Jacobs eyes Cape future

Adi Jacobs has expressed interest in continuing his career with the Stormers or Boland.

The 31-year-old centre’s 10-year tenure with the Sharks has come to an end after his contract was not renewed. Jacobs has confirmed that he will return to the Cape, where he was born in Kraaifontein, with his family. However, it is not yet known where he will play his rugby.

Jacobs’ told Die Burger that he hopes to join the Stormers or Boland next season.

‘The Cape is my home and I wouldn’t easily say no if the Stormers are interested. I have talked to Boland but haven’t heard back from them yet,’ he said.

Jacobs made 156 appearances for the Sharks since 2001, 71 of them in the Currie Cup and 88 in Super Rugby. He also represented the Bulls and Cats before making the move to Durban.

89 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.Staal: Reply to this comment

This Dragon is just not good enough anymore… sorry.

• 2.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

He should go to the Lions. They take all the leftovers anyway.

• 3.Staal: Reply to this comment

Imo signing him will be the same as when the Bulls “signed” Die Wet Barry to play vs the Stormers…. malligheid….

Bulls management didn’t exactly cover themselves in glory then :shock:

• 4.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-1:

I think he is still good enough to play for the Stormers..

• 5.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-4:

Not sure about Boland, though..

• 6.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-4:
    @Tacitus(Deucalion)-5:

• 7.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Im gonna disagree with you Staal.

Havent seen alot of him lately but he should be a good acquisition for Boland.
    Could also make an adequate backup player for the Stormers, playing his trade in the Vodacom Cup where his experience could prove valuable to the youngsters around him, at the same time play a bit part role for the Stormers should any of JdV, JF or JdJ be injured.
    Depending on the price tag, worth a look at least.

• 8.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-4: @Tacitus(Deucalion)-5:

Guns blazing!

• 9.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-7: “youngsters around him”

sieriaaaaaas? Jean & Fourie? :lol:

• 10.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-9: lol.
    No man.
    Youngsters in the Vodacom Cup.

• 11.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Adi’s obviously seeking new challenges. He has won the Currie Cup. Been involved in some fairly successful S14 campaigns, and played in some big Bok tests.

But he has never had the opportunity to add that elusive Plascon Double Velvet trophy to his list of career achievements.

The Bulls specialize in winning Super rugby trophies, the Cheetahs on winning Currie Cups, so they weren’t options to help him fulfill his personal ambition in this regard. So Adi made the move to the only team that specializes in the competition he desires to complete his career – the Double Velvet Wall and All league.

• 12.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-5:

joh.

• 13.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-11: you’re on fire! :lol:

• 14.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-11: i think before he can speak of any silver, he should find himself a team to play for.

He would be good at the Cheetahs.

• 15.Staal: Reply to this comment

Ek sien Butch se boek is heelwat goedkoper op kalahari…

• 16.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-2: …..and then turn them into Shark killers.

• 17.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

This is a loss for the Sharks. i mean Adi is 10 times better than Bosman, at least 5 times better than Jourbet and 100 times better than Stephan on attack that is.

• 18.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

@Tuna(Tuna)-16: he had that coming!

• 19.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Tuna(Tuna)-16:

Once every couple of years. The only team that has ever broken Sharks hearts is the Blue Bulls…in 2007. They will always be the real opposition to The Sharks.

The Lions are too lazy to keep being competitive season after season. The Lions are like the All Blacks…they will perform a miracle every 24 years or so.

• 20.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-11:

Buddy Tac.

When you speak of a lack of cups in a certain Province/Franchise you continually overlook the silverware that, after S15, is the most important in the country…

Yes…. the Varsity cup that has a permanent home in the Cape.

