Fourie set for Japanese stint

Jaque Fourie has agreed a short-term deal with Japanese club the Panasonic Wild Knights.

There have been reports linking the Springbok and Stormers centre to a move to Japan over the last fortnight. After discussions between the player and the WP union, it has been decided that Fourie will be released to play for the Wild Knights for the duration of their domestic season.

The 28-year-old will return in time for the Stormers’ Super Rugby campaign, that kicks off on 24 February. However, with the Japanese domestic season only ending on 5 February, it means Fourie will head straight into Super Rugby preparations with no break after a busy 2011, which included an extended Super Rugby season, Tri-Nations and World Cup tournaments.

Fourie is the second Stormers player to be sent out on loan to a Japanese club. Flyhalf Peter Grant is currently playing in his second campaign for the Kobe Kobelco Steelers, and will also rush back into Super Rugby next year. Springbok and Bulls scrumhalf Fourie du Preez and lock Danie Rossouw have both signed two-year deals with Japanese club Suntory Sungoliath.

This site has it on good authority that there is an opportunity for Fourie to make a permanent transfer to Japan after Super Rugby. Fourie will have the opportunity to experience Japan and their domestic rugby from October to February, and could be open to a longer deal.

278 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.race of tan: Reply to this comment

puff – Oh dear poo. If i was SARU i would be get kruiping Mallet right now and convincing him that the Bok job is hte best thing sin the world for him rather than 6 month break. I hope they dont keep PDIVVY for a while longer!! Why not offer the job to Eddie Jones, he knows the Boks rahter well!!

• 152.puff: Reply to this comment

The next Springbok coach… Chester Williams!
    Give me a rope so I can hang myself…

• 153.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-146: Who’s next in line? Phil Pretorius/Hugh Reese Edwards?

• 154.race of tan: Reply to this comment

puff – Gat kruiping, too long in pongo land!!

• 155.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-146:

Well I have been saying all along that people have been having a go at him without anybody asking him if he wanted the job !!!

• 156.puff: Reply to this comment

I am hoping that the options do entail the likes of Mitchell, Jones and Mallet.
    But I do fear they are more along the lines of Muir, Gold, Williams and Treu.

• 157.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-141: wp were never gonna win without a fetcher…..I called leeus by 8 !

Lions will need to stand up in tight 5…..if they do there backs will take sharks…..there backs are so incisive and playing a great brand….but it starts up front and sharks will want to dominate set phases….

clos….but home and altitude and Mitchell and Elton ??

Lions by 6

• 158.puff: Reply to this comment

Williams says thanks but no thanks… step in Loffie Eloff!
    Ai ai ai ai!

• 159.race of tan: Reply to this comment

puff – Some lean years on the horizon for the Boks!! Shame White took up Brumbies he may have come back again!! What about Alan Solomons, Mallets understudy?

• 160.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-138:
    on a serious note though, i do think there’s some merit in perhaps having a few zulu warriors come on during the haka and then maybe throw their spears into the ground in front of the ab’s as a ‘return of serve’.

the ab’s would/could even be permitted to accept the challenge put to them by graciously taking possesion of the spears thrown which could also serve as a memento for them to keep.

• 161.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-119:

ok…I have come around to the Smith at 4 idea…..reluctantly so but can see it also elongating his career thus he can also be skipper of Boks.

Eish still fond of him at 6 but if it must be…he certainly has the size and skills to do it

• 162.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-157: you think Sharks can do it with Keegan not being a “fetcher”, can he stand up to minnie?

• 163.puff: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-159:

Committed to the Kings.

• 164.grant10: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-142: may be best if they both get bok spots….put wp back in more capable hands

• 165.race of tan: Reply to this comment

mshiniwami – Interesting idea Smith/Bekker. Personally on RWC form i would go for Alberts/Bekker, Willem Alberts did very well at the RWC!!

• 166.Tuna: Reply to this comment

Rod Macqueen did not quit as Rebels coach for nothing.

• 167.race of tan: Reply to this comment

puff – Alan Solomons is the kings coach?

• 168.race of tan: Reply to this comment

mshiniwami – Re Willem Alberts di dwell at loack the few times he played there!!

• 169.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-152:

even ac, if he gets the job i will honest to gott stop supporting the springboks.
    and i will write to saru explaining my reasons why.

we are at a crossroads.

• 170.grant10: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-146: mitchell …please G od let it be Mitchell

• 171.puff: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-161:
    Welcome!
    I couldn’t believe it when I arrived at the realisation either.

• 172.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-157: yeah they will be up for it again and home advantage will be important but Sharks will test their forward pack and see if they have the steel behind the flair.

Your Bok backline is good but as a wildcard maybe they should look at Riaan Viljoen at full-back, Frans Steyn showed the value of a huge boot v Wales, he virtually won SA that game with his mammoth clearances.

