Wallabies add to Matfield’s woe
26 Nov 2011
JON CARDINELLI watched the Wallabies thrash the Barbarians 60-11 to ensure Victor Matfield’s international career ended on a depressing note.
Australia edged South Africa 11-9 in last month’s World Cup quarter-final, a result that stretched their record against the Springboks in 2011 to three from three. This Saturday’s fixture at Twickenham represented a final attempt at revenge for Matfield, but as much as he tried as an individual, he couldn’t lift the collective to the point where they could mount any real challenge.
The result sees the Baa Baas missing out on a hat-trick of wins against the Sanzar nations, having beaten New Zealand in 2009 and South Africa in 2010. It also sees Wallabies coach Robbie Deans getting one over the All Blacks’ Graham Henry and Steve Hansen, who took charge of the Barbarians for this particular encounter.
The Baa Baas looked a disinterested and disjointed bunch for much of the contest. They butchered two early try-scoring opportunites, and failed to make the Wallabies pay when Adam Ashley-Cooper and James Slipper were yellow-carded at separate intervals in the first half.
The visitors struggled to fire early on, but certainly looked the more structured and ambitious of the two teams. It finally came together in the 26th minute when flyhalf James O’Connor found Digby Ioane, who proceeded to expose some poor Barbarians defence.
This aspect of the Baa Baas’ game grew worse as the game progressed. They managed to keep the Wallabies in check in the first half thanks to the two yellow cards, but in the second stanza, there was no stopping the relentless green and gold wave.
The Wallabies’ bench provided the desired impetus, but the defensive effort of the Barbarians was nothing short of shocking. In a definitive period between the 40th and 70th minute, those wearing the black and white hoops ushered the Wallabies to the tryline no less than five times.
It will go down as the worst performance by a Barbarians side in recent times. Although they managed to score one consolatory try in injury time through young league star Sam Tomkins, it was the gutless defensive effort that will anger officials and members of an extremely proud and elite club.

446 Comments
26 Nov 2011, 15:46 pm
be interesting to see how freuen and tomkins combine.
26 Nov 2011, 16:35 pm
Rugby……sighhhhhh at last.
26 Nov 2011, 16:41 pm
Anyone got a working stream for this one?
26 Nov 2011, 16:44 pm
Tomkins messes up 1st touch of ball.
26 Nov 2011, 16:51 pm
G’day mates
26 Nov 2011, 16:52 pm
Apart from his 1st booboo, Tomkins not making his name totti, wonder if he is going switch over.
26 Nov 2011, 16:54 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-3: http://www.vipbox.tv/sports/rugby.html
26 Nov 2011, 16:59 pm
G’day Sheila
26 Nov 2011, 17:02 pm
@simbachips(brendon)-7: Thanks dude!
26 Nov 2011, 17:03 pm
Quiet as a graveyard here.
26 Nov 2011, 17:04 pm
One wouldn’t say there’s a game on!
26 Nov 2011, 17:05 pm
Marvelous try that.
26 Nov 2011, 17:09 pm
Ref is whistle-happy
26 Nov 2011, 17:10 pm
Barnes u softy get up!
26 Nov 2011, 17:11 pm
**** kick Cipriani, ever kick my ***.. **** kick.
26 Nov 2011, 17:12 pm
O’Connor is streaks ahead of showpony Cooper as Aussie pivot, Aussie team 100 times more efficiency with O’Connor at No.10.
Ab backs ******** up royally Fruen and Toeava messing up couple opportunities already. Disjointed Baa Baa backline this with Cipriani Mortlock Fruen Tomkins Habana Toeava
26 Nov 2011, 17:15 pm
Maybe I should start talking about alien probes.
26 Nov 2011, 17:16 pm
What is it with forward passes that aren’t forward!
26 Nov 2011, 17:18 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-16:
Between the 2 of them, O’Conner and Cooper posess more attacking flair and skills than the whole bok backline combined.
26 Nov 2011, 17:22 pm
Did Henry actually select this Baa Baa side because its a poor selection
26 Nov 2011, 17:26 pm
Lol Stringer!!!!!!
26 Nov 2011, 17:27 pm
That Iaone is deadly, pace and power. He;s the only one they really got to watch for.
Stirling Mortlock still the best 12 in oz.
Cooper is an absolute showpony O’Connor is absolute class if I were Aussie coach I start O’Connor ahead of Cooper at 10 every time..
This Baa Baa backline is absolute kakkas
Skinner Cipriani Mortlock Freuen Toeava Tomkins all hopeless, Habana the only decent back in that entire setup
hahaha how cheeky is Stringer? And there’s a lesson for O’Connor to speed up the time he takes to kick.
26 Nov 2011, 17:30 pm
Habana has become ultra-kak, must be the biggest co-ord since duffer mckay was pulled out the pub. only a forward couldve swallowed that dummy. good god where is the player that was the best winger in the world 4 years ago? everytime he gets some space he puts it on his foot.
26 Nov 2011, 17:37 pm
Barnes and Cooper can retire
Aussie backline should go
Genia, O’Connor, Ioane, McCabe, Ashley-Cooper, Mitchell, Beale
26 Nov 2011, 17:38 pm
i dunno when the south african rugby players started developing the maradonna dive, but some of them would make fine candidates for continental poefball diver of the year. first it was philip burger, then fourie dup and now everytime habana gets touched there;s a godalmighty gasp and a wry smile – chase the fkn thing, dont give up.
26 Nov 2011, 17:39 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-24:
Lol, it was quite funny, at least O’Conner took it well – staring for a while at the empty spot where the ball used to be and then started to laugh.
His place kicking mentor, Braam van Staden, also used to take quite a while before he kicked so maybe he has passed the habit to James.
26 Nov 2011, 17:44 pm
Henry talking absolute kak overrated mediocre coach that dunno how to select a winning side. Compare Mallets Baa Baa side that drilled the AB’s to this disjointed one that getting a rugby lesson by Aussie. Habana also become a showpony, thank goodness all those JW overrated f’ng prima donnas like Smit, FdP, Habana, Matfield, etc are history, now must just get shot of Spies and Burger and we are good to go.
26 Nov 2011, 17:49 pm
Baa Baas gonna look bit better with Fiji scrummy and Strauss at 2
They can start making some play now that Stringer and Mealamu are off.
Tomkins like a f’ng dear in the headlights all game long so far
26 Nov 2011, 17:49 pm
@cab(cab)-22:
13, cab, 13.
26 Nov 2011, 17:50 pm
@cab(cab)-27:
And do not forget that Heinrich Brussow’s failed audition for Hollywood during the SA/Somoa game when Williams gently pushed him against the left cheek.
26 Nov 2011, 17:50 pm
@David(David)-31:
lol, sorry centre, but then again there is o;connor who is bladdy good. should be mortlock and oconnor, deans was to quick to knock mortlock out, pocock thought he;d run into a brickwall early on.
