McCaw incident moves IRB to action

The International Rugby Board is considering extending the window that allows them to cite players for foul play.

This after they were prevented from acting upon evidence of serious foul play during last month’s World Cup final involving France’s Aurelien Rougerie and New Zealand skipper Richie McCaw.

Television footage showed Rougerie raking his hand across McCaw’s face and the governing body believes the midfielder would have faced a lengthy ban had this evidence arisen within the 36-hour window in which citings could happen.

‘The International Rugby Board can confirm that no action can be taken to initiate a citing case following an alleged act of foul play during the Rugby World Cup 2011 Final on 23 October,’ the IRB statement said.

‘[IRB's citing commissioner] Scott Nowland has determined that he cannot cite the alleged act of foul play as the footage emerged outside the citing period and he is unable to bring the matter within the exceptional circumstances provisions contained in the Tournament Disciplinary Rules which deal principally with mistaken identity and where further time is required to identify a player who may have committed an act of foul play.

“Both Unions have been advised of the outcome. The IRB and Rugby World Cup Limited take all acts of foul play seriously. The ongoing review of Regulation 17 governing the disciplinary process will give consideration to tournament rules and IRB Regulations to consider either extending the citing periods or widening the remit of the exceptional circumstance provisions to deal with the emergence of evidential materials following the elapse of the citing period.’

358 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

• 51.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-48: I know saw that. Brussow jumping six foot into the air? Must say that was damn funny from Hurrican had a good laugh… hahahahaha. Gunther… now you have me laughing even more. Olympics for Brussow??? man that was even more funny………..hehehehehe. Can’t stop laughing…hehehe. Good one.

• 52.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-47:

hurricane…

that’s not ALL you’ve heard bud…

you know i am not one of the conspiracists… i’ve made no excuses for the boks exit except we didn’t take our chances and made too many mistakes… and i have congratulated you and the other AB supporters for your win…

all i was asking was why now…?

your point about eye-gouging becoming more prevalent is a good one…

• 53.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-52:
    UFo, isee what your saying mate but i cant tell you. I am not going to
    talk to muach rubbish on here as i was found out by Gunther on the 6 foot dive in the air
    from Brussow.

• 54.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-52:

the good news is , now that we have extended the citing window, we can go after the Moan thugs for 4 world cups worth of muggins.

there is probably a clause somewhere that says it only counts if the the victim is a Ball Sack.

• 55.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-35: Agree.

I actually thought there would have been citings after that Samoa game. None came. How that Welsh ref got to ref after such a abysmal reffing is strange. He should have been dropped straight after but was awarded to ref one of the quarter finals and AR in the final.

• 56.The Gloater - formerly cane: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-49:

Yes, and Susie was Dannie Cravens love child.

• 57.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-53:

don’t stress hurricane…

and don’t even think of quitting or not pitching up for the banter…

your company and input is enjoyed and appreciated… (can’t talk on his behalf but..) i’m sure even gunther would say the same…

• 58.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-39: First minute of the test series! Utterly disgraceful.

• 59.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-54:

yeah… if they do open the window we must definitely go back and see who we can cite… :evil:

@Puma(Puma)-55:

yeah puma…

that welsh rabbit shoulda been boiled…!!

• 60.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-54:
    Yeah the fine print is if you wear a Sprinkbok on your clothing anywhere
    then your window is only 1 week,IRB have to make up the loss of weeks somewhere.

• 61.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-53: That was actually bloody funny Hurricane. I read that six foot dive and heck could not stop laughing. Good one mate. Damn funny that. Especially if you think of the height and frame of Brussow made it even more funny. Then Gunther with the Olympic option for Brussow. Probably only disc throwing or weight lifting but not diving or jumping any heights………………hehehehehe.

• 62.The Gloater - formerly cane: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-50:

SA will get three Golds in London.
    1- The Saffa dude with the bionic legs in the 200M.
    2- Carsten Semenya in either the mens or the womens 800.
    3- And now Hienrik in the High Jump.

That will be 3 more medals than they got last time.

