Reason to smile

Schalk Burger, the 2011 SA Player of the Year, should be the cornerstone of the Springbok side in 2012 and beyond.

Burger, who first played for the Boks in a 2003 World Cup match against Georgia, enjoyed an outstanding tournament in New Zealand, exhibiting the same abrasive energy that marked him as a 20-year-old debutant. He also made use of the experience he’s accumulated over 60-plus Tests, as well as some recently acquired skills, to leave a lasting impression.

The next Bok coach will face the challenge of building a new team and a new leadership group. Burger is certain to be one of the pillars, if not a strong candidate for the captaincy itself. Some tough decisions will need to be made by the coach, and the ageing veterans may need to make way for the promising youngsters, but a clever man-manager will realise that Burger is the kind of player he can build his new team around.

Also in the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week:

– We analyse the Springboks’ World Cup campaign and rate all the players

– Why the Springboks must adapt their game plan in order to achieve consistent success

Richie McCaw has a phenomenal playing record, but McCaw the player is even more impressive

– All Blacks coach Graham Henry has found peace at last

– We review all 48 matches of the 2011 World Cup

– The minnows made progress at the recent World Cup despite an unfair playing field

– Jon Cardinelli chronicles some of the World Cup adventures enjoyed by the SA Rugby magazine team during a seven-week sojourn to New Zealand’s rugby-mad North Island

– The SA U18 Sevens’ success at the Commonwealth Youth Games bodes well for the 2016 Olympic Games

Click here to subscribe to print edition

Click here to subscribe to digital edition

791 Comments

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 1516 » Show All

• 451.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-447: Japan imports quite a few kiwis and such..

Canada Im not so sure… and Id take that bet, beer always tastes better when the other man gets them in :D

• 452.Helen: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-445:

Gunth, howz it hanging buddy?
    You need to clean up here again. It seems one crawled out of the sewer and found our little blog.

• 453.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-386: Not sure.

My blindsider needs to be more involved in cleaning out rucks, and nr8 more involved in cover defense.

Both these functions require very different running lines on defense.

Smith as better at doing the former than the latter, and Burger is better at doing the latter than the former.

• 454.Puma: Reply to this comment

@gr8 white(gr8 white)-446: I think we getting AC. That is a worry. After the 2007 wc thought he would have been fine for our coach. Now seeing him over 4 years with Province and he can’t even get them a CC or SuperRugby Cup. I have changed my mind. We need better than AC. Rassie is very good but not great.

We have too much talent. We sure as heck need a world class coach. Just hope they select right and keep their noses out of the coaches work.

• 455.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-450:

always cool thanks bud… and you?

sorry… thought everyone knew who JK is…

i have no prob with mitch and have stated long ago when there were rumblings at the force that i’d consider him for stormers or boks… so will have no prob if he is appointed…

i also really like his emphasis on fitness… all our local coaches could take a leaf outta his book…

but he has said he’ll stick with the lions… :roll:

• 456.Helen: Reply to this comment

It is easy impporting kiwis from just about anywhere in the world.
    It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to see which way the income gap is going.

• 457.gr8 white: Reply to this comment

@Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven(Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven)-437: you got serious hemaroid pain I see!

• 458.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-451:

yeah… and canada imports quite a few saffas… :lol:

look, i know it won’t happen because in sa we like to think out of the box… thereby acknowledging the existence of a box…

i like to say… what box…? what boundaries…?

• 459.grant10: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-436: rather JK than AC or PDV or Rassie ….

thats for sure

But Mitchell is the go to man

we would be dof if we did not at least try to get the top gun

and that oke is the top gun

• 460.poppa69: Reply to this comment

kiwis – teaching rugby the WORLD over..

Reason to Smile – William Webb Ellis has moved in for four years..

• 461.gr8 white: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-454: which brings us right bach to where we started AC with Bonehead as captain….WTF is the country coming to?

• 462.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-440: Mostert may have been the answer….perhaps still is…I also like Franco vd merwe….but he appears to be a 5 lock…@Puma(Puma)-450: Dammit Puma….we are agreeing a lot these days

• 463.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-458: didnt know that honestly, but that just proves he can improve the Saffa rugby player :D

• 464.Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven: Reply to this comment

@gr8 white(gr8 white)-457:

My pain, you sorry excuse for human shitt, is that people like yourself continue to believe that the mind is capable of no more than the trash that you speak on this blog. I would suggest that you, especially you little slime factory, need to establish what the human race gains form your incessant filth on this blog. If you give me one good reason for your bahaviour, I will be the first to say ‘continue’. If you don’t, then you will from this point on, forfeit all rights to speak, type anything less than that which would benefit your specie

• 465.ufo: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-459:

as i say bud… i’d have no prob if he got the job…

i don’t think we should advertise for the job…

i reckon we should headhunt… go to a global employment agency and say… source us the top five rugby coaches on the planet… and take our agenda-driven local bias and politics out of the decision…

• 466.gr8 white: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-460: Ja Ja wipe that super cheezy grin off your face! :)

• 467.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@gr8 white(gr8 white)-466: guilty as charged :D

• 468.grant10: Reply to this comment

oh well

Lets wait and see …SARU over to you boys…

• 469.Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven: Reply to this comment

@gr8 white(gr8 white)-461:

Rather, you should ask what this world is coming to.
    You are not blameless in all this contrived, humourless shitt that gets spewed onto this virtual toilet bowl. Think before you speak, think before you type.

