Spies to lead Bulls
16 Nov 2011
Pierre Spies has been awarded the Bulls captaincy while Wynand Olivier has been named as his deputy.
The Bulls have lost a number of senior players to overseas contracts and retirement. Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha, Gary Botha and Gurthro Steenkamp will continue their careers abroad, while Victor Matfield will hang up his boots after the Barbarians vs Wallabies clash at the end of the month.
Spies was up against Chiliboy Ralepelle for the Bulls captaincy, and the Bulls management felt the Bok No 8 was the right man to succeed Matfield. This despite Ralepelle’s record at age group level (he captained the Baby Boks to a World Championship title in 2005) and the fact that he’s already led the senior Bok team, albeit in two tour matches.
‘It was not such a big surprise though, as I had it in the back of my mind that I could be asked to lead the team when Victor retired,’ Spies said. ‘I was privileged in my career at the Bulls and the Springboks to play with great captains and I could certainly learn a lot from them.
‘I believe a captain should lead from the front and I hope that will be something that I can do successfully. There are huge challenges ahead, but we are all looking forward to that. This group is younger than in previous years, but we have the same goals as those squads and that is to win the competition.’
Meanwhile, Spies’s vice-captain will be sidelined for the next two months. Olivier has undergone a shoulder operation and will only be available to the Bulls in early February.
‘I like that responsibility. Anyone who wants to write off the Bulls because we lost players, do so at their own peril. I think we have a squad that can with the competition again. There are new faces, so there will be a challenge to make sure all share the same vision, but I see no problems in that. We have a great management team and coaching staff and they will get everyone to pull in the same direction.’

419 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All
16 Nov 2011, 23:30 pm
@JL1(JL1)-350: Ja, before you now it he’ll be quoting Joan Baez and crying into his organic maize beer. Again.
16 Nov 2011, 23:31 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-351: Hold on I am a young one. Let me google Joan Baez first
16 Nov 2011, 23:33 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-351: Jiskaaik, Aunty Joan has been singing for a long time
16 Nov 2011, 23:36 pm
@JL1(JL1)-353: She and Bob were doing their thing back when Skoppie was a little boy. I’m not sure, but I think that was before the telephone and Penicillin.
16 Nov 2011, 23:39 pm
@willievz(willievz)-334: Yes Willie, ceteris paribus and all that…Said like a real Keynesian… Hindsight being the best skill of all economists… Especially the fools who all claim that they predicted the “crash”, “bubble”, “crisis” all after the fact…
But there is a problem with debt “cancelling out” which is obviously the logical theoretical start point… i.e. Value of said debt at a point in time as perceived by ratings agencies and markets… This “value” of debt is opaque at best and the theoretical “see-saw” is never really level, thus opportunity for speculation and arbitrage (simply put) arises…
However we have reached the point where speculation and arbitrage moves the bloody “see-saw” until said “see-saw” breaks.
16 Nov 2011, 23:40 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-354: Before we ate meat, I am sure
But she can talk k ak on the beat of music, I have to say
16 Nov 2011, 23:42 pm
you one fat pseudo katmankamt
You need to see yourself for who you are you ignorant idiot
16 Nov 2011, 23:42 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-355: Hey, don’t dis,Willie
I am definitely for debt cancellation, come Mital take my debt, or don’t I qualify?
16 Nov 2011, 23:45 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-357: Have met Katman that you call him a fatman?
So Martin Johnson is Casey Jones…….gone, told you so years ago, big rugby palooka, what you say now?
16 Nov 2011, 23:45 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-345: Fark, when the lights go out post apocalypse and the vampire squid have fcked up the world well and truly I will not only have speargun, shotgun, RPGs and M16s stashed, I will make sure I have good stockpile of dynamite… Apparently fishing with dynamite is easy peasy… Stuff the hit and miss of underwater spearguns…
My speargun will be used sparingly as a consequence….
16 Nov 2011, 23:47 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-357: See, what does that even mean? And don’t explain your mumbo jumbo with a different phrase of mumbo jumbo. Speak clearly without ambiguity. You sound like Ginsberg after hitting the bong.
16 Nov 2011, 23:49 pm
@JL1(JL1)-358: Relax, man. I’m giving the Master a little rev… Coach Willie might come out and hit me with an Input/Output bomb now or maybe even a SAM missile…
(SAM being a social accounting matrix)
16 Nov 2011, 23:51 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-357: And you are one fat pseudo vegetarian guaranfarkenteed….
I bet you sneak and snaffle a good bag of biltong every week on the quiet, hey?