• 63.Puma: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-58: I remember and it was a shame for him. Was he not captain at the time as well? Think he was but not sure. Felt for him. A BIL tour to NZ and SA is really special for players in the BIL. He missed the whole tour cause of that.

@ufo(ufo)-59: He should have been.

• 64.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-58:
    Well seen as i am a friend of Tana and talked to him on this he said it was an accident.
    I believe him. He was actually trying to get BOD away and trying to get him of balance, he didnt know Mealamu had dold of the other leg and was lifting.
    What happened to BOD was terrible, no doubt about it but it wasnt Tana intention for this to happen, he sint that type of guy. But i cant talk for Mealamu.

• 65.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

If Suzie existed and the ABs were poisoned, do u really think they wouldnt have taken some of that kotz 2 be tested as proof instead of creating this myth like the Loch Ness Monster.

• 66.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-54: what is up with the ANC dudes, now they want to take over everyone’s girlfriends, yesses! :D

Mphela in bar brawl over girlfriend
    09 Nov 2011 | Zenoyise Madikwa |

AN ANC heavyweight got more than he bargained for when he tried to “steal” Katlego Mphela’s pretty partner.

North West ANC deputy chairman China Dodovu tried to woo the girl at Club Moloko in Pretoria on Friday.

Bafana Bafana and Mamelodi Sundowns striker Katlego Mphela and Dodovu were guests at Club Moloko in Pretoria for Tony’s Crib fashion show.

Dubbed “Killer” because of his penchant for goals and running the opposition ragged, Mphela would have none of Dodovu’s moves.

Eyewitnesses told Sowetan that a scuffle ensued between the two men. It was only ended by the quick intervention of the bouncers, who separated them.

Mphela also allegedly said that Dodovu always took his girlfriends.

Sources close to Dodovu said he and the woman, who is a student, started dating during the 2010 World Cup.

“Dodovu was shocked to see the woman with Mphela,” said one witness.

Club Moloko manager Monty Denalane confirmed the incident.

“It was Katlego’s friend who started all the trouble. He apparently got angry because the other guy (Dodovu) was disturbing Katlego’s girlfriend. Our bouncers came and stopped the fight.”

But Dodovu denied having a fight with Mphela.

He said he was not at the event and did not fight with anyone over a woman.

“I do not know what you are talking about. I am a happily married man with children. I would never fight with anyone over any woman but my wife. I have never met Katlego personally in my life.”

Asked about what happened, Mphela first denied he was at Moloko. Pressed for more answers, he said he was at the venue but did not have a fight with anyone.

“I was just socialising with my friend,” he said before saying no comment and dropping his phone

• 67.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-57:

don’t pander to him.

treat him like a kiwi.

keep your foot on his throat.

hard.

• 68.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-61:
    Yeah, Brussow isnt the tallest of humans.
    In another posts i added he put on a double sommersault into a backflip onto a spectators lap in the stadium.
    Just shows you all that i think Brussow can do anything.

• 69.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-66:

these guys are a fukking law unto themselves.

the ANC has become a haven for pimps, thieves and liars.

I am one step away from calling for my machine gun.

• 70.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-68: hahahaha. Never saw that post…lol.

Yip our Brussow is invincible……..hehehe

• 71.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-67:

with my long-stud boots…!! hehehe

• 72.Puma: Reply to this comment

@The Gloater – formerly cane(cane)-56: :)

• 73.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-67:
    Hmmm behind those words of steel Gunther i know ya like me around.

• 74.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Jeez whats up with Kepler Wessles ? he is looking like a little old man, has he had an illness ?

• 75.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-65: :lol:

You have a point Hugs……. :)

• 76.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-69: now this is serious, and they’re talking to Puma here :D

“The average South African drinks one small bakkie load worth of drinks a year, or 20.1 litres of pure alcohol, he said. “If we had a world boozing cup, South Africa wouldn’t even have to practice.”

With 7,000 people killed by drunken drivers or from driving while drunk every year, Eberlein warned binge drinking was a serious problem.

About 37% of the population drink from early Friday afternoon until Monday morning, staying drunk all weekend.

