Lions pivot training with Stormers

Burton Francis ran with the Stormers when the Cape franchise began their pre-season training schedule on Monday.

Francis, who recently parted ways with the Lions, was in Cape Town on Monday running through drills with the Stormers. Officially, the Stormers have contracted only three new players in Joe Pietersen (Bayonne), Deon Carstens (Saracens) and Gerhard van den Heever (Bulls), but Francis could potentially provide further cover for the Stormers in the problematic flyhalf position.

The Boland trio of Bolla Conradie, Elgar Watts and Clemen Lewis also trained with the team on Monday. Having a player of Conradie’s experience in the greater training group will be a boon for the Stormers, and no doubt Watts’s performance in Boland’s title-clinching First Division campaign may have given head coach Allister Coetzee food for thought.

The Stormers recently lost promising flyhalf Lionel Cronje to the Bulls, and aside from Peter Grant, are lacking in experienced No 10s. Kurt Coleman has been exposed to Super Rugby while Demetri Catrakilis and Gary van Aswegen have played Currie Cup rugby, but none of the three, nor Watts for that matter, are established at Super Rugby level.

774 Comments

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 » Show All

• 701.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-689: Anyone but Spies as captain! No wait, even I would take Spies ahead of Shampoo.

• 702.ET.: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-670:

I admire your patience and fortitude to take it to these ‘yobos’ as they mostly are culturally dishonest and have no real interest in seeking TRUTH.

They come at you with a wolf-pack mentality and hurl one opportunistic, emotional rock after another but nothing hits because it is all groundless and they, in turn, have little or no moral standing.

• 703.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-682: Yes, AB supporter, I know the arch, my family was not in exile, politically in the old days we supported black conscious movement, and I don’t work in the presidency but I am in finance, and I’ll have you know I’m partners with white and black guys in my fund.

• 704.Bod: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-697:

I need to bugger off for a bottle of Muscatel as I am shattered.

I have made two enemies in two days on this site. This ET oke and ol Shampoowhatever (Joel to his family.

Just when every one was telling me what swell guys they are…

• 705.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-699: I’ll concede that Mandela was in talks with the apartheid government whilst at robben island, to the extent that govan mbeki accused him of betraying the movement and there was a group led by mbeki who planned the killing of Mandela, this was to be done by terror lekota. Owing to this and the nats wanting to isolate Mandela, he was moved to polls moor and then to a home at victor verster. The legitimate talks were with the anc in exile.

• 706.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-698:

That’s fine, especially since it afforded me an outlet for a different and smart response.

• 707.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-702: Don’t be so hard on them, soon they’ll realize they believe in a “specialized” truth, it’ll dawn on them at some point.

• 708.Michael: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-705: Wrong again. Mandela was transferred to Pollsmoor in 1982 from where he wrote to Kobie Coetzee in ’85 to initiate the first talks.

What you said is fantasy.

Go back to high school and then history 101 at uni.

• 709.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-700:

Here it is always and clearly a case of “everyman for himself and the devil takes the hindmost”.

What other “Mead” is there in the Cape?

• 710.Michael: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-707: Hard historical facts are the bane in your corrective treatment.

• 711.Bod: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-703:

No sweat Mpundulu.

You have your views and mine might differ a bit, but at least I see you try and argue in a dignified manner and dont resort to insult.

There are three things though:

1 Never take this site too seriously, its actually fun if you can elevate yourself above the trash
    2 Please dont play the black/white thang with me… I dont give a rats ***
    3 We HAVE to do something about your rugby allegiance!! I promise to work on you

• 712.Michael: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-706: Thanks for the correction.

Anyways, logging off before I throw up over my computer screen. And on that delightfully charming note… ;-)

• 713.ET.: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-707:

Fortunately I will dare to outlive all of them and view the morality of the offspring two generations from now.

• 714.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-712:

Better to deal with the illness. Bedrest will always be helpful.

Also off now.

• 715.Bod: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-709:

Think, man, think…… that last bastion of leafy white colonialism that exists in the Boerewors curtain

• 716.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-701: nah…old shampoo a wily old fox….would vloek the IRB in there moer

• 717.Bod: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-716:

Joel that is…

• 718.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-717: on a serious note I have met Skoppie often…name is not Joel my man

• 719.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-715:

Edgemead it has to be then and not far from the Caltex refinery. There where the water stains all the walls.

• 720.Bod: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-718:

Ok…. my mistake.

Fck. I thought I had him

• 721.Bod: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-719:

Your geography is not too shabby, but your chemistry remains kak

• 722.Bod: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-718:

In the early days of this site, the Cape Town bunch used to meet quite regularly at the Firemans and we even did a game or two at Newlands. The regulars included the likes of Dawn, katman, buckt, ruck, harrythebeachwalker, jinx, myself, wptid and I few others I now forget.

