Bryce fears for safety in SA
16 Nov 2011
Bryce Lawrence says he won’t officiate in South Africa next season if his personal safety is under threat.
Since Lawrence’s controversial performance in the Wallabies’ 11-9 quarter-final win over the Springboks at the World Cup, the Kiwi referee has been critcized for his handling of the breakdown by South African players, fans and media.
Retired Springbok captain John Smit said: ‘The one positive of retirement is that I won’t ever have to be reffed by him again’. Even Saru manager of referees Andre Watson slammed Lawrence’s performance, saying the New Zealander won’t officiate at a future World Cup as he would be severely admonished by the IRB.
A Facebook campaign titled ‘Petition To Stop Bryce Lawrence Ever Reffing A Rugby Game Again’ set up a platform for public abuse to be directed at Lawrence, while 94.7 Highveld Stereo radio station’s Darren ‘Whackhead’ Simpson has claimed to have prank called him in the middle of the night.
Speaking to Tony Veitch on Radiosport, Lawrence said he is aware of the threat of refereeing in South Africa during Super Rugby next year.
‘I’m not totally concerned. I know a lot of other people like the New Zealand Rugby Union and SANZAR do have some serious concerns,’ Lawrence said. ‘In all honesty, I’m not going to go over there if there’s any personal threat or I have concerns about my safety because in the end it’s a job. I know that, and also it’s just a sport so I’m not going to put myself at risk.’
‘I refereed the [Super Rugby] final last year,’ he continued. ‘I’ve refereed a lot of play-off games so that level is something I’m more than capable of refereeing. I’ll referee South African teams in Super Rugby, it may be in Australia or New Zealand that I referee them and I’m sure the criticism will resurface every time I do referee them.’
Lawrence admitted that he always thinks back to his performance in the Wallabies/Bok quarter-final fixture.
‘It hasn’t been the greatest four or six weeks of my life…in all honesty there isn’t a day goes by even now that I don’t think about what I could have done better and how it’s affecting me and what it means for me going forward. It’s still very fresh and probably pretty raw really,’ he said.
‘I was disappointed with some aspects in my own performance that day after refereeing four really pretty strong games in pool play. I’m not blaming anyone for the quarterfinal refereeing display apart from myself. I didn’t referee as well as I could.
‘I was pretty relaxed going into that game, and Australia/South Africa I have refereed numerous times in the last few years at Tri-Nations level so the game didn’t scare me or concern me. I just think I went away from what I’m best at. I’m best when I’m pretty decisive and reasonably technical and tactical – and I just went too much down the tactical side of things where I was really trying to minimise making technical errors.
‘I got criticised heavily and some of that I accept because I know I could have done better.’
Lawrence added that he has been punished by being left out of the Six Nations.
‘Look, there have been some pretty clear consequences from my quarterfinal display. I’m not going to be refereeing Six Nations next year, they can say that means I’m rested but in reality I accept that one of the consequences of my performance is that I’m not going to be doing Six Nations.
‘That’s disappointing from a personal level but also something that I probably support. Referees often get criticised and not held accountable – well I’m clearly being held accountable I’m not refereeing Six Nations.’
Meanwhile, Sanzar CEO Greg Peters told Eyewitness News they have not expressed any concerns regarding Lawrence’s safety in South Africa. Peters explained that he consulted their legal advisors and said the Lawrence safety saga has not been discussed within Sanzar.

395 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All
16 Nov 2011, 10:23 am
@grant10(grant10)-197: @<a Looking at the Stormers though, I can't help but think there are already so many players that should be playing at 8!
Kolisi, Koster, and I'd argue Schalk Burger would all be best suited to playing 8.
Yet they are playing Duane there, who, in my opinion, would be best suited to the blindside.
I'd like to see more of Carr at S15 level before having a stronger opinion on it, but I like him at blindside.
16 Nov 2011, 10:24 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-199: wouldnt surprise me at all….
16 Nov 2011, 10:24 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-199: shhhhhhhhhhhh….
16 Nov 2011, 10:26 am
@grant10(grant10)-200: Ja, Sharks have a massive problem in their midfield and at lock.
I haven’t seen much of this Tim Whitehead chap, so am not sure what to expect from him or if he will even make the Super rugby squad.
I think Riaan Viljoen is a fair replacement for Stefan, and it looks like Michalak is on his way back to France which means Lambie will probably play most of his rugby at flyhalf in the Super 15. That’s good news in my opinion.
@grant10(grant10)-200:
I don’t think they will. Sharks have a few players to replace those with.
Jandre Marais was probably hard done by being dropped anyway, and they seem to think a lot of a guy called ‘Pieter Steph du Toit’.
Sharks have probably the best recruitment in SA. They sign what they need, and not much more.
