Mallett rules out England job
17 Nov 2011
Nick Mallett says he will not apply for the vacant England head coach post following the resignation of Martin Johnson.
Media reports believed former Springbok and Italy coach Mallett was one of the favourites to replace Johnson after the latter announced stepping down on Wednesday. However, in a statement released on Wednesday night, Mallett said he will not put his name forward.
‘The RFU contacted me earlier this week to enquire about my availability for the position, should Martin Johnson resign. I had previously expressed my interest in the position publicly and was interested to hear what RFU representatives had to say,’ said Mallett.
‘After mulling it over for a few days and discussing the opportunity with close friends and family, I have decided that I will not be making myself available for the position and I have disclosed this to the RFU.’
Mallett listed family reasons for not making himself available.
‘I am happy to have returned home to South Africa after a tremendous four-year term with the Italian national team. We are settled in Cape Town and it is my wish to be able to enjoy time with my wife and kids after four years in Italy.
‘The job of England coach is one of the most prestigious in world rugby and I wish them all the best in their quest for the best possible man for the job.’
Meanwhile, former Wallabies coach Eddie Jones, who is currently based at Japanese club Suntory, confirmed his interest in succeeding Johnson.
‘You’d always be interested in coaching England,’ Jones told BBC Radio. ‘It has got a fantastic domestic competition, very, very good players and you have just got to get the right program in place and they should be good enough to win the next World Cup.’

125 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
17 Nov 2011, 06:49 am
Hmm… The plot thickens – I expect to hear White’s name soon.
17 Nov 2011, 07:04 am
Heard SARU is gonna by-pass advertising the coaching position and approach Rassie and Alister directly… So maybe Mallet can coach Stormers/WP…?
17 Nov 2011, 07:08 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-1: Mallet has been approached a few times for the England job and has always said that a rugby manager should report to a management board and not a Director of rugby (Rob Andrew) who may be less experienced then the manager (Him). If the RFU do the right thing and get rid of Rob Andrew, things could change considerably.
17 Nov 2011, 07:11 am
please god, let rassie and alister stay at the wp.
17 Nov 2011, 07:17 am
please.
17 Nov 2011, 07:17 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-3:
Yes I remember the same thing – Mallet does not like to report to a boss it seems – wants to be top rugby dog and report to board only.
17 Nov 2011, 07:19 am
Would love for Mallet to come in as DOR at the Lions. Maybe de Klerk can get the new investors to make him an offer he cannot resist.
17 Nov 2011, 07:20 am
Eddie Jones maybe the right man for the job – jake will not be far behind him… With good structures in place England could become the powerhouse they were in 2003 …… Got to agree with PA , White has certainly been interested in the job before and i am sure he still is ( much easier to coach England were he can concentrate on rugby not politics)
17 Nov 2011, 07:22 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-4:
The only guy to publicly state he wants the Bok job is Gary Gold
17 Nov 2011, 07:23 am
Mallet should be bok DOR. The boks can’t afford Rassie and AC at the helm, that’ll be scary.
17 Nov 2011, 07:23 am
But hang on… Mallet is already in CPT… SA Rugby claims to have turned a new leaf now wanting the best at all costs… Hmmm…
17 Nov 2011, 07:24 am
Someone’s aiming for higher honours in South Africa…
17 Nov 2011, 07:28 am
England would not lose much going with Eddie jones. Jake white needs time at the brumbies to pull them together and put a stamp on his playing style for four years. Let’s how he goes, he hasn’t had a job in a while.
17 Nov 2011, 07:29 am
Would be awesome to see a real rugby man Mallet back in charge of the boks – but i dont think many will except the poison chalice twice ????
17 Nov 2011, 07:33 am
Jake White is still the best option for SA rugby – to this day he is the only one to take a disaster of a side to WC victory and restore pride in the jersey – it will never happen though , still far to much political involvement in SA rugby.
Will be Alistar Cotzee , color is still an issue in SA
17 Nov 2011, 07:38 am
Stew: matfield is convinced that Jake at the time and now is not greatest coach SA has available. Jake needs to build a dynasty at the brumbies to prove himself.
