Spies to lead Bulls

Pierre Spies has been awarded the Bulls captaincy while Wynand Olivier has been named as his deputy.

The Bulls have lost a number of senior players to overseas contracts and retirement. Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha, Gary Botha and Gurthro Steenkamp will continue their careers abroad, while Victor Matfield will hang up his boots after the Barbarians vs Wallabies clash at the end of the month.

Spies was up against Chiliboy Ralepelle for the Bulls captaincy, and the Bulls management felt the Bok No 8 was the right man to succeed Matfield. This despite Ralepelle’s record at age group level (he captained the Baby Boks to a World Championship title in 2005) and the fact that he’s already led the senior Bok team, albeit in two tour matches.

‘It was not such a big surprise though, as I had it in the back of my mind that I could be asked to lead the team when Victor retired,’ Spies said. ‘I was privileged in my career at the Bulls and the Springboks to play with great captains and I could certainly learn a lot from them.

‘I believe a captain should lead from the front and I hope that will be something that I can do successfully. There are huge challenges ahead, but we are all looking forward to that. This group is younger than in previous years, but we have the same goals as those squads and that is to win the competition.’

Meanwhile, Spies’s vice-captain will be sidelined for the next two months. Olivier has undergone a shoulder operation and will only be available to the Bulls in early February.

‘I like that responsibility. Anyone who wants to write off the Bulls because we lost players, do so at their own peril. I think we have a squad that can with the competition again. There are new faces, so there will be a challenge to make sure all share the same vision, but I see no problems in that. We have a great management team and coaching staff and they will get everyone to pull in the same direction.’

419 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 201.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-198: You forgot your caps.

• 202.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-195:

What stereotype is that?

The one were only people from the hood can understand the hood?

The condescending patronising one?

Ja OK.

• 203.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-202: stop palying victm like dawn just because you grew up in a place sans dynamics :D

• 204.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

An economics professor at a local college made a statement that he had never failed a single student before, but had recently failed an entire class. That class had insisted that socialism worked and that no one would be poor and no one would be rich, a great equalizer.

The professor then said, “OK, we will have an experiment in this class on Obama’s plan”.. All grades will be averaged and everyone will receive the same grade so no one will fail and no one will receive an A…. (substituting grades for dollars – something closer to home and more readily understood by all).

After the first test, the grades were averaged and everyone got a B. The students who studied hard were upset and the students who studied little were happy. As the second test rolled around, the students who studied little had studied even less and the ones who studied hard decided they wanted a free ride too so they studied little.

The second test average was a D! No one was happy.
    When the 3rd test rolled around, the average was an F.

As the tests proceeded, the scores never increased as bickering, blame and name-calling all resulted in hard feelings and no one would study for the benefit of anyone else.

To their great surprise, ALL FAILED and the professor told them that socialism would also ultimately fail because when the reward is great, the effort to succeed is great, but when government takes all the reward away, no one will try or want to succeed.

Could not be any simpler than that.

Why is this relevant to South Africa?? This is why:

1. You cannot legislate the poor into prosperity by legislating the wealthy out of prosperity.

2. What one person receives without working for, another person must work for without receiving.

3. The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else.

4. You cannot multiply wealth by dividing it!

5. When half of the people get the idea that they do not have to work because the other half is going to take care of them, and when the other half gets the idea that it does no good to work because somebody else is going to get what they work for, that is the beginning of the end of any nation.

Bazinga! ;) (if you don’t get it you never will…)

• 205.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-199: LOL

This is farken amazingly funny!

Made my day I tell you…

Thys Lourens will be turning in his grave!!

• 206.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-201:

fARK SORRY.

• 207.grant10: Reply to this comment

Frik Du Preez must be lekker befok…..a powder puff 8 man captaining the Bulle

and a tomotei kid vice…

ag no man…..

where is Tacitus?

Taci….my liewd dorner….wat gaan aan daar in bloubul land?

• 208.grant10: Reply to this comment

From Mastfield to Turbo spies

vokkitt…

This made my day

Havent laughed so much in a while

cheers all

• 209.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-204:

eish.

strange dynamic.

• 210.grant10: Reply to this comment

bakkies must be distraught!

Farkit this is ilarious

• 211.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-207: Ooohhhhhhh Frik in his old age vs UnHulk… My money is on Frik in the tackle!

• 212.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-210: I’m laughing so hard my bronchitis has taken on a life of its own.

• 213.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-204: the inverse works very well when you’ve got an abundant supply of cheap labour to exploit, innit :D

• 214.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-213: Explain?

• 215.willievz: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-204: Hehe, good one ;)

However, social democracy as a politico-economic system appears to be the right model for many countries, such as Scandinavian countries.