“The worst of it all is on Monday when 10% of the people on the road are likely to be drunk,” Eberlein said

• 77.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-74: ja he was sick alright, it’s called “boning other people’s wives” ;)

• 78.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-65:
    Hmmm loch ness monster is real.
    Saw Bigfoot and Loch ness skinning dipping in lake Taupo the other day.

• 79.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

huzzit Puma, shame looks like he has shrunk.

• 80.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-76:
    Nice first line

• 81.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-76:

please man.

Puma is a lightweight.

3 glasses of merlot and he is mapu.

• 82.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-77:

hai sies.

naka has it too.

en cheeky.

• 83.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

77@transie…he would be strapping healthy boytjie 2 be that.

• 84.stew: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-44: I do agree with you that SA takes more punishment from Citings especially in 2010 ….. Do SA ever cite other countries for foul play ???? It does seem very rare if they do ?

• 85.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-76: Should be zero alcohol allowed to drive. Only way to go to stop it.

Read they will be bringing that in sometime next year. Should be here for the holiday season.

Driving drunk overseas is seriously frown apon. Should be the same here. Zero tolerance for drunk drivers. Take their licence away from them for life. Make them walk cause there is just about no decent public transport in this country.

• 86.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I hope this new window is big enough for the IRB to toss that thug, Bradley Thorne, out of it for his cowardly spear on our captain. Second biggest travesty of justice in rugby history.

After Bryce’s big payday, of course.

• 87.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-85: frown = frowned

• 88.Puma: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-86: Agree.

• 89.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

78@Hurricane… :roll: shhhh you are going 2 create anothe NZ myth :mrgreen:

• 90.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-78: Those were just two local girls cooling off.

• 91.Puma: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-84: We hardly cite. Though think at a world cup it is not up to the team to cite but the citing officers. Think in tests it is the same.

• 92.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-81: hehehehe. No light weight at all can handle more than that.

Have you ever had Scots around for weeks and weeks on holiday? Try keeping up with them….hehe. That is a test I tell ya. My liver still getting over the damage……….lol. Thank heavens they gone home now….lol.

• 93.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-86:
    Wasnt a spear tackle, he landed on his a$$, but again we have been over this, dangerous tackle…yes…..spear tackle..no.
    Although what Brad did was wrong it did make Smit think the next time he starts pushing someone head into the dirt, the guy might get up and own him, make him his littlebitch.

• 94.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-90:
    In fact it was me skinny dipping, suppose to say its a foot long and its a monster, again sorry, typing been woeful today

• 95.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-85: everything you saying is right but tell me how are you going to police people BOOZING at a stadium during a game and then walking out to braai and DRINK some more outside Kings Park out their cars and THEN driving home?

if you arrest 20 of them, how many will got to King’s Park again instead of sitting @ home & watching on tv and braai, drink to their hearts content.

i bet you now, grant is on his 2nd Castle Draught at Newlands, if he gets arrested then Castle loses.

• 96.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-90:

holiha.

that’ll leave a mark.

• 97.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-93: Ja, Smits tackle on Brad the following year was massive. Revenge sometimes is sweet…..lol. Ag, they probably had a laugh after and a beer or 3 together.

• 98.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-93: With all due respect (which admittedly is not that much), you’re talking from your @nus.

Again.

How Smit fell doesn’t alter the fact that he was speared.

If Thorne was wearing green and gold, we’d just about be ready now for his return to rugby after his ban.

• 99.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-95: Most that I know from where I live take turns to be the driver. One don’t drink.

There is also ‘Good Fellas’ they call to drive them home.

I know we have a massive party at Kings Park before and after the game, but there are so many road blocks on the way home in every direction. Doubt they will ever take a chance. If they are caught I hope they are seriously dealt with. Somehow think like I said most have a sober driver for the night with them. Or use ‘Good Fellas’ Way to go I think. Just don’t drink and drive. Costs too many lives.

• 100.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-98:
    Thank You Katman.
    I have been practicing my an@l language so i can fit in, glad you understood what i was saying.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.