Past failures fuel Blacks’ resolve
22 Oct 2011
New Zealand captain Richie McCaw says premature exits from previous World Cups have taught them valuable lessons that should serve them well in the final.
The All Blacks are heavily favoured to beat France at Eden Park on Sunday, but there is a discernible sense of trepidation among the New Zealand public given their team’s history of underachievement at the tournament.
Asked whether the team’s resolve is driven by the fear of unexpected defeats at previous World Cups, McCaw said: ‘A lot of guys have been through one if not two experiences that haven’t been too flash and you’d like to think that just hardens the resolve and the desire.
‘From my point of view, what happened back in 2003 [defeat to Australia] I never understood what it took to win a World Cup. Perhaps didn’t fully understand again in ’07 [defeat to France] but those experiences you realise that to win it you’ve got to be the best team in that tournament regardless of what’s happened beforehand and you’ve got to produce the good when it counts.
‘We’ve got men who’ve been in situations, they’ve been around a long time and there’s a lot of desire there. We’ve got guys that are good enough but that guarantees nothing. People say who deserves what, but at the end of the day in a final it’s not about who deserves what. It’s about who goes and plays the best rugby on that stage, in this game, that’s what we’ve got to do. What’s happened before means absolutely nothing. We’re against a team, the French, who’ll all be thinking exactly the same.’
McCaw is the most successful captain of his generation, with only the World Cup title alluding him. There are those who have argued that he cannot be considered a truly great skipper until he completes his haul with the one the Blacks most covet. McCaw doesn’t agree, but did acknowledge his deep desire to succeed on Sunday.
‘You’d like to think the things you’ve done through 10 years, regardless of what happens tomorrow, mean something,’ he said. ‘But this is the biggest game that I’ve played in and it’s one you want to do well in. If you’re going to pick a game before you start playing any rugby what one would you want to play in? It would be a World Cup final.
‘I won’t be around forever but hopefully when I leave one day people will say that all the history has gone before, all the legacies that have been set have been upheld if not raised.’
McCaw said he is not the superstitious type, but responded quickly when asked whether he had ever touched the trophy. ‘No. I don’t think you should touch it till you’ve earned it.’

160 Comments
22 Oct 2011, 05:43 am
Number One Black Dragons !!
22 Oct 2011, 05:44 am
New Zealand has everything going in it’s favour. They should be unbackable favourites. If they bollix this one up it will outdo all previous failures put together.
22 Oct 2011, 05:49 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-2: Won’t happen.
This is going to be the difference between the fox and the rabbit. One is running for his dinner, the other for his life.
22 Oct 2011, 06:42 am
“McCaw is the most successful captain of his generation, with only the World Cup title alluding him….”
It’s ELUDING him, dude.
22 Oct 2011, 07:22 am
The Blacks are the number 1 team in the World but oh it would be sweet if they choke again. 24 years is a long time. Another 4 years and Northern Hemisphere winner is a sweet outcome.
22 Oct 2011, 07:30 am
The AB’s should have the job wrapped up by half-time.
And Bill stays in the Southern Hemisphere.
That’s about the only consolation I can take from this.
22 Oct 2011, 08:11 am
A4Y, yarpies!
22 Oct 2011, 08:40 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-7:
Just remember one thing. The game is yet to be played. These things have a habit of biting one on the bum.
You don’t want that now.
Thought so.
22 Oct 2011, 08:43 am
Flying up to auks early tomorrow, to take in the atmosphere before heading out to Eden park.
The owner of the French bistro around the corner from my house tells mr the ab’s will win a close game. He was embarrassed by the win against wales, so perhaps he is hoping to make amend to the rugby gods!
My flight back to welly is at 1am, so I hope it doesn’t go to extra time… If it does I may have to sleep in a bus shelter
22 Oct 2011, 09:16 am
Im hoping the ABs win, then its 2 all , NZ, AUS and SA in the RWC and total World domination by NZ in all other forms of rugby , sevens , Juniors and Women’s.
Do not think the next 24 years will be the same. NZ will have the learnt the hard way how to win the RWC. They will go on to dominate the RWC like they do in all other facets of rugby, 3N, Super and NH tours.
22 Oct 2011, 09:42 am
@lapoftherugbygods(lapoftherugbygods)-10:
Don’t get too ahead of yourself.
The Boks have won the WC twice, one home and one away.
Your kissing cousins have it twice, both away.
22 Oct 2011, 09:44 am
That cunning trophy has been throwing dummy passes and ducking and diving the Kiwis for 24 years….that’s a heck of a lot of misses for the best team in the world.
Bryce has to be recognised for his contribution to New Zealand rugby..he is essentially a hero.
