Bryce fears for safety in SA
16 Nov 2011
Bryce Lawrence says he won’t officiate in South Africa next season if his personal safety is under threat.
Since Lawrence’s controversial performance in the Wallabies’ 11-9 quarter-final win over the Springboks at the World Cup, the Kiwi referee has been critcized for his handling of the breakdown by South African players, fans and media.
Retired Springbok captain John Smit said: ‘The one positive of retirement is that I won’t ever have to be reffed by him again’. Even Saru manager of referees Andre Watson slammed Lawrence’s performance, saying the New Zealander won’t officiate at a future World Cup as he would be severely admonished by the IRB.
A Facebook campaign titled ‘Petition To Stop Bryce Lawrence Ever Reffing A Rugby Game Again’ set up a platform for public abuse to be directed at Lawrence, while 94.7 Highveld Stereo radio station’s Darren ‘Whackhead’ Simpson has claimed to have prank called him in the middle of the night.
Speaking to Tony Veitch on Radiosport, Lawrence said he is aware of the threat of refereeing in South Africa during Super Rugby next year.
‘I’m not totally concerned. I know a lot of other people like the New Zealand Rugby Union and SANZAR do have some serious concerns,’ Lawrence said. ‘In all honesty, I’m not going to go over there if there’s any personal threat or I have concerns about my safety because in the end it’s a job. I know that, and also it’s just a sport so I’m not going to put myself at risk.’
‘I refereed the [Super Rugby] final last year,’ he continued. ‘I’ve refereed a lot of play-off games so that level is something I’m more than capable of refereeing. I’ll referee South African teams in Super Rugby, it may be in Australia or New Zealand that I referee them and I’m sure the criticism will resurface every time I do referee them.’
Lawrence admitted that he always thinks back to his performance in the Wallabies/Bok quarter-final fixture.
‘It hasn’t been the greatest four or six weeks of my life…in all honesty there isn’t a day goes by even now that I don’t think about what I could have done better and how it’s affecting me and what it means for me going forward. It’s still very fresh and probably pretty raw really,’ he said.
‘I was disappointed with some aspects in my own performance that day after refereeing four really pretty strong games in pool play. I’m not blaming anyone for the quarterfinal refereeing display apart from myself. I didn’t referee as well as I could.
‘I was pretty relaxed going into that game, and Australia/South Africa I have refereed numerous times in the last few years at Tri-Nations level so the game didn’t scare me or concern me. I just think I went away from what I’m best at. I’m best when I’m pretty decisive and reasonably technical and tactical – and I just went too much down the tactical side of things where I was really trying to minimise making technical errors.
‘I got criticised heavily and some of that I accept because I know I could have done better.’
Lawrence added that he has been punished by being left out of the Six Nations.
‘Look, there have been some pretty clear consequences from my quarterfinal display. I’m not going to be refereeing Six Nations next year, they can say that means I’m rested but in reality I accept that one of the consequences of my performance is that I’m not going to be doing Six Nations.
‘That’s disappointing from a personal level but also something that I probably support. Referees often get criticised and not held accountable – well I’m clearly being held accountable I’m not refereeing Six Nations.’
Meanwhile, Sanzar CEO Greg Peters told Eyewitness News they have not expressed any concerns regarding Lawrence’s safety in South Africa. Peters explained that he consulted their legal advisors and said the Lawrence safety saga has not been discussed within Sanzar.

395 Comments
16 Nov 2011, 07:25 am
Scared poopless dragon
16 Nov 2011, 07:32 am
nothing about what he says is convincing.
we were ffucking setup, any ccunt can see that.
go ffuck yourself all the same bryce.
your wife got hammered by the beast…live with that.
16 Nov 2011, 07:32 am
Bryce as a contestant in….Survivor SA,Fear Factor SA.By the way is this an admission of Guilt?????????
16 Nov 2011, 07:41 am
Has he received death threats like Barnsey did after 2007?
He shouldn’t be reffing at international level anyway.
Paddy’s little henchman needs to retire, his work is done.
16 Nov 2011, 07:44 am
playing your sshitty guilt ridden little crying games with your homeboy wifebeating arrse sucking yes man. boo hoo i feel things didnt go as well as i wanted but its not my fault and i never did anything wrong..more boos and hoos…you know how we feel about you and your kind…that wont change.
16 Nov 2011, 07:45 am
Jy beter worry jou doos!!!!!!
Lawrence should change his first name…
Brycie boy… is is NOT all about you. No-one cares how it affects you now and in the future. Think about how it affected a squad of 30 players and their support staff and all rugby supports in SA? Just because you had a breakdown instead of reffing the breakdown? Here’s a tissue…
I don’t understand this! Why would he fear anything if he felt he reffed fair and consistently?
Anyone makes mistakes, but its fair and consistency that’s missing.
Also missing the 6 nations is not being disciplined. A 2 year ban with no contract renewal is a punishment.
IRB clowns
16 Nov 2011, 07:46 am
‘I’ve refereed a lot of play-off games so that level is something I’m more than capable of refereeing.
Bwaahahahaha!!! Jou opinie en joune alleen jou moeg moer!!
16 Nov 2011, 07:47 am
Daddy and Paddy must be so proud.
16 Nov 2011, 07:48 am
@BULLET(BULLET)-9: 100%
16 Nov 2011, 07:52 am
Furthermore, any ref (craig joubert included) should be banned from any reffing for 6 months if their international performance goes through a tribunal, and the video evidence clearly shows that there were penalty infringements that the ignored for whatever reason.
I am all about evidence. If by TV, one can prove that the ref saw the transgression, and did nothing, ban him.
We will see games being reffed properly very fast. Also, I guarentee you the refs will polish up their law books quickly. Hit them where it hurts! Their pockets. Don’t just give them a 2 month holiday with no salary cut and call it a punishment.
If my boss gives me 2 months garden leave with full bonus and pay, then immediately takes me back with open arms, whose being punished? Seems more like a reward to me.
16 Nov 2011, 07:54 am
Yip, i would be very worried about kitchen staff and waiters spitting in all your meals if i were you.
Stay away, your incompetance is not wanted here.
16 Nov 2011, 08:02 am
Sanzar….
We should head north
these tears were always just a matter of time
why we ever done this stupid sanzar deal in the first place is beyond me.
16 Nov 2011, 08:03 am
Plod
PDV
Bryce
Not on my Festive Season Best Wishes list.
May they rot in hell….
16 Nov 2011, 08:04 am
Bryce Lawrence
Te ref that cheats, yes it is true
16 Nov 2011, 08:05 am
This bloke won ref of the year in NZ, what a laugh. When somebody admits they didn’t ref the game to the best of their ability, and then wins ref of the year, something fishy going on here, call in the hawks.
16 Nov 2011, 08:05 am
lol you damn skippy Bryce…..you wont even make it out of OR Tambo!
16 Nov 2011, 08:08 am
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-14:
i would pay someone to spit in his food and think nothing of it.
16 Nov 2011, 08:08 am
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-18: I dont think he won yet….he is just nominated. Their awards evening is on the 1st December. But you are right he is bound to win going up against a female ref and an amateur ref.
16 Nov 2011, 08:11 am
I would love to be part of a Newlands crowd not giving a damn about the match and just booing poor Bryce like he’s the anti ******.
16 Nov 2011, 08:14 am
come on brycie, stop playing to the gallery mate. It was a game and it is LONG over nobody in SA wishes u any harm.
You can come & ref in SA anytime as long as you referee Sharks game ONLY
cheers bryce
16 Nov 2011, 08:16 am
I think it best Mr Lawrence that you ply your trade in Aussie and Kiwiland.
And that you only do games not involving SA Teams…..
Thanks Sanzar.
PS
If Bryce has to do some Saffa games please let him ref the Sharks….not Stormers….
Baie Dankie
@Transformation(Transformation)-23: snap
Good morning muppits.
Imo Bryce is gooing a “pity party” and is milking it!
16 Nov 2011, 08:17 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-21: Just him being nominated is enough.
16 Nov 2011, 08:20 am
LOL! I dont blame him. All those morally debauched and deluded Bokke fanboys baying for Brycies blood. Self preservation is not an admission of guilt, its just self preservation. 80,000 idiots have revealed themselves on the antiBryce facebook page. It only takes one Piet Van Zyl to send him home in a body bag. Embarrasing for SA really, that an international referee is so threatened that he wont tour the Republic. Besides, I wouldnt go back to SA if someone paid me.
16 Nov 2011, 08:22 am
Cape Town to get 108000 new visitors because of the 7 Wonders…..
Bryce…please do not be 1 of them…..
You can go to Durbs
16 Nov 2011, 08:23 am
I think we should welcome Bryce into South Africa with open arms, show him real SA hospitality. Once Bryce is settled and his nerves have calmed down we then knock the fffing truth out of him, was he paid or did he just decide to roger SA like he does to sheep.
16 Nov 2011, 08:24 am
@grant10(grant10)-29: Acting like a 13 year old again gwantie ?
@Gunther(gunther)-4:
Hes been getting then on here.
@BULLET(BULLET)-13:
Well be prepared to have a lack of refs.
Who would want to be in a job where your life in is threat?
Just think of it, lets take the job that you do. You make a mistake, do you get banned for months then have a country wanting to kill you?
@Staal(Staal)-26:
Of course that is what he is doing.
Nobody will harm him here, he will in fact be more safe in SA than just about anywhere else in the world.
The fact that we are world champions at whinging does not mean we are not civilised, polite and well behaved
@Staal(Staal)-26: Yep, he employed a PR company most probably, as he knows all teams will now doubt his honesty and ability, not just SAffa teams
He should not be at this level, now they have also fast tracked Glen Jackson, just shows how Paddy’s buddy system is working
Cape Town – The Southern Kings’ participation in the Super Rugby tournament from 2013 onwards could again be under threat.
Die Burger newspaper reports that several rugby officials feel the Kings’ automatic inclusion in the 2013 tournament is not in the best interests of South African rugby.
This issue was brought up at a recent Presidents forum of the South African Rugby Union (SARU) and could be discussed further in the first week of December.
The EP Kings’ inability to win the Currie Cup First Division this year and their apparent lack of transformation leave questions over their Super Rugby inclusion.
They even fielded two New Zealanders – Ross Kennedy and Clint Newland – in this year’s Currie Cup First Division, where they were hammered 43-12 by the Boland Cavaliers in the final.
EP’s loss in the “B”-section final means they are effectively the 10th best union in the country. Border and SWD – who are the Southern Kings’ other representatives – finished last and second last respectively in the First Division, which makes them the two weakest provincial teams in South Africa.
SANZAR announced earlier this year that an extension of the Super Rugby tournament is not open for discussion, which means the Kings would have to replace one of the current Super Rugby teams. This would be problematic for SARU if a team made up of the 10th, 13th and 14th best side’s in the country represents South Africa in the Southern Hemisphere’s premier tournament.
South Africa has an obligation towards SANZAR to play its best teams in Super Rugby, which makes the Kings’ inclusion hard to justify.
16 Nov 2011, 08:25 am
Makes SA sound like Afghanistan….
What a bullseye shooting of your own foot, yarpies!
16 Nov 2011, 08:27 am
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-27: Yip agree it is ludicrous.
16 Nov 2011, 08:27 am
Rigging the outcome of a world cup in favour of the media darling home side will always be a messy affair with more than one loser. That’s the bryce you pay.
16 Nov 2011, 08:28 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-32: Directors of company lose their directorship
Lawyers banned from their council
Doctors sued
Bryce Awfullence, nothing…….he is not good enough for 1st class rugby reffing, nothing more to it
16 Nov 2011, 08:30 am
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-30:
So beating and torturing is the way to go.
What he will say , did you need 80% of the ball and 90% of the territory to win?? Is that what you wanted?
You couldnt win with 70 odd percent of territory and just as much ball, surely not all the blame thats going on is the refs fault.
Do ever think that one drop kick could have won the Quarter final?
NZ have been down the same road so we should know.
16 Nov 2011, 08:30 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-36: Yep, he has just stopped the 5 Keewees with some money from touring SA, shock, horror!
16 Nov 2011, 08:32 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-35: I think the biggest threat to the Southern Kings inclusion in Super rugby ever, is the fact that the majority of the first world, which includes countries like New Zealand and Australia don’t understand nor intend to facilitate the tokenism we have in South Africa.
For the first world (probably why they are first world), merit is everything. And there is no merit to justify the inclusion of the Kings.
South Africa is the only country in the world that has affirmative policies enforced by law that protect a majority against a minority. There are many countries that use ‘employment equity’, ‘affirmative action’ or ‘reverse apartheid’ whichever you want to call it – but in those countries eg. USA, its to protect a minority against a majority. It’s representative of just how weak and pathetic our argument must seem to developed, first world countries.
16 Nov 2011, 08:33 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-38: Ja, its interesting. Every time there is an article on Bryce, they refer to how much he is adored in New Zealand. Of course he is – he was the All Blacks most valuable player of the world cup.
He should have won the award for All Black player of the year.
16 Nov 2011, 08:33 am
@JL1(JL1)-39:
So why the sudden turnaround?
I remember 2007 we were told to move on, you take the good with the bad.