26 Nov 2011, 17:52 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-32:
ja dunno whats got into them, half of them are boertjies too, thought the only thing more heinous in their culture than feigning injury was being a moffie predikant…
26 Nov 2011, 17:53 pm
Game should open up now
26 Nov 2011, 17:55 pm
Kak Baa Baa side this shows Henry up for the overrated doos coach he is same as White and Jones got done in by a far weaker Aussie side than this one when they coached Baa Baas in 2008 playing Frans Steyn at 10 and a star studded Baa Baa outfit.
@cab(cab)-33:
Yeah, that was some tackle.
We can see Deans influence. The Oz offloads in the tackle are pure Kiwi, but better.
Good grief.
Australia making a statement here.
26 Nov 2011, 17:57 pm
@David(David)-37:
ozzie ball skills with kiwi rugby brains, could make for devastating combination.
but they dont really have great forwards, tho pocock is worldclass and higginbotham looks ok – missing moore who much better than poloto-nau.
26 Nov 2011, 17:59 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-36:
I doubt Henry had much say or even knew who Tomkins is, for example. Generally it’s the BaaBaa club who does the selection from whoever’s available.
26 Nov 2011, 17:59 pm
Habs up to his old tricks again…
26 Nov 2011, 18:01 pm
@cab(cab)-39:
Didn’t Moore set up Horwills try?
26 Nov 2011, 18:03 pm
@David(David)-42:
oh right, they must;ve come on, stopped watching at halftime doing some work.
looks like mallinder is next england coach (wonder if JW put in a surrepticious application) and hansen seems primed to take over from the headmaster.
26 Nov 2011, 18:03 pm
Cipriani is one showpony poser should join the Quade Cooper school of Maverick showponies, O’Connor showing what a true pivotal No.10 he is
These commentators blowing smoke up Matfield Smit and FdP’s arses these prima donna dead beats couldn’t have pissed off soon enough.
This the worst Baa Baa selection and team I seen ever, absolute hopelessly coached Baa Baa outfit this.
26 Nov 2011, 18:06 pm
Shame tired baabaas
26 Nov 2011, 18:09 pm
So good to watch!
26 Nov 2011, 18:09 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-44:
Be fair, the NH season is in full swing, which eliminates their players and that only leaves Kiwi, Saffas and non current Wobblies to choose from, which would effectively mean an AB/Bok side.
26 Nov 2011, 18:10 pm
Lekker aussie rugby!
26 Nov 2011, 18:10 pm
reminds me of the Bok B team Pdivvy fielded in the trinations this year, but at least those guys tried
26 Nov 2011, 18:12 pm
The game doesn’t mean much to anybody, if you noticed the upper stands are nearly empty, so much for the interest it generates
The Babas today look a ragtag collection of players who gathered to an unscheduled pay day
26 Nov 2011, 18:14 pm
Deans f’d up in WC playing Cooper at 10 should have played O’Connor at pivot and he might have had a chance vs NZ in semi’s
NZ backs in this side are nowhere, Toeava, Freuen, Kahui, looking way off pace, with Cipriani, Mortlock, Habana no better
Kak Baa Baa’s worst combinations I seen in Baa Baa colours ever.
Wish I had an unscheduled payday.
This is shameful.
26 Nov 2011, 18:16 pm
none existent defense wonder what the tackle bags scored in the week’s training
26 Nov 2011, 18:19 pm
barbarians getting ‘probed’
26 Nov 2011, 18:19 pm
O’Connor the absolute architect of this Baa Baa rout time Deans woke up and realized who his best No.10 is and it ain’t Cooper or Giteau or Barnes, its James O’Connor.
Higginbottom also better than Elsom at blind side if Deans would have realized his best team he’d have stood better chance at WC.
Ioane the ultimate finisher
26 Nov 2011, 18:21 pm
Alien Samo!
26 Nov 2011, 18:23 pm
Shame Matfield gets a 60 point send off by the team that knocked them out of the wc (bryce or no bryce
26 Nov 2011, 18:23 pm
Bieber looks like he can play another 80 mins
26 Nov 2011, 18:24 pm
Question is is he the father
26 Nov 2011, 18:26 pm
Bok rugby better catch an almighty wake up get rid of the f’ng has beens now… Including Burger, Fourie, Habana, Spies or we go f’ng nowhere fast.
Start fresh now or go another 4 years going backwards. Start a complete new collection of players now and build from base one or get hammered going forward.
26 Nov 2011, 18:27 pm
The deer scores
26 Nov 2011, 18:28 pm
Matfield wotchadoin!!!!
26 Nov 2011, 18:35 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-51:
A wistful thinking or a second guessing?
It were actually Barens and Gitaue whom they missed most
26 Nov 2011, 18:44 pm
nope you wrong again Hondo, if Deans played Genia, O’Connor, Ioane, McCabe, Ashley-Cooper, Mitchell, Beale that is his absolute best back line selection if they all fit
Giteau, Cooper or Barnes not nearly as effective as O’Connor at 10. Giteau and Barnes better than Cooper but nowhere near O’Connor’s game breaking class. Cooper is all flash no substance, Giteau and Barnes some substance but not the O’Connor ability or class.
26 Nov 2011, 18:54 pm
Serves Victor Matfield right for hanging on too long and with John Smit having to much say in the WC 2011
26 Nov 2011, 19:04 pm
Go SARACENS and Captain Fantastic.
26 Nov 2011, 19:13 pm
lolololol mon capitane has a big bushy stache
26 Nov 2011, 19:14 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-67:
Captain Fantastic? He looks more like the brown dirt cowboy with that moustache. Bit pale though.
26 Nov 2011, 19:20 pm
cheers Vic…..
Time for radical shake up in SA Rugby now
It is a youg mans game
O connor absolutely brilliant at 10 ……
26 Nov 2011, 19:21 pm
now plod gettig his *** kicked
will it be plod played 2
plod lost 2?
Ho hum
26 Nov 2011, 19:23 pm
JC, the BaaBaas tradition, and the original concept, was to select a side to play adventurous attacking rugby, not for their defensive qualities. However, this side didn’t perform there either. Please, in future, understand what the “proud history” of the BaaBaas actually is, before commenting.
26 Nov 2011, 19:34 pm
Yessir!
26 Nov 2011, 19:38 pm
Sigh. Movember.
26 Nov 2011, 19:50 pm
Poor Schalk Brits ……. what did he do to be dropped for the Plod.
Poor Saracens they are just not the same without the Brits bliz.
26 Nov 2011, 19:52 pm
Really don’t take these Baa Baas games serious. This was probably one of the worst games to watch. The players from the Baa Baas side hardly looked interested.
Looking forward to seeing Oz play Wales. Now that game will be far more interesting playing another ‘team’ should be a cracker.
The only Baa Baas games that were really great was when they included only the BIL players that were Baa Baas at home. This mix match players from all over the world does not work well and hardly gets plenty interest.
If the Barbarian team was made up of the British and Irish players it would always make it interesting and a hell of a lot more exciting. Also those players would be a whole lot more motivated to play as a team.
Best Baa Baas game of all time was 1973 against the All Blacks.
26 Nov 2011, 19:55 pm
can’t definitively make a call on o”beiber on this game…let’s see the work in progress first.
