Plumtree: ‘Boks got us here’
29 Oct 2011
John Plumtree refused to blame his returning Springboks for the Sharks’ heavy defeat in the Currie Cup final.
The Sharks had seven World Cup Springboks in their starting XV but were outplayed by a side that had just one (with another on the bench).
‘It’s always a challenge to get the Boks back, especially after what happened to the guys in New Zealand,’ said Plumtree. ‘But you definitely can’t blame them for our defeat today … they’re the ones who got us here. And it’s not like we haven’t had to deal with this situation before as we usually get the Boks back after the Tri-Nations [in a non-World Cup year].
‘The fact is that we were outplayed in every area of the game and were beaten by the better team. They were backed by a massive crowd, they attacked and defended well, and when they got in front it was always going to be difficult for us.’
However, Plumtree admitted that the Lions had benefited from having so little disruption to their side.
‘They had created a lot of momentum in this competition and we weren’t able to stop them today,’ he said. ‘They clearly had more cohesive ability. I don’t think the Boks are going to be too involved in the Currie Cup in future and the side that doesn’t get affected as much [by Bok call-ups] will profit.’

31 Comments
29 Oct 2011, 22:16 pm
Another thing Plum forgot to mention was that poep that was served on a plate 2 weeks ago to his guppies. Even the supporters sucked that thing down like a YogiSip.
Does Plum have a say when signing players? If so he must leave but I think Baas Staaldraad makes the calls.
29 Oct 2011, 23:49 pm
@Tuna(Tuna)-1:
Lets talk again in the Super 15 Mr 15.
30 Oct 2011, 01:25 am
Plumtree must go.
30 Oct 2011, 02:55 am
Nothing wrong with Plumtree, he has a great record. The Sharks just really need some decent centres and they need to dump all of their current ones. Marius Joubert, Stefan Terblanche, Adrian Jacobs and Adrian Jacobs have to go.
They also need a decent backup scrumhalf. Charl McLeod was injured, but Conrad Hoffman and Cronje aren’t anything special.
30 Oct 2011, 02:57 am
@daydreamer(daydreamer)-4: er I meant Bosman as well, not Jacobs twice…
30 Oct 2011, 06:31 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-2: S15? There where the real Sharks come out to play? ***** please. Look what I found. You look like a real doos.,,, oh well you probably are one.
470.mshiniwami:
24 Oct 2011, 09:31 am @stormersboy(stormersboy)-464:
EXACTLY
Plus the guy is a FCKIN nutcase(Mitchell). You thought Div was a PR disaster? Ask NZ about Mitchell…Ask the Force about “Draconian” Mitch.
And no he wont win the CC on the weekend. Sharks will belt his tight-five upfront and its “All over ROVER”…Period.
474.Great White Shark:
24 Oct 2011, 09:58 am @mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-470:
If the Lions are fortunate enough The Sharks might not go for a cricket score again…just to be nice.
141.Great White Shark:
25 Oct 2011, 20:29 pm
Nee wat. After the cricket score whitewash two weekends ago The Sharks would be forgiven for trying to find the motivation to play this final.
138.Great White Shark:
25 Oct 2011, 14:49 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-57:
The Great Whites will be playing in the most one-sided Currie Cup final since pa fell off the tractor.
18.Great White Shark:
26 Oct 2011, 09:37 am
Sharks will take this one at a canter.
39.Great White Shark:
26 Oct 2011, 10:07 am
The Sharks are the All Blacks of the Currie Cup. Everyone wants to see them get knocked over.
We all know it won’t happen.
41.Great White Shark:
26 Oct 2011, 10:13 am
40+ points to a few penalties…..the embarrassment two weeks ago will be as clear as daylight etched into the memories of the kittens.