So in the RWC, SA would have 2 refs banned if it was up to them.
They would ask for refs to be banned in every 3 nations that would have been played and believe me the 4 nations you guys will be asking for a ref to be banned.
Honestly the world has not got that many refs.
16 Nov 2011, 08:34 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-42: I hear you.
16 Nov 2011, 08:36 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-43:
Adored?
I wouldnt say that.
Just imagine if he refed NZ against OZ like he did against SA?
I am sure he would be considered on here the best ref around,as was Barnes in 2007 on here.
16 Nov 2011, 08:36 am
Unless robots are programmed to ref there will always be the human element which nobody can predict – sanctions however should be passed against refs who are not upto scratch – there must be accountability.
Blaming just NZ is getting so tired … SA is not blameless , i am still smarting about the Bulls beating the Saders in the last S14 with a blatant forward pass which won the Bulls the game and then they went on to win the S14 … the human element will always be a factor deal with it .
16 Nov 2011, 08:37 am
Persona non grata list:
Bryce Lawrence
Luke Watson
Paddy O’Bryce
Nigerian drug dealers
Joolius Malema
Robert Mooogabe
16 Nov 2011, 08:38 am
@grant10(grant10)-29: grant what is the price of a season ticket at newlands.
16 Nov 2011, 08:39 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-42:
Affirmative policies in SA should be across the board on all sports.
How come I haven’t seen any of the wannabee Bushmen in the SA Basketball team?
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-40: Surely you realize, as you type your comment, the complete folly of your logic. The ONLY reason we couldn’t win despite a majority of possession and territory was because of a wally with a whistle. That’s what makes the whole thing so bitter to accept.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-40:
Don’t be ignorant.
The opportunities we had to score points, Lawrence allowed Pocock to infringe without penalizing him.
Whether we scored a try or not shouldn’t matter. We weren’t given penalties when we should have been.
The rules are there for a reason, and Lawrence didn’t enforce them properly.
16 Nov 2011, 08:40 am
Mshiniwam can take him to the hood.
16 Nov 2011, 08:41 am
Loving this fear the cretin has of all things South African.
It’s high time that the sheepshaggers got some healthy respect for us again.
Time to start kicking Australasian arse and taking names again. No mercy. It should follow through all the way to the Super 15 and Tri-nations…..moer hulle.
@grant10(grant10)-29:
I see you fell for the 7 wonders ‘scam’… why does that not surprise me… bwahaha!
@>^..^< katman(katman)-51:
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-52:
So you telling me there was no chance in any part of that game to go for a drop kick?
If you can seriously say there wasnt then lets leave it at that.
16 Nov 2011, 08:42 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-51:
He can’t see the logic.
How the F are you supposed to score points, when whenever you threaten the line, the Australians get away with whatever they like at rucks.
It matters sweet f-all if you have 70% territory, when everytime you are on their line you lose the ball to a hand in the ruck or a player not being released in the tackle.
Australia should’ve been penalized and a few players yellow carded. Didn’t happen. Bryce Lawrence deserves to be fired, not rewarded.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-40: whats up, changing your tune now after Bryce has admitted that he didn’t ref the game to the rules.
@Dusky(Dusky)-43:
Of course we adore Lawrence, he was so much cheaper than what Craig charged.
16 Nov 2011, 08:44 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-56:
There was, and we also slotted 1.
That’s hardly the point. What you’re saying is: It doesn’t matter if the referee farked up, because you didn’t try a drop goal. Do you know how silly that sounds?
16 Nov 2011, 08:44 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-57:
It is called having a second string to your bow besides bashing and crashing.
Actually SA did that, but were so ill prepared and inexperiences they pushed passes and subsequently bombed certain tries.
16 Nov 2011, 08:45 am
@stew(stew)-47: it wasnt a forward pass stew.
it came off th saders player. there is video evidence to support this.
whereas kiwis like to whine about single incidents like the 2007 1/4 fwd pass by he frogs, they like to ignore facts like their own fwd pass in the same game try by mccalister). either way, these are isolated decisions as opposed to entire reffing performances from games start to games end.
bryce is a loser, this little whine just shows the whole world how pathetic he is:
“its all about me, i feel threatened boo hoo, i feel dissapointed in myself boo hoo etc etc etc”
but NOT ON apology. Not one acknowledgement that the players who trained for four years to be in that game may feel dissapointed too?
how could he understand what they feel? he is a ****, simples. but i wouldnt harm him, let him wander around with his own demons for making choices in life.
16 Nov 2011, 08:45 am
I can imagine how the Kiwi’s must be feeling after defending Bryce’s pathetic performance, only for Bryce to come out 6 weeks later and admit how pathetic he actually was. LOL
16 Nov 2011, 08:46 am
@stew(stew)-47: You’re comparing one forward pass with a systematic, 80 minute long hammering.
Bryce only fcked one team over, all game long. And the IRB and Bryce have pretty much admitted this. Isn’t it time you do the same?
16 Nov 2011, 08:46 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-57:
Out of it all your the one thats struggling with logic. PLease answer the question.
One drop kick from the best kicker in the world,tell me he didnt have the chance to do it and i will lay off.
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-58:
Not once did i say he reffed great, not once so off with you and find my post that said that.
But the same tune i have been playing is the same one we got in 2007….where was the drop kick?
Refs wasnt playing the same game so where was the drop kick. Shame how none of you can answer this except for the 2 uptop saying they never had a chance….. which we know is a lie
16 Nov 2011, 08:49 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-46: Let us try and remove the raw emotion from this Bryce Lawrence issue.
Prior to the start of the world cup, allegiances aside, I said that the All Blacks deserve a world cup. Over the period of time since they last won a title they have consistently been the cream of world rugby. Anyone disputing this, would be as blind as those disputing the fact that Bryce Lawrence definitely played a role in South Africa’s demise in this years world cup.
But, when all the chest beating has subsided – Wouldn’t it have been that much sweeter for the All Blacks had they beaten the Springboks in this years world cup ? We can never say whether Bryce had a role to play in the All Blacks victory because we never got to see the two teams matched against one another in this years world cup.
Disappointing if you ask me – not just for the Boks, but to an extent – for the All Blacks as well. For me, a slanted referee performance is almost as damning for the victors as the losers.
16 Nov 2011, 08:49 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-56: What use would a drop kick be in, say, the 7th or the 20th or the 36th minute? You’re talking about a kick to win the game, which surely only comes into play once you’re BEHIND. So instead of “any part of the game” you’re actually only talking about the final couple of minutes, right? Think, mate. That’s all I ask.
16 Nov 2011, 08:50 am
@Brads(Brads)-61:
Fair point, but again, if the rules were enforced, we would’ve won.
Do I really need to try find the footage of Schalk taking the ball up to the Australian try line, only for Australia to handle the ball on the ground, on South Africa’s side, right in front of Lawrence… and then him not doing anything about it?
It was a complete joke. Lawrence should do the right thing and quit refereeing any games involving SA sides. From here on out he’s no longer balanced. How can you be if you come out with all this **** about not feeling safe in South Africa. It’s bound to have an affect on his psyche heading into a game involving a SA side. He’s probably joining his daddy in calling us ‘dirty Jarpies’.
16 Nov 2011, 08:50 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-62:
Why would he want to apologise to a bunch of neanderthals with eye patches and dead batteries in their hearing aids?
It would be like urinating off the front of a boat that is travelling at 30 knots
16 Nov 2011, 08:51 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-60:
So you slotted one, was that enough was it?
Do you see how silly that sounds? We can all sit here and say, yes the ref bullsed it but i saw SA had chances to win it. Now dont kid yourself that SA didnt have the cahnce to go for the drop kick when as you have pointed out, they went for one and got it.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-64:
Watch the game again, your fukn blind. It was a world record of no penalties aor free kicks. We were on there line and the ball was slowed down illegally, hands in the ruck all sorts. French were getting away with it, not there fault but the refs. And our fault for not going for the points on offer, dosnt it sound familiar?
16 Nov 2011, 08:52 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-65:
IT DOESN’T MATTER IF THEY COULD HAVE TRIED FOR A DROP GOAL!!!
You’re saying it’s okay for Lawrence to referee the way he did, because we could have tried a drop goal. That’s just stupid. I mean really.
Do you understand?
16 Nov 2011, 08:53 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-54:
When are you going to show me your guns.
I must be honest I find BL’s honesty refreshing, although for the past few weeks I have wanted to throttle him, he has admitted he had a bad game, that happens in sports, nuff said! Time to move on, we were robbed but the Kiwi’s more than deserve to be world champions, good on them.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-67:
Listen the boks should have thought about it. After 60 mins we all saw it wasnt going there way with the ref. Now really they should have taken all points on offer,they didnt. Its the way i see it.
16 Nov 2011, 08:54 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-67:
Well the other option would have been not to pull a player down in the lineout, 5 metres from your own line and gift a last minute penalty to lose the game.
16 Nov 2011, 08:54 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-70:
Hurricane. The rules weren’t enforced properly.
Meaning each side didn’t have an equal opportunity to win the game. We did enough, but weren’t awarded penalties that we should have been.
You’re saying it’s okay for one side to have favor from the referee, as long as they have an opportunity to win it. Doesn’t matter whether the refereeing was fair or not.
You’re the one who sounds silly my man.
16 Nov 2011, 08:56 am
The first game the Boks decide to play well, the ref kills them. So sad.
Or, it would be sad if the team hadn’t been so awful in the preceding two years. John Smit doesn’t have the right to be angry at Bryce when he himself did more to hurt the Boks’ chances than almost anyone else.
The Boks should have won that quarterfinal, could have won it if they had played better and made the selection choices that we were screaming out for. But I feel more sorry for the Welsh, who rightfully deserved to make the final but were pipped by an insipid French team and some of their own bad goalkicking.
16 Nov 2011, 08:56 am
@Brads(Brads)-75:
It’s official. Brads doesn’t know what he’s talking about. Can’t recall key moments in the game, so obviously can’t recall the infringements which should’ve led to penalties.
5 metres from our own line? Try 45m.
16 Nov 2011, 08:57 am
Here’s the main gist of the Kiwi logic when defending Bryce:
• You had lots of possession, so it doesn’t matter how much the ref cheated.
• You could have resorted to drop kicks, so it’s irrelevant that the ref was favouring the other team.
• We’re also unhappy about a ref from four years ago, making this ref’s performance acceptable.
I’m guessing New Zealand doesn’t offer up a ton of MENSA candidates.
16 Nov 2011, 08:57 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-71:
*** me are you a kid??
Show me where i said he reffed good or its ok for him to ref the way he did.
All i am saying i saw it wasnt going the boks way at the start of the second half. Look at the thread during the game. You will see complaints about the ref, which is fair and also people screaming for a drop kick or take the points…, now do you undferstand??
16 Nov 2011, 08:58 am
I think Bryce has been pretty honest.
The question is why he was selected to referee Australia again after the backlash against him from the Australians following the Australia v Ireland match.
That put him in a compromised position whereby he was afraid to make the calls he needed to. As much as Bryce is to blame, so too are the refereeing selectors, perhaps even more so.
At the end of the day he wasn’t ready for a WC QF, but he should never have been put in that position.
16 Nov 2011, 08:59 am
It’s easy to blame the individual. I am no fan of the guy but if you really want to get down to the problem in rugby union and refereeing I would suggest you guys read Dr. Ross Tucker’s piece he published about a month ago.
The problem is not the individual so much, it is the whole system and process of refereeing that needs looking into.
I will maintain, Bryce is not the problem. Get ‘rid’ of him through a stupid facebook petition and another ‘Bryce’ or ‘Paddy’ or ‘Stu’ or ‘Honiss’ or ‘Jonker’ or ‘Willie Roos’ will emerge.
16 Nov 2011, 09:00 am
@stew(stew)-47: I actually agree with most of what you are saying. The Bulls try was legitimate though. They really showed that several times, and the ball came off a Crusaders player. I am no Bulls fan, but I could see that.
I have always sympathized with the All Blacks and their fans for the quarter final debacle against France in 2007. That pass was definitely forward, and so I will admit the All Blacks were robbed.
BUT – in the same way, you must surely see that the Springboks were robbed this year. The mistake in 2007 doesn’t justify the ridiculous performance from Bryce Lawrence this year. To say that would be immature at best and not in the best interests of rugby as a whole.
This all said though – with the dominance the Boks had in all phases of that quarter final, we should have won by 20 points. We did butcher a few opportunities, which is our own fault.
@Brads(Brads)-69: ah, so we are neanderthals eh?
nice brads.
feeling a little tender about your no. 1 ref?
i think you should re asess your tone boy.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-70: kuk man. ou know you are talking shite hurricane, and no, this thread is not about you or your precous all blacks, its about brycie the corrupt fkwit kiwi and his derailing of the boks which he has admitted to.
the all blacks are a wonderful team ok?
happy?
feeling less threatened?
good, lets discuss that **** byrce awrence and his even bigger p oes of a father now shall we?
Forget refereeing in SA, Lawrence should quit refereeing permanently. He’s just a rubbish referee. The only reason I can fathom that he made it to international level is because of his daddy, and also because New Zealand had to have at least one international ref. Paddy would’ve been severely embarrassed otherwise.
