McCaw incident moves IRB to action
9 Nov 2011
The International Rugby Board is considering extending the window that allows them to cite players for foul play.
This after they were prevented from acting upon evidence of serious foul play during last month’s World Cup final involving France’s Aurelien Rougerie and New Zealand skipper Richie McCaw.
Television footage showed Rougerie raking his hand across McCaw’s face and the governing body believes the midfielder would have faced a lengthy ban had this evidence arisen within the 36-hour window in which citings could happen.
‘The International Rugby Board can confirm that no action can be taken to initiate a citing case following an alleged act of foul play during the Rugby World Cup 2011 Final on 23 October,’ the IRB statement said.
‘[IRB's citing commissioner] Scott Nowland has determined that he cannot cite the alleged act of foul play as the footage emerged outside the citing period and he is unable to bring the matter within the exceptional circumstances provisions contained in the Tournament Disciplinary Rules which deal principally with mistaken identity and where further time is required to identify a player who may have committed an act of foul play.
“Both Unions have been advised of the outcome. The IRB and Rugby World Cup Limited take all acts of foul play seriously. The ongoing review of Regulation 17 governing the disciplinary process will give consideration to tournament rules and IRB Regulations to consider either extending the citing periods or widening the remit of the exceptional circumstance provisions to deal with the emergence of evidential materials following the elapse of the citing period.’

358 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All
10 Nov 2011, 08:07 am
Leave it alone. There is plenty of time for a citing as it is.
10 Nov 2011, 08:17 am
The IRB are not helping themselves. This is just further evidence that the IRB scripted the World Cup. I am disappointed about this.
10 Nov 2011, 08:23 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-251:
I assume teams have the right to cite players from the other team, in which case I am in your camp on this.
Back in 2005 when Kev and Tana upended BoD resulting in him being sidelined for the rest of the Lions tour, the citing commissioner apparently left the country the day after the game and before Woodward got around to deciding the tackle was illegal.
WTF, if you think a foul has been committed during a game. the complaint form should be sticking to the ref’s door beofre he gets back to the room after the game.
As it is, 36 hours is plenty of time. If a team doesn’t think it was worth lodging a complaint within that time, then in all probability they were right in not doing so.
10 Nov 2011, 08:26 am
Then the rest of the World can go back and get evidence on Richie and his countless cheating…they can cite him for that and with the build up of all the yellow cards he should of got in his career i reckon he should be banned for about 2 years. Ja 2 years sounds about right.
Then the Irb can also nab Tana and Mealamu for dropping Tutu on his neck.
This can actually turn out ugly for the All Blacks with all their cheating and foul play.
If i where them i would ask the IRB to stop the investigation.
10 Nov 2011, 08:27 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-252:
Okay I will humour you.
Exactly why would the IRB, a body which has the majority of its voting rights held by NH Unions, want to single out NZ for special favouritsm.
Why not favour France for example?
10 Nov 2011, 08:29 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-254:
Don’t be an idiot.
Even if the rules were changed, they would not apply retrospectively.
10 Nov 2011, 08:33 am
@Brads(Brads)-253:
A team can ask the citing commissioner to look at a specific incedent but the citing commissioner is the sole judge on who gets cited.
10 Nov 2011, 08:34 am
@Brads(Brads)-253: Agree. They should not go to such extreme measures. If the team doesnt cite why bother. I am sure the NZRU can go to the IRB and ask them to withdraw the investigation.
Would be another thing if Suarez McCaw was seriously injured from the offence then yes by all means extend the citing period.
10 Nov 2011, 08:39 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-257:
That is what I thought it was, but from the comments by some bloggers it appeared this had changed and it was handed over to the individual teams to decide.
As it is, the citing is only that a citing. It still has to be proven.
10 Nov 2011, 08:40 am
@Brads(Brads)-255: They foolishly believe that the way the All Blacks play rugby is the only way to play. Why do you think they change the rules everyone year to suit the All Blacks style of play?
Also when that earthquake struck Christchurch the World Cup was won for NZ.
I am probably still quietly seething from the Boks early exit. Dont pay me to much attention. Just let me vent in peace! lol
10 Nov 2011, 08:43 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-258:
A team can’t withdraw a citing on an opposition player surely.
If there is foul play it is against the rules of the game and has to be dealt with.
Just like a brawl during a club game and the teams all “kissing” and making up after the match over a few beers. Those sorts of incidents don’t get swept away, the Union normally comes down hard on the players or even the club afte they receive a match report.
