Carstens seals move to Stormers
9 Nov 2011
Springboks prop Deon Carstens has signed for the Stormers.
Carstens, who currently plays for Saracens in England, was confirmed as a prop replacement for CJ van der Linde, who has moved to the Lions. Carstens’ positional versatility (he can pack down at loosehead and tighthead) is said to have been the most appealing attribute for the Cape franchise.
Mark McCall, Saracens’ Director of Rugby, said the arrangement is a result of ‘partnership’ between WP and Sarries. ‘Any partnership must work both ways,’ McCall said. ‘The Stormers urgently need a top class international loosehead prop for the forthcoming Super Rugby season, the move makes sense for the player and so we have agreed to the release.
Despite a knee injury that will keep the promising JC Kritzinger out until early 2013, the Stormers are relatively well stocked at prop. Brok Harris and Wicus Blaauw provide the experience, while youngsters like Steven Kitshoff and Frans Malherbe are rated highly at the franchise. Carstens’ mentorship will be a boon for the latter.
Carstens, who played for the Sharks before taking up the deal with Saracens, made his Bok debut in 2002 and has been capped nine times since.

170 Comments
9 Nov 2011, 08:40 am
Prop Dragon!
9 Nov 2011, 08:42 am
The experience of Carstens along with the youth of Kitschoff and the unit Malherbe backing up their seniors from this past season… seems Rassie has his finger on the pulse after all…
9 Nov 2011, 08:44 am
So is he considered a poor man’s CJ? Either way a good buy for the Stormers, this after Rassie said he was not going to buy tight forwards.
9 Nov 2011, 08:47 am
are rated highly at the franchise
just asking.. how good must you be to be highly rated at the Stormers franchise… specialy a forward?
9 Nov 2011, 08:49 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-3: CJ didn’t fit in with the Stormers. He did poorly for us. Deon is a better buy; he is a stronger scrummager.
Good luck to CJ with you guys. I don’t rate him highly but good luck to him.
I don’t trust many media quotes of coaches, politicians etc. They are usually taken out of context.
The news will please Speedo no end
9 Nov 2011, 08:49 am
@Staal(Staal)-4: Easy. To be better than a SharkieVarkie forward
9 Nov 2011, 08:51 am
The trend is to have a fatty on the bench that can cover both prop positions, the Lions have CJ and Buys, the Cheetahs have Coenie and the Stormers have Carstens. The guppies have the journey man van Staden … who do the Bullies have?
9 Nov 2011, 08:52 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-7: Maybe they’ll try converting another flan, oh say Steggies
9 Nov 2011, 08:53 am
Once again Stormers management showing signs of slight stupidity with their front row signings.
I would be tempted to buy a prop who is strong and has dominated in his career. Not another journeyman
9 Nov 2011, 08:54 am
Very versatile prop: rubbish on both sides of the scrum.
9 Nov 2011, 08:54 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-6:
9 Nov 2011, 08:55 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-8: steggies at prop?
he’ll be murdered!
9 Nov 2011, 08:57 am
@BULLET(BULLET)-9: well he has been playing in the league know to be a prop school, maybe he has improved his scrum work.
or maybe not.
9 Nov 2011, 08:57 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-3: I agree….a poor mans CJ a pretty apt description.
Carstens a better 1 than 3…..
We need another harrdebaard 3 imo.
Maybe a WP Nel….
9 Nov 2011, 08:58 am
@Staal(Staal)-4: taunt on my man….
taunt on….
we see who laughs last…
9 Nov 2011, 09:01 am
@grant10(grant10)-15: while we are on the subject of taunting…
have you placed your order of the poster of Captain Barney @ beeld.com/Vermaak/Nuus/Bestel-jou-rugbyheld-20111101-2
Sierieaaaaasly – you take this blog to sierieaaaaaaas.
9 Nov 2011, 09:04 am
@Staal(Staal)-16: LOL
I am playing the fool with you mate…..we have a light 5….but I reckon Rassie gaan n paar meer spelers onthul!
Plods photo…..I will spoeg op die ****** ding!
9 Nov 2011, 09:05 am
Deon Carstens?
Why were Sarries happy to let him go?
You have to ask.
I’m glad the talent spotters at the stormers don’t pick stocks for a living.
9 Nov 2011, 09:05 am
@grant10(grant10)-17:
9 Nov 2011, 09:09 am
@Gunther(gunther)-18: Carstens played at 1 on Sunday for Sarries….
Played 7 won 7…
Plod yet to play
a 21 year old pom starting in his place
ek se maar vokkalll
9 Nov 2011, 09:10 am
Stormers made a farken huge mistake letting F Louw go……
Huge….
