A point that made a point
24 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day newspaper column, applauds New Zealand’s defensive effort in the World Cup final.
France earned the respect of all New Zealanders and the All Blacks surely earned the respect of the rugby world.
You cannot begrudge the All Blacks their moment, and you also cannot deny captain Richie McCaw his finest 80 minutes as an international player. He is finally a world champion.
France captain Thierry Dusautoir was the player of the match but it was the player of the past decade (McCaw) who got gold on the night.
Some may say the rugby gods have a heart, especially if you remember McCaw’s night — and face — at the 2007 World Cup in Cardiff four years ago when France beat the All Blacks 20-18.
McCaw and the All Blacks deserved the win. Not just because of their defensive effort on the night, but because of what they have dealt with at this tournament — expectation, pressure and injury setbacks.
Home-ground advantage is big in any tournament but in World Cups it has been a curse. New Zealand are the first host nation to win the World Cup in the professional era and they did it with their fourth choice at flyhalf, Stephen Donald, for the final 45 minutes.
They did it without Dan Carter and they did it with McCaw playing the entire tournament with a foot injury that will require surgery.
It is easy to forget the obstacles New Zealand had to overcome because of France’s effort but it would be doing the defensive quality of this final a disservice.
France had offered nothing at this tournament. They had been awful and had been beaten twice in the league stages. They were told they were a disgrace to the romance of French rugby and the World Cup heroics of their predecessors. But they are France and with the French you never know who gets out of bed, let alone who pitches up to play a game of rugby.
They are also players who believe the only rugby experience better than playing the All Blacks is beating them. I can’t applaud their effort enough. Then again neither can I that of the All Blacks.
France’s intensity spooked the All Blacks four years ago, but this time New Zealand were prepared for the physicality of France, and to a man they backed their defensive system and backed the bloke on the inside and the outside to make his tackle. This is a team that trusted in each other as much as each guy did himself.
France were monstrous in the collisions. Dusautoir played the game of his life. France played more intelligently than they have all tournament, and like a team with a plan.
France played from set piece to set piece, limited idiotic decision-making in their own half and played like a team with the belief that they could strangle New Zealand up front and outkick them.
This was raw passion from France. They played for their honour, their dignity and the right to be World Cup champions, but they never had the attacking threat to match either the power of their pack or the intent of their minds. It has been their Achilles heel all tournament.
The All Blacks in the professional era have always been accused of not respecting winning ugly. They did that at Eden Park and their defensive effort was monumental.
France will get many accolades because they defied the belief that the All Blacks would win easily, but if the adage is true that World Cups are won on defence, then New Zealand are deserved winners.
There were heroes on both sides and thankfully no villains, even though All Black Piri Weepu would probably have had to emigrate if France had been the champions.
Weepu missed two penalties, a conversion and kick-started France’s solitary try with a chip kick that landed in a French hand and ended in seven points for France.
He also suffered at the base of the scrum because of the French effort, more than the New Zealand lack of effort, but when the battered All Black forwards had to produce their biggest effort of the last four years they did so in the last four minutes of the World Cup final. They kept the ball for three minutes, forced the penalty and won the game that for the people of New Zealand was so much more than a rugby result.
And it was as if the rugby gods were reminding all of New Zealand about humility. New Zealand would win it by a point to make a point.
Crushing the French would have resulted in New Zealand arrogance and perhaps another 24-year wait for the gold cup.
But to be in Auckland last night was to know there was nothing blasé about this New Zealand celebration.
There was just relief and recognition that attack wins you the Tri-Nations but defence wins you the World Cup.

464 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
24 Oct 2011, 18:23 pm
Just as we were getting used to the old lot of abusers, another lot emerges.
24 Oct 2011, 18:26 pm
Reading some of the posts on here from some south africans are almost embarrasing.
Get over it, AB’s won.
They have been the best team on this planet consistently for 10 years, and set the tone for how rugby is played. Not SA – we play **** stampkar-kick-chase rugby. Who wants to pay to watch that?
So is NZ better for rugby than SA? Probably not, as we bring our own brand, and variation is great, but I can’t see how schoolbouys wouldn’t WANT to play like them.
Funny also is most SA’cens here in US badly wanted NZ to win, where most based in SA seemed to wish them more despair. What the hell is up with that?
24 Oct 2011, 18:33 pm
Deja Vu!!!?
