Smit, Joubert complete Sarries rout
14 Nov 2011
GARETH DUNCAN reports on the Saffas who impressed in Europe over the weekend.
The English Premiership, French Top 14 and Pro12 were all on break as the top northern hemisphere clubs competed in the European Cup.
Retired Springbok captain John Smit came off the bench in the 58th minute to make his debut for new club Saracens in a 42-17 mauling of Italian outfit Treviso. The reserve hooker featured alongside fellow Saffas centre Brad Barritt, scrumhalf Neil de Kock, SA-born English prop Matt Stevens, starting hooker Schalk Brits, No 8 Ernst Joubert, Stromers-bound prop Deon Carstens and flanker Justin Melck in the match 22. 
Smit and Joubert scored tries in the final quarter to seal the convincing win for the English champions. Former Cheetahs and Stormers flyhalf Willem de Waal added two conversions and a penalty for Treviso.
Lock Johann Muller and No 8 Pedrie Wannenburg were key in Ulster’s 16-11 win over flanker Gerhard Vosloo’s Clermont. Especially Muller, who made the most tackles in the match (12) and won eight throws in the lineouts.
Front rowers Wian du Preez and BJ Botha packed down in Munster’s 23-21 win over prop Brian Mujati’s Northampton Saints. It was a major win for the former, who edged ahead three minutes into injury time as flyhalf Ronan O’Gara slotted a late drop goal.
Prop Heinke van der Merwe and hooker Richardt Strauss featured in Leinster’s comeback as they drew 16-16 with Montepellier after trailing 13-3 at the break. A last-minute penalty from pivot Jonny Sexton forced the stalemate.
Bok flanker Francois Louw delivered an impressive individual display in Bath’s 26-21 defeat to Glasgow. The 26-year-old Louw gained 44m in his five ball carries, made the most turnovers in the match (3) and made 11 tackles, not missing one.

238 Comments
14 Nov 2011, 07:26 am
Barney the Dragon!
14 Nov 2011, 07:27 am
The slower pace up North will really suit John I think.
@Staal(Staal)-1:
Barney the Purple Dragon…
Hmmm… F Louw… good player.. imo will play for the boks again.
14 Nov 2011, 07:29 am
The extracts I’ve read from Victor’s book has softened my view on Smit somewhat. I now see him as merely misguided in his estimation of his remaining physical abilities, rather than someone who stuck around out of purely selfish reasons, despite knowing he wasn’t good enough anymore.
He was a good captain. Victor himself says so. And that’s good enough for me.
14 Nov 2011, 07:37 am
FLO had a good match for Bath, pity his team lost though …. brokebacks will miss him big time especially if bonehead finds himself playing as the fetcher.
As for Plod scoring against the weak Italians … well done!
14 Nov 2011, 07:37 am
F Louw will be so missed by Stormers….a crucial loss…
14 Nov 2011, 07:49 am
Wian du Preez and BJ Botha, there’s two props the Stormers should’ve bought. They kept Mujati honest in the scrums.
14 Nov 2011, 07:50 am
We should create a rule in SA, if you become a Bok before 28, you are unable to play oversee still you are 28 again.
Tired of good young Boks leaving for money, or cause they are not the number 1 in their position anymore.
I also feel that if you leave to play oversees, then you are not eligible for Boks anymore.
14 Nov 2011, 07:51 am
Plod scoring against minnow team is really big news ….. hell Keo had to go and post a picture of him scoring a try just to convince everyone that it was real, hell.
14 Nov 2011, 07:53 am
@Craven(Craven)-8: agreed
14 Nov 2011, 07:58 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-10: ja, it would be better if h hadnt scored eh?
14 Nov 2011, 07:59 am
Two tries for Boks, one try for Sharks and now a debut try fir Sarries in 2011… Smitties a scoring machine,,,
14 Nov 2011, 08:00 am
post 6 and 10 by redpussy saying the same thing?
hehe, i sense a little chip.
shampies
14 Nov 2011, 08:00 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-13: top bok try scorer 2011 tri nations.
thems the facts.
14 Nov 2011, 08:04 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-14: I’m just so happy he is now gone …….. for good
14 Nov 2011, 08:05 am
after reading what Vic had to say regarding smitty’s feelings regarding the captaincy and being willing to step down or out of the team completely to benefit the team i think some people (gwant10mm and shampoop and redpussy notably but not confined to..) must feel like real c un ts.
then again you have to have brains to know when you have been utterly, hopelessly and irretrievably wrong and these three have the brains of a rabid poodle between the three of them.
oops forgot justknowsfokkolaboutwugby too! sorry J(kfa)R!
the fact that Vic asked Smitty to say on just seals the whole issue with a big glass of stfu.
smitty you legend, thanks for all the memories and congrats on your debut ry for sarries!
14 Nov 2011, 08:06 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-16: of course you are.
the relevance to the universe is rather miniscule though i am sure you agree?
14 Nov 2011, 08:09 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-5: it seems that the folks at Keo are ignoring Matfields books, they deny it’s existence!
I wonder if Vic said something not so complimentary about Butch cause as we all know that would be bad for book sales.
14 Nov 2011, 08:17 am
If I want total objectivity I dont go to my best friend asking whether I am the best for my position……
All Vics book does is vindicate the FACT that the Bok team became a closed shop lead by the Fat Boys Club…..
A damning inditement of a spineless coach…..
Who the fark was Plod and Matfield to decide whether Plod should of played or stepped down?
Player power dominated to the detriment of the Bok team and left us with a worse ever finish…..same as in 2003.
Well done Plod…..if you wanted to know whether you were better than Bissy why did you not just watch the replays …….why the fark ask Your fat boy mate Matfield?