We should really have retained him at all costs….that is a special player…..could of captained Stormers as well…..imo
9 Nov 2011, 09:11 am
@grant10(grant10)-20:
awesome.
so why are they letting him go?
everytime you open your north and south you say vokkalll.
so nothing new there.
9 Nov 2011, 09:12 am
@grant10(grant10)-21: with you on that.
9 Nov 2011, 09:17 am
@grant10(grant10)-21: I would imagine that any recruiting done by the Stormers would have to be from Europe, as the majority of players in South Africa have already signed contracts for next year.
You have some talented youngsters coming through, but it might be a year too early for a lot of them.
Who will replace Louw on the open side?
9 Nov 2011, 09:19 am
Its a pity WP couldnt hold on to CJ. It seems that he is getting back to his best.But Carstens probably much better than those other 2 fat boys.
And its a pity they resigned Habana for 3 years!! Does that mean when AC becomes bok coach that Habana will be a bok for the next 3 years ????
9 Nov 2011, 09:21 am
we need the back up and personally i rate carstens better than CJ…
so… i’m happy with this buy…
brok’s good at 3… carstens at 1 will give us a solid front row…
now if andries and rhynardt are fit, we will be okay… just ‘okay’… we still need a couple of good locks and props for depth…
9 Nov 2011, 09:22 am
@Gunther(gunther)-22: go do a pilates class man!
I am off to a 11 am and then off to newlands….
Weather a bit kak….
Hope we play Tahir and not the great turner Harris…..
Plod remains a d oooosssss
9 Nov 2011, 09:22 am
@grant10(grant10)-21:
agree with you on this…
when captains were being speculated on after watson left… i said here my pick would’ve been flo…
9 Nov 2011, 09:23 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-24: we have Rohan Kitshoff…a very good opensider…..
I am scared AC will play Schalk there…..that will be a criminal mistake.
9 Nov 2011, 09:24 am
@ufo(ufo)-26: to be honest…
imo there is good enough players…..and they have been there for the last 3 years.
Wp/Stormers need Rassie to coach and they will win silverware! imo
9 Nov 2011, 09:24 am
@Jeez(Jeez)-25: I agree….I would have kept CJ….watch him shine under Mitchell…
I heard CJ never really enjoyed the coaching set up at wp….
9 Nov 2011, 09:25 am
Actually a good signing for the Stormers.
I think his out and out scrummaging skills would have improved over in the UK. His work in the tight loose was always very good at the Sharks.
Considering there are very few top class 3s in the country, having a player of this versatility going into a S15 is a huge asset to the Stormers.
Especially when depth is absolutely key in the extended competition.
Stormpies, dont look a gift horse in the mouth. This is a good move for you okes.
9 Nov 2011, 09:27 am
@Jeez(Jeez)-25: Mitch will drop any player who does not give 100%. He is old school and will not take kak from any player.
9 Nov 2011, 09:28 am
@Staal(Staal)-30:
staal bud…
i do agree with you that the fault of the weak scrums is more a coaching fault than a player fault…
9 Nov 2011, 09:32 am
@grant10(grant10)-29: Heard that province did not renew Pieter Louw’s contract, anyone know if this is true. If so, Stormers have a massive problem contesting the breakdown, certainly, as seems the case, Burger remain at openside
9 Nov 2011, 09:33 am
have never rated deon carstens.
pretty sure not franchise front row will be kakking themselves at the sight of the stormers.
man o man, that wikus blaauw oke…if he scrummed half as hard as he looks he’d be a legend.
unfortunately…he looks like he’s got “ugly poodle” syndrome.
9 Nov 2011, 09:33 am
@ufo(ufo)-28: ja
I had heard we believed Brussow was a done deal…..
Now we left up the creek….hope Rohan shapes…
9 Nov 2011, 09:36 am
@grant10(grant10)-27:
take just tennis for a walk first.
otherwise he’s going to kak on white leather sofa.
9 Nov 2011, 09:36 am
@Gunther(gunther)-18: Maybe cause Sarries now have a new prop a certain Mr Smit
9 Nov 2011, 09:37 am
@grant10(grant10)-37:
i think rohan is an excellent player… very similar to heinrich in build, centre-of-gravity etc…
he had excellent stats for the WC too… IF we play him… he will do well…
9 Nov 2011, 09:38 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-32: So why let CJ go , he did the same as Carstens, difference he actually played well for Lions
9 Nov 2011, 09:39 am
@grant10(grant10)-37: Brussouw will join WP when he’s 30 , he’s to young now.
9 Nov 2011, 09:40 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-32: i agree!
9 Nov 2011, 09:43 am
its raining at newlands.
fok.
