Meyer: Kenyan will boost Bulls
15 Nov 2011
Heyneke Meyer says the acquisition of Daniel Adongo will have long-term benefits for the Bulls.
The Bulls announced on Monday that the 22-year-old Kenyan, who was previously with the Sharks, had signed with the Pretoria franchise until the end of 2013.
The 1.97m, 112kg loose-forward played in the 2011 Super Rugby pre-season tournament as well as for the Sharks XV in the Vodacom Cup, and Meyer hopes he will continue to grow at the Bulls.
‘Dan offers a lot to any team with his size and pace and I am looking forward to see him develop and progress at the Bulls in the next couple of years,’ the Bulls’ director of rugby said,
Adongo said he was thrilled to have this opportunity.
‘I want to thank the Sharks for the chance they have given me to play rugby and all they have taught me about the game through the Sharks Academy, and also the senior Sharks training squad,’ Adongo said.
‘I am very excited about my move to the Bulls. I look forward to the challenge of proving myself from scratch and it is a privilege to become part of the union.’

73 Comments
15 Nov 2011, 09:39 am
Kenyan Dragon
15 Nov 2011, 09:40 am
And he’ll play for the senior side?
Nope. Vodacom Cup here comes Adonga.
15 Nov 2011, 09:44 am
A near 2 metre Kenyan loose forward with the hops is going to be interesting!
15 Nov 2011, 09:54 am
meyer is keen on making a spies clone, incase pierre follows fdp and goes to japan
15 Nov 2011, 09:56 am
now let’s see what all those bulls fans who criticized wp for contracting chavanga and mujati and naqalevuki have to say…??
15 Nov 2011, 10:08 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-4:
Shall we start a rumor?
The sooner Spies goes, the better. Maybe they’ll have the sense to play him on the wing!
All this talk of making Pierre Spies captain is making me fear for the Bulls 2012.
15 Nov 2011, 10:12 am
he strikes me as more a kankowski than a spies type of player by the look of him.
15 Nov 2011, 10:17 am
This guy needs a lot of work. Great athlete and super talented but another season or twos worth of work still to be put into him.
15 Nov 2011, 10:21 am
Let’s see if Meyer can develop him, to really strive Adongo will need to be effective in the tight and loose exchanges.
15 Nov 2011, 10:30 am
Good luck young man.
15 Nov 2011, 10:37 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-4:
Spies or Chilli are the favourites to take over as Bulls captain next year.
15 Nov 2011, 10:40 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-2:
Hey Hendrik.
I saw the vitriol you spewed towards the Bulls on news24 the other day.
Moaning about the Bulls in the Bok team, the Bulls this, the Bulls that, how k*k the Bulls are etc. etc.
Man, ek het lanklaas so n suurgat gesien soos jy.
Some advice:
Stop blaming your unhappiness on the Bulls, and look at your own team’s shortcomings as the source of your woes.
15 Nov 2011, 10:40 am
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-9: he could develop into a hoeata type player…comfortable at both flank & lock.
15 Nov 2011, 10:42 am
i have seen him play quiet alot and im serioiusly pissed off the sharks let him go, he is a beast on the feild, got a good turn of pace, carries the ball really well, is very fit, all in all he has a dam good future ahead of him,
sharks managment : thanks for loosing this kid, oh and big thanks fro keeping twats like jouberts and bosman
really makes my day!!!
15 Nov 2011, 10:51 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-13:
Not really..Adongo is a much betta athlete than Hoeatta. He is a bigger version of Victor Vito. But I guess you mean the 4/6 hybrid.
15 Nov 2011, 10:54 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-13:
you mean a danie roussouw type player ?
15 Nov 2011, 11:00 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-15: yes, i mean the latter, obviously he has different abilities to hoeata.
@Gunther(gunther)-16: nah, danie’s hands and body position in contact are rubbish…adongo will do well not to emulate danie.
15 Nov 2011, 11:03 am
Really proud of this guy..played against Dan in high school back in Kenya and he always gave defences a torrid time. Surprised to see he transformed into a forward! Back then he was a Jamie Roberts type of centre
15 Nov 2011, 11:04 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-17:
well if he achieves half of what danie has then he will have had a decent career.
lets hope he does.
15 Nov 2011, 11:08 am
Seriously good signing/investment by the Bulls here – remember this name in 2 years time.
15 Nov 2011, 11:08 am
@Gunther(gunther)-19:
Ja.
Something like 4 Currie Cups
3 Super 14 trophies
A World Cup, including starting in the World Cup final
A Tri Nations trophy or two
And a Britsh Lions series win.
I reckon 90% of players don’t achieve what Danie has. I’d say he can be pretty satisfied with his career.