A joke ….2010 and 2011 will go down as 2 of the worst years in bok history…..disably lead by the Fat Boy….
What Joubert??
The 2 best South African hookers playing for the same club in England. Good for the club, bad for South Africa…
14 Nov 2011, 08:18 am
Quality shows!
14 Nov 2011, 08:18 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-17:
Your continual masturbating to JS is a bit ott you cnut.
You continue to fool yourself, Smit in reality had no right to be anywhere near the Bok squad , his pathetic form, fitness and shape was not what was required of a Bok captain, hell it was Vodocam cup form………………………….. at a stretch .
You along with the rest of the masturbating brigade were conned and the sad fact is that you to dumb to realise it.
We all know Matfield was a big part of the fat-boy club, so no surprises about what he has to say re his “leader of the club” !!! At least Matfield still produced on the field !!
But continue to be conned…………………………….. you farken ***** !!
14 Nov 2011, 08:19 am
Which Joubert is this article referring too?
14 Nov 2011, 08:24 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-24: LOL
Farken hell….sommer double barrells?
That little farker just needs a snotklap……I think you have mortally scarred the squirrel hunter……
What a whinging littkle lady that fark is…..
14 Nov 2011, 08:25 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-24:
Not the best start to the week then for you either… perhaps you should think of a life change… change of job, maybe scenery… it cannot be healthy to wake up next to Grant10 with all this angst and pent-up anger…
14 Nov 2011, 08:26 am
@Jeez(Jeez)-25: jeez man can’t you read ….. the article says Ernst, as in Minki’s new lover …. lucky guy he is.
ooooh i caught one!
yes yes, my “continual masturbating” lmfao!
you and your tub buddy have accumulated 13000 posts re john smit to every one of mine.
and everybody knows…….
Vic made the lot f you look like what you are and i am lovng it!
@grant10(grant10)-26:
The scary thing is he actually believes the drivel he writes, sad , sad, sad !!!!
14 Nov 2011, 08:27 am
sharkies in a mas turbation frenzy…..
Wallys….
14 Nov 2011, 08:29 am
@grant10(grant10)-26: haha, ja i am the one who is scarred
but i still adress you and every other poster on here even if i think you talka load of poo all the time lol.
14 Nov 2011, 08:29 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-30: the oke is not worthy of your attention….do as I do….own him by simply ignoring the little gal…..
The non entity remains the biggest cnut ever…..
P ussy of note
14 Nov 2011, 08:30 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-29:
All Vic has done is added ammo to what we have been saying………………….. Really ……………………………..do you not get it ???
14 Nov 2011, 08:31 am
anyway, i must do some work but i just want to congratulate Smitty you LEGEND one More TiMe on yOur TRY on deBuT for sarries.
what a man what a legend!
14 Nov 2011, 08:32 am
@grant10(grant10)-33:
Probably the best thing to do !!
14 Nov 2011, 08:32 am
owned
absolutely 100% owned
14 Nov 2011, 08:34 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-34: ag bs man you wish pal.
he bent you over and gave you wha you like is all.
14 Nov 2011, 08:36 am
owned hahaha.
14 Nov 2011, 08:37 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-27:
Somebody rattle your cage ??????????……………………….as you were………… mr “small change” !!
14 Nov 2011, 08:38 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-39:
Off to work you go………..those moles need sorting out !!!!
14 Nov 2011, 08:49 am
Honestly, you guys are all better than this.
You’re coming across as a bunch of juvenile delinquents.
14 Nov 2011, 08:51 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-42: you right…
14 Nov 2011, 08:52 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-40:
Rattled… hmmm nope not this felllow… breeze is blowing, doors unlocked, kids playing footy in the street, business is booming and the most successful captain in Bok history is doing what he’s paid to do… make an impact off the bench… nice one Smitty…
14 Nov 2011, 08:53 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-44: pity boks didnt have fatty on the bench
14 Nov 2011, 08:54 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-42:
worse.
primary school playground taunts.
and the one oke has had his 50th already 8)
14 Nov 2011, 08:55 am
@charo(charo)-46: another fat boy sharkie has to enter the fray I see
14 Nov 2011, 09:03 am
Wassup with this Zac Guildford oke?
Jeepers….he has some serious booze issues….
14 Nov 2011, 09:05 am
@grant10(grant10)-47:
do i have to ask permission?
14 Nov 2011, 09:06 am
@charo(charo)-49: sharkie….do as you please…..as is your style…
14 Nov 2011, 09:08 am
good for john, i wish him well.
seems the only real ddoos to come out of our 2007 wc winning camp was/is jake white, if victor’s testimony is anything to go by.
14 Nov 2011, 09:11 am
@grant10(grant10)-50:
what would you say your “style” is?
14 Nov 2011, 09:13 am
@charo(charo)-52: honest….frank….and from the heart….never scared to say it as I see it….
14 Nov 2011, 09:13 am
Oh dear.
I see Will and Grace have taken a hiding before their first latte of the day has even had time to cool.
Hard to believe that these two emos are only a few years away from their free bus passes.
14 Nov 2011, 09:17 am
@Gunther(gunther)-54: pilates got you all breathless again Queen?
14 Nov 2011, 09:18 am
Gunther….go wash the Picanto you wally…
14 Nov 2011, 09:19 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-51: dude when is the man you love going to ‘write’ his book? Now it does not have to be in words … a book with pictures will do of Bakkies running, Bakkies tackling, Bakkies raking, Bakkies jumping, Bakkies biting, Bakkies being substituted, Bakkies bleeding, Bakkies tackling harder, Bakkies scruming, Bakkies defending, Bakkies gauging, Bakkies smiling ….. hell I’m sure that a 300 picture page book will sell like crazy.
