Reason to smile
7 Nov 2011
Schalk Burger, the 2011 SA Player of the Year, should be the cornerstone of the Springbok side in 2012 and beyond.
Burger, who first played for the Boks in a 2003 World Cup match against Georgia, enjoyed an outstanding tournament in New Zealand, exhibiting the same abrasive energy that marked him as a 20-year-old debutant. He also made use of the experience he’s accumulated over 60-plus Tests, as well as some recently acquired skills, to leave a lasting impression.
The next Bok coach will face the challenge of building a new team and a new leadership group. Burger is certain to be one of the pillars, if not a strong candidate for the captaincy itself. Some tough decisions will need to be made by the coach, and the ageing veterans may need to make way for the promising youngsters, but a clever man-manager will realise that Burger is the kind of player he can build his new team around.
Also in the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week:
– We analyse the Springboks’ World Cup campaign and rate all the players
– Why the Springboks must adapt their game plan in order to achieve consistent success
– Richie McCaw has a phenomenal playing record, but McCaw the player is even more impressive
– All Blacks coach Graham Henry has found peace at last
– We review all 48 matches of the 2011 World Cup
– The minnows made progress at the recent World Cup despite an unfair playing field
– Jon Cardinelli chronicles some of the World Cup adventures enjoyed by the SA Rugby magazine team during a seven-week sojourn to New Zealand’s rugby-mad North Island
– The SA U18 Sevens’ success at the Commonwealth Youth Games bodes well for the 2016 Olympic Games
Click here to subscribe to print edition

791 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 » Show All
7 Nov 2011, 16:55 pm
we get Mitchell as HC i reckon the kiwis and Aussies will sit up and take notice.
7 Nov 2011, 16:56 pm
@gr8 white(gr8 white)-498: bok/ab clashes will always be the pinnacle
even if you guys only watch with one eye open
out of here – cheers!
@Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven(Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven)-476:
shut up errol tobias.
we heard you the first time.
now please flush and leave this facility as you found it.
wash your hands.
papa kyk vir djy.
7 Nov 2011, 16:57 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-499: LOL
I watched him on tv prior to aussiee game saying he would play Bissy…..
That was me sold …..
then he moered wp and the guppies 6 love….i am now an admirer….
7 Nov 2011, 16:57 pm
Puma 488: I’m well mate. SA has an abundance of talent but Mitchell would need to be involved at age group to provincial to superrugby teams to ensure that the players coming through are of standard. SA players lack conditioning and an attack skills set, the lions play a very different type game to everyone else in SA, and they are the best conditioned, their skills level is of a high standard and their pride themselves to unlock defenses from deep in their own, and they maintain ball in hand continuity typified by identification of space, and execution in space. They just need to sort out their scrum but they have the players to twist and turn people, and they run at you all day.
7 Nov 2011, 16:58 pm
@gr8 white(gr8 white)-500: Sir Bryce? surely you jest, seems to allow the game to flow. isnt that what we all want?
7 Nov 2011, 16:58 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-502: good to see you enjoying yourself…
you deserve evry punch you throw
heavens knows you took enough kak my man!
7 Nov 2011, 16:59 pm
I see grant has promoted Puma from spineless old fool who needs to catch a wakey wakey to rugby sage.
#alloverredrover
7 Nov 2011, 17:00 pm
@gr8 white(gr8 white)-498: That would be the dream. A game with Bok/ABs and one of them winning by a small margin of 2 or 3. Hearting thumping stuff like that will be awesome. Not good for old hearts though…….hahaha. But that would be exciting rugby to watch.
Remember watching us playing ABs at Ellis Park and beating them 46 – 40. Still one of the best games I have watched. Was Malletts last game as Bok Coach if I remember right.
95 world cup. Was one of the best. Extra time and all too.
7 Nov 2011, 17:01 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-509:
7 Nov 2011, 17:02 pm
@Puma(Puma)-510: Sorry typo. Hearting = Heart
7 Nov 2011, 17:04 pm
@grant10(grant10)-508: hehe got to keep the b@stards honest mate lol
7 Nov 2011, 17:04 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-509: yip
every now and then recognition needs to be given.
I have yet to have had to recognise you……
Although with cricket upon us I may need your sage advice every now and then…
Like when the fark they going to play Tahir?
I am at the opening day Wed, but have a 11 am meeting in CT….so will get there about lunch time…
7 Nov 2011, 17:05 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-513: good for you mate…
Pity BP not here to moer a few of them as well
7 Nov 2011, 17:05 pm
Okes setting themselves up for major dissapointment here !!!
7 Nov 2011, 17:07 pm
@grant10(grant10)-515: yep, he’d be reveling in it, and I imagine he still has a good read occasionally..
7 Nov 2011, 17:09 pm
Puma: if AC or Rassie are appointed game over! It’ll take the boks 15 years to recover the damage will be overwhelming.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-506: Jake had our 2007 Boks very well conditioned. We need to get back to that. It don’t take long to get conditioned. We need all our SuperRugby coaches to be doing that very soon. So when the players get to the Bok Coach they ARE conditioned already. Bok Coach should have more say to the Franchise coaches.
Look I really don’t us just running everything. I do still want us to keep our rugby strength and let him add to that with attacking flair with the skills.
We have the talent buddy, just need the best coach to guide and coach them. Also we need the best coaches in all positions. Backline, Forward, Scrum, Conditioning, Defence coach… etc. Also get that eye coach back too. She seems to one of a kind. Don’t see any other team having a coach like that. Calder was her name. She helped a lot with our 2007 Bok team.
I am positive about our rugby if we get the right coaches. Select right too.
