All Blacks crowned kings of the world

JON CARDINELLI, reporting from Eden Park, watched the All Blacks beat France 8-7 to secure their second World Cup title.

Four million New Zealanders have had to endure 24 long years in between World Cup titles. On Sunday 23 October, they had to endure a further 80 agonising minutes as their beloved All Blacks edged slowly and, at times tentatively, towards the elusive gold.

The energy of a nation was channeled in the New Zealand national anthem, and the All Blacks played their part with a spirited rendition of Kapa o Pango. France responded through Thierry Dusautoir’s passionate gesture during the Tricolores’ call-to-arms, and through the team’s decision to advance towards the hosts while they laid down the traditional challenge.

The message was clear: France would not be intimidated by the All Blacks, their media or the New Zealand people’s pre-match assertion that they had no place in this final. Their march on the All Blacks would signify a collective up-yours to all the non-believers, and their efforts in this match would underscore their passion and belief that they could indeed upset the world’s top-ranked team.

It was this fiery attitude and physicality that had the All Blacks rattled at stages. Tony Woodcock scored a simple try for the hosts when a smart lineout move opened up the French defence, but Piri Weepu failed to make the conversion. In fact, Weepu would miss all three of his attempts at goal and the All Blacks would miss out on eight points as a result. It was this lack of composure that so nearly cost the hosts the game.

The All Blacks were resolute on defence, but then so were the French. They matched the hosts at the collisions which limited the All Blacks’ attacking platform. Morgan Parra stopped Ma’a Nonu from breaching the gain line early in the first half, and paid the price for his bravery. He was able to return to the field for a brief spell but was later pulled when he failed to recover from what was a big knock.

The All Blacks would lose their own flyhalf before the first period was through. Aaron Cruden was caught between two French defenders in the 34th minute, and proceeded to hyper-extend his knee. Suddenly the All Blacks were without Cruden, their third-choice pivot, and looking to Stephen Donald, a player who wasn’t even in the country until a couple of weeks previously. If the All Blacks were going to pull this one off, the forgotten man of New Zealand rugby would have to steer them home.

Donald relieved Weepu of the goal-kicking duties and took his first opportunity early in the second half. But the 8-0 deficit did little to dampen the spirits of the French, who continued to clatter into the collisions and breakdowns with masochistic intensity.

They also persisted with their ball-in-hand tactics, and their searing counter-attacks stretched the All Blacks on numerous occasions. It was one such counter-punch that would provide the spark for a massive moment, which Dusautoir took expertly to help close the gap to 8-7.

It was during this time that the All Blacks must have been thinking about the failures of the World Cup teams of yesteryear. Weepu had shown a lack of composure in the first half through his inability to convert three very kickable opportunities, and as the French swelled with confidence, the All Blacks grew frantic.

It was a situation tailor-made for the French, and undoubtedly a worse-case scenario for the hosts.

But as plucky as the French were, they were just as erratic as in previous matches at this tournament. Credit should go to the All Blacks defence, but had France shown more composure and patience with ball-in-hand, they may have taken the lead and inspired some real panic in the New Zealand ranks. Had they converted their own goal-kicking chances, they would have assumed control as the clock wound down.

Dimitri Yachvili missed a penalty attempt early in the second stanza, and Trinh-Duc pushed a long attempt wide in the 65th minute. The replacement flyhalf also made a telling mistake when he overcooked a garryowen late in the game. It marked the end of long spell where France had pinned the hosts deep in their own territory.

It was during the remaining minutes that the All Blacks, spurred on by the thousands of desperate but patriotic Kiwis in the crowd, showed their composure. Through the determined efforts of their forwards and the collective discipline on defence, they were able to douse the French flame.

France swept from side to side for several minutes in hope of milking the penalty that would win them the game, but the All Blacks stood firm. They won the turnover, and attempted to play for time, and when referee Craig Joubert handed them a penalty, it signified the beginning of the end.

The All Blacks won the ensuing lineout and another penalty after mauling the French back, and at this point, Eden Park erupted in celebration. It will not be remembered as the most convincing performance, but it will be remembered as the day the All Blacks ended a 24-year drought and assumed the mantle of undisputed champions of the world.

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

1,158 Comments

Pages: « 112 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 2224 » Show All

• 801.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Brawling over?

• 802.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-797:

i reckon Juan is finished, will probably retire quite soon.
    Goosen is another story-best local talent to emerge over the last 10 years or so- the future of SA rugby imo.