14 Nov 2011, 09:29 am
Goeie boek daai v Vic – lees hom gerus.
14 Nov 2011, 09:32 am
Can someone please explain this to me please .
We are told that the players need to be rested , yet straight after the RWC , the guys leave and go and play even more rugby…. Look at Jaqcues Fourie so example , when the Super rugby seasons starts next year he will be back , they are nto resting at all.
So how can SARU blame the S15 , Tri nations and the Currie cup ?
14 Nov 2011, 09:35 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-57:

i like it…just about bakkies being bakkies…heck we could even get a bit of his life off the field…at the braai, in the bush, on the range…bakkies fishing, bakkies on a hunt, bakkies on how to buy a new bakkie (prob a toyota double cab) etc, etc… with just a few…solid words thrown in because when you’re bakkies you dont do many words…you let the actions speak…
ffuck! i think we’ve just revolutionised autobiographies man!
14 Nov 2011, 09:40 am
@DocNZ(DocNZ)-59: agree with you….players are there own worst enemies
14 Nov 2011, 09:42 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-60: I will buy that book
14 Nov 2011, 09:44 am
Timothy Olyphant is hot
14 Nov 2011, 09:46 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-63: and so is Roger Rabbit.
14 Nov 2011, 09:48 am
Naah
He is seriously hot
14 Nov 2011, 09:54 am
@grant10(grant10)-53:
If the Ranger doesn’t bother you?
Then why are you and JustFelching running around like two teenagers in their first training bras?
In other news I told you that Peter Roebuck’s death had nothing to do with match fixing.
14 Nov 2011, 09:58 am
@Gunther(gunther)-66: Glad to hear that match fixing was not part of it…..seems a policeman wasin the room at the time he jumped …..and that some sexual harassment case was being thrown at Roebuck.
Police need to come clean here…..or speculation will be rife….ala Woolmer!
14 Nov 2011, 10:02 am
@Gunther(gunther)-66: as for the unspeakable filth…..go back and see who always has to throw the first punch? I ignore the wally for a long time now….and will continue to do ……it is the wally that cant ignore me…a great pity for me that is……but I will continue to let the little pup bark, as is his want, and simply ignore him as nauseum……while the runt trys to catch his own tail….
14 Nov 2011, 10:05 am
@grant10(grant10)-67:
Apparently a policeman was in his room when he jumped.
14 Nov 2011, 10:07 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-63: Good movie hey. I enjoyed the score too.
14 Nov 2011, 10:08 am
@Gunther(gunther)-69: yes…..apparently so…..farken strange….it is not easy to jum out a window ….surely the police could have stopped him?
Seems very strange…..need answers ….cricket has enough question marks…..now this…
14 Nov 2011, 10:14 am
@Gunther(gunther)-66:
Stick to the one liners Horatio !!
Trying to be the voice of reason does not work for you !!
14 Nov 2011, 10:23 am
So a cop was in the room.
14 Nov 2011, 10:26 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-72: LOL
Old Pilates queen got his pinkies in a twist…..
14 Nov 2011, 10:29 am
@grant10(grant10)-33: @justrugby(justrugby)-34: What is it with you two? This Smit crusade is so juvenile. I bet you’re not even sure exactly why you supposedly loathe him so much, but you’ve come so far now that you simply can’t help yourselves.
You just can’t fight the feeling anymore. But it’s like you’ve forgotten what you started fighting for. Come on guys, it’s time to bring the ship into the shore and throw away the oars forever. Please.
14 Nov 2011, 10:30 am
So therefore the cop killed him
14 Nov 2011, 10:31 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-72:
Pipe down Bieberboy.
You worry about ignoring Ranger and polishing Granties bellend.
14 Nov 2011, 10:31 am
What’s with all these very weird assassinations in SA at the moment????
So sorry for Solly’s family.
The background tells a very disturbing story.
Last month, Solly and 2 friends were arrested and an illegal gun found in their possession. Then, last week, one of the three was killed (shot, I think) and now Solly is a victim of a clear HIT.
Same with this Roebuck fella, criminal charges, police present in the room, a desperate phone call to a friend 5 minutes before he “jumped” asking for a lawyer……
14 Nov 2011, 10:34 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-76:
no man.
not at all.
14 Nov 2011, 10:34 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-75:
Agree.
Grantie, I think you should get some help with this OCD thing on Smit. Do you also find that you wash your hands more than a dozen times every hour?
14 Nov 2011, 10:36 am
@grant10(grant10)-74:
I sincerely hope you’re not referring to Gunth??!!!!
He’ll rip your arm off and beat you to a bliksem you stupid with the bluddy stump.
Gunth is a legend, deal with it!
14 Nov 2011, 10:36 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-75: Look who started it before you start throwing jabs……
Abiut time you start seeing the big picture….talk to your mate Rangerman as well…..
14 Nov 2011, 10:38 am
@Gunther(gunther)-54:
Gunth, you mean Grantie is an senior citizen?
He always sounds a bit young (adolescent even) and I would never have thought that he’s ….. how shall we say this……. mature
14 Nov 2011, 10:39 am
@Gunther(gunther)-77:
Mole hunter has no ability to occupy any of my “worrying” time !!!
Now go get you tights ready , don’t you have a pilates class to attend ??
14 Nov 2011, 10:41 am
@grant10(grant10)-82:
fARK….. SORRY CAPS………
I think you did your reputation no favours by being so I’ll-cut-my-wrists-if-plod-ever-wears-green-and-gold-and-start-supporting-namibia-and-rinse-my-balls-in-cauliflower-oil-if-mirchell-is-not-next-bok-coach-thing…. A bit over the top, don’t you think?
