Rugby returns to Christchurch
8 Nov 2011
The NZRU has confirmed that the revamped Rugby League Park will host the Crusaders in 2012 as well as a Test match between the All Blacks and Ireland next June.
Christchurch was hit by a earthquake on 22 February and hasn’t hosted a Super Rugby match since. It was decided that AMI Stadium, which was damaged in the quake, was too unstable to host Super Rugby matches, and it was later decided that no World Cup matches would be staged at this venue.
While AMI Stadium won’t be used by the Crusaders or the All Blacks in 2012, top-flight rugby will be returning to the city of Christchurch. The All Blacks will play Ireland on 16 June at Rugby League Park, the same venue that will host the Crusaders during the 2012 Super Rugby season.
Rugby League Park will undergo a NZ$20 million renovation and will have a capacity for the Test, with temporary seating, of 25 000.

77 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
10 Nov 2011, 03:50 am
Id be more worried about fixing bokke rugby first before threatening to run away with your ball yet again… but I suppose you guys want to play in a competition where you may have better success than 3 times in 15 attempts…its perfectly understandable, if you cant handle playing against the big boys then tuck in your tails and run. eish..
I mean, coming 8th at the WC isnt a good indication of why WE should continue to ALLOW you into the comp…
10 Nov 2011, 03:53 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-50:
That’s just it, I don’t think we do get as much as NZ out of it. We definitely don’t get as much as Australia, that’s for sure. I’m not sure that those two, admittedly excellent, coaches have much to do with the SANZAR relationship, the Currie Cup was going long before that deal saved your financial bacon…
10 Nov 2011, 03:54 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-51:
Maybe because WE bankroll it?
10 Nov 2011, 03:57 am
@marcb(marcb)-49:
Ummm you say 10000. You tube the hamilton test 2009.
I suggest you take a long deep breathe.
Your infact the dreamer here making rubbish up.
So what you got 3 tickets to the test 3 days before.
That does not prove anything. As i suggest yout tube it. In one video frame theres more than 10000 people.
10 Nov 2011, 03:57 am
@marcb(marcb)-53: shame then that your administrators continue to bend over to Oniell and Tew? you cant blame us for the incompetency of your own union..
but go ahead, go north… do they even want you?
10 Nov 2011, 04:00 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-51:
Poppa this same cr@p comes around everytime the Boks get a good hiding or disappoint there fans.
Its like, if we cant win we will go somewhere else. Fkn laughable really.
10 Nov 2011, 04:02 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-56: agree totally mate, heard it all before… being led by keo’s very on Le Coq cheerleader, HG..
must be lonely in France this time of year..
10 Nov 2011, 04:16 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-57:
Yet, you’re the guys getting all hysterical about it. The suggestion was made on a purely practical and financial point of view, as there is no time difference to speak of, hence no jet lag. The travel time itself is much shorter, and the potential audience is bigger, resulting in higher revenue. You both need to calm yourselves down a bit, breathe into a paper bag or something, I think your gravy train will be around for a while yet so no need to panic…
10 Nov 2011, 04:19 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-54:
I found the actual game report.
Attendance 31000 at hamilton that day/night.
Looks like my figures of you miscounting by 15000 were off.
In fact you miscounted by 20000 people.
SA vs ABs at Hamilton in 2009 ??
Is this the game?
10 Nov 2011, 04:27 am
@marcb(marcb)-58:
I think you need to realise the same thing pop up when the Boks lose games,lets leave Ozzie and NZ.
Ok so its better financially for the Boks to play in the NH. I say go for it, be a shame but money is what rugby is all about now.
But anyway if it happens i am sure we will be able to survive somehow. But dont be like others and wait for the Boks to lose and try and threaten us with leaving. It really looks like sour grapes
10 Nov 2011, 04:44 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-60:
Plainly I don’t control SA rugby so I’m not sure how I could threaten you with leaving – as I said before, it’s just a thought on a blogging site, nothing more. And it’s worth mentioning that it’s something I’ve wondered about for a while, regardless of who was winning at the time. in fact, I think it was watching low Super 15 attendances in places like Wellington and Hamilton and wondering how anyone actually did make money, especially after the cost of flying 22-odd people halfway around the world, presumably business-class, so that they turn up, jetlagged, play a game and go back home again. Like it or not, modern professional rugby is a business and financially it doesn’t make sense, so they have to play more games to make up the shortfall – hence the “too much rugby” that people, in NZ especially, complain about.
10 Nov 2011, 05:13 am
@marcb(marcb)-61: whose getting hysterical? we’ve already said go if thats what you prefer, but I dont think the NH want you in their comp anyways… Im sure it would be so advantageous for your actual rugby wouldnt it?
as for travel disadvantage etc, all excuses we’ve heard before, and no doubt will hear again next year… seems the norm here..
10 Nov 2011, 05:38 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-62:
Don’t fret pet, SANZAR will be around for a while. We wouldn’t want to deprive you of your trolling action…
10 Nov 2011, 09:17 am
@marcb(marcb)-61:
Thanks but you missed where i said the attendance at the Hamilton game was 30000 people. You know the game you went to and said there was only 10000 people. Care to explain?
10 Nov 2011, 09:49 am
Sulking and playing the minnow nations of the north wouldn’t get away from the FACT that the world champions live in NZ and the runners-up live in Oz..
The arduous Bledisloe Cup will ensure they remain super-sharp while the also-rans and the assorted wooden-spooners grow ever weaker.
10 Nov 2011, 20:04 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-64:
OK, so allowing for the fact that you’re right and I was wrong (perhaps I under-estimated the crowd because of the total lack of atmosphere at Waikato Stadium), 30,000 people is the best you could hope for at a venue situated to attract the most people in the North Island, by far the most densely populated of the two. SA gets more crowds than that to watch varsity rugby. The fact is that more rugby needs to be played so that your own union is propped up financially. Without Tri-Nations and Super rugby participation it would collapse. There’s no way a yearly Bledisloe love-in would keep you afloat. After all, look how your little Tokyo adventure bombed.
10 Nov 2011, 20:27 pm
@marcb(marcb)-66: You just don’t get it, pilgrim? Crowds turning up to a stadium — ANY stadium, ANYWHERE and in ANY number — hardly make a blindest bit of difference to the big income stream. It’s the TV right that make the serious bucks. And the world pays the best money to see the best teams play. The best teams come from NZ. When they play in Europe, the house-full signs always go up quick-smart.
10 Nov 2011, 22:28 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-67:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10755449
11 Nov 2011, 01:40 am
@marcb(marcb)-68: random
11 Nov 2011, 02:38 am
@man1a(man1a)-69:
No buddy, just above your head…
11 Nov 2011, 03:06 am
@marcb(marcb)-70: must be way over your head then . i can count
11 Nov 2011, 03:24 am
@man1a(man1a)-71:
Keep it coming poodle-boy…
11 Nov 2011, 03:35 am
@marcb(marcb)-72: u sure it was a poodle like you were sure it was 10,000?
11 Nov 2011, 03:39 am
@man1a(man1a)-73:
Kerpow!! And that was your best shot? Move along now troll, there’s a good fella…
11 Nov 2011, 03:40 am
@marcb(marcb)-74: i like it here too much.
11 Nov 2011, 04:00 am
@man1a(man1a)-75:
Aah, that’s nice. It’s good to see that kiwi reliance on jaapie rugby now extends to all areas.
11 Nov 2011, 05:03 am
WTF……..its amazing what a 1 point win does for some egos
Faaking doos’s
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All