Most of you have probably already seen this, but its a good one. Hope this works. My workplace browser blocks it.
http://www.ougrote.com/2011/10/…/bryce-lawrences-refereeing-flowchart/
Don’t worry about the Kiwis, they’ll say anything to try to justify their gift World Cup, after a quarter century of failure it hurts them to know they still weren’t the best team when it counted and could only ever have ‘won’ that Cup with hometown choreography.
16 Nov 2011, 09:01 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-79:
Again, obviuosly this is aimed at me.
Show me where i said it does not matter that the ref is poor?
Show me where i said its irrelevant the ref favoured the other team. I am not going on about the ref at all. I said he had a shocker right from the get go.
It really makes you post seem a bit silly really.
Bryce admits he had a less than perfect day at work in that QF.
That single admission, makes him a better human being than 96.27% of the whining sour whingers that inhabit The Republic of Sobbing Africa.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-74: After 60 minutes? We were leading until a few minutes from the end. Why on earth would we be attempting match winning drop kicks at 60 minutes? THINK.
@Brads(Brads)-75: Seriously? Did you actually see the game? Because I watched that infringement over and over and I’m still gobsmacked. Far worse pulling down transgressions happen all game, every game and Bryce decides to blow Danie up for barely touching the opponent on the way down? I wonder why, considering the Aussies were a couple of points adrift and there were only a couple of minutes left.
16 Nov 2011, 09:02 am
Can’t recall a debating team while I was at school here either.
Seems they like to reserve the criticism of the referee for when they lose.
16 Nov 2011, 09:03 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-86:
All i know your team was no where near good enough. The boks were but not the english.
16 Nov 2011, 09:03 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-86:
LOSSSSSSSSER.
16 Nov 2011, 09:04 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-80:
You’re condoning it, simple as that.
@The Gloater – formerly cane(cane)-88: Easy when the cheque is already cashed.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-80: Gotta agree, I think any rugby person will acknowledge that BL had a really bad game and that the boks were unlucky…..but the same people should also acknowledge that the Boks had enough chances to win the game and we blew it….we were robbed but not innocent. Personally I think the tournament was a good one, the most deserving team won at the end of it which is good for rugby (still get irritated with some of the kiwi’s who claim the boks finished 8th but that is another story)
Also, shout out to Wayne Barnes who despite numerous death threats and abuse returned to the land of the long black cloud to face the loonies and referee superbly. It’s the mark of a truly courageous man.
16 Nov 2011, 09:05 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-89:
So are you saying that drop kicks are only for the last few minutes of the game or only when you are losing?
16 Nov 2011, 09:06 am
Nope
SA were leading and all the blame rests on Danie Rossouw
16 Nov 2011, 09:08 am
@Skeppie(Skeppie)-96:
Exactly
BL had a bad one, i have said that when the game ended.
But some on here are just blaming him and letting th Boks off for there lack of closing the game out.
16 Nov 2011, 09:09 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-89:
Yes I did watch the game.
Another ref might have given a yellow, or even a red as in the case of Warburton if he thought the infringement was particulalry dangerous.
As it was, it was only deemed to be a penalty.
16 Nov 2011, 09:11 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-95: Dude, you guys must still be floating in the clouds !?
I would be ! I must say, hats off to the Lions fans (or at least those I interacted with) for winning quite gracefully. After all the grief us Sharks fans gave you, I expected a lot more rubbing in
And hats off to the Lions. In the end, there was no denying the true champion.
16 Nov 2011, 09:11 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-97:
And he (Barnsie) while he was here in NZ, was never treated with anything other than fairness and dignity.
He was also here in 09, did some NPC games and conducted seminars for Coaches.
16 Nov 2011, 09:12 am
@Brads(Brads)-101: Kak man. That’s all I have to say to you.
16 Nov 2011, 09:12 am
One of the biggest failings of the system is that there is no transparent, public evaluation of the refereeing performaces.
Everyone knows that Bryce had a shocker. Even Bryce.
But he had a shocker in the game before that too. Everyone knows it. Even Bryce.
BUT then he gets nominated (and wins) New Zealand ref of the year,
now THATS a shocker. Everyone now thinks that Bryce is being rewarded for firstly predudicing Australia and then in the next game, South Africa,
I can see how that would weigh favourably on the minds of the NZ panel of voters…
Makes sense.
16 Nov 2011, 09:13 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-74: We didnt get any points on offer….Bryce robbed us of countless penalties at the scrum and breakdown.
16 Nov 2011, 09:14 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-102: Thanks man. It still feels good. Feels like a new era.
Now I suspect SARU, in its infinite wisdom, will drop the Lions from the S15 for the Kings.
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-97:
The last person that should be saying anything is an Englishman. BH your team has gotten away with so much cheating its not funny. From playing 16 players on the field at once against Samoa to ball swapping and tampering,80% of the IRB are English. Embarrasing
@>^..^< katman(katman)-104:
So you agree, Danie cost you the game then.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-32: It’s not just a mistake or 2, it’s a systematic failing to even listen throughout the game. Definitely more to it than meets the eye…
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-100:
So can we say:
80% Bryce Lawrence fault.
20% Springboks fault.
That seems fair.
16 Nov 2011, 09:16 am
@Brads(Brads)-109: You need a crash course in Afrikaans, pronto.
16 Nov 2011, 09:16 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-108: fook me, McCaw blatantly cheats for 80 minutes a game 10 times a year for the past decade in front of referees who do nothing (good ole Barnesy excepted) and you want to lecture about cheating?
Away with you, you scallywag
16 Nov 2011, 09:17 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-111:
You fail to give credit to a superb Defensive performance by Australia.
16 Nov 2011, 09:18 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-106:
What was Morne there for?
Wasnt for running great lines, not even running the backline.
He was there for scoring the goals and kicking for territory.
You had the best kicker in the world, can drop kick from anywhere wiht in 40 metres easliy.
He wasnt used correctly or the Boks on the field choked. Take your pick.
BL had a shocker, we all saw it and he has said so.
But he wasnt the only problem that caused the loss.
16 Nov 2011, 09:18 am
Also, this headline is actually incorrect. Bryce is quoted in the article as saying “‘I’m not totally concerned”
If there’s and issue he’ll evaluate it at the time,
Stop making sensationalist headlines KEO
Are we “Die Son” now???
16 Nov 2011, 09:19 am
Anyway …………………………………SA or Australia.
Didn’t matter,
whoever won,
was going home next week anyway.
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-106:
Lets forget SA bombing several golden opportunities for tries, not attempting a drop goal despite being parked in the Aus 22. Lets also forget SA were ahead with almost nothing left on the clock and Rossouw blatently fouls and gifts the game to Aus.
Yes, lets forget all that and just blame the ref.
It is far easier to stomach.
Just noticed Tony Veitch is back on Radio Sport!
The guy who broke his partners neck. Threw her down the stairs and beat her up pretty badly.
And a 45-year old former All Black has been at Wellington District Court on assault & drugs charges.
NZ sport for you hey!
16 Nov 2011, 09:20 am
@Brads(Brads)-109:
You need a crash course on irony
16 Nov 2011, 09:20 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-113:
Give it a rest man, your teams a damn embarrasment.
16 Nov 2011, 09:21 am
@The Gloater – formerly cane(cane)-114:
Great defense my backside.
Unless you count being allowed to infringe at will being great defense.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-104:
The sad part of this is that ol Brads actually started off quite well on this site.
He actually seemed like a rare and endangered species… a bright Kiwi
Unfortunately its all gone pear shaped from there. Too much exposure to Pops, China and the Panther has scewered hi mind
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-119:
He has been back for 6 months or more full time.
I see you keep up with the news then
16 Nov 2011, 09:22 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-119:
Yep thats a kiwi for ya.
If it was a South African she would have been shot after the beating.
And he would have recieved support from the Bok managment
@>^..^< katman(katman)-107: I don’t think so dude
One can’t help but believe that the Lions will improve immeasurably in next years Super 15. Although teams like the Sharks, WP and Bulls will have more time to build momentum with their full compliment of top tier players – there has also been some player movement from those unions which could prove disruptive. The Bulls will definitely be most heavily affected with Province next up and then the Sharks.
I think the Lions actually have a shot in this coming Super 15. If they play with the same passion and commitment, while building their consistency – geez dude, we may just see them at the business end of the tournament. At this point, I can see no reason why they cant claim top spot in the SA conference. Crazy considering their recent Super rugby tournaments, but there is no denying the momentum they are building.
Good luck !
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-105: Agree 100%. Everyone can see it. The New Zealanders must be really stupid if they think they are fooling the world with the praise of Bryce and his nomination…..we know you are rewarding him for his part in helping NZ win the World Cup.
@The Gloater – formerly cane(cane)-114: Once again, 80% Bryce, 20% Aussie defence.
But kudos to them for that outstanding 20%
16 Nov 2011, 09:23 am
@Bod(bod)-123:
Nope, it has been exposure to Saffa’s blind view they are victims.
16 Nov 2011, 09:24 am
@stew(stew)-47: At least a random error from a robot means that there is no premeditated act, and that’s the reason this twit is scared. I hope he flies with Qantas, which means that he may not even arrive.
@Brads(Brads)-120: Oh, that was irony? You need to learn how to apply it properly.
@The Gloater – formerly cane(cane)-117:
True,very true
16 Nov 2011, 09:27 am
@Brads(Brads)-129:
It doesnt matter who is to blame…. you just gotts stop that slide into oblivion son
@Brads(Brads)-124: @Hurricane(Hurricane)-125:
No substance to those claims, but I was also only kidding in the first place. It’s been a bad week all round though
You guys have to admit there is an issue with drinking & assault in NZ rugby.
In fact, there is a BIG binge-drinking problem in New Zealand in general.
I follow the news, just not Radio Sport, and can’t recall Veitch returning. Surprised is all.
@The Gloater – formerly cane(cane)-117:
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-119: huh?
16 Nov 2011, 09:28 am
@bokgat1(bokgat1)-130:
Do you want him to die or be killed?
16 Nov 2011, 09:28 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-49: i dont know bud….I dont have 1
16 Nov 2011, 09:29 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-134:
Man its a bad problem, to much money and to young and the partying and the drink gets the better of them.
I say they are weak but i am sure i probably be just as weak.
16 Nov 2011, 09:31 am
@bokgat1(bokgat1)-130:
Even better, fly Air New Zealand.
Chatting to my Judas sister from Waikenai this morning she proudly announced that the mighty Air New Zealand is the first airline world wide to install pukka beds on their planes.
Now theres something for you. Pity these planes never get out of New Zealand
Bright boys these Kiwis
16 Nov 2011, 09:32 am
@Bod(bod)-139:
@Staal(Staal)-135:
Tony Veitch was a radio sports commentator (I think. Again, I never bother with Radio Sport) who brutally beat his partner a few years ago. Was talk of attempted murder but I’m not sure what he got done with eventually.
There was a former All Black in Wellington District Court today, but he has name suppression. I have an idea who it may be though.
@Dusky(Dusky)-126: Yeah can’t have the countries biggest province out of the premier provincial tournament. Lions need to be strong for the countries sake….and that’s coming from a sharks supporter!
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-127:
Lets see,
A NZ ref controlled the final of a RWC.
The other potential candidates achieved at local and SANZAR level, but as we all know the RWC is the top rung on the totem pole of world rugby.
So lets see,
Did he carry out his job – Yes
Did he please everyone – No
Does any ref please everyone one – No
Does the final result still stand – Yes
Was he appointed to SANZAR panel for 2012 – Yes
Did he deserve being appointed the Semi Final – Yes
…I could go on.
So we have a gong for best NZ ref. How could you not give it to Bryce.
16 Nov 2011, 09:33 am
@grant10(grant10)-137: You finished your rant for the day ?
16 Nov 2011, 09:34 am
@Brads(Brads)-143: ‘A NZ ref controlled the final of a RWC.’
Freudian slip?
it may as well have been a NZ ref who controlled the final for all the objectivity the French were afforded.
16 Nov 2011, 09:34 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-127: Problem is NZ has a small population and as a result not many ref’s……they don’t exactly have a big pool of nominees to choose from…not their fault but it is a reality.
16 Nov 2011, 09:35 am
Don’t be scared Bryce, come here, I can’t wait to attend a match that you Ref so that I can call you the cheating **** that you are.
May you be cursed with the fleas of 1000 Camels.
******!
16 Nov 2011, 09:35 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-141: Just googled it…
fine specimen of a human being this guy…
16 Nov 2011, 09:37 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-128:
Nope,
The game is played over 80 minutes, SA decided they were in front and would defend that lead rather than venture out of their comfort zone and score more points.
Cue Rossouw to lose the match.
So, 100% of the loss down to one man for not playing to the game plan.
16 Nov 2011, 09:37 am
@The Gloater – formerly cane(cane)-114: It was great defence, the aussies have always had good defensive structures but it’s a lot easier to defend when you have someone stopping (illegally nogal) all momentum as soon as there is danger or the attacking team starts to build up the phases.
16 Nov 2011, 09:38 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-128: I actually wont give Kudos to that 20% Aussie defence. They had more than enough time to set their defence. Where did they get this time?? From Pocock illegally slowing the ball down at the breakdown. So add that 20% Aussie defence to the 80% Bryce and what do you get 100% Bryce.