14 Nov 2011, 10:42 am
@Gunther(gunther)-79:
you seem to know a lot about this…
14 Nov 2011, 10:43 am
I see David Pocock has admitted in a tell-all book to suffering from a cheating disorder.
14 Nov 2011, 10:44 am
boks and the fans paid the ultimate price for the stupidity and sentimentality.
Helen, enjoy Poppa and the rest making your life a misery over the next 4 years…..
14 Nov 2011, 10:45 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-87:
It is a common affliction of Australians.
It is called OCD
Oz Cheating Disorder
Apparently, there is no cure, but one-eyed refs cause a flare up of the condition.
14 Nov 2011, 10:46 am
@Helen(Helen)-85:
cauliflower oil? what would that do?
nevermind i will google it.
14 Nov 2011, 10:47 am
@grant10(grant10)-88:
Grantie, yes, we didn’t win the cup, but there is no guarantee that we would’ve if Smit wasn’t playing.
Perhaps, if Smitty wasn’t playing, we would’ve had all the old crrap like provincialism, racism, fould play and ill discipline that previous captains couldn’t get a grip on. Who knows, we might then not have made it past the Samoa game….. Use your brain and think a bit. You can not claim to have a thought monopoly on hindsight. That is just stupid
14 Nov 2011, 10:49 am
@Helen(Helen)-83:
Grantie and JustFelching are both old enough to know better.
Yet they carry on like a pair of pregnant schoolgirls.
It’s very embraboer.
If ranger carries on like this the WWF is going to put those two raddled old palsied queens on the endangered species list.
14 Nov 2011, 10:49 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-90:
Dunno, rinse your balls in some and let us know why it is the latest fad
14 Nov 2011, 10:50 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-90:
Apparently, it is extracted by needlepoint from John Plumtree’s ears.
14 Nov 2011, 10:52 am
@Gunther(gunther)-92:
Pregnant schoolgirls will at least be a bit more discreet….. and throw fewer stones at glass houses
14 Nov 2011, 10:53 am
ag same old same old
14 Nov 2011, 10:54 am
@Gunther(gunther)-92:
True…………… we do know better, that’s why you should talk less and listen more………………………….. you might just learn something !!!
14 Nov 2011, 10:55 am
Its the role he should have been playing all along, off the bench.
He’s no longer in the league of Brits and certainly not in the league of Bismarck.
This was the obvious role he should’ve played, and if so, SA would’ve gotten thru oz.
14 Nov 2011, 10:56 am
I see my Reo Speedwagon in post 75 got lost on everyone. Pity. I picked it specially for Grant and JR.
@Helen(Helen)-93:
so far i have not found a word on it on the interweb. i have found cauliflower oil and lots of recipes for using it with different foodstuffs but nothing on using it to rinse ones testicles for any kind of medicinal remedies, so i will rather refrain, thank you.
@grant10(grant10)-96:
Not another good start to the week for you eh…
@Gunther(gunther)-92:
Grantie reminds me of someone who’s just had an especially messy dump in a mall loo only to realise there is no loo paper and is forced to use his bomber jacket sleeve.
14 Nov 2011, 10:59 am
I too also checked out a movie this weekend. Tintin…. in 3D… in Spanish
Every time I saw Tintin I couldnt help but to think of Katman
Strange
14 Nov 2011, 11:01 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-97:
Talk less and listen more?
Have you been opening your Christmas crackers early you old buggerer?
Next you are going to tell me about your unique insight for the game gleaned whilst warming the bench for Natal B.
And the fact that Grantie has been watching western province play since 1976.
and and and.
14 Nov 2011, 11:02 am
@Helen(Helen)-102:
Seems you speaking from experience ??
14 Nov 2011, 11:03 am
there’s some bladdy good SA players in europe, pity lions cant lure a few back.
14 Nov 2011, 11:03 am
@Bod(bod)-103: What a coincidence then. Because you remind me of Noddy’s “friend”, Big Ears. See if you can get that in Spanish 3D.
14 Nov 2011, 11:04 am
@Gunther(gunther)-104:
LOl
No………. ………. any wisdom on the game will be wasted on you !!
14 Nov 2011, 11:05 am
@Bod(bod)-103:
Naah
There was a particularly rubbish movie on TV last night
The only saving grace was Timothy
Then he got killed off
Fecked off I was
14 Nov 2011, 11:07 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-107:
Its just come to me…. in Spanish
Its Tintins cowlick and kuif.
Este!!!!!!
14 Nov 2011, 11:10 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-109:
Cant be worse than here.
There are only 3 things you can pick up on Sunday night TV… Spaghetti Westerns, Soccer and Porn
14 Nov 2011, 11:16 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-107:
I think el grande oros has been banned under the protection of children act.
14 Nov 2011, 11:16 am
is it just me or does black and red actually look good on john’s figure? or perhaps its the vertical direction of the colours? he really seems a lot more trim and lean in that pic.
14 Nov 2011, 11:17 am
@Bod(bod)-111:
**** Eastwood?
14 Nov 2011, 11:25 am
From news24… Sorry for Mr Els… But…
Only in Africa…
Bloemfontein – An army major was killed by his pet hippopotamus, named Humphrey, on his farm in the Free State on Saturday, Volksblad reported on Monday.
Marius Els, 40, who was pictured balancing on the hippo’s back, had been repeatedly warned that although friendly, Humphrey was still a wild animal and had to be treated as such.
The hippo was rescued as a calf during a flood of the Vaal River, which passes the land where Els farmed part-time.
Humphrey, estimated at around five-and-a-half years old, had been treated as a pet, and had learned to swim with humans.
The animal found a home with Els when it became too big for the people who had initially adopted it.