Bulls. Well they sign everybody else and hope to find a few gems in between.
@Dusky(Dusky)-199:
Not true.
@Dusky(Dusky)-198: the Bulls will not struggle at all next year they have already replaced Matfield, Bakkies and FDP with quality players … they unlike your guppies have no old has-beens blocking young talent from coming through. It’s going to be a tough year for the guppies, cause once their start falling over the cracks are going to open big time!
16 Nov 2011, 10:27 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-195: Stormers know its a long and tough season ahead thats why they are giving their guys ample rest. We will see at the end of the S15 which approach was the right one.
@grant10(grant10)-196: Who is the right wing? Mbovane?
@Dusky(Dusky)-204:
Michalak staying till after the Super Rugby campaign.
The article saying he was returning was only to point out he won’t be extending his contract.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-201: Carr is an 8…
Kolisi and schalk 7 [ duane also good here as well ]
8 should be Carr, Koster and vermeulen
Long season…..planty of rotation required.
watch Carr….he is special
16 Nov 2011, 10:29 am
Good riddance. I hope he never sets foot in SA again, and stays very FAR from the Boks and Sharks in future.
[He's already reffed the Sharks to 6 defeats in 9 games, in a period when the Sharks on average have won 6 from 9].
16 Nov 2011, 10:29 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-204: whitehead is a damn good player…good buy for you okes imo.
Also glad Frenchie going home…..best Lambie settles in a position.
I think Taute will make the bok 15 his jersey come 2012….great prospect…
16 Nov 2011, 10:30 am
@Roar my Lions …. Currie Cup Champions 2011(RL)-206: I am worried about the Sharks so I cant say I disagree with you there, but I can’t see the Bulls making this transition without some glitches. As I say – I could be wrong.
16 Nov 2011, 10:30 am
meeting
16 Nov 2011, 10:31 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-207: yip…that is the oke
16 Nov 2011, 10:31 am
@grant10(grant10)-200: Sharks lost Eugene van Staden?? Big blow.
16 Nov 2011, 10:32 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-208: That’s not great news actually. Michalak can play brilliantly well, and then play on the other end of the spectrum in the space of two matches.
Also, as remarked after the Sharks/Cheetahs semi-final, Lambie is much stronger defensively than Michalak, and it almost immediately forced the Cheetahs to play a different pattern which cost them in the end.
So, I am not thrilled that Michalak is staying to be honest.
16 Nov 2011, 10:34 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-215: temporary, bru. He is back for the S15.
16 Nov 2011, 10:35 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-215: Yep – going to Biarritz.
16 Nov 2011, 10:38 am
How is the little ****** being held accountable when he is still on the Sanzar panel?
Who is in charge of selection?
Oh?
Ok.
Fine.
16 Nov 2011, 10:41 am
LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOSERS!
16 Nov 2011, 10:43 am
@The Gloater – formerly cane(cane)-220:
keep on trying, maybe someone will take the bait!
16 Nov 2011, 10:43 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-217: @Dusky(Dusky)-218: Oh thats a relief he is a very underrated prop.
@Dusky(Dusky)-216: Michalak on the bench to cover 9 and 10 with Lambie at 10 Viljoen at 15?
16 Nov 2011, 10:44 am
As you can see Zackie is not the only Kiwi who has alcohol problems…
16 Nov 2011, 10:44 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-222: although now I read there is some confusion about it.
16 Nov 2011, 10:45 am
@grant10(grant10)-209:
Carr is special indeed. I believe he can play any position in loose trio as long as he gets time there & specialises. Have seen him play openside more than any other position & is very good there. Seen him play 8 for WP u21′s,while good he wasnt as good as Ive seen him play at openside. Kolisi is a 8 who can play blinside. Duanne Vermuelen is a blindside who can play 8-best suited for the former though IMO.
WP dont have a openside of quality barring Carr who is still a season or 2 away from playing full time at Superrugby level.Will do well coming off bench next year much like Liam Gill did for Reds,Colby Faingaa for Brumbies,Sam Kane for Chiefs.Carr is in that league of classy young opensiders.
@Dusky(Dusky)-216:
Sharks need to blood young centres. They let go of Barritt,Murray,Vulindlu,F.Steyn for the likes of Terblanche,JLP,Bosman,Joubert…rubbish management from Straeuli,Plumtree,Muir,Bashford. Balls up 101. Time to back the likes of Paul Jordaan,Tim Whitehead,Piet Lindeque,Williams.
16 Nov 2011, 10:45 am
Sharks also have a problem at SH, a major one !! Also with Michalak going back who to FH ?? and if Lambie to FH ,who to FB ?? Ludik so injury prone !!
16 Nov 2011, 10:46 am
@Bod(bod)-223:
are you talking about our caner?
