Reason to smile

Schalk Burger, the 2011 SA Player of the Year, should be the cornerstone of the Springbok side in 2012 and beyond.

Burger, who first played for the Boks in a 2003 World Cup match against Georgia, enjoyed an outstanding tournament in New Zealand, exhibiting the same abrasive energy that marked him as a 20-year-old debutant. He also made use of the experience he’s accumulated over 60-plus Tests, as well as some recently acquired skills, to leave a lasting impression.

The next Bok coach will face the challenge of building a new team and a new leadership group. Burger is certain to be one of the pillars, if not a strong candidate for the captaincy itself. Some tough decisions will need to be made by the coach, and the ageing veterans may need to make way for the promising youngsters, but a clever man-manager will realise that Burger is the kind of player he can build his new team around.

Also in the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week:

– We analyse the Springboks’ World Cup campaign and rate all the players

– Why the Springboks must adapt their game plan in order to achieve consistent success

Richie McCaw has a phenomenal playing record, but McCaw the player is even more impressive

– All Blacks coach Graham Henry has found peace at last

– We review all 48 matches of the 2011 World Cup

– The minnows made progress at the recent World Cup despite an unfair playing field

– Jon Cardinelli chronicles some of the World Cup adventures enjoyed by the SA Rugby magazine team during a seven-week sojourn to New Zealand’s rugby-mad North Island

– The SA U18 Sevens’ success at the Commonwealth Youth Games bodes well for the 2016 Olympic Games

Click here to subscribe to print edition

Click here to subscribe to digital edition

791 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1116 » Show All

• 101.Helen: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-93:

Not sure of Mostert will deserve a starting position. vd Merwe will give him a serious run in the S15, just watch, Franco is built like Vic, fast like Albert vd Berg and aggressive like bakkies….. and young enough too, I think?

Chilli will be a great captain once Bissy is picked at his best position, blind side flank. Will involve him to a greater extent in aspects of the game where he excells, defense, stealing, running… For pure hooker responsibilities, I think Chilli is probably a better hooker anyway

• 102.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-96: well said, agree 113%

• 103.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-95J’sus you are ONE f’ng MORON supreme

Wanting to play Bismark at BLIND SIDE

Are you f’ng NUTS or What!!

• 104.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-81: BB= Chilliboy. Future Bok Captain.

Sucks to be Bismark.

• 105.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-92:
    no, better yet pick him at the beginning of the year and let him retain it going into the next year on the back of personal form and games won. when those go then replace him with the same expectation on the new one.

• 106.Jeez: Reply to this comment

* there’s. Jean De Vill could also be a par time captain…

• 107.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-103:
    honestly skop, whats so nuts about that?
    please…set me straight….

• 108.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-106: who will suplly his “walker”? :shock:

• 109.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-104:

Yeah but like you said. Once a good benchwarmer always one! :lol: He is a great impact player and I also say bring in Chiliboy as captain. Sucks to be a hooker in SA, unless you standing on the corner…

• 110.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-96: yadda yadda yadda , hou jou bek ! lol

• 111.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-89: No but i do think that picking a captain now with no idea of form or injury before the Tri Nations and inbound tests is premature.

We do know who the likely candidates are at this stage, players like Schalk, Juan, Chilli (who had a very good year last year as a player), JDV, Andries. (did i leave anyone out?)

Not sure how many of those will make it through the Super Comp, as many of them are often injured.

I wouldn’t pick another guy like we did for John, as none of them have Barney’s extra 10% when it comes to leadership.

• 112.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-97:

“i’m really about this” = “i’m really thinking about this”

• 113.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Can’t wait to see Taute at 15 and Jantjes at 10 for the Bokke next year. Out with the old and in with the new.

• 114.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-111:

Choose your best 15 and then your captain. Finish and klaar.

• 115.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-101: Helloooooo Dahlink!

• 116.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-103: Some more yadda yadaa !! Hey I recognize you now , you the guy in the dail direct add going yada yada yada ! Speak to the hand lol

• 117.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-109: Yeah we are going to catch some flack for this one!

You well?

• 118.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-108: Kitch Christi. RIP.

Jannie not a bad idea… Burger for a year or two. Then the next up and coming giant in bok rugby with half a brain…a lot can happen in 2 years…

• 119.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-67:

Someone with a bit of common sense

Fck Burger he done SQUAT towards captaincy credibility or credential

Start Fresh – new captaincy new coach new team

Start OVER from SCRATCH

Arno Botha or Chiliboy or Koster or Josh Strauss or anyone for captaincy but NOT BURGER

And only if the player can command a run on position in a SPECIFIC position for the next 4 years then and only then make him long term captain.

• 120.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-117:

Yeah I am too. Just bored on Saturdays.

Watching the bowls and jukskei is just not the same. :(

• 121.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Skulkanator the foundation, never mind the cornerstone, let her rip haters :mrgreen:

• 122.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-119:

“And only if the player can command a run on position in a SPECIFIC position for the next 4 years then and only then make him long term captain.”

Name just one player who you think is calibre of the above ?

• 123.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-120: Yes, and even watching the Cape Cobras thrash the Highveld Lions yesterday wasn’t the same…..

Although it was fun, untill about half way through the Lions’ innings, when it all became a bit academic.

• 124.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-119: Great Idea, pick 4 guys who haven’t and don’t deserve to make the team, to be captain. You are doing a reverse Smit.