14 Nov 2011, 11:28 am
These are the same rumours (leading candidate) I heard on the next possible Bok coach (by Gavin Rich)
http://www.supersport.com/rugby/blogs/gavin-rich/What_about_Gert_Smal
14 Nov 2011, 11:30 am
What did Mr Els expect…
Should’ve taken the Hippocratic oath…!!
14 Nov 2011, 11:33 am
@Gunther(gunther)-114:
No… Victoria Principle
14 Nov 2011, 11:36 am
Zac Guildford…. what a chop!
Walks into a bar, naked, drunk and bleeding.
Then proceeds to assault 2 customers.
How many crimes can one man commit in a single night??
14 Nov 2011, 11:37 am
@Helen(Helen)-119:
Pity that Umaga wasn’t there with his handbag… he would’ve sorted Zac out with a single swing of his sequened croc skin long strap
14 Nov 2011, 11:43 am
A naked Kiwi rugby player walks into a bar…
What a joke.
14 Nov 2011, 11:45 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-116: hehehe i hope Tacitus reads the article linked here and realise that my objection to Ludeke has nothing to do with his mumbo jumbo pseudo psycho-analysis of the other day. Other people seem not to rate Ludeke at all even though he has not 1 but 2 Super Rugby titles.
where else in the world will a coach with 2 titles be COMPLETELY ignored when it comes to national duty?
14 Nov 2011, 11:46 am
@Helen(Helen)-119:
Old news
14 Nov 2011, 11:47 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-121:
Ja, just imagine a Saffa doing this???
Someone I can’t see Schalk Burger or Pierre Spies walking naked into a News Cafe and assaulting customers.
14 Nov 2011, 11:47 am
@ufo(ufo)-115:
i mean honestly? a hippo as a pet? people do this sirt of thing all the time. its a wonder more people aren’t killed by their ‘pets’…as you say…only in africa…
reminds me of the story about the varsisty player who tried to ‘borrow’ a lion from the groote schuur zoo…i mean really now?…at least he got out of it alive.
14 Nov 2011, 11:50 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-123:
Sorry, I am a bit behind this morning….
Must’ve missed the earlier thread when I changed tampons.
14 Nov 2011, 11:51 am
@Helen(Helen)-124: Keep in mind this was a town called Rarotonga, in the Cook Islands.
I guess that’s more like Danie Rossouw donnering someone in a pub in Brits. And this happens often.
Not naked though.
14 Nov 2011, 11:52 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-127:
Manrule Number 1
“Never fight naked, unless you’re in prison”
14 Nov 2011, 11:54 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-116:
He would not be a bad choice at all. A very good coach with an impressive CV and the right passport colour.
But the Springboks don’t need a good coach.
They need the best coach. They deserve the best coach.
Is he the very best option?
14 Nov 2011, 11:55 am
@Helen(Helen)-124: What about James Dalton or James Small?
14 Nov 2011, 11:58 am
@Helen(Helen)-128:
why would you fight naked in prison?
honestly, i dont know where you get all these wisdoms of yours?
i dont think that one will hold up to scrutiny on the interweb either.
i will let you know.
14 Nov 2011, 12:02 pm
@willievz(willievz)-130:
I don’t think either of them used to hang out with their wang out.
14 Nov 2011, 12:08 pm
@willievz(willievz)-129:
I believe both Heyneke and Gert are capable head coaches. I did however mention before my interest is more towards the fact that we need a DOR, and there I can only see one person.
Just considering the head coach role however I have faith in both mentioned above, but I would be more interested in who would assist them. Great men surround themselves with great people. I know if Gert is to be the man there is likely to be a Bulls individual included in an assistant capacity.
14 Nov 2011, 12:09 pm
Hey, hey, listen up. This guy walks into a bar…….
14 Nov 2011, 12:14 pm
@Helen(Helen)-128:
i apologise.
it seems this is a rule on a lot on man-rule lists compiled on many websites.
why ever would you choose to fight naked though? especially considering you’re in a prison. it must be a real macho thing i’m guessing.
also on the list of man-rules at number 14 was never ever allow your friends to wear speedos. this must mean a lot of grant’s friends are letting their manhood down hehe.
14 Nov 2011, 12:16 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-125:
and somehow I always feel sorry for the animal because it get shot because some person tried to ascribe human emotions to it… or prove that he or she could subdue it’s wild instinct…
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-116:
I would be happy with gert getting the job…
14 Nov 2011, 12:17 pm
Taken from rugby365
Pieter Rossouw has just completed the IRB Level III coaching course in Stellenbosch together with a number of top provincial coaches and will return to the Bulls with some new ideas.
“I have really enjoyed the course and feel like I’ve learnt a lot to take back with me to the Bulls,” he said.
“A lot of coaches are happy to share their ideas [in the professional era] and we can learn from each other about how best to interact with players so that we don’t always just tell them what to do, but rather involve them in decisions and approach problems in the right way.”
14 Nov 2011, 12:18 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-133: read somewhere that Gert is not interested in the position of head coach.
My money is still on Loffie getting it, now that would be bloter! as he seems to be the only one on the list still available.
14 Nov 2011, 12:19 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-133: Who is your choice for DOR?
14 Nov 2011, 12:20 pm
Pieter Rossouw has just completed the IRB Level III coaching course in Stellenbosch together with a number of top provincial coaches and will return to the Bulls with some new ideas.
“I have really enjoyed the course and feel like I’ve learnt a lot to take back with me to the Bulls,” he said.
“A lot of coaches are happy to share their ideas [in the professional era] and we can learn from each other about how best to interact with players so that we don’t always just tell them what to do, but rather involve them in decisions and approach problems in the right way.”
14 Nov 2011, 12:21 pm
Oooops!
