A point that made a point
24 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day newspaper column, applauds New Zealand’s defensive effort in the World Cup final.
France earned the respect of all New Zealanders and the All Blacks surely earned the respect of the rugby world.
You cannot begrudge the All Blacks their moment, and you also cannot deny captain Richie McCaw his finest 80 minutes as an international player. He is finally a world champion.
France captain Thierry Dusautoir was the player of the match but it was the player of the past decade (McCaw) who got gold on the night.
Some may say the rugby gods have a heart, especially if you remember McCaw’s night — and face — at the 2007 World Cup in Cardiff four years ago when France beat the All Blacks 20-18.
McCaw and the All Blacks deserved the win. Not just because of their defensive effort on the night, but because of what they have dealt with at this tournament — expectation, pressure and injury setbacks.
Home-ground advantage is big in any tournament but in World Cups it has been a curse. New Zealand are the first host nation to win the World Cup in the professional era and they did it with their fourth choice at flyhalf, Stephen Donald, for the final 45 minutes.
They did it without Dan Carter and they did it with McCaw playing the entire tournament with a foot injury that will require surgery.
It is easy to forget the obstacles New Zealand had to overcome because of France’s effort but it would be doing the defensive quality of this final a disservice.
France had offered nothing at this tournament. They had been awful and had been beaten twice in the league stages. They were told they were a disgrace to the romance of French rugby and the World Cup heroics of their predecessors. But they are France and with the French you never know who gets out of bed, let alone who pitches up to play a game of rugby.
They are also players who believe the only rugby experience better than playing the All Blacks is beating them. I can’t applaud their effort enough. Then again neither can I that of the All Blacks.
France’s intensity spooked the All Blacks four years ago, but this time New Zealand were prepared for the physicality of France, and to a man they backed their defensive system and backed the bloke on the inside and the outside to make his tackle. This is a team that trusted in each other as much as each guy did himself.
France were monstrous in the collisions. Dusautoir played the game of his life. France played more intelligently than they have all tournament, and like a team with a plan.
France played from set piece to set piece, limited idiotic decision-making in their own half and played like a team with the belief that they could strangle New Zealand up front and outkick them.
This was raw passion from France. They played for their honour, their dignity and the right to be World Cup champions, but they never had the attacking threat to match either the power of their pack or the intent of their minds. It has been their Achilles heel all tournament.
The All Blacks in the professional era have always been accused of not respecting winning ugly. They did that at Eden Park and their defensive effort was monumental.
France will get many accolades because they defied the belief that the All Blacks would win easily, but if the adage is true that World Cups are won on defence, then New Zealand are deserved winners.
There were heroes on both sides and thankfully no villains, even though All Black Piri Weepu would probably have had to emigrate if France had been the champions.
Weepu missed two penalties, a conversion and kick-started France’s solitary try with a chip kick that landed in a French hand and ended in seven points for France.
He also suffered at the base of the scrum because of the French effort, more than the New Zealand lack of effort, but when the battered All Black forwards had to produce their biggest effort of the last four years they did so in the last four minutes of the World Cup final. They kept the ball for three minutes, forced the penalty and won the game that for the people of New Zealand was so much more than a rugby result.
And it was as if the rugby gods were reminding all of New Zealand about humility. New Zealand would win it by a point to make a point.
Crushing the French would have resulted in New Zealand arrogance and perhaps another 24-year wait for the gold cup.
But to be in Auckland last night was to know there was nothing blasé about this New Zealand celebration.
There was just relief and recognition that attack wins you the Tri-Nations but defence wins you the World Cup.

464 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 » Show All
26 Oct 2011, 01:42 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-400: very proud..
World Champions for the NEXT 4 years… I think SARU should sell their trophy cabinet, seeing as its empty, echoes and is only collecting dust… they could save money on cleaning bills (while NZ will need to spend money to ensure bill is cleaned often)..
unlucky? since when have you claimed NZ were unlucky? 2007? nope, that was fair reffing that day apparently, but suddenly you find fault with refs now… how very odd that you can change so dramatically between the two..
26 Oct 2011, 01:49 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-401: Your ABs win but you’re still deluded…Shame. I wont judge you.
26 Oct 2011, 01:53 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-402: no delusion here… you still cant admit the ABs were robbed in 2007, worse than the Bokkes of 2011, yet you delighted in said corruption and didnt even entertain that thought until this years loss to Aussie.. whose the deluded one? kiwis talked of poor reffing then, but yourself and many others told us to hardenthefuckup.
love it, karma gets the karma chameleon..
so, “hardenthefuckup” loser.
the irony is so schweet, WCs for another 4 years.. sensational..
