Stormers to play Kings in 2012

The Stormers will play five warm-up matches next year and have added the Eastern Province Kings to the 2012 pre-season schedule.

The Cape franchise will begin their Super Rugby preparations with the third installment of the Tri-Series, facing the Lions and Sharks on consecutive weekends at Newlands. They will then travel to Port Elizabeth to play against the Kings, before returning to the Western Cape to face Boland.

Tri-series matches:
27 January: Stormers vs Lions (Newlands)
31 January: Lions vs Sharks (Newlands)
4 February: Stormers vs Sharks (Newlands)

Stormers’ other warm-up games:
11 February: EP vs Stormers (Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium)
Boland vs Stormers (Date and venue TBC)

29 Comments

• 1.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

What the point in these warm-up games?

An opportunity for players to get injured, unless you play the players on the outside (as in not your top-30).

Anything else is just making the season even longer for players that are already worn out.

• 2.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Stormers to add more silverware to the cabinet stocked with Plascon Wall and All trophies.

Ah bless.

• 3.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

at the least its good for the kings.

• 4.garth: Reply to this comment

I see they aren’t bothering to play the minions or the Cheetahs for warmup matches.

• 5.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

watson will play with his coat hanger in his jersey again

• 6.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i tip the Stormers to retain the Plascon Velvet Cup.

• 7.Gunther: Reply to this comment

And they say AC doesn’t win trophies.

• 8.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-6:

i wouldn’t be so sure…

after all… we will be playing the currie cup champions and the currie cup finalists…!! :shock:

we haven’t won squat in 10 years… as everyone always reminds us… these teams have that winning habit… we ALWAYS lose…

plus… we have a lite-five… a terrible captain… a useless coach… a conservative style of play… two players whose commitment is dubious because they play in japan… a flyhalf who can’t kick a bad habit… two flop-props… to crocked locks… no genuine open side flank… as has-been winger who is over-paid and under achieves and has no speed… and another wing whose a better hurdler than a rugby player…

fark me…!!!

the lions and sharks are gonna moer us stukkend…

i tip the lion’s to add the Plascon Interior Design Cup to their already overladen trophy cabinet…!!

• 9.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

And I fear this is will the Kings will (again) be limited to – exhibition matches.

The more things change…

• 10.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-8: :lol: feeling sorry for yourself much?

• 11.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-10:

not… :lol:

just tipping the team fresh from their currie cup championship success…

they’re moered the bok-laden stormers AND sharks on consecutive weekends…!!

they are obviously the hot favorites… not only to win the pre-season… but to win the saffa conference…!

• 12.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Are the Stormers getting the opening bye again this year? 5 warm up games are a lot. Could back fire or it could for them….they can hit the ground running and with increased competition from the Lions and Cheetahs the Stormers need to start winning from game 1 if they hope to top the conference.

• 13.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-12:

no its the sharks turn this year

• 14.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-13: Maybe its a good omen for the Sharks. maybe you guys can win the Conference next year.

• 15.ufo: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-13:

who’s ‘you guys’…??

‘we’ won it this year…!!

• 16.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-15: lol sorry i got you confused with Puma! Yes we will win it again next year along with the S15 trophy!

• 17.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Five warm ups? Surely that should read four. I can see the writer is counting the Sharks Lions game as a Stormers warm up, but that’s a bit of a stretch, even for the lazy Stormers.

• 18.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-9: why do you fear … did you not hear that the Kings have made some kind of deal, allegedly, which will see them join the big 5 as the 6th team in next years Currie Cup.

• 19.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-17:
    lmao

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

stormers will moer these sharkievarkies stukkend…

not sure about them leeus thoiugh…

I better diarise…

• 21.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-20: Lol, before this year the Stormers hadn’t beaten the Sharks in Super rugby in 5 LONG YEARS. I reckon normal service will be resumed next year. Sharks are just better, simples.

• 22.grant10: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-21: cycles….

you okes on a downer

no locks

no centres

go fix that….till then …you knee deep in the mire my man

• 23.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-22: you know you are kidding yourself boet.

• 24.grant10: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-23: now seems you lost your top prop too….fark me….you bleeding players as bad as stormers….

• 25.cab: Reply to this comment

So now when do the Kings plan to enter the S15 and at whose expense?

I thought it would be the Lions who get the bullet in 2013.

Need to expand to 6 SA teams, this region could be good for SA rugby, but must not be at expense of one of the other established powerhourses, SANZAR can also give the saffa some leeway.

• 26.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-25: I reckon the Lions have dodged that bullet. All praise to them.

• 27.cab: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-26:
    yeah be really **** to see them go down now, they looking promising under a new coach for the S15 this year, but really do need a couple of big names i feel.

• 28.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-25: there’s already too many teams in Super rugby.

The only solution I can think of is an annual promotion/relegation system. It will have serious financial repercussions on the team which sits out though…

A super comp with more than 15 teams? Yuk! Less is more. The best format was the S12 – by far the most exciting and intense.

A two tier “premier” and 1st division league with 10 teams each could work with the possible inclusion of a Pacific Islands team, an Argentinian team and maybe a Japanese and US/Canadian team … BUT… would the 1st division make money? Doubt it.

I think if we see the Kings pushing for a semi final place in the main Currie Cup, that’s when we should start thinking about including them, but only then. I’m a big believer in merit only an no free rides.

• 29.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-28: EP are a rubbish team and have always been that way. Play Vodacup.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.