What do we say to Adi for the UCT, where the trophies will flow like the Breede river

• 21.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-19: eina! :lol:

• 22.puff: Reply to this comment

This is Peter Grant’s second stint playing in Japan for what is more than likely obscene amounts of money.
    And now Jacques Fourie is doing the same thing.
    Having your first-choice 10 and 13 miss pre-season squad training and waiting on tenterhooks for them to return – which could happen well into S15 season – cannot be good for preparations or morale in any way, shape or form.
    Is it any wonder there is talk of recruiting the likes of Burton Francis and Adi Jacobs?
    I know, in the case of Jacobs, he seems to be the only one doing any talking right now.
    But I have a funny feeling next year’s S15 may be Peter Grant’s last for the Cape Franchise.
    As for Jacques Fourie, I sincerely hope he will stay.
    The Boks need him!

• 23.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-19: You and 90% of your fellow Sharks had the Braso out already. Parade was organized, cavair was ordered after that huge **** the Lions fed you oakes 2 weeks prior to the CC final. Then came the smack….. No hearts broken? If you say so. Let’s forget about the CC and start focusing on 2012.

I’m no Jacobs fan but I’ll pick him any day of the week ahead of Joubert.
    I wonder how many internationals the Sharks will sign to fill their short comings.
    More “leftovers” for the Lions ;)

• 24.Tuna: Reply to this comment

Andy “Gloves” Goode back any time soon?

• 25.puff: Reply to this comment

Sharks first-choice backline:

9) McLeod
    10) Lambie
    11) Pieterson
    12) Whitehead
    13) Mvovo
    14) Sithole or Ndungane
    15) Viljoen

• 26.Bod: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-25: Why do you insist on playing players out of postion??

Lambie is not a flyhalf and Mvovo aint a centre…

• 27.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Tuna(Tuna)-23:

Absolutely. I thought we’d take it. Was a big kick but I wasn’t gutted. The Sharks had played badly for months and it was hardly surpising that they were handed a whoopin’ in the end.

That 2007 Super 14 final goes down as my biggest disappointment next to the 2011 RWC defeat by Oz. The Sharks were redhot in 2007 and they deserved to win….gutted of note.

• 28.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

To me all the SA franchises except the Lions look weaker than last season.

And in the case of the Lions, their benchmark wasn’t that high to begin with.

• 29.puff: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-26:

Michalak has stated a desire to return to France now that Lievremont is no longer coaching Les Blues.
    Plum will definitely choose Lambie ahead of Potgieter or Bosman at 10, even though I also contend that Lambie should make a good fist of playing 15.
    As for 13, the fact of the matter is the Sharks should never have let Jacobs go.
    There is young Jordaan, but he is with the Bok 7s if I am not mistaken.
    I contend that Mvovo, who has time on his side, can be converted into a pretty devastating outside centre.
    The backline I listed is young, but perhaps that is what the Sharks need.

• 30.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-27:

Not to rehash old battles, but the Bulls were actually the red hot team in 2007. Especially in the final rounds in the run up to the final.

Big victories over the Blues, the record breaking demolition of the Reds, and the defeat of the almost unbeatable Crusaders in the semifinal come to mind.

The Bulls actually underperformed in that final, and still won. If it had been played at Loftus, well, it would have been goodnight nurse much earlier.

• 31.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Tuna(Tuna)-23:

Sharky doesn’t do Caviar.

He says it tastes like muff.

He’s a K rations man.

• 32.Bod: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-29:

Too many decent players careers have been detroyed by playing out of position. Lambie is going that way fast…

• 33.puff: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-32:

For the Boks, I’d like to see:

Johann Goosen and Elton Jantjies at 10
    Frans Steyn and Juan De Jongh at 12
    Jacques Fourie and Johann Sadie at 13
    Pat Lambie and Jaco Taute at 15

• 34.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Cannot remember who said it, but the best post has to be that Jacobs is too young for the Sharks. Give him 2 years, and he will be in their sights… LMFAO

• 35.Bod: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-33:

Now you are getting there…. just add Mvovo at 11 and Aplon at 14 and we might just then be able to finally shut our New Zealand mate in China’s mug up with his continual winge and wine of “when last did the Boks score a constructed backline try”

• 36.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-28:

I do not think the Stormers are weaker than last season.