There is no one-size-fits-all wonder policy to fuel economic development. And in this regard, SA is as unique a conundrum as you can get.

IMHO, the two biggest impediments to economic development in Africa are (i) geography and (ii) ethnolinguistic fractionalization. In that order.

• 216.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Thats a good post even i understood it :lol:

• 217.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-215: Sure, all the problems can hardly be solved or pinned on soething that simplistically, but as a socially minded capitalist, I can relate to much of what that post is saying.

• 218.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-215: hhmm, you clearly don’t get the privileged saffa “dynamic” :D

• 219.Transformation: Reply to this comment

gym calls (NO PETER DAVIES).

later

• 220.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Someone had to pay for the Bulls’ failures to reach the Semis of both Super 15 and the CC competitions in 2011
    And that despite all the help in the world from the likes of Honest Jonker, honourable Pro Legota and His Masters Voice Joubert!
    Talking poor Bryce Lawrence’s swindles ;)
    Taking the 2010 season with Gary Botha at the helm as the yardstick, it’s clearly a case where the Bulls couldn’t afford similar revenue losses in 2012 despite the inevitable ensuing rethorics onslaught from the ‘underprivileged’
    Truth hurts ;)

• 221.Mephistopheles: Reply to this comment

When wp resigned habana for 3 years and let jj engelbrecht and johan sadie go i thought that was the off-season joke. Bulls, you’ve trumped wp. Pierre Spies being names captain is the rugby joke of the year.

• 222.willievz: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-217: It’s all about incentives, and having institutions and mechanisms in place which can facilitate that.

But I also get what you say.

People and countries differ – eg. SA and Norway is different, just like WP and Bulls supporters are different ;)

• 223.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-220: ***** off you wannabe ectoplasm

• 224.Horings: Reply to this comment

What I do not understand is rugby supporters talking about captaincy. I thought Fourie du Preez would be a brilliant captain. He had the rugby brain of a Naas Botha. But he was not.

We as supporters can debate player form and quality as their performance is visible to all of us. To pick a captain you need to know him personally and you need to have worked with him.

Now who of you had a conversation with Spies nevermind know him on the required level. I’ll tell you what. I will rather take Heyneke’s word for it, than one of the idiots on this site.

• 225.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Horings(Horings)-224: Fourie was a strategist and executioner. He himself was a reluctant captain.

Spies is no Smittie on the field.

• 226.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Horings(Horings)-224: He had a potentially good captain in Chil and he goes and picks Spies. A brainfart.

• 227.wpforever: Reply to this comment

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahha
    made my day :)

• 228.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-204: The analogy about the class can be done differently. If the objective is for the class to succeed to demonstrate the value of team work then we will be averaging out individual performances. It is however essential that every part of the class is given different parts to deliver and excel at. Our society is made up of many units with each unit requiring to deliver a part of the whole. This requires systems and therefore social contracts. Your assumptions is that only one homogenous output will be delivered. If you read Eliyahu Goldratts theory of constraints you will understand the nature of systems and how effective systems require some parts remain on standby longer than others or to put it differently, they need to operate at different levels of efficiency.

A fish is not good a climbing a tree so don’t measure his worth on his ability to climb a tree.

Now with regard to the failure of capitalism… look at the poverty around you. Capitalism was suupposed to lift all out of poverty. The crisis on the financial markets is a failure of capitalism because it promotes efficiencies where non is required. The system of money creation and control has been found to be fundamentally flawed. Ask Alan Greenspan. He admits to getting it wrong. Buffet, Soros and even Gates are promoting socialist solutions (Altruism and higher taxes for the rich)

I however believe we are all wrong about economic solutions when we look to higher taxation to sort out the financial crisis. Taxation is monetary tool in a Fiat currency regime where money supply is unlimited. Taxes merely drain excess cash from the economy. It does however provide opportunities to remove hoarded cash from the economy through progressive taxation. Hoarded cash reduces the velocity of money and is growth negative.

There endeth the lesson

• 229.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-228: The analogy works perfectly because the class is a homogenous group. It’s Economics. All write the same exam paper and are expected to attain the same degree of expertise.

I understand what you mean when you talk about each componant needing to deliver a different output.

Just like in the USSR when a doctor was considered as valuable to the nation as a steel worker. And we all know how that worked out.

Now I’m not condoning every aspect of capitalism, but what I am saying is that it’s miles better than socialism.

As for the money supply and Fiat currency argument, I am very familiar with that, but I am not referring as much to that as the government’s behaviour within the current structure where socialism attempts to promote the oen for all and all for one concept as workable or realistic.