• 125.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

hey Sparticus you dumb fck cn’t, who the fck are you you miserable pathetic dumb fck ignoramus moron? Wtf IS your dumb deluded fckdup claim to fame? Punkass arsehole deluxe!!

• 126.Jeez: Reply to this comment

I agree with the start from scratch thing, but Id rather make the next bok cap the vise captain for a year or two. Give the pressure job to one of the old guys who will probably retire in a year or two. Young guys who still need to fight for their place in the starting 15 dont need that extra pressure…

Burger/Juan/J DV for maximum a year or two. BUT whoever takes over should not get the impression that he will be the permanent cap. After Burger/Juan/J DV gives the captaincy to someone else it wont be such a big deal when a captain stays captain for only a year or two…

• 127.Helen: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-109:

….in which case, it also SUCKS apparently

• 128.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-123:

Yeah of Levi and Puttick blasted their way around the Bullring. Yeah I hate seeing teams being hammered like that – not. Was really boring second half I have to admit.

• 129.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-121: be honest. It’s that whole “blond, Scandinavian” thing, right?? :)

• 130.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-127:

Who is it who sucks! Should’nt it read she? ;)

• 131.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-127: “Apparently”. ;)

• 132.Helen: Reply to this comment

Now, with that comment you show just what a dumb idiot you are.
    Leave rugby for the boys (and girls with balls) and rather go to the jukskei blog.

You show obvious intellectual deficiencies by wanting to throw the baby out with the bath water, wtf? Not everything about the past 4 years was bad. We had some good moments and some great players. You thinking with you annuss again?

• 133.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-124: Arno Botha, Josh Strauss, Coetzee and Elstad will all moer Burger, all of them better players at blindside and all if them can be better captains then the bonehead.

• 134.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-125:

go away and tidy yourself up a bit.

you have fuckadilly all over your chin.

• 135.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-71: not at all

captaincy from a player that leads from the front

far more appropriate than that slap snoek you boys backed to the hilt…..with disastrous consequences…..as I told you would be the case!

• 136.Helen: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-125:

Waiting for you to answer Sparticus’ question…. or is it too much to ask for you to back up your wildly idiotic claims?

Have the courage of your convictions to at least enegage with intelligence, instead of just side swiping everything that comes back at you with a insult ridden tirade that shows your serious lack of vocab and style

• 137.Helen: Reply to this comment

Say no to shampoo.
    Insist on REAL poo.

• 138.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Whoever is captain will depend on whoever takes over as coach.

• 139.David: Reply to this comment

Unfortunately, I can’t see anyone of the current side with captaincy ability, who’ll last the next 4 years. Also, we need to start identifying future replacements now. Personally, if fit, I’d go for Juan for the next 2 years and groom Josh and a couple of others as potential future captains.

• 140.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-135: He’s got no experience on a captaincy level and a history of discipline infringements.

Captain fail.

• 141.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

there are plenty blind siders better than Burger

Marcel Coetsee, Josh Strauss, Willem Alberts, Reinhardt Elstadt, Kolisi. I pick one of them before I pick Burger at 7

Same with 8, Vermeulen, Alberts, Strauss, Botha, Koster, Raubenheimer, Johnson

At 6 we running thin
    Brussow, Minnie, Steggman, Daniel, Carr, but all better than Burger

So where does Burger command a start for the next 4 years

If I must kick a caretaker captain it would be JdV, in fact my hierarchy of captaincy the past 2 years just gone would have been

1 Juan Smith
    2 JdV
    3 Matfield
    4 Smit
    5 Louw

• 142.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-140:

not a team player.

epic fail.

• 143.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-138: Absolutely.

With AC there it’s a toss up between Schalk, JDV and Andries.

Chilli a wild card.

• 144.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-141:

Again, you not liking Burger doesn’t make him a bad player. The names you put ahead of him are laughable.

Burger a freakin legend.

• 145.Helen: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-138:

Agree.
    There is a process here.
    Pick your coach
    Decide on playing style required.
    Pick players who will execute this style
    Among these layers, consider the leaders among the team.
    Among these leaders, ick a captain that will 1- Will be sure of his place 2 – Garner the resect of his players and 3 – be around for years.
    Knowing what you have to work with, decide on assistant coaches

• 146.ufo: Reply to this comment

gonna be interesting to see what happens IF burger is made captain by whoever the coach is…

what are all these haters gonna do…? supports the ABs…? watch jukskei…? play tiddlywinks…?

or spend every minute of every day pouring out their hatred and telling everyone on keo how much they hate burger and how useless he is and how he shouldn’t be the captain of even in the team… etc etc yada yada blah blah…

gonna be fun for you children to be bok supporters…! much gnashing of teeth and ripping of sackcloth… :wink:

i look forward to witnessing your frustrations over the next few years… it’s a whole new sport all of it’s own…

• 147.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-142: Agreed!

• 148.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-143:

Think you’ll see Juan Smith being handed the captaincy.

(Jake White &) AC have huge respect for him.

I’d agree that Juan Smith is the best option – he’ll come back fit and playing well, just needs to not pick-up another serious injury.

With second-choice being Schalk Burger.

• 149.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Which foreign coaches are available? Henry is signing with nzru, Wayne smith is with the chiefs, deans extended contract with aru, mckenzie is still with the reds, Eddie jones will probably be with Japan, both McQueen and Dwyer are retired. Pickings are looking slim.

• 150.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-138:
    Yep and what his philosophy is on captaincy. Should it be revised every year etc. etc. Youth vs experience etc. etc.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1116 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.