If Pocock was penalised and ask to roll away and hands out of ruck the Boks would of got much quicker ball because we were dominating the set piece and contact points. I am sure the Boks would of scored a few tries with that quick ball.
16 Nov 2011, 09:38 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-138:
I dunno man. I’ve got the money. I’ve been drunk to the stage where I can’t recall anything. But it only took me a couple of times doing that to realize how petty it is. A casual beer or two is one thing, but Zac has now shown that he obviously cares little for the affect his behavior has on those around him. Guildford getting out of his clothes as well is hilarious.
But heck I definitely wouldn’t assault anybody randomly. And definitely not a 60-year old man from behind.
Alcohol I think just helped show what an arrogant prick Guildford probably is. He shouldn’t be blaming it on the alcohol.
He needs a good hiding I say. Forget about the drinking problem, he needs to look at himself! Gotten too big for his shoes.
The sexual harassment was the worst of all in my opinion. Us males are far too quick to underestimate how that sort of behavior affects a female who wants nothing more then to mind her own business.
16 Nov 2011, 09:40 am
@Skeppie(Skeppie)-142: I can’t lie and say that I have ever been much of a Lions fan, although through process of elimination they actually occupy my third most favorite team
I have never thought about it like that before.
I am also a Sharks supporter, and I must say that what the Lions have achieved has added a new aspect to South African rugby, a new reason to be excited and the rebirth of an evenly matched contender.
I also wont deny that I was disappointed by the outcome of the Currie Cup final this year (partly because this will probably be the last Currie Cup final I watch on SA soil with my buddies), but there is no denying the Lions deserved what they got.
For me, the referee was good, there was no extenuating weather or any other reason why the Lions won other than they were just better. And better by quite a margin. I actually think it was more alarming to me than disappointing
It was a legitimate win – no arguments or excuses.
Good luck to them. Those players should all have bronze statues erected outside Ellis Park, because they saved their union. The Lions needed this trophy – big time !
16 Nov 2011, 09:41 am
@Brads(Brads)-149: Ja boet, if all you say was true we wouldn’t have Bryce spilling his guts here about his disappointment in himself and how he’s had to remove all the mirrors from his house.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-136: No just a good old Qantas strike should suffice. He can run around the airport for a while and say a few more Our Father’s.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-152:
And with the binge drinking problem. I think they need to knuckle down on advertising.
That and go back to banning the sale of beer in supermarkets.
I’ll be voting Labour, that’s for sure. John Key bragging that he did a yardie and then spewed on his 21st I thought showed us all what he’s like. Way too relaxed in his approach. Goff may actually get things done.
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-145:
My bad, missed my Q
16 Nov 2011, 09:44 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-153:
Much as I like what the Lions did in the CC, if you take away that they had built momentum, and had home ground advantage by the time the Springboks returned… Will they really have the players to match-up with the other SA sides?
I think not. They’ll do well not to again finish last from the SA sides. I’m more excited to see what the Cheetahs can do now that they have Heinrich Brussow, Juan Smith & Andries Strauss back, and Johan Goosen as an option at 10.
16 Nov 2011, 09:45 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-144: yip…..
but reading all this stuff makes me inclined to say it once again
so here goes
GO NORTH SA!
16 Nov 2011, 09:46 am
@grant10(grant10)-159: What do you care? You’re a Namibia fan.
16 Nov 2011, 09:48 am
@JL1(JL1)-41: 5 Kiwis and 500000 rich foreigners — this is a global village, pilgrim.
16 Nov 2011, 09:48 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-152: Speaking of a good hiding. I remember being at Eds Diner in Hatfield, Pretoria with some of my varsity mates when we heard a commotion.
We went to check it out, and a professional South African rugby player (name withheld – I don’t want to be sued) was lying on his back, bleeding from his nose and forehead.
Similar scenario to Guildford, except turned out a bit differently for him. He came waltzing into Eds, out of his head drunk, thinking he was some kind of god due to being a Springbok (even though he was pretty much finished at that stage), and started hitting on the girlfriend of one of the koshuis guys right in front of him. I am telling you, Mr rugby got the f$%ken hiding of his life.
I remember watching him two weeks or so later play for his province, and he had a lekker shiner. Serves him right. These guys think they are invincible. BTW – he was a front row forward, and he saw his backside !
16 Nov 2011, 09:49 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-145: LOL
16 Nov 2011, 09:51 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-156:
Goff is a good man, but never Prime Minister marerial.
Trouble for Labour though, he was the best they had when he was elected to lead them, and they will suffer as a result.
16 Nov 2011, 09:52 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-160: Ja…
you bullys bullied us…..
but kakked yourselves against Samoa and Aussies
and sneaked a lucky packet 1 point last gasp win over wales
and selected like sentimental girls
not just Bryce my man…….not just Bryce
16 Nov 2011, 09:54 am
So if Kings dont play superrugby….can we please get Luke back Mr Solomons?
16 Nov 2011, 09:55 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-162:
Good stuff!
Hitting on a girl though isn’t quite the same as assaulting a random (one who asked if you needed help) and then harassing a woman who is by herself on the street though.
One of the most shameful acts I think ever committed by a NZ rugby player. It’s a shame that Mark Reason is trying to ‘underplay’ it (in the Dominion Post today). Borders on what that Aussie league player did to his dog.
16 Nov 2011, 09:55 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-156: Cheetahs will be a dark horse. Bulls will struggle after losing all those stalwarts.
If you believe what Jake White said, the Bulls have lost their triumvirate in Fourie Du Preez, Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha. It will have an affect. I think the Bulls might be in for a very tough patch over the next year or three.
Sharks – well, I must say I wasn’t impressed by the Sharks this Currie Cup. They had a strange, slap dash attitude and were sloppy and undisciplined. It actually looked like all the motivation they had in 2010 was gone. Not acceptable. If they play like that in the Super 15 – well, they might well end up well in the second half of the log.
Lions – This Currie Cup win will count for something. They have played out the ‘David and Goliath’ scenario, and gotten the perfect outcome. They will take some of this belief forward into the Super 15 and I think they are a team to be watched. I hear what you say, but the Lions clearly don’t care about names. Plus they have some of the names now. Josh Strauss and Jaco Taute are just two players that are probably the best in their positions in SA right now !
Stormers – I dont know – they, like the Sharks looked half cooked. They have also lost a few players, and it will be interesting to see if their depth comes into question again in the Super 15 like it did in the Currie Cup. You cant do well in Super rugby without depth.
16 Nov 2011, 09:56 am
Zac must just never farekn ever again have even a sip of booze….
klaar
16 Nov 2011, 09:58 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-167: Ja, when I say ‘hitting on a girl’ – he was apparently quite ‘hands on’. All I know is the guy’s name who bliksem’d him was Hansie.
Hansie – as jy dalk hier lees, ons is nog steeds trots op jou boet.
The guys who saw it happen say old Hansie knocked him down before the bouncers could even get there to break it up
@Brads(Brads)-164:
He’s not exactly what you would pick as the ‘face’ of whatever you’re trying to sell.
But he’s a politician through and through. One of the brightest political minds in New Zealand. It’s just a shame he gives off that ‘geek’ image while people vote for John because ‘I like him’ rather then what he’s actually done during his term.
If Labour somehow pull it off, I’ll be ecstatic.
I see WP are starting their pre-season training on the 1st December. So our boys are getting a good rest now.
16 Nov 2011, 09:59 am
Stormers problems are at opensider….F Louw leaves a gaping wound…..
That is why Luke will be a brilliant acquisition, subject to him being willing to go hell for leather as a specialist opensider, as opposed to the 8 role…..not sure he has the inclination for the role anymore though.
16 Nov 2011, 09:59 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-152:
I agree with your sentiments.
There is a solid knot of folk in this country who are probably addicted to the booze.
However, there is also a knot within that group who’s personality changes when they get affected by alcohol.
Zac is in that group and he needs to recognise it pronto.
16 Nov 2011, 10:01 am
@grant10(grant10)-173: You guys want to get the cancer again ? You didn’t learn your lesson from the previous time you signed this self interested prat ?
16 Nov 2011, 10:03 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-170: was at a function where a certain “respectable” bok was in a jolly state and he touch a lady’s bum at the bar counter…
she turned around and klapped the living daylight out of him…
hehehehehehe…
@Dusky(Dusky)-175: talk rugby
and rugby alone
you wally
@Dusky(Dusky)-168:
I’m not so sure. I think the Bulls have a very good shot at topping the SA side.
The best sides all have good attacking scrumhalves, and Francois Hougaard might be the very best attacking scrumhalf. He could rival Genia (who won it last year). I think the game has moved on from Fourie du Preez to be honest.
Also, I think Juandre Kruger will be a good replacement for Matfield. The Bulls did very well to sign this guy. My prediction is he’ll be playing for the Springboks next year, probably off the bench if Andries Bekker stays fit.
And then signing Johann Sadie (finally they have a centre who will make things happen) will only make them better. You’ll see Wynand Olivier also looking a lot better outside of him.
I’m no big fan of Heyneke Meyer (as a Springbok coach), but damn I have to admit, he’s done one hell of a job with the Bulls.
There was an article a while back saying he was going to start making the Bulls into a good attacking team from 2012 onwards, which is why he let go of guys like Dippenaar, Brummer etc.
16 Nov 2011, 10:04 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-171:
National won in 2008 because they eventually got sick and tired of Helen.
Much like in the 1980′s when Muldoon ran the show, and booted him to touch
Key needs to be careful he doesn’t give the impression National is a one man band.
16 Nov 2011, 10:05 am
@grant10(grant10)-173:
You seen much of Reuben Johannes?
I noticed them saying he is a ‘future star’.
16 Nov 2011, 10:05 am
Luke has committed himself elsewhere.
In the land of the Kings, Luke is one-eyed.
16 Nov 2011, 10:07 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-181: Long may he stay there too.
16 Nov 2011, 10:07 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-42:
Yes but unlike any of those nations you mention,none have the dynamics that exist in SA caused by the apartheid system & its remnant results.That and the fact the the “minority” have control of the majority of resources,financial institutions & industry. So on what ideological basis in SA context would policy be applied to protect the “minority” when the very variables which such policy would be based on are in monopoly of such a minority? Thus how stupid does that make that statement you just made where context was largely unrelated to current traits indicative of modern day SA?
16 Nov 2011, 10:08 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-178: imo Bulls will struggle next year but will improve….
2013 maybe the year….
@Dusky(Dusky)-168: Yip the Bulls will suffer initially but I see them finishing strong in the S15.
If Cheetahs can keep their injuries down they will surely be competitive.
Lions are still an unknown quantity for me. They won the Currie Cup but Superrugby is a different beast all together. They need to start the tournament well.
The Sharks always start well but then fade as the comp goes on. If they can maintain consistency throughout the tournament they can be there at the end.
The Stormers just need to keep doing what they are doing and improve on last season. They have built impressive depth in the Currie Cup hopefully that will counter all the players they have lost.
To kiwi that said at least he admitted he had a bad game, what else could he do after the irb gave him a tap on the wrist and sanctioned him by not letting him ref the 6 nations.
16 Nov 2011, 10:09 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-172: so they will be super fit just in time for the Converance cup!
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-180:
Have seen him play for WP u21. Good player,has a high workrate,good tackle efficiency and decent ball carrier. A better version of Davon Raubenheimer(who had a big year with Cheetahs S15)
@Brads(Brads)-179:
National benefitting from the lot who don’t really care much about politics. Who don’t quite understand what’s going on, but trust that ‘everything will be alright’.
It will be, but those very same people would be better off under Labour. Yet they vote for John Key, because they like him by their own admission.
It’s frustrating is all
16 Nov 2011, 10:11 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-180: I dont know him at all….
16 Nov 2011, 10:11 am
@Staal(Staal)-184:
Fair call. I can’t see them staying out for too long. They signing too much talent from all over the place to be weak.
Not helping anybody else much though. Poor Cheetahs are again being robbed of any good player to come out of Grey Bloem.
16 Nov 2011, 10:13 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-138: this is interesting
We glorify drinking, then we get moralistic
MARK REASON Last updated 05:02 16/11/2011
OPINION: Sebastian Flyte, his body pierced by a variety of wines, leans in through the open window of Charles Ryder’s college rooms and is violently sick. If only Zac Guildford had been born a fictional aristocrat.
Then he could have quaffed and chundered for New Zealand, strolled around with a disobedient teddy bear and generally had a good time without anyone caring too much.
But Guildford, despite his prettiness, is not from the Arcadian world of Evelyn Waugh’s Brideshead Revisited. He cannot ask: “Ought we to be drunk every night?” and receive the rather languid reply: “Yes, I think so.” Guildford is an All Black, a professional athlete. Guildford is a role model. It’s a holy trinity that comes with a very confusing creed for a young man.
It’s a creed that glorifies drinking and then says: “Thou shalt not”. Up and down the country rugby clubs challenge each other to drinking games. Prizes are frequently spent behind the bar. You’re a wimp if you can’t down your pint in one. But we turn to our young All Blacks and say: “Thou shalt not”.