• 470.gr8 white: Reply to this comment

@Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven(Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven)-464: Jip ant your arms to short to scratch your arse…saw it a mile off – your no better than the worst on this blog…love you man!

• 471.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-463:

i wouldn’t even suggest him if i didn’t think he couldn’t improve our players and play… isn’t that the whole point…? :wink:

• 472.grant10: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-465: now we talking my man….

• 473.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-465: this

“source us the top five rugby coaches on the planet…”

would really upset Helen, you guys would be helping to close the “income gap” she goes on about..

• 474.gr8 white: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-468: Yip that is the litmus test – we can sumise and wish all we want…don’t expect any suprises!

• 475.grant10: Reply to this comment

5 best coaches in my opinion

Mitchell
    MALLET
    Deans
    gatland
    Mc Kenzie

That is of course assuming Henry is a goner…..

Hansen may be there….but as yet unproven as HC….

• 476.Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven: Reply to this comment

@gr8 white(gr8 white)-470: You sorry piece of fuckk, how dare you compare me to the other gastrically challenged shittheads on this blog? I suggest that you seriously consider the level of intelligence of your thoughts before you carelessly turn them into words that are captured on here for all eternity.

• 477.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-471: my reference was to Crowley helping bok players, seeing as he has to take their imports :D JK gets the better quality imported product do keep up my friend, please :lol:

• 478.ufo: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-472:

yeah bud… but the pity is… it’s just us talking… !! :lol:

@poppa69(poppa69)-473:

sorry bud… missed something there…. :roll:

• 479.grant10: Reply to this comment

@gr8 white(gr8 white)-474: please just not Pdv or Ac or rassie….

• 480.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

With or without John Mitchell, the AB’s will remain number 1 and will be the first team to defend the bill. For mitchell’s game plan to come into effect, he’d have to drop a lot of old heads, and start afresh and target 24 months to get them competitive. SA rugby players need conditioning and upskilling very badly!

• 481.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-455: Yip just a dream to have Mitch as our Bok Coach. He won’t leave the Lions unles of course he gets a huge offer. Then I can’t see Lions letting him go.

@gr8 white(gr8 white)-461: For now it is looking like it will be AC that will Coach the Boks. Just hope they take a bit of time before selecting the Bok Coach.

@grant10(grant10)-462: Yip…hehehe. Not often we agree these days.

I think Mostert would have been our answer. Now not even sure if the new coach will select players from overseas. That may all come to a end. So have to look who is here.

• 482.gr8 white: Reply to this comment

@Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven(Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven)-476: yeh yeh!

• 483.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-481: unles = unless

• 484.Helen: Reply to this comment

“piece of fuckk” – I for one, would like to see THAT!

• 485.gr8 white: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-479: I think one of the three is a definate – the only other senario that could play out is the appoint a real “who the “F” is that – like they did to us 4 years ago!

• 486.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-477:

ahhh…

so you’re saying the bok imports make crowley look like a good coach…??

okay, i get it now…!! :wink:

but don’t be fooled… that’s just our raw talent assisting an ordinary coach…!! :lol:

• 487.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-478: obviously the top five coaches would be kiwi, and helen has some fixation with income gaps in NZ…

why I have no idea, guess it keeps her amused though..

• 488.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-480: Howzit Mpundulu,

I doubt ABs will retain the cup if we get Mitchell we will be beating them from next year and probably every year. Our talent is world class the only thing lacking is a world class coach. We also need Carlos with Gert Smal as Forward Coach or Meyer.

• 489.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-486: lmao.. of course, all that raw talent that cant win a junior OR senior world cup..

thats talented :wink:

• 490.charo: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-484:

looks like old greg’s facade is slipping.

starts out as this intellectual wannabe…

and drifts rapidly into cussing.

didn’t take long.

• 491.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-487:

okay then :lol:

@Puma(Puma)-488:

agree hundreds… why can we all see it but not the old farts in saru…??? :roll:

• 492.Puma: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-487: New Zealand produces world class Coaches and South Africa produces world class refs. For some reason it seems to be like that for many years now.

The top 4 refs are all South African. Top 4 coaches are all from New Zealand.

• 493.grant10: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-475: out of those Mallet and Mitchell technically available…..Lions President has indicated he would be amenable to discussions….Mallet just needs his ego stroked imo….

go gettem SARU!

• 494.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-489:

see puma’s comment 488…

• 495.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-491: Have no idea ufo. They should look in here sometime and get ideas from bloggers…………hahaha.

• 496.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-492:@ufo(ufo)-494: nah, the top ref is kiwi, and the HEAD of refs is kiwi..

thats world class guys :shock:

• 497.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-495:

they should indeed…

but don’t think they’re brave enough… :lol:

• 498.gr8 white: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-489: Yes I tend to agree with you – the SA forward game is very good but the backline game is bad and that takes time to change…also the guys will be comming off the S15 and to break francise habits is tough…SA rugby needs to change as a whole. But with a pretty decent coach I think we will give you a run for your money – all I ask is that AB-SA games have a 3 point margin in them either way…and have the lot of us sitting on the edge of our seats and filling stadiums and this blog talking some serious rugby for a change …not trading insults.

• 499.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-493: In a recent radio interview Mitchell called John Smit the best captain in world rugby and stated that John still had a good two to three years rugby at international level left in him. He doesn’t rate Bismarck at all. His statements were a little off putting but I still agree that he should take over from Divvy.

• 500.gr8 white: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-496: yeh – top paid maybe But I wouldn’t call Bryce the top ref! ;)

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 1516 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.