26 Nov 2011, 20:00 pm
@Puma(Puma)-76:
I agree, although that BaaBaas/AB game was 1972 with the BBs fielding the 1971 BLs team that toured NZ, without Barry John and Bennett in his place. As you say, the international aspect has destroyed the BaaBaas, mainly because of club commitments in the NH due to the professional game.
I’d love to see it revert to it’s original format as a game played between the best of the home nations against the current touring side, with the emphasis on the amateur spirit of open attacking rugby.
26 Nov 2011, 20:01 pm
Puma
What is my man Chris Gayle doing playing Zimbo cricket.
Thought he was coming to Dolphins?
26 Nov 2011, 20:02 pm
Schalk Brits is serving a ban, hence not playing.
26 Nov 2011, 20:07 pm
@David(David)-78: Think it was 1973 David. I could be wrong, but sure that was the year the ABs played the Baa Baas.
Best Baa Baas game ever. Was brilliant.
Would be great if they went back to only selecting from the home unions. Players would be far more motivated. Also the supporters going to the game would enjoy it a whole lot more. I for one would be a lot more interested. Pity the clubs have more say these days.
@Dawn(Dawn)-79: Have no idea at all. Thought he was coming to play for the Dolphins.
26 Nov 2011, 20:11 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-74:
Don’t sigh, it’s nearly Fanuary. You’ll get your chance….
26 Nov 2011, 20:11 pm
@David(David)-78: David just checked. It was 1973 against the All Blacks. Thought it was, the old brain is still working buddy…lol.
26 Nov 2011, 20:19 pm
@Puma(Puma)-83:

My mistake.
I used to have the tape of that game, and the first time I watched it I played it 3 times over and actually was in tears at its beauty. OK, I’d downed a couple of bottles of red during the process.
When you consider that a number of those players refused to tour with the ’74 Lions, one realises how lucky SA was not to be embarrased more than we were.
26 Nov 2011, 20:19 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-82: Howzit Jock,
Where you been? You have been scarce here.
26 Nov 2011, 20:23 pm
@David(David)-84: Ah! blame it on the red wine…hehe. Don’t worry I get it wrong plenty too pal.
Jeez don’t remind of 1974 we were bliksemed good and solid.
Never lived it down in the office that time either with all the Brits. Those days there were so many, many ex-pat Brits working in South Africa.
26 Nov 2011, 20:24 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-65:
Cooper was good enough to beat the Boks 3 time in 2011.
I view O’Connor as a14 who converged to the action around 10-12 often, I don’t think he is better than Lambie though, using Lambie at 15 alone should have resulted in sacking PdV!
The opposition today for the Wallabies was a pathetic collection of 2nd graders, Habana included, so the Wallabies better keep their’ chest pumping and gloating in check.
26 Nov 2011, 20:25 pm
@David(David)-84: That 1974 BIL has to have been the best that toured here ever. Also the 1971 BIL that toured NZ were top class, but think the 74 class were even better.
26 Nov 2011, 20:33 pm
@David(David)-84:
The Boks in 1974 under Dr Craven regime maintained and restricted the Boks’ practicing together to the protocol while the Lions spent nearly 9 weeks together
Big difference!
Things changed through during the subsequent 76′, 80 &86′ tours
26 Nov 2011, 20:36 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-87:
C’mon, Conner showed he has the talent and guts for 10, but he needed to prove himself at S15 and international level first. Like him, Lambie has been introduced at 15, which was his preferred position, to gain experience before throwing him in at 10 , PdeV would have been stupid to have played him as his first choice 10 in the RWC.
26 Nov 2011, 20:37 pm
Shocked by Jock I am.
26 Nov 2011, 20:40 pm
I think guys use Movember to grow silly tache to irritate us women.
26 Nov 2011, 20:40 pm
What was disappointing about todays Baa Baas game was a lack of lateral thinking. Big Vic’s last game.. the number one standout lock of the last decade so why not pick more Saffas?.. Would like to have seen Josh Strauss mix it today along with some of the Griquas boys who served their team so well in the Currry Cup. Perhaps Juandre Kruger, had a tough time blending back into the Bulls but still well respected up north. A lost opportunity I think to see players who don’t normally get a look in have a go! Jeez could’nt have been much worse.
26 Nov 2011, 20:41 pm
@Puma(Puma)-88:
It’s difficult to compare. The Boks were in total disarray due to the selectors, so the Lions had an easier time. I’d say the two Lions sides were about even, although I’d loved to have seen Gerald Davies, David Duckham and a fit Mike Gibson, who only joined the tour much later, and hadn’t really recovered from his injury.
26 Nov 2011, 20:42 pm
“Shave it babes”
“But lovey it’s for you! It’s Movember!”
26 Nov 2011, 20:43 pm
Thanks Matfield, now it’s time for a few new [fresh] faces.
FDP and Habana have probably played their last games for the Boks too.
26 Nov 2011, 20:45 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-89:
That was an accepted international rule, designed to balance out home ground advantage. The real cockup was the provincial selectors who horse traded their players.
26 Nov 2011, 20:48 pm
@David(David)-90:
PdV IS a fool and a clown by defenition, regardless
The last two years clearly demonstrated that Morne was no good, Lambie should have come off the bench to replace Butch no later than the 50st minute.
In the ideal world, the likes of Daniller, Ludik and Riaan Viljon would have been tried at 15: Big, strong runners and uncompromised defenders, none replicated a Heunis nor Jobba but they all ticked few good boxes.
I save you my known opinion of Aplon, Kirchner, JP and the rest of the tackles faking brigade
26 Nov 2011, 20:58 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-98:
Daniller has never been close to international class and Viljoen still has to prove himself. Ludik has also done nothing since moving to the Sharks. The reality is that we were desperately short of class fullbacks and JP has proven his class at test level on numerous occasions. Other than colour, I can’t see any justification for your choice of players over those that were selected.
26 Nov 2011, 21:13 pm
@David(David)-99:
Well, that’s your opinion and you share it with many other good rugby followers!
Mine is different, you might have elected to call Chavanga, JP, Ndungane, Kirchner or Conrad Jantjse ‘established International Class’ backs by the virtue that the quota system inserted them into the line up so be it, as for me, I surly disagree.
26 Nov 2011, 21:21 pm
@JC
The Barbarians’ match’s result is hugely irrelevant to Matfield’s spectacular career. It was just an exhibition match in which most players went out there to have fun. Matfield played well, but the Barbarians’ defense did look pathetic.
Still, when people think back at Matfield’s career they won’t think about his last result; a loss with the Barbarians. They’ll think about the career of the greatest modern lock ever, his superb leadership abilities, career achievements (World Cup, Tri Nations, Currie Cup, Super 14, 100 Bok caps) and what a fantastic servant he was for the game.
Nothing, especially not the result of a friendly international match, will ever take away Matfield’s achievements as a rugby player.
Thanks, Victor. I didn’t like you when we played against the Bulls, but I loved you when you played for the Boks.
26 Nov 2011, 22:37 pm
VM was probably the best lineout I have ever seen…..a true great….I will miss him, not sure he will be easily replaced.
