Spies to lead Bulls

Pierre Spies has been awarded the Bulls captaincy while Wynand Olivier has been named as his deputy.

The Bulls have lost a number of senior players to overseas contracts and retirement. Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha, Gary Botha and Gurthro Steenkamp will continue their careers abroad, while Victor Matfield will hang up his boots after the Barbarians vs Wallabies clash at the end of the month.

Spies was up against Chiliboy Ralepelle for the Bulls captaincy, and the Bulls management felt the Bok No 8 was the right man to succeed Matfield. This despite Ralepelle’s record at age group level (he captained the Baby Boks to a World Championship title in 2005) and the fact that he’s already led the senior Bok team, albeit in two tour matches.

‘It was not such a big surprise though, as I had it in the back of my mind that I could be asked to lead the team when Victor retired,’ Spies said. ‘I was privileged in my career at the Bulls and the Springboks to play with great captains and I could certainly learn a lot from them.

‘I believe a captain should lead from the front and I hope that will be something that I can do successfully. There are huge challenges ahead, but we are all looking forward to that. This group is younger than in previous years, but we have the same goals as those squads and that is to win the competition.’

Meanwhile, Spies’s vice-captain will be sidelined for the next two months. Olivier has undergone a shoulder operation and will only be available to the Bulls in early February.

‘I like that responsibility. Anyone who wants to write off the Bulls because we lost players, do so at their own peril. I think we have a squad that can with the competition again. There are new faces, so there will be a challenge to make sure all share the same vision, but I see no problems in that. We have a great management team and coaching staff and they will get everyone to pull in the same direction.’

419 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 1.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Tacitus,

If you really believe this one to be a good decision, you’re smoking the good stuff.

All part of Heyneke and co. plan to keep Spies in the Springbok squad. We’re going to have to put up with this guy becoming a 100-cap Springbok before long.

This is like something from Onion News. Worst decision the Bulls could’ve made.

• 2.pokkel: Reply to this comment

Invisible Man And Meisiekind!!

Bwhahahahaha!

• 3.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@pokkel(pokkel)-2:

Heyneke trying to prove some kind of point.

Won’t work though. I thought they had a genuine shot with the players they’ve brought in, but this is a terrible way to start.

• 4.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-1: Don’t be such a pessimist. Spies’ aura will ensure that the Bulls become champions again.

• 5.John Galt: Reply to this comment

That is some funny **** right there.

Imagine the warm up speech.

‘Ok boys, lets drive them back when we tackle them and lets get over the advantage line with ball in hand!’

Talk about not leading by example.

• 6.The Gloater - formerly cane: Reply to this comment

Bully Boys mid table at best.

The Side-Winder should be left to work on his own game.
    This added responsibility will not help him or the Bulls.

• 7.Finfan: Reply to this comment

If a white coach is appointed, the Bok captain will have to be black i.e. chiliboy.

The Bulls missed an opportunity to let Chiliboy gain experience and credibility as captain.

Poor decision in light of the above.

• 8.The Gloater - formerly cane: Reply to this comment

Great News for all the Other Contenders.

• 9.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Finfan(Finfan)-7:

That’s a silly statement to make, and very untrue.

• 10.Izwe Lethu: Reply to this comment

The Bulls have certainly missed an opportunity,they would have become trendsetters,trailblaizers,the first union out of the big four to play in the township,the first union to have a black captain,a merit one nogal.They would have got a lot more supporters from an untapped market.Sadly they chose to give it to Pierre,who if he is going to lead by example,the Bulls will be continually going backwards in tackles.Sad.

• 11.rangerman: Reply to this comment

terrible choice.

reminds me of 2008 when fdp was cappie.

eina!

• 12.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Seriously though, who else is senior enough to lead the side?

Would have maybe looked at Pottie. But then again the coach is probably concerned that he wont command a starting spot.

Chilli? Not a bad option and will certainly start.

Steggies?

• 13.Caper: Reply to this comment

I hope this doesn’t mean Spies will keep his place in the Bok team. As a Stormers fan, however, this makes me smile.