As a culture we celebrate drinking and I, one among many, will be glugging my way round Toast Martinborough this Sunday in search of the serene plateau. Prime Minister John Key told the nation recently that he had downed a yard glass and spewed afterwards. There’s not much of a mixed message there unless you are a young All Black like Zac Guildford. Then it’s OK for the PM to get trolleyed as a young man, rite of passage and all that, but “thou shalt not”.
Our culture celebrates drinking in a myriad of ways. Steinlager has been the official sponsor of the All Blacks for 25 years and Heineken sponsor of both the Rugby World Cup and Europe’s biggest club competition. The Rugby World Cup was also backed by the Brancott Estate winery. Yep, booze and rugby are good mixers.
Sport has garlanded its drinkers over the years. Ian Botham is still revered for his capacity to down a vat of alcohol and then charge in from the Pavilion End like an indefatigable rhino. Sir Colin Meads still has remarkable fitness levels when it comes to beer consumption.
Society describes its drinkers as “legendary” and sessions as “epic”. Winston Churchill nourished himself on champagne and brandy.
Literature is brimful with writers who have been sustained by the grog. Raymond Chandler, Tennessee Williams, Truman Capote, F Scott Fitzgerald, PG Wodehouse, William Faulkner and Jack Kerouac all liked a skinful.
And just how many words are there for getting drunk compared with that rather prim bi-syllable “sober”. Our language likes a drunk, a sot, a tippler, a lush and a soak. We like to get hammered or pickled or soused or go out on a bender. We sell cheap booze to the kids and then get all moralistic when a “troubled” All Black goes off on one. “Thou shalt not.”
Television pours beer down our throats every day. The magnificent Homer Simpson tells Bart: “Now son, you don’t want to drink beer. That’s for daddies and kids with fake IDs.” That’s not a thousand words away from the comedy of bibulous NZRU officials telling Guildford to abstain or Australian CEO John O’Neill, his face a living map of alcohol consumption, reprimanding Quade Cooper, James O’Connor and Kurtley Beale for a boozy bar-room brawl. Hollywood celebrates alcohol.
Zac Guildford’s wretched behaviour on Rarotonga was negligible compared with the main characters of The Hangover. In a society that idolises booze and boozers, it is no wonder that Cory Jane said if Guildford had a drinking problem, “then we’ve all got a drinking problem”. Maybe we have. There is a lot of death and violence and sexual assault prompted by booze. And also a lot of joy and splendour and celebration.
Guildford is lucky that good men like Wayne Smith and Gilbert Enoka were about to pick him up. I will be amazed if the kid needs “help” at his age, but he could probably handle a bit of uncondescending advice.
Some get smashed with charm. Guildford appears to become a mouthy, violent lech, the worst possible combination. Learning what sort of drinker you are is all part of growing up. If Guildford has to become a teetotaller like Jonny Wilkinson, then he is going to learn (hopefully) the hard way.
But let’s not treat Guildford as a public basket case just because he is an All Black. As members of a society that promotes drinking we should recognise the signs. Guildford is just one among thousands of Kiwi kids learning how to drink. Sadly there will be deaths along the way, mostly at the wheel of a car, but can we not be too hypocritically judgmental of the boys we have bred. Can we at least give the kid the space to grow up.
-Fairfax NZ
16 Nov 2011, 10:14 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-183: As a South African I am not saying SA policy is completely unjustified, just that working in a global environment my experiences are that those policies are not completely understood within the global arena.
Although we wouldn’t admit it, to include a team that cannot even win a tournament rated second to the Currie Cup, while we know that even top rated Currie Cup teams find the going difficult in that tournament is clearly a token gesture. Lets at least man up to that fact.
Personally, I feel that tokenism does no good no matter the circumstances.
16 Nov 2011, 10:14 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-188:
Cheers man. Look forward to seeing what he can do.
@grant10(grant10)-190:
Seems their backing him as their openside for the future, rather then trying to turn Carr into one. That’s my ‘guess’.
16 Nov 2011, 10:15 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-172: that’s very late, FS started last week already, the Lions and the Bulls started this week …. I forsee problems for problems.
16 Nov 2011, 10:16 am
watch all the u 21 stuff…..just dont recall that oke…
Nizam Carr the most gifted of the youngsters coming through imo…..
also like the 4 lock….quin Roux…..reminds me a lot of Schalk Burger Senior…..
Pity that 15 broke his leg….Justrugy reckoned he was a bok !
I think Etsebeth will also be a star….
That right wing for wp u 21 s a real prospect, as is Michael VD Spuy….
16 Nov 2011, 10:18 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-194: Carr would be wasted as an opensider….he should be groomed as a 8…
16 Nov 2011, 10:19 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-185: I cant disagree, because to be honest there are so many factors weighing in right now its almost impossible to predict how the Super 15 will go from a South African perspective.
The Bulls are a special group, who have shown the mettle to overcome massive obstacles put their way – but, I cant help but think they will suffer the loss of quite an extensive group of stalwarts. Perhaps I am wrong. They played U19 and U21 Currie Cup finals, so their succession options look good for the future.
It will be interesting. Funny, perhaps its just a bit of disappointment, but I think the only team we can expect to see ‘the same old’ from are the Sharks. I am not sure Plumtree has a plan to lift the Sharks with their current players to a Super rugby champion level. They looked pretty ordinary in the Currie Cup.
16 Nov 2011, 10:21 am
@grant10(grant10)-196: I heard Etsebeth is negotiating with the Bulls ?
16 Nov 2011, 10:22 am
sharks will surely recruit aggressively.
to lose sykes, mostert and now van staden is plainly diabolical….
and the centre problem remains…..
almost as bad as stormers losing JJ….And sadie….
not to mention Flo….the biggest loss of them all imo
16 Nov 2011, 10:23 am
@grant10(grant10)-197: @<a Looking at the Stormers though, I can't help but think there are already so many players that should be playing at 8!
Kolisi, Koster, and I'd argue Schalk Burger would all be best suited to playing 8.
Yet they are playing Duane there, who, in my opinion, would be best suited to the blindside.
I'd like to see more of Carr at S15 level before having a stronger opinion on it, but I like him at blindside.
16 Nov 2011, 10:24 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-199: wouldnt surprise me at all….
16 Nov 2011, 10:24 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-199: shhhhhhhhhhhh….
16 Nov 2011, 10:26 am
@grant10(grant10)-200: Ja, Sharks have a massive problem in their midfield and at lock.
I haven’t seen much of this Tim Whitehead chap, so am not sure what to expect from him or if he will even make the Super rugby squad.
I think Riaan Viljoen is a fair replacement for Stefan, and it looks like Michalak is on his way back to France which means Lambie will probably play most of his rugby at flyhalf in the Super 15. That’s good news in my opinion.
@grant10(grant10)-200:
I don’t think they will. Sharks have a few players to replace those with.
Jandre Marais was probably hard done by being dropped anyway, and they seem to think a lot of a guy called ‘Pieter Steph du Toit’.
Sharks have probably the best recruitment in SA. They sign what they need, and not much more.
Bulls. Well they sign everybody else and hope to find a few gems in between.
@Dusky(Dusky)-199:
Not true.
@Dusky(Dusky)-198: the Bulls will not struggle at all next year they have already replaced Matfield, Bakkies and FDP with quality players … they unlike your guppies have no old has-beens blocking young talent from coming through. It’s going to be a tough year for the guppies, cause once their start falling over the cracks are going to open big time!
16 Nov 2011, 10:27 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-195: Stormers know its a long and tough season ahead thats why they are giving their guys ample rest. We will see at the end of the S15 which approach was the right one.
@grant10(grant10)-196: Who is the right wing? Mbovane?
@Dusky(Dusky)-204:
Michalak staying till after the Super Rugby campaign.
The article saying he was returning was only to point out he won’t be extending his contract.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-201: Carr is an 8…
Kolisi and schalk 7 [ duane also good here as well ]
8 should be Carr, Koster and vermeulen
Long season…..planty of rotation required.
watch Carr….he is special
16 Nov 2011, 10:29 am
Good riddance. I hope he never sets foot in SA again, and stays very FAR from the Boks and Sharks in future.
[He's already reffed the Sharks to 6 defeats in 9 games, in a period when the Sharks on average have won 6 from 9].
16 Nov 2011, 10:29 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-204: whitehead is a damn good player…good buy for you okes imo.
Also glad Frenchie going home…..best Lambie settles in a position.
I think Taute will make the bok 15 his jersey come 2012….great prospect…
16 Nov 2011, 10:30 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-206: I am worried about the Sharks so I cant say I disagree with you there, but I can’t see the Bulls making this transition without some glitches. As I say – I could be wrong.
16 Nov 2011, 10:30 am
meeting
16 Nov 2011, 10:31 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-207: yip…that is the oke
16 Nov 2011, 10:31 am
@grant10(grant10)-200: Sharks lost Eugene van Staden?? Big blow.
16 Nov 2011, 10:32 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-208: That’s not great news actually. Michalak can play brilliantly well, and then play on the other end of the spectrum in the space of two matches.
Also, as remarked after the Sharks/Cheetahs semi-final, Lambie is much stronger defensively than Michalak, and it almost immediately forced the Cheetahs to play a different pattern which cost them in the end.
So, I am not thrilled that Michalak is staying to be honest.
16 Nov 2011, 10:34 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-215: temporary, bru. He is back for the S15.
16 Nov 2011, 10:35 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-215: Yep – going to Biarritz.
16 Nov 2011, 10:38 am
How is the little ****** being held accountable when he is still on the Sanzar panel?
Who is in charge of selection?
Oh?
Ok.
Fine.
16 Nov 2011, 10:41 am
LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOSERS!
16 Nov 2011, 10:43 am
@The Gloater – formerly cane(cane)-220:
keep on trying, maybe someone will take the bait!
16 Nov 2011, 10:43 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-217: @Dusky(Dusky)-218: Oh thats a relief he is a very underrated prop.
@Dusky(Dusky)-216: Michalak on the bench to cover 9 and 10 with Lambie at 10 Viljoen at 15?
16 Nov 2011, 10:44 am
As you can see Zackie is not the only Kiwi who has alcohol problems…
16 Nov 2011, 10:44 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-222: although now I read there is some confusion about it.
16 Nov 2011, 10:45 am
@grant10(grant10)-209:
Carr is special indeed. I believe he can play any position in loose trio as long as he gets time there & specialises. Have seen him play openside more than any other position & is very good there. Seen him play 8 for WP u21′s,while good he wasnt as good as Ive seen him play at openside. Kolisi is a 8 who can play blinside. Duanne Vermuelen is a blindside who can play 8-best suited for the former though IMO.
WP dont have a openside of quality barring Carr who is still a season or 2 away from playing full time at Superrugby level.Will do well coming off bench next year much like Liam Gill did for Reds,Colby Faingaa for Brumbies,Sam Kane for Chiefs.Carr is in that league of classy young opensiders.
@Dusky(Dusky)-216:
Sharks need to blood young centres. They let go of Barritt,Murray,Vulindlu,F.Steyn for the likes of Terblanche,JLP,Bosman,Joubert…rubbish management from Straeuli,Plumtree,Muir,Bashford. Balls up 101. Time to back the likes of Paul Jordaan,Tim Whitehead,Piet Lindeque,Williams.
16 Nov 2011, 10:45 am
Sharks also have a problem at SH, a major one !! Also with Michalak going back who to FH ?? and if Lambie to FH ,who to FB ?? Ludik so injury prone !!
16 Nov 2011, 10:46 am
@Bod(bod)-223:
are you talking about our caner?
Johnnie Walker Red Label’s Brand Ambassador?
16 Nov 2011, 10:47 am
How could Derick Kuun retire at such a young age? He is a decent player to have around.
16 Nov 2011, 10:50 am
@Gunther(gunther)-227:
That would be him…. the evening approacheth in deepest, darkest Wellington and the cue for the Ambassador to launch into oblivion
16 Nov 2011, 10:50 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-226: Lambie 10 Riaan Viljoen 15. In S15 Michalak to cover 9 and 10 with McCleod starting 9.
16 Nov 2011, 10:51 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-226:
Riaan Viljoen has been signed by Sharks from 2012 onwards. So FB is covered.
Sharks backs 2012-what I would like to see.
9.Michalak/McCleod 10.Lambie 11.Mvovo 12.Jordaan 13.Whitehead 14.JP 15.Viljoen
16 Nov 2011, 10:52 am
wow , still cant believe the jury is out on what position Lambie must play …..yup Taute is a good player but I would put my house on Lambie any day at 15. The Sharks must not jerk him around …..they have messed up too many players by doing this !!
what is nice is that we have great youngsters coming through ….all we need is a coach ??
I think if we get the right coach the Boks should be great for a few years !
16 Nov 2011, 10:54 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-210:
So your issue is he was asking too much?
or he wouldn’t take the going rate?
16 Nov 2011, 10:57 am
@Brads(Brads)-233: I was talking about Lawrence.
He’s just plain incompetent.
16 Nov 2011, 10:57 am
@DT(Duncan)-232: Lambie’s future is at 12.
16 Nov 2011, 11:11 am
@Finfan(Finfan)-235: Lambie’s future is at 14.
16 Nov 2011, 11:13 am
192@Transie… good post.