22 Oct 2011, 09:48 am
moer hulle Brycie
moer hulle
kiwi fans, we’ve won nothing yet. let’s wait until the game has been played first.
22 Oct 2011, 09:50 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-7:
Yip, correct, A4Y for us yarpies, history shows that we don’t seem to wait that long before we win it agin, but going on history its probably another 27 yrs for the AB’s !!!
22 Oct 2011, 09:51 am
this game could be over by halftime.
imagine richie getting carded in this game, or, wait, red carded for a freak tackle…..
logic says that the kiwis should have this sorted by half time.
…but all sorts of things could go wrong.
22 Oct 2011, 10:05 am
Best thing in Frances favour has been Keo. He predicted that New Zealand would hammer France, but also that no NH side stood a chance of winning the world cup.
If ever there was someone NZ did not want to call the game in their favour, it was Keo.
22 Oct 2011, 10:48 am
@Kiefpant(Kiefpant)-16: You have a valid point – Deans and Gatland were our secret weapons at this WC, Keo is yours!!
22 Oct 2011, 10:53 am
Well, this time around I can’t help them. Don’t know if Joubert is as buyable as I am, but I know he can’t cheat half as much as I can. Boys, you are on your own, I would have loved to help win us the RWC, but it is not to be! Lucky for you, you are playing the worst finalist in the history of the RWC!
22 Oct 2011, 10:53 am
Wonder where the French are planning to attack the Ab’s tomorrow. Assume it won’t be up and unders all night, as they will have watched how that failed for the Aussies. Yachvilli and Para running at Weepu’s shoulder worries me, I don’t think Piri is at full fitness and he isn’t the fastest even when fit. Small, nippy players could be a problem for Weepu?
I also expect the French forwards will look to smash us up big time. Will be interesting – they hvae a good forward pack, which will be a challenge for us..
22 Oct 2011, 10:58 am
It’s going to be intense at Eden Park tomorrow. The crowd will be a factor for the AB’s, if the Ab’s can use that energy to put the heat on the french in the first 20 mins, they may be able to do to the French what the AB’s did to the Aussies last week.
Hopefully the French won’t hvae the start they did in the pool match, as they had the AB’s rattled at times.
22 Oct 2011, 10:58 am
@18. nah Eng in 07 were the worst finalists ever.
but love how youve changed your nick to salute a kiwi legend. you must be hurting so very much, couldn’t happen to a nicer bloke
22 Oct 2011, 11:01 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-21: are you going to the match Poppa?
22 Oct 2011, 11:03 am
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-22: nah am in Sydney mate unfortunately, would love to have gone…
22 Oct 2011, 11:03 am
I haven’t been to a rugby match at Eden Park since about 1994. Auckland were playing Samoa in a Super 10 match (or whatever it was called in the early days). Carlos Spencer was on debut as a 18 or 19… Oh the good old days
22 Oct 2011, 11:04 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-23: Living in Sydney, must have been sweet after knockng Aus out
22 Oct 2011, 11:07 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-21: Aussie in 2003 weren’t a particularly good team either IMO. They had some stand outs like Larkham and Smith, but were abysmal in the front row and were only saved annihillation by refs who fell for their trickery with constant collapses and wheeling the scrum
22 Oct 2011, 11:15 am
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-26: I agree, but they managed to stuff us up, so am not taking anything for granted tomorrow, we need to repeat or better our performance from last week imo… the French will be ready and know they can upset us..
will be a very nervous man tomorrow night..
22 Oct 2011, 11:19 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-27: agree on all counts. I will be a wreck by the time the game starts! just bought a single ticket to the game, hope I’ve got some good people around me. Would suck if i am in the middle of a French group!
22 Oct 2011, 11:23 am
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-28: awesome that you could get a ticket… the atmosphere alone is going to be huge, should be a night youll remember for a long time regardless of the outcome…
22 Oct 2011, 11:24 am
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-26:
that was the worst refereeing of a RWC Final yet. And guess which SA ref it was that moaned and whinged about Bryce ?
*chortle*
22 Oct 2011, 11:24 am
I think the AB’s will play a territory based conservative game tomorrow, in order to limit France’s chances to get into the game. I.e. I tihnk we will simply try to strangle them and accumulate points as they try to fight out of their half.
Also as per the Aussie game, I expect they will choose a couple of periods to up the tempo and look for a try. However, I don’t think we will see much expansive play from teh AB’s outside of a few intense periods. Too much risk involved, and this year the AB mantra is win first second and third. Pretty rugby a distant 10th!
22 Oct 2011, 11:27 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-30: Yeah, it was a shocking display. Almost as bad as the ref in the semi final. If the ref had not bottled it when that Aussie prop went off injured, when he freaked out and awarded a penalty against us when the Aussies yet again collapsed the scrum, I am sure we would have one that game. Coulda shoulda woulda of course, but the Wallabies didn’t deserve to be in that final with that appalling scrum they had.