• 14.Michael: Reply to this comment

Oh lord. Imagine Spies as Bok captain if Meyer is appointed as Bok coach.

• 15.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Seems like they’ve gone for looks over leadership here.

Cappie + Vice-cappie = Modern Talking album cover.

• 16.Michael: Reply to this comment

Spies’ version of a rampaging Bull is one in 5th gear turbo-reverse in the tackle.

• 17.Gunther: Reply to this comment

So much of funny

• 18.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-14:

Gosh. That would be a nightmare.

• 19.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Izwe Lethu(Koos van der merwe)-10: Very true. I hope the Sharks recruit him. Bismarck is much better suited to a role on the bench. He has gained invaluable experience in this important role.

• 20.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Pre-match psyche-up song in the dressing room: You can win if you want

• 21.Michael: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-18: It’s almost enough to make me wish Meyer doesn’t become Bok coach.

Overlooking Chil in favour of Dummy Tackle and Shampoo Boy is criminal.

• 22.Michael: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-15: Looks? LOOKS? The UnHulk and a walking advert for Cost Cutters?????

• 23.pokkel: Reply to this comment

Where are all the Bulls fans?

• 24.Tito: Reply to this comment

Zwe Lethu brada tell me why do you believe the appointment of Chiliboy would mean they are trail blazers? While I await your response let me venture as follows:-On the one hand I contend that Chiliboy very soon would force the Bulls Management to change their decision if he stays fit and he plays constantly and improves:- On the other hand I believe that this decision was a business decision. One he is one of the senior players and has played more games than Chiliboy. Two I mean with no facts at hand that the Bulls Management wanted somebody that appeals to their key constituency/market. Spies is very marketable fella I have seen him in many adverts and I have met many young rugby guys bench marking their gym proficiencies along standards set by Spies. Lets agree that he is not very bad as a players. I conclude by saying lets give this decision a benefit of doubt……

• 25.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I reckon Spies cracked the nod on the basis of his vertical lunges alone. Something to behold.

And Timotei was the only other guy over 24.

• 26.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-22:

look it’s true we have a long way to go to match the standards of the stormers squad who see more injuries on the waxing table than they do on the rugby field.

who can ever forget the horrible manscaping incident involving peter pan grant and jean de villiers last year?

even seasoned paramedics were dropping like flies.

• 27.Roar my Lions .... Currie Cup Champions 2011: Reply to this comment

Hehehe this is really funny news :lol:

• 28.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-26: The Bulls have no right to wax on about waxing while Shampoo remains on the field :-)

• 29.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Tito(Tito)-24: Being a TV ad star guarantees success as a captain? Sure. Chiliboy doesn’t feature in any TV ads, so rule him out.

Real Bulls logic.

• 30.pompies2: Reply to this comment

So it seems that PDV”s decision to consider wasn’t too crazy at all. Seems Heyneke learned from “the special one”.

• 31.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-28:

look they are all pretenders to the throne of the uber man ***** Percy.

And we all know where he went to school don’t we?

• 32.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Strange choice :roll: dont think Bulls supporters going 2 be happy, i dont think he is a good player at all, should not hv been in the Bok squad. Should rather have chosen meisiekind, he defends well and has played well at the Bulls.

With that selection by Meyer, i worry what his Bok choices would be. :sad:

• 33.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-31: Monty was one year ahead of me at school after he failed Matric first time. He was a trend setter. Shampoo is well the Cost Cutters version :-)

• 34.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Tito(Tito)-24: Tito, so your primary considerations for being a captain are tv ad time and a pale skin because of all the pale skin supporters? I’ll build a bridge for you so that you can get over it.

• 35.Tito: Reply to this comment

FinFan that is not what I a driving at, in fact the core of my message is this – Chiliboy has not played as many games in the past due to injuries. It is in the past season that we began to see him deliver some of his promise as a player. Lets see how he fares this coming season and I believe if he can play more games and stay fit, Bulls Management might be forced to review their decision.

On the other hand Spies has also overcome adversity and played more games both as a Bulls player and a Springbok. Compared to the 2 Spies is senior and has more kms than Chiliboy. Last rugby is a business as well and I argue his marketability must have played a role.