16 Nov 2011, 23:53 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-363: Bwhaaaa, almost blew have eaten Haribos all over the screen
16 Nov 2011, 23:54 pm
stupid imbecile little punknosed kiddywinkie thinking he’s somebody wizened up.. the poor little fucknosed ignoramus don’t realize what a punkeyed little peanut brained runtcunt fckup of an idiot he actually is..
16 Nov 2011, 23:55 pm
@JL1(JL1)-364: One big fckadilly bomb coming soon… With a barney fatboy detonator thrown in for good measure
16 Nov 2011, 23:56 pm
same goes for this pseudo mumbo jabbawokkie janitor *** ignoramus self styled economist fundi Herr Gwatto
16 Nov 2011, 23:57 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-355: I was referring to debt on a global or aggregate level. Net global debt is zero.
Obviously, when you break down the globe into individual countries and / or regions, and consider the debt structure within or between countries and / or regions, you need to take into account the debt stock level(or how much debt is outstanding at a point in time) and the debt flow level (how the debt level changes over time).
16 Nov 2011, 23:59 pm
Martin Johnson was too straight up honest for those toffee nosed old **** pommie wacked out schmucks at the RFU
As for this latest Heyneke ******** on Spies biggest fckup punkass move anyone could possibly make.. Bulls still got some way to go to get their heads out their collective arses..
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-367: I have too say imagining you chowing down on a bag of biltong on the sly does seem like a funny scene
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-367: everything’s farken “pseudo” for you, ne?
And there I was thinking the only runtcunt in this joint was your “coollycreeper” buddy, ET…. Now Katman too?
17 Nov 2011, 00:00 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-365: This one says even less than the previous post. Your ramblings are empty, vacuous, meaningless twaddle. You love telling people what they don’t know without actually saying what that is. Because you havent a cooking clue. Stop with this inane soundbyte driven rubbish and post something that actually contains a grain of substance. For once. Pretty please.
17 Nov 2011, 00:01 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-369: Hey we made Schalla Cappie, nt much better than making Spies the leader
Martin Johnson was not too honest, bullsht, he was a useless coach, who selected old buddies of his
17 Nov 2011, 00:02 am
talking gobbledygook world war III Armageddon blues on a rugby blog.. that sure is likely to straighten things up at the IMF absolutely most definitely…
17 Nov 2011, 00:04 am
@JL1(JL1)-373: True, plus he never really had the players or established key combinations.
Trying a Wilkinson / Flood axis at 10/12 for the first time in a WC QF is a case in point
17 Nov 2011, 00:05 am
pretty please up your pseudo runtcunt backside… you wanna know whats cooking then ask the right questions to the right people .. stop thinking you so fckng clever when fact of the absolute matter is you are absolutely not
17 Nov 2011, 00:06 am
@willievz(willievz)-368: Stocks and flows hey Willie…
Sounds like a good systems dynamics point of view…
17 Nov 2011, 00:08 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-376: And you, my friend, are one naked little fat emperor. All your colourful razzle dazzle gobbledegook is just bluster. Say something real. I dare you.
17 Nov 2011, 00:10 am
@willievz(willievz)-334: Willie, Like I have said previously, you have to understand the money creation mechanism and the associated accounting. The greatest economist in the world including Christine Lagarde does understand it but here is a free book that makes sense of it all.
http://moslereconomics.com/wp-content/powerpoints/7DIF.pdf
We have to understand that money is created debt free but is fraudulantly leveraged at the central bank to prevent it from being capitalised.An increase in shareholder value feeds to through to government revenue and automatically nullify debt. This very cunning and fraudulant accounting fudge is intended to take the money management function and associated power away from the government and place it in the hands of banks who have their own political agendas
I think you have got teh value of financial sector debt wrong for the US. In the UK, financial sector debt is 450% of GDP where as household debt is about 150% and government debt is about 70%. This makes government debt relatively low. The debt of Barclays alone is about 100% of GDP. You also indicate that the sum of all debt should equal to zero. I have a problem with this theory unless yu assume that Financial sector debt includes the negative debt of the central bank. The balance sheet of the Bank of England currently refelcts that it is too in debt which cannot be true.
I have tried to to simplify the argument because complexity is the bankers way of b ullshitting. Warren Mosler’s book remains unchallenged and the panel that is reforming the Fed in the USA now include protaganist of Moslers view.
17 Nov 2011, 00:11 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-379: small but critical error:
..The greatest economist in the world including Christine Lagarde does NOT understand it but here is a free book that makes sense of it all.