22 Oct 2011, 11:29 am
Just rewatching the semi final, to get mysefl in the rigtht frame of mind for tomorrow.
one thing that strikes me is how ineffective Samo was – which has been the case all tournament. Wonder if henry and co instructed the Ab’s to allow Samo to slip a few tackles in the Brisbane TN test, to encourage Deans to take him to the WC as first choice No8… He is like Sione Lauaki and Pierre Spies, awesom runnig in the loose when his pack is going forward, but poor in the tight stuff.
22 Oct 2011, 11:31 am
Right, off to bed. Hope I don’t have any bad dreams about the french being ahead with 15 mins to go
22 Oct 2011, 11:37 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-30: @poppa69(poppa69)-29:
How is Great North Island like?
I have been to Waiheke.
Going to Aus in Sept and would like to hop over for a couple of days with the gf.
22 Oct 2011, 11:43 am
There are some kiwi ghosts lurking…
A lot of them, in fact.
Wonder if another ghost will be made tomorrow?
22 Oct 2011, 11:44 am
Allons enfants de la Patrie, Arise, children of the Fatherland,
Le jour de gloire est arrivé ! The day of glory has arrived!
Contre nous de la tyrannie, Against us of tyranny
L’étendard sanglant est levé, (bis) The bloody banner is raised, (repeat)
Entendez-vous dans les campagnes Do you hear, in the countryside,
Mugir ces féroces soldats ? The roar of those ferocious soldiers?
Ils viennent jusque dans nos bras They’re coming right into our arms
Égorger nos fils et nos compagnes ! To cut the throats of our sons and women!
Aux armes, citoyens, To arms, citizens,
Formez vos bataillons, Form your battalions,
Marchons, marchons ! Let’s march, let’s march!
Qu’un sang impur That an impure blood
Abreuve nos sillons ! Waters our furrows!
Que veut cette horde d’esclaves, What does this horde of slaves,
De traîtres, de rois conjurés ? Of traitors and conjured kings want?
Pour qui ces ignobles entraves, For whom are these vile chains,
Ces fers dès longtemps préparés ? (bis) These long-prepared irons? (repeat)
Français, pour nous, ah ! quel outrage Frenchmen, for us, ah! What outrage
Quels transports il doit exciter ! What fury it must arouse!
C’est nous qu’on ose méditer It is us they dare plan
De rendre à l’antique esclavage ! To return to the old slavery!
Aux armes, citoyens… To arms, citizens…
Quoi ! des cohortes étrangères What! Foreign cohorts
Feraient la loi dans nos foyers ! Would make the law in our homes!
Quoi ! Ces phalanges mercenaires What! These mercenary phalanxes
Terrasseraient nos fiers guerriers ! (bis) Would strike down our proud warriors! (repeat)
Grand Dieu ! Par des mains enchaînées Great God ! By chained hands
Nos fronts sous le joug se ploieraient Our brows would yield under the yoke
De vils despotes deviendraient Vile despots would have themselves
Les maîtres de nos destinées ! The masters of our destinies!
Tremblez, tyrans et vous perfides Tremble, tyrants and you traitors
L’opprobre de tous les partis, The shame of all parties,
Tremblez ! vos projets parricides Tremble! Your parricidal schemes
Vont enfin recevoir leurs prix ! (bis) Will finally receive their reward! (repeat)
Tout est soldat pour vous combattre, Everyone is a soldier to combat you
S’ils tombent, nos jeunes héros, If they fall, our young heroes,
La terre en produit de nouveaux, The earth will produce new ones,
Contre vous tout prêts à se battre ! Ready to fight against you!
Français, en guerriers magnanimes, Frenchmen, as magnanimous warriors,
Portez ou retenez vos coups ! You bear or hold back your blows!
Épargnez ces tristes victimes, You spare those sorry victims,
À regret s’armant contre nous. (bis) Who arm against us with regret. (repeat)
Mais ces despotes sanguinaires, But not these bloodthirsty despots,
Mais ces complices de Bouillé, These accomplices of Bouillé,
Tous ces tigres qui, sans pitié, All these tigers who, mercilessly,
Déchirent le sein de leur mère ! Rip their mother’s breast!
Amour sacré de la Patrie, Sacred love of the Fatherland,
Conduis, soutiens nos bras vengeurs Lead, support our avenging arms
Liberté, Liberté chérie, Liberty, cherished Liberty,
Combats avec tes défenseurs ! (bis) Fight with thy defenders! (repeat)
Sous nos drapeaux que la victoire Under our flags, shall victory
Accoure à tes mâles accents, Hurry to thy manly accents,
Que tes ennemis expirants That thy expiring enemies,
Voient ton triomphe et notre gloire ! See thy triumph and our glory!