14 Nov 2011, 12:24 pm
@willievz(willievz)-139:
Meyer.
14 Nov 2011, 12:29 pm
Cardiff – England, still reeling from the fallout of a dismal Rugby World Cup campaign, suffered a fresh setback on Sunday when Shaun Edwards rejected their approaches and opted to remain a member of Wales’s coaching staff.
14 Nov 2011, 12:34 pm
@ufo(ufo)-143: that guy looks ans walks funny, what happened to him?
14 Nov 2011, 12:39 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-144:
feisty ewe.
14 Nov 2011, 12:46 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-145:
14 Nov 2011, 12:50 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-146:
A horn in the plums will do that to a fella.
14 Nov 2011, 13:07 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-144:
seems he obviously ignored the “Never fight naked, unless you’re in prison” advice a couple of times too often…
14 Nov 2011, 13:10 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-147: hehehe
14 Nov 2011, 13:12 pm
@ufo(ufo)-148: you okes are bad…
14 Nov 2011, 13:41 pm
@Kritik(Krit)-140: Slapchips studying coaching….
Jooliaaaas studying Political Science……
Where will it all end???
14 Nov 2011, 13:57 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-151:
weirder still will be when they pass their exams!!! prepare for some snow in December and a few pigs spotted flapping their wings over downtown Benoni
14 Nov 2011, 14:00 pm
@Helen(Helen)-152: Actually Joolias is studying at the Limpop Uni. I ‘m surprised he has to sit for exams at all……
Pieter is a smart chap, I was at varsity with him.
Hellovaniceguy too.
How you doing this fine Monday?
14 Nov 2011, 14:07 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-153:
I’m good, thanks for asking.
You went to varsity????? Really????
I always figured you as a I’m-a-university-of-life-kinda-guy–and-clean-my-teeth-with-kudu-hooves-and-roll-my-own-tampons- kinda guy??
So, you are refined then? Metrosexxual…….
14 Nov 2011, 14:08 pm
I can just imagine how Pieter gets his exam paper. He probably waits until the invigilator is about to hand it to the guy in front of him and then he sprints through trying to intercept it…..
14 Nov 2011, 14:13 pm
UNISA. He’s just writing at the Limpopo campus.
@Helen(Helen)-154:
stormersboy is very refined.
he buys his cars from france, suits from china and wine from shoprite.
@Helen(Helen)-154: I’ll take that as a compliment lol.
Nope. Educated through and through.
2 degrees and various post grads nogal.
None of which compares to the “University of Life” that I’ve been learning from for the past 40 years of course…
@Helen(Helen)-155: That’s very funny. You forgot to add the chances that he’ll trip over his own feet trying to return to his seat of drop it at the last minute though….
Sorry slappies.
14 Nov 2011, 14:15 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-157: hahaha that bottle of “crackling” was from Checkers….
The suit was courtesy of Messers Fabian and Co at Cavendish
14 Nov 2011, 14:16 pm
What’s this
My degree is bigger than yours day.
14 Nov 2011, 14:19 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-160: I didn’t say mine was bigger.
Just that I have more of them
But console yourself that you get to work for one of the largest multinationals in the world whilst i am forced to navigate the ups and downs of South Africa’s business minefielf with nothing more than my good looks, charm and unerring sense of destiny……
14 Nov 2011, 14:20 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-157:
Gunth, don’t insult sweetie.
Stormersboy gets his cars from India, his suits from Namibia and his kicks from keo
14 Nov 2011, 14:21 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-159:
it was cracking crackling.
did you deal with that stool pusher at fabiani?
14 Nov 2011, 14:22 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-161:
Ok, so you are a nerd then?
Not sure that works for me. I really liked to think of you as a non-nonsense gangster with a double exhaust Uno and a medalion swinging in your ample chest hair
14 Nov 2011, 14:24 pm
indeed.
the lovely dawn is a global player.
@Helen(Helen)-162:
I know.
It’s a lottery every time he turns the key to start his Tata ma’chance.
14 Nov 2011, 14:25 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-159:
Ah no! The bubble is bursting. Please don’t tell me you drink wine!!!!!
I was hoping it was something like Windhoek longtoms
14 Nov 2011, 14:27 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-165:
Stormersboy is not a Tata man.
Mre like a soft top Mahindra with a gun rack and GTS stripes along the side.
14 Nov 2011, 14:27 pm
@Helen(Helen)-164:
I like to think of my medallions swinging from your ample chest.
14 Nov 2011, 14:28 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-163: Um, which stool pusher at Fabiani? There are a few now that you mention it…
He kept asking me to go back to get my pants fitted. Stange. Oh well…..
@Helen(Helen)-164: LOL thankfully never been called a nerd.
I’m a Northern Suburbs (in Cape Town) gangster which means when I change out of my Fabiani suits I rock stokies wiff socks, a Peetee short and a white short sleeve shirt (tucked into the Peetee short of course)…..
Chicks digg it.
On special occasions i haul out my green “crocks” (the Shoe City version because I’m too cheap to buy the proper ones)…
14 Nov 2011, 14:29 pm
What degrees do you have?
Please don’t say something camp like social sciences or medievil languages. Make my day and say it is in Armageddon Survival Techniques or Lion Taming
14 Nov 2011, 14:30 pm
@Helen(Helen)-166:
no.
he buys wine for his chommies.
he drinks ice cold tafel.
14 Nov 2011, 14:31 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-168:
Great!
I’ll bring the cauliflower oil
Send Mrs Gunth to Mr Price with your gold card…
14 Nov 2011, 14:34 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-171: What’s that Woolies wine brand you’re so fond of? The Parlatones endorsed one – what’s it called?
