Lions roar to glory

GARETH DUNCAN, reporting from Ellis Park, watched the Lions break their 12-year Currie Cup title drought with a 42-16 hammering of the Sharks.

After 12 years of silverware starvation, the Lions have finally fed.

The 26-point victory completed a dream campaign – which included a table-topping run throughout the league phase and an impressive 29-20 semi-final win over a WP side that had six World Cup Springboks in their match day squad. This result was also the Lions’ first Currie Cup final triumph at Ellis Park in 61 years.

The Lions wanted it more than their opposition. The Sharks, who struggled for momentum and lacked a clinical edge, looked second best for most parts of the match. The hosts ran faster, tackled harder and toiled tirelessly around the park. That determination – no – that hunger for victory influenced John Mitchell’s ‘no-name brands’ to thump a strong, Springbok-laden Sharks side.

Those who backed a win for the visitors pointed to the quality of their squad, which included seven World Cup Boks. But this match proved to be one game too much for the likes of Bismarck du Plessis and Beast Mtawarira, who struggled to make any trademark impact after long and tiring year. There was also a lack of cohesion, despite this group spending the past three weeks together.

The Lions, who’ve played generally the same side since day one of Super Rugby in February, worked like a well-oiled machine. But during this impressive team performance, the player who made the ultimate difference was flyhalf Elton Jantjies. The youngster showed Mitchell was correct in selecting him ahead of veteran Butch James during the play-off stages. After starring in the Lions’ semi-final win last Saturday, the 20-year-old displayed a Man of the Match performance as he kicked 24 points without missing one attempt.

The platform was set with a good showing in the first half. The Lions mixed moments of impressive attacking play with a resilient defence to hold a 19-6 half-time lead.

Jantjies and fullback Jaco Taute, who nailed a 57m penalty, traded penalties with flyhalf Frederic Michalak early on before wing Michael Killian scored the first try of the match. From a scrum in centre field, centre Doppies la Grange broke the Sharks defence through a set-piece move. His offload put Killian clear.

But it looked like the half would end badly for the Lions. Prop CJ van der Linde had a moment of madness in the 32-minute when he threw Sharks skipper Keegan Daniel over his shoulder whilst clearing a ruck. It earned him a yellow card. The Sharks built momentum with their one-player advantage and paid four visits to the Lions’ red zone. However, they couldn’t find a much-needed finish and the Lions escaped without conceding any points.

Then there was a controversial moment early in the second half when Willem Alberts scored a try that should not have been allowed. The Sharks flanker broke the Lions’ defensive line, but lost the ball forward in the process. However, the knock-on wasn’t sighted by the officials and referee Mark Lawrence, who seeked advice from his assistant, awarded the try. The Sharks were back in it as Michalak’s conversion made it 22-16. Game on.

The Lions, however, had other plans as that was the Sharks’ last score of the match. The following 31 minutes was arguably the best passage of play the Lions have showcased this year.

It was a strong performance that secured 20 points to seal the famous win. First, Pat Cilliers powered over from close range after the Lions attacked from deep. Jantjies added two penalties before Taute had the pace to finish another attacking move in the corner. The following conversion was the final nail in the Sharks’ coffin.

Follow Gareth on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

827 Comments

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 1517 » Show All

• 451.RL: Reply to this comment

What a night … what a party … what a team … what a coaching setup second to none!

Well played my boys … moer hulle … yes you did :razz:

• 452.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-451: congrats……what a brilliant, stunning performance….sharks were grounded into fish paste…..Pat Cilliers, Jantjes, Taute, Hollenbach…..nee wat die helle 22 ……daai visse mooi gemoer!

• 453.RL: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-452: thanks G10, good to see youngsters come through and win something.

• 454.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-451: Congrats to you fellow, long time coming!

The Sharks better get heir heads around this loss, Bashford was talking this week about becoming a team of legends, that is his problem, all hot air and no substance. Time to go back to teaching me thinks.
    Well done again mate

• 455.RL: Reply to this comment

This song is for all the Lions everywhere … my brothers it was a long time coming 12 years and 10 years of pain! But finally we have a team that we can be proud of :cry:

And to all those who wished the Lions well and supported them against our fiercest rivals … a big thank you.

So here goes … my victory song.

Wild Lions
    performed by RL

Childhood living it’s easy to do
    The things that you wanted well I bought them for you
    Graceful Lion, you know who I am
    You know I can’t let you just slide through my hands

Wild Lions couldn’t drag me away

I watched you suffer for a decade and more a dull aching pain
    Now you’ve decided to show me the game
    No sweeping exits or offside lines
    Could make me feel bitter or treat you unkind

I know I dreamt you a win and a title to have
    And I have my red jerseyand you the the Currie Cup this time
    Fate has been suffered and tears must be cried
    So let’s do some winning before we die

Wild Lions, couldn’t drag me away
    But wild Lions, couldn’t drag me away…away

/\___/\
    /// . . \\\
    \\\ ^ ///
    ROAR …®

• 456.grant10: Reply to this comment

puma…still punting old man plod over Bissy? S hit for brains my man…..anyone of Maku….strauss…chilliboy better than the fat one…..catch a wakey…fool

• 457.grant10: Reply to this comment

mitchell….the absolute undisputed king of Coaches in SA

the farken king I tell you

SARU….dont settle for a pauper….convince the oke man!