30 Oct 2011, 10:59 am
@Tuna(Tuna)-6: hahaha what an exposé
predawn was lekker grootbek b4 the game
hhhmmm humble pie in a bunker
30 Oct 2011, 11:04 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-7:
Are you still trolling? You’re like a large bluearsed fly buzzing around my face. Only makes noises about The Sharks…..what happened baba….you get kicked out of Kings Park by a large security official for wearing your underwear outside your pants?
Want me to swat you?
30 Oct 2011, 11:07 am
@Tuna(Tuna)-6:
Did I get to you? You do realise this is all make believe…..a blog. Don’t take life to seriously Tuna (fish….Shark).
Think of your other life….do you have one?
30 Oct 2011, 11:08 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-3:
If not Plumtree then Bashford……he isn’t doing anything much with that backline.
30 Oct 2011, 11:20 am
Congratulations to the Lions. They were the better team. Why? because they PLAY rugby, unlike the negative tripe the Sharks have been dishing up for years under the baleful influence of Streauli, MacIntosh and Smit and a string of other brainless (mainly tight) forward captains over the years.
The fact of the matter is that the Sharks do not know what to do with the ball except to :
a) drive it up, get nowhere (as they did yesterday, and often turn it over as they did yesterday.
b) kick it away.
If the ball does go wide (hardly ever) they shuffle the ball along like a hot potato while running very sideways, they don’t know anything about finding gaps and even less about getting through them.
The LIons had creativity, pace and a plan, the Sharks had fat and/or clumsy and/or old, slow players.
This was victory for rugby as it should be played. Izak van Heerden is turning in his grave over what the Sharks dish up.!
PS. I am a Sharks supporter.
30 Oct 2011, 11:25 am
@bozo(genius)-11:
What you just described is the woeful coaching of Grant Bashford.
He needs to get his marching orders pronto.
30 Oct 2011, 11:30 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-12:
It’s the whole forward-oriented mindset that afflicts the Shark. They can have the best backline and coach in the world, if they never get the ball esp in space it will all county for zip.
They persist in thinking that big slow forwards who receive the ball behind the advantage line while stationary can bulldoze their way upfield.
That is basically their entire game plan.
It’s insane!!!
30 Oct 2011, 11:32 am
@bozo(genius)-13:
You know why of course………………..Plumtree is a forwards coach.
30 Oct 2011, 11:36 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-14:
Yup, and the entire management team too I think. It’s so depressing…..
Even when the Sharks have won in the recent past I have been very disappointed in their manner of doing so.
30 Oct 2011, 11:46 am
@bozo(genius)-15:
Boet look up the name Sean Everitt. This man has the makings of a brilliant coach. He has been knocking on The Sharks senior coaching team for years but somehow he only gets to coach the Wilderbeest etc……and he is an excellent backline coach.
30 Oct 2011, 11:52 am
Plumtree does not have what it takes to lead the Sharks to S15 glory.
He has had his 4 years in charge.
Two Currie Cups have resulted.
But we must not lose sight of the fact that S15 is the real test.
And his results in the S15 have been decidedly mediocre – and for the Sharks – unacceptable.
The player acquisitions have been mediocre too. We have the worst back line in the Southern Hemisphere!
Plumtree must go!
30 Oct 2011, 12:07 pm
I remember everyone slating Coetzee when he let Hoffman go, saying why would he let the best scrummy in the province leave. Now everyone is slating Hoffman for not performing with the Sharks. Looks like Coetzee was right, again.
30 Oct 2011, 12:59 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-10: Face it, you do look a bit silly now, don’t you? At least you got the “cricket score” bit right. Just not the right side, Little Pink Salmon.
30 Oct 2011, 13:58 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-9: No you didn’t get me, but I will tell you one thing.
You look farken stupid, sucks to be you.
30 Oct 2011, 15:22 pm
Great White = great arrogance, great stupidity, great serving of humble pie.
And to attempt to deflect it with “…Did I get to you? You do realise this is all make believe…..a blog. Don’t take life to seriously Tuna (fish….Shark). Think of your other life….do you have one?” is one of the great attempts at spin gone horribly wrong.