9 Nov 2011, 09:45 am
@Stiff-arm(Stiff-arm)-35: not renewed….and conrad jantjies off to France…..
To be =honest I never really rated P Louw….a hard honest player but not a true opensider imo
9 Nov 2011, 09:46 am
Interesting, how Strompies always had the policy to buy old players , with experience to help youngster come through.
Habanna, AJ ,Carstens, Chris Jack, Nkalavuki, van Zyl …….
Has this policy worked ?
If you look at throphy cabinet …..no
If you look at membership of golf for seniors …yes
9 Nov 2011, 09:48 am
@Gunther(gunther)-38: we under the oaks….
9 Nov 2011, 09:50 am
@ufo(ufo)-40: i also rate him….agree@capebull(capebull)-41: cj wanted to go…fact…he never settled
9 Nov 2011, 09:52 am
@capebull(capebull)-42: LOL@Gunther(gunther)-44: bat or bowl?
Wp have a lot of talent at 6/7/ and 8
Carr, Kolisi ……
All provinces actually are good in these positions .
Number 3 is problem area
@grant10(grant10)-48:
cj not only never settled… he never produced anything on the field either…
9 Nov 2011, 09:53 am
@grant10(grant10)-45:
I think pieter louw massively underrated.
for me much more of a pure fetcher than his namesake.
he would be a good signing for the bulls or sharks.
he will probably go to france.
9 Nov 2011, 09:53 am
@grant10(grant10)-48: Cause they never played him
9 Nov 2011, 09:54 am
@capebull(capebull)-50: not at openside…..we have rohan kitshoff….thats it!
Carr a natural 8 [ a future superstar imo ]
Koster a 8
vermeulen a 8 or 7
sckalk and kolisi a 7….
opensiders are scarce in CT and Durbs….
9 Nov 2011, 09:56 am
@grant10(grant10)-47:
I’m sure you and just tennis are always under the oaks.
9 Nov 2011, 09:57 am
@grant10(grant10)-47:
So you will not be joining guntertjie with his mates Jackers and the Wash as the sole patrons of that rather large unpopulated members stand??
9 Nov 2011, 09:58 am
@grant10(grant10)-49:
tough one.
if you bat first you expose yourself to a fair bit of moisture in the air and the pitch.
but you would quite like tahir to bowl last on a worn out pitch.
9 Nov 2011, 09:59 am
@ufo(ufo)-51: i know the inside story….will tell you next i see you…
@Gunther(gunther)-52: hard working journeyman imo…..not a favorite of mine…..but I respect him…
gotta run
cheers all
enjoy the cricket Gunther
go proteas
moer hulle!
9 Nov 2011, 09:59 am
@Gunther(gunther)-57: yip
my sentiments as well
9 Nov 2011, 10:00 am
@Bod(bod)-56: no bud
under the oaks…cheap seats….
9 Nov 2011, 10:01 am
@Bod(bod)-56:
we like to keep the rif raf where we can’t smell them.
anyway the gruesome twosome will be near the beer stand and the infamous sausage lady (that is not a euphemism for JR’s cabaret act).
9 Nov 2011, 10:03 am
Ja ne…
They let Cronje/Jantjes go (okay no big loss on the latter) and sign Joe (apparently for double what he earned when he left).
They let Moller go and sign Carstens who came through the WP/Boland system at U/19 & U/21 level before being overlooked by WP brainstrust at senior level and who cannot crack a starting 22 spot at Saracens? This after letting another youngster (SP) go (who they’ll probably sign again at one hell of a price in 5 years time).
At least Carstens fits the WP prop criteria well as he can back up as a center.
9 Nov 2011, 10:04 am
@grant10(grant10)-58:
don’t hurry chap.
it’s raining and the start will probably be delayed by an hour or so.
9 Nov 2011, 10:04 am
@Gunther(gunther)-57:
From the mouth of the great Geoffrey Boycott….. If you win any toss in a test match and are unsure, think about it for a milli second and then bat…
9 Nov 2011, 10:06 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-62: Is Callie Visage the varsity cup player with the french moustache? Why did the WP lethim go, I can just see Lions walking around with not only Straus beards but with those moustaches as well.
9 Nov 2011, 10:07 am
@Gunther(gunther)-61:
In fact you could catch a glimpse of the gruesome twosome right now if you popped down to Forries and caught them on their 5th pre-toss bevvy
9 Nov 2011, 10:09 am
@grant10(grant10)-58:
sounds sinister…
look forward to it…
9 Nov 2011, 10:10 am
@Bod(bod)-64:
I never had you figured for a Boycotter.
Mind you, you are the same vintage and you have the same sense of fashion.
