t beat the Sharks on Saturday then it will be another in a string of failures for him.
Is there something I don’t see? I mean he talks a good talk and he seems like the sort of guy i’d enjoy having a good rugby chat with, but i don’t see the “we must have Mitchell” factor.
Not trying to be argumentative, just wondering what the fuss is?
24 Oct 2011, 08:47 am
Anybody know how much the tickets are on Sat ??? Are any available
24 Oct 2011, 08:48 am
Can someone teach Burger how to pass the ball, and so much of the Bok backline ??????
24 Oct 2011, 08:50 am
@capebull(capebull)-466: He did pass in the WC , so now we know he can – lol
24 Oct 2011, 09:18 am
Seems like Christo Buchner – the Sharks correspondent for News24 and their various affiliated newspapers like Beeld etc., used my comment no.440 on this thread as the basis for his latest article.
The parralels are just too striking.
Makes one wonder how much of the cr*p we post on here makes it into other forms of media, or even to the players and coaches themselves.
Kind of makes me cringe, thinking that certain contributors on here potentially have a wider audience than just the local crazies on this site.
24 Oct 2011, 09:23 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-468:
Hehehe Tac, very interesting that.
Some of the “crazies” on here know their sh*t…which is more than I can say for some “journalists” out there
24 Oct 2011, 09:31 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-464:
EXACTLY
Plus the guy is a FCKIN nutcase(Mitchell). You thought Div was a PR disaster? Ask NZ about Mitchell…Ask the Force about “Draconian” Mitch.
And no he wont win the CC on the weekend. Sharks will belt his tight-five upfront and its “All over ROVER”…Period.
24 Oct 2011, 09:47 am
2 kuk wings for Province for the next two years. Habana and Shadow.
24 Oct 2011, 09:51 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-470: Nutcase? Where did you get from?
24 Oct 2011, 09:54 am
Schalk is playing a lot in the backline these days. Not sure if he has ever mastered the technical aspects of playing blindside flank (i.e. Juan Smith). If he was playing openside for WP on Saturday then no wonder they lost.
24 Oct 2011, 09:58 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-470:
If the Lions are fortunate enough The Sharks might not go for a cricket score again…just to be nice.
24 Oct 2011, 10:00 am
This could be the biggest ever score in a Currie Cup final … most one sided ever? Something like 47 – 3 to the Sharks!
24 Oct 2011, 10:00 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-472:
Mitchell is known not to be the stablest of people/coaches.
His tenure at AB’s as well as Force is filled with perculiar behaviour. Its what led the AB’s to fire him with even a 80% win ratio,led the Force player revolt against him etc. He leads with a “Draconian-type” style & spews the worst type of language even around rugby circles…
Some say its “intensity”..yeah right,thats just spin-doctoring…CRAZY. The romantic period never lasts lost with that bloke,shall descend to nonsense like previous coaching tenures…May he continue to coach the “spaza-shop” run Lions who chased away a investor who required excellence not mediocrity. Good luck to de Klerk & co. with Mitchell at Lions.
But not fark should he be Springbok national coach. Thats all.
24 Oct 2011, 10:01 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-464: lets agree to disagree…
24 Oct 2011, 10:01 am
…..after all Mitchell is apparently a good coach.
24 Oct 2011, 10:02 am
@grant10_is_a_maaifoedie(suffer_guy)-475: How’s that Province team of yours? Vodcom Cup huh…? Loser.
24 Oct 2011, 10:04 am
lions will be a tough nut to crack at Ellis Park…
24 Oct 2011, 10:06 am
@grant10_is_a_maaifoedie(suffer_guy)-475: Don’t be so sure, I bet lions could go all the way, good for them.
WP / Strompies just bought Shaddow to replace JJ
24 Oct 2011, 10:08 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-476: Look no doubt that he is a difficult person to work with. If we dig deeper into the AB story you will see that cetrain players did not like the he goes on about things. Fine… Regarding the Force? Well… we all know those Ozzie boys don’t like a hard *** that’s why the Brumbies fall apart and the players fired the coach. Surely you cannot judge a guy of things that happend years ago? Maybe he was wrong maybe he was not… we will never know but maybe he learned a few things along the road. Calling him a nutcase… damn boet that is some big stones. Anyway… at the Lions we like him and new investor already on board.
24 Oct 2011, 10:09 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-476: peculiar behaviour?
Well yes….winning would be ‘ peculiar ‘ to PDV and Jake with there 60 % ratios…..vs Mitchells 80 %
I wouldnt call it peculiar….but all to our own…
24 Oct 2011, 10:12 am
@grant10(grant10)-477: Sure, as we do sometimes, I was just wondering why you feel he is the best guy for the job. As i say i have a certain perspective, but I’m open to the possibility that I’m missing something.
