Boks, Pumas to open ‘Rugby Championship’

The Springboks will play Argentina in their first game of next year’s Rugby Championship, the four-team southern-hemisphere tournament replacing the existing Tri-Nations.

An agreement confirming Argentina’s participation was signed in Auckland recently by the Sanzar Joint Venture partners after several months of negotiations with the Unión Argentina de Rugby (UAR) and the International Rugby Board (IRB).

The new-look tournament has been given a new name and a new fixture line-up with two Tests on each match day. Each participant plays home and away matches against each of the other three participants.

The Boks open their campaign against the Pumas in South Africa on 18 August before taking part in the first Rugby Championship match on the South American continent a week later. The match venues will be announced in due course.

‘The regular participation of Argentina at a higher level is long overdue and we are excited about their inclusion in The Rugby Championship,’ said Sanzar CEO Greg Peters, ‘Playing in the Championship will have significant benefits for Argentinian rugby as a whole and will bring new energy to the jewel in the crown of Sanzar.

‘The Pumas, as they showed at the recent Rugby World Cup, play an exciting and different brand of rugby to the other three teams, which will definitely add a new dimension.’

According to a statement by Sanzar, the new name of the Rugby Championship reflects its claim to be the ultimate contest, featuring teams that are currently ranked first, second, fourth and seventh in the world.

‘The Rugby Championship is an annual contest between the ‘best-of-the-best’ in world rugby – nations who have won six of the seven Rugby World Cups,’ said Peters.

Saru CEO Jurie Roux said he hopes these changes will result in a more balanced tournament. In the past, South Africa has suffered because of travel.

‘This is a significant moment in the history of Southern Hemisphere rugby and marks the launching pad to a dramatically changed landscape. It will add a new flavour and dimension to Sanzar rugby and offers the prospect of promoting rugby in other South American nations.

‘It also ensures a more logical and balanced Championship with fixtures and travel evened out across the region.’

The 2012 Championship will kick-off on 18 August 2012 and conclude on 6 October 2012. A Sanzar delegation will travel to Argentina in November on a fact-finding visit during which it will conduct venue inspections and hold discussions with the UAR, host broadcasters, sponsors and other key stakeholders to ensure the smooth transition from Tri-Nations to The Rugby Championship.

The Rugby Championship fixtures:

18 August 2012: Australia vs New Zealand, South Africa vs Argentina

25 August 2012: New Zealand vs Australia, Argentina vs South Africa

1 September 2012: Travel Bye

8 September 2012: Australia vs South Africa, New Zealand vs Argentina

15 September 2012: Australia vs Argentina, New Zealand vs South Africa

22 September 2012: Travel Bye

29 September 2012: South Africa vs Australia, Argentina vs New Zealand

6 October 2012: South Africa vs New Zealand, Argentina vs Australia

391 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

• 101.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-99: It is all about money. Greed for sure.

• 102.Nils: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-5: Of farken course, as usual.

The only side in the comp never playing away in consecutive weeks.

• 103.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-100:

Well when your top players get injured and supporters dont really mind missing games and lose interest, i wonder if they will make any changes to get back support. I remember Auz complaining that their supporters are losing interest. and for some reason all this extra rugby is approved… doesnt make much sense.

I sure as hell dont mind missing a few games. Even if its my own team. And knowing that the players play too much rugby is annoying as well.

• 104.Bouts: Reply to this comment

International rugby has become something of an irritation.

Countries like SA, France, England etc with massive player pools have to thin them down to 15 players to compete with countries who barely have enough local players for a first class domestic competition (many even don’t have that.)

To pick 15 quality athletic rugby players and coaching them well, you could easily compete and even win bigger unions. So, it is not an issue of quality.

Point is, you could choose at least 4 bok teams from SA which would all be on international standard (same for France and England), but you have to choose 15 players, and so doing ignore compatibility and style-of-play.

There are players in the CC 1st Division who’s better than some of our SuperRugby players, but is overlooked for a number of reasons.

We have too many players and too little opportunity to reach higher levels… because our opposition has too few players to expand.

Perhaps it is time for SARU to make a bold move an merge League into the organization… and perhaps even Grid Iron. All rugby codes under one roof and giving opportunity for more players to reach the highest level.

• 105.rangerman: Reply to this comment

will sanzar become arsanza?

has a certain ‘ring’ to it.

• 106.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Ring indeed.