@Bod(bod)-66:
Indeed they will nursing a beer shandy in the dames kroeg.
9 Nov 2011, 10:12 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-65:
Callie was the hooker for Maties in the Varsity Cup – I think you are thinking of the lad that played for UCT with the tach.
Callie is a product of Paarl Boys, played WP U/19 & U/21 – came through the ranks nicely, captained Maties (as far as I know) and now – like Josh (also Maties product) is off to the Lions.
9 Nov 2011, 10:13 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-62:
i share your frustration PA…
but good to see you’ve still got your sense of humour…
9 Nov 2011, 10:15 am
@Gunther(gunther)-68: Aaaaah Sir Geoffrey….
My type of man. Not only his intellect, but share his disdain for womans rights and his wisdom on how to face the Windies pace attack of the 80′s…
He shares my honorary membership at Olympics as well..
9 Nov 2011, 10:15 am
@ufo(ufo)-70:
To be a WP supporter you HAVE to have a sense of humour!
9 Nov 2011, 10:18 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-72:
too true bud… too true…!!
9 Nov 2011, 10:24 am
Cricinfo suggesting Philander and Tahir are starting
9 Nov 2011, 10:25 am
@Bod(bod)-71:
the special olympics?
9 Nov 2011, 10:28 am
I recall some pretty impressive scrumming from Deon, Smittie and BJ at the Sharks back in the day.
9 Nov 2011, 10:28 am
@Gunther(gunther)-75: Nope……THE Olympics
The last remaining bastion of anti bra burners in Cape Town.
What is this garbage I am hearing about Vernon Philander. Please tell me its not true and that we are not sinking that low..
Tahir is a must and Harro rather needs to join you in the Members stands quaffing your Pimms
9 Nov 2011, 10:29 am
Carstens is a decent prop,versatile & mobile.But not the answer to WP set piece worries. He is better than any of the props currently in the Cape though.
Malherbe & Kitshoff will be the business in 2-3 yrs time. But right now there is no quick fix unfortunately.
I suggested WP Nel or Eugene van Staden,
A
front row of Carstens,Liebenberg,van Staden would so a good job for province while the young bucks in Malherbe & Kitshoff learn the dark art upfront.
9 Nov 2011, 10:33 am
@grant10(grant10)-54:
Carr is an opensider in the McCaw mould,multi-faceted skillset while being proficient on the ground as well.(BTW F.Louw wasnt a true opensider neither)
9 Nov 2011, 10:36 am
@Bod(bod)-77:
The thinking was that if you play an attacking leggie (tahir) then you need a more defensive third seamer (philander). He is a line and length guy who gets some decent bounce. Plus he bats a bit.
Personally I think longone offers something a bit different in an attack that can look very sameish and hasn’t done much to deserve being dropped.
9 Nov 2011, 10:49 am
@Gunther(gunther)-80: Nee fok man…
Its a living nightmare. Aussies are 90 for none, Morkel and Steyn havent done nada, are stuffed and on comes our first change seamer… the mighty Vernon Philander.
I shudder…
Then we have to open our batting with Jaques Rudolph
I shudder again…
I am off to rather watch the Levante 3rd team in action in downtown Valencia
9 Nov 2011, 11:00 am
Go with Kitshoff and Malherbe, they might get a bit of pasting in their first season, but they look very promising.
9 Nov 2011, 11:02 am
@Gunther(gunther)-80: I saw on Cricinfo that the Proteas haven’t played a test in 305 days. WTF are our cricketers getting paid for then? I reckon a couple of days of rain will be a good thing – give our guys 3 days to get some match practice, then have a crack at the Aussies the Wanderers.
9 Nov 2011, 11:06 am
@Bod(bod)-81: Philander is a cocky little twerp whose arrogance is out of all proportion to his talent. The Aussies will make mincemeat out of him.
9 Nov 2011, 11:15 am
Do people still use the word “twerp”?
It’s a bit twerpy to use twerp
Allot of slagging off before a ball has even been bowled in anger. It can only be a Saffa blogspot
9 Nov 2011, 11:28 am
@zub(zub)-83:
we should ask ourselves wtf the admin people are doing.
they are arranging the schedule.
9 Nov 2011, 11:34 am
@RedMan(RedMan)-85: Oh, the irony.
9 Nov 2011, 11:35 am
@RedMan(RedMan)-85:
yes.
it’s a form of endearment here.
now fukkoff twerp.
9 Nov 2011, 11:40 am
@Gunther(gunther)-86: The ICC decides the schedule, and SA seem to have been shafted in the last couple of years – they’ve played 4 series (9 matches) since the start of the 2009/2010 season.
9 Nov 2011, 11:46 am
@zub(zub)-89:
cricket SA agree to it.