If Rassie can only buy him before the Bulls or Sharks get hold of him :)

• 803.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-801:

Seems like it- Sheriff is braaing some genuine honest SA steaks now- hopefully he will only be back tomorrow with his ” sulking”, lol.

• 804.Dawn: Reply to this comment

SA v kiwi, aus v kiwi, aus v SA, kiwi v kiwi, stalkers, what next?

• 805.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-802: sharks still alright but not bulls. Cheetahs needs the bucks. Stormers/ WP desperately need for a good flyhalf.

• 806.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Guys, NZ won. We didn’t. Time to move on and stop the childish bickering.

Rather put all your energies into getting the Boks back up to where they belong – winning the 4N next year and competing with NZ for the No. 1 IRB ranking on an annual basis.

- which coach will best offer us that opportunity?

I for one am sick of the Bok excuses and mediocre 65% win ratios… let’s get our team to a place where we don’t need to constantly make up excuses.

Remember, the kiwis want you to fight amongst yourselves… perhaps one day when we can put all our provincial differences aside we can match NZ.

But for now, let’s make sure we make enough noise and let SARU know we will settle only for the best coach for the job.

• 807.Bryce Dickhead Lawrence: Reply to this comment

We won, WE WON! I helped! I’m pretty sure Joubert was got to, he made some pretty dodgy decisions letting my team of the hook. I DON’T CARE ****! In the end the plan came together and WE WON! Nevermind the most useless finalist ever (OMG for 60% of the game they were better than us), WE WON! NZ 2011 RWC CHAMPS! Never mind how we did it, WE DID IT!!!!

• 808.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-775:

Howzit :)

Steyn needs to play some cricket. He looks rusty. A few of the boys could use some supersport cricket before the tests.

I see the band hasn’t learnt any new songs :)

• 809.Bryce Dickhead Lawrence: Reply to this comment

The IRB, the NZRU, myself, and probably Craig himself (he’ll tell me over a beer at some stage), WELL DONE! The All Blacks are RWC champs just like we planned! HALLELUJAH!

• 810.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-805:

Gary van Aswegen is quite good, but seems to be injury proned
    I am holding thumbs for him to recover and play a full season.
    If they revert back to Peter Grant, they can just as well give up even before the season has started – trhe Greek is also just above average- Coleman too,

Good luck in holding on to Goosen though- he (and also Ebersohn) is top class.

• 811.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-803:

Calm down Rob.

All Blacks have become ultra self-absorbed in their desire to win the RWC; 60% of me actually felt sorry for them

The other 40% of me made sure that they understand that the world looks and the discerning observer sees their way

At least as they wake up their rice krispies/ corn flakes will taste sweet; they would feel the curse is over and whether you and I agree with their way, now is their chance to just enjoy the event, now that its over

Im happy for Ted and Wayne in particular eventhough Ted never acknowledges other teams’ efforts which is quite immature for a 62 yr old I think; I love it when he lifts his hands in the air when they score eventho it looks pretty uncomfortable :-)

• 812.carol: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-806:

Allez les….Kiwis !! ;-)

• 813.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-260: Did you actually watch the 2007 final?

Today had more kicks than 2007 and less points than any other RwC. I now understand your comments as blank ones with no real understanding of game.

• 814.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-806: things will change with Jurie Roux in charge of SA Rugby.
    We do have a bright future. The new coach whoever he is must be welcomed from the outset by journ’s and supporters,

• 815.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-752:
    In fairness, you must mention Bryce Lawrence as the referee who handed the B&ILs to the Boks on a plate in the 1st Test 2009!
    The 2nd Test referee Christophe Berdos saw the end of his Test career after cheating in a similar manner!
    Speaking of integrity,,,,

• 816.JL1: Reply to this comment

Well done Kiwis

You all know that a one point win is good enough, but not great, enjoy the 4 years

• 817.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-808:

Lol, gawd, that band is the pits, they should be banned from the ground.

Boucher also seems out of touch behind the stumps- at least the pressure is on the Aussies.

We will probably sneak this one.

• 818.Bryce Dickhead Lawrence: Reply to this comment

I’m so happy. It all comes down to one thing: CHEATING PAYS!

• 819.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-802: If Province owned a tight five they will win, they do not need girls in the backline

• 820.carol: Reply to this comment

JL1(JL1)-813:
    I only actually watched Percy in the 2007 final…..

The rest was a blurr!

• 821.Bryce Dickhead Lawrence: Reply to this comment

I hope Craig Joubert was paid at least half I was paid, it would only be right.