Look at Greece, Look at Italy. Countries who have put themselves into huge amount of debt attempting to prop up govenment spending on people who do not produce (as a ountry) nearly enough to justify that amount of spending, but are promised it by socialist governments who wish to indulge the masses and get themselves re-elected.

• 230.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

170-Tacitus

Potgieter has long been touted as a future leader & star and seems to be a big personality as well.Unlike Rossouw who was a team dynamic guy,never really touted for greater things.Plus the fact that he played in a team where those ahead of him were once in a generation type players,plus he is a better player in squad dynamic that Dewalt.

Plus Rossouw didn’t have to contend with a young loose fqd contigent consisting of Botha,Stander,Potgieter,Stegman,Ross.Add that Spies is playing his preferred(Potgieter) as captain.Rossouw was a international class 4/6. Dewalt Potgieter isn’t a real international class loosie in view of his competition in SA. Plus this Bulls team isn’t the all dominant Bulls of yesyeryear where playing for them almost garaunteed national selection-ala Rossouw. Potgieter’s hybrid loosie role the likes of Kolisi,Carr-better athletes in that role. Likes of Vermuelen,Alberts,Strauss better in the 7/8 role.

He is in Pedrie Wannenburg’s shoes right now a couple years ago.

Jacques Potgieter is a better more robust version of Dewalt Potgieter.

• 231.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

A captain is an extension of his coach first, and a respected individual amongst his team mates second.

I will reserve judgement. on Pierre.

Hell if Schalk can surprise me then who knows!

On another note, my copy of Vic’s book arrived today – will get into that soon.

• 232.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-191:
    i always saw him as more hypnotist than magician…but hey…potatoe, patato…

• 233.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-228: @stormersboy(stormersboy)-229: Both you fools forget about capture and special interests… The farken cancer at the root of failure for Communism and Capitalism…

Capitalism as it exists now is as broken as Communism before the fall of the Berlin Wall – markets are not free… They are beholden to Speculation, Hot Money or Casino banking…

No amount of theory of constraints bulldust, flat currency fairytales and another 10 economists to change a lightbulb can solve this one…

Maybe Marx is right after all – maybe everyone has been coerced and dehumanised by commodity fetishism. Maybe not capitalistic vampires sucking the blood out of workers but the banking vampire squids sucking the life out of economies.

He is definitely right about severe crises punctuating cycles of growth, collapse, and more growth…

I hate commies. They farked in the head. But capitalism as we know it now is going to fark up the world, not just an “eastern bloc” as Communism did.

• 234.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-231:

wow! my mind is boggled…how on earth has schalk ‘surprised’ you?…wow…

on the other note, that is a book i’m actually eager to read.

• 235.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-234:

His game actually improved – still makes too many emotional decisions as captain but that can improve with time.

• 236.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-229: Firstly, With regard to Greece and Italy, if you understand the money creation mechanism then you would understand that the debt either unnecessary or fake. The ECB is buying up Greek and Italian debt with money created out of this air and in that respect it proves that it could have funded these government directly. It will not tell the world what it intends to do with the Gilts that it bought but if it burnt the bond certificates it will merely be returning the money to source (Thin air)

The South African government has called the bluff of bankers by taking money directly from the central bank albeit as a loan and found no bogeys. The trick of money management is to use taxation as your primary controller rather than interest rates which has been found to be useless. Money can then be created to spend the economy into full employment. Inflation should only occur after full employment. Please dont refer to Zimbabwe. The created money without using taxation to drain the excess but were still able to pay their debts to the amazement of all. It seemingly also has a better growth rate than SA at the moment albiet from a smaller base.

The world still assumes a limited supply of money as is the case when we had the Gold Standard. The economic arguments changes completely when money supply is unlimited.

BTW.. USSR was centrally governed as is China. The both claimed to be communist. China is being asked to assist Europe.. Cuba exports doctors to the world and has one of the best health services.

• 237.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-235:
    whether he bashes or thinks up chess board loose play moves, schalk the player is/was never really in question. however, it is schalk the captain, both at the stormers and quite possibly with the boks that is the subject of honest observations…and to be honest the observable ‘surprises’ have not been kind.

• 238.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-233: Welcome to this side of the argument ;-) . I take it that you will not be voting Tory in the next election. I told you they were twats but the answer lies in the Money creation mechanism and the associated accounting. Quantitative Easing (QE) money is government revenue no matter how they try to spin it and we, in the UK, are sitting with a huge surplus if you write off the £275bln created for QE. The government owns the Bank of England and can therefore not be in debt to it like they are trying to spin it to sell austerity

• 239.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-236: “The ECB is buying up Greek and Italian debt”. They are? Thats news to me…

“China is being asked to assist Europe…” – yes they have been approached… But why would this happen if the ECB could “create money out of this air” anyway? Sort or puts a spanner in the works of your little digression, ne?