Johnnie Walker Red Label’s Brand Ambassador?
16 Nov 2011, 10:47 am
How could Derick Kuun retire at such a young age? He is a decent player to have around.
16 Nov 2011, 10:50 am
@Gunther(gunther)-227:
That would be him…. the evening approacheth in deepest, darkest Wellington and the cue for the Ambassador to launch into oblivion
16 Nov 2011, 10:50 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-226: Lambie 10 Riaan Viljoen 15. In S15 Michalak to cover 9 and 10 with McCleod starting 9.
16 Nov 2011, 10:51 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-226:
Riaan Viljoen has been signed by Sharks from 2012 onwards. So FB is covered.
Sharks backs 2012-what I would like to see.
9.Michalak/McCleod 10.Lambie 11.Mvovo 12.Jordaan 13.Whitehead 14.JP 15.Viljoen
16 Nov 2011, 10:52 am
wow , still cant believe the jury is out on what position Lambie must play …..yup Taute is a good player but I would put my house on Lambie any day at 15. The Sharks must not jerk him around …..they have messed up too many players by doing this !!
what is nice is that we have great youngsters coming through ….all we need is a coach ??
I think if we get the right coach the Boks should be great for a few years !
16 Nov 2011, 10:54 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-210:
So your issue is he was asking too much?
or he wouldn’t take the going rate?
16 Nov 2011, 10:57 am
@Brads(Brads)-233: I was talking about Lawrence.
He’s just plain incompetent.
16 Nov 2011, 10:57 am
@DT(Duncan)-232: Lambie’s future is at 12.
16 Nov 2011, 11:11 am
@Finfan(Finfan)-235: Lambie’s future is at 14.
16 Nov 2011, 11:13 am
192@Transie… good post.
16 Nov 2011, 11:22 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-236: Good post! He might make it 11 too, but that is not his future.
16 Nov 2011, 11:28 am
@Finfan(Finfan)-238: lol agree. I like Lambie at 15. and with Elton and Goosen coming through we dont really need him at 10.
16 Nov 2011, 11:35 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-239: Tend to agree, in fact, I think he is a good, more than competent FH, but certainly not outstanding. Elton and Goosen, when they gain more experience at senior level, will be better. However, the Sharks need him at 12 in the near future. The last time the Sharks backline had some bite was when they used him as a centre. (Fullback is his future though.)
16 Nov 2011, 11:39 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-204: If my memery serves me right wasnt this Whitehead fellow playing in the varsity cup ????
16 Nov 2011, 11:39 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-239: dont really need him at 10?
he is an outstanding 10, as good as elton and better than goosen.
he must fight for his position though like any other player.
my worry is that we dont really have any truly world class centers barring sadie(apparently this could be another wp wank fest though) coming through in south africa.
justknowsfookoaboutrugby seems to have forgotten that the sharks have hoffman (who he was squealing about like a teenage girl when he was at wp) and charl mccleod.
wp have duvenage and………….a…..uhm…….
16 Nov 2011, 11:44 am
@Finfan(Finfan)-235: @Sasuke(Sasuke)-236:
Lambie’s future is at WP…
16 Nov 2011, 11:44 am
but to be honest, i am not excited about the sharks chances for 2012 at present.
we have lost far too much talent over the last 4 years without lke for like replacement.
guys like fransie and barritt, ruan, sykes, smitty etc.
our forwards will still be strong and if pat does play 12 we may have the beginnings of a backline that can put players into space.
one things for sure, mvovo and JP are no slouches when it comes to finishing so ja, play the frog at 10 and pat at 12.
outstanding, wow, i am excitedabout the sharks now! s15 title here we come!
16 Nov 2011, 11:46 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-243: haha, the days of wp sommer poaching all the talented natal kids are OVA!
these days its the lions turn
16 Nov 2011, 11:46 am
@stew(stew)-241: Yes, then made the step up to S14 with Stormers then didnt make the squad this year now moving to Sharks.
16 Nov 2011, 11:50 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-243: Yeah!! lol
16 Nov 2011, 11:50 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-245:
looks like it hey??
We’ll have to be content with plundering the Cheetahs like everyone else….
I wonder what Sias Eberson is up to?
16 Nov 2011, 11:53 am
9. McLeod (Hoffman) 10. Michalak (Lambie / Viljoen) 11. Mvovo (Ndugane) 12. Lambie (Jordaan) 13. Whitehead 14. JPP (Ndugane) 15. Viljoen (Ludick). Not bad, but still lacks pace.
16 Nov 2011, 12:05 pm
I haven’t read the article, is my boy Brycie afraid of being car jacked or blindsided by Piet Van Zyl at a game whilst in the republic?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All