16 Nov 2011, 11:22 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-236: Good post! He might make it 11 too, but that is not his future.
16 Nov 2011, 11:28 am
@Finfan(Finfan)-238: lol agree. I like Lambie at 15. and with Elton and Goosen coming through we dont really need him at 10.
16 Nov 2011, 11:35 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-239: Tend to agree, in fact, I think he is a good, more than competent FH, but certainly not outstanding. Elton and Goosen, when they gain more experience at senior level, will be better. However, the Sharks need him at 12 in the near future. The last time the Sharks backline had some bite was when they used him as a centre. (Fullback is his future though.)
16 Nov 2011, 11:39 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-204: If my memery serves me right wasnt this Whitehead fellow playing in the varsity cup ????
16 Nov 2011, 11:39 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-239: dont really need him at 10?
he is an outstanding 10, as good as elton and better than goosen.
he must fight for his position though like any other player.
my worry is that we dont really have any truly world class centers barring sadie(apparently this could be another wp wank fest though) coming through in south africa.
justknowsfookoaboutrugby seems to have forgotten that the sharks have hoffman (who he was squealing about like a teenage girl when he was at wp) and charl mccleod.
wp have duvenage and………….a…..uhm…….
16 Nov 2011, 11:44 am
@Finfan(Finfan)-235: @Sasuke(Sasuke)-236:
Lambie’s future is at WP…
16 Nov 2011, 11:44 am
but to be honest, i am not excited about the sharks chances for 2012 at present.
we have lost far too much talent over the last 4 years without lke for like replacement.
guys like fransie and barritt, ruan, sykes, smitty etc.
our forwards will still be strong and if pat does play 12 we may have the beginnings of a backline that can put players into space.
one things for sure, mvovo and JP are no slouches when it comes to finishing so ja, play the frog at 10 and pat at 12.
outstanding, wow, i am excitedabout the sharks now! s15 title here we come!
16 Nov 2011, 11:46 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-243: haha, the days of wp sommer poaching all the talented natal kids are OVA!
these days its the lions turn
16 Nov 2011, 11:46 am
@stew(stew)-241: Yes, then made the step up to S14 with Stormers then didnt make the squad this year now moving to Sharks.
16 Nov 2011, 11:50 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-243: Yeah!! lol
16 Nov 2011, 11:50 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-245:
looks like it hey??
We’ll have to be content with plundering the Cheetahs like everyone else….
I wonder what Sias Eberson is up to?
16 Nov 2011, 11:53 am
9. McLeod (Hoffman) 10. Michalak (Lambie / Viljoen) 11. Mvovo (Ndugane) 12. Lambie (Jordaan) 13. Whitehead 14. JPP (Ndugane) 15. Viljoen (Ludick). Not bad, but still lacks pace.
16 Nov 2011, 12:05 pm
I haven’t read the article, is my boy Brycie afraid of being car jacked or blindsided by Piet Van Zyl at a game whilst in the republic?
16 Nov 2011, 12:08 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-250: No, he doesn’t think he can go 48 hours in the country without looking anyone in the eye.
16 Nov 2011, 12:09 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-249:
@rangerman(rangerman)-244:
Looking forward to seeing Whitehead at 13. Good distributor of the ball, certainly quick enough, little bit like Snakey Smith ito his pace actually. Quicker than he looks.
And I reckon Bosman will still be at 12 next season. hopefully with Oupa finally out the way, he can reproduce some of his 2010 form.
16 Nov 2011, 12:12 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-251:
He is the logical successor to Paddy for the IRB top reffing job, Paddy will be securing lines of credit as we speak, the bribes he’ll have to pay for this money will dwarf the one he paid to Joubert.
16 Nov 2011, 12:12 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-251:
indeed.
the cheating naaier is going to need a labrador for his visit to the republic.
with any luck the lab will ref the game for him.
16 Nov 2011, 12:13 pm
Pierre Spies has been awarded the Bulls captaincy while Wynand Olivier has been named as his deputy.
16 Nov 2011, 12:16 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-254: Apparently he’s been downgraded to an untrainable American Pitbul.
16 Nov 2011, 12:17 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-253: Are you willing to repeat this staement in the presence of my attorney?
16 Nov 2011, 12:20 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-256:
well from each according to their means to each according to their ability.
let’s hope that the pittie nabs the bollock that isn’t in Paddy O’Briens handbag.
@Finfan(Finfan)-257:
China was just joking about the lawyers.
Think of it as a cry for attention.
16 Nov 2011, 12:25 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-249: With Freddie leaving in June this year we must rather leave him on the bench. Need to play our own. Lambie must be our number one fh. Freddie can cover fh and sh.
We need to think of Pat’s future with the Boks as well. If he don’t play fh then he has to play fb. Not inside centre. Remember Frans Steyn will always get that position for Boks he SA best there. For the Sharks we need to start our youngsters now. Jordaan should start at 12. Also Lindeque should be in the S15 squad.
16 Nov 2011, 12:27 pm
Piet Van Zyl will have a picture of Brycie stuck to his dart board, take care Brycie its a jungle out there.
16 Nov 2011, 12:29 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-255: Somehow thought it was going to be Chiliboy.
Though did read a Bulls Supporter on Sharksworld yesterday say it was going to be Spies.
Jeez now really hope that Meyer is not Bok Coach, cause we will have Spies forever at 8 and captain to boot with Morne at fh until the next wc.
16 Nov 2011, 12:30 pm
@Puma(Puma)-259: Makes sense. The competition for that Bok 10 jersey is going to be hot.
16 Nov 2011, 12:34 pm
@Puma(Puma)-261: Ja I also hope for Chili to be captain of Bulls. Maybe it transforms Spies into the player we all hope he becomes.
16 Nov 2011, 12:35 pm
Just having a quick flip through the thread, and I find it really funny how Kiwis always refer to us Saffas as neanderthals, alcoholics, thugs, etc etc. but just about every time I swtich my laptop on it’s another AB player in k@k for boozing and fighting or getting out of hand in some way. I never see any stories about Bok players acting in this manner.
Take the plank out your own eye…
16 Nov 2011, 12:38 pm
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-264:
Where should I start?
16 Nov 2011, 12:38 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-262: Agree.
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-263: Really thought it would be Chili. Anyhow that is Bulls problem having Spies their captain. He had better up his game now. Just hope Meyer don’t become our Bok Coach now cause we will have Spies holding the 8 jersey until 2015 as Bok Captain.
We have plenty better 8′s in SA.
16 Nov 2011, 12:39 pm
@Puma(Puma)-266:
No where to hide for Spies now.
16 Nov 2011, 12:40 pm
For those that think Eugen Van Staden has left the Sharks. HE HAS NOT.
Just read on Sharksworld.
Van Staden is only on loan until end of December to Biarritz. Biarrits had an emergency due to Eduard’s injury and Plum felt Eugene needed game time.
Van Staden will be back with the Sharks after December.
16 Nov 2011, 12:43 pm
Boo hoo, Brycie fears for his safety… Oh dear
16 Nov 2011, 12:46 pm
@Puma(Puma)-268: Good thing Pooms. But I heard a little rumour this side about Bismarck – also a little snippet in the Rugby Paper – about some English clubs being interested in him. They are a bit shy of his asking price though – apparently 500k GBP. But fark, hows that for a bit of smoke where there could be a fire?
16 Nov 2011, 12:51 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-269:
you wear it like a badge of honour
16 Nov 2011, 12:57 pm
The Ab’s have got a massive test schedule next year, lets hope Paddys secret IRB bribe fund has been increased otherwise we could be in trouble.
16 Nov 2011, 12:57 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-270: Don’t think Sharks will let him out of his contract. He and Jannie have signed until 2013. So think we will have the brothers until then.
Yeah, that is a heck of a lot of money, but one can’t just get out of a contract that easy. Also both brothers love their farm and it is just a 2 hour drive from Durbs. They go there often. Do doubt any would leave just yet.
16 Nov 2011, 12:59 pm
@Puma(Puma)-273: Jeez stupid english again up there…….hehehe.
Meant. Doubt any would leave just yet. Ignore the do…..hehe.
16 Nov 2011, 13:17 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-267:
16 Nov 2011, 13:45 pm
Bryce
You will be fine, but you are still not welcome in SA.
After all, it is just a sport, isn’t it?
16 Nov 2011, 14:03 pm
ddoos!…
16 Nov 2011, 14:06 pm
@willievz(willievz)-276:
i doubt that Fitzy got death threats in 96′ and he was a saint
16 Nov 2011, 14:09 pm
Piet Van Zyl is in training for the 100 metre dash so he can take out Brycie.
16 Nov 2011, 14:09 pm
@Puma(Puma)-268:
If the Stormers had any sense and were looking for an undervalued acquisition to boost their tight 5 stock, they should have penned the signature of Van Staden.
Very underrated player.
16 Nov 2011, 14:11 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-278:
Bryce is a far bigger cheat than Fitzy.
No comparison really.
16 Nov 2011, 14:12 pm
Will Piet fit into the new skin tight Bokke jerseys.
16 Nov 2011, 14:20 pm
So lets use some SAFFA logic;
Rolland is not welcome in Wales
Joubert is not welcome in France
Brycie boy is not welcome in SA
you boys are onto something here
16 Nov 2011, 14:21 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-283:
Do you for one moment think Gert Bezuidenhout will not be questioned in a pub in rural Otago?
16 Nov 2011, 14:28 pm
At least Bryce admits it was a SHOCKER … Joubert still maintains publicly he got the final right on the day … which is not something he would able to say looking into the eyes of the face in the mirror …
16 Nov 2011, 14:31 pm
Well, you have to congratulate the people who selected Bryce for his task.
They knew/know very well that thinking long term is not one of his strengths.
So if it’s World Cup time he will be unable to think of the consequences of his actions.
Now with the WC behind us and everyone in NZ wondering what the fuss was about, he now needs to face the music. Yes he will collect his rewards from his puppet masters but safety issues now come into play.
Lots of regrets.
I’m actually concerned about Bryce, about his mental stability.
16 Nov 2011, 14:32 pm
@willievz(willievz)-284:
gert wouldn’t speak english made it a bit difficult for the boys i would have thought
16 Nov 2011, 14:34 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-285:
jb what did you think of Gerts performances?
16 Nov 2011, 14:42 pm
JB your thoughts?
He also mentions that quite a number of prominent South Africans including both the English and Afrikaans radio commentators (Chick Henderson and Gerhard Viviers), John Vorster and Danie Craven admitted that the second obstruction of Bruce Robertson should have been a penalty try.
16 Nov 2011, 14:49 pm
imo bryce is getting too much airtime.
he should be dropped into obscurity together with his smarmy cuntof a father and be done with it.
that goes for honest paddy too.
16 Nov 2011, 14:50 pm
He then goes on and elaborates about everything Bezuidenhout did wrong with emphasis on the two times that Bruce Robertson was obstructed from scoring; the South African lifting tactics in the line-outs; and the final penalty against Bush –who was nowhere near the ball- for barging in the line-out.
16 Nov 2011, 14:50 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-242:
Go find me one post when I said I rated Hoffman, I was pleased he left, another Pienaar type imo.
You might be mistaking me with Robzim whom rated Hoffman, myself and Rob had in depth discussions about this, Hoffman never a favourite of mine.
If you going to try and slate me .at least do it with proper facts !!
16 Nov 2011, 14:56 pm
I’m sure the 4th test in 76′ highlights will be on you tube for the non believers.
16 Nov 2011, 15:00 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-269:
16 Nov 2011, 15:02 pm
This is beginning to sound like a Vietnam movie scene. The battle of the bryce paddy.
16 Nov 2011, 15:08 pm
Shes gone real quiet around here, we are all happy to destroy Paddy and Brycie any commenst on Gert?
16 Nov 2011, 15:19 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-296:
well then perhaps nows a good time for you to give up trolling for a living and go and make us some noodles.
chop chop.
16 Nov 2011, 15:24 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-297:
Your thoughts on Gert, your thoughts on Paddy and Brycie are well documented?
16 Nov 2011, 15:34 pm
Are those noodles ready to go yet? Been waiting a while.
16 Nov 2011, 15:37 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-298:
come now they won’t boil themselves.
ask for help if you must.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-299:
Clearly not the two minute variety.
Our boy has style.
16 Nov 2011, 15:47 pm
In the north of China, the staple food is noodle not rice actually they do amazing things with noodles in this part of the world, lets get straight back to tonights big question, did Gert cheat in 76′? ( if you’re not old enough ask your old man)
16 Nov 2011, 16:01 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-301:
I’m not interested in what you do with them in your spare time.
There are other websites for that sort of thing.
Where are my noodles?
16 Nov 2011, 16:08 pm
Hey china, waa’s my fokkn noedels?
16 Nov 2011, 16:12 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-302:
You’ll have to answer the question first but I was wondering why I would have to whip up some noodles, the guy you were going to dob into immigration for being an illegal immigrant can he not serve you, or if not him surely some other peasant can serve you?
16 Nov 2011, 16:14 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-303:
sheeesus.
it’s a good thing our china is a financial genius.
Because he’d last about 5 minutes at The Golden Pagoda.