• 107.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-91:

Stupid sharkievarkie, you just don’t get it do you … shooting your mouth off about the 35,000 thousand that went to watch the guppies get moered by the Saders in London saying that it was the biggest crowd outside of a test match … ffs stop talking kak, did you watch this weekends match between Stare and Clermont? 80,000 pitched up for a match that is not even a final.

60,000 at the den for a final is not a big deal and the CC is there as a feeder tournament for super rugby.

• 108.Gtown: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-105:
    sanzaar??

• 109.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-103: Agree Jeez,

Think after a few years it will change. Have no doubt. Can’t see this schedule lasting.

• 110.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-107: Why do you find it necessary to insult people? I never insult you. So why do you feel the need to insult me when you can get your point across without it?

• 111.Frik: Reply to this comment

A reduced Currie Cup is going to really make it hard for players to make a living playing Rugby in SA.

A guy playing 1st Division Currie Cup but who isn’t playing Super XV or Test Rugby is going to have to spend weekdays selling photocopiers again.

So he’ll look at that path and then look at playing 2nd Div in France for 70 000 Euros/year and choose France.

• 112.Puma: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-105: Probably will.

Howzit Ranger, how you doing mate?

• 113.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Frik(frikodel)-111: Exactly. We will see more of our players moving overseas and playing there.

Saru really never thought much about this it seems.

• 114.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-110:
    its his currie cup swagger…a bit like one’s first melrose experience…

• 115.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-110: you mean become like you, belittle, demean and insult people ina nice way.

Like this …

The only way for this new tournament to make sense is if we only allocate Castle test matches to the Lions, Bulls and WP rugby unions. There is no way that the other unions are able to sell out their stadiums based on the rubbish attendances they have had the past 4 years … not one sell out in Durban or in the Bloem!!!! The people of those cities should never get to host a big match featuring the All Blacks and Aussies … rather let PE hos a match ahead of those rugby apathetic cities. hehehe

• 116.poethklapp7: Reply to this comment

@rangerman

Sanzaar is a bit closer to sanzar but I like arsanza more, you should copyright it.

Hate this new name by the way.

• 117.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Are there any other good south african rugby websites? Could somebody please name a few…?

• 118.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-114: I can understand you loving Bakkies while he was still playing but loving him when he is finished as a player raises many questions.

• 119.Puma: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-114: hehe. :lol:

I don’t even recall saying it was the biggest crowd outside of a test match. I doubt I ever said that. Cause we get bigger crowds here in South Africa watching SuperRugby. I probably said it was the biggest crowd to watch SuperRugby in the Northen Hemisphere. Cause there has had never been a game played there. Whatever, it is just daft to take that serious . I just mostly ignore childish stuff like that mate…..hehehe.

What do you think of the new SuperRugby Schedule and our new Schedule for RC?

I am looking forward to England touring here but really it comes at a bad time. Wish we had finished SuperRugby first then concentrate on Internationals. Fair on the Bok players that way too.

• 120.Gtown: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-117:
    supersport does good sport coverage, sport24 and rugby365 are also good…

• 121.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-119: Northen = Northern

• 122.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-117: Rugby-Talk.com. SuperSport. Sport24. Rugby365. Ruggaworld.

There are many more. Those are the best though.

• 123.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-117:

http://www.ruggaworld.com

It’s Pissant’s site filled with local and international coaches, sports scientists, sports psychologists, player’s managers and general mug punters…

• 124.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-115: You are extremely juvenile.

• 125.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-123: Good site that Bryce. Also Rugby-Talk has most of that and not just news on rugby but many other topics about rugby.

Both sites are top class.

• 126.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-92:
    oh boy, i hear the comments from you at every start of the Nations cup.
    NZ well be rested, they will be better prepared, the boks have a longer plane trip, the boks have injuries

• 127.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-126:
    blah, fkn blah fkn blah

• 128.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-124: No I was being serious, the new SARU CEO must award all future Castle rugby matches to only 3 cities … I mean it is a FACT that Durban and Bloem cannot sell out their stadiums and that does not look good on tv. Rather reward PE with a Castle match every 2nd yearif need be and let the other cities (Rustenburg, Polokwane, Durban, Bloen and ex Nelspruit) fight for the NH EOYT matches.

Nothing juvenile about talkins sense, now is there.

• 129.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

of I forgot the hehehe and the LOL.

• 130.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-124:
    He’s easily the biggest poeth Lions supporter here. Its amazing how one person can take the gloss off a great CC campaign.

Almost makes you want to retract what you said about the Lions win being good for SA rugby. Wont let that poeth change my mind though.
    @Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-118: Yes you poeth.