Lastly I am no Bulls fan, would say I am a rugby fan>>>>>>>

• 36.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i like this :lol:

• 37.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Lead from the front? Spies???

• 38.Izwe Lethu: Reply to this comment

@Tito(Tito)-24:
    They had opportunity to become a brand that appeals to South Africans from all walks of life,a brand that people can identify with.We all know that up North(Gautend North and Limpopo)Rugby is not a prominent sport amongst people of colour,the appointment of Chilli as captain would have done them wonders,the Bulls are a succesfull brand as it is,but this would have put them way above anybody else,they definitely missed an opportunity.

Dont underestimate the effect of “other factors’ when it comes to Rugby,Peter de Villiers was not kidding when he said he had mate the boks a people’s team.His appointment actually garnered the Boks a lot of supporters,especially from people who viewed rugby as a white sport played by pot bellied Afrikaner men.Pdv’s appointment brought a lot of positive things especially off the field,just a pity he could not match on field matters to the off fiield success.

• 39.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Tito(Tito)-35: Plus, Chiliboy is a little too tanned for Loftus, not true?

• 40.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Izwe Lethu(Koos van der merwe)-10: Bullsh*t man. Chilli is unfortunately a walking sick note.
    Had his best season to date but he is an injury magnet…..always has been.
    Having said that I am looking forward to seeing him in action next year if he can continue the form he had this year.

• 41.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-33:

It’s ok.

You were young and easily led.

don’t beat yourself up about it.

what happened in the 90′s stays in the 90′s.

• 42.Gunther: Reply to this comment

lets see chilli spend more time on the pitch than the physio’s bench.

Then we’ll have this chat.

• 43.Tito: Reply to this comment

Pompies 2 I am very reluctant to move in the direction you have taken. But let me state this – marketability of a team such as Bulls should be a consideration for team management when deciding who should lead a team. This is so because when all is said and done money is important. Perhaps it is not the only consideration.

What I would like to hear from you is whether I am completely off the mark when I assert that Spies fits well with the core market of the Bulls Organization. I argue that he is also a senior player that has played more games than Chiliboy. I am not saying Chiliboy is not a contender in fact I say if he remains healthy and accumulates more games he will soon force management to review their decision.

• 44.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Izwe Lethu(Koos van der merwe)-38: Why should the Bulls name a captain for the sake of ‘doing the right thing for the people’ Kak man!! Where does it leave the other unions?
    IMO. Dewald should have cracked the nod ahead of Spies

• 45.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-40: A walking sicknote and a little too dark for the Loftus faithful. Not true?

• 46.vasteses: Reply to this comment

As n Bull ondersteuner voel ek baie ongemaklik hieroor, Spies is n great mens en so, maar sy rugby vorm is nie goed nie. Inteendeel ek sal Arno Botha bo hom kies, maar nou ja op die oopmblik is daar nie veel manne wat kan instaan as kaptein nie. n kaptein moet eers op die veld lei deur voorbeeld voor hy n kaptein kan wees. En om eerlik te wees spies is nie in goeie vorm nie. ek wil nie n doemprofeet wees nie maar dit is nie die regte keuse vir my nie.

• 47.pokkel: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-44:

Is Dewaldt even a definite starter??

He wouldn’t be if I picked the team.

• 48.My nr1 nr2 too: Reply to this comment

so the kakkest forward is captain and the kakkest back vice?

eish…

• 49.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Finfan(Finfan)-45: Nothing to do with the tan bud. Steer clear
    @pokkel(pokkel)-47: Dewald had a kak season, granted but he does show a lot of leadership capabilities which we seriously lacked with Gary Botha this season.

• 50.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Izwe Lethu(Koos van der merwe)-38:you reckon people will like the bulls because a black guy is their captain?

i honestly think you’re over-rating this whole captaincy thing. chiliboy captaining the bulls would mean zilch to people in limpopo. this is the kind of “hot dog & coke” transformation that will not see us get anywhere.

Neil Tovey was chief and bafana captain, you reckon that made SOME white folks who had NO interest in football like kaizer chiefs & bafana bafana?

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.