• 240.au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir...: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-235:
    this is of course notwithstanding that ridiculous inverse turbo reverse thing he does when goes into traffic backwards, honestly, wtf is up with that.

• 241.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-237:

Well he has been one of the more successful captains in SA Rugby in the last 2 years?

• 242.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-238: The Tories are the best out of a very bad bunch chap. Labour don’t know what the fck is cutting – never have. They were captured and fcked by bankers, Qaddafi and anybody that flashed a bit of cash. They don’t know whether they are arthur or martha now. Totally discredited.

• 243.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-239: The ECB is supposedly buying up debt on the secondary market and therefore not directly because this will break the bond market and Fractional reserve banking.

The ECB wanted China to borrow money from it while putting up China’s USD reserves as collateral ( they have $3trillion). They then wanted China to fund the EFSF with the borrowed Euros which it (EFSF) would in turn lend to governments. This was to fool us into believeing that the money was not coming from the ECB and therefore avoid disturbance with the bond market. China told them to Fkoff. They are now forced to consider the final solution of funding government directly and destroying the bond market. This will have a huge impact on The City (London). The end of banking as we know it hence the panic

• 244.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-242: While I accept that Labour does not completely understand the money creation mechanism, the Tories are plain evil and will drive the country in to the ground out of malice in the believe that the rich will survice armegeddon.

The economy data of today says that this group of Tories are the worst in history and will probably never see power for the next two generations if an election is held tomorrow. They never won the last election even when Labour was at its weakest. They had to call in their sleepers at the Libdems to gain power. That call however caused the Libdems to face oblivion. They are as good as dead and labour only needs to sit back and watch them burn until the next election

• 245.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-243: The simple long and short of it all is that Sovereign debt derivatives and CDS trading are a big factor in this “debt crisis”. The Vampire Squids have moved from the houses to countries now…

ECB buys – they keep selling short… Until something gives

And they bank on the fact that they are “too big too fail” if they land up on the wrong side of these bets…

This is Das Kapital which is in the process of fcking up the world as we know it… Get your survival rations… Buy your crossbow… I have my eye on hunting the deer and squirrels in Richmond park when the blackout comes.

Energy will be next…along with Gold…

• 246.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-233: This fool hasn’t forgotten about any of that.

Go back to my original post. I’m espousing the virtues of a meritocracy over government interfereing to the extent that it drags everyone down to the lowest common denominator.

I’m not getting into a discussion on the merits of the perfect economic system. I’m criticising the damage done by rampant socialism as a breeding ground for mediocrity and entitlement. Then I’m extrapolating this analogy to illustrate some (not all) of the realities of South Africa and the mindset of some (again not all) of the people who blog here.

I will leave the philosophising and theoreticising on the best economic system to be used to replace the currently collapsing and imploding systems around the world to others. I suspect that when this really does happen (WTSHTF) as survivalists call it, that we will not be dealing with some new economic system but rather the re-emergance of a version of a very old one.

it’s called the “If you can take it and keep it it’s yours” system.

We already see that playing out in societies and countries around the world where the existing structures have broken down and the paradigms by which we exist cease to be relevant.

i don’t care who is buying Greek and Italian paper (Sovereign debt to the uninformed). What matters more is that they have been / are issuing it in an attempt to support their spending programs. Now you have rioting in the streets because people are accustomed to getting what they don’t really earn and are unwilling to take the pain associated with the auterity measures required to pull themselves back from the brink.

What it means in practical terms to me is that i’m closer to getting my tuscan villa at a record low price.

That’s where the meritocracy comes in. I saved/invested/created wealth while they spent. That makes me better positioned than them given the current circumstances.

Until they nationalise all foreign owned property of course :)

Then I’m as “fARK SORRY CAPS” -ed as the rest of them.

None of this is of course new to you. You are just being argumentative as usual ;) , which is perfectly fine by me.

• 247.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-245: The currency of the future will be drinkable water. WTSHTF and industry breaks down so will the systems used to process our most valuable commodity.

Welcome to the thunderdome…. ;)

• 248.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-245: Marx was spot on the demise or the tilting point for Capitalism. I do however believe that he did attempt to offer solutions which may not have been complete.

• 249.rangerman: Reply to this comment

very interesting.

thats why i train during the week and am in the water honing my hunting skills before 5am sat and sundays.

there will be fish for you guys dont worry.

grant10 and his tubfriend can go eat veggies with skop.

• 250.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-246: Deficit spending is growth positive and need not be funded with debt as I have explained.

I have already explained why not to use the Zim example if you are going there.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.