WP won’t rush stadium decision
10 Nov 2011
WP president Tobie Titus says it will be a long time yet before the union makes a final decision regarding a move to the Cape Town Stadium.
On Thursday, Die Burger, reported that Western Province was once again in talks with Cape Town’s City Council about a possible move to the Green Point venue. Titus has since responded on WP’s official website.
‘Whilst we continue to remain open to considering our position, a considerable number of important elements would need to be resolved, including what the best financial model for WP Rugby would be,’ Titus said.
‘Any decision would need to be taken by the General Council of the WPRFU. At the moment no such decision has been taken and no such decision is pending. WPRFU will continue to play all official league Super Rugby, Currie Cup and Test rugby at Newlands.’
The Cape Town Stadium boasts a capacity of 55 000. Newlands hosted close to 50 000 fans for the Super Rugby semi-final earlier this year.

648 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All
11 Nov 2011, 07:57 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-597: Hi Bill
Never experienced a cricket day like yesterday….absolute carnage….
We will need to focus like never before….that track is tricky….ball biting off the seam….
Need to be positive….and hopefully track will flatten a bit being 3 rd day and all…..
Gunther the resident expert…..would like his perspectives….been fascinating!
11 Nov 2011, 07:58 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-591: Stormers will finish higher then the Sharks this Super 15. The Sharks have no backline.
11 Nov 2011, 07:59 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-602: hey broer – you really want to go there, it’s not even new-year yet?
11 Nov 2011, 07:59 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-602: and there fans have no backbone
11 Nov 2011, 08:07 am
@grant10(grant10)-604: a shark might not have backbone but surely the rugby supporters have….
11 Nov 2011, 08:09 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-578:
you don’t need a train to get to the Cape Town Stadium… you can walk… or drive of course…!
and if you’ve ever been to Newlands you’ll know that only a small number of fans actually use the train…
11 Nov 2011, 08:21 am
So, Bryce Lawrence has been nominated for top NZ referee in 2011.
And he’s been selected on the S15 panel for next year. Break a leg buddy.
Cant wait to have him ref a game at Kings Park.
11 Nov 2011, 08:22 am
SANZAR have announced that Lawrence have made it onto their merit panel for next year’s Super Rugby tournament.
11 Nov 2011, 08:23 am
have = has…
sorry john, your post came up while i was writing mine…
11 Nov 2011, 08:25 am
@ufo(ufo)-606:
Another way to get there is to paddle.
Easiest is by surfski or kayak- a person can launch at Milnerton beach (just be sure to wait for a lull in the surf as the beachbreak can be treacherous) and then paddle out to the left and cross the harbour (be careful when crossing the shipping lines- it is illegal but nobody really cares but it wont be fun if you get run over by an ocean liner) and then take a sharp left and land at the Oceanic Power Boat club. There are nice changing sacilities and a great pub with cold beer, tv screen, swimming pool etc.
From there one can walk to the stadium- it’s very close.
When returning home you wont have to worry about road traps by over eager cops- and there are usually no Johnies on that side of the bay so it will be a relatively safe paddle – if its dark just remember to take a headlight or somethiong similar and also a flare or two.
11 Nov 2011, 08:27 am
@Staal(Staal)-605: nee wat….shaky fans net groot bekke
min in die broeke
11 Nov 2011, 08:28 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-610: might just try that next time…
klink na die ware jakob!
11 Nov 2011, 08:29 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-610: lol
classic….
11 Nov 2011, 08:30 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-610:
now THAT’S how it should be done Rob…!!
who needs the road less travelled when you can take to the water…? with a pub stop along the way!!
great info bud…!
11 Nov 2011, 08:34 am
mayhem at Newlands by all accounts…..traffic gone mad as cricket fans flock to the ground.
please proteas….dont do a Bok and choke!
I dont know if I can handle any more failure….
11 Nov 2011, 08:37 am
more and more ‘ noise’ about SA Rugby looking North for our future.
I have always been a supporter of this.
Sanzar is a dead duck ……
About time we headed out of there and looked at the North options….the sooner the better…take the Argies with us
11 Nov 2011, 08:38 am
@grant10(grant10)-615: get yourselve some Prozac,Valium and Ritalin.
It works for me! Go BIG!
11 Nov 2011, 08:42 am
@Staal(Staal)-617: when i’ve got all that stuff in i am so relaxed “als hang oop”!
11 Nov 2011, 08:43 am
@grant10(grant10)-615:
good lord man, the boks did not choke…i mean honestly now…come on…
11 Nov 2011, 08:47 am
@Staal(Staal)-617: ja
already had a myprodol
weekend here so its also some Chinese Herbs and a few liver tablets….
Great thing about Proteas is I always expect the worst so the pain is never really that acute…..
its those damn boks that sometimes break my heart.
I have also become immune to the stormers and wp pain….I also expect the worst there…..
11 Nov 2011, 08:49 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-619: it was the biggest choke in the history of the game …ever…
all caused by your fat boy who put himself ahead of the team
dont get me started….asseblief
i may need to take some pain relief drugs…..dont make me relive that again…
11 Nov 2011, 08:49 am
@grant10(grant10)-620:
You don’t need drugs to get over a loss by the Bok’s, any excuse will do.
11 Nov 2011, 08:55 am
@Brads(Brads)-622: LOL
Ja…true….
bUT BOKS AND PROTEAS GIVE ME PLENTY OF EXCUSES….THROW IN bAFANA bAFANA AND ITS AMAZING i AM STILL STANDING….
Fark ..sorry caps
11 Nov 2011, 09:01 am
@grant10(grant10)-623:
If you are off to the cricket enjoy! Tell Imran I send my regards. I trained him. Oh he won’t know who Bill is!