27 Nov 2011, 00:46 am
Grant WTF u doing out the tub?
27 Nov 2011, 01:34 am
VM a lineout master, but what else did he offer? Can’t recall him EVER knocking anyone back in the tackle. Hardly ever broke a tackle (incl a scrumhalf) in front of him. Hardly ever cleared out rucks, master ruck inspector though. Very decent taking kick-offs. Physically offered very little as spend a lot of time in the backline and that is exactly why he got noticed. Biggest showpony ever. Spies is very close second.
27 Nov 2011, 01:52 am
@UK Bok(UK Bok)-104: agree completely… a great of the game, but far from the best lock ever… in his prime Ali Williams was a much better all round lock imo..
27 Nov 2011, 01:59 am
[JON CARDINELLI watched the Wallabies thrash the Barbarians 60-11 to ensure Victor Matfield’s international career ended on a depressing note.]
Same old Negative ****..
The Barberians have become a
Joke because they don’t pic the right combinations and have un-imposing fluffers running around at 10 like Dannie Cipriani..
27 Nov 2011, 02:03 am
NZ have never had a lock of that quality. Dan Vickerman is the only other lock that could come close, but was always bested. Matfield made many vital tackles in many big games, his support play was outstanding. In 2005 he made a monstrous tackle on an All Black that knocked the poor fellow out, remember that? Of course not, these pesky little details ruin all the fun, eh? He was not the Enforcer that Bakkies is, or Danie, but there is no weakness to his game. His lineout expertise is better than anyone else, and was always the best in his position throughout his entire career. I can say the same for very few players.
27 Nov 2011, 02:05 am
@Guns(Guns)-106: Deans has always used a very structured game to defeat the Barbarians, putting much emphasis on defence. It worked well today against a side with very few working combinations and some very average individuals. If anyone thinks this means something in the context of Aussie rugby, then they had better think again.
27 Nov 2011, 02:12 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-107: NZ have never had a lock of that quality? what a joke you are..
Williams, Haden, Pinetree Meads just to name a couple..
but continue on your delusion, its fun to watch..
27 Nov 2011, 02:14 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-107: did he knock the AB out with his armguard?
27 Nov 2011, 02:15 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-109: Keep rolling out the names, all inferior to Matfield. New Zealand have been blessed with great centres, but locks and loose forwards is where South Africa have had the clear edge always. If you want to find a contender to dethrone Victor, he will be found in South Africa.
27 Nov 2011, 02:19 am
I’m a Kiwi, but it is easy to admit that New Zealand have never had a lineout forward as good as Matfield. It’s pretty straight forward really, that guy is so reliable in the air it’s amazing.
27 Nov 2011, 02:22 am
there is more to lock forward play than just being great at the lineout…
@Alucard(Alucard)-111: all inferior to Matfield? lmfao
27 Nov 2011, 02:24 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-111: loose forwards always been SA? strange, Zinzan Brooke, Michael Jones, McCaw, Kronfield etc… only SA’s domain you say?
you make me laff..
thanks
27 Nov 2011, 02:25 am
@Pencil(Pencil)-112: We will miss his game analysis immensely! It was not merely the lineout, he affected our entire preparation. Eddie Jones remarked how detailed and accurate his work is, claiming it to be astounding. The likes of Bekker, who are touted as natural successors, all lack his brains and consistency. He was incredibly durable, how often was he actually injured? Very rare indeed such occassions were. You can always tell who the greats are by the negative spam Keo and his poodles throw at them. It was Monty, Os, Schalk, Smit, Morne, Frans and it seems not even the likes of Victor can escape it! Very poor form here.
27 Nov 2011, 02:29 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-114: You are so amiss it is astounding. Almost as laughable as your post regarding Adi, the man on fire in 2008! I already dealt with that, so I won’t stray from the topic. Lets be quite clear here, did I state that NZ never have had quality loose forwards? No. So rattling off little lists does little to prove anything more than the fact that your reading comprehension is shockingly errant. South Africa have more quality loose forwards in single generations than most top nations combined! That is one of our greatest areas of depth, by far it is without equal. Just as Italy have the largest depth in the front row, having literally 6 world class looseheads alone. That doesn’t mean nobody else has good front rowers, but their depth is without equal. Please read carefully before posting.
27 Nov 2011, 02:38 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-116: your unfounded arrogance is the only shocking thing here…
we have heard about SA’s depth for the last four years, and that has been shown up as the pipe dream it is..
its blind belief like yours that has SA rugby in the dire mud it finds itself in, but continue, until you guys lose the arrogance you’ll never be the best in the world..
27 Nov 2011, 02:39 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-116: name me the current 6 world class loose forwards that prove SA’s loosie depth is without equal?
27 Nov 2011, 02:45 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-116: as for my apparent “post” regarding Adi??? please highlight that post for me, because I dont recall making one…
27 Nov 2011, 02:51 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-117: Arrogance? Personal attacks? The sure sign of someone that cannot play the ball, because you are outgunned. Lets take a look at some of Peter’s selections the last four years.
Failed Selections
Adi (13/12/11), Rose (10/15), Newman, Bobo, Conradie, Januarie, Olivier (12/14), Bobo, Kankan (8/6), Morne (15), Pienaar (10), Potgieter (6), Heinke (1), Smit (1/3), Kirchner (13), Danie (6), Spies (7), Odwa, Nokwe, de Jongh (12), Maku, Jonhson, Reubenheimer, Adams, Bekker, Watson, Frans (10/13), Jean (14), Carstens, Jantjes, Britz, Grant, Mujati, Butch (12), Lambie (10), Viljoen, Greyling, Kruger, Mvovo, Chavangha
You stand on hollow ground. It’s been very clear that de Villiers has been very poor in selecting players. He shuffles around what Jake put together, but very little has actually worked! Here are his only successful additions:
Morne (Forced), Brussow (Forced), Beast, Lambie (15, Forced), Alberts.
So, poor selections do not support your view at all. In fact it further bolsters my argument that even with such incompetence we still have a very formidable pack!
27 Nov 2011, 02:53 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-118: Juan, Brussouw, Schalk, Alberts, Minie, Danie (8), Strauss, Vermeulen, Spies to name but a few.
27 Nov 2011, 03:00 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-121: Spies? bwahahaha now I know youre delusional..
out of that lot youve named, only two maybe 3 are truly world class… Daniesaurus was average, same too vermuleun and Schalk and Alberts are crash ball dummies..
really, your argument looks extremely weak after naming those 6 as proving better depth that is unmatched
27 Nov 2011, 03:08 am
McCaw, Kaino, Read, Braid, Todd, Thompson, Messam, Vito…
all lossies that more than match SA’s “depth”..
but continue, it sure is entertaining..
one wonders why PDV had to go through so many players? surely with the depth in SA rugby any one of those should have stood up and done the job? I wonder what the problem was?