(Couplet des enfants) (Children’s Verse)
Nous entrerons dans la carrière[5] We shall enter the (military) career
Quand nos aînés n’y seront plus, When our elders are no longer there,
Nous y trouverons leur poussière There we shall find their dust
Et la trace de leurs vertus (bis) And the trace of their virtues (repeat)
Bien moins jaloux de leur survivre Much less keen to survive them
Que de partager leur cercueil, Than to share their coffins,
Nous aurons le sublime orgueil We shall have the sublime pride
De les venger ou de les suivre Of avenging or following them
22 Oct 2011, 11:44 am
Tomorrow, we are all French! Viva la France, South Africa is behind you!
22 Oct 2011, 11:46 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-38:
Allez le Blues!
22 Oct 2011, 11:48 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-39: the Storming of l’parc de Eden tomorrow…
The Frogs have been written off completely in NZ… but do the French players have other ideas?
22 Oct 2011, 11:50 am
Down with Arrogance!
Down with match fixing!
Down with a sense of entitlement!
Viva the noble underdog!
Viva the upset!
Viva la France!
22 Oct 2011, 11:51 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-40:
We have strong french influence in Mzansi so that is why I am supporting them,and their woman are way prettier.
I hope the crowd shots of the kiwi supporters will be kept to a min.
22 Oct 2011, 11:51 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-40: have they been written off completely IN NZ have they? surely the word of a few journalists is not indicative of the words of the man on the street?
otherwise, Id be very ashamed to have keos journalists represent what EVERY SA’s opinion is..
but do enjoy watching the final tomorrow,…
22 Oct 2011, 11:52 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-41:
It would be interesting to see how cruden goes if the french are in the lead…
That is going to be crucial.
22 Oct 2011, 11:53 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-41: arrogance?
like claiming conspiracy when you lose??
yep, down with that poor sportsmanship, you Saffas should be ashamed of yourselves..
what a nation of losers…
still, what to expect from supporters of the team that came 8th in this years WC… wonderful
do you know if your team has to go through QUALIFYING to make the next WC??
22 Oct 2011, 11:53 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-43:
what is great north island like?
Been to waiheke
22 Oct 2011, 11:55 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-45: “do you know if your team has to go through QUALIFYING to make the next WC??”
You tell us, your team went out at the quarters last time around.
22 Oct 2011, 11:55 am
Arise the Ghost of 2011!
22 Oct 2011, 11:58 am
8th place to the jarpies
even that’s too good for them.
clown coach, clown team and clown supporters.
22 Oct 2011, 11:58 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-36:
nope
22 Oct 2011, 11:59 am
waihekes fantastic. some awesome fishing spots.
22 Oct 2011, 12:00 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-49: when was the play off for 7th place? I must have missed that game with England.
Viva la France!
Down with Arrogance!
22 Oct 2011, 12:01 pm
I will leave you kiwi kids to play in kindergarten.
Have fun but don’t gnash those bitter teeth too hard.
And watch out for those ghosts.
22 Oct 2011, 12:02 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-40:
no they haven’t but don’t let that get in the way of your story
22 Oct 2011, 12:02 pm
at least there will be a SA at the final tomorrow. shame your rugby players simply weren’t good enough
22 Oct 2011, 12:03 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-55: shame your boys haven’t been good enough for 24 years.
22 Oct 2011, 12:04 pm
Go Sharks!
Go France!
22 Oct 2011, 12:04 pm
Poops was demanding South Africans support the kiwis last night… as if.
22 Oct 2011, 12:06 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-58: was I , again, show me the post were that was indicated?
still fabricating things to try and ease your hurt huh??
lmfao what a serious loser, like your Bokkes, useless!!
22 Oct 2011, 12:08 pm
The Storming of l’Parc de Eden.
They will sing songs about it for centuries.
Allez les Bleus!
22 Oct 2011, 12:08 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-56: shame your boys caught the early flight back out of NZ… did they miss their mommies? did they miss the rancid biltong of SA supporters such as yourself..
enjoy watching the final tomorrow..
really, I hope you get great satisfaction watching two teams compete, knowing your team was absolute rubbish and couldnt make it bwahahaha
22 Oct 2011, 12:11 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-51:
just back from a day on Waiheke today, in fact. Bit of vino, bit of salt’n'pepper squid, some lovely fresh snapper
lovely juvvly
22 Oct 2011, 12:11 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-58: so no proof of this alleged asking for SAs to support NZ claim?
thought so..
weak, like your rugby team, w e a k !
22 Oct 2011, 12:12 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-55:
dont you just LOVE the rich irony of Bok fans cheering FOR the ref tomorrow ?!