26 Oct 2011, 02:01 am
It must be, somewhat embarrassingly, about 7-8 years of my life that I have wasted on this blog. It has been alot of fun at times, pretty bl00dy pathetic at others. I have seen the most ridiculous behaviour from, apparently, ‘grown men’ and, on the odd occasion, been a bit ridiculous myself. What struck me is that the intermittent wind-ups only snagged those that fully-deserved to be wound up and yet the few real gentlemen here (for eg, but not exclusively, Puma, SodaJoe) never once took umbrage because they were so obviously above it and I salute them for they are, most definitely, better people than I am.
Putting some distance between ‘the blog and I’ what I can say is that, much like peoples in a real society, that positivity is infectious and fulfilling whilst negativity is contagious and damaging. I no longer wish to have even 1 small part of this precious life that we have been gifted being affected by the negativity of the few, and nor do I wish to inadvertently impart any on others. There is more to life, no ?
So today I hang up my keo’board, I retire for all eternity as a World Champion. I wish you the all the best for your respective teams, that you may enjoy the highs and lows that come with being a real fan of this wonderful sport of Rugby Union, the Game they play in Heaven. The best things in life are not those that have been gifted but, instead, those that have been earned.
It has been a blast, Ladies.
BaXXies !
26 Oct 2011, 02:53 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-404: I f this is for real, I would say it is a pity.You are part of making this an interesting site.I am not very active in writing on this site but I do read most of the posts.Yes, you are annoying at times. Not holding back when dishing it out .And you can take it on the chin.The overseas guys are making it interesting.I was looking forward in a strange way to read your comments over the next 4 years(or longer).But if you are really gone I must wish you good luck .Thank you.(This may sound a bit soft)
26 Oct 2011, 04:52 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-404:
WHAT?
Do we even get a say in this BP
If this is the case i think its a perfect time to wear the armbands
But serious if you have decided to move on what perfect time to do so. As said, your going out as a champ.
Well done BP,put a few people in there places when needed.
Lets hope you find the time to log back in once in a while.
26 Oct 2011, 06:14 am
BP, try and say that at the beginning of the new season as it dawns upon us. Once the new season kicks off, you will be back. You won’t be able to help yourself.
Whatever the saffas here might say, we appreciate an alternative voice. And a good wind-up every now and again.
All of us need a break from this zoo every now and again.
If it’s permanent, good luck.
But I think you’re just winding us up again.
See you in February.
26 Oct 2011, 07:15 am
So all it took was a hollow rigged rwc “title” for black panty to leave?
Awesome!
26 Oct 2011, 07:28 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-404: Cheers BP
You will be missed my man….
Underneath the gruff exterior I always knew a man of high intelligence and integrity existed. I cringed at times seeing how some of the Saffas berated and treated you….although thankfully for every left hook you took you landed at least a right cross!
Go well and if ever in CT please look me up for a beer…
It would be an honour to buy you a few….
Well done All Blacks…true champions….
Cheers my man!
26 Oct 2011, 07:29 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-408: its that sort of response he was talking about..
hollow and rigged?
World Champs for another 4 years, loser…
seems youve caught the sour grapes virus too…
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-404: know the feeling BP, why continue to blog on a site where no matter what happens its the refs fault? be like me, now we’re champs we’ve got 4 years with one simple line..
We’re World Champions, who cares
would like to catch up one day for a brewski when back in Auckloafa?
26 Oct 2011, 07:44 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-410: hang in despite the a ss holes here Poppa.
You guys are part of the fabric of the site
the site is the lesser without you guys.
Just ignore the a ss holes…
Worthy champs….Boks imploded as some of us knew they would. PDV and Plod were burdens too heavy to carry.
Enjoy the next 4 years…..
26 Oct 2011, 07:53 am
@grant10(grant10)-411: cheers Grant, its all good from my side… i know there are plenty decent Saffas, so not going to let a few ruin it for me…hell, even I could be categorised like that for past indiscretions
Bokke will be back mate, too good not to be to be honest..
26 Oct 2011, 08:07 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-408:
No, i think people like you can make this good rugby site into a ***** and moan site.
I didnt realise you have caught the same disease as what HG has.
Dont come to NZ next year with that, but i am sure you will come to your senses and realise NZ was the best team at the RWC and is the best team in the world, with the Champs trophy to go with it.
Fern your welcome
26 Oct 2011, 09:36 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-405: I agree with this…..its hard sometimes to avoid being patriotic to the point where all reason fails, but one of the reasons I enjoy this site is the honest view of kiwi’s…I find the kiwi mentality honest and forthright….will be a shame to lose you BP
26 Oct 2011, 09:38 am
@grant10(grant10)-411: Ditto……but can you lay off on captain fantastic Grant10, despite you views surely we can appreciate and applaud a legendary captain and player?
26 Oct 2011, 09:47 am
@Skeppie(Skeppie)-415: legendary con man and an egotist of note
sc rew him and pdv ….ba stards that they are!