9 Nov 2011, 11:46 am
Forgot about the Basil D’Oliveira trophy, which makes 5 series and 13 matches, compared to India who have played 9 series and 25 matches in the same period. Cushy job being a Protea, yet they still bladdy choked at the WC.
9 Nov 2011, 11:49 am
@Gunther(gunther)-90: Do they have a choice?
9 Nov 2011, 11:53 am
CSA wanted the additional T20′s and ODI’s hence only two games of real cricket in this series.
Muthafukin twerps
9 Nov 2011, 12:06 pm
@zub(zub)-92:
they have input, yes.
@RedMan(RedMan)-93:
there you go.
that wasn’t so hard was it?
9 Nov 2011, 12:07 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-78: what’s so special about van Staden? He is nothing more than a journey man who is being talked up by guppies, no surprise there
9 Nov 2011, 12:10 pm
@RedMan(RedMan)-85: he is indeed one without talent who will be minced.
9 Nov 2011, 12:15 pm
I have never rated Deon. **** buy Rassie. Next season you’ll try again, but will no doubt stuff it up.
9 Nov 2011, 12:23 pm
I heard if AC is appointed as the bok coach PDV will apply for the WP job. Should be interesting…
9 Nov 2011, 12:23 pm
@garth(garth)-97: You would think they would spend some serious cash on their front 5 – maybe Cape town is too pansy for the tough men of rugby ????
9 Nov 2011, 12:26 pm
Good props, being in short supply, are amongst the highest paid players in world rugby, I remember reading a while ago. So, I don’t think Rassie had too many to choose from.
9 Nov 2011, 12:30 pm
It’s been years since we have had a good front row. Other provinces seem to breed them by the truck load. They could have got two props for what Habana gets.
9 Nov 2011, 12:35 pm
If Rassie had any brains they would look at getting some Argentian tight forwards for next S15 – those boys know how to scrum
9 Nov 2011, 12:36 pm
@garth(garth)-101:
yep, just imagine how his ‘electrifying’ habana will be during his last year of his 3 year contract. They should have looked at the bulls’ youngsters… They always seem to have a truck load of good props…habana’s 3 year contract could have bought at least 2 young promising props…
9 Nov 2011, 12:40 pm
@stew(stew)-102:
not a bad idea at all.
9 Nov 2011, 13:10 pm
You have to feel for Kritzinger… hes had so many injuries for a young guy.. and he is a very talented player
9 Nov 2011, 15:03 pm
Some perspective:
1. Blaauw, Kitshoff
2. Liebenberg, Fourie
3. Harris, Malherbe
4. Elstadt, Lobberts
5. Bekker, Steenkamp
6. Kitshoff, Koster
7. Burger, Kolisi
8. Vermeulen, Carr
9. Duvenhage, Groom
10. Grant, Catrikilis
11. Habana, Pieterson
12. De Villiers, Brache
13. Fourie, De Jongh
14. Van Den Heever, Poolman
15. Aplon, Van Aswegen
1. Carstens
2. Ntubeni
3. Roux
4. Etsebeth
5. Fenton-Wells
6. Daniller
7. Schreuder
8. Coleman
9. Klaasen
10. Steyl
9 Nov 2011, 15:07 pm
One has to give it to JS
Hardly 2 weeks at Saracen and already showed his skills off the field in the boardroom in jettisoning Carsten
Carsten was no great supporter of JS while at the Sharks, when JW picked Carsten for the RWC 2007 squad it was against JS’ advice
9 Nov 2011, 15:14 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-107:
9 Nov 2011, 15:19 pm
@puff(puff)-106:
Looks promising, except that Little Joe is missing,
well could be the Stormers brought him back to play for The Villagers?
With Lobert, Carr and Kolisi in their squad the future looks bright for the Stormers!
9 Nov 2011, 15:27 pm
That’s a well-developed squad of 40 players, with a very balanced blend of youth and experience.
The youngsters have been given good opportunities and should be prepared to add decent cover for the S15.
Yes, Sadie, Engelbrecht, Whitehead and Cronje were frustrating losses.
But Pieterson, Catrikilis, Van Den Heever, Steyl and the young Mbovane (currently playing 7s) are all exciting backline prospects.
The “light five” criticism may not have been unfounded in the past, but with the likes of Kitshoof, Malherbe, Roux and Etsebeth, things are looking solid there.
The coaches’ challenge will be to ensure that their senior forwards front up and help to introduce the younger players into the pack seamlessly.
9 Nov 2011, 15:28 pm
People forget quickly what a revelation Elstadt was in the S15.
Liebenberg was injured for a large part of it and stuggled to find form at the business end because of very little game time.