10 Nov 2011, 08:47 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-260:
Vent all you like, but over the events that occurred on field. Those are a matter of opinion.
Where I take exception is the extension of the disappointment to accusations that the whole event was orchestrated.
10 Nov 2011, 08:51 am
Looking at the posts above, it is clear that if you blog on this site, THE time to avoid blogging is in the deep, dark hours of the night.
That is when the bell chimes and all things dark and murky wake up and arise out of the graveyards of those grim 2 little islands down south and infiltrate this site, spewing forth their tales of garbage and woe
Scary bunch… kak country
10 Nov 2011, 08:52 am
@Brads(Brads)-262: save your breath Brads, a fair few of them have bought the conspiracy hook, line and sinker…
they truly believe it, which is sad… its what they use to make up for the failings in their rugby and to ease the hurt of their 1/4 final ignominy… no drop goals with all that possession? eish…
10 Nov 2011, 08:55 am
@Bod(bod)-263: that kak country holds the World Cup, that kak country has a better head to head result with not only your country, but EVERY country..
so if youre talking kak, well Springbokke Rugby is K@K
8th place nobodies…
wonderful, be proud..
10 Nov 2011, 08:56 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-260:
You have to be kidding.
Piss off and vent your foolish views somewhere else.
I hope you are not saying more corruption in IRB seen as we had a killer earthquake??
@Brads(Brads)-259:
Yeah well, you know what they say, repeat a lie often enough…
@Bod(bod)-263:
So you are saying the only sane time to blog on this site is during daylight hours, NZ time.
10 Nov 2011, 09:00 am
@Bod(bod)-263:
I noticed you didnt reply to me on the other thread about Christchurch.
I know why as you looked foolish and like a little baby still crying over the Boks.
Calling a city that just had hundreds of poeple killed as a kak city and complaining that we didnt re build another 45000 plus stadium, not realising people still struggling with homes etc. Just shows how much you even think about anything.
Do what you said and avoid this time of the day, we dont need any of your lonesome cry baby dumbass views on here
10 Nov 2011, 09:04 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-269: gotta admit thought, if I was a bok supporter Id be crying too..
havent you seen them play?
10 Nov 2011, 09:05 am
@Bod(bod)-263:
2 islands you say?
South Island
North Island
Stewart Island
Chatham Island
Auckland Island
Great Barrier Island
Resolution Island
d’Urville Island
Campbell Island
Adams Island
Waiheke Island
Secretary Island
Arapawa Island
Pitt Island
Matakana Island
Raoul Island
Little Barrier Island
Rangitoto Island
Antipodes Island
Kapiti Island
Kawau Island
Long Island, Southland
Cooper Island
Ponui Island
Great Mercury Island
Ruapuke Island
Anchor Island
Motutapu Island
Codfish Island
Mayor Island
Coal Island
Motiti Island
Big South Cape Island
10 Nov 2011, 09:06 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-265: How do you know we placed 8th at the World Cup?
10 Nov 2011, 09:07 am
@Brads(Brads)-268:
I like BOD on here. He such a pu$$y and easy beat its damn embarrasing.
Sometimes i feel sorry for him then he posts again then all that goes out the window
10 Nov 2011, 09:08 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-272: because you made the final eight and didnt progress any further
10 Nov 2011, 09:09 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-272:
Ask yourself or ya keo mates, even Big HIt.
Somehow you guys came up with it, when we lost the QFs in 2007, we were 8th in the world. NOt our rules but your own.
10 Nov 2011, 09:09 am
@Bod(bod)-263:
ssshhhhhh.
now you have woken the preciousnesses.
10 Nov 2011, 09:10 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-270: There is more than one way to skin a cat and more than one way to play rugby. You new zealanders think your way is the only way. Arrogant ********.
10 Nov 2011, 09:13 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-274: Lol there was other teams that also made the final 8. Of those that got knock out at the quarters i think England was the weakest. So….8. England 7. Argentina 6. Ireland 5. Boks!!! lol
@Gunther(gunther)-276: lol
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-275: sorry if that was the case
I would love to chat with you guys but work beckons.
Safe
10 Nov 2011, 09:14 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-274: ia see your cousing is up cooking more rule changes for you okes
IRB boss: Bigger role for TMO
Published: Tuesday, 1. November, 2011
International Rugby Board referees boss Paddy O’Brien says the authority of television match officials is likely to be extended on a trial basis next year and could be permanently increased.
