WP recruit Shadow
24 Oct 2011
WP have signed Bulls wing Gerhard van den Heever on a two-year contract.
Province and the Bulls officially confirmed the deal on Monday. The 22-year-old’s contract with the Pretoria union ends on 31st October, and he will make the move down to Cape Town in November.
‘We believe Van den Heever to be a quality player with the right attributes to fit into our set-up and vision for the immediate future,’ said WP senior professional coach Rassie Erasmus.
‘Despite his young age he brings solid experience at Super Rugby level. We have a settled base of senior players and a number of emerging young stars and we believe he has the potential to make a valuable contribution at a number of levels.’
Van den Heever made his senior debut in 2009, and played 41 provincial matches (20 tries) and 31 Super Rugby games (12 tries). The deal comes after the Bulls’ signings of WP wing JJ Engelbrecht, centre Johann Sadie and flyhalf Lionel Cronje.

322 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All
24 Oct 2011, 10:00 am
Hahahahahaha this is classic.
Could just as well have paid for JJ IMO.
24 Oct 2011, 10:02 am
hehehe @Tacitus, may just get a heart attack from this one
24 Oct 2011, 10:02 am
Well for all the poaching we have had from the Bulls nice to get one back.
Not much difference between Van Den Heever and Engelbrecht .Would add nice size to the Back 3 with Aplon and Habana likely to be the starters. Faster than Danie Poolman. Good signing considering the players we lost.
24 Oct 2011, 10:04 am
Shadowwwwwwwwwww!
24 Oct 2011, 10:04 am
His future lies at 15. Must develop his kicking game,then can use his straightline speed from the back.
24 Oct 2011, 10:06 am
oh ffs Rassie!!!!
WTF man….
Not sure I can handle this dofheid anynore…..
24 Oct 2011, 10:10 am
How do these guys lose quality players and buy players the Blue Bulls dont even want anymore??? These are the guys (Al Coetzee/Rassie) who are the apparent favourites to get the bok job…After WP once again failed to get a currie cup title… It was quite amusing seeing Alistair so desperate with his walkie talkie barking orders while they were outplayed in all facets of the game. He knew he needs a currie cup to strengthen his bid for the bok job…He will probably still remain the favourite, thanks to SARU and their ‘rational’ decision making and politics.
24 Oct 2011, 10:10 am
bwahahahahahaahahahahaahahaha don’t know if i should laugh harder at how dof this is a move by WP or how sshit it must be for Tacitus
i can’t wait to here Tac thrash Hurdles now, we’re going to see his 100m times decline soon enough hahahahaahahaaha yoh
24 Oct 2011, 10:11 am
Tac will come and explain why Shadow will not be the fastest on a rugby field anymore and that the title now goes to JJ (well only next year).
24 Oct 2011, 10:12 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-5: do you think he possesses the necessary skills set?
24 Oct 2011, 10:12 am
This is p i s s funny. Tac is about to have major heart failure.
I personally think we are wasting our money, which would have been better spent on a prop or two. He is a very average player. Hurdles….
24 Oct 2011, 10:13 am
Now, all of a sudden, he will be regarded as a future bok on this site. He does have great talent, but motivation is his biggest problem.
24 Oct 2011, 10:14 am
@Horings(Horings)-12:
Never ever will he be considered as a Bok mate. He is lazy and his defense is suspect.
24 Oct 2011, 10:14 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-9: i don’t remember ever seeing jj engelbrecht’s 40m sprint times, am sure Tac is on to his Tuks High Performance Centre connects to get the info now!
24 Oct 2011, 10:20 am
Uhm ok……….
24 Oct 2011, 10:20 am
Let’s do the comparison. WP lost hougaard, sadie, engelbrecht, cronje, visser and de klerk while the Bulls lost Fondse, Lobberts and vd Heever.
24 Oct 2011, 10:21 am
Lobberts is hond k@k! Burger had to do his job – thats my Burger was so quite! eish these quotas! hope wakefield is happy!
24 Oct 2011, 10:21 am
Why not just keep JJ? Ha a WP what are you guys doing over there.
24 Oct 2011, 10:22 am
Still having a chuckle at this one…………
he he he he
24 Oct 2011, 10:26 am
buy props!!!!! FFS!!!
24 Oct 2011, 10:29 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-9: Its not Tac with the problem all the Strompie support will now have to explain how Shaddow will like Habana find his true form in WP
24 Oct 2011, 10:30 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-19: Quite Bizarre signing considering the players we decided to let go. Will start him ahead of Poolman though.
24 Oct 2011, 10:30 am
@Horings(Horings)-16: Keep a watching, for Arno Botha
24 Oct 2011, 10:31 am
rassie and AC
2 thirds of the 3 stooges club imo…..
24 Oct 2011, 10:31 am
@grant10_is_a_maaifoedie(suffer_guy)-20: The mighty WP T5 ???
24 Oct 2011, 10:33 am
Can’t see him making the starting line up, some decent wings coming through from u21 level as well.
Money poorly spent, we lose CJ and buy a wing, Rassie catch a wake up, for 10 years now we all know where our problems lie, yet you still continue to get it wrong !!