But Liebenberg, Elstasdt, Burger and Vermeulen will make a big difference to the Stormers pack.
And so will Kisthoff and Malherbe, hopefully sooner rather than later.
9 Nov 2011, 15:31 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-109:
I’ve placed him as cover for Habana on the left wing, although I’m sure he will cover wing and play more at fullback.
But I placed him there to make room for Van Aswegen in the front 30 (who, due to injury, has been overtaken by Catrikilis).
There really is good depth in all positions, except we have lost some experience in the centres with Sadie and Whitehead leaving.
Are Brache and Klaasen in the same pedigree?
Probably not, but don’t forget Stormers have 3 really great frontline centres.
9 Nov 2011, 16:17 pm
Mmmm…What a lively thread this is. Difficult to keep up…
9 Nov 2011, 16:57 pm
I don’t believe this krap! Why did I buy this months SA Rugby mag? Well I was expecting at least a two pager on the Currie Cup final and was there a two pager on the final …… Yes ….. the 2005 final ffs!!
Not funny you stupid Keo bunnies. Did I want to read about fat Ollie smoking a cigar? No way in hell man …. I wanted to read about this years final.
No don’t tell me that there was no space – IMHO you could have done without that two pager featuring WO and his 48hr hold VO5 hair product!
Really
, really not going to buy another SA Rugby magazine again.
9 Nov 2011, 19:38 pm
Kitshoff is what? 21? It’s going to be another 6 – 7 years before he hits his prime.
9 Nov 2011, 19:47 pm
on way home from cricket I saw an Argus headline saying ‘ Stormers set to sigN bOK DUO”….
i CANT FIND ANYTHING ON LINE….IS THERE ANYONE OUT THERE WHO KNOWS WHAT ARCTICLE IS ABOUT?
dAWN?
Fark…sorry caps
9 Nov 2011, 19:59 pm
@grant10(grant10)-116:
Apparently Deon Carstens is no longer available.
Saracens have offered the Stormers John Smit instead. There are very favourable terms involved.
It looks like a win-win.
9 Nov 2011, 20:01 pm
My dad says only two names in argus is peter grant and deon carstens??
9 Nov 2011, 20:07 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-117: you looking to buy my season ticket?@Dawn(Dawn)-118: Thanks Dawn….must be Deon Carstens and P Grant then……
9 Nov 2011, 20:57 pm
Another day, another dud
9 Nov 2011, 22:24 pm
Lol, I bet Stormers fans are thrilled with that “Bok duo”.
Lol, P Grant is hardly a Bok.
Carstens is 32 and was hardly the strongest scrummager around.
9 Nov 2011, 22:45 pm
And your front row talks are quite a joke.
We all know Beast and Bismarck are better than Brok Harris or Tiaan Liebenberg, so it really actually is quite funny that Brok Harris and company have won the conference and played the final last year.
Where did Beast and Bismarck get you in the last 2 years of Super Rugby.
If a game was decided on who had the better front row then why are you not doing better than us in Super Rugby??
9 Nov 2011, 23:01 pm
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-122: “won the conference”.
Well done!
“played the final”
Well done!
Light five. Hahaha!
10 Nov 2011, 00:42 am
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-122: “won the conference”…
Hold on…
Hehehehehe
Tears to my eyes….
BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!
10 Nov 2011, 05:17 am
Poor pathetic Stormers have all their funds invested in has-beens like Habana and Jean Div so end up contracting a 2nd tier prop to try and stabilize the marshmallow front row.
10 Nov 2011, 06:28 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-114:

i like them lemons.
@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-120:

oh snap!
10 Nov 2011, 07:15 am
@kwas(kwas)-125:
Marshmallow front row ??????????? that got to last years S14 final and CC final and beat every SA side in S15 rugby this year, what the fark is wrong with the rest then ???
I remember that “marshmallow ” front row destroying the Sharks all Bok (including captain fantastic ) front row att Newlands this year.
But let the Stormers bashing start …….love it !!!
10 Nov 2011, 07:44 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-123:
Haha you won 1 out of 4 games recently against the light 5.
Your name suits you. Wooden Spoon , comments straight from the bottom of the log.
hahahaha. Carry on dreaming about a Meyer Bosman linebreak Guppies.
10 Nov 2011, 07:53 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-124:
For the squad you have on paper .
You guys are pathetic in Super Rugby. You got the whole bok front row. But somehow that does nothing for you really.
As I said to your mate, keep on dreaming of a MEyer Bosman linebreak. It won’t happen.
Go poach some Cheetah youngsters and praise the Sharks academy.