A very similar thing is happening in Rugby (supporters, players, Unions) as to what happened with cricket in the period before systemic and individual corruption was revealed in the game:
A mix of
- suspicions
- denial
- bravado
- silence
…occurring in various stages…
Followed by explosive revelations…
None of these stages have completely left cricket because we know international cricket is not completely clean. However Rugby is now well and truly on its way… sans the “revelations” part… up to now.
Who knows what the future holds. But it isn’t going to be pretty.
24 Oct 2011, 18:35 pm
International Rugby very certainly has a credibility problem at the moment…
It is only a short leap from credibility problem to blatant wrong-doing, cheating and corruption.
24 Oct 2011, 18:39 pm
Don’t get me wrong I love the ABs to bits they are hunks.
But to be called LOSERS by all and sundry with NZ or maori or cane in their nics gets a tad tiresome.
As far as I am conceerned we are both level in rugby achievement.
24 Oct 2011, 18:58 pm
C MON SAFFIES LETS ALL SING A SONG TOGETHER.
EVERYBODY IN YOUR BEST FREDDIE MERCURY ACCENT
WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS MY FRIEND
AND WE,LL KEEP ON FIGHTING TO THE END
WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS
NO TIME FOR QUARTER FINALISTS
CAUSE WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS
OF THE WORLD
24 Oct 2011, 19:05 pm
@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-206: Yes, the ABs are the no 1 side in the World and World Champions at the same time. No argument about that.
You have the Cup, you have the ranking.
You are the best.
Your World Cup was the “best ever”…
You have your “revenge”…. After all the years of being hard done by.
And yet…
24 Oct 2011, 19:06 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-207: France were better in the final than the no 1 side and now World Champions.
24 Oct 2011, 19:17 pm
This RWC proved that international rugby is a farce and rigged by the cheats who are in control. Who will win the next one, my guess is that the IRB will “favour” the French as a consolation prize to ‘even things out’. Why anyone is stupid enough to buy tickets for a rigged game is beyond me.
24 Oct 2011, 19:29 pm
The entire NZ nation should be embarrassed that France had to pay fine for their reaction to the Haka.
I know it was the IRB that imposed the fine but man NZ should of come out in support of the French and asked that the fine be withdrawn, again it just gives credit to those saying that the IRB favor everything NZ !!
24 Oct 2011, 19:33 pm
@posts(posts)-209: Nope, the IRB will never “favour” France in a WC.
However the scant consolation has been doled out already in the form of IRB player of the year for Dusautoir.
24 Oct 2011, 19:34 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-208:
The fact that the “best” team on the day does not always win (on the day) is one of the beauties of international sport at the top level and what makes it so exciting.
24 Oct 2011, 19:37 pm
Righto lets go for complete world domination
Go from
best team between World Cups
too
best team every year including World Cups
so that should make it
2010,11,12,13,14,15,16, etc,etc,etc
New name for the AB’s …..the “untouchables” …………….and I am not referring to their playing abilities !! (where they are mostly untouchable
@Robzim(Robzim)-212: Undoubtedly… unless rigged, manipulated or corrupted…
24 Oct 2011, 19:44 pm
That fine is absurdity of the highest order.
24 Oct 2011, 19:45 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-214:
Howzit,
I see you are not over- excited with the thought of Shadow coming to play his rugby in the “skadu” of the mountain
Must say I have always rated him- big, strong, fast with all round ball skills- imo better then Engelbrecht.
About time we get something back from the old enemy.
24 Oct 2011, 19:48 pm
IRB twats
24 Oct 2011, 19:51 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-217:
Hi Rob
No…………….. not too excited by him coming to Problems…………………….. tackles worse than Spies, lazy and can’t kick for sh it !!!
Has moments of individual brilliance but no consistency !!
24 Oct 2011, 19:52 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-218:
LOL !!
24 Oct 2011, 19:53 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-218:
It’s a bit like getting a fine for parking in a loading zone.
24 Oct 2011, 19:55 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-221:
At least that is a legit fine !!
24 Oct 2011, 19:56 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-219:
You mean his best tackle was the one on Luke outside the field of play.
I was so pissed of with him that day, lol- but will have to forgive him now I guess.
24 Oct 2011, 19:59 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-223:
You have a good memory !
24 Oct 2011, 20:00 pm
bitter and twisted bitter and twisted bitter and twisted bitter and twisted bitter and twisted bitter and twisted bitter and twisted bitter and twisted bitter and twisted bitter and twisted bitter and twisted…..you would expect more from followers of the worlds 4th ranked rugby team
24 Oct 2011, 20:04 pm
The French should be more twitter and bisted being lumped with that stupid petulant fine.