15 Nov 2011, 11:09 am
@realkenyan(realkenyan)-18:
He is a real physical specimen.He’s grown quite a bit since then too,Standing at 1.97m 112kgs. Problem with him in the backs is that his acceleration was average thus easy to close down,his hands at times let him down & hand problems fielding high balls. Has played much better since being moved to flank where his athleticism gives him an edge above your average loosie/lock.
15 Nov 2011, 11:17 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-21:
Very good player,excellent squad player.Probably only player to be able to play 4/5/6/8 at an international standard.
But one cant overlook the fact that he had massive deficiencies in his game which he was never really able to correct to truly make him world class as he had the physical attributes. His hands were erratic,tackling efficiency inconsistent,body position into contact mediocre.But he could run GREAT lines,offload well,jump well in lineouts etc He is was really MR Consistent at being INCONSISTENT….(BTW Wynand Olivier also has all of those but isnt a great player just a decent one in Bulls set ip)
But in saying all that,I really liked Danie as a player. Real team man,when he showed up he could be sublime which was too far inbetween for a player of his abilities.Couldve been a GREAT player even though he was a VERY Good one.
15 Nov 2011, 11:18 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-7: He reminds of Radike Samo big, strong and fast. Here is hoping he gets some S15 gametime. @PissAnt(PissAnt)-20: Agreed.
15 Nov 2011, 11:21 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-23:
Yet he was obviously good enough to assist all those teams he played in to win all those trophies.
In the team context, his 2 or 3 dropped balls and bounced tackles were more than compensated for by his positive contributions.
People see one dropped ball and remember that. But they don’t remember the 3 contributions he made before that, in various other facets of play.
In the end, it is a team game. And you want whichever players make the team win trophies. And judging by Danie’s record, he ticked that box.
15 Nov 2011, 11:21 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-23: You mean 4/5/7/8
15 Nov 2011, 11:22 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-23: well summed up, should put a lid on Tac’s trap
15 Nov 2011, 11:23 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-23: or maybe not
15 Nov 2011, 11:29 am
To Western Province, please note the general age of our purchases.
By the way, I loved reading the excerp from Victors book, abou the team speech he gave in the changeroom before the S14 final in Soweto.
Basically he said: “This Bulls team have won about 4 Currie Cups and 2 S14 trophies in the last few years. The Stormers have won nothing in a decade, and yet the moment they made the final the media had them as the favourites to win the trophy. It’s bizzare.”
So he told his team: “We have worked hard for 5 years to get to this final. We don’t just go and buy 3 big name players and then think we deserve to win a S14 trophy. Let’s go out and show these guys the difference between our hard work approach and their shortcut attempt to buy a trophy.”
And the rest is history.
15 Nov 2011, 11:31 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-25:
why bother.
it is what is.
you will just get some guff about “skill sets”.
15 Nov 2011, 11:35 am
@Gunther(gunther)-30:
Ja. Joe van Niekerk has a brilliant skillset. Far more “Worldclass” than the boring Danie Rossouw.
But let’s not compare their trophy cabinets.
15 Nov 2011, 11:43 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-25: that’s why they have individual awards Tac, like IRB player of the year or SA player of the year.
if Danie was in the NBA he’s have multiple “Sixth Man of the year ” awards but never the MVP award
15 Nov 2011, 11:43 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-29:
Are those pages from Vic’s book now stuck together?
15 Nov 2011, 11:46 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-32:
Well all that is important to me is my team. The Bulls. And Danie has been crucial to their success over the last 10 years.
In fact, so crucial that we are now trying damn hard to find a similar type of player to fill the void he left. Candidates are Juandre Kruger, Jacques Potgieter, and probably Dan Adongo as well.
15 Nov 2011, 11:47 am
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-33:
Haven’t got the book yet. Read the excerpt in the newspaper.
15 Nov 2011, 11:49 am
who said he was IRB player of the year material?
stop being a doos.
all that was said was that if the newbie has a career like danies then he could be said to have done well.
hopefully he will do even better.
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-33:
how old are you?
seriously?
15 Nov 2011, 11:53 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-35:
Surprised. Thought you would be first in the queue.
Being a die hard Stormers fan I will always support the team that plays against the Bulls but Victor Matfield is a South African rugby legend is up their with Frik Du Preez and Danie Craven.
15 Nov 2011, 11:54 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-24:
That’s so apt. Daniel Adongo is EXACTLY like Radike Samo.
15 Nov 2011, 11:56 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-29:
And they continue to try and buy trophies if you look at their recent signings… (more importantly losses).
15 Nov 2011, 11:56 am
@Gunther(gunther)-36: Come on Andre, IMO that was funny.