26 Oct 2011, 10:03 am
@grant10(grant10)-416: Hau…..I can understand the bitterness from people who firmly beleive the best player should have played (I still cling to the beleive that he was needed from a leadership perspective) but an egotist? I have alwasy found him to be humble and a quality person. Do you know something I dont? Do you know him personally?
26 Oct 2011, 10:06 am
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Bellywobbling ChuckleBurb~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I feel so sad
Boo hoo
26 Oct 2011, 10:39 am
I’m still so sad
@@@@@@@@@@@@ChuckleWobbling Bellyfark@@@@@@@@@@@
26 Oct 2011, 11:39 am
Dammit I’m crying
With laughter
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Burp~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
26 Oct 2011, 12:26 pm
@grant10(grant10)-416: Grant you are going too far man! Leave Smit and PDiv alone now! They not even Boks anymore!
Smit is a legendary Bok Capt and will go down in Bok history.
PDiv was a great coach – one of the better post-isolation ones.
They were screwed out of the QF.
Was Henry a bad coach after the QF in 2007?
Is Gatland a bad coach after Warburton got a red?
We all know there were some bad moments (most of 2010 and most of 2011) but you can’t go around saying they are “egotists” and “ba stards”!
Unless you know them personally very well?
26 Oct 2011, 12:27 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-404: Thank Goodness!!!! Finally!! Fark, I wouldve given the ABs the World Cup back in 2003 for this to happen!
Good riddance
26 Oct 2011, 12:45 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-420:
Imagine the Sharks winning on Sat aswell…
You will be inconsoleable.
@grant10(grant10)-409:
Stop hitting on black panty,or get his email addy and do it in private.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-413:
I do not need to be welcomed anywhere by anyone,all I need is a passport and a visa if required.
Simple:-)
26 Oct 2011, 14:02 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-423: Ja, if the Sharks win I will be as devastated as I am now
Emotionally distraught
I’ll be singing Carly Simon’s You’re so Vain as if it were a funeral
You’re so vain
You probably think this song is about you
You’re so vain
I’ll bet you think this song is about you
Don’t you? Don’t you? Don’t you?
But it is a funeral. A blog funeral. Another one bites the dust…
And I am so unhappy
26 Oct 2011, 16:22 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-424: You are on fire again.Great posts between you and JL1 earlier on .Good humour.
26 Oct 2011, 17:47 pm
@optiplay(optiplay)-425: Cheers Mate. Old JL1, quite a good oke for a Provvas supporter. Wouldn’t mind having 1 or 5 beers with the bu.gger sometime.
26 Oct 2011, 18:25 pm
warching Re-union on SS1 now,clear footage of McCaw being eye-gouged by Rougerie…hell was that really necessary!
26 Oct 2011, 18:27 pm
@Rage(Rage)-427: Yes…? As necessary as McTwat kneeing Parra’s face in… Filthy farker.
26 Oct 2011, 18:33 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-404: a pity you’re moving on BP. But I understand where you’re coming from. Your city/country was an amazing experience and I think Kiwis have earned a respect from most if not all visitors to your shores recently. The All Blacks were deserving winners of the WC and much of that appreciation came from right here in SA in case you didn’t know. Would be good to see you back on Keo some time. It might be a cesspool at time but it’s almost always good for a bit of light entertainment. Aux riv ous.
26 Oct 2011, 18:35 pm
Come on,theres hard play and then there’s downright dirty play…eye-gouging can blind a man!
26 Oct 2011, 18:39 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-428: I’ll watch again but I recall Parra making the tackle and taking a knee to the face within the legal execution of the tackle by both parties. No malice that I noticed HG.
26 Oct 2011, 18:41 pm
Boo farken hoo…
All the eulogies make me so sad
26 Oct 2011, 18:44 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-431: Naive apologists see what they want to see… here, I will save you time by providing a link
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XBqetaCfgo&feature=youtu.be
26 Oct 2011, 19:01 pm
Schweet… wonder which other lily livers are going to run away with tail between legs…
“Brave” to the bone these chaps…
26 Oct 2011, 19:04 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-433: you know HG you are a real beaut. You see what you want to see mate. No referee is perfect. They ALL make mistakes. Without exception. One can cherry pick footage and make a point. Overall I believe the game was fairly blown and the right team won. That is my opinion. You are entitled to differ. That’s life. As for BP, I believe his moving on is a loss. Why? Because he provide an alternate view. Not always the view I’d support but it provided entertainment. You don’t like mine? Your problem.
26 Oct 2011, 19:08 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-434: I love your bravado(keyboard in attack mode). Best I run for cover. Maybe just for dinner. Cheers.
26 Oct 2011, 19:13 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-435: I wipe the tears from my eyes as I read solemnly….