22 Oct 2011, 12:13 pm
must ask our SA mates, this 4 years of building for the WC..
how did that turn out?
22 Oct 2011, 12:13 pm
Up the Blues!
No-one in SA has written you off!
22 Oct 2011, 12:16 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-64: , Im ecstatic by it all… but what gets me even more is the bitterness thats on display, and the wild accusations without proof ala wooden spoon..
karma certainly has come back to get those who deserve it, couldnt have asked or wished for better personally..
@poppa69(poppa69)-65:
and how about those
*ahem*
‘injured’ players
bet theyre feeling fresh now.
all those eggs in the one RWC basket-case
that worked out well, then.
No wonder Proff Noakes has shifted his attention to the “injustice…..of the Immortals”
No wonder Boy George now abides by “honour and bravey in defeat”
*chortle*
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-66: still waiting on proof?
liar!
22 Oct 2011, 12:19 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-68: classic isnt it..
still, those players will surely be rested now, and they can perform admirably in the Curry cup, that competition that runs in the country that managed an impressive 8th spot in this years WC..
thank goodness Argentina are joing the comp next year, should give the Aussies and us a run for the title, sick of allowing SA to just make up the numbers..
22 Oct 2011, 12:19 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-42:
Ma’a Nonu is the best looking of all our women.
22 Oct 2011, 12:20 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-65:
A bit better than 24 years.
22 Oct 2011, 12:20 pm
As if a Bok would support the kiwis when demanded…
Bleating like a little lamb about it now, so defensive.
Bok fans don’t take orders from kiwi fans, in case you didn’t know.
So here’s a big blue no thank you, Viva la France!
Arise the ghost of 2011. What will the excuse be this time?
22 Oct 2011, 12:22 pm
May good conquer evil arrogance and entitlement tomorrow.
May David conquer ugly Goliath (and Paddy).
Allez les Bleus!
22 Oct 2011, 12:23 pm
Just to remind you how I got us there (by keeping the Boks out):
http://blogs.sport24.co.za/David-Mac/bryce-lawrence-lord-of-the-whistles-17-Oct-2011
NZRU will probably have to sell Old Bill, just to make up what the paid me, BUT WE DID IT!
22 Oct 2011, 12:23 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-73: still no proof of this “demand”
why cant you provide proof..
what a sad little liar..
waaahhhh waaaahhhhh
22 Oct 2011, 12:24 pm
bleating little lamb.
as if.
22 Oct 2011, 12:24 pm
how very sad, look at the reaction from SORE LOSER saffa fans..
conspiracy, the refs, cheating kiwis..
yes, yes, and yes..
we fokked the Bokke something good, its what you jarpies deserve…
22 Oct 2011, 12:25 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-77: run along loser, like your rugby team..
ues lasses
what a bunch of girls you guys are… little snivelling girls..
keep crying, it will ease your obvious pain..
22 Oct 2011, 12:25 pm
How ironic.
The Kiwis are the Kings of excuses.
24 looooong years of excuses.
22 Oct 2011, 12:26 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-78:
We did, didn’t we!
22 Oct 2011, 12:26 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-79: like 24 long years of pain? No wonder you are a suurgat.
22 Oct 2011, 12:29 pm
It took a real kiwi, a real gentleman of a kiwi, to ‘fess up and admit what every kiwi thinks. Mains said the refs have turned this RWC into a FARCE and that he wanted a RWC final against 1 the 2 best sides of the tournament – South Africa or Wales.
Now there is a proper kiwi.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-82: youre the sour bitter one here..
were you at OR Tambo to welcome back the geriatrics who dressed up as Springboks and crashed out of the WC so early?
like lambs to the slaughter werent they? must have been that aura they prided themselves on.
doot doot oodle doodle oot doot do do (sing it with me)..
Sigh.
22 Oct 2011, 12:31 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-78:
But you must give ME (and to a lesser extent NZRU) more credit, with the cunning plan we hatched to stop the Boks from keeping us out of the final! The money is good for me, and it was worth it for the NZRU, the All Black team, and the All Black fans! Maybe you fans can start a BDL fund, so that I can get even richer, because without me you would have been on your way home!….. errr sort of.
Id hazard a guess Luke Watson isnt the ONLY SA who wants to puke on the jersey now..
they must be lining up in the streets to al;l have a good chuck (le)..
still, it would really make the jersies indicative of the rainbow nation then huh..
it’s called “returning serve”.
22 Oct 2011, 12:32 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-83:
Would that be the same Laurie Mains who revealed that the ABs were poisoned, with somewhat coincidental timing, prior to meeting the Boks in a RWC Final, held in SA ?