15 Nov 2011, 11:57 am
Interesting:

“meyer is keen on making a spies clone ”
But what if that dude will developed into a Hilton Lobert clone?
HM should have known better than to raise expectations prematurely?
15 Nov 2011, 11:58 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-25:
Yes as i said.He was a good player but in my opinion he was working at about 45 % of his true ability.
Danie was/is a freak. Big,strong,fast with a very good skillset at times and versatile. but was inconsistent often at crucial times and NEVER corrected those deficiencies.Thats the biggest dissapointment of all.
but hes had a great career indeed.
Had he played to his potential & cut out the mistakes/inconsistency-he would have been the ULTIMATE forward hybrid. 4/5/7/8. Certaintly one of the athletes to ever play the game.
15 Nov 2011, 12:01 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-38: I know right…here is hoping he plays more like Samo than Spies.
Danie Rossouw would have been Rasheed Wallace…hehehe
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-42:
Danie had a mindset of being happy to fill in for Bakkies and Victor believing he was just unlucky to play at the same time as arguably the best locks SA produced. I some sense I agree, he could have even been better than those two if he believed he could be – but he was content and somehow it worked for him.
One of my favourite players of all time.
15 Nov 2011, 12:05 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-34:
)
Lobert is available, why not give him a 2nd chance ?
After all, he earned 2 caps while with the Bulls, against England and the ABs
(The Boks lost both tests btw
15 Nov 2011, 12:09 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-46:
You really need to get over this racial obsession of yours. You don’t want to turn into the opposing version of youknowwho.
Lobberts is long gone from the Bulls. As Mabeta should be soon. If we can find someone better to fill this role, then I am very happy. Let’s hope Adongo is the guy. He sounds like he has lots of potential, at least.
Now for it to be nurtured and developed.
15 Nov 2011, 12:10 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-34:
yes Taci, wat is jou gevoel oor Spies as kaptein, ek moet sê dit bekommer ,volgens my moet n kaptein eers n insperasie op die veld wees, dan kan daar verder gekyk word na dinge van die veld af. op huidige vorm sal spies nie my span haal nie, hy is n gereat personn en so maar daar skort met sy intensiteit op die veld hy kort meer moegoe in hom
15 Nov 2011, 12:17 pm
@vasteses(vasteses)-48:
Spies is n confidence player. Persoonlik dink ek hoe meer confidence mense in hom het, hoe beter speel hy. En ek dink die kapteinskap sal verseker die “lyfwegsteek” houding van hom uitsorteer.
Hy is die tipe ou wat n voorbeeld wil stel, en as hy kaptein word sal dit definitief sy spel lig.
So op n manier sal sy kapteinskap twee probleme vir ons oplos.
Een, dit sal die leierskap vakuum vul.
En twee, dit sal Spies se swak spelpeil uitsort, en weer vir ons slaankrag op nommer 8 gee.
15 Nov 2011, 12:22 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-49:
hel ek hoop jy is reg, want indien hulle hom kaptein maak en hy is nie die regte keuse nie sal dit meer skade aan sy selfvertroue doen. ek moet se ek is moer opgewonde oor manne soos venter en arno botha, jaques potgieter, en wat is jou gevoel om juandre kruger na 7 toe te skuif. ek voel hy is nie fisies genoeg op slot nie.
15 Nov 2011, 12:26 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-49:
Interesting post. I know most people on this blog including me, have written Spies off. But who can blame us based on his low work rate and his inability to produce when the pack is on the back foot .
But I agree with you maybe captaincy with force him to set up to the plate.
15 Nov 2011, 12:26 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-49:
i hope you’re right Tac…
I really rated him and have been waiting for him to burst through his glass ceiling and consistently produce the sort of performances his strength and athleticism should enable him to produce… week in week out….
would love to see him become the world’s dominant number 8 and really impose himself on every other international number 8… so when their teams play the boks the number 8s think…
“oh fu ck me…. i have to play against Pierre Spies…”
seriously… i hope he can and does… spies in full dominating flight and bouncing off would-be tacklers would be a sight to behold…
i hope he does just what you’re saying…
15 Nov 2011, 12:29 pm
Feel Sharks have let another talent slip through their hands. Sad that we let him go.
Good luck Dan all the best at the Bulls. I am sure they will turn you into a great player.
15 Nov 2011, 12:57 pm
IS he a forward or a back ? I long said we need to look at Kenya for backline players , their 7′s rugby success is testament to the caliber of players available
15 Nov 2011, 12:59 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-51: I choked on my chips when I read that Spies is in the running to become the next Bulls captain, hehehe …… I say bring it on can’t wait for the show pony to “lead by example” and I know that I’d rather face Spies than that monster Arno Botha … long may the show pony lead the Bulls.
