Burger, Bismarck take top honours

Schalk Burger was rewarded for his excellent World Cup campaign with the 2011 SA Player of the Year award, while Bismarck du Plessis was named the Players’ Player of the Year.

Burger becomes only the fifth player to win the title more than once, having also won it in 2004. He follows in the footsteps of Naas Botha (who won it four times), Uli Schmidt, Bryan Habana and Fourie du Preez (who all won it twice). Du Plessis, who spent most of the World Cup on the Bok bench, was the best player in SA according to his fellow players.

The Golden Lions were rewarded for their Currie Cup triumph with the Team of the Year award, while John Mitchell was named Coach of the Year.

2011 SA Rugby Award winners:
Player of the Year: Schalk Burger (WP)
Players’ Player of the Year: Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks)
SA U20 Player of the Year: Arno Botha (Bulls)
Super Rugby Player of the Year: Sarel Pretorius (Cheetahs)
Team of the Year: Golden Lions
Coach of the Year: John Mitchell (Lions)
Young Player of the Year: Pat Lambie (Sharks)
Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Josh Strauss (Lions)
Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Elgar Watts (Boland)
Springbok Sevens Player of the Year: Cecil Afrika
Vodacom Cup Player of the Year: Lionel Cronje (WP)
Try of the Year: Sibusiso Sithole (SA vs Australia, Edinburgh Sevens final)
Referee Award: Craig Joubert
National Club Champs Player of the Tournament: Justin Wheeler (UJ)
Women’s Achiever of the Year: Cebisa Kula
Craven Week Player of the Tournament: Jan Serfontein (Free State)