24 Oct 2011, 10:34 am
Tac is going puh-lutz. Before digging up some dirt on Hurdles. Before posting JJ’s speedwalk time splits.
But if Rassie buys Spies, he may not survive.
24 Oct 2011, 10:36 am
Said it for a couple of weeks now. Arno Botha and Francois Venter are the Bulls’ next stars.
what is wp’s obsession with backline players when they aren’t winning trophy’s because there tight 5 is s h i t.
@grant10_is_a_maaifoedie(suffer_guy)-17: Bugger was very quiet after Hollenbach ran over him, even quieter after he passed the ball straight into the stands………………
24 Oct 2011, 10:37 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-22: Agreed. Poolman hasn’t developed like JJ did this year. Could never understand why he was picked ahead of JJ in the Super comp this year.
I’d have Shadow over Danie Poolman any day.
24 Oct 2011, 10:37 am
@grant10(grant10)-24: And you all still say = Bugger Bok Captain with AC the coach
24 Oct 2011, 10:38 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-14: and he is paging through the Heat and Huisgenoot for some dirt on Van Der Heever.
24 Oct 2011, 10:39 am
Personally, I think WP got the better deal. I’d rather have vd Heever than Engelbrecht.
Engelbrecth is solid and strong, but vd Heever is lightyears faster.
Can’t believe the Bulls let this one go.
Gonna take me a while to get over it.
24 Oct 2011, 10:40 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-31: If you can get Shaddow to play with intertest he will be good , if he’s not interested like he is 80% of the time ,,,,,,,,,,,well you bought a shaddow.
Luckely the WP coaches has ability to bring the best out of these players , good case study would be Habana
24 Oct 2011, 10:41 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-31:
Can’t agree, Poolman far better defensively , maybe not as quick but also not a slouch and is solid under the high ball, As said earlier can’t for the life of me see Shadow making te starting 15 !!
Therefore a waste of money !!
24 Oct 2011, 10:41 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-34: OK times up , now you are over it.
24 Oct 2011, 10:45 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-34:
no man.
whatever speed this guy had seems to have disappeared like a f art in a gale.
he is plan ordinary and would not have made the run on 15.
his future lies at full back which is probably why the brokebacks bought him.
Face it some guys kick on and and some don’t.
No more mister rainy face ok?
Chin up.
24 Oct 2011, 10:45 am
@capebull(capebull)-35:
Good case study for bringing out the best of players would be Sadie , J.J Engelbrecht , Siya Kolisi and so forth you sour arsehole.
What were you idiots preaching all the years ? “Umm uh ons don’t have to baai players cause I are develop them up heer in our structures.
Idiot
24 Oct 2011, 10:46 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-27: if rassie buys spies I am applying for honorary Lions supporters rights my man!!!
24 Oct 2011, 10:47 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-31: ja agreed. The writing was probably on the wall back then that JJ wanted to leave for the Bulls. Maybe thats why AC persisted with Poolman.
24 Oct 2011, 10:47 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-10:
He looked promising there early in S15 this year. Especially vs Sharks at KingsPark,he played 15 that day.Played very well,ran very good lines. He is also a tall,big bloke.It will take him time to fully develop but on the wing while he has the speed I dont see him there and with likes of Mbovane coming through it will get tougher at 11/15. WP are short of 15′s(outside Aplon),Jantjes on his last legs-must go get himself some Euro’s,has had a solid career so should get a buyer there and can play up and under in those condition and has decent boot.
24 Oct 2011, 10:48 am
@grant10(grant10)-40:
The Bulls are trying to give him away but noone wants him. They are stuck with oke I guess.
24 Oct 2011, 10:48 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-36: You recon? Thing with Poolman is that, in spite of his junior promise, I’ve been dissapointed with his Super and CC form this year.
Shadow has similarly dissapointed in certain areas, BUT with ball in hand I’d back VD heever before Danie.
24 Oct 2011, 10:49 am
@capebull(capebull)-32: not a fark!
You obviously dont read my posts!!
24 Oct 2011, 10:51 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-34: I will say this about you, you have been honest this year in saying that V/D Heever is struggling for form and balance and that he doesn’t deserve the starting berth at the moment.
So you can’t be that dissapointed surely?
You guys are developing a good young squad now, Shadow moving won’t really dent that IMO.
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-43: best he stays there……or maybe Saracens with Plod…..
bloody fat boys club can get together and talk about how they s crewed up our wc
wp dont have jerseys to fit props thats why they dnt buy any hahaha, u okes have midgets for props, this is a good buy for wp though, agreed that he should move to fullback, but then aplon sits on the wing? anyways he will b pissed knowing he has to play next to the super reliable habana again hahahaha, WP JOU SILLY DING
@Gunther(gunther)-38:
hehehehe nice one.
i see Watermeyer is also going to Ospreys or something, i expect Dippenaar to announce that he’s signed for Griquas too as Heineken purges the deadwood in preparation for the NEW and IMPROVED EXPANSIVE bulle
24 Oct 2011, 10:52 am
While Province and Bulls are out swoppin’ and buyin’
Our boys are still playin’ – not sittin’ and cryin’
We cruised past the semis without even tryin’
It’s still not too late to become a proud Lion
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All