27 Nov 2011, 03:09 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-122: Schalk is a very great linking player with great offloading presence. Alberts is a more head-on player, but does it better than most, has impressive positioning and awareness. Spies is a very good cover defender and secure ball carrier. Even though he has two genuine weaknesses, he is such a threat that he regularly has 2 to 3 defenders assigned to him alone. Danie has been outstanding at 8 and 4 for years, not at all average. In fact, he has been better than Bakkies the last two years! You forget Schalk’s defensive ability too. How many players can make 2+ consecutive tackles one after the other and kill moves dead? I can’t think of any. He has lost some physicality, but his ball carrying is still something to behold. And Brussow plays the laws better than both Pocock and McCaw. The best fetcher in test rugby by far. All of the players I mentioned are world class, and all of them would bolster ANY other country were they to play for them.
27 Nov 2011, 03:12 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-123: Of those players I would definitely have Vito. The most underrated of NZs forwards by far. McCaw is an extraordinarily sloppy player, his ability to be big chums with the ref is the only thing he ever brought to the team. Kaino is a quality player, but we have better and Thompson is well overrated. Read simply has perfected the art of cheating and is a vital cog in the cheating dynamic with the franks brothers and McCaw. Nothing much else from him. Messam is okay. So out of those, only two would be worthy Boks. I really would like to see Vito in a Bok loose trio, it could be monstrous. The rest offer nothing we don’t already have, or better.
27 Nov 2011, 03:13 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-124: we’ll have to agree to disagree… gotta run… cheers.
27 Nov 2011, 03:14 am
Hey Alucard
I have lived in both SA and NZ and followed the game closely in both countries. must say I disagree with you. Saffas have tended to think they have strong loose forwards but really in the last decade NZ have RULED SA in the loose forward dept. SA have tended to produce one dimensional loose forwards – usually tall, strong and good ball carriers but quite ineffective especially when things get tough and they are going backwards.
IMO the main reason NZ has OWNED SA in the lst decade (have you seen the win-loss ledger – it’s getting embarrassing)is that NZ have produced way superior balanced loose forwards. Brussouw, Ruben Kruger and Schalk Burger apart, there simply has not been an SA loose forward to match McCaw, Kronfield, Michael Jones, Jerry Collins, Jerome Kainow, Zinzan Brooke, Kieran Read.
A world all-time team team might easily have an entire NZ loose forward trio (Zinzan Brooke, McCaw, Michael Jones).
SA keep thinking they have superior loose forwards and they keep getting beaten. Watch a tri nations game closely – NZ (and Australian) loose forwards very effective. SA loose forwards big and tough going forwards but usually beaten in this dept.
Now locks are another story and SA have ruled in the locks dept.
27 Nov 2011, 03:20 am
Alucard I can’t agree that Spies is world class. Come on son. He’s a typical big and fast looking SA bruiser who has disappointed in tight games when the going gets tough. Several of the others you have named are average and simply haven’t counted in big games.
Look at a tri-nations game carefully and watch how easily NZ and Australian loose forwards outsmart SA loose forwards. It’s not rocket science.
27 Nov 2011, 03:27 am
@Delki(Delki)-127: Not so. Jake had the Boks plough over the loose ball which heavily stifled over the loose ball and negated the fetcher. You mention win loss ratios but neglect to mention the complexion of those encounters. How often has SA been allowed to select it’s best starting XV? How often has South Africa had good coaches? Not often in the past 20 years! Looking at the entirety of the last four years and I notice something quite interesting from New Zealand. They use the Franks brothers, McCaw and Read to interfer with the breakdown. They bridge the ball, on retreat enter the ruck from the opponents side and disrupt the counter ruck by pulling players out of the ruck, McCaw lies on the ruck or fiddles with players offside. McCaw has a special status which allows him to do anything he wants. They also pull defenders out of line. In last years first two games, this alone contributed to most of their tries! Smith pulling both Kirchner and Morne out of their channels to leave a gap for Nonu to run through on the recycle is hardly playing to the laws! As for Australia? Their only advantage under Peter’s term was our sloppy defence which they literally walked through… not once Neinaber came into the picture and under Jake we had the better of Australia in the wins department and only ever struggled in Aus since 1998. So you fail to mention many things. New Zealand have a well structured progression path for coaches to thrive, we don’t. That has been the only real difference between the two. NZ have only had ONE bad coach in the last 20 years, South Africa have only had TWO good ones. Depth has never been an issue.
27 Nov 2011, 03:31 am
@Delki(Delki)-128: NZ and AUS have never outsmarted a South African loose trio. Having the ref on your side does not count as being smarter. And it is something that we cannot negate. Schalk, Brussow, Juan are three of the best, Spies is a recognised threat that, as I already stated, has many defenders assigned to him alone. But what do these coaches really know, hey? Spies’ only weakness is his head on tackling. But his cover defence is rock solid and his grunt is not at all bad. You can’t run around scoring 60m tries in every test you know! Either way you cut it, we have the superior depth at loose forward. More so than lock, but we also dominate there too. End of story, finished n klaar, finito. Good day.
27 Nov 2011, 03:35 am
Alucard you prove my point. Those things you mention are part of the modern game and MUST be done to be effective. SA and Aussie laugh (and win another game) as SAs fail to realise this. SA have no idea in this area (except for Brussouw who is FANTASTIC).
SAs have a delusional idea about the effectiveness of their loose forwards. There was an item on a British rugby website which asked readers from all over the world to rate their best loose forwards of all time. 5 or 6 Kiwis as well as a couple of Frenchies and Brits were voted into the top ten and not one SAFFA.
But SA will go on producing strong fast looking ball carriers like Spies and company and keep getting beaten.
27 Nov 2011, 03:39 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-130:
Are you on the sauce? Spies world class he he you must be.
27 Nov 2011, 03:41 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-130:
You currently don’t dominate anything in world rugby, not one trophy stop talking rubbish.
27 Nov 2011, 03:48 am
@Delki(Delki)-131: ***** Teeth, you are a closed minded stupidcnt, aren’t you…
Forget about Andre Venter, Juan Smith, Rassie Erasmus, Teichmann, Pienaar did you…?
And you use an “item on a British rugby website” asking “readers from all over the world to rate best loose forwards of all time” to justify your fcking myopic logic… HUH!!?
You say you follow the game…? More like doe eyed worship of loose forwards doing the haka being the limit of your rugby watching…
27 Nov 2011, 03:50 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-133: Ag fck off back to your Yangtze houseboat farken Kiwi pikey…
27 Nov 2011, 03:52 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-134:
relax buddy you have your chance at redemption next year, you’ll get your shot at the world champions soon enough, if you play well you might even move up to third in the rankings
27 Nov 2011, 03:55 am
Before you call me a s tupid c unt I have to go, have a great day HG.