14 Nov 2011, 14:34 pm
@Helen(Helen)-170: Shark fighting (Law) and Rampant Capitalist Pig, otherwise known as a B.Comm.
The post grads have been career related, ie. registered persons, SAFEX, etc….
14 Nov 2011, 14:35 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-169:
the famous one.
the one which askes you which way you “dress” left or right.
the one were you go in for some collar stays and a tie and you come out with four suits and five missed calls from your credit card company.
14 Nov 2011, 14:36 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-174:
WTF is a Registered Persons degree?
Do you have to name all of them?
14 Nov 2011, 14:37 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-173: A Big Mistake
14 Nov 2011, 14:38 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-153: He is studying at UNISA and wrote at Limpopo branch
14 Nov 2011, 14:40 pm
Ok, I am never too old to learn.
Stormersboy is not the rugged gangster camel man I thought he was.
I thouht he could be the man I call when I need to change a stuck tampon.
14 Nov 2011, 14:40 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-173:
fuckmeslowlyonthefloor…
something like that anyway.
I little piece of me died inside when I saw that there was a parlotones wine.
It has made me more determined than ever to smuggle a grenade launcher into their next concert.
14 Nov 2011, 14:41 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-175:
ROTFLMFCO!!!!
14 Nov 2011, 14:41 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-175: I know exactly which one you are referring to.
To be fair they were having a 50% off sale….
@Helen(Helen)-176: Registered persons is JSE.
You have an honours in finance right?
What field are you working in?
14 Nov 2011, 14:42 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-180:
Sorry, you’re gonna have to wait a while.
Woolies don’t do concerts.
14 Nov 2011, 14:43 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-180: A little part of you died inside what? You mean the Fabiani guy?
You’re making Stormersboy jealous.
14 Nov 2011, 14:44 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-178: David put me right on that score.
I stand corrected.
14 Nov 2011, 14:45 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-184:
14 Nov 2011, 14:47 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-182:
Not really doing what I studied. There is no money in economic modelling anymore…..
I run the investment portfolio for some famous guy….. travel all over the place making sure he gets a return on his investments, so it is a bit more varied….. and exciting
14 Nov 2011, 14:47 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-180: State Theater in Pretoria 03 December.
I have tickets
14 Nov 2011, 14:49 pm
ROTFLMFCO!
14 Nov 2011, 14:49 pm
@Helen(Helen)-187: Economic modeling?
That’s like calling a housewife a domestic administrator.
Just say topless, and we’ll all understand you.
14 Nov 2011, 14:50 pm
I have Three Degrees… WWISYA
on vinyl nogal…!
45 single!!
put THAT on your turntable and spin it…!!!
14 Nov 2011, 14:51 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-190:
ok, well in that case some of my work still involves economic modelling.
14 Nov 2011, 14:52 pm
@Helen(Helen)-187: Interresting. Your real name isn’t Peter Major by any chance??
14 Nov 2011, 14:52 pm
@ufo(ufo)-192:
well, fuckmeslowlyinthearsewithafeatherduster!
I would never have guessed
14 Nov 2011, 14:54 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-194:
Signed a confidentiality thing, so I can not tell you who the person is other than famous, respected and LOADED!!!!!! I spend 10 days on his yacht every July when we “debrief”
14 Nov 2011, 14:58 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-180:
sheesh man… have you no shame…?
admitting you go to parlotone concerts…!!
what next…??
you go to thursday night performance art soirees..??
14 Nov 2011, 14:59 pm
@Helen(Helen)-196: Good for you Helen. I was leading with the Peter Major reference. I guess it’s not the Rocket Man then.
I wouldn’t expect you to tell me.
Next time you are out of your briefs on his yacht be sure to send me a pic though…..
i would venture to ask if it’s that AMWAY guy who berths that great big yacht in the Waterfront harbour but I doubt he’s that respected.
14 Nov 2011, 15:01 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-198:
You will know who it is. Probably in top 10 most recognisable men in the world
Nope, we don’t meet in Cpt…. more like somewhere in the Med.
14 Nov 2011, 15:03 pm
@Helen(Helen)-199: Silvio Belusconi???
Just kidding.
I think I know who you are referring to.
Do you look after a portion or most of his stuff?
14 Nov 2011, 15:03 pm
@ufo(ufo)-197:
I’ve never been to one.
Everytime I get to the turnstile they confiscate my heavy artillery and call the police.
14 Nov 2011, 15:04 pm
Drinks definitely on you then…!!
14 Nov 2011, 15:07 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-190:

classic
14 Nov 2011, 15:09 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-201:
Good grief man, be careful with your words “next time” implies at least one previous time…
talk about trashing your image…!
????
14 Nov 2011, 15:10 pm
@ufo(ufo)-202:
sorry… 202 is for helen…
great job you’ve got…!!
14 Nov 2011, 15:12 pm
@Helen(Helen)-179:
If thats what you are looking for in a man, you are wasting your time with that bunch.
Look no further..
14 Nov 2011, 15:20 pm
@ufo(ufo)-202:
I don’t think so…. although I have had sushi on me before and once even choricio
14 Nov 2011, 15:22 pm
Funny thread this
14 Nov 2011, 15:23 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-208:
HG, how you doing girlfriend?
Any kiwi scalps to brag about today?
14 Nov 2011, 15:28 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-208: So we can assume that you weren’t arrested by the NZ cops for calling Bryce a filthy bribetaking cheat? Or do they allow you to blog from prison?
14 Nov 2011, 15:30 pm
@Helen(Helen)-209: Huzzit HellsBells. Nope, no Kiwi scalps. I reckon I may have actually finished the sheepshaggers off once and for all.
14 Nov 2011, 15:32 pm
@ufo(ufo)-204:
um er.
