McCaw incident moves IRB to action
9 Nov 2011
The International Rugby Board is considering extending the window that allows them to cite players for foul play.
This after they were prevented from acting upon evidence of serious foul play during last month’s World Cup final involving France’s Aurelien Rougerie and New Zealand skipper Richie McCaw.
Television footage showed Rougerie raking his hand across McCaw’s face and the governing body believes the midfielder would have faced a lengthy ban had this evidence arisen within the 36-hour window in which citings could happen.
‘The International Rugby Board can confirm that no action can be taken to initiate a citing case following an alleged act of foul play during the Rugby World Cup 2011 Final on 23 October,’ the IRB statement said.
‘[IRB's citing commissioner] Scott Nowland has determined that he cannot cite the alleged act of foul play as the footage emerged outside the citing period and he is unable to bring the matter within the exceptional circumstances provisions contained in the Tournament Disciplinary Rules which deal principally with mistaken identity and where further time is required to identify a player who may have committed an act of foul play.
“Both Unions have been advised of the outcome. The IRB and Rugby World Cup Limited take all acts of foul play seriously. The ongoing review of Regulation 17 governing the disciplinary process will give consideration to tournament rules and IRB Regulations to consider either extending the citing periods or widening the remit of the exceptional circumstance provisions to deal with the emergence of evidential materials following the elapse of the citing period.’

358 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 » Show All
9 Nov 2011, 13:56 pm
@Bod(bod)-142:
that’s because he has released his inner hairdresser and bought a renault.
the words renault and contentment have neve appeared in the same sentence.
even in french.
9 Nov 2011, 14:00 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-151:
I am shattered
Katters will just never be Katters without his Tazz and Bobby Locke autograph, hickory shaft irons
9 Nov 2011, 14:02 pm
@Bod(bod)-152:
Sheesus.
Is he even alive?
(bobby not katters).
9 Nov 2011, 14:02 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-151: Ja, the closest I’ve come is renault and incontinence.
They have the resale value of Bulls fan’s CD collection.
9 Nov 2011, 14:03 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-149: I once knew a New Zealander in China and she was a pretty fine specimen indeed.
Where did it all go wrong with you?
9 Nov 2011, 14:05 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-153:
No he is long gone, but his golf clubs memories live on… in Katter’s golf bag
9 Nov 2011, 14:06 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-154:
sheesh.
that’s not good news for me.
9 Nov 2011, 14:07 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-127: Take a chill pill, both my comments were rip-offs of Poppo and Grant
9 Nov 2011, 14:08 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-157: Maybe if you break it up. But trying to flog Meatloaf, Juanita and Vangelis together will only work if the buyer is also from Petoria East.
9 Nov 2011, 14:10 pm
@Bod(bod)-156: I haven’t played in over a year, and I’d still take your money. At least I don’t threaten people on the adjacent green with my T-shots.
9 Nov 2011, 14:14 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-160:
Its an art… its called “working the ball” left to right or visa versa. Watch and learn..
9 Nov 2011, 14:16 pm
@Bod(bod)-161: Sounds like Bod with his hands in his pockets and that faraway look on his face.
9 Nov 2011, 14:16 pm
Jeez isn’t sneaking the Bill enough!!
I don’t think there was ever much to the incident and I suppose the French were just trying to encourage Tricky Ricky back to his side of the “ruck”. If it was still rucking allowed, McCaw would have been in plastic surgery.
I think Henry, Paddy o’Brien or Jim Lawrence (Brycie’s Dad and guardian angel) finally eased out of the haze of free booze provided by the NZRFU to watch another replay of the final but vaguaely sober this time. Someone probably paused the replay to fetch a grog while McCaw’s haka make up was being re-done and Paddy or wee Paddy sees a “gouging”. He’s going to act on this when he gets back to Dublin. Another few weeks pass, Henry probably instructs him to act. This is the result.
It’s just the start. Gloater (very apt name that) is going to get the IRB to cite Danie Craven. As he’s from NZ and the IRB are clueless, he’ll probably succeed.
9 Nov 2011, 14:17 pm
@Bod(bod)-156:
poor bugger turning in his grave every time katters nudges one along the ground through exta cover off the tee box.
9 Nov 2011, 14:18 pm
@Bod(bod)-155:
How many wooden spoons can you fit in the cabinet of yours?
9 Nov 2011, 14:18 pm
Bill Reyt’s mothereffing VIP box is still in its moer.
Does ANYONE know of a decent stream to watch the cricket???????
9 Nov 2011, 14:20 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-162:
clearly that’s why el bod has moved to spain.
the golf courses of the western cape have taken a stand.
and william booth wasn’t prepared to represent him any more.
9 Nov 2011, 14:20 pm
Good shout. Should ask for review.
9 Nov 2011, 14:21 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-164: I think extra cover is being a tad to generous on ol Katters
Forward short leg is far more more apt to Katters length off the tee
9 Nov 2011, 14:22 pm
@Helen(Helen)-158: i’m quite chilled, i know you’re unimaginatively trying to rip-off poppa, i was also asking facetiously.
9 Nov 2011, 14:23 pm
@Bod(bod)-169: Whatever the length, at least it’s more or less forward.