27 Nov 2011, 03:57 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-136: As we know, the World Cup 2011 was as rigged as test match Cricket… So much for the “best world cup ever”… Its already forgotten… Ted, Hansen and the Kiwis playing for the BaaBaas making right royal ti.ts of themselves… So much for World Champs hey, they were a farken disgrace today against an Aussie B team…
27 Nov 2011, 03:59 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-137: Make sure you carry enough diesel on that Yangtze passion boat… Wouldn’t want a Kiwi stupidfck floating up the river without a paddle would we…
27 Nov 2011, 04:01 am
Let me help you Saffas here…..one of the reasons your loose forwards do not perform is because of their extremely poor body position. SA loose forwards tend to be upright ball carriers whereas NZ and Aussie loose forwards are much better on the ground and are able to drive in low. I have been amazed over the years how SA rugby keeps producing loose forwards who remain upright nearly all the time. SA have done this since 1992 and are usually OWNED by Australsian sides and they STILL do it in 2011. Spies, Juan Smith and co are prime examples.
Very poor body position for the modern game. Come on guys this is basic stuff……
27 Nov 2011, 04:05 am
@Delki(Delki)-140: Did you watch Kaino today… His body position was prone, ar.sehole in air, waiting for Pocock to do the obligatory manshaming, which he surely did do… “Great” technique… Farken useless… and the less said about Thompson the better… A paedophile Yeti would be most kind.
27 Nov 2011, 04:15 am
Yup, thats done for the precious chicken weazels…Outtahere
27 Nov 2011, 04:28 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-111: Gordon Brown (Broon of Troon), Willie-John McBride, Colin Meads, Benoit Dauga, even Frik du Preez….
27 Nov 2011, 04:41 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-141: could have been the weight of the world champions medal around his neck..
still love seeing the absolute hurt in your posts re the world cup..
its bew-di-ful
27 Nov 2011, 04:47 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-138: Ted and Hansen were “playing” for the baabaas were they?
lmfao…
I can just see your eye twitching as you typed that….classic..
27 Nov 2011, 06:05 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-87:
Show me an aussie supporter gloating and chest pumping?
27 Nov 2011, 06:53 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-145: Don’t know why I do this… Reading lessons for the idiots.
What part of “Ted, Hansen and the Kiwis playing for the BaaBaas making right royal ti.ts of themselves”
Maybe an extra comma like so:”Ted, Hansen, and the Kiwis playing for the BaaBaas making right royal ti.ts of themselves”…
Not that it will help considering your well known literacy deficiency…
Obviously the bucket bong you and Toeava seem to be partial to (especially considering his play today – fark, he was so ridiculous at 15, the commentator thought he was Mealamu more than once) affects the both of you more than you think it does…
Heck all those AB’s have been sucking bongs since October by the looks of things…
27 Nov 2011, 06:56 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-147: In my haste I forgot to add “dont you understand” after: What part of “Ted, Hansen and the Kiwis playing for the BaaBaas making right royal ti.ts of themselves”
Nevertheless it probably wouldn’t make a difference, really…
If you read more than couple of vowels and a consonant here or there I will be fortunate.
27 Nov 2011, 07:06 am
Wow
What thrashing.
Shame for ole Matfield though.
27 Nov 2011, 07:09 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-121:
oh boy, Spies lol
Alucard you were really onto something there,although all those players you named, zinzan and Jones would take care of all those players by themselves.
But sorry man, the spies thing is just wrong
27 Nov 2011, 07:28 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-145: Thought you left. Got too hot for you did it?
27 Nov 2011, 07:33 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-150:
“Spies’ only weakness is his head on tackling. But his cover defence is rock solid and his grunt is not at all bad. You can’t run around scoring 60m tries in every test you know!”
Sounds more like an assessment of a wing rather than an international 8th man.
27 Nov 2011, 07:44 am
@Delki(Delki)-127:
I beg to the difference
The best Kiwi combo I saw was in 1986 with Shelford, Alan Wheaton and Mike Brewer(?)
ABs never produced a dominant trio like the Boks in Venter, Kruger/Erasmus and Teichman(97′-99′), or that of Burger, Juan Smith/AJ Venter and Joe V Niekerk/J Cronje in 2004-2005.
In Terms of a single presence, the ABs never produced someone like the grossly under rated Juan Smith at 7, Kronfeld, Jones and McCaw all come 2nd close compared to the Silent Assassin from Bloem IMO
27 Nov 2011, 07:50 am
@David(David)-152:
But to put him in the same sentence as Zinzan brooke is a bit far for me.
Actually Spies does not clear out rucks, as you said head on tackle but i have seen him get brushed off a few times, and thats not head on.
Fact is he is not a great player, average at best
27 Nov 2011, 07:51 am
@David(David)-152:
oh and yes it does sound like a winger lol
27 Nov 2011, 07:57 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-134:
Pienaar wasn’t great at 6
In fact he was only the 5th in the pecking order: Tiaan Strauss, Andre Venter, Kruger and Andrew Aitken were all rated well above him at flank, I would say even Wayne Fyvvy was a better flank in 1996, but Pienaar was essential to the Boks team (just like JS), both as captains and in dealing with the new regime
27 Nov 2011, 08:02 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-141:
Kaino is over rated, himself admitted in 2009 that he was ‘owned’ by Smith and SB
27 Nov 2011, 08:08 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-156:
The Pienaar/Strauss debate has always intrigued me. The one argument that he was left out because of Pienaars captaincy ability strikes me as strange. As having two 6s in the squad wouldn’t have affected the balance, especially with Tiaans versatility as an 8th man.
The other story at the time, and one I tend to give more credit to, is that Tiaan insisted that he only be considered as a specialist 8, which was his preferred position at WP as well, and that his height at the back of the lineout finally ruled him out.
27 Nov 2011, 08:09 am
@David(David)-158:
Sorry, “lack of height” would be more accurate”.
27 Nov 2011, 08:12 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-154:
Brooks was fantastic No 8 and the best in business during 1991-1997.
Few rare qualities such as anticipation, reading correctly the game, and decisions making set him apart
But
The Kiwies themselves are divided if he was better than Shelford ?!
27 Nov 2011, 08:15 am
@David(David)-159: 100% Tiaan was just too short, given that you already had Kruger and Pienaar in the mix.
It was such an issue that they even played Mark Andrews at 8 in the final, as I’m sure you are very much aware. Worked out ok in the end though I guess.
27 Nov 2011, 08:19 am
@David(David)-158:
Tiaan challanged Christie’s authority, that why he was left out, imo him and Pienaar played well in 1993-1995 together, Strauss as No8
Nevertheless, the Boks won twice a RWC WITHOUT any established No,8, a sign of great coaches who knew how to make up.
27 Nov 2011, 08:21 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-161:
Didn’t they first play Andrews at 8 in the semi against France. I still remember some rather bemused comments by Andrews about that decision.
27 Nov 2011, 08:24 am
@David(David)-163: might be now that you mention it!
27 Nov 2011, 08:26 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-161:
It did
Albeit against a ‘weakened’ ABs team, with Strydom, Wiese and Andrews in the same line up the Boks’ forwards lacked mobility compared.
In short, it was a gamble which worked, plus super human efforts from Kruger, Joost, Swart and Os to make up.
27 Nov 2011, 08:30 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-165: In defense of the strategy, Andrews was one fantastic athlete when he first came onto the scene.
A forerunner of all those incredibly athletic locks that we’ve had since.
