Slick Lions maul Province

SIMON BORCHARDT watched the Golden Lions beat Western Province 29-20 at Ellis Park to secure a home final against the Sharks next Saturday.

WP came into this game as favourites. They had five World Cup Springboks in their starting XV compared to the Lions’ one. This was their third consecutive appearance in the Currie Cup play-offs, while the Lions had not reached this stage since 2008.

Yet it was the young Lions side that played like experienced veterans, scoring two unanswered tries to reach their first final since 2007. WP looked disinterested for the first hour and by the time they woke up, the game was long gone.

Elton Jantjies was successful with all seven of his kicks at goal, which forced Province to play catch-up throughout. The Lions were the more threatening side on attack and were solid on defence, especially in the second half when they had just 40% of the ball (compared to 60% in the first half). Derick Minnie produced a big performance at the breakdown, while Franco van der Merwe impressed with ball in hand.

The Lions deservedly led 19-12 at the break, after Jantjies and Demetri Catrakilis each kicked four penalties, and Jaco Taute scored a try on the 35-minute mark after an inside pass from Deon van Rensburg.

WP weren’t helped by injuries to Siya Kolisi, whose head collided with Jantjies’ elbow during an attempted tackle, and Bryan Habana, who was replaced on the half-hour mark by Juan de Jongh (he went to centre with Jean de Villiers moving to the wing). However, the Province scrum did improve when Frans Malherbe came on at tighthead prop with Brok Harris moving to loosehead.

The Lions extended their lead to 14 early in the second half when a poor pass from Nicholas Groom was intercepted by Michael Killian, and the left wing went over in the corner. That prompted the surprise return of Habana, who until then had been sitting on the bench as if his match was over.

Catrakilis and Jantjies exchanged penalties to make it 29-15 going into the final quarter, as WP began to dominate possession and territory. They came close to scoring when Schalk Burger offloaded in the tackle to Harris, who was stopped inches short of the tryline. The Lions tackled courageously during this period but a double-skip pass from Burger eventually put De Jongh over with 10 minutes remaining.

Catrakilis, though, missed the crucial conversion that would have brought his side back to within striking range, and the Lions finished the match inside the WP half.

507 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 151.David: Reply to this comment

Congratulations Lions. A well deserved victory and it bodes well for the future, unless the Bulls come shopping.

• 152.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-134:
    he is no ‘Alfred Einstein’ (Jono Gibbs) for sure

• 153.ET.: Reply to this comment

No less than five(5) 2011 RWC backline ‘Boks in the WP team and almost zero creativity exhibited. They prefer to run into brick walls it seems?
    How smart is that and they deem they were cheated from a semi-final against a team of ABs that has close to the best, if not the best, creative players presently?

• 154.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Well done my 2nd team and the little guy in the box

• 155.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Butch is a wily ol fella!! :lol:

• 156.Transformation: Reply to this comment

so the lions beat WP with all their BOKKE back

• 157.OCO: Reply to this comment

All the King’s horses
    And all their Bok Men
    Couldn’t secure
    A Frikkiin Province wen

• 158.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-121: Nobody asked you to believe or accept anything, it is logical by your comments, everything that comes out of you is always derogatory and demeaning, for some reason you turn on every one that has been friendly or even just civil to you.

• 159.kwas: Reply to this comment

Prooooovince! Take your overrated Boks back to Cape Town – Habana, you useless show pony – go and shower in your golden pay package. Contributes sweet blue fkall. Burger, Jaque F, Jean Div, Schalk, bla bla bla. Too many over the hill Boks.

• 160.OCO: Reply to this comment

Difficult for a team to win sharing one brain cell.
    Catrikilis must really be brain tired tonight.

• 161.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-158: doll, don’t waste ur precious time…enjoy ur day

• 162.XV: Reply to this comment

that result should get Coetzee the Bok job!

• 163.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Now now Hef. Be nice!

• 164.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-156:
    The game was won upfront, with only Schalk a Bok. The backs played pretty well with the ball they had available.

• 165.OCO: Reply to this comment

1 plays 2 in the final.
    Way it should be.

• 166.ET.: Reply to this comment

Probably the very worst Currie Cup competition in S. African rugby history(barely above Vodacom Cup level) and the Burgerville Boks cannot even win against a team of inexperieenced newbies?

Something really is rotten and stinks in the state of the Western Cape.

• 167.OCO: Reply to this comment

@XV(XV)-162:
    And Skulk the captaincy (need I add).

• 168.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Dankie kwas

• 169.Horings: Reply to this comment

This made my weekend. Not the Lions winning, but Province out of senior, u21, u19 cups. The true chokers of this era. At least I will be watching some rugby next weekend. WP supporters, geniet julle week. Ek moes maar stil bly die week, nou is dit julle beurt. Haha! Chokers!

• 170.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Some say the Lions played the Currie Cup with the 2011 S15 side

I say they played the S15 with their Currie Cup side…

• 171.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-164: the lions are well drilled though…there you go minnie MoM I told grant!

• 172.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Yeah, congratulations to the Lions!

A team of no name brands beating a choking WP team! It has become pretty much a trend for Province, when the big games come they fade.

The Lions clearly the more composed team and well deserved winners!

The HUGE positive of course is that Allister Coetzee is not mistaken for the sa rugby messiah.

Just shows again how excellent coaching can make a difference.

So the 2 coaches in the final are kiwis – what does that tell you?