22 Oct 2011, 12:33 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-83:
This Mains is no patriot. We got to the final, by hook but mostly by crook. And I was the main weapon in our arsenal. Lots of money, no regrets!
22 Oct 2011, 12:34 pm
poppa
95 was Suzie
07 Dan Carter was targeted and Wayne Barnes.
You guys been bleating often!!!
Just remember we have won every RWC final we been in. One at home and one away.
If the All Bleats win tomorrow…………well we will all remember how the way has been paved for them.
Uncle Paddy and co sorted it out.
22 Oct 2011, 12:35 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-89: he had to come up with a excuse – no matter how credible – for the baying masses back in NZ, for what was yet another disappointing crash and World Cup burn… any excuse, just as long as there was one. Could have said aliens dictated the outcome…
@@@@@chortlebellyguffaw@@@@@@
22 Oct 2011, 12:36 pm
Safas whinging about the ref
*sigh*
music to my ears
22 Oct 2011, 12:37 pm
@jondood(jondood)-91: thats right… your teams failure with 70% possession to EVEN kick a drop goal shouldnt be mentioned huh?
the fact your team couldnt run a backline to save themselves shouldnt be mentioned either huh?
the fact they were on the plane home two weeks agop will be mentioned again and agian and again.. because its so funny, and has shut up so many of you arrogane Saffa supporters..
8th? the “might” of SA rugby could only manage 8th? lmfao
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-93: should be, you kiwis set the tune.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-92:
“83.wooden spoon said:
It took a real kiwi, a real gentleman of a kiwi”
C O N T O R T I O N I S T A !
22 Oct 2011, 12:38 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-94:
I stopped them good, didn’t I?
22 Oct 2011, 12:39 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-95:
simply beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeautiful
sing us another one, Boy George wannabe !
22 Oct 2011, 12:39 pm
Bp, you going to the final tomorrow?
at least there will only be one Saffa at the game, the rest will be home crying into their biltong and even their boerwors will be getting slapped furiously..
lol.. couldnt even beat the Wobblies, with so much ball… they may have size and strength, but they certainly dont have any smarts..
22 Oct 2011, 12:41 pm
When was the 5th to 8th place play off matches between all the losing quarterfinalists to determine SA ended 8th behind Ireland, England and Argentina?
Must have missed those.
Did NZ finish “8th” in 2007?
22 Oct 2011, 12:42 pm
Viva la France!
South Africa is Blue tomorrow!
Ram a few Cockledoodledoos down those arrogant kiwi fans’ throats, thinking they have won it already.
22 Oct 2011, 12:43 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-99:
Like I said earlier, I would have stopped the Boks even if they had 120% ball. That was my brief, AND I DID IT. Now we are in the finals, all because of me! I may be a d i c k head but I got OUR team IN THE FINAL!
22 Oct 2011, 12:43 pm
and those ones who demand SA fans support the kiwis…
22 Oct 2011, 12:44 pm
How many points will NZ win by tomorrow?
22 Oct 2011, 12:44 pm
And Ma’a Nonu remains our prettiest girl.
22 Oct 2011, 12:45 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-104:
Depends on if we could buy Joubert.
22 Oct 2011, 12:45 pm
Enjoy children, I’m out for real now.
One last: Go France!
22 Oct 2011, 12:49 pm
SA rugby rightfully where it belongs
right down the back of the line in 8th spot
bewdiful.
22 Oct 2011, 12:51 pm
Give me my due, here is how I did it, under orders from the NZRU, for a nice fat fee. This is my story (again):
http://blogs.sport24.co.za/David-Mac/bryce-lawrence-lord-of-the-whistles-17-Oct-2011
22 Oct 2011, 12:51 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-108:
And I did it, by myself!
22 Oct 2011, 12:57 pm
how not to win a WC
the real story, as told by he SA rugby team, simply titled
“Skop aan jaag bokkes be fokked”
a certain best seller, forward written by Moer Hulle Brycie.
look out for the sequel to hit shelves in the near future
“backline? what the fok is that”
22 Oct 2011, 13:03 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-111:
If the Keewee;s lose tomorrow?
All Choke book released with the whole Keewee nation as a reference.
Now that would be “bewdiful”
22 Oct 2011, 13:07 pm
looking forward to the next hollywood movie about the Bokke WC campaign of 2011..
“brycie, he d1cked us”
starring Eddie Murphy as the deranged lunatic and head clown, PDV.
with John candy in the role of “captain aura”
not forgetting Peter Sellers as the villain “Sir Bryce lawrence”
once again Clint eastwood has surpassed himself with this moving rendition of just how far paranoia can infect a society…
this could be his finest moment as a producer, btu spare a thought for the researchers, they have to wade through a river of tears….