• 822.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Thanks for coming Hussey. Even Bryce won’t save you from defeat today.

• 823.Bryce Dickhead Lawrence: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-822:

What???

• 824.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-815:

Mate I will have to look at those games again; it’s 2 years ago.

I would have loved to see a tournament with no controversy and would have been satisfied if we made it to the final and lost 40-0 but fairly.

Just like I came on here last night and congratulated the 2 John’s: Plum and Mitch for being the best coaches in the country. Mitch’s team beat us with no name brands and I gave him all the credit

Ted and Mitch the top 2 coaches in world rugby in terms of winning rate; no arguing that

My concerns have been around Petty O’Brien and Bryce Lawrence; they have developed quite a warped sense of serving your country

I loved Richie’s face when Craig penalised him…

• 825.JL1: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-820: You still like Percy after all these years?

Pity you cannot make the Baabaas game?

• 826.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-819:

Cannot disagree, its been like this for so many years, seems like a regional disease.
    Pretty boys do not win rugby matches i guess.

• 827.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-824: This is the tainted RwC.
    The lucky packet one

Where is Skop?

ABs beat Japan, Canada, and all the other no name brands

• 828.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-822: ODI

• 829.Bryce Dickhead Lawrence: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-827:

And we didn’t beat the French apart from on the scoreboard. We cheated ourselves into the final. BUT SO WHAT? We are the champions, my friend (and I was an integral part of the set-up!),

• 830.carol: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-825:
    It is terminal…..Percitis !

I cannot believe I have accepted another invitation that weekend, the Babaas reunion is guaranteed to be a laugh, are you going?

• 831.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The Frogs were not penalised for not rolling away at the tackles all night,
    While McCaw was called 1st time for a hand in the ruck on the 71st minute penalty!
    So much for Craig Joubert’s refereeing standards, hard to explaine how come there was no yellow card for infrigment in the rucks or offside on defence ?

• 832.Bryce Dickhead Lawrence: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-827:

We are NOT tainted!

• 833.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-826:

Percy won the WC for you, and he was your best ever ‘Pretty Boy’ !! ;-)

• 834.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-827:

Yip, rugby WC will always be a bit of a lottery,
    The real thing to determine the best team is probably then the IRB rankings.
    Problem is that the AB’s are also leading that.
    So maybe they are the best?

• 835.carol: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-827:

Skop is just steaming some vegetables!!

• 836.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-827:

ABs first real test was France and judging from today, it seems the French did not want to win that pool game.

Then on to the quarter they had to deal with the the mighty Pumas.

Then Australia in the semis, which were pulverised by the Boks and the entire nation of New Zealand targeted Quade Cooper; that was actually quite pathetic and just about sums up so much of what we have come to expect from the kiwis

Today they were tested and somehow some way they got there; France maybe just needed a more reliable goal kicker and they would have been there

In the big scheme of things the Boks prolly deserved more to be in the final than the French

• 837.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-833:

I have never disputed the fact that he is/was a pretty boy.

Nice hair and great body for sure.

But he had the ugly forwards to set winning the world cup up for him.
    Bakkies and Os and those ugly blokes, lol.

• 838.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-837: “Nice hair and great body for sure”.

:D :D

• 839.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-837:

Will Percy be redundant now do you suppose?

• 840.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Warner gone. Game over

• 841.carol: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-838:

Robzim has 2 daughters, he understands this ‘stuff’ !! ;-)

• 842.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Mmm. I prefer them a bit more rugged.

Breed ‘em tuff in the Hutts.

• 843.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-841: If you say so sister. :D

The line was just really funny.

• 844.Dawn: Reply to this comment

They should’ve all just left Corey to play France alone.

• 845.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-835:

You mean he’s deep in thought?

• 846.Dawn: Reply to this comment

• 847.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-838:

I see my very good friend Carol has helped me out on this one.

Percy also had hilites in the hair long before the rest of the rugger buggers caught up.

Trendy bloke, our Percy :)

• 848.Lions_is_kak_kak_honde_honde_kak: Reply to this comment

Quotas cost the WP yesterday! I hope that po3s Trevor Wakefield cathes a wake up! no pun intended!

• 849.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yassus skop had a vegan tirade here last night that made m feel guilt having my mom’s lamb chops for lunch today.

• 850.carol: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-843:
    Bless him, it was a tad camp!! :lol:

Pages: « 112 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 2224 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.