Quite frankly I would like the Lions to win the Currie Cup as they play the more enterprising rugby. Sharks play the dumb brand of taking it up with forwards all the time

• 173.14261774: Reply to this comment

so who’s gonna have the first slice of pie? at least this lions win has shown how little the commentators on this site know about rugby. Well done John, Josh and all lions players! now bring back gumede!

• 174.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-158:

” everything that comes out of you ”

Faecal matter and vomitus too?

Be careful now as if you go any deeper you WILL drown, you veritable clown.

• 175.Hoops: Reply to this comment

Hahahah AC. So you want to be bokke coach but you hqve no clue. Jaco poesper did his bit and schalk showed his frustration with being the team being facked in the but over the last few playoffs but how do you not prepare for incomponent refs like this .The whole panel is blue bull infected. I am done with sa rugby. Not worth my time and money. Fack this kak

• 176.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-161: :lol: :lol: twit

Was thinking you should go to that game dressed as the guy from the Rocky Horror, big wig, blue eye shadow, fishnets, bustier thingie. lol

• 177.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Is the little guy’s name Josh?

• 178.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Next week will be a cracker!

• 179.cab: Reply to this comment

Lions playing great rugby, but that Sharks pack is packed full of stars and big-hitters. Would probably beat the bok pack with Bismark and Alberts starting. Total mismatch on paper, but Mitchell got the Lions operating at its peak. Quite like the lions 10 and 12 tho.

• 180.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Despite Supersport’s Allistair Coetzee marketing campaign (switching to his can’t-control-my-bladder expression about 5 times for every one instance of showing John Mitchell’s reaction to an on-field event) this will hopefully be the end of Allistair’s bid for the Bok coaching position.

He is simply not good enough.

Great game Lions. Really enjoyed supporting you guys today.

• 181.carol: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-174:

Oh calm down cupcake!!

• 182.frunobulax: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-175: Agreed. Peyper was useless, but does anyone want AC for Bok coach based on this showing?

WP:
    No tight five
    No fetcher
    No lineout
    No clue

• 183.HHS: Reply to this comment

Suck it!! (you know who you are)
    Lekker hier in die blik vanaand.

• 184.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Elton Jantjes…perfect kicking record.Controlled the game well,manned up on defence and most importantly showed maturity with performance.With a pooer quality personnel

Young Johan Goosen for Cheetahs has lots of talent,but at business end of competition,he flaked a bit.Bright future,but still a bit from Bok colours or Bok saviour as many were professing.

Jantjes has the goods to be a Bok 10.

Lambie as well looked very good at 10 after hooror show from Michalak.

Jantjes & Lambie showed they were Bok future 10′s elect today.

• 185.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-184:

Elton Jantjies was ten times better than Butch James today.

He is really looking good.

But this is his second season in first class rugby. Goosen had his first game about 5 matches ago. Give him some time.

• 186.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Don’t call her a clown. Namecalling shows lack of ability to converse intelligently.

Having said that, extraball you smelly piece of fishbait.

• 187.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-174: :roll:

• 188.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-184:

I agree; Lambie and Jantjies our future 10′s

Maybe a season or two but that Lions win today has a lot to do with Jantjies

Those are the the kind of players that can unlock backlines; on that matter we need a proper backline coach

South African coaches seem to be clueless in that department

• 189.ET.: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-181:

Do you not like cupcakes sometimes?

I do.
    Since Leeds United are in the top 6 with a game in hand whiich can take them to 2ndposition on Tues., you will find no one calmer even when setting delinquents straight.

• 190.Rugby-1: Reply to this comment

Well done Lions – after reading yesterdays comments there must be a sh*t load of humble pie beaing eaten right now :-)

This game shows why AC should not be Bok coach, and Burger not be SA captain.

• 191.14261774: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-185:

in James’ defence when is the last time he played a full game of rugby?

• 192.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-184: Spot on Mshini,

A few months ago the Elton & the Lions ran everything from their 22, to their detriment, but this time Elton mixed it up nicely..

• 193.heboric: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-189: Why do you come to this site, isnt there a “Learn Woodwork with Julius Malema” site you can go to

• 194.Horings: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami. True based on today’s game, but goosen will play super 15 next year, then U20 final and then he should be ready. He also kicked his goals today and had a hand in their try. Made some crucial errors, but that is part of the learning process.

• 195.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Tac 185

I fully agree about Goosen,I’m just replying to those who were annointing him better than Jantjes already and Lambie

Goosen will def be very good in future

Jantjes though manned up today.Classy performance

• 196.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-181: @Dawn(Dawn)-186: LOLOL girls united

• 197.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-171:
    I’ve had my eye on Minnie for a couple of seasons. The important thing is that the future looks good for the Boks with these youngsters coming though.

• 198.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-195:

Yip. I was very impressed by Jantjies. Fantastic performance. The entire Lions game revolves around him. As it should.

As opposed to WP, where it seems Burger tries to run the show at the back with his long passes. Bizarre.

• 199.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Schalkie and the Disney backline were exposed today. The blond bomb failed to ignite. The poor performance of the Province “All Stars” explains why we didn’t make it at the World Cup.

• 200.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-187:

Good, that wisdom, however, escapes you though when you pathologically place animals ahead of humans. Do humans qualify for your attention and affection when they are treated worse than animals as they have been in S. Africa for so long?

Moral, just questionable morals. And spare me your misguided logic.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.