15 Nov 2011, 13:05 pm
Looks like the Bulls again are trying to fill their racial quota s with foreign black players – be surprised to see if this guy even gets a chance in the first XV – reminds me of the disappearance of Kennedy Simba
15 Nov 2011, 13:06 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-34: you re lying through your teeth. you were moaning last week that it is a shame that victor will finish his career without having EVER won one of those Player of the Year gongs.
imagine a minion like Shane Williams was IRB Player of the Year yet Big Vic retired empty handed.
the point was about danie – the player and not the blue bulls – the team.
how do you think schalk won player of the year in a WP/Stormers side that has only Plascon Upende Cups to show? individual brilliance
15 Nov 2011, 13:09 pm
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-55: Maybe given the responsibility he will produce. RL, his not a kak player, his an exceptional athelete and on his best with ball in hand WHEN THE PACK IS DOMINATING he will run you to shreds and can hand off like a freight train.
The guys still young don’t write him off.
15 Nov 2011, 13:15 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-36: you’re being dooserag! i dodn’t say he was “IRB player of the year material” either or didn’t say YOU or Tac did.
i only made an example of one award that came to mind! danie’s had a great career and i enjoy it when he wants to play inside centre (like when he ran over sias ebersohn earlier this year)
but he was inconsistent.
now wind your neck in.
15 Nov 2011, 13:21 pm
Danie russouw has a number of deficiencies, ball carrying, tackling, and poor decision-making. He is an enormous specimen of a human and has great versatility. If a coach could just correct those issues, he’d be a real challenge.
15 Nov 2011, 13:24 pm
@ufo(ufo)-52: If there was an award for the most over rated player in the World it would have to go to Pierre Spies – I cant believe that there are still Saffas backing him that one day he will be brilliant – yes a cold day in hell !
15 Nov 2011, 13:54 pm
@stew(stew)-61:
i’ve criticized him as much as the rest… and i won’t be holding my breath…
all i’m saying is… if Tac is correct… and IF Pierre does somehow lift his game and fulfill his potential… at last… and consistently…
it could only be a good thing for bok rugby…
and not so good for you guys…!!
but as i said… i won’t be holding my breath…
personally i think spies just needs to get mean… get angry on the field and wanna hurt guys (legally of course…)
15 Nov 2011, 14:02 pm
@Puma(Puma)-53: ahhhh shampies, I feel for the guppies ………………… NOT.
Long may the Lions academy, based in Durban, produce quality youngsters for the Pride … now losing Adongo was not the plan but with so much talent around I do not mind seeing that one slip through our nets.
15 Nov 2011, 15:56 pm
I wonder if the Bulls realise they’ve signed someone who cant catch or pass and has very limited knowledge of the game. Sharks invested a lot of money into this guy, but unfortunately they still couldnt teach him the basics (or rather he couldnt grasp the basics).
15 Nov 2011, 22:55 pm
@ShaunMichaels(ShaunMichaels)-64: Bizarre post. If that were the case, I’m sure he would have been fortunate to land a contract with the Griffons, let alone the 3x Super Rugby champions Bulls.
Just another player to leave the Sharks. Something is rotten at the Sharks, they need to word wakker soon. I see Eugene Vann Staden is on his way out too, hot on the heels of Mostert, Sykes, Muller, Rhodes, Cilliers, Murray, BJ, Pienaar, F Steyn, Strauss, Barrit…
15 Nov 2011, 23:04 pm
And in that continuing exodus we signed Jacques Louis Potgieter, Meyer Bosman, Hoffman, Skeate, Ludik and Marius Joubert.
Quality.
15 Nov 2011, 23:26 pm
Busy night here on Keo… Zzz Zzz Zzz
16 Nov 2011, 08:59 am
@ShaunMichaels(ShaunMichaels)-64: Sounds a bit like sour grapes , give the lad a chance
17 Nov 2011, 06:39 am
@realkenyan(realkenyan)-18</a
Which School and club.
18 Nov 2011, 12:15 pm
How the hell did the Sharks lose this guy?! Ai yai yai give me strength!!!! WHY are the Sharks so kak at retaining their players?!
18 Nov 2011, 12:19 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-70: they said he has kak hands and goes walking about sometimes
18 Nov 2011, 12:29 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-71: How long has he been playing for them. Jeez give a player a chance. Smit has kak hands and went walking about but he captained the Sharks a million times!
18 Nov 2011, 12:34 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-72: Sharks are not hard up @ loose forward…kanko, deysel, alberts, daniels, botes, coetzee…adongo was waaaaayyy behind.