Sarries can SA initiative
17 Nov 2011
Saracens will not host their European Cup match against Biarritz in Cape Town because of the conflict between the city council and WP Rugby.
Saracens announced the cancellation of their plans of taking the first European Cup fixture to the southern hemisphere on Thursday. This comes after negotiations between the Watford-based club, City of Cape Town and WP Rugby fell through this week.
The orginal plan was to play the match at Cape Town Stadium in Greenpoint, but as the host union, WP forced their hand and demanded that the match be played at Newlands. Saracens attempted to reason with the two parties but a failure to reach an agreement has seen the English Premiership champions cancel the initiative as they’ll now play the match in London.
‘The innovative Saracens were eager to host the first European Cup match ever played outside Europe, to stage a special, spectacular rugby event and to project brilliant images of Cape Town and European rugby around the world,’ said the club’s statement.
‘However, we have no wish to be a catalyst for conflict between the City of Cape Town and the Western Province Rugby Union. Saracens looks forward to playing a competitive match in Cape Town as soon as local circumstances allow.
‘Supporters who have bought tickets in South Africa will be fully refunded by Computicket, and Saracens will engage with UK-based supporters who have already booked air tickets and accommodation, and ensure they are appropriately compensated.’

301 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All
18 Nov 2011, 11:07 am
@grant10(grant10)-155: Yip great pity that Sarries has pulled out. Thought they would though with WP getting involved where that game should be played.
Would have been great especially in the holiday season. Such a great stadium CT Stadium. Going to waste similar to Moses Mabhida just standing empty. Though we have Virgin Active Classic Gym there with shops around the stadium. Also the vernacular lift that you can take a ride over the top brings in some cash. Beautiful stadium I wish Sharks would move over the road to MB. Doubt it will happen though. I love KP Stadium but it is old and dated now.
18 Nov 2011, 11:07 am
@grant10(grant10)-199:
That’ll teach you to not take a papsak to a tik party…
18 Nov 2011, 11:09 am
@grant10(grant10)-199: hehehe. Feel the same this morning. We had visitors over last night. Hectic……….hehe.
18 Nov 2011, 11:09 am
@Helen(Helen)-200: You will be devasted when I am gone….
No one else to hear the honest and frank truth from….although Skop will keep you informed
18 Nov 2011, 11:10 am
Oh dear balls – I cannot believe what I am reading – Tobie Titus from WP Rugby claims SA Rugby is being unfair only allocating Argentina test to WP – this line, in wake of the Sarries debacle is especially amusing.
Titus: “What about the people in Cape Town and the Western Cape? We have the best attendances at our matches. It’s not just about Western Province, but all the people of the Western Cape.”
18 Nov 2011, 11:11 am
@Helen(Helen)-198:
Aside from the obvious logistic’s issue of shipping team fans into NZ, never mind the cost, why would anyone in NZ pay good money to watch a dull version of a sport we excell at.
A bit like holding a arty film festival in Los Angeles and wondering why it is only running in 2 cinemas
18 Nov 2011, 11:12 am
@Puma(Puma)-201: Yip
I was looking forward to taking the family and mates to the game….would have been an evening kick off and really would have been a brilliant evening…
WP are absolute morons……
I love the team
hate the administartion
amateurs running a big pro outfit….recipe for disaster
18 Nov 2011, 11:13 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-205: Unbelievable. You can’t script cringe comedy like that.
18 Nov 2011, 11:13 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-205: Titus is a rather silly man
18 Nov 2011, 11:15 am
@Brads(Brads)-206: shhh you’ll poke holes in Helens latest “theory” shes lost her voice after claiming NZ would choke at this world cup in EVERY post before the WC, let her have her little moment of “feeling like an adult”..
I mean, the fact the ABs could fill the San Siro while the bokkes couldnt really does hurt these Saffas..
they think they (SA) are the best, when you and I both know they arent…
18 Nov 2011, 11:15 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-196:
Something tells me Granties band of Merry Men will make fantastic brand ambassadors for Bacardi Breezers.
18 Nov 2011, 11:16 am
@Helen(Helen)-198: Doubt it will ever happen Helen. Far to long the travel from Europe and the time zone.
South Africa is perfectly situated for Europe and Britain. Only a 11 hour flight, with a hour behind Britain and two hours behind Europe, with the best weather in the world to boot.
Huge pity the deal with Sarries fell through to play that game at CT Stadium. Holiday season coming up too. Would have attracted many to that game had it been at CT Stadium.
Hey Keo, komaan man….
plueeeeezzzzeeeee take Butch off here! Asseblief!
Enough is enough man!
the guy is getting greyer and greyer since the first day of the pic … or is it just my imagination?
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-192:
yeah… as i said yesterday… seems to me that both parties are posturing from their own very narrow perspectives… neither is thinking about let alone seeing the bigger picture…
the city seems to be wanting to force wp to commit to the new stadium without any real concern for the welfare of wp rugby….
and wp rugby seems to be trying to force the city to accepting a ridiculously bargain-basement deal…
both sides need to grow up and show some maturity and statesmanship…
must say i’m getting mightily pissed off with both parties…
it is absolutely inevitable that a move will happen… so just accept that and negotiate a deal that in mutually beneficial….
18 Nov 2011, 11:18 am
@Gunther(gunther)-141:
I think SAIL are only involved with the Stormers franchise and don’t have any legal rights over the WPRFU, other than strong arm threats.