But asking the guys on the green 90 degrees to the right to halt their putting so you can play your second (which is now further than your first), wel, I’ve never been so embarrassed…
9 Nov 2011, 14:24 pm
Totsiens Ricky.
Next!
9 Nov 2011, 14:25 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-165: Quite a few if I toss out your stirring spoon.
Now lets talk matters of relevance. Spew us with yours pearls of wisdom on cricketing matters and more specifically your take on the Black Craps.
9 Nov 2011, 14:25 pm
gottim yes.
on yer bike rickster.
9 Nov 2011, 14:26 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-171: No, surely driving the Tazz was far more embarrassing.
Ponting out??
I am going to throttle Bill Reyts and his mothereffing VIP Box..
9 Nov 2011, 14:27 pm
@Bod(bod)-173:
shampies.
our man in china loves his stirring spoon.
he eats his noodles with it as well.
9 Nov 2011, 14:30 pm
@Bod(bod)-175:
extraball was another one who knew about free interweb cricket watching.
he’s been scarce though.
I think his neighbour discovered he was stealing his bandwidth.
Either that or one of his students has summoned up the courage to take him to task for inappropriate touching.
9 Nov 2011, 14:32 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-176: Somehow I dont think it was China that stood in front of that tank in Tianemin Square
9 Nov 2011, 14:33 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-176: Extraball is in SA. he might be @ Newlands as we speak.
9 Nov 2011, 14:34 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-176: he thinks it’s noodles
9 Nov 2011, 14:38 pm
@Bod(bod)-178:
china is a lover not a fighter.
@Transformation(Transformation)-179:
sitting in the SACOS boxing filling his tuppaware hiding appletiser bottles in his pockets.
I shall take my farlookers to see if I can spot him.
9 Nov 2011, 14:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-179: I think I saw him in the crowd. Like a fatter version of Alan Boesak with a free Mandela T-shirt (not free as in liberate, but free as in a hand-out).
He had a banner that said “Cricket: not exactly science, but I like it!”
Was this ET?
9 Nov 2011, 14:44 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-182:
Boesak is no waif.
Elna smuggled him plenty of koeksisters when he was inside.
steyn all over pup like a cheap suit.
9 Nov 2011, 14:46 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-181: hehehe he said he was going to be here for the aussie series and was coming to PE for “meetings” and that i must watch my back at the Humewood Virging Active where i go, so i invited him for a swim at the gym instead of practising his doggystyle in his mama’s bathtub.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-182: yeah that sounds like our ExtraTesticle, he’ll be more likely supporting Aus than us.
9 Nov 2011, 14:46 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-183: I hope you’re talking about jail there.
Steyn has some aggro in his belly. Good to see.
9 Nov 2011, 14:50 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-184:
he won’t be supporting the arch racists that’s for sure.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-185:
sies.
that sounds like a recipe for chlamidia.
9 Nov 2011, 14:55 pm
This Sean Marsh guy looks impressive. Good technique off the quick stuff.
His father was “caught behind” first ball of the 92′ World Cup off Donald.
9 Nov 2011, 15:29 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-187: You killed off a very interesting, informative and amusing thread. Are you happy now? Why the fuckk couldn’t you go and play elsewhere you fuckking dumb d00s? I hate you! Do you hear me? I HATE YOU JERALDJAY, P0ES!!!!
9 Nov 2011, 15:35 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-188: jeepuz…easy dude
9 Nov 2011, 15:35 pm
@husky(husky)-163:
Good post mate.
I distrust anything that comes out of Paddy O’Brien’s mouth – if we are going to introduce longer-period witchhunts (which will never, ever apply to a New Zeland player under his watch) for dirty play – why don’t we do the same with crooked reffing and bring to the table the endless partiality and shocking decisions going the All Blacks way under his watch?
It will hours, if not days, to get through it all. Starting with the World Cup final that alone would take a week.
9 Nov 2011, 15:51 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-188: So what’s your opinion on Jeraldjay?
9 Nov 2011, 15:52 pm
@husky(husky)-163: brycie’s pop is keith “get the yarpies” lawrence…get it right
9 Nov 2011, 15:54 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-185: gunther’s talking about what morne always does when meisiekind is playing inside him.
9 Nov 2011, 16:07 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-191: Intense dislike. I doubt whether he’ll ever make an appearance again though.
9 Nov 2011, 16:15 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-187: The damage is permanent,fuckking idiot…
9 Nov 2011, 16:22 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-187: Marsh is OUT – “good technique against the fast stuff”? Guess who got him? Steyn. Yes, Steyn the fastest bowler in world cricket.
You know fuckkall about cricket. Go find a rugby site, you bloody cuntt.
9 Nov 2011, 16:25 pm
Its like watching a good episode of something on tv and suddenly losing signal
9 Nov 2011, 16:28 pm
@Finfan… eish doll thats not nice.
9 Nov 2011, 16:30 pm
I’m actually doing Keo’s dirty work. This Jeraldjay imbecile is costing him big bucks. Arseh0le.
9 Nov 2011, 16:36 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-198: My sincere apologies Treehugger. I was unaware that there was a lady present. I don’t normally use inappropriate language but Jeraldjay was looking for trouble (ET in disguise, I’m sure) – and the aircon in my office is broken.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 » Show All