26 Oct 2011, 21:39 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-434:
I am sticking around just watching you make a complete a$$ of yourself.
4 years of you being a tool is better than any RWC win.
All your little baby one eye links are just as funny, next you will be putting up links to wiki, trying to prove you little theory.
HG, NZ world Champs, world best rugby team and whats even better is your silly posts, its like the cherry on the top.
26 Oct 2011, 21:44 pm
Pleas please please FARK OFF….many thanks….don’t let the door klap your big old arse on the way out.
*Dusting off hands*
26 Oct 2011, 22:10 pm
A4Y, yarpies. A4Y.
Pure karma!
26 Oct 2011, 22:18 pm
We’ll be sure to avoid the 24 year wait……who could be that kak….I mean seriously.
26 Oct 2011, 22:26 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-423:
But The Sharks will win anyway. It’s going to be a slaughter.
26 Oct 2011, 23:02 pm
To Heavens gate et al – all of you who bemoan the AB’s winning the Cup…suck it up cupcakes, SA should have been in the semis at least but would still have been beaten by the AB’s because those losers lost to Ireland they screwed up the draw. Listen cupcakes, AB’s won, France played well, AB’s didnt play so well but won, the Ref was good, it was a gripping final and in the end you only need 1 point to win and that was what happened. All of this harping and moaning and whingeing about rigged RWC, biased refs and cheating is just a smoke screen for the deficits of the Boks….I still cannot believe they lost the game against the Wallabies, I mean really – even if the ref got alot of his decisions wrong, you had the game there for the taking but somehow or other the Boks snatched defeat from the jaws of victory and rightly (or wrongly) got sent packing. In 2015 the AB’s will again be in the final as a new bred of players will now be woven into the fabric of All Black play and culture, the Ab’s will continue to be the No.1 ranked Team on the planet, as they always continue to be. The Wallabies will never be No.1, the Boks will improve to 3 (maybe) because it seems the Wallabies have the wood on them. So 2015 will again be the AB’s vs ????? over the next 3-4 years it will be interesting to see who goes backwards, who stays the same and who continues to define how this wonderful game is played. SA will have their moments I am sure, you have a proud history but this constant whingeing is doing you no favours cupcakes, harden up. The AB’s will be the No.1 Team until the next RWC and then become the only Team to win back-to-back and dare I say it, 2019 be the 3-peat winner…..so to all Bok supporters “4 more years” to get it right or you will be swinging low like Englands sweet chariot….go the ANZAC’s…
26 Oct 2011, 23:04 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-439: You dont have many friends do you? Should hook up with HG, two peas in a pod.
26 Oct 2011, 23:30 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-438: WTF you talking about numbnuts… its being three whole days and now I’m thinking about more important things… Like the Sharks winning the Currie Cup… Till next time cuzzie… Enjoy your Rigged World Cup while you can until Corruption Gate breaks out in Rugger within the next couple of months
26 Oct 2011, 23:31 pm
@JohnPaul(JohnPaul)-443: And who are you again, knobcheese? Just annuvver Maori toss, I suspect….
26 Oct 2011, 23:33 pm
@KiaKuntNZ(KiaKahaNZ)-444: Ja broer… You are about as solid as the wind in the willows… I reckon you and Pooper69 should go to Sydney Mardi Gras together… A great couple… Mr Bend (Poops) and Mr Send (You)…
26 Oct 2011, 23:33 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-441: Well the Boks are doing a pretty good job. Loss in their cup defense against Oz, Lost in the
Tri-Nations. lost Mandela Plate, Lost Freedom Cup, Lost in the S15, lost their respect for sending out B teams, lost in the fact that their captain sang sour grapes for losing, lost their ranking and are now down to number four………hmmmmm who could be that KAK?
GH retires with a record that will never be matched by anyone.
He retires as coach as the most successful team that has ever existed with the highest % of win rate ( over 80 /103) or something ridiculous like that.
He retires as the coach of current WC’s and the highest ranked team in the world….
Whats Smit and PDV retiring with……..nothing. So before you make throw away comments about others go into your bathroom and look in the mirror for what your current condition is like, but if your cupboard is behind your mirror and it is anything like the Boks trophy cabinet dont bother looking in it as there aint nothing in there.!!!
26 Oct 2011, 23:52 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-445:
Oh boo hoo, out comes the name calling.
What next? You going to tell your mummy?
What happens if the sharks lose?
Will this be proof to your corruption theory?
If the sharks win,i believe its a rigged Curried cup.
HG, i have your number. You cant run or hide on this site.
Cry up a storm mate, its not getting you anywhere but to be crowned the saddest individual on Keo.
BTW i will wait for this corruption proof to come out in the next few months, if you’re wrong, what next?
26 Oct 2011, 23:54 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-446:
Why a Maori?
You are getting to be the scum of Keo.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 » Show All