Reason to smile
7 Nov 2011
Schalk Burger, the 2011 SA Player of the Year, should be the cornerstone of the Springbok side in 2012 and beyond.
Burger, who first played for the Boks in a 2003 World Cup match against Georgia, enjoyed an outstanding tournament in New Zealand, exhibiting the same abrasive energy that marked him as a 20-year-old debutant. He also made use of the experience he’s accumulated over 60-plus Tests, as well as some recently acquired skills, to leave a lasting impression.
The next Bok coach will face the challenge of building a new team and a new leadership group. Burger is certain to be one of the pillars, if not a strong candidate for the captaincy itself. Some tough decisions will need to be made by the coach, and the ageing veterans may need to make way for the promising youngsters, but a clever man-manager will realise that Burger is the kind of player he can build his new team around.
Also in the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week:
– We analyse the Springboks’ World Cup campaign and rate all the players
– Why the Springboks must adapt their game plan in order to achieve consistent success
– Richie McCaw has a phenomenal playing record, but McCaw the player is even more impressive
– All Blacks coach Graham Henry has found peace at last
– We review all 48 matches of the 2011 World Cup
– The minnows made progress at the recent World Cup despite an unfair playing field
– Jon Cardinelli chronicles some of the World Cup adventures enjoyed by the SA Rugby magazine team during a seven-week sojourn to New Zealand’s rugby-mad North Island
– The SA U18 Sevens’ success at the Commonwealth Youth Games bodes well for the 2016 Olympic Games
Click here to subscribe to print edition

791 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 16 » Show All
7 Nov 2011, 15:46 pm
@Puma(Puma)-398: Hey Puma… just winding up Helen, too easy to be honest…
its the way of professionalism mate, though it does allow the Greek Saffa his moment
Con and Spiros C do seem to warrant a lot of undeserved attention on this site
7 Nov 2011, 15:46 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-397: Who taught Burger to do that? Cause he sure never done it in SuperRugby.
7 Nov 2011, 15:49 pm
@Puma(Puma)-398: “IF only” syndrome is rampant on this blog! SA talent both experianced and young is good but to ask hypethetical questions like that…just don’t go there…we’ve been disappointed so many times in the past that I just live game by game. There is no dought in my mind to the couching prowes of messers Mitchell & Spencer however to see them as the Mesiahs of Bokdom is just a little far fetched when the two still have to work within the confineds of SARU!
7 Nov 2011, 15:49 pm
Puma has changed my mind with that inspired post:
Head Coach – Mitchell
Asst Coach – Rassie
Backline coach – Carlos
Forwards coach – Vic / Heyneke
Tech Advisor – Jerome Paarwater / Christie Noble / Earl Rose / Deon Kayser / Breyton Paulse / Errol Tobias / Chester Williams / Quinton Davids.
ok, the last one is just a little funny jokey thingy….
7 Nov 2011, 15:50 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-401: Both have done exceptionally well with NO Boks in the Lions team. Both are top class coaches. Mitchell for me is the best coach in the world right now. He has turned some good players at the Lions to excellent players and some will sure become Boks next year. Just have to wonder what he will do with all of the talent in South Africa?
We get them as our Bok coaches Poppa I am absolutely sure we will beat any team in the world. Not just a once off in NZ either we will win there more often.
We have magnificent young talent coming through and with a world class coach like Mithcell we will be number one by next year. I am that certain. Only if we get Mitchell and Carlos that is.
7 Nov 2011, 15:51 pm
Okay…
The official name for the new Tri-Nations will be ‘The Rugby Championship’.
@Helen(Helen)-404:
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-406: For real?
Kinda like it.
7 Nov 2011, 15:52 pm
Only one blogger on here can claim to have been anally delivered.
His momma named him quite apppropriately then…. *cough* poopa *cough*
7 Nov 2011, 15:54 pm
@Puma(Puma)-408:
Yup, for real.
7 Nov 2011, 15:56 pm
@gr8 white(gr8 white)-403: Yes, but if Mitchell came on board he will lay down the law. Doubt he will take the post under whatever saru says he must do. He is a tough oke that. Won’t be told what to do. He will want it his way or nothing.
So if we do get him I think we will be number one by next year. Have no doubts about it. Too much brilliant young talent coming through and coached by him we will beat all comers. We get coached by AC we will win 50/50 of the time.
We need to be brave and head hunt Mitchell and Carlos. Bring back Gert as Forward coach.
7 Nov 2011, 15:57 pm
@Puma(Puma)-405: you may indeed have young talent coming through Puma, and Mitchell is a decent coach, but hes already turned the position down…
hehehe Helen, are insults all you have? how sad for you…
7 Nov 2011, 15:57 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-410: Like the new name. What you think?
7 Nov 2011, 15:58 pm
@Puma(Puma)-413:
Not so sure about it.