16 Nov 2011, 16:16 pm
Not one SAFFA has come to defend poor old Gerts record, what could this mean?
16 Nov 2011, 16:17 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-305:
Did you ever dob that guy in like you said you were going to do, don’t dob too many in though you’ll have nobody to serve you?
16 Nov 2011, 16:18 pm
Less talk and more wok, china.
16 Nov 2011, 16:18 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-304:
I work for immigration so I don’t have to dob anybody.
DibbyDobber.
Anyway he was deported for abalone smuggling.
Who knew?
16 Nov 2011, 16:19 pm
pot noodles?
@>^..^< katman(katman)-308:
@Gunther(gunther)-309:
Who will serve you now then?
16 Nov 2011, 16:20 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-310:
ah the voice of reason has arrived, Gert your thoughts?
16 Nov 2011, 16:21 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-288:
Refresh my memory – is he the SA ref who should have awarded a penalty try in 4th Test of Andy Leslie tour – instead gave a penalty which gave AB’s lead, only to lose to Bok penalty in closing minutes – tour result therefore was 3-1 to Boks, when it could and should have been evens?
If it was that one I would, after a lot of reflection, go penalty try.
(Young New Zealand cricket XI came to Harare 11 years later and were still pissed off about it).
But that supports my argument doesn’t it: the refs should be neutral – genuinely NEUTRAL?
16 Nov 2011, 16:23 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-312:
that’s the thing my china.
another appeared as if by magic.
it’s like there is a chinese stork.
now where are the team noodles?
otherewise we will downsize you and give the tender to NZINTHAILAND.
16 Nov 2011, 16:24 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-288:
And by the way – that has been my theory for many years now: Paddy O’Brien grew up in that vintage and this is now payback …
16 Nov 2011, 16:27 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-314:
Yes that was the one, of course they should be but sometimes things like this happen, Bryce had a bad game we can all agree on that but to suggest him and Paddy were conspiring to fix matches and were on the take etc blah blah blah is pathetic.
16 Nov 2011, 16:29 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-315:
more coming your way you can count on that, I don’t cook em I just eat em
16 Nov 2011, 16:30 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-316:
so are you saying Gert cheated or made a genuine mistakes?
16 Nov 2011, 16:31 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-313:
Pot, Pot, Pot Noodle
Mucky stuff, yucky stuff
Bogie in a powder
You’re pourin’ in some water
Turns it into chowder
Let’s get a milkshake, fill it up with glutamate
Buy some try some whoops-upset-tum
Chuck it up, Pot Noodle
i do think weird al yankovich would have done a better cover though….
16 Nov 2011, 16:32 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-320:
Very good, Gert?
16 Nov 2011, 16:37 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-317:
you are comparing a single incident.
with an entire match?
wowzers.
pour us a glass of whatever your having.
something to complement my noodles.
16 Nov 2011, 16:39 pm
poor brycie, i quite like him, he’s totally incompetent of course, but nevertheless.
16 Nov 2011, 16:39 pm
We have peasants ????
16 Nov 2011, 16:42 pm
Good mates with a professional rugby ref, absolutely no way any of them are on the take, good night from the PRC.
16 Nov 2011, 16:42 pm
No funny stuff in mine, china. No eel poepol, no gerbil tongue, no tadpoles, no rhino horn. Just the fried noodles. Chop chop.
16 Nov 2011, 16:45 pm
Do we know what this muppitt was paid to take the world champions out of the tournament?
16 Nov 2011, 16:45 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-322:
No Im not, oh and he forgot how to speak English during the game
He then goes on and elaborates about everything Bezuidenhout did wrong with emphasis on the two times that Bruce Robertson was obstructed from scoring; the South African lifting tactics in the line-outs; and the final penalty against Bush –who was nowhere near the ball- for barging in the line-out.
16 Nov 2011, 16:46 pm
@TheBoksAreBack(bringbacktheboks)-327:
Gert might know?
16 Nov 2011, 16:47 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-326:
To be honest I’m going off the idea.
He says they do “amazing stuff” with noodles there.
Suddenly I feel the need to cut out carbs.
16 Nov 2011, 16:48 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-321:
you started out as a reasonable minded poster to the best of my recollection and i recall having a discussion about racism and crime in both south africa and new zealand with you in which we came to agree on a shared view of these two phenomena being quite similar in both countries, for the most part.
(yes i’m being a bit of a dooss by saying this, i know) but this was back when you were’nt even world champs yet. you are now world champs (albeit the most dodgy of title aquisition, as title aquisitions go)… but still world champs all the same…
why did it go wrong for you? i dont understand?
why defend an indefensible dooss of a referee?
16 Nov 2011, 16:49 pm
I he wins ‘Ref of the year in NZ’ … that will be really telling won’t it. He did the job the AB team couldn’t, NZ’s know it and will publicly reward him for it (no doubt they have secretly too).
16 Nov 2011, 16:49 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-330:
You and Katwoman should start your own show.
16 Nov 2011, 16:50 pm
Ho hum, same old, same old. Isn’t wee Brycie a prize twat. Varked up the B&I Lions series, although SA benefitted, varked up many S15 games, including the semi, varked up Oz vs Ireland (penalised every little thing, making Oz wild and admitted it) then varked up Oz vs SA (going the other way from the previous game and let whining Oz do anything). Now he’s too scared to come to SA?
Why is this clownish little drip of pee reffing at all? Copying cheating Dad, coached by cheating Paddy. Stay in NZ and take up some time honoured NZ job; boozing or bee keeping, plenty vacancies at the minute.
Funny to see Gwanty10 breaking cover picking U12c players for Wee Pee. C’mon lad, stop sniffing little boys bicycle seats at Clifton Primary and bark with the big dogs at Clifton Senior Primary.
16 Nov 2011, 16:50 pm
If…
16 Nov 2011, 16:51 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-325:
is he a kiwi proffessional ref?
becuase then he can’t be very good.
I mean if Cheese and Bryce was judged the best of your lot…
Then the others must be toilet.
justsaying.
16 Nov 2011, 16:52 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-331:
I’ve said he had a bad game but wasn’t on the take as plenty of clo wns around here have suggested.
@TheBoksAreBack(bringbacktheboks)-332:
Did Gert win SA ref of the year in 76′?
16 Nov 2011, 16:53 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-333:
make the man some ffucking noodles….
16 Nov 2011, 16:53 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-333: so threatened by our comments on brycie?
is it because he is a kiwi?
io because you know he devalued your wc win?
its ok, you guys won it, loosen up and enjoy and make my noodle order a double chop chop quicky quicky you see very nice?
16 Nov 2011, 16:54 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-330: I thought he meant stuff like straightening the kinks out of the 2 minute noodles with a hot iron.
What depraved stuff was he talking about? I’ve lost my appetite too now.
16 Nov 2011, 16:55 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-336:
SA has the best refs, SA doesn’t have the best rugby teams thats the real problem mate not the refs but its feels good to blame somebody for failures on the park like we did in 07′, SA needs to start winning again and I can assure you the ref moaning will cease to exist.
16 Nov 2011, 16:58 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-337:
fair do, i’ll meet you there for now.
i do believe there was something a little more to it but have to go afk, so will put my point across next time.
we dont have to be catty and ugly towards one another, for my part i apologise.
go easy on the noodles..
@rangerman(rangerman)-339:
Ranger I take exception to punters suggesting Bryce and Paddy match fixed, Bryce is not a good ref no problem with that.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-340:
I don’t know but according to the interweb chlamydia is not a type of clam.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-337: where are my noodles?
who said he was on the take?
we said he fixed the comp up nicely for the kiwis thats all.
mabe he is a patriot?
like his doosdad?
the poeth keith.
or maybe he is simply incompetent?
any way you look at it, he is useless.
bring me a side order of chicken fried blyce with my noodles.
sharpish.
16 Nov 2011, 16:59 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-342:
cheers mate
16 Nov 2011, 17:00 pm
Some of these noodle jokes are actually quite funny.
16 Nov 2011, 17:01 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-343: ok bygones.
congrats on the ab win, they certainly deserved it over the last decade if not as much at this tourney imo.
enjoy it man and just let the banter flow over you.
bryce is a spineless **** though, thats not banter.
16 Nov 2011, 17:05 pm
Noodle Jokes on Keo?
Am I in the right place or just a website that looks a lot like Keo???
An…… “Impasta”, perhaps????
urf urf urf
16 Nov 2011, 17:05 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-348:
cheers buddy, i let 99% of the banter flow sometimes you have to stand up for what you think is right though even if this blog actually means nothing
16 Nov 2011, 17:18 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-344: Speaking of noodles, I was searching the Net for a funny Pot o’ Noodle TV ad the other day (the marathon runners – very lol) and completely accidentally stumbled upon an online anti-Capo petition. Couldn’t believe my eyes, but there it was: http://www.notapoodle.com
16 Nov 2011, 17:23 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-319:
I was watching that test and recall the incident well. For a snap call it wasn’t so clear cut obvious because Robertson still had a lot of running to do – and a penalty try is a big call. There has to be absolutely NO DOUBT there would have been a try – and in those days the touch judge didn’t comment and nor was their video replay. Rhodesia was my country and we often saw in Currie Cup SA refs favouring home sides in cricket and rugby so cheating came naturally to them – that’s a fact.
So Gert was probably the same because it would likely have been a try and the foul was deliberate and he didn’t have the ball.
As for your comment about my views being “pathetic” – no more insults if you want to talk with me. OK? I make a point of not insulting your views so I expect the same respect reciprocated.
I have listed my ‘grievances’ for the Kiwi element in these columns – loads of expamples of biased, mainly anti-Bok reffing – and nobody has the courtesy or maturity to respond to them one by one – why should I do it again? Even when we have visuals of an Aussie-Scotland forwards coach and a former Irish international pointing to obvious irregularities which favour the All Blacks and are not getting called – all we get from you guys is dismissal and the “sour grapes” accusation. What possible axe do these guys have to grind? You asked me about Gert – I conceded the point because I actually thought about what you were asking.
16 Nov 2011, 17:31 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-352:
JB not your views are pathetic, I’m saying anybody who suggests he was on the take is pathetic. I respect your opinion because you know and clearly love the game.
16 Nov 2011, 17:55 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-353:
Thanks likewise – and I AGREE that a comment that he was on the take is utterly ridiculous … he might (or might not) be predisposed but it’s for love of country (if it is true) and not money … seriously, that is absolutely stupid thing to say.
16 Nov 2011, 18:18 pm
Fck that. Brycie’s reffing is the closest Rugby can come to match fixing. Simple. His “concern for his safety” is because the fckwit knows he is rotten to the core. A guilty conscience.
16 Nov 2011, 18:20 pm
A public bogwash for Brycie the moment he steps onto SA soil. And then a weekend locked up in a cell with 28s… Yes please.
16 Nov 2011, 18:42 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-356: lol papa wag vir jou,,.,..,,,,,
16 Nov 2011, 19:00 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-357: Yeah…
16 Nov 2011, 20:12 pm
You Saffies,really have to calm down on the Kiwi hating.
I know it’s hard coming from a third world country,with little to look forward too in life except the occasional game of rugby against the world champs.
I can understand that beating the World champs,once in a while may alleviate some of the suffering you all go through just to survive in South Africa.
I suppose I can’t fully appreciate the hardships you guys have,just trying to find your next meal and the famine and disease your exposed to on a daily basis.
But despite all the heartaches of living in the third world, it’s a bit rich taking out all your problems on a little country like NZ,especially with all the wonderful charity work we do.
In conclusion Saffies….wake up and don’t bite the hand that feeds you.
16 Nov 2011, 20:24 pm
hahahahahahhahahahhahahaha
Bryce you are such a little wan ker, go suck your mothers *** you baby!
16 Nov 2011, 20:26 pm
@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-359:
hey doos, the only thing our hand does is reduce the loss you so called first world idiots make………..
16 Nov 2011, 20:55 pm
@whatever(whatever)
Whatever
16 Nov 2011, 20:57 pm
its only a game. get over it.
16 Nov 2011, 20:58 pm
Chokka?
16 Nov 2011, 21:00 pm
Oops thought it was bok bait.
16 Nov 2011, 22:46 pm
Where is our African hospitality gone? Its a game, he tried his best made mistakes (he is human),so lets move on.Come on every one, lets show the world why South Africa is great.Its our team spirit and hospitality that should rise above all petty arguments.
17 Nov 2011, 00:48 am
Yarpies and their violent vindictiveness simply shame their nation and expose their own third-worldliness.
17 Nov 2011, 00:53 am
Through the course of the tournament (and through the course of the last 2 years), Bryce has managed to stuff the chances of NZ’z greatest threats in SA and AUS. He has done it repeatedly and without regret.
Is this a conspiracy?? Who knows. NZ were desperate to win this WC and there is every chance that they would cheat to do it. They have a long history of cheating so it doesn’t surprise.
But this has gone way over the top. It’s still a game , it’s not life and death. I would hate to see us turn into Kiwis where Rugby is the only thing that matters, where we beat our wives when we don’t win, where we fall into depression when we don’t win, where we constantly whinge and blame everyone else when we don’t win. Let’s not let that happen.