Now if we’d played Cobus at 8 lol……
27 Nov 2011, 08:31 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-164: @David(David)-163:
I think so too, but Semi in Durb was a slow Test played on a waterlogged pitch, mobility wasn’t such a factor.
On a hard pitch against an already altitude’s acclimatized ABs team that was a huge risk.
27 Nov 2011, 08:36 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-166:
It was a calculated risk, but it could backfired
27 Nov 2011, 08:36 am
Plod
Record at SARRIES
STARTED 2 GAMES
LOST 2 GAMES
AND COUNTING FOLKS
27 Nov 2011, 08:43 am
STILL NO NEWS ON BOK COACH…..
27 Nov 2011, 08:57 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-167:
The French still believe they were robbed in Durban.
27 Nov 2011, 08:58 am
@grant10(grant10)-170:
Make sure you stay by the phone for the call.
27 Nov 2011, 10:20 am
wtf did anyone expect regarding Smit at Sarries, the gulf of expertise and ability between the f’ng useless plodding fat funk fckup and the vociferous Brits is like chalk and f’ng cheese and our fckup brain surgeons here play him ahead of Bismark in the WC to get fckd out the 1/4′s … Pah go f’ng figure.., morons above useless morons united!!
27 Nov 2011, 10:23 am
@David(David)-172:
that would be like from frying pan into the fire.
If Grant got the nod to coach Boks he would pick Smit as his hooker whats the bet.
He has too or he will have nothing to talk about or moan about
27 Nov 2011, 10:24 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-173:
When smit left the field in the QFs wernt you guys ahead?
27 Nov 2011, 10:37 am
Smit sunk the Bok him and FdP alone, those two f’ng useless prima donna’s sunk the Boks in the WC with assistance by Burger and Spies
and Rassie Erasmus is no strategist, his entire blue print you can read in 2 lines. Give every loose ball to Burger and trust in the super bench. That is / was the entire fckup of a failure at the WC…
Playing Smit ahead of Bismark as Sarries will soon realise the abysmal folly of playing him over Brits, and having the neanderthal Burger as the go to ball carry link man who directly gifted Horwill’s try and couldn’t breach Aussie defense once even when a try was begging on their try line he coughed it up again.
27 Nov 2011, 10:45 am
Had Bismark and Alberts started the 1/4 final Aussie would have been annihilated in that match, they would not have been anywhere within a sniff of Boks, Boks would have whipped their asses into never never land. Instead we f’ng COMPROMISED and carried Smit,s Spies and FdP along with an injured Brussow and consequent result is we LOST
27 Nov 2011, 11:44 am
Whatever the result of this game,
Victor can hold his head high.
The worlds best lock for the last decade. (or thereabouts).
Go well Vic.
Go well.
27 Nov 2011, 11:52 am
Dingo needed this win,
the backstabbers were lined up in every doorwell in the ARU HQ.
27 Nov 2011, 12:00 pm
@cane(cane)-179:
More than likely,
an Alien prober in those corridors as well.
There are everywhere Okes.
Be prepared.
27 Nov 2011, 12:05 pm
yip skop
spinelessjellyfish coward plonker PDV
and fat boy Plod
Killes us stone cold dead…..fact!
Spies and FDP were nowhere…..
If we started with Hougaard, alberts and Bissy we would have at least had a shoy at a weakened and vulnerable kiwi team….
now we are nowhere….farken laughing stock…
p isses me off no end I tell you
27 Nov 2011, 12:21 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-173: Schalk Britz is suspended isn’t he? So he wouldn’t have been able to play regardless.
So at this stage the comparison is moot.
Personally I’m really surprised they signed him.
This year should have been his last.
27 Nov 2011, 12:24 pm
@grant10(grant10)-170: Grant there was an announcement a week or so ago by SARU, I think they said that they wouldn’t be making an announcement before mid to end January.
So for now it’s all just left to us to speculate I guess……
We should ask Ryan.
He’s the expert on “fact” when it comes to future predictions and foregone conclusions.
27 Nov 2011, 12:27 pm
Little birdie told me that gert smal is the next bok coach, during a meeting the ‘possible’ team discussed was:
Beast
Bissie
Jannie
Juam smith (excellent choice)
Bekker
Schalla (c)
Brussouw
Vermeulen (I would swop him with scalla)
Hougie
Elton jantjies
Habana
Jdv
Jdj
Jpp
Aplon
Chillie
Kruger
Spies
Super sarel
Lambie
Taute
27 Nov 2011, 12:35 pm
That is a good team, who knows, we’ll just have to wait and see.
I personally think that picking any Bok team 8 months before the next international with pretty much a whole season of Super Rugby ahead still, is a little premature.
27 Nov 2011, 12:45 pm
Lets look at the archetype SAFFA Loose forward score card:
- ball carrying – excellent
- lineout jumping – excellent
- tackling – very good
- fitness – average
- winning ball on ground – fail (except for Brussouw)
- body position – dismal fail
- making impact when team going backwards – dismal fail
- cunning, ability to push laws to and beyond limit – dismal fail
- ability to influence refs – hopeless, non existent.
That’s how it is folks. SA may produce plenty of players with an ideal loose forward body-type but when it comes to EFFECTIVENESS of loose forwards it’s not that hot. SA coaches simply havn’t seemed to cotton on to the above whereas for Australasian coaches this is basic bread and milk stuff.
27 Nov 2011, 12:58 pm
I wonder what campo feels like this morning, he had a lot to say about “running” game or lack thereof, then Aus go and demolish a pretty good babaa’s team.
27 Nov 2011, 13:05 pm
I’m worried about bekker, vermeulen and elstadt. They had long injury lay offs, will they be able to compete at S15 level?
I’m worried about the competence of WP decision makers. Bolla, francis and jacobs being considered for S15? NO jaque fourie, sadie, engelbrecht, cronje, moller and fondse? NOT moving to CPT stadium?
WP rugby not in good place atm
27 Nov 2011, 13:15 pm
I see Jake White has again dropped a moerse big hint that he wants the England job. This just months after he signed a 4 year contract with the Brumbies, his first coaching job offer since 2007…
The Brumbies must be feeling pretty edgy… the Snake could up and leave at any second…
Jake:
Do yourself a favour, mate, and honour your contract. The Brumbies have a proud and excellent (albeit short) history. Succeeding with them will add a feather to your cap. Show some loyalty and you will gain some lost respect.
27 Nov 2011, 13:22 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-189:
Interesting, why would he do it?
What is the source for this news?
27 Nov 2011, 13:23 pm
The source is Jake White, talking to BBC radio. The story is on News24.
27 Nov 2011, 13:23 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-184: There is no way they will be thinking about the next Bok squad at this stage. A new coach will have his own vision and if he has any intelligence he will wait until the end of the S15 before he picks his team.
27 Nov 2011, 13:25 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-188: I’ve always rated JD Moller. His critic have said that he isn’t as mobile as, say, Blaauw, but he’s a much better scrummager, and for me that’s where it starts.
Blaauw is a terrible scrummager.