PG 18
contains obscene language
and violence…
at cinemas soon…ish
22 Oct 2011, 13:08 pm
On the eve of a (rare) Rugby World Cup final for his team, against the Kiwi-slaying French, one would think Poopie would be analysing the match ups, discussing the French tactics and the All Blacks path to glory, and generally just being in a happy place with his team on the door step of destiny in their own country.
But no.
He is focussed on SA and what SA did and didn’t do.
Someone mention the words “unhealthy” and “obsession” together?
Shame.
22 Oct 2011, 13:09 pm
@jondood(jondood)-112: a real possibility, not writing the French of by any means… they are dangerous and can beat us on their day…
22 Oct 2011, 13:10 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-114: nah, just giving it to supporters like yourself who have gloated unceremoniously for four years, now the tables have turned you have become sooooo precious..
love it…
22 Oct 2011, 13:10 pm
Caster Semenya is seen as hottie compared to the avg kiwi chick.
Fact.
22 Oct 2011, 13:12 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-116:
Waiheke was nice,stayed in a backpacker on a hill and about 2km down the coast was a nudie beach.
Water was freezing.
@poppa69(poppa69)-116: yeah sure, Poopie, you’re just “returning serve”.
We know.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-117: shouldnt talk about your girlfriend like that on a public blog fern..
still, you must enjoy it when she/he pushes your head back down into the pillow..
you still coming to the opera house for a beer when youre in Sydney?
Allez les Bleus!
22 Oct 2011, 13:13 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-117:
Ma’a Nonu is our hottest chick. You think Caster looks better?
22 Oct 2011, 13:14 pm
viva la France
Viva
go Boys!
22 Oct 2011, 13:14 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-120:
Opera House Bar def maybe.
Will keep you updated.
22 Oct 2011, 13:16 pm
Dunno Bryce,my gf is the complete package so I dont care.
Smart,ambicious,appreciative,carreer orientated and pretty to boot:-)
22 Oct 2011, 14:20 pm
@Bryce interesting blog but it is over we got screwed so time to build a bridge after all it is not life and death. May the best French team win and Bryce Lawrence never referee a match again.
22 Oct 2011, 16:34 pm
(yawn) Sorry to disappoint agitated Frogboks, Blacks by whatever necessary.
22 Oct 2011, 17:58 pm
Wishing both teams well. I will be supporting our siblings the All Blacks. Go Black.
And congratulations to all of New Zealand for an outstanding tournament.
Bar gouging the US TV viewers in a pathetic, typically greedy, G&T whiskey soaked bout of pure and utter stupidity. IRB & RWC are fools.
And I am sorry Joe Maso – if you were in this to win this you would have worn dark blue, dof.
22 Oct 2011, 18:08 pm
This latest poll says it all about how utterly fkn braindead stupid the RWC selections were:
“Who should be the SA Player of the Year?
Bismarck du Plessis
Schalk Burger
Pat Lambie
Francois Hougaard
Victor Matfield”
2 of those players weren’t even selected for the Boks the run-on side.
22 Oct 2011, 18:11 pm
The best player in SA rugbty, the one that makes the biggest difference to an SA side is none other than Bismarck du Plessis. Matfield is phenomenal in the lineout (probably none better ever) but the modern gamn is primarily aboutt the collisions and breakdown, they do not get better than Bismarck – and how much rugby did he play at this RWC?
Like Dagg, he should have emerged from this tournament as one of the world’s stars, instead he’s time merely slips past, a complete joke. I hope he’s got a sense of humour cos this was kak vorm allround.
22 Oct 2011, 18:13 pm
Never again must a fkn bok side be selected by a bunch of vainglorious fartarses. Bunch of tools man.
22 Oct 2011, 18:18 pm
am about ready to shitout a brick when i look at the teams playing tomorrow, knowing full well the Boks should have been contesting this damned thing.
22 Oct 2011, 18:38 pm
@cab(cab)-130: I agree. Total travesty that he did not start, and absolutely cost us the game more than the referee.
22 Oct 2011, 18:50 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-133:
yeah Joe total bullshit, i’m still fuming 2 weeks on, oh well at least the Lions in a final, should be good game next week, mitchell got them playing well and that young jantjies looking pretty damn sharp of hoe?
22 Oct 2011, 18:54 pm
@cab(cab)-134: I don’t really watch Currie Cup in truth. Hard to get up for it when I am still down from RWC.
But I am looking forward to a new era of Springbok rugby. The last one ended in tremendous disappointment, and for reasons that could well have been avoided.
I suspect that you are supporting Les Bleu tommorow. I will be supporting Les Hommes En Noir.
22 Oct 2011, 19:00 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-135:
ja i know what u meaning, blerrie bullshit bok bumbling bafoons. time for a clearout.
as for tomorrow, dunno i like the ABs but it would be bladdy funny for a few of their faithful to get their come uppacne tomoro, not gonna happen, blacks by 25.