@justrugby(justrugby)-516: Agree. AC Head Coach and PDivvy Communications Manager. I have little faith in the team.
7 Nov 2011, 17:10 pm
@grant10(grant10)-514:
Grantie don’t be like that.
You often agree with me.
They may play Tahir but I dunno what sort of form he is in.
If they play Philanderer then Tahir might get a go.
If they play longone Totsobe then Harris.
(one attacking one defending)
personally I think they should play Tahir.
Newlands will turn a bit later on.
The biggie is if AB fails a fitness test then Duminy will play. this is a mistake, the aussies have him figured out between the short ball and the orthodox offspinner.
They should play Alviro at 6.
7 Nov 2011, 17:11 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-518: Agree totally.
7 Nov 2011, 17:11 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-518: true words
7 Nov 2011, 17:13 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-521: They must play Tahir. No question.
@Gunther(gunther)-521: Alviro at 6??? Brussow and Flo are both better options IMHO.
@Gunther(gunther)-521: thanks for that maestro…I also hope they play Tahir
Harris will bore me to drink!
7 Nov 2011, 17:14 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-525: LOL
Classic!
7 Nov 2011, 17:16 pm
@grant10(grant10)-526:
I think regardless of form Tahir should play.
Harro has had too many chances.
We need to be aggressive with the convicts.
They only respect the stick.
7 Nov 2011, 17:17 pm
Puma: at times you find space in your own half and you need to exploit it, most SA teams think that it’s unbroken rule that you must kick out of your half, sometimes you can make incredible yardage coming out of your half and still retain possession. Upskilling and getting the superrugby coaches on side will be a real impendiment.
7 Nov 2011, 17:19 pm
@grant10(grant10)-526: If they played Tahir in the last odi we may have won that series. Not sure why he was left out.
Had visitors here for just over 3 weeks and hardly kept up with what was happening with the crici. BUT noticed Tahir was not playing. For me that was daft. Botha that day was our best bowler too. Needed another top class spin bowler. In the tests they have to play Tahir. If they don’t then it is foolish.
7 Nov 2011, 17:19 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-525:
look alviro just score a sweet ton against the convicts where there was much fetching of the ball (from the boundary).
in my book he can play 6 and take the long range penalties if he wants.
7 Nov 2011, 17:22 pm
when does the series start?
7 Nov 2011, 17:23 pm
@Puma(Puma)-530:
steady pumes.
we were never in that game.
always 30 runs light.
don’t destroy your hard won credibility with grant.
what speedo king giveth, speedo king also taketh away.
laters chaps off for a swim.
yebo summer
@Gunther(gunther)-528: I wonder if they have paid off these umpires too?
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-529: I know buddy, but that very thing cost us in the quarter when Burger tried to run it from our line. That was insane to do. Anyhow that is gone and dusted.
Quite a few of our franchise teams run it in their half. Cheetahs do it a lot too. Sharks do it a lot as well.
All our teams need to learn some skills though.
7 Nov 2011, 17:27 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-533: LOL.
Ja, I only watched when we bowled in that game. Knew we were about 40 runs short. Need to get at least 260 at Kings Mead. Still think if we had Tahir we just may have. Will never know now. That is his home ground too. Pity.
Botha was superb in that game. Think Tahir would have been too.
7 Nov 2011, 17:28 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-532: You speaking about the crici Poppa?
If so this Wednesday.
7 Nov 2011, 17:28 pm
Okay I am off.
Cheers everyone. Good to catch up again.
7 Nov 2011, 17:30 pm
@Puma(Puma)-537: yeah mate thanks, and see ya,,
7 Nov 2011, 17:32 pm
Puma: it’s not just running it, it’s making the right decision to run it and then having the aptitude and skill set to exploit the opportunity.
7 Nov 2011, 18:00 pm
@willievz(willievz)-453: willievz, I was thinking back to the pool game in 2003, the (then) kids Smith and Van Niekerk were superb that day.
7 Nov 2011, 18:17 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-509:
Even worse…. I see he is now gatgabbaring Pops
Thats tantamount to treason
7 Nov 2011, 18:25 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-506: it’s true what you SA, SA players lack the conditioning, fitness and skill of the antipodes …. there is no way that their small talent pool should compete with our so called superior athletes … that’s what many a antipode says but they do because they maximise their players talent. That’s why they dominate world rugby.
SA coaches are doff, like Meyer, he is Mr Collisions and sure if gets a big pack to roll then he can beat the antipodes … but when they neutralise his ogres then it’s game over.
Brute force is not going to take SA rugby anywhere anymore, all teams and countries can counter SA teams and even dominate physically … sharkievarkies witnessed first hand how how easy it is for big doff forwards can be outplayed by big skillful and smart forwards.
7 Nov 2011, 18:31 pm
The scary thing is that even though the Lions are the fittest and best conditioned team, Wayne Taylor says that the team is not where they should be.
Even Kiwi conditioning coaches are light years ahead of muscle freaks like that guppy Steele guy.
7 Nov 2011, 18:50 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-541: Yes they were
7 Nov 2011, 18:55 pm
Immie is a genuine legspinner and a match winner. He takes wickets and that is what wins tests. I would also go with Philander as it is his home ground. I have a funny feeling they may play both spinners though. Although calling Harry a spinner is truly pushing it. He is a slow slider…
7 Nov 2011, 18:59 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-546: which planet are you on? Immie??
7 Nov 2011, 19:01 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-547:
Imran Tahir is known as Immie.
7 Nov 2011, 19:09 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-548: I see, good luck with the cricket.
7 Nov 2011, 19:10 pm
Mmmmm
I see Extraball has changed his nic.
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 » Show All