17 Nov 2011, 07:38 am
Morning all
To me it looks like there are two scenarios.
Either Mallet will coach the Boks, or Coetzee. If it is Coetzee then i think Mallet will coach WP/Stormers.
17 Nov 2011, 07:41 am
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-16: When has Victor Matfield become they oracle of rugby ??? Lets see him coach then he can chat. …. After all he rated Pdivvy , need i say more ?
17 Nov 2011, 07:43 am
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-16: I also think you would have to be very nieve to not believe that the Boks would have been unstoppable if Jake had been given another 4 years after winning the Webb Ellis.
17 Nov 2011, 07:45 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-9:
i know it sounds a bit precious and drama queenish (ala grant) but if rassie and alister get the job it will trully, trully destroy me.
this is my tipping point.
a litle part of me will die inside.
i will choose not to support the boks anymore and i will write to saru explaing my reasons why and lay the blood at their door.
gold, like divvy, will never get the job so we can breath easy wrt any pronouncements they care to make.
rassie and alister on the othe hand i would not trust, i would not trust them like i woud not trust a nigerian prince who i met on the internet trying to give me his family fortune…for a small price.
order of preference:
h m
mallet
woodward/mitchell (in any order)
17 Nov 2011, 07:46 am
I don’t think Mallet should be the DOR any time any where…
he should just coach…
when he was the DOR at WP it was a complete stuff up… IMO…
Seems he only wants to report to a Board and doesn’t want to be told what to do because of his moerse big ego… and because he is exactly the sort of person he does not want to report to… so why should his ego and meddling be inflicted upon any other coach…
Seems to me Mallet wants the his cake and to eat the other guy’s as well…
Can you imagine him being DOR over John Mitchell… there’d be blood at Ellis Park… and not from the Lion’s feeding on lesser teams…
Mallet must just coach… That’s what he’s good at… That’s his ceiling…
17 Nov 2011, 07:46 am
@ufo(ufo)-2: that would at least save the Stormers / WP…..but fark up Bok rugby 6 love.
The other way around far better from a national perspective.
17 Nov 2011, 07:48 am
@stew(stew)-15: farkoff with your snake man
17 Nov 2011, 07:48 am
@stew(stew)-18: He rated PDv as a man manager, they all liked him. However, he felt that Jake was not in the same league as heyneke Meyer. I think victor is well positioned to make an informed opinion on the matter. With the assistance of Eddie jones in the 07 wc it’s important that Jake provides his own voice on proceedings at the brumbies.
17 Nov 2011, 07:50 am
I never rated Matfield as an above average player. He was good, no brilliant at lineouts, but thats it.
If you analyse Matfield and you remove the linouts from his game, then you will see that he is an average player. He will only commit to a situation in a game only as an last resort if no else is there. AKA Spies!
Matfield only got away with this type of play because Bakkies (The Enforcer )played alongside him throughout his main carreer, and made up for what he lacked.
17 Nov 2011, 07:50 am
@stew(stew)-19: that’s an absurd position, the boks weren’t dominant in the four years leading up to the world cup in 07, what would’ve made them the number 1 team in the world after?
17 Nov 2011, 07:52 am
Interesting
So it is now between Mallet and the Stormers duo of Tweedledee and Tweedledumb. Dee is Rassie of courses. So let’s hope it is Mallet.
17 Nov 2011, 07:54 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-20: stop using my nams in vain you plonker.
I agree with you though.
Rassie and AC will kill our rugby.
Heyneke has dissapointed me big time with Spies and Timotei though…..absurd….
Mitchell or Mallet for me….without any doubt.
Jake can go fark himself…
@Chris4Lions(Chris4Lions)-25: That’s a very interesting point and number of my friends have mentioned this notion to me.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-26: In the last 8 years of rugby , from an outsiders view the most , the Boks played their best rugby in 2007 – their pool game in 2007 against England was perfect – i have never seen such a complete performance form a Springbok team.
17 Nov 2011, 07:57 am
@stew(stew)-30: Exciting………your point being?
17 Nov 2011, 07:57 am
@ufo(ufo)-21: I tend to agree….Mallet should be a HC doing what he does best……
Does not strike me as a Boardroom Warrior…..