• 458.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-451: well done RL your boys moered those guppys stukkend!

mooi man!

• 459.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

Roar!

• 460.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Must say I really enjoyed this Lions victory, absolute champions playing a seriously attractive brand of Rugby. Retain possession better than any South African team. Add Murray at 13 and Mapoe instead of van Rensburg and you’ve got a potent backline with the best flyhalf in South Africa by miles…

Strausss also putting his hand up for a Bok position. Hard as nails type player with some good hands, could be our Kieran Read.

• 461.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

I see someone’s trousers are tight, even after 11 years with no cup.

• 462.grant10: Reply to this comment

Jantjes so much better than the skop en jag artist M Steyn.

We need an innovative, forward thinking coach.

AC and Rassie will be back to the conservative brand of boring bull s hit…..

those lions were brave, innovative and prepared to take the right risks…..and how damn good were they at the breakdowns….Minnie was an absolute animal!

SA Rugby has a massive ,Rubicon type decision to make over next few weeks….I pray from the bottom of my heart they embrace fundamental change….and they stick with it longer than a few months like the coward PDV did!

Mitchell shows that the youngsters will listen…..so choose the youngsters then! If the old heads wont listen, drop them! Simple.

Time to be brave SARU…..

Appoint Mitchell…..and allow him carte blanche……he will deliver and 2015 will be a pleasure…..not like this nightmare of 2011 where cowards and fat boys ruled the roost….to the detriment of all of us saffa fans…

• 463.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-462: You forget SA rugby is still run by the same old as before. Small Unions have the voting sway, small Unions are backed by money from government agendas etc.

Can you see them doing the right thing?

As for Hoskins, please, and his CEO… ask about the money back where he came from.

• 464.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-456:

Hey buttmuncher, leave the gentleman of the blog alone with your crappy comments. If you wanna trash talk, I’ll be your Huckleberry.

• 465.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-450:

Brilliant team and outstanding victory. Do us proud in the Super 15.

• 466.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-464: @Great White Shark(Predawn)-465: Courtesy of Tuna from the other thread…

470.mshiniwami:
    24 Oct 2011, 09:31 am @stormersboy(stormersboy)-464:
    EXACTLY
    Plus the guy is a FCKIN nutcase(Mitchell). You thought Div was a PR disaster? Ask NZ about Mitchell…Ask the Force about “Draconian” Mitch.
    And no he wont win the CC on the weekend. Sharks will belt his tight-five upfront and its “All over ROVER”…Period. 474.Great White Shark:
    24 Oct 2011, 09:58 am @mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-470:
    If the Lions are fortunate enough The Sharks might not go for a cricket score again…just to be nice. 141.Great White Shark:
    25 Oct 2011, 20:29 pm
    Nee wat. After the cricket score whitewash two weekends ago The Sharks would be forgiven for trying to find the motivation to play this final. 138.Great White Shark:
    25 Oct 2011, 14:49 pm
    @Transformation(Transformation)-57:
    The Great Whites will be playing in the most one-sided Currie Cup final since pa fell off the tractor. 18.Great White Shark:
    26 Oct 2011, 09:37 am
    Sharks will take this one at a canter. 39.Great White Shark:
    26 Oct 2011, 10:07 am
    The Sharks are the All Blacks of the Currie Cup. Everyone wants to see them get knocked over.
    We all know it won’t happen. 41.Great White Shark:
    26 Oct 2011, 10:13 am
    40+ points to a few penalties…..the embarrassment two weeks ago will be as clear as daylight etched into the memories of the kittens.

You must be feeling just a little bit silly?

• 467.Dawn: Reply to this comment

• 468.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-467:

Who you smiling at gapteeth?

• 469.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

I guess it’s Mitchell/Spencer vs Mallet/?

• 470.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-466:

Bagel if I was feeling silly I’d not be on this blog. You take life faaar too seriously for a make believe life on a make believe blog.

I clearly don’t. Trash talk is what it’s all about……..isn’t it.

Your makker Dawn has made keo her life, hence her taking everything everyone types as gospel…….she’s lonely and sad.

Don’t fall into the same trap and forget what is your real life and what is your pretend life.

I congratulated the Lions already. Excellent result.

• 471.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-468: You feeling a bit silly.

• 472.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-470: @Bagel(Bagel)-471:

• 473.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Hope the Lions can show the Aussies and Kiwis a thing or two in the Super 15.

I think the South African teams will not be propping up the bottom of the log for much longer.

• 474.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-470: This blog is very real? Make believe?

I think you’ll find you’ve racked up 100 times the amount of comments I’ve made on this blog and I’ve being visiting it for 6 years now so I assure you this isn’t my life.