You made an absolute doos of yourself, no ifs, no buts, no maybes.
The best we can hope for is that you learn something from you juvenile and arrogant postings.
That, however, may be asking too much! Way too much…
30 Oct 2011, 20:36 pm
@Tuna(Tuna)-6: Hahahaha… funniest thing I’ve read on keo in a while… which says nothing, but still.
The Lions win is a triumph of Rugby over the nonsense WP and the Sharks dished up against them. This conservative, brainless bash-it-up drivel they play when they get to semis and finals. The ABs even did it in the WC final and the Froggies damn nearly beat them.
Stop changing into “finals mode”, it’s rediculous to change your entire game plan. Play it like any other game… it’s not that hard… The Lions did it, and they raped the Sharks.
30 Oct 2011, 20:44 pm
I reckon the Sharks missed the phenomenal leadership of John Smit.
“Oh where has the aura gone?”
30 Oct 2011, 20:46 pm
@Tuna(Tuna)-6: Tuna, you show great fascination with the blogging history of the Great White one. Maybe he can send you a pic of his white self in some cute undies?
31 Oct 2011, 08:01 am
If John Smit was playing the Sharks would have won !
31 Oct 2011, 08:27 am
first of all i am a sharks fan, but this is what i c,
plum can stay, but he needs to be involved with buying players Oom Straulie has had his way for to long now, i will how ever question plums non selection of potgieter through the whole CC, i bet a few of you have forgotten he was even here, sharks must say good bye to bosman, joubert, jacobs, ( stefan has retired ) those centers are beyond useless, i dont know who we can by but we needa throw moneym, glad tim whitehead is the way here, and now for the boks, the likes of bismaak, kankowski, deysel , jp, daniels, jannie are all arrogant *****, all of them think they are too good for the currie cup, quiet frankly half of em are still crying over the quarter final loss and should not have been included in the side, all of them are individual players especially bismaak who always pisses me off!!! it is gna b a while and a few hard yrs for the sharks to learn that this is a team sport………anyways the lions deserve this win full credit to them deserved champions and i am truly happy for them, alot of boks will be coming out of jhb soon, btw spar a thought for jaque fourie and jano vermaak they still havnt won a CC hahahahahaha
31 Oct 2011, 08:30 am
@kwas(kwas)-23: like a bullet in the brain……
only teams who are really going to miss him are the opposition teams
31 Oct 2011, 12:53 pm
Sorry Plum, in truth the springboks didn’t get you there. Actually it was your chum from Richards Bay – Marius “sharks board” Jonker – who got you there through his second decisively inept refereeing performance against the cheetahs this year.
31 Oct 2011, 13:17 pm
Congrats to the Lions. They were superb and truly deserve to be champions of SA. I don’t think I have ever watched a more one-sided final as this one. They just blew the names away. Well done! It proves one thing and that is that rugby is played on grass and not on paper.
1 Nov 2011, 09:58 am
It actually shows you how bad the bok players are. For those living in the denial after the World Cup, here you got it smack in the face.
Even the week prior the Cheetahs messed the boks up badly… luckily for the Sharks the Cheetahs imploded once again in the second half like they’ve done all season. Once again it was the Cheetahs who lost the game, rather than the Sharks winning it. Nothing the Sharks did in that game showed any class. The excuse of the boks not being able to fit into the structures is bull. Teams like the Bulls and Sharks have a set structure which works for them and never changes.
Point is, we’ve had a lot passengers in the bok team… and no, it wasn’t just the senior players. The 2012 team should definetely look completely different. If not… the new coach is just as bad as his predecessor.
1 Nov 2011, 10:04 am
But strangely enough I keep hearing how the Lions had only one player who played in a CC final…. Wickus van Heerden. Pretty sure that’s not true. CJ, Maku… and I suspect even Hollenbach (even if it was off the bench) played in a CC final. And won it.
In other words, they did have a few experienced players this weekend.