11 Nov 2011, 09:02 am
Eish off to work…
Enjoy the weekend boys and gals.
11 Nov 2011, 09:04 am
@grant10(grant10)-623:
Your bloody Proteas took a bribe from the Aussies yesterday.
They were on the rope and staring at a World Record low score at 9 for 21, but allowed them to score another 26 runs for the final wicket. How the hell does the 10th wicket partnership score more than the all the others combined!
Disgraceful.
11 Nov 2011, 09:23 am
@grant10(grant10)-623:
grant bud..
you’ve got the best calming ingredients right there in your back garden… and i don’t mean the stuff that grows…
you need to go for a hike or two… Table Mountain is a very special place and hiking on it or just sitting on a rock up high is like plugging your soul into nature’s re-charging machine…
you can’t help but feel uplifted, relaxed, reinvigorated, recharged and ready to face the world and any challenges along the way…
it is seriously soul-soothing stuff…
give it a try…!
11 Nov 2011, 09:24 am
@ufo(ufo)-627:
the proteas on the Mountain are truly magnificent…!!
11 Nov 2011, 09:27 am
@Brads(Brads)-626:
Brads…
when games of cricket happen like they did yesterday… only one thing comes to my mind…
fixing…
can you imagine what the bookies would’ve made with such unexpected results…?
sadly… for me… cricket is as corrupt as cycling and athletics…
WP Rugby will be forced.
Rumours are already doing the rounds that they will not get a tier 1 test but rather only Argentina next year where the AB’s and Aus will most likely play at Soccer City and PE.
There was a similar fluff when the B&I Lions toured in SA.
Pretty soon, suite owners won’t bother renewing their agreements and season ticket holders will also disappear if WP Rugby cannot get the big matches everyone wants to see.
Another thing to consider, the IRB is apparently planning to set a minimum requirement for stadiums and stadium security for all international matches – similar to what FIFA does.
Newlands will apparently almost certainly fail in over 65% of the requirements.
@Robzim(Robzim)-610:
Are you insane?
11 Nov 2011, 09:31 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-630:
the council will also force their hand.
liquor licenses won’t be renewed noise complaints traffic zonings.
death by a thousand cu(n)ts.
11 Nov 2011, 09:34 am
@Gunther(gunther)-632:
For too many reasons to mention, I am actually quite happy WP administration is in **** now. I hope the public keeps and eye on this very closely. Flaws and incompetence within the union might just be finally exposed in weeks and months to come.
11 Nov 2011, 09:38 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-633:
yeah bud…
a fat boys club if ever there was one…
11 Nov 2011, 09:40 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-633:
I won’t hold my breath.
Fat boys club have their snouts firmly entrenched.
Let’s see.
11 Nov 2011, 09:42 am
@ufo(ufo)-627: LOL
Okay….
although I will have to wean myself off the synthetic stuff
11 Nov 2011, 10:09 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-610:
Do you have room for a small one on the back?
@grant10(grant10)-636:
Can’t see you as a ‘rambler’, but walking up Table Mountain sounds just great!
Work calls, have a great day.
11 Nov 2011, 10:56 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-630: Tier 1 rugby matches should only be played at the Coke tin, Loftus and Soccer City anyway … the other venues will just have to accept their minnow status
11 Nov 2011, 12:26 pm
@ufo(ufo)-629:
Actually I doubt there was a cent spent on corruption in this match
If there was, my mind boggles at the audacity of it all.
What peeves me is NZ still holds the all time loser record of being all out for 26.
9 down for 21 – All out for 47!!!!! Bloody Saffa’s were bribed.
11 Nov 2011, 21:54 pm
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-602: Doubt it, Stormers are the most overrated Super team, the Sharks traditionally perform FAR better in Super rugby.
I love how grootbek Stormpies have got after 1 [lost] final and 1 [lost] home semifinal!
The Stormers are due a return to form in Super rugby…
11 Nov 2011, 21:57 pm
Must have been some veeeeeerrrrry long odds on an SA win after they were skittled out for 96….
11 Nov 2011, 22:04 pm
Faak …sorry doos!
Jeez grant get a life
12 Nov 2011, 05:32 am
@grant10(grant10)-636:
Plenty more things (other than the emotional synthetics you admit to taking)… JustRugby’s **** would be a good start too!
12 Nov 2011, 09:29 am
Reluctantly I have to agree with some of you infidels. The proteas joining the 6 nations would be a good thing,a swap scheme between France and prawn land would create an elite competition in the southern hemisphere(worlds best 3 teams plus the argies for try practice)
The proteas could then battle it out in the 2nd teir nations cup and maybe the winner of that tournament would then win the right to play the winner of the elite comp.
The time is probably right for the Proteas to take a step backwards,gain some confidence with possible wins over teir 2 countries.
Maybe,if your lucky and your rugby abilities don’t diminish too much an end of year tour could be arranged where by the World champs will arrive and see if you’ve improved or not…a sort of end of year ,school report ,if you will.
12 Nov 2011, 11:36 am
@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-644:
dankie bokke baiter.
PS: its tier, not teir, if you will.
13 Nov 2011, 02:46 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-35: @ufo(ufo)-606: Walk from CT station to Green Point? You’re kidding!
13 Nov 2011, 23:19 pm
@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-644:
This is a ruuger blog doos
14 Nov 2011, 06:43 am
A move to the CT Stadium might not be so bad as long as WP Rugby own it. Do a deal to buy the stadium and sell Newlands for development. Then the council don’t havevto kak themselves over running an empty stadium.
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All