The losses of Sadie and Engelbrecht have been cancelled out by the gaining of van den Heever (better than Engelbrecht) and JP du Plessis (not as good as Sadie but still a very good prospect) while Joe Peterson is certainly an improvement on Jantjes. CJ van den Lindes loss is covered by the gaining of Deon Carstens. The only real loss that concerns me is of F Louw but there are quite a number of up and coming loosies that can conpensate. They have also blooded quite a number of young players last season who will be better for the experience so I am quite sure the Stormers will be just as competetive as during last season.

• 37.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-30:

The Sharks dominated the whole game. Does it really matter where the game was played. The Crusaders will say no.

• 38.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-36:

lolapalooza.

NOW hurdles is good?

Don’t ever change Robbo.

• 39.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-36:

C’mon Rob

ANY side will be weakened by the arrival of ol Pantofel van den Heever.

Why oh why didnt he go to the Valke or Northern Free State

• 40.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

This is abysmal man management from the Sharks. Plumtree has always never rated Adi..The fact that Adi at times had to play behind Swanepoel,Terblanche,Joubert,JLP,Bosman etc is testament enough.

After injuring his shoulder in S14 2009,Plumtree progressively started phasing out Jacobs…(Waylon Murray before that)

Adi is/was the best 12 or 13 at the Sharks,hands down.He was loyal to the union even when treated less than favourably especially as he has been a Bok for almost a decade-yes sporadically but a Bok nonetheless.

Adi pack your bags,head to japan or France mate. SA rugby unions are full of sh*t.

If I was a player agent, my players/clients would look out for their bottom line.ALWAYS(unions do),because the “family values of unions” which try condition players to follow,arent practiced unilaterally. Look out for number one. Sharks and their handling of this situation are the best at this,

• 41.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-38:

I have always rated that bloke since i saw him for the first time as a 18 year old kid scoring an unbelievable try for Tukkies against Maties at Stellenbosch within minutes of coming on as a substitute. He is pure class and I have always said so.

• 42.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-38: Remember when Buddy Tac used to call him “Jetshoes”

Yegads…

• 43.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Bod(bod)-39:

Pantoffel, lol– I know he looks half asleep but he got serious pace and quite a bit of flair too.

• 44.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

No Adi china don’t be dof.

The only union as **** as the Sharks when it comes to player management is WP. You are not improving here at all.

• 45.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-41:

look the guy seems to have lost some of his pace in a drive to bulk up.

If he works on his kicking I see his best position at 15.

@Bod(bod)-42:

We all have Jet shoes at the Bulls.

It makes things more comfortable when we kick your arses.

• 46.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-43:

Nah, you can spin me many a yarn, but this one I wont budge on…

Tac is welcome to Pantoffel…. just so long as he says away from a Province or Stormers jersey

• 47.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-36:

Habana will be a year older and slower than the already slow 2011 version.

Jacque Fourie will only decline year on year from now on. Plus he is gonna be lekker tired after having no off season, thanks to racking in the Yen in Japan.

Jean de Villiers – well – he was already well below his prime this year, and another year will not improve his prospects

Whoever your flyhalf is going to be, it is going to be a musical chairs situation again.

Vermeulen will need to show whether he can fully recover form his long term injury and regain his best form.

Schalk remains Schalk, only another year farther away from his best, whic was back in Jake White time.

The loss of both Louw’s seriously impacts the Stormers loose forward depth

Bekker – will he ever be fit again?

Front row – same old same old.

So overall, I reckon the Stormers have moved beyond their best, which was around 2009/2010 and will be worse than last year.

• 48.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-47:

Rumours floating around Jaque Fourie not coming going back to Stormers at all…

• 49.Bod: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-45:

I need you need to rephrase that to “We all HAD Jet shoes at the Bulls”…and start looking for a new side

Whilst on that topic, most out there will remember dear old GBS on this site. The old Bulls oke that took so much flak on the site that one day he burst into tears, left and started his own do-gooder website.

I see he has got wise already turned to supporting the boys in hoops. Check that pic out of him on the Currie Cup prompt on the top of the screen. He is the oke with 6 chins giving it the thumbs up… in a Province jersey

• 50.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-48:

So then they will be without Fourie AND Sadie. At least they got De Jongh. But after that?

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.