10 Nov 2011, 08:07 am
roll on super rugby…!!
los-bekke on keo gonna be eating humble pie…
not…
most of the other fair-weather fans disappear when their teams lose… so they’ll snivel away like feral dogs up a dark alley-way scrounging in dirt bins for old snoek-heads…
only the WP supporters stay on win or lose and take the good with the bad…
from about 3 lions fans… suddenly everyone’s roaring…
even tacitus admits the bulls only have fans when they win…
sharks can’t even fill up their stadium for the play-off games…
stormers supporters will be here whatever happens… but what of these dik-bek fans from the other provinces…? we beat you all with our ‘lite-5′ this year…
so… shout yourselves up… hehehe…
can’t wait….!!
10 Nov 2011, 08:23 am
@ufo(ufo)-130:
Feral dogs?
You might want to check your hormone levels there.
That’s a very emo start to the day.
Province supporters are no better than any others.
Hardenthefuckup bambi.
10 Nov 2011, 08:27 am
@Gunther(gunther)-131:
all’s good here gunther…
don’t be so sensitive bud…
10 Nov 2011, 08:37 am
well I see that the Carstens and P Grant signings are confirmed……
Of course we also have Van Den Heever and Joe Pieterson.
Persistent rumours about WP Nel…….that would be a great signing Rassie!
Just concerned about the F Louw loss now……
But we shaping up okay……
Hope we can put a sock in the Guppies grootbekke again soon…….
10 Nov 2011, 08:39 am
@Gunther(gunther)-131: Hi G
Cricket was very cool yesterday…perfect toss to win…..now we must finish the job like pronto and then bat….and bat…and bat….and bat somemore…..
Then unleash Tahir!
10 Nov 2011, 08:43 am
@Gunther(gunther)-131:
of course i must be fair and say that you are one of the true bulls supporters and are always around no matter what…
@grant10(grant10)-133:
flo is a big loss… but i think rohan is gonna surprise many this season…
10 Nov 2011, 08:49 am
@grant10(grant10)-133: Yes decent signings indeed. Not sure if you saw the article on Rassie saying he will not make any signings in the pack. Rather trusting the young forwards that have come through.
I tend to agree with that. Why fix whats not broken. The Stormers forward dominated every other forward pack in the comp except the Reds and Crusaders. Those two performances could of been down to form on the day not aptitude of the players.
Our front rankers are also improving and Brok should be hitting his prime soon.
The Stormers team is still extremely strong.
10 Nov 2011, 08:53 am
@ufo(ufo)-135: So 6. Rohan 7. Burger 8. Vermeulen
Bench
19. P. Louw, Koster, Kolisi, Carr
10 Nov 2011, 08:57 am
Sasuke Like’s this (Facebook style)
10 Nov 2011, 09:02 am
I’ve yet to be convinced on R Kitshoff, frankly what i saw of him this past season was dissapointing relative to some of the hype that I heard.
I’m happy to see him bring it on this season though, he is young.
I’d still play Pieter Louw there for starters. Bring the youngsters through as the opportunity allows.
10 Nov 2011, 09:04 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-137:
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-138:
__
| )
___/ )__
____/ __)
___)
____ __)
\______)
10 Nov 2011, 09:05 am
sheesh…
formatting on keo sucks…
that was a ‘like’ sign
10 Nov 2011, 09:07 am
@grant10(grant10)-134:
let’s hope he bowls better than he did yesterday.
a spinner needs to make the ball bounce if it’s goingt to spin
@ufo(ufo)-141:
awesome bud.
10 Nov 2011, 09:09 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-139:
hey bud…
i think he has what it takes to be pretty effective… when he settles in i think (or hope) he will be…
he had very good stats for the world cup… playing for namibia i thought that was quite impressive…
i thought Pieter Louw had not been re-signed… so thought he was not playing for us anymore…
if he is still playing for us… i would also start him… i also think he is a very underrated player… when schalk was injured the PLO filled in very well…
10 Nov 2011, 09:14 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-139:
pieter louw is on his way to the bulls.
as soon as he fiinds decent digs he will be phoning elstadt and that elizabeth dude to join him
10 Nov 2011, 09:14 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-136: yes….must admit though Brock gets overplayed……we need another tighthead….Carstens , Kitshoff, Blaauw all looseheads….
My major concern is F Louw……he was a class act for stormers…..
Rohan Kitshoff is a quality opensider…..but as yet unproven…..and F louw will be difficult to replace.
The younf WP locks, quin Roux and Etsebeth will come through nicely.
Just tighthead and opensider that keeops me awake at night…
P Grant a good signing…..he can play 12 effectively….and with Whitehead abd Sadie gone may have to play a role there as well.