22 Oct 2011, 20:38 pm
Number One Black Dragons!!
22 Oct 2011, 23:08 pm
In test matches Schalk Burger take a bow first prize . No contest
You Bok fans rave on about Bissie but (from a NZ perspective) playing cameos off the bench doesn’t cut the mustard
Calling him the best hooker in the world when he hardly plays a half a game is getting a bit ahead of yourselves
Lets have a look at him after a few years as the run on hooker see if he can live up
to the hype
22 Oct 2011, 23:22 pm
@spartan(spartan)-138: you are deluding yourself. Bismark is head and shoulders above any other hooker in the game today.
22 Oct 2011, 23:26 pm
He gets a chance to prove it ,now that Smit is out of the picture
22 Oct 2011, 23:29 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-128:
there were lots of shenanigans that ended up with France wearing their NEW DARK-blue strip in 2007 and the ABs reluctantly allowed them to wear their ‘home’ strip. Reciprocal rights in 2011 were no doubt part of the deal.
One thing we know is that SA would never have made the sportsmanship call if placed in the same position.
In NZ, we LOVE les Tricolors despite how many times they beat us. Thats because they are still great sportsman OFF the pitch. Unlike….
22 Oct 2011, 23:31 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-139:
he hasnt had a better tournament than Mealamu, who has been consistently excellent, esp vs Aus.
22 Oct 2011, 23:33 pm
Bismark walks into any World team.
22 Oct 2011, 23:57 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-143: On the contrary his name hasn’t been seen near any world cup xv team sheet as of 23-10-2011
It’s consistent high-quality performance on the field that matters
Not hype
23 Oct 2011, 00:09 am
I hope the sheep shaggers loose the tainted world cup, worst in the history of the ggame, poppa 69 piss off back to that inbred country town of auckland, you are a glory supporter, nothing better, all blacks yawn, yawn, yawn
23 Oct 2011, 01:21 am
In auks, taxi to viaduct. Can feel the precious, itsssss ssssoo close, yessssss we wantssssss it!
23 Oct 2011, 01:24 am
Hope my mate who has my ticket turns up, haven’t heard from him all weekend….. B@stard better not have flogged to make a quick coupla grand!!!
23 Oct 2011, 02:54 am
@maximus1(maximus1)-145:
how many games were you in NZ for ?
23 Oct 2011, 04:48 am
Hey black panther none of the games, I wouldn’t visit that mud island in the pacific, hell, south africa have been on crappy nz refs end for years, to all the all black wannabe supporters, who cares, world cup is tainted with inept referees, especially nz, hell I don’t who was worse paddy o brien or bryce lawrence, grounds were poor, eden park no better than a club ground in sa.
23 Oct 2011, 04:53 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-104: About 25, I’d say. Maybe 40.
23 Oct 2011, 04:54 am
@maximus1(maximus1)-145: LOOSE it? Not tighten it?
23 Oct 2011, 05:44 am
Ha ha tackler you’re onbe of those glory supporters, why don’t you piss off and blogn on your little country town morse code machines in 3 world new zealand, you do seem to spend a lot of time on this website, nz rugby union is broke, this is the last time the world cup will be held on your crappy shores, as for south africa it will continue to hold major sporting events over and over and subsidize your ****** team.
As for the ref, you will have a fair game, as he is from sourh africa, unlike the nz refs, who should stick to netball
23 Oct 2011, 06:14 am
@maximus1(maximus1)-152:
And some of you Okes wonder why we Kiwi’s are such a pain in the arse?
Wonder no longer.
Max grow up.
LOSERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!
23 Oct 2011, 06:20 am
http://www.daimenhutchison.com/rugby/entry.php/39-Conspiracy-Theories-running-around-in-Saffa-land.-Part-2-IRB-Fixed-World-Cup-draw?goto=prev
23 Oct 2011, 06:52 am
On the way to mt Eden to a party, Then to the match. I can almost feeeeel the precious!
23 Oct 2011, 06:53 am
Auckland going off! Down town a massive party
23 Oct 2011, 06:56 am
Quite a few saffas at the viaduct, in bok colours. All told me they are supporting the black machine tonight. Sentient seems to be that bold can’t win it, no1 team in the world – between world cups – should!!!!!!!
23 Oct 2011, 07:03 am
Israel dagg gonna score 3 or 4 tries tonight, that’s the consensus at the viaduct. Saffas agree boks would have bent the knee I’m front of the ab forward pack tonite.
Know your master.
23 Oct 2011, 07:05 am
*in front of
23 Oct 2011, 09:49 am
At the game, atmosphere awesome, crowd awesome, weather awesome, all blacks AWESOME!