Half the teams at the WC got screwed by referees (except NZ). Let’s just acknowledge that, say we didn’t deserve to win it anyway as we weren’t the best, and move on. And as for the ANZAC conspiracy….well…the Aussies hate him even more than we do.
17 Nov 2011, 00:56 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-367: Hahaha,” tough luck” Bryce is a third world ref
17 Nov 2011, 01:54 am
@jeest(jeest)-368:
What a joke of a post.
you just accused me of beating my wife.
You may make a joke of wife beating but that cr@ps serious.
And what really gets me is the way you say it, its like it never happens in South Africa,1000s of rapes and murders happen in SA every year,just as much gets un reported. Do you kill each other cos of a 3 nations loss??
Sounds like it.
You know nothing about us Kiwis, rugby is not the only thing that matters. We support mostly anything to do with sport.
17 Nov 2011, 02:37 am
@JL1(JL1)-369: Bryce is — and remains — a TEST grade referee. You’re good, if you can say that. And the 2011 3N rankings were perfectly reflected in the RWC — NZ, Oz and wooden-spooners SA in that order yet again.
17 Nov 2011, 02:53 am
http://www.planetrugby.com/story/0,25883,3943_7310868,00.html
this is how the world is looking at the rainbow nation. read the comments.
not a good look
and this post is funny
codis says…
Bryce Lawrence mountain biking in South Africa http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S2oymHHyV1M
17 Nov 2011, 04:10 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-370: I can see you were unable to comprehend my post. I will try to put it into terms a 3 year old would understand next time in order to correspond with the level of education you are required to achieve in NZ.
Apologies for confusing you into thinking you beat your wife and for making a “joke” out of it when I said that it would be a shame if that sort of stuff went on here too as a result of losing a game. Obviously you have a different concept of the term “joke’ to the rest of the world.
Rugby is far too important in NZ – and I realise that you are all too insular to recognise that fact but why don’t you just stay of of the conversation while educated people post.
Thanks.
17 Nov 2011, 05:08 am
@jeest(jeest)-373:
So really what are you trying to say here?
“when I said that it would be a shame if that sort of stuff went on here too as a result of losing a game”
So you are still saying we beat our wives after a loss.
You seem to think your alot more intelligent than me, damn am i worthy talking to such a higher power as yourself?
You really need to get over yourself man, your honestly not all that.
Rugby is important to NZ, didnt say it never did but have you missed how important rugby is to SA as well? Bryce isnt allowed in the country, death threats even on here.
Not once can i recall the IRB stopping a ref going to a country cos of the chance he will be in danger.
17 Nov 2011, 05:37 am
@jeest(jeest)-368:
Bryce reffed S15 Final 2011,who won that game? He reffed the 1/4 final Aus v SA .Who won that game? Your conspiracy theories are a joke as are you.
17 Nov 2011, 05:43 am
With regard to the Bryce situation, I have quite clearly stated that what has happened is ridiculous. I don’t for one second condone death threats or the behaviour that is continuing. The game is over, the tournament is over, it should all just be put to rest.
With regard to your issue with my statement that there are domestic violence increases in NZ that mirror All Black results –
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/all-blacks/news/article.cfm?c_id=116&objectid=10468736
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/rugby-world-cup/4190359/Police-fear-violence-if-All-Blacks-fail-at-cup
These are from your own publications.
With regard to what I mean…I think it was obvious. I’m saying just that…It would be a massive shame if things were like they are in New Zealand where domestic violent spikes just because the Rugby team loses. Where Rugby is taken so seriously that opposition fans at an international event are subjected to constant abuse and threats, and where productivity falls and depression increases based on Rugby results. And I feel that the continuation of this Bryce hatred is the sort of thing included in this statement.
17 Nov 2011, 05:48 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-375: He reffed the final and tried to let the Crusaders win but the Reds were just too good.
In any case – he has ruined dozens of games over the past 2 years, don’t pick up one example and use it as a rule. He destroyed the QF (Tahs, Blues) with atrocious refereeing to favour the Blues. A couple of weeks earlier he made one of the most ridiculous rulings in history at scrum time. He has blown the way of his home teams in every game i’ve seen in 2010 and 2011 and now he has continued that form into internationals where everyone gets to see what we have been dealing with. The bloke is a joke, whether deliberate or not. You will also I see I didn’t say it was a conspiracy. I clearly stated “who knows”.
17 Nov 2011, 07:48 am
Funny how some bloggers on here slate South African refs….then praise Kiwi refs as TEST grade…logic goes out the window when the argument is clearly biased.
Pfffffffff….
17 Nov 2011, 09:50 am
@jeest(jeest)-377:
But you also said
“They have a long history of cheating so it doesn’t surprise”
So you dont know if its a conspiracy but it wouldnt surprise you if it was cos we cheat alot?
And then you say:
“where we constantly whinge and blame everyone else when we don’t win. Let’s not let that happen.”
And then you go on to bleat and complain about all the losses that you guys have suffered cos of one ref.
Are you a doctor heckyll and Mr Hyde sort of character?
17 Nov 2011, 10:17 am
Everybody knows kiwi refs are the best in the world. They are reffing World Champion players day in and out.
By reffing the country with the worlds best players it follows that their refereeing skills are the best in the world.
Any injustices felt by Saffies or any other countries are simply down to fact they don’t understand rugby as well as kiwis.
If there were diplomas in rugby,kiwis would always be top of the class.
17 Nov 2011, 11:38 am
Haha, Saffas get over it boys! you came 8th in the WC because your team was to old, and basically rubbish!Not because of a ref.
70% possesion and you could still not get the deal done, mugs!
Rugby is important to Kiwis as it is to you, otherwise you would still not be bleating on about it
2 months on.
I don’t blame Lawrence for been worries, remember that big fat Bok supporter that ran on the field to attack the ref as the “ref was cheating” in his words.
Luck Richie was there to knock his fat biltong eating *** out.
17 Nov 2011, 15:46 pm
@lawsy25(lawsy25)-381: Oi!!! I Object!!!
What’s wrong with eating biltong…?
17 Nov 2011, 16:16 pm
I come back to this thread more farken pi.ssed off than when I first set my bleeding eyes upon it:
This farken Brycecunt:
- Not only screws the Boks in the QF by doing nothing less than fixing the match…
- He also implicitly screws the reputation of the Country SA and all Bok fans by implication, not by logic, but by his emotions and fears borne of a now obvious guilty conscience…
Brycecunt “fears for his safety” – so this is the bravery of a Kiwi…? Farken Coward, like many of his snivelling countrymen who now occupy this Rugby site. They all display similar snivelling, snorting, blinkered cowardly characteristics.
Fark this fool!
17 Nov 2011, 20:18 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-383: ouch bitter. gosh i’m so happy your more p!ssed off than usual. get over it HG. your a petty childish loser whose an embarrassment to any race.
yeah kiwi’s are cowards. thats why we come over to southAfrica and win 3Nations. all of NZ are cowards. thats why we went through the WC undefeated. didnt realise that winning was cowardly.
boks didnt deserve to win. boks were a team of old men and a figure head coach. boks got biased refereeing through out the tournament but all you bleat on about is bryce. you guys had heaps of ref’s call fall your way in the wales and samoa games but convienently all you remember is what suits.
the truth will set u free. 4 more years
17 Nov 2011, 20:53 pm
@lawsy25(lawsy25)-381:
Get your facts straight doos for brains. It was AJ Venter who gave the guy a smack
At least the fat dude did not try sexually molest a runner on the side of the road, like the drunken role model All Black
Idiot
17 Nov 2011, 20:56 pm
So a few blogers are still bleating on about little brycie, hey at least we did not spend millions on a commission of enquiry like NZ did after 2007. Faaak me the whole nation spat the dummy. Funny how all that is now forgotten after a jammie 1 point win over a rabble French team
Wow, how proud
17 Nov 2011, 20:59 pm
Just to show how proud you all are, lets have one of those face pulling competitions somewhere again, you know those boring dime a dozen little dances you tossers do at every oportunity that actualy means nothing cause the words make zip sence. Called a haka I think
beeeaaautiful
17 Nov 2011, 21:13 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-383:
So now calling Kiwis cowards is bravery?
And yet you sit behind the computer at home while doing all the name calling etc.
Damn, so much for South African bravery, you are really showing how its done.
17 Nov 2011, 21:16 pm
@whatever(whatever)-385: yes embarrasing about guildford. luckily sexual harrassment and rape never happens in SA. wish NZ didnt have so much carJacks, drivebys and murder. southAfrica is such a better, greener, safer and racially tolerant place to live.
“we did not spend millions on a commission of enquiry like NZ did after 2007″ um we didnt spend millions and how is your reaction to bryceGate any better than ours was in 2007? isnt andreWatson(irony) also trying to get in on the bloodletting by taking bryce to court? have you not read saffa’s reaction to bryce? yeah y’all handling it much better than we did 2007. Barnes came and reffed in NZ in 2008 and all NZ did was refuse to acknowledge him. he never felt threatened. we try to win our games on the field thanx.
cheap shot at the haka, but it is only a dance so get over it.not sure why the world makes such a big deal over it. i’m sure the only culture u know of is in yoghurt or in your undies
17 Nov 2011, 21:25 pm
@whatever(whatever)-386:
“Funny how all that is now forgotten after a jammie 1 point win over a rabble French team”
1 point is a win, dont you think?
I mean you took the Wales game in the RWC as a win didnt you? The ref gave you that game.
@whatever(whatever)-387:
Yeah, it was full on as you know cos YOU live here.
So really if you dont like being in a country while its hosting the RWC, you should leave and comeback when its over and done with or NZ should just apologise to you Whatever, how dare we.
Must have been torture for you. Just imagine the poor people wishing they could have been a part of the experience in NZ , you know real rugby fans. And here you walking down Queens street muttering under your breath about the damn haka.
17 Nov 2011, 23:27 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-390:
aaaahhhhhh poor little Hurricane………..you offended and nose outa joint? Do a face pulling dance, you may feel better
On second thoughts, rather not!
Dude, if you don’t think the haka is overdone then you on P like the rest of ya mates
The Haka has run it’s course, there is no place in moden rugby for a heathen dance and throat slitting. And you have a crack at SA for being 3rd world. Cry me a river!
For the umteenth time, I dig the country and most of it’s inhabitants, just not the few one eyed twats that think their sh it does not smell and does not come out in little marble shaped black pellets
And I must have missed the bit about Watson taking Brycie Wycie to court?
One other thing, the Boks never lost due to Brycie, they lost because they could not turn possesion into points……….simple
Finaly, did you have your head in the sand after 2007? Did you not witness the angst in NZ, the endless anti Henry letters to the press, the inquiry into “where it all went wrong” and all the anti Barnes talk in the papers and on the blogs.
Please don’t tell me you are one eyed as well?
18 Nov 2011, 00:38 am
@whatever(whatever)-391: yes haka is probably over done and it’s a bit antiquated. definitely has no place in modern rugby but that’s what makes it that much more dramatic.
would you like all the teams to be boring and do the same old thing all the time? kiwi’s are precious about the haka, but then so is the world towards it. why does a simple tradition get so much attention? what’s the harm? it’s only a dance yet people go on and on about it.
the throat slitting gesture I can understand is misinterpreted (supposed to be the drawing in a breath of life) and the players that perform it tend to use it as a throat slitting (nonu in the finals) but so what’s the big deal? It’s a simple little ritual that AB’s have been doing for over a hundred years.
Does it really impact on the game? Who does it hurt?
18 Nov 2011, 04:09 am
@man1a(man1a)-392:
Does not hurt anyone, it’s just become a joke and the NZ public (in general) are so precious about it, it is quite pathetic.
But hey if a bunch og grown men want to pull faces and look like complete tossers, well hey thats their right I guess?
And can someone give me the actual meaning of the words? Or are they really meant to mean googldygook?
26 Jan 2012, 12:02 pm
“Lawrence told allblacks.com website this week that the fallout from the Springboks’ World Cup game had been “intense”.
“From the quarterfinal through the first two weeks after that, it was pretty hectic,” he said.
“I was getting messages via Facebook and on my e-mails like ‘watch your back when you get here because I’m going to take you out. I can’t wait for you get here so I can spit on you’ [said messages from South Africa].
“I wasn’t too worried about people telling me they couldn’t wait until I got to South Africa so they could spit on me.”
Lawrence said the hardest part was the realisation he could have done better, including spending time with Paddy O’Brien dissecting the quarterfinal performance.
“The criticism didn’t hurt me that much because I know I didn’t referee as well as I should have,” Lawrence said.
“I took a plan of not being overly technical into that game and possibly that was not the right plan.
“To get to my biggest game and not referee anywhere near as well, I let myself down and I also let the team down.”
He said that what hurt him were accusations that his actions had been deliberate and underhand to benefit the World Cup hosts.
“It only really hurt when it became personal, when people started saying it was a fix-up and I’d done it so the All Blacks could get through. That hurt,” he said.
“I’d done my self-review and realised I’d missed a couple of things, but you can’t get overly concerned about that because I had just missed them – it wasn’t as if I’d seen them and decided not to do anything.”
27 Jan 2012, 23:42 pm
@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-359: Third world is correct, but everything outside Auckland is Hill Billy country, mate.