Fourie set for Japanese stint

Jaque Fourie has agreed a short-term deal with Japanese club the Panasonic Wild Knights.

There have been reports linking the Springbok and Stormers centre to a move to Japan over the last fortnight. After discussions between the player and the WP union, it has been decided that Fourie will be released to play for the Wild Knights for the duration of their domestic season.

The 28-year-old will return in time for the Stormers’ Super Rugby campaign, that kicks off on 24 February. However, with the Japanese domestic season only ending on 5 February, it means Fourie will head straight into Super Rugby preparations with no break after a busy 2011, which included an extended Super Rugby season, Tri-Nations and World Cup tournaments.

Fourie is the second Stormers player to be sent out on loan to a Japanese club. Flyhalf Peter Grant is currently playing in his second campaign for the Kobe Kobelco Steelers, and will also rush back into Super Rugby next year. Springbok and Bulls scrumhalf Fourie du Preez and lock Danie Rossouw have both signed two-year deals with Japanese club Suntory Sungoliath.

This site has it on good authority that there is an opportunity for Fourie to make a permanent transfer to Japan after Super Rugby. Fourie will have the opportunity to experience Japan and their domestic rugby from October to February, and could be open to a longer deal.

278 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

• 201.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-196: Jantjes is my 10 choice going forward….Lambie a better option than the wally M Steyn imo….but Jantjes is just very special …..@grant10(grant10)-198: Taute a farken decent player….agree about the decision making…..he is still a bit raw….but the power and speed is there for all to see…..

• 202.puff: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-193:

Some great talent coming through.
    I’d have Elstadt as back-up 4 to Smith pretty much immediately.
    Looking forward to seeing Coenie Oosthuyzen with the Boks too.
    And Johann Goosen could rule the rugby world for years to come.

• 203.puff: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-201:

Goosen. Without. A. Doubt.

• 204.grant10: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-199: J Goosen over Jantjes?

Why??

• 205.race of tan: Reply to this comment

puff – Very good team. Are the Boks going on an EOYT this year?

• 206.ET.: Reply to this comment

” mannifestation ”
    Despite that notion, attempted to be made, being ridiculously laughable(you should limit yourself to your typical and silly sexual comparisons) that word and the one below is not found in my Oxford or Websters.

” recon “

• 207.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Mallet – no
    Henyke – no
    Mitchell – no
    AC – no
    Rassie -no

Stage set for Plum ??

• 208.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Rugby’s credibility is suffering
    October 24, 2011
    Posted by Morné

Respected sport scientist and long standing friend of RuggaWorld, Dr. Ross Tucker, offers his views on the Rugby World Cup and specifically referees and how their performance is damaging the game’s credibility.

A very good read, but long…..

• 209.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-199:

1. Steenkamp 2. B. Du Plessis 3. J. Du Plessis 4. Smith 5. Bekker 6. Brussow 7. Burger 8. Alberts 9. Hougaard 10. Lambie 11. Pieterson 12. F. Steyn 13. Fourie 14. Mvovo 15. Aplon

16.Rallapelle 17.Oosthuizen 18.Deysel 19.Johnson 20.S.Pretorius 21.Goosen/Jantjes 22.De Jongh

Easy with the Goosen kid,plenty of talent but showed on weekend he is fallible & a bit susceptible to injury(always off after 60min grimacing)…Lets groom him,also has to usurp Jantjes still who showed lots of poise in semi,,,(7 out 7 does hurt neither)

• 210.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-201: so far (in super rugby) jantjes has looked talented but inconsistent. Eddie Jones is one of the few who has actually said he wants the Bok job, your thoughts?

• 211.ET.: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-198:

As you should know enjoyment is always related cogently to winning. Don’t torture yourself with the S15 and the internationals you limit yourself to.
    The flow of my wisdom will stop sometime, so use it while you can.

• 212.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Big Hit – Eddie Jones would be very welcomed by the entire coumtry, the players liked him alot!! He would definitely be my first choice ovemost barring Mallet!!

• 213.race of tan: Reply to this comment

mshiniwami – Lambie looked very comfotable at fullback. I never knew why P Grant never got a decent chance at flyhalf, i guess we will never know now!!

• 214.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-200: How could i forget the braai?

Silly me.

• 215.grant10: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-207: plum the dark horse….

all 36 year olds back in vogue….

fark me….

• 216.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-210: rather Eddie than AC….Rassie …any day of the week….

My wish list in order of preference……

Mitchell….

mallet

B Venter /

H Meyer

Eddie Jones….

In fact possibly Eddie ahead of H Meyer……the thought of a 1 dimensional skop en jag artist in M Steyn and Spies being punted by Meyer is hard to take…..

I would love to interview the guys and ask a few pertinent questions as well….

someone like B Venter has rattled me a bit with some of his comments….

• 217.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-206: Aren’t you surprised that I could spell “toyi toyi”?

I recon you never saw that one coming…..

• 218.grant10: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-209: agreed re goosen….i have not seen enough of him to comment….but damn Jantjes has been bloody awesome…

• 219.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-215: You think AC is serious when he said that he’s not interrested?

i guess we are stuck with PDV then…..

• 220.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-219: PDV!

eina boet……the mere thought of that spineless jelly fish farking up our rugby for even a second more is enough to drive me to baseball or korfbal….even farken jukskei….