24 Oct 2011, 20:10 pm
Translation from Midi Olympique:
“Actually, we did not feel that these players have lost a World Cup final. Of course, sadness is immense, but we do not feel depression, no internal revolt, not overwhelming and indescribable pain. There is an explanation for this: “It’s because we know we could not do better, says Pascal Pape. We put everything we could but it’s not us who decided the fate we would be booked. ” The second line of the French stage of the arbitration is speaking of Mr. Joubert. Because there was also an immeasurable sense of helplessness at Eden Park in the final night of World …”
24 Oct 2011, 20:45 pm
My Team of the Rigged World Cup
15. Dagg
14. O Connor
13. Bosch
12. Roberts
11. North
10. Carter
9. Phillips
8. Harinord
7. Schalk
6. Pocock
5. Matfield
4. Nallet
3. Mas
2. Servat
1. Gurthro
24 Oct 2011, 20:48 pm
l will never support the boks because of my own people. SA are an embarrassment, sore losers and our brand is something a few have fought for and some marketers at Vodacom have reduced to biltong and Jan. We eat our own, we have sense of grace or respect, because along with Julius malema the world owes us something.
24 Oct 2011, 20:57 pm
Mark Keohane. I am under the impression that SA won as host nation in 1995. Am I wrong?
24 Oct 2011, 20:59 pm
@rocopoco(rocopoco)-229: You dont really need to explain why you are a cowardly, spineless little runt, like the ET’s and other Caped Crusaders of this World…
But if you will, feel free to continue.
Its quite interesting to have a window into the soul of twisted, treacherous little pric.ks of the likes of you lot.
24 Oct 2011, 21:00 pm
@optiplay(optiplay)-230: Not “professional” era… apparently.
24 Oct 2011, 21:01 pm
We eat our own?
24 Oct 2011, 21:06 pm
@rocopoco(rocopoco)-229: Thank you for not supporting SA, your type is really not what the Boks need.Now run along and go …..
24 Oct 2011, 21:07 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-228: I will pay you £50 if you add Bissy in at hooker
24 Oct 2011, 21:08 pm
href=”#comment-2027141″>rocopoco(rocopoco)-229:A large number of people on this site are very good sportsmen and can loose with dignity(or else we would not be on this site).There are a few ,and they are very active who gives the rest of the bloggers a bad name.You should read ALL the posts.Your generalizations are inaccurate and in itself embarrassing.To The World Champions ,WELL DONE . A win is a win and you defended well.It is going to be a tough 4 years with Pantie, Hurricane and the rest of the NZ guys .But we dished it out and now for some humble pie.
24 Oct 2011, 21:09 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-232: Thank you.
24 Oct 2011, 21:10 pm
@rocopoco(rocopoco)-229: I hope you do not refer to me as “one of your people” you pathetic yellow belly turncoat
24 Oct 2011, 21:11 pm
@optiplay(optiplay)-236: I reckon few of those will now disappear
24 Oct 2011, 21:12 pm
@alucard:its always funny joining a new board and bumping into people from other boards. I see you’re still so full of yourself here. Wishing death on Kiwi’s cause they won?? Jeez, you’re surpassing yourself.
24 Oct 2011, 21:13 pm
@dook(dook)-240: Has your now got a typo in ?should it read d.o.o.s?
24 Oct 2011, 21:14 pm
@JL1(JL1)-241: Now=name
24 Oct 2011, 21:15 pm
@Johannes Expatinus(hanneslom)-202: Wow. So true. EXACTLY my experience. All South Africans I was with and I watched in a bar were supporting NZ.
24 Oct 2011, 21:16 pm
How do I quote a post from a mobile? Is it possible?
24 Oct 2011, 21:16 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-203: bullsh*t.
24 Oct 2011, 21:17 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-208: bullsh8t
24 Oct 2011, 21:18 pm
fantastic to see ALL the sore losers
enjoy 8th spot guys.
it’s been two weeks, do you think the A team bokkes are rested enough foe their next game
oh wait, they finished their season WEEKS ago
lmfao.
24 Oct 2011, 21:19 pm
Are you allowed to say d.o.o.s on this board?
24 Oct 2011, 21:24 pm
@All Blacks – World Champions for A4Ys(poppa69)-247: Where did you crawl out from under?
24 Oct 2011, 21:27 pm
We eat our own??
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All