I think it deserved a bit of a better name personally.
7 Nov 2011, 15:59 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-412: Yeah but we offer him something he just can’t refuse….
hehe. People are known to change their minds with a huge offer.
7 Nov 2011, 16:01 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-414: Sounds worthy to me. Oz/Nz/Sa have all won the world cup twice. So kinda fits in. Only of course we have Arg with us now. So we could have stuck with 4Nations. I personally like the new name, think it sounds great.
7 Nov 2011, 16:01 pm
@Puma(Puma)-415: Mitchell knows its a poisoned chalice mate..
7 Nov 2011, 16:02 pm
@Puma(Puma)-411: SA having a foreign coach – oh look it is snowing in jhb lol
7 Nov 2011, 16:02 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-414: did SA name it?
hoping to be able to call themselves champions at some stage in the next four years perhaps
7 Nov 2011, 16:03 pm
@Puma(Puma)-411: Mallet was a no nonsense guy and SARU “F”ed him up as well…Mitchell will quite within a year – hamstrung by beurocratic bullshize!
7 Nov 2011, 16:04 pm
@stew(stew)-418: hehehe. I think you kiwis will be very worried if Mitchell gets the Bok job…
7 Nov 2011, 16:05 pm
yeah… schalk never gain metres…
so… keeping it real… for those who reckon schalk is useless…
gleaned from fox sports… which only lists top five in each category… can’t find overall stats for whole world cup… excuse my math if incorrect…. stats gurus like bryce-in-oz can give more definitive and accurate figures… but…
player runs metres
schalk 45 207
danie 29 130
hougie 20 351
jpp 14 167
which shows schalk was pretty much our busiest and one of our most effective players on the park… barring hougie…
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-406:
so will the winners be “The Rugby Champions of the World…”…???
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-387:
thanks rosso…
7 Nov 2011, 16:05 pm
@Puma(Puma)-405: agree with you 100% Puma…
7 Nov 2011, 16:07 pm
Schalk has taken to the blind sider position like a guppy to water…..
Thats his spot.
Up to Juan Smith to show he is better imo.
Opensider….Brussel sprout….F louw
8 man….Alberts….Vermeulen…..
7 Nov 2011, 16:08 pm
going forward my main concern for boks is bakkies position…
Maybe he can play a while longer……I dont think he will be overplayed at Toulon….
Also….watch CJ thrive under Mitchell….
7 Nov 2011, 16:08 pm
@gr8 white(gr8 white)-420: I think Mitchell is even more so a no nonsense guy. Better coach too.
Saru can be seriously difficult to work with. BUT if the new coach can lay down exactly what he wants and put it in writing, then they have to toe the line.
We should be brave and for once head hunt the very best, whether he is South African or not. We have some of the best talented players in South Africa. We need the most talented coach for them. Saru should wake up and go speak with Mitchell. Make a offer he can’t refuse. Give him full reign too.
Anyhow it is just a pipe dream mate. Doubt very much the Lions will let Mitchell or Carlos go until their contracts are seen out.
7 Nov 2011, 16:09 pm
Nothing irks me more than seeing the unadulterated filth that is let loose on this anonymous blog. You are all in severe and urgent danger of losing what little respect you have for yourselves. The human condition of racing to the bottom of the cesspool to see who has the logest willy does not bode well for our specie.
You should all be ashamed of your fast decaying sense of self worth that you seem to be determined to destroy as quickly as your filth infested minds would allow.
7 Nov 2011, 16:10 pm
@grant10(grant10)-425: You, my dear sir, have irrational anger issues which will eventually turn you into a lonely old man with only the palm of his right hand as company. I say you need to keep your emotions in check and nurture an attitude of self control and moderation.
7 Nov 2011, 16:12 pm
so NZ or Aus will be the 2012 rugby Championship winners
with SA and Argies fighting for fourth? still, thats only half of eight. so the new coach will already be onto a winning start
7 Nov 2011, 16:14 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-429:
whose serve are you returning today pops?
@Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven(Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven)-428:
fARK….. SORRY CAPS, can’t say I argue with that statement, although he’s most entertaining when he is emotionally outa control!
where you from Greg?
I can only see Burger filling a stop gap role, I seriously doubt he’d command a starting slot by tri nations 2013.
So, yes…he has an important role to fill but only until other backrowers have accumulated enough test match experience for a new test cap to take burgers spot.
…if that makes an sense to anyone.
7 Nov 2011, 16:15 pm
@Helen(Helen)-400: They should be bold and go for it. Gert Smal or Meyer as our foward coach would add to those two.
Also need to get the best scrum, defence, conditioning coach. They need to be surrounded by the very best.
7 Nov 2011, 16:16 pm
@charo(charo)-430: no ones..
just having some fun..
@Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven(Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven)-428: leave me alone……
I am the happiest guy in the world.
this is my alter ego at work ….
to know me is to love me….
fool
@Puma(Puma)-426:
if it was up to me… (and everyone says thank fark it’s not…
) but if it was…
i’d be having serious chats with JK…
posters here pour scorn on the ‘rugby romantics’… but if we’re honest with ourselves most of us are rugby romantics… we wanna see the books play awesome 15-man running rugby like we did in the mid 80s and with carel when mallet took over…
and we all rave about how the lions are playing great rugby… so… enough of dissing the rugby romantics…
but mitch is taken others don’t want it blah blah…
i’d get JK in and we’d be playing awesome rugby in no time… i really think he is one of the best, most attacking rugby players ever and would always be in my all-time great, best in world team…
and if he could get the japanese to play like they did… imagine what he could get out of our super-talented players…!!
and yes… i am a rugby romantic….!!
sigh…
7 Nov 2011, 16:17 pm
@Helen(Helen)-431:
I am from Zircon, the 4th moon of the planet Gy in the Fyu system….. why the **** do you want to know where I am from? Do not talk to me. You are a hermaphrodite with serious testicular irregularities that is expressed on this blog as pure filth clouded in what you may believe to be humour, but no-one is laughing.
7 Nov 2011, 16:18 pm
see the boks….
damn predictive text…
7 Nov 2011, 16:18 pm
@Helen(Helen)-431: You may think I am outta control……
But I am here laughing my head off 99% of the time…
Of course …when it comes to Plod….then I am farken hugely outta control…..
Now that i think of it that con man is about 99% of my posts….so i see where you get your impression….
Oh fark…is there a therapist in the house?
7 Nov 2011, 16:20 pm
@grant10(grant10)-425: Gerhard Mostert.
Pity he left so quick for overseas. Should have bided his time until after the world cup. Seeing himself getting a Bok call up he would have stayed in SA. I blame players Agents.
We also have Alberts but I prefer him at 8 or 7. Burger can play either position too.
@Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven(Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven)-437: And you? Are you the new resident psychologist or just another fckup trying to be brave on an anonymous blog?
@ufo(ufo)-436: thank fark its not up to you
John Kirwan? Id back Keiran Crowley before him, has done some really good things with Canadian rugby, and they have very limited talent… a bright future for him I reckon
7 Nov 2011, 16:21 pm
@grant10(grant10)-439:
Same here.. you entertain me no end.
Who is this psycho Greg? He seems to have you down, hey? Best get control of those emos before you spend the rest of your life masturbating…. bwhahahahaha
7 Nov 2011, 16:22 pm
@Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven(Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven)-437: Methinks you need to catch that next ferry back to Zicron then….. you know how they hate waiting for you at the aeroplane rank
7 Nov 2011, 16:23 pm
@grant10(grant10)-435:
fARK SORRY CAPS.
7 Nov 2011, 16:24 pm
@Puma(Puma)-426: You are right in your thought processes but you and me both know that in the real world its the real deep bull that stops the wagon and in our country we have real deep bull – me thinks that is why Mitchell said no to the thought of the job in the first place – SARU are renouned palukas all over the world! IMO at best we will get Rassie and while I think he has an astute rugby brain he still needs alot of experience!
7 Nov 2011, 16:24 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-442:
got you worried hey popps…? you had a panic attack there seeing the trophy wrenched from your grasp so soon…?
like japan has lots of rugby talent or stature…???
you take kieran for the abs… i’ll take JK for the boks… and we’ll be whipping your asses by yet to be discovered mathematical equations…
7 Nov 2011, 16:26 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-441: You are no more a person with independent will than you are an astronaut. Do not ever think of yourself as greater than anyone else, especially someone who has proven himself to have an intellect far superior to any of these pathetic bloggers. Again, I say you can choose a life that swims in the swirling filth of human verbal excrement or you can choose to make the most of the little intelligence that you have been given. Finfan, I think you have perhaps already made that choice and that is why you can not see the nuts dangling on your chin as you suck the life out of your albeit limited potential
@Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven(Gregory Tobias Hoogenhoven)-437:
obviously a little boy left locked in his closet for too long by abusive parents and had to make up fantasy friends and fantasy worlds…
gotta pity this walter mitty…
@ufo(ufo)-436: Howzit ufo,
How you bud? Hope well.
Jeez I had to rack my brain to think who the heck JK was…………hahahaha.
I think Mitch would be our man. He is here has been here for 16months. Has a damn good idea about South African rugby by now. Saru would be crazy not to head hunt him. They don’t have to let any apply for the Job. They themselves need to select the best and go after him. Make him a offer he can’t refuse. Let him have full reign and stay out of the picture. That alone makes a coach happy and not stressed. As it is the Bok Coach must be the most stressful job for any person, let alone having saru on their backs all of the time.
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 16 » Show All