24 Oct 2011, 10:14 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-482: my man…..Mitchell is head and shoulders above any saffa….
Us saffas are happy to settle for mediocrity….that is the bottom line….we are farken middle of the road mediocre thinkers ….we dont innovate….we just moan and b itch and complain and live on sentimental candy floss and then cryy when we get a stomach ache….
We need Mitchell so farken bad he should / could name a price and get a blank cheque.
But we will rather settle for a back slapping member of the fat boys club who can talk up a storm ut delicer f all…..
Anywy….lets wait and see….I hope AC buried his chances with his kak selections and non exietent game plan this weekend.
Schalk as opensider? I knew Minnie and Co wojuld have a free lunch at the breakdown….we just dont learn!!
24 Oct 2011, 10:17 am
@Lions_Soutie(Lions_Soutie)-473: Bugger does not have the skill , he destroys , except on Saturday he got destroyed.
24 Oct 2011, 10:23 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-484: lions are playing awesome, innovative and total rugby….with a dearth of so called superstars….
They are committed at the breakdowns and young players have, in the space of 2 seasons……been developed to stand on the brink of bok colours…..
the passion and commitment and intelligent mannet they play is as a result of Mitchell…..
He is a hard man….he takes no prisioners and will not tolerate prima donnas….he will do the selections and game planning…..not the fat boys….
Compare that to AC and PDV…who have all the superstars but no idea or c lue….constant failure ….constant non delivery,,,,constant excuses….constant losses of young players with potential,,, now bloody VD Heever in our team? Insane….we had JJ and Sadue FFS!
Look at Mitchells % wins…..look at how he builds…..W Force were always a decent outfit under Mitchell…..never a gimmee game…All Blacks were virtually unbeatable under him…
He has also matured as a human being and a coach….
You ask why Mitchell?
I as why the fark not?
Who else is there?
AC?
rASSIE?
h mEYER? [ I WOULD BE HAPPY WITH HIM BUT mATFIELD SAYS ITS NOT GOING TO HAPPEN?
b venter would be a good choice….at least he has balls….
Mallet would be great but the sharks boys would wet there broekies….
Must be Mitchell imo…..but it wont be…we will make up reasons for Mitchell to not be the man!
Just as we made up reasons for plod and Spies to start in WC
24 Oct 2011, 10:30 am
@grant10(grant10)-485: Here is the problem, we have sofie Hoskins there at the top. A softie and friends will not appoint a hard a$$. They want a puppet and I think that’s why JM, HM and Mallet already said no. Rassie is a journey man…. chasing the $$
24 Oct 2011, 10:36 am
I love it when some supporters don’t give us a chance come this weekend. It will be very tough, the Sharks is a well balanced side, but the Lions are so hungry for success that imo, Lions by 9. CC champs 2011 and will end 6th in next year’s S15..
24 Oct 2011, 10:38 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-488: sadly my man…..you are right….on all counts
24 Oct 2011, 10:38 am
@grant10(grant10)-487: OK, fair comments. I’m not an AC fan, wasn’t a PDV fan, and yes, not sure what the alternatives realistically are.
We all know AC is the most obvious guy for the job, even though I dissagree with the appointment.
24 Oct 2011, 10:39 am
@grant10(grant10)-483:
Hahaha yeah right nice try diverting away from all his sh*t. With that generation of players in 02/03 for NZ and seeing how poor Aus/SA were,he would have had to be Carel du Plessis to not get at LEAST a 70% win ratio. But anyway he failed when it counted most….. Draconian Mitch…Each to our OWN indeed…
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-482:
Well good for your Lions, good for your “new investor”…
The Lions also got to a CC Final in 2006 or 2007 if Im mistaken….So havent turned the corner just yet….That generation was also being hailed as “new dawn” under Loffie…
See any paralells: 2007/2011
Mujati-Cilliers
Wepener-Maku
Heinke-CJ
Ludik-Taute
Cronje-Strauss
Pretorius-Jantjes
Doppies-Doppies
etc
You might have had even more quality back then…..Jaque Fourie,Alberts,Deysel etc
Good luck.Hope the largely unchanged administration/presidents council,de Klerk etc man up this time…For your sake
24 Oct 2011, 10:39 am
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-489: you guys stand up in tight 5 it is a lions win
and i will be as thrilled as you will be !
24 Oct 2011, 10:40 am
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-489:
You were in the SAME position in 2007 remember??? Still lost to FS
Careful, careful
24 Oct 2011, 10:43 am
mitchell has had to endure tumultuous times already at the lions with investors, etc…..mugging as well….through it all he has stood tall and delivered where it counts….on the field.
It is insular laager type mentality that will preclude us from doing what is right….