• 131.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-130: you talk with a lisp … hehehe :lol:

• 132.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-128: You have a good point. Stadiums that don’t get full house for Tests should not get a test.

I personally would like to see Soccer City (FNB) get all the tests that are played up in the highveld. Was spectacular to see 95 000 supporters watching a rugby game.

PE was next best last year even if it only holds 45 000. Brilliant atmosphere.

Altitude is our weapon against overseas teams so yes, more tests played against ABs/Oz there the better. Must be FNB though. Brilliant stadium and holds the most. Doubt it will happen though.

• 133.Puma: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-130: I don’t take things like that really serious John.

What you think of our (Sharks) draw for SuperRugby? I think it will be tough.

We play Bulls and Stormers in a row and away from home. Then Lions at the tank next with Reds the following week. Going to be tough. All good teams. Then if we get two of our games against our conference teams away early it could be a good thing. Not sure it could be.

We travel after the Reds game. That is a good thing we get away from the humidity. We back in April.

• 134.poppa69: Reply to this comment

NZ All Blacks

the only team able to play their fourth choice 1st 5/8 and win the WC doing so

• 135.Puma: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-134: Yip and you not lying there at all…..hehehe. That is something to brag about Poppa…lol.

Who would have thought Donald will win you the world cup and not Carter?

Okay I am off to lunch. Catch up later. Cheers mate.

• 136.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-134: “fourth choice 1st 5/8″

Why can’t you Kiwis just say “flyhalf” without sounding like a mathsturbator?

• 137.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-134: well for the one millionth time congratulation kiwi … Bill is yours, finally :razz:

• 138.Gtown: Reply to this comment

SA Springboks.

The only team to have beaten the All Blacks in a RWC Final.

• 139.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Gtown(Gtown)-138:
    there ya go, thats at least something good to look back on.

• 140.Gtown: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-136:

‘strue

• 141.Gtown: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-139:
    just saying, bru…

• 142.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I like this, i like this a lot. Only kuk thing is the name.

Think they are going to to have to make the squads a bit bigger as more rugby will be played so players can be rested and such.

As for the Currie Cup, still love it, whats not to love, still going to be province against province, and we will get to see new players being blooded.

So what if its not all the big names, it will be brilliant watching these up and coming players playing their hearts out to try get into the main teams, and then those that are not pulling their weight in the Super 15 and Bok side drop back to provincial level is not performing.

I think this is a win win situation

GO RUGBY !!!!!!!!!

• 143.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-136:
    Why?
    Thats how i was bought up. In league the position was called flyhalf and in rugby the position was called 1st 5/8.
    I played both games but now flyhalf is for both codes.

• 144.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Gtown(Gtown)-141:
    I know and its a good stat as well.
    Just that seem to be lately alot of negativitiy on here.
    People need to re focus and now look ahead. Forget the bad and remember the good. :-)

• 145.Nils: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-5: Apologies, my statement in comment 102 was not correct.

However look at the bright side, while SA has 3 away Tests in a row, they have a bye in-between, plenty of time to rest and accommodate (unless they are coached by morons) and they kick off with the easiest opposition home and away.

With all due respect to Argentina, they are neither Blacks, nor Wallabies in terms of challenge, so they cancel any disadvantage in the first rounds. Plus SA then play at home while Blacks play in South Africa straight away from Argentina.

Now tell me, what is harder – play in Argentina, have a bye and then play in Australasia or play in Argentina and play in South Africa without any rest. Or Australia having to play in South Africa and then in Argentina without any rest as well.

You see, the schedule seems quite balanced, every team has some advantages and some disadvantages, no need for knee-jerk reaction.

• 146.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-144:
    I know,thats how i got through 2007 and 2009 :-)

• 147.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-142: that’s the spirit sharkie.

• 148.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-133:
    I havent really had a good look at our draw but I will say that Im not a big fan of the S15 setup.

Far too drawn out and now it has a break in the middle of it, i reckon most people here will be bored with it come June.

• 149.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-126: Plus, for years okes complained that Boks have a travel disadvantage having to fly eastwards to play in Australasia, now they will have to fly westwards to Argentina and then after a week rest eastwards to Australasia while Blacks AND Wallabies will fly eastwards to Argentina AND still eastwards without any rest to South Africa and guess what who has travel disadvantage now – the Boks again.

• 150.Gtown: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-144: @Hurricane(Hurricane)-146:
    That’s the point, but it was also a reaction to old poopiepants :rolleyes:

Not sure what to think of the new format other than looking forward to it!

off topic… it’s k-a-k people… K-A-K :D

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.