They were good sessions. I reckon it would be interesting to rekindle that with the new bunch of Cape Townians out there. Imagine katman, skop and ET having a pint around a table at the Firemans…

• 723.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-722:

Now, now.

Let’s not throw the cat amongst the pigeons…

• 724.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-722:

But it would be fun to see katman and Gunther sharing a pint (and some stories).

• 725.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-721:

OK let me help you with the chemistry then as you struggle so often with the rain in Spain falling mostly on the Plain.

I saw, after the fact some day, that you were struggling with cricket on vipbox.tv

That same day I can tell you it was working just fine. But I will give you a better and ALL cricket site as follows:

http://www.allcric.com

There are up to 10 channels and thus more than one game can be offered at the same time.

Right now you can watch the SL – Pak game live. I have just seen the highlights of the 2nd day’s play India -W.I.

http://www.vipbox.tv does not give all the cricket all the time but is the best for sport in general esp. soccer and rugby.

Another site similar to vip is the Aussie site http://www.Hitsport.Net

You should now have no sporting problems for a good while as long as you have adequate speed available.

Today your Barca will lose to Zlatan Ibrah and he will score two goals.

• 726.ET.: Reply to this comment

Pak. 25/1 chasing 219 for the win.

• 727.ET.: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-725:

Bod, use this for the Aussie site given earlier:

http://www.hitsports.net/ as it will be more direct and less roundabout.

• 728.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-722: count me in….1 st round on me…

I have had the pleasure of meeting quite a few of the okes….Dawn…WPTID….Skop….robzim….ufo….katman….jinx…..and justrugby my mate…..all good okes in the flesh.

also Rossoneri and Transfoemation from PE….

• 729.grant10: Reply to this comment

and Carol from the Cotswolds

• 730.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Hell will freeze over first

• 731.grant10: Reply to this comment

and tassies of course….and slappes as well….who else Dawn?

• 732.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I foresee a fistfight

• 733.Bod: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-725:

So I do have a guardian angel after all in the shape of an extra terrestial….. why the f.uck were you so quite when I was battling with the cricket???

Thank you.

By the way, Barcelona aint my team…… Levante and the mighty Chelsea certainly are.

• 734.Bod: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-728:

Slappes… that was the other one!

• 735.Bod: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-724:

mm…mm. Best myself and Guntertjie first.

I would love to deliver him an almighty snotklap before I tuck into my first sip of Sauvignon Blanc.

Then we could all be friends

• 736.grant10: Reply to this comment

gunther is the oke that arrives in the custom sprayed pink Picato with the Village people belting out ‘ its raining men’ on his custom made CD

• 737.grant10: Reply to this comment

picanto

• 738.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“There was a plot to kill mandela led by mbeki”

What history have I lived through?

Must be the wrong one.

• 739.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Now now grantie.

You know gunther rocks a bavarian bomber.

5 series nogal.

• 740.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-733:

I have been far too busy at work clearing up much before I leave for S.A. coming Fri. so gave little attention to this site after the RWC. Some nights late(US time) I would just check a few threads and not respond to any and was not keeping up with the Aussie-SA tests until this Mon. when the Aussies wrapped it up.

Barca was just a shot in the dark and your Chealsea are nowhere near mighty these days.

I just want Zlatan to score today since Barca made it impossible for him to play for Real when he had to choose Inter in stead.

Now you will have too much cricket to keep you busy. Tonight at 11pm I will watch the start of the 3rd day’s play of India-W.I.

For the cricket it will always be the Indian site(allcric) then the other two.

For everything else it should be vip and if there are problems then check hitsport.

I will be absent for a long while from Friday so get your questions in now and before I leave.

• 741.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-739: wow…your boyfriend must love it

• 742.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-741:

Classy.

I expect nothing less from you.

• 743.Dawn: Reply to this comment

And you two want to have drinks?

• 744.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Gunther, pink Picanto eh? Farken hilarious. Bring on Firemans mates…

• 745.grant10: Reply to this comment

gunther showing his sensitive side…..hilarious…

CalledJustrugby Justbuggery now gets all sensitive about his car and music choice?

Shampies

• 746.Transformation: Reply to this comment

if it wasn’t for that plonker toby titus i’d be watching saracens vs biarritz come @ cpt stadium come january! damnit!

• 747.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Grant, lmfao! Tis the season of sillyness, parties and pink picantos filled with hairy men?

• 748.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-640: 100% big rumour that has more than an element of truth… Mallet was so up for the England job but then suddenly wanted to go back to SA to be with family…

There is only one job for Mallet that would supersede the England job. The Boks. I reckon that Rugby royalty you spoke to is telling the truth.

Next Bok coach is Mallet. I am about 70% sure of this.

• 749.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-699: Yes but these were in isolation of the party and he was under duress, therefore not legitimate.

• 750.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Transie, yip Tobie se m…

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.