O’Brien said protocols were currently being drafted which would “extend the use” of TMOs in trial matches in both the Northern and Southern Hemispheres in 2012.
Television match officials currently can only rule on incidents in the in-goal area.
The new protocols would likely extend their authority to the field of play, allowing them to advise the referee of foul play or forward passes in the lead-up to a try.
O’Brien told a business luncheon in Queenstown on Monday that “protocols around this have yet to be established, but it is likely to be trialed in the new year”.
10 Nov 2011, 09:15 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-277: please, show me the post in four odd years where Ive ever stated that belief?
but as world champions we are used to being the trendsetters, why even one or perhaps two of your provincial sides are starting to play a “NZ style”
do they know something you and I dont?
10 Nov 2011, 09:17 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-279: he did send me the update email on it, but hey, it was you Saffas who got the ball rolling on that one..
some ruling by a TMO somewhere started it all didnt it?
10 Nov 2011, 09:19 am
@Gunther(gunther)-276: ask yourself, why is Paddy O’Brien a guest a “business luncheons”? why would new zealanders fete him, he didn’t play any part in delivering the world cup?
10 Nov 2011, 09:21 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-281: hahahaha we’re glad to be of service to your couz…but why did he lambast our meuwessen if indeed he was going to “trial” the same thing next year?
paddy the pedantic.
10 Nov 2011, 09:21 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-279:
Hang on. If we look back you guys were all in favour for the TMOs to have more say.
As you backed the TMO the disallowed an AB try.
I hope you hanvt changed your view now?
10 Nov 2011, 09:22 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-282: lol fuel them fires trans…
paddy was there to pick up his keys to the farm Hayman turned down, good tax write off for the financially troubled NZRFU..
10 Nov 2011, 09:23 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-279:
Do you disagree with the changes then, simply because Paddy introduced them?
10 Nov 2011, 09:24 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-283:
So if a rule change is going to happen next year, do you think you South Africans should play that rule a year before anyone else?
10 Nov 2011, 09:24 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-283: he invoked the Lawrence clause which is a little known rider (always read the fineprint) in the IRB Laws schedule, Meuswessen (sp?) is lucky that Paddy was in a good mood that day ..
10 Nov 2011, 09:26 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-287: I smell a conspiracy…. like the SA/Aus alliance of a few years ago..
b@stards!
10 Nov 2011, 09:27 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-282:
time for the bent to kiwi to go.
he’s had four years plus calling the shots and bending the rules.
time to move on.
10 Nov 2011, 09:28 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-287:
No, they continue to play to the same rules as the previous year, and complain about not getting the memo.
10 Nov 2011, 09:31 am
@Gunther(gunther)-290:
Actually i am with you, not about the bent Kiwi but Paddy has done his dash.
Obviously he is the cause of every Bok loss in the last 5 odd years, i dont know how you guys handle the losses so well,knowing that every loss you are the better team.
Hats of to you all.
10 Nov 2011, 09:34 am
@Brads(Brads)-268: NZ time is inconsequential….
10 Nov 2011, 09:36 am
@Bod(bod)-293:
We enjoy it
10 Nov 2011, 09:38 am
@Brads(Brads)-294: yep, we have four more years of “NZ time” to enjoy being called World champions at all levels of rugby..
has that been done in SA time? insignificant indeed…
10 Nov 2011, 09:41 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-269: Cry me a river. I never mentioned no pity about the people….we alldfeel for those who have suffered.
If you took the blinkers off and actually read the post , your self imposed superior intellect might just kick in. Christchurch was a kak town before the quake, AMI stadium was a kak stadium before the quake, the League stadium was a kak stadium before the quake, New Zealand was a kak place before the quake.
As ststed, our hearts all go out to those that suffered, but the facts dont change…. the status quo remains after the quake…. kak towns, kak stadiums, kak country.
Full stop… now build a bridge and get over it
10 Nov 2011, 09:44 am
@Brads(Brads)-294: As I have said before… there are actually one or two stable kiwis floating around.
Note I said one or two…
10 Nov 2011, 09:45 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-271: Who cares?
10 Nov 2011, 09:48 am
@Gunther(gunther)-276:
Yegads.
The graveyard shift is over… its now prime time
10 Nov 2011, 09:51 am
@Bod(bod)-297:
I have never met or seen a single Kiwi floating around
But then I live on Earth
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All