• 221.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-219: I am farken hoping Rassie and AC will not only not get bok job…..but will also be shown the door by wp and stormers as well….

I have no idea what is potting at wp now….but this shadow deal tipped me over the edge I tell you!

• 222.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the Boks must get Wayne Smith out of his contract to be Chiefs backline steward a give him the job!

• 223.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-213:

He moved to Flyhalf in the 30 min for Sharks and looks very comfortable there 2.Plus he is dead on at Test level.hardly flustered

• 224.David: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-221:
    You’ve been teetering for quite a while, Grant. :lol:

• 225.race of tan: Reply to this comment

mshiniwami – Oh yeah. Lambie is almost in the same mould as F Steyn, big game BMT!! I think SA has got enuff talent coming through, who is going to be coach biggest worry. Personally i would prefer Eddie Jones out of all!!

• 226.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-220: Rumour has it he’s spoken to John about the forward coaching position……

And by John I don’t mean Mitchell…..

• 227.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-222: I could live with that as well….

• 228.race of tan: Reply to this comment

stormer boy – You mean barney could the Bok forwards coach!! What a depressing Monday this is!! Learn from England’s mitakes, Johnson great player/captian rubbish coach or no experience atleast!!

• 229.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-226: dont do that bud….

i am eating and have a sharp knife close at hand…

I may just cut my wrists!

Wahat is the deal with Willem Alberts?

Or cant you say?

• 230.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-224: my man…what a kak weekend…

Man U take 6……at home!

France lose by 1

wp get manhandled…..

thanks heavens the proteas won…

• 231.grant10: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-228: if barney gets close to bok team I sware I will never support boks again….fark that…pdv and plod the biggest con jobs of all time….bloody useless wallys of the highest order…..

• 232.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-229: Yeah sorry. Didn’t mean to spoil your supper. I for one have just finished grilling a fresh snoek basted with garlic butter and apricot jam.

Another K uk day in Africa.

I was just kidding on the John front.

Someone who is quite well connected told me about Willem, but it’s not something I can substantiate at all, I don’t have it from any of my regular sources.

I’d go for a fetcher, The one guy who might actually move as he’s been sidelined of late is Jaques Botes. He’s one of the top 5 fetchers in SA and is struggling for a 1st team game, i think he’d fit in really well here.

i’d go for him personally.

And a good prop too, possibly another hitman no 4 lock.

That should take care of it.

Wouldn’t have signed Shadow if it were up to me…….

• 233.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I am surprised people are still surprised by stories like this from WP rugby…

And yet – when the **** hits the fan and WP loses yet another semi-final we continue to look to the coach (only).

• 234.grant10: Reply to this comment

mitchell …mallet…eddie….

At a push Heyneke…..or brendon venter….

Asseblief no fat boys or 3 stooges allowed anywhere within 100 miles of team bus….

over and out

• 235.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-230: As a long standing Liverpool supporter i will admit to enjoying that drubbing…… :)

• 236.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-234: You need to do something about your blood presure dude.

• 237.Michael: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-235: Me too :-)

• 238.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

The name of Rassie and ‘Bok coach’ should never be mentioned in the same sentence. Ever.

• 239.David: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-230:
    Norwich held Liverpool away, though. So it wasn’t so bad for me. As for the RWC, I’m glad the ABs won, as they deserved it, although every now and again I must admit to admiring the underdogs and wouldn’t have been unhappy if they’d taken it.

• 240.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-233: wp are a disgrace PA…seriously it is an example of how not tio run a Union….farken players sommer ruling the roost….no man…this must stop…

• 241.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-238: good on you mate….he is a bloody fool!

• 242.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-239: i BLED THE WHOLE DAMN WEEKEND …..JUST GLAD cHELSEA GOT BEAT….AND JA, THE pOOL DRAW HELPED AS WELL….AND SPURS WINNING AWAY [ MY 2 ND TEAM ] ALSO ALLEVIATED THE PAIN….A SMALL BIT THAT IS…

Fark sorry caps

• 243.David: Reply to this comment

Shadow might not be such a bad signing. He was probably cheaper than what Engelbrecht is costing the Bulls, and having wing that can play 15, in todays game, is quite an advantage. He would be a far more attacking option than Conrad is currently. Besides, if Riaan Viljoen is headed for Durban, who I believe was Rassies first choice, there wasn’t much left to choose from.

• 244.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-243: i would have gone after Daniller at 15. Good solid player, great in the air, huge boot.

Shadow’s ok, but hardly a marquee signing, but probably didn’t cost marquee prices…..

• 245.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-238: who would be your top picks for Bok coach?

• 246.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-244:

WP has made worse signings in the past.

Shadow has a lot of potential but still a rough diamond. What I am concerned about is not the player, but the expertise in WP Rugby to help him reach his potential.

• 247.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-245:

If we could pick anyone? Or knowing SA Rugby will only pick an SA born coach?

• 248.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Jaco Taute reminds me of Chris Latham.

I think its the sock vibe.

• 249.David: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-244:
    Considering his attributes, Daniller has been a big disappointment for me. A man of his size at 15 should be far more destructive joining the line, than he’s shown the appetite for.

• 250.RL: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-247: my money is on Loffie to get it. :wink:

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.