Long, log season….depth and utility players may prove crucial….Grant and Joe fit here perfectly.
10 Nov 2011, 09:18 am
@ufo(ufo)-140: @ufo(ufo)-141: lol cool thanks
10 Nov 2011, 09:18 am
@ufo(ufo)-143: Howzit mate.
Pieter Louw?
Do you knwo where he’s gone?
That would be quite a blow IMO.
10 Nov 2011, 09:21 am
@Gunther(gunther)-144: You joke?
yes agree with your concerns.
I hope Grant makes it for the start of the season…same with Jaque Fourie.
10 Nov 2011, 09:21 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-147:
cool bud…
the grass in always greener on my side…!!
yeah… came as quite a shock to most of us i guess… just read that his contract was not renewed no other news at all about him…
10 Nov 2011, 09:24 am
@Gunther(gunther)-144: upieter louw will fit in very well at the bulls, ugly mofo
10 Nov 2011, 09:24 am
@Gunther(gunther)-144: You’re sh itting me?
Having said that, they could use a decent opensider.
10 Nov 2011, 09:29 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-150:
hawu.
that mole of his would make good muti.
Pieter Louw is very underrated as a fetcher.
10 Nov 2011, 09:30 am
@Gunther(gunther)-131:
he’s got a point though gunth. that stadiums always full come rain or shine and no matter where the stormers are on the log.
perhaps theres an intra dimensional wormhole time portal anomaly thats occures over the precints of newland which cause a mass case of groundhog day phenomena?….but only on days when wp/stormers play (yes, i dont know how that can be explained)… but it would explain why every year is the stormers year…
and as angry as the faithful get at the end of the season…as sure as sshit come next season and the next game…guess who’s year its gonna be….
i respect that….
10 Nov 2011, 09:30 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-151:
truth is, he will probably go overseas.
bulls could use him though.
not joking about that elizabeth dude.
he is on our shopping list.
Bakkies 2.0
10 Nov 2011, 09:33 am
@Gunther(gunther)-154:
etsebeth is signed up tighter’n juju’s beret…
10 Nov 2011, 09:34 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-150:
naughty transie…
10 Nov 2011, 09:35 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-153:
How can you respect someone who is incapable of learning from their mistakes?
10 Nov 2011, 09:35 am
@Gunther(gunther)-154: you know there’d be a civil war here in south africa is the SA Rugby awards had a special Best African Player or Best Coloured Player of the Year
The Rugby World Cup-winning All Blacks dominate the list of nominees for the 2011 New Zealand Rugby Awards to be held in Auckland on December 1
Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year
Israel Dagg, Ngati Kahungunu (Hawkes Bay, Crusaders, All Blacks)
Cory Jane, Ngati Kahungunu (Wellington, Hurricanes, All Blacks)
Piri Weepu, Whakatohea (Wellington, Hurricanes, All Blacks)
10 Nov 2011, 09:38 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-158: lol
10 Nov 2011, 09:39 am
@ufo(ufo)-155:
you always say that about a player and then the next minute we’re reading about their new house in Pretoria in the Cape Argus.
Rumour has it that his contract is looser than Fikile’s zipper.
@Transformation(Transformation)-158:
I thought Izzy was up for the Issac Goldstein best Jewish Player of the Year?
10 Nov 2011, 09:39 am
p louw has not had contract renewed
10 Nov 2011, 09:43 am
@Gunther(gunther)-157:
could bill murray snap annie mcdowel out of the groundhog time loops effects in order to make her realise she was repeating her day over and over, at first? no, not without a helluva effort and after many attempts…wormhole time loops…its a thing…
10 Nov 2011, 09:47 am
@Gunther(gunther)-160: he’s a Maori Jew…eat that!
10 Nov 2011, 09:50 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-162:
er ok.
@Transformation(Transformation)-163:
a maori jew?
kia oyavey.
10 Nov 2011, 09:57 am
@Gunther(gunther)-160:
sheesh man…
don’t remind me…!!
10 Nov 2011, 09:58 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-153:
and i respect that…
10 Nov 2011, 10:03 am
@grant10(grant10)-161: Sheet.
Wonder why?
10 Nov 2011, 10:14 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-163:
how does he require his cultural yearning for the long pig with his religious beliefs?
10 Nov 2011, 10:20 am
@Gunther(gunther)-168: izzy don’t eat no hog!
10 Nov 2011, 11:53 am
@Gunther(gunther)-157:
You say that like there is an alternative.
For real fans, there’s no alternative other than getting behind your team, win or lose. And they get far more respect from me than the thousands who for example abandoned the Bulls in their mid season slump.
Remind us who you support again?
Ah, of course, and it explains your comment perfectly