AC / Rassie will be a disaster…t.hey will say all the right things….do great tv….and wont deliver…
watch
24 Oct 2011, 10:45 am
Mitchell has more skill in his left nut than these rasssie /ac wallys have in there entire beings!
24 Oct 2011, 10:45 am
In 57 games at the helm of the Force, Mitchell has guided the Perth-based franchise to 20 wins, four draws and 33 losses
I wonder what his win-loss ratio is at the Lions?
Better after this year’s CC I imagine….
If I were given the option of picking a foreign based coach, and I know that won’t happen, i wonder if I’d pick Mitchell?
If we go for a foreign coach then we could stretch ourselves outside of SA surely?
Any ideas/suggestions?
24 Oct 2011, 10:47 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-494: In 2007 we did not play a full strength WP side in a semi. This time we did and won comfortably. It is only my opinion and obviously like backing my side. I know though that The Sharks is very impressive and will take a total effort to lift the Cup. The Sharks were idling on Saturday against the Cheetahs…it is going to be brutal!
24 Oct 2011, 10:50 am
While Province and Bulls are out swoppin’ and buyin’
Our boys are still playin’ – not sittin’ and cryin’
We cruised past the semis without even tryin’
It’s still not too late to become a proud Lion
24 Oct 2011, 10:52 am
Mitchell is a nutter who is big on discipline.
But maybe that’s what we need.
As saffers we seem to respond to the strict approach.
Where’s my cane?
24 Oct 2011, 10:55 am
@grant10(grant10)-495:
Hahaha yeah yeah
Its funny when you REPEAT the SAME thing ALL the the TIME thinking its actually going to become reality.
Mitchell will lose AGAIN on Saturday,still have won little.Just like Loffie in 2007…Same thing different wrapping… The parrallels between both sides is astounding..Same new dawn appraisals etc
Continue with the stuck record.
And not backing Mitchell doesnt mean one is behind AC or Rassie or whoever. The 2 arent mutually exclusive.
Just means NO to Draconian Mitch. Simple
24 Oct 2011, 10:56 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-494: We at home this time and now the union benefit from it. Compared to last year where we didn’t even make the semi’s I would think that this is kinda of an improvement. Look I’m not going to change your thinking about Mitchell but he is some advice. Look at some players look how they improved under this guy… not just the Lions but the Force too. Now give this guy some stars to work with like De Jongh, Aplon, Sadie, Lambie, Goosen, Hougaard etc etc and the possibilities will be endless. If you see improvement in players you know something is good is happening.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-499: Lions are buying…
24 Oct 2011, 11:01 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-502: Don’t ever fck with my rhyme.
24 Oct 2011, 11:08 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-499:
Donovan?
The Alamo?
24 Oct 2011, 11:09 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-502:
Fair enough but as I said earlier I saw “improvement” for certain players under Loffie around 2006-etc namely: Mujati,Heinke,Alberts,Ludik,Clever etc Yet the Lions still remained on the skids…Just feels a bit like De Ja Vu to be honest.And we heard the same things back then-if Loffie/Lions had these players,those players-Lions not broke-Lions sponsor from Cola Cola will transform fortunes blah blah etc.(Loffie has also done a sterling job at Boland*back in premier division,Deysel,Alberts,Mujati,Heinke etc all went on to become Boks,revatilised Big Joe’s career ) etc
All seems TOO familiar. Same administration etc
But hey your enthusiasm is good.Hopefully Lions will be able to deliver return on investment for you as fan as well as “new investor” on board
24 Oct 2011, 12:53 pm
Congrats Lions. I have to eat some of my words. I really expected WP to win.
There are a some parallels between this years tournament and last years, but not in the Sharks favor.
Last year with top spot secured, the Sharks B side got mauled by the same team they thrashed in the final. Same as the 53-9 mauling by the Sharks over the Lions ? Ominous similarities….
Sharks will have to wake up and watch out if they are to win this final. I do expect to see an improved Sharks performance this weekend though.
Lets hope for a good game, and to be honest with everything the Lions have endured recently, there will be a part of me that wouldn’t mind seeing them win the Currie Cup.
But, if I have to call it – Sharks by 7 to 10.
25 Oct 2011, 10:13 am
Those who criticize John Mitchell for being draconian are not seeing the wood from the trees. Loffie was a good coach and a man the players and supporters liked, but he just didn’t have the hard-arsed attitude required to deal with the rubbish happening in the GLRU boardroom. Mitchell doesn’t take nonsense and he’s smacked the management into shape as well, because creating a winning culture starts at the top, not on the pitch.
Mitchell knows overnight success is not the answer. It’s a long term goal of his and he’s not getting cocky like some other coaches. Good on him and Carlos. These are the first few pushes on the flywheel to success. Once the momentum is built we’ll be competitive for the few years.
See you all at The Park on Saturday!