Boks need an experienced, no nonsense hands on coach……who wont tolerate prima donnas and will crack the whip.
Mallet is that man…..
Or Mitchell….
17 Nov 2011, 07:58 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-11:
I was wondering about that as well. He wants to stay in SA, which reduces his options if he intends to continue coaching. Of course he could have been offered a position with SAIL.
17 Nov 2011, 07:59 am
@stew(stew)-30:
I agree totally about the first England RWC game.
17 Nov 2011, 08:00 am
@stew(stew)-30: Jake is a snake oil salesman….a sconniving, 2 faced, vindictive rat…..
Last thing we need
Let him ply his trade there in Aussie.
Lest you forget ….no fetchers….49 nil and a record saved only by Eddie Jones and a fortunate 2007 wc route
17 Nov 2011, 08:01 am
@stew(stew)-30: You’ve not explained how the boks would have dominated post 07 with Jake at the helm, when they didn’t dominate with him from 2004 – 2007 until they won the wc.
17 Nov 2011, 08:01 am
The only real choice for the Boks coaching job of people that is available is Mallet. Coetzee and Rassie can trot along with weepee.
John Mitchel must stay with my beloved Lions for at least another 4 years.
A good outside choice would be Reds coach Ewan Mckenzie, the took the Reds from nada to champs. But then Saru wont look ouside SA for coaches.
17 Nov 2011, 08:02 am
@grant10(grant10)-32:
yeah grant… but what the boks need and what SARU wants are… unfortunately… two completely different things…
SARU definitely will want a yes man… not a maverick who wants everything his own way…
17 Nov 2011, 08:02 am
Mallet
Please my man….
Make my year…..
Take the damn poisoned chalice boet
17 Nov 2011, 08:04 am
@Chris4Lions(Chris4Lions)-37: mc cenzie already said not available….
Mallet
mitchell
rest are trouble….including Heyneke who has revealed his true colors with the Spies and Timotei appointments….
I am still in a state of shock
17 Nov 2011, 08:04 am
@grant10(grant10)-28:
we stand united
and if needs be i too will buy a namibian jersey.
17 Nov 2011, 08:05 am
@ufo(ufo)-38: I am not so sure UFO……seems they committed to the best coach……so lets see.
I dont like the AC/ Rassie option at all…..I see lots of tears if we head down that road
17 Nov 2011, 08:06 am
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-36: In 2004 they won the Tri Nations in how long ??? With the structures in place , team confidence and players reaching their peak , i could not envisage another scenario … however these are what ifs , we will never know !
17 Nov 2011, 08:08 am
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-41: good heavens….thats a first!
17 Nov 2011, 08:10 am
As a blogger mentioned Gary Gold is the only man to put his hand up … FFS have we not had enough of the last clowns who ran the show ? It will be AC and Rassie, get used to it. Mallett and Mitch will not take sh*t from these aholes at SARU
As long as they INVEST in defence coach, fwds coach and Sheryl they will do ok. SA talent is enough to hide the short comings of SARU .
17 Nov 2011, 08:10 am
@stew(stew)-43: you befok in the kop my man…..
off your rocker
a chicken wing short of a braai..Jake will destroy our rugby ….
fark him
6 love 6 love
all over rover
goodnite nurse.
He cant tie Mallet/ Mitchells shoe laces….
17 Nov 2011, 08:11 am
@stew(stew)-43: Hence it being an absurd idea, Henry, smith, and Hansen are still a more formidable coaching unit than Jake, ac, and smal, even after Jake and co won the wc in 07. Jake must prove himself at the brumbies first.
17 Nov 2011, 08:12 am
@bananas(bananas)-45: they appoint Gold, Rassie / AC…..
Then me and that other blogger buying Namibia jerseys
had enough of this kak last 8 years to last me a lifetime
17 Nov 2011, 08:12 am
@grant10(grant10)-46: Just because Plod was his captain !!!!! Dont worry he aint coming back lol
17 Nov 2011, 08:14 am
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-47: Aaah , theres were we differ not everybody in NZ rates Henry & Co – we from the South still are backing Deans for the Ab job !!
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All