My name is gunther.
I have no image.
14 Nov 2011, 15:32 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-210: Answer to Q1: No. Not yet. They haven’t even tried. Dammit… Cowards.
Answer to Q2: I don’t know the inside of prison…yet… Best you ask ET or Shaun youknowwho about that.
14 Nov 2011, 15:39 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-212:
you virtually have one…
you’re so nearly there…
don’t waste the hard work you’ve already put in…!!
14 Nov 2011, 15:56 pm
Fuckmeslowlyonthefloor Timothy.
I wonder if all the big rich guns who employ the slackers here know there’s fockall work being done on their so-called big ticket mega money yacht-purchasing investments.
Instead everyone fecks around talking kuk here all day
14 Nov 2011, 16:05 pm
Am so chuffed for Captain Fantastic, well done Cyril !!!!!!!
What did victor have to say in his book about Smit, someone ???
14 Nov 2011, 16:08 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-215: Does that include the so called “Big multinational” in which you are apparently ensconced and for who you are doing a stirling job
14 Nov 2011, 16:10 pm
@Helen(Helen)-209: Stormersboy is not nerdy to look at, in fact he is rather dishy
14 Nov 2011, 16:11 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-215: Don’t be like that. I’m sure Helen can organise you a summer internship on his Highness’ yacht.
All the grey goose you can drink.
They are still on the dop system there….
14 Nov 2011, 16:13 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-218: You are going to make me blush….
14 Nov 2011, 17:15 pm
@grant10(grant10)-204: “M.r.t” – To the best of my knowledge it is Muffdive Repetitive Therapy….? Not the same as HRT though… Severely needed by you.
14 Nov 2011, 18:34 pm
Smit appears to be revelling in his new surroundings. Once a Bok great, always a Bok great.
14 Nov 2011, 18:38 pm
One good thing that came out of His Royal Majesty King Luke Watson’s rugby journey from South Africa (where he ran from in disgrace for the coward that he is) is that he managed to work on his English accent to perfection what what.
14 Nov 2011, 18:55 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-24: very out of character for you JR, I always saw you as the ‘good cop’ of the dynamic half-back duo
14 Nov 2011, 20:10 pm
Gary Botha and Shawn Sowerby played superbly for Toulouse vs Glouchester
So did Strauss and Heineke Vdm for Leinster, while Wim Du Preez showed out Mujatie with support from the other side by BJ Botha.
Haven’t watched yet Sarries vs Treviso game but let’s say that’s was hardly a match for JS to redeem himself
15 Nov 2011, 01:11 am
If Smit keeps up this form he may just earn himself a Bok call up next season.
15 Nov 2011, 05:50 am
So Victor so happened to endorse Johnny boys over staying of his welcome. I wonder if they conveniently consulted the buddy buddy system re what was best for the team overall or whether there were to be some back slap endorsements if the backward thinking gambit perchance had to come off. Doomed f.ng strategy if ever there was one.
15 Nov 2011, 06:04 am
somehow the brains embargo over there at least know how the deck should work, play the has been off the bench not starting play him behind the better more mobile younger dynamic hookes in the sealing order, not the wrong way around.-?
15 Nov 2011, 07:34 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-5:
Nice one
and respect to Victor as he must have wanted to be Springbok captain badly and had to accept Vice.
Springbok greats those 2 – my heros
15 Nov 2011, 07:38 am
For Tac:
Bulls pre-season training has started.
Here’s what Pierre Spies tweeted bout his bleep and sprint times;
Pierrespies8 Pierre Spies
“@Redcap85: @Pierrespies8 what level did u do on the bleep? And what was ur sprint times? I’m a fellow loosie.” Bleep 13.1; 40m sprint: 4.8s
15 Nov 2011, 07:39 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-17:
Well said buddy – the guy was a test match rugby player. In the looser stuff maybe not as good at the more athletic players.
2007 was his peak though.
He had a really good World Cup, such a pity we went out in the way we did.
where were the drop goals
15 Nov 2011, 07:41 am
@grant10(grant10)-20:
If you think the last 2 were bad, wait for next year.
15 Nov 2011, 07:47 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-51:
You are going to wish for a Jake White very soon.
He was a coach and the boss. We needed a bit more of that from PDV.
Rebuilding time and it aint going to be easy.
First hurdle – next captain – not easy. Then player identification – not easy.
All you ungrateful people who oan about Jake’s era will be begging for the same era back again very soon
15 Nov 2011, 07:48 am
And a team is not about taking the best player in each position, ask Real Madrid. It’s about choosing and developing combinations.
The flashy are not always the best
15 Nov 2011, 07:53 am
@DocNZ(DocNZ)-59:
well said – thought the same thing.
Fortunately the majority have taken time off. Jacques must be having cash flow issues
15 Nov 2011, 09:24 am
@Mike H(Mike H)-233:
well i am wishing for heyneke meyer with all my heart.
to be fair to jake i suppose he should by now have matured a lot more and grown personally, so would/could be a better people person/man manager this time round if he were in the job again.
15 Nov 2011, 11:58 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-5:
Thanks Tac, you saved me asking a question.
When I read Matfield’s comments I wondered whether you would revise your view.
Must admit the people on this board have wound me up a bit about Smit.
I will never disrespect a Bok with a quarter of the caps Smit and Matfield got.
But it was the respect Smit commands with current and former Boks not to mention other internal players that pacified me.
They have spoken so highly of him over many years. If there were problems they would have leaked.
Vic and John – Both wonderful servants of the Boks.
Will speak of them both over beer when I am an old man (assuming I get there)
15 Nov 2011, 12:02 pm
Your manners are superb. Thank your parents for instilling them… No wait, I am sure they conveyed a different set of rules