17 Nov 2011, 00:13 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-379: Sheezus cuzzie… You talking big words for a brick counter now
17 Nov 2011, 00:13 am
Spies and Burger the 2 densest decisions for captaincy made by anyone professing to be rugby thinkers… thats exactly how dense SA rugby brains are…
Perhaps Johnson was out of his depth.. no more so than White who needed Jones to save him from getting whirled down his own black hole plughole..
17 Nov 2011, 00:15 am
pseudo runtcunts like you don’t want anything real.. the more pseudo the better for you cleverdick clever arsed little nincompoops that know so much about absolutely fckall…
17 Nov 2011, 00:17 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-383: Thought so.
17 Nov 2011, 00:18 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-379: Hellsteeth bru… I reckon you are being conned if you think this chap is the “greatest economist”…
Yeah, him Father Christmas and the tooth fairy…
17 Nov 2011, 00:19 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-381: Its all quantitative
17 Nov 2011, 00:20 am
@willievz(willievz)-375: He had 4 years to play the combos
No strategy
His locks could have been world class by now, 5 scrumhalves used, and those pathetic centr combos
17 Nov 2011, 00:21 am
yeah you thought wrong you little pseudo know-it-all.. you thought absolutely wrong .. same as little cleverdick pseudo punkeyed imbeciles like you always do…
17 Nov 2011, 00:22 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-382: Johnson was out of his depth but Jake won a RWC, a RWC yes say it again Jake the Snake won a RWC
17 Nov 2011, 00:22 am
Nope White won that thing, hands down, that team were ultra-prepared and the selections were spot on.
17 Nov 2011, 00:23 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-385: I have tested his arguments on the CiF. It remains unchallenged… but you have managed to dismissed it before reading it.. Not good for a clever oke
17 Nov 2011, 00:25 am
White got gifted a WC he fluked it on the round the rosemary bush carousel … didn’t play one team above rank 6 which was Argentina.. the rest were nobodies including played out defragmentalized England… White met nobody on the way to a gimme RWC and even then without EJ he would have failed..
17 Nov 2011, 00:29 am
England beat Australia and France, SA did very well to beat them and everyone else they played. EJ came along for a ride, that cup was pretty much their for the taking, this time round should have been the same, except for one selection.
Ideal coach would be a hybrid of White and PdV. The analysis, astuteness and professional conditioninging of White combined with the less conservative more-fluid and nicer character that PdV was.
17 Nov 2011, 00:29 am
Night all… Power to the people. Down with greed
17 Nov 2011, 00:30 am
the secret when dealing with Skop
is to keep him away from the dop
because after one spritzer
he skeems he’s Pulitzer
meanwhile he’s gefok in die kop
17 Nov 2011, 00:32 am
@cab(cab)-390: Yes, hands down, well prepared, good selections, and good vibe team
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-392: And your many Martin played all these teams and could do nothing …. No Skoppie, no matter what you say, White did OK, and it seems he got your wife as well
17 Nov 2011, 00:33 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-391: This Mosler obviously makes for some good reading, much like Nicholas Taleb and his Black Swans, and I will have a read in some spare time, thanks… But he is not the “greatest economist” living on this farked up planet of ours… Other than that I was pulling your leg…
Clever oke… me? Never. Ask skopshyte – I am nothing but a pseudo mumbojumbo armageddon word war 3 fckadilly
17 Nov 2011, 00:33 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-394:
hey shaun, i see old mossler reckons he is “a financier with a true committment to the public good”, fkn hell hey this is a rare specimen indeed, defintiely the first time i ever seen that.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-395:
LOL – that is very amusing.
17 Nov 2011, 00:35 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-379: We can argue on the data but I used this link: https://www.federalreserve.gov/datadownload/Download.aspx?rel=Z1&series=654245a7abac051cc4a9060c911e1fa4&filetype=csv&label=include&layout=seriescolumn&from=01/01/1945&to=12/31/2010
This report states, among other stats, that in 1946, the US financial sector owed $3 billion of debt, or 1.35% of GDP. By 2009 this had increased to $15.6 trillion, or 109.5% of GDP
I suspect the financial sector debt data figures I referred to exclude pension debts, and the figure you have for the UK financial sector might – either this, or you are confusing financial debt with total debt total debt – see http://www.gfmag.com/tools/global-database/economic-data/10403-total-debt-to-gdp.html#axzz1duVbavnn.
Here UK total debt is approximately at the level you described.
It is also worth noting that, in general, official debt numbers exclude the net present value of unfunded public sector pension commitments and obligations under PFI contracts.
17 Nov 2011, 00:36 am
@willievz(willievz)-399: sorry, should read “Here UK total debt is approximately at the level you described of 450″
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All