18 Nov 2011, 11:18 am
@Staal(Staal)-213: not your imagination
it is your kak computer
18 Nov 2011, 11:19 am
@ufo(ufo)-214:
Perhaps if the role players had been less arrogant in the fiorst instance and consulted stakeholders on the stadiums BEFORE they built them.
We might not be in this position.
@grant10(grant10)-207: Would have been great for sure.
@Gunther(gunther)-211: I am too hung over to fight with you today
18 Nov 2011, 11:21 am
@grant10(grant10)-216: must say i am struggling with windows 3.1 on this 286…..
@Gunther(gunther)-217:
a humble Saffa, bwahahahahaha thats your funniest post ever..
Farkin wonderful WPRU! Typical South African rugby administrators – thinking of themselves, their pockets and their egos and being lekker harkoppig!
Let this farkin game be played at Green Point and once you have BUILT the bridge, then the NEXT fixture could be accomodated at Newlands. As the success and popularity of holding these games in CT grows with local and overseas fans, there would be MORE fixtures for Newlands.
Now you killed the whole momentum and excitement for the plan in its infancy.
Awesome – well done poephols!
very few teams Piss me off as much as the proteas….
Do Namibia have a cricket team Gunther?
18 Nov 2011, 11:22 am
@grant10(grant10)-209: I said it the other day. Tobie Titus has always been an honorary executive member of the organisations he’s been part of. This oges to show that he is more of a ja broer to the people who really make decisions at WP Rugby. All in all, a drunken mouse who’s only in it for the cheese.
18 Nov 2011, 11:22 am
@Staal(Staal)-213: Nee wat ek stem saam met jou. En daai glimlag word ook bietjie meer weird elke keer – wil hy my soen of slaan?
18 Nov 2011, 11:23 am
@grant10(grant10)-219: Hair of the dog mate. It;s the only cure,
I propose a boozy lunch at Forries followed by a vigorous gym session to sweat it out.
Newlands has 300 suites. CTS has 100.
I can guaran-damn-tee you that the sticking point is WPRU and the City arguing about who will pay for the addition of another 200 suites in the stadium.
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-205:
how to slap in the face and pissoff the argies… !!
“we want another team to play at newlands…!!”
way to go toby jug…!!
18 Nov 2011, 11:24 am
@Staal(Staal)-220: Try windows 95! It rocks bru!
18 Nov 2011, 11:26 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-226: got to pick someone up in Paarl……then off to gym….that treadmill and sauna will either heal…..or kill me…
18 Nov 2011, 11:27 am
@David(David)-215:
wrong
western province pty ltd is 25% owned by the marc group.
the owners of SAIL.
Think again
18 Nov 2011, 11:28 am
@Frik(frikodel)-227: Vince Mc Mahon?
I think you should go to Wale street and lay the smack down.
18 Nov 2011, 11:29 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-229: hehehehe….. nooit man, my harddrive is only 10 gig and i can’t get 95 on it with all my music that i’ve downloaded…
and then their also my vid clips of Snorre’s coaching tips……
eish – daarsie plek vir 95 nie.
18 Nov 2011, 11:30 am
@grant10(grant10)-223:
yes.
it’s kak,
know your limits and stick to spritzers next time.
18 Nov 2011, 11:31 am
@grant10(grant10)-230: OK. You do the gym part then and I’ll do the Forries part OK?
PS wear a towel in the sauna this time. We don’t want another “Die Son” incident….
18 Nov 2011, 11:31 am
@Gunther(gunther)-217:
absolutely gunther…
but we can’t expect foresight like that in south africa, can we…?
18 Nov 2011, 11:32 am
94.7 sunday… who’s doing it?
18 Nov 2011, 11:33 am
@Staal(Staal)-233:
jislaaik.
I didn’t know Kurt Darren had so much material.
18 Nov 2011, 11:33 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-221:
speaking of humility…
18 Nov 2011, 11:34 am
@Gunther(gunther)-238: who he?
18 Nov 2011, 11:34 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-235: LOL
I see a peter davies or a Roebuck I farken run my man
18 Nov 2011, 11:35 am
@Staal(Staal)-233: Jislaaik Bru, het jy daai internet ding ook?
Dis piele. My swarrie het gese jy kan kaal fotos van vrouens ook download. Is dit waar?
Ek moet vir my daai modern-ding kry.
My ou scope mags is baie ge-fade.
18 Nov 2011, 11:36 am
@ufo(ufo)-239: always humble here, though it is getting harder to be so, but it is only day 26, so cant make any promises
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-235:
a gym sauna?
surely a cesspit of vice and iniquity?
sounds like a veruca waitng to happen.
@grant10(grant10)-241: thing is, you never see them comming
18 Nov 2011, 11:37 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-242: did you also buy the scope for the great articles like i did?
18 Nov 2011, 11:39 am
gents….keep well…have a lekker weekend…..
18 Nov 2011, 11:40 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-195: Yeah, saw it as well.
Which means there’s probably some serious talk within of him being a compromise candidate.
Not a fan of Manuel personally, a typical politician who chooses to lay low when he should speak up.
It might see them win back the Western Cape though.
The Cape Flats Obama, my people might fall for it.
18 Nov 2011, 11:41 am
@Staal(Staal)-246: Totally.
There was some great car reviews too!
Pictures weren’t so great though. Some naked chick was standing in the way!
18 Nov 2011, 11:44 am
@Gunther(gunther)-244: Not to mention all the g ay s ex that goes on……
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All