• 173.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-145:

Only problem with that backline is no obvious combinations, maybe Lambie ahead of Taute, at least then you have a Sharks back 3 , all playing decent rugger at the moment !!

Hougaard and Jantjies could take a while to settle ?

But given time it could gel into a decent backline !!

• 174.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-160: why throw them into the ground when they can launch them across the halfway line? :)

• 175.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-145: No Lambie? You fcked in your senile head, kn.obber.

• 176.puff: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-165:

It is what I’m advocating.

4. Smith
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussow
    7. Burger
    8. Alberts

• 177.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Big Hit – Who do you think will get the England coaching job? Woodward return possibly!!

• 178.puff: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-167:

Yes.

• 179.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-122:

agree with you… that’s just how i see it…

• 180.ET.: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-132:

This is what the big money in big sports has done to reduce you and millions more to mere helpless but ineffective and certainly taken-for-granted supporters.

You can take back your control of self by withdrawing at least financial support and being brutally truthful to all about the facts of this demise. There are tens of thousands disgruntled people just in Cape Town.
    The game will always be there to be followed and appreciably enjoyed without being a mere jersey colour follower.
    This past RWC was the best for me ever and I have no jersey colour prefereence other than the truth. Next RWC I see the Aussies or Frenchies(they deserve one) or again the ABs in that order leading the charge.

Just be truthful as that is what got me my seven for seven and much enjoyment in this last tournamment.

The blue and white hooped, non-professional W.P. u/19s and u/20s will always be value for money and give you enjoyment and even much more success than disappointments. Thereafter concentrate on individuals. That explains why I can appreciate a Jean De Villiers more than a Skunk Burger.

• 181.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-168: @race of tan(race of tan)-165:

While Willem can fill in at lock,he is PRIMED to be a sledgehammer 7 or 8 now.Its his time there. Plus he is only 1.92m and not as good as Juan Smith in the air. Smith stands at 1.96 I think and is the best jumping 6 on the planet.

• 182.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-177: Snake wants that job. He will leave the Brumbies in a heartbeat.

• 183.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-162: minnie will moer him 6 love…..but Bissy is a bas tard at the breakdown….bissy is key imo…..if lions negate him and stand vas in the scrums leeus will win….

• 184.race of tan: Reply to this comment

puff – MY idea was :-
    4. Alberts
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussow
    7. Burger
    8. Smith

Either way is just a strong. THenk the good Lord the Boks have no problems in the forward department it is our backs that need a miracle!!

• 185.puff: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-177:

Mallet!

• 186.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Tuna – Thank goodness for that. White built a squad that lasted for 8 years, what a man!!

• 187.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-172: I really enjoy Taute…..strong….quick and decent boot as well….Lambie also a decent 15 option…

• 188.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-176:

Now that looks like a Bok pack…No passengers….Wow…*tearstomyeyes* Lol

• 189.puff: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-181:

Zigactly!

• 190.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Puff – There must be goings on that we don’t know about. Oh well if England get/have Mallet they will be in good hands!!

• 191.grant10: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-173: yes….would need a decent backline coach to get the best out of them as well…..combos will take a while

• 192.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-175: lol

senile knobber?

Farkoff man….you bloody prat!

• 193.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-176:

Next generation

4. Elstadt
    5. Etzebeth
    6. Carr
    7. Kolisi
    8. Botha

• 194.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-136: no reason to backtrack/be defensive, i’m just asking a simple question :D

• 195.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-174:
    i’d be all for it except for the stupid irb rule stipulation saying we can do anything we like on our side of the halfway line as long as we dont cross over into their half

• 196.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-187: Lambie is a solid 15, had some really sound games in the WC but imo you get the best of him if he is up in the line at 10 or 12

@race of tan(race of tan)-177: Woodward wants the elite director position, if the press are to be believed should Johnno be replaced the head coaching position is between mallet and mallinder.

• 197.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-187:

Taute just needs to improve his decision making, but he is very young, he will learn, Rassie should sign him !!

• 198.grant10: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-180: interesting point about the u 21 s and 19s….Justrugby and I have often said we enjoy the curtain raisers more than the bloody prima donnas!

• 199.puff: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-188:

This is my thinking for 2012 first-choice 15:

1. Steenkamp 2. B. Du Plessis 3. J. Du Plessis 4. Smith 5. Bekker 6. Brussow 7. Burger 8. Alberts 9. Hougaard 10. Goosen 11. Pieterson 12. F. Steyn 13. Fourie 14. Aplon 15. Lambie

• 200.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-120: Sounds relaxing, unfortunately the bad timing, need to stay aggressive for a while longer :razz: @stormersboy(stormersboy)-138: and end it with a traditional braai on the field :mrgreen:

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.