Personally though… I think you should be feeling a little bit silly.

• 475.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-474:

I get a lot of time in my foxhole between holidays to talk kaaak with some of the most uptite bloggers I’ve ever not met…….and certainly will never want to meet…not like some losers on this blog that still meet one another for drinks to fill the empty void in their even emptier lives.

Too easy…..makes my pretend life that much more entertaining while picking my nose.

• 476.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-474: easy bagel, the guy has made his name gat all on his own, no need to rub his nose in it ;)

plus he must be hurting, his guppys got torn new cloacas

• 477.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

People generally take themselves far too seriously on this blog.

It’s funny when they do.

• 478.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-476: Mallet or Mitchell?

• 479.sondebok: Reply to this comment

I did’t realise strauss was so tall. Supersport has him at 2m and 114 kilos. He could be an awesome sub for the bokke, covering 7, 8 and lock. A bit like danie rossouw but more skilful.

• 480.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-476: There is a silver lining in defeat:

1. If the Lions can whip us so badly in the CC then we KNOW we are in trouble for the Super 15 (where the Lions are better known as the “Lowly Lions” and such other basement dwelling names).

3. We have needed new players all year, and this has been reinforced in the best way possible.

4. Ditto coach.

Big clean out needed at Sharks and this loss delivered the message perfectly!

Hallelujah!

• 481.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-456: Jeez you have become an unpleasant person, saying……. “..catch a wakey…fool”…….to Puma. You have started insulting any one that does not agree with you, you would make a fine dictator.

ONCE AGAIN BRILLIANT STUFF LIONS, A WELL DESERVED VICTORY

• 482.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Had the Sharks won yesterday they may even have been tempted to ask Oupa Stefan for anudder S15!

• 483.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-476: Cloacas! Impressed sir, wanted to ask who do you support outside of EP?

• 484.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

The part about meeting other bloggers on this site outside of keoland was of course directed at Transformer and Dawn and that skop fellah and a few others…….very very sad……;-) ;-) ….and disturbing….;-)

• 485.The Chokerman - formerly cane: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-475:

Another Interesting fact from cane.

NZ won it’s WC in 87.
    And the second 8-7.

• 486.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-481: lol, perfect description… “dictator”.

Gwantie is very intolerant of other peoples’ opinions…

• 487.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-483: Crusaders.

• 488.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-481:

grant is a ****-eater of the highest order.

• 489.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-480:

Well lets hope they don’t flatter to deceive in the Super 15…………………agggaaaiiiin….*sigh*

• 490.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-478:wayne smith

• 491.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-489: If Plumtree remains coach and we keep Joubert, Bosman, Jacobs and Terblanche as our midfield maestros and play without a true fetcher, you can expect mediocre mid table.

• 492.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-490: Looks like Spencer is in the same mould.

• 493.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-480: aaahhh, who buys players at the sharks, staaldraad or plum?

• 494.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-491:

I’m hoping that there are a few juniors coming through the ranks to bolster our midfield.

Ndungane, Jacobs, Terblanche and a few here and there need to look overseas now. If the great man John Smit can move on then so can they.

• 495.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@The Chokerman – formerly cane(cane)-485:

Cane my Wellington Lion brother ….. we did it.

Thanks to Mitch and Carlos and AC Kerman …. left those guppies gutted leaving their insides on the dirt for the flies to feast on.

:cool:

• 496.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-481: great coaches are dictators……mouringo….ferguson….mallet….mitchell….

wakey sweetpea….this anit tiddlywinks or politics….this aint a farken democracy….this is winner takes all pro sport….this is dog eat dog war ….where losers are losers and winners are the kings….

no place for mr nice guys pdv and plods…..this is a soort for winners,,,,,

wakey wakey….go hace a cup of neccafe and relect on who actually talks the truth and knows a thing or 2 about pro sport on this blog….versus the sentimental candy arsed floss okes who are lovely guys and oh so nice but actually know f all and spout rubbish about plod being better than bissy!

sorry….my tolerance levels for fools and morons is rather low post our wc 2011 disaSTER….SO SCROLL BY…I FEEL I MAY BE TOO TRUTHFUL AND HONEST FOR YOU!
    Fark…sorry caps

• 497.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@The Chokerman – formerly cane(cane)-485:

Clever.

• 498.The Chokerman - formerly cane: Reply to this comment

@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-495:
    Lion King.
    You did it alright.

I predicted( jokingly of course) a score of 57-3.
    Not that far off was I.

They are black
    they are white
    they gave up
    without much fight.

• 499.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-493: I am uncomfortable with Strooli there, he showed his incompetence with the Boks… never knew why they took him back. He capped some of the worst Boks in history, and never played the same 15 2 weekends running. What makes us think he is shrewd enough to source the best talent?

But Plumtree has had 4 years. Time for a change now.

• 500.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@The Chokerman – formerly cane(cane)-498: piss off troll.

You used to be a Sharks supporter once.

How you have changed like the wind.

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 1517 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.