27 Nov 2011, 13:30 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-189:
Brumbies should now enact any possible clause in their contract with Jake, to rid themselves of his services.
27 Nov 2011, 13:31 pm
Jake has never been shy on confidence.
Some may even say arrogance.
I’m half-way between the 2.
You cannot be a wallflower and coach any senior team.
Some seem to get it right without p issing a whole bunch of people off. Mallet was the same.
Then on the other end you have PDV, who just leaves everyone scratching their heads in bemusement.
27 Nov 2011, 13:34 pm
I happen to think that Jake would make a decent England coach.
He loves good structure.
Strong technical acumen.
Can relate to that “stick up your bottom” attitude that the poms have.
Not sure how he feels about dwarf tossing though.
27 Nov 2011, 13:35 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-195:
True, You cannot be a Wallflower.
But you cannot be a shameless egotist either.
27 Nov 2011, 13:36 pm
its time to get down to the saru offices granty
and force a meeting with a few of the bigheads
ask them a few probing questions
you know, really get inside them
get down to the bottom of this
strap on your protective gear though, guy..its gonna be rough.. i bet…
but hey…team south africa needs you now more than ever, player 23
gIVE IT TO THEM FULL cAPS
aND fARK DONT BE SORRY…
27 Nov 2011, 13:41 pm
jake white is really doing a good job of making it high onto my ‘total self serving doos- of note’ list.
he took the brumbies job.
he should honour the contract.
besides, at this rate he”ll prob get a crack in a year or so/
27 Nov 2011, 13:42 pm
If Jake thought the Brumbies job was beneath him………………….why apply, and why accept.
If Jake thought the Brumbies not a challenge……………….why apply.
If Jake thought he could not committ to the Brumbies, why accept.
Is his word, his signature, his commitment………………….. worth nothing at all.
27 Nov 2011, 13:48 pm
the guys a **** at this rate, really.
i hope he has no future success at national level.
on a similar note, i see applications for the ‘dirtiest team in world rugby’ coach has closed and that the list is comprised of three people.
hansen being one of them, i wonder who the other two are?
27 Nov 2011, 13:50 pm
Brumbies management must be seething… just a few months ago Jake wanted to ride in and rescue the Boks… Jake had to back-track then and promise he was only interested in the Brumbies…
The Brumbies must have a contingent coach lined up, they’d be crazy not to.
27 Nov 2011, 13:50 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-153: Venter/Rassie, Kruger, Teichmann weren’t half bad as a combo, hey…. Neither were Pienaar, Kruger, Straeuli… Heck, the latter fcked up the loosie combo packed with “greats” such as Brooke, Kronfeld, Brewer, with Andrews, a lock, playing instead of Straeuli in the WC final for most of the game.
27 Nov 2011, 13:51 pm
hell of a record to follow on.
personally i dont think any all black team with any all black coach in the future will ever match teddy-g’s record.
27 Nov 2011, 13:52 pm
@David(David)-163: The final, my boy… The final… Kitchies masterstroke.
27 Nov 2011, 13:53 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-202:
justice would be for the brumbies to ditch him first.
or make the rfu pay a monumental release fee or something.
27 Nov 2011, 14:03 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-195: This post is true. Yes. Yodaesque.
27 Nov 2011, 14:07 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-189: @wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-191: Fark me, what a kn.ob… I very much doubt he is England’s preference any way… They seriously want Mallet, but he seriously wants the Bok job….
Please God, let it be so. Mallet as Bok coach again.
27 Nov 2011, 14:19 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-204:
Ted is but a boy compred to Fred Allen.
Freddy was 14 from 14.
27 Nov 2011, 14:21 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-208:
Speaking of *****,
how goes it HG.
27 Nov 2011, 14:26 pm
@cane(cane)-209:
gosh, only 14 games though compared to teddy’s 100+ surely you cant make a comparison?
had allen coached any longer would he have retained a good win record?
no man, graham henry’s the best you guys ever had imo.
i honestly do not think you guys will have a better showing for a long time to come.
27 Nov 2011, 14:26 pm
Fck Ted… Fck Fred Allen.
I give you Kitch Christie…
Transvaal Currie Cup Champs.
Transvaal Super 10 Champs
Bok World Cup Champs… (100% Bok win ratio)
Achieved all within a couple of years….
Would love to know Master Kitchies overall combined win record as Provincial and International coach…
Unsurpassed I would imagine.
27 Nov 2011, 14:30 pm
@cane(cane)-210: It goes well, kn.ob… You?
27 Nov 2011, 14:33 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-203:
I was reacting to a bold statement that Jones, Kronfeld and Brooks were the best ever in business as a combo.
I thought the 1986 Cavaliers had a better unit, so were the Boks of 1997-1998
27 Nov 2011, 14:39 pm
@cane(cane)-209:
interesting fact:
of graham henry’s 15 looses as coach 8 of those were to the springboks.
27 Nov 2011, 14:42 pm
looses = losses
27 Nov 2011, 14:43 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-215: that’s to be expected. The ABs lose to no other team more than they lose to the Boks.
Not even the Aussies, who rate themselves as the ABs finest opponents.
27 Nov 2011, 14:46 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-214: I was agreeing with you in the main… I disagree about the Cavaliers unit – I’ll take Kruger, Venter, Teich any day of the week…
27 Nov 2011, 14:46 pm
i’ve got a feeling hansen’s not the man for the blacks.
also, i think they’re still going to be feeling the emotional effects next year of having finally won.
my prediction oz favourites to win the four nations with springboks the dark horse outsiders.
27 Nov 2011, 14:49 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-217:
yip, we still run them hardest. more wins against teddy-g’s all blacks than the rest of the world combined.
tell me there ain’t no conspiracies in this ol’ world.
27 Nov 2011, 14:52 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-219: Judging on yesterday, it seems that every AB has been sucking on a huge bucket sized bong since October… I wouldn’t be surprised if Hansen has been too – he looked as dozy as fck yesterday…
As for Ted – asked at half time what the BaaBaas needed to do to win, his reply was: “Kick for the tramlines”…. WTF? A BaaBaas game… He sounded halfpissed too…
Nothing like Kiwis outdoing themselves and living up to stereotype and expectation… Only the cheating missing yesterday.
27 Nov 2011, 15:01 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-221:
yip, hansen’s just got a look about him that does not impress.
both reechie and danny boy’s going into the ugly side of their prime now.
considering those factors coupled with the emotional exhaustion of the last 23 years i can easily see the all blacks tamely surrendering next year and then quite possibly even struggling the year after.
i think the collective rugby world is now tired of their cheating and having gifted them a cup will start to come down on them. also, this new ammendment to the citing rules for foul play could very well come back to bite the all blacks more than most.
27 Nov 2011, 15:34 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-205:
Semi final as well, my child. Just confirmed it on genslins site.
27 Nov 2011, 15:42 pm
Apart from some of the world stars going AWOL yesterday (Kaino et. al.) what we’ve learned is that rugby is indeed a team sport.
We’ve always known this of course, but the extent was confirmed by a mediocre performance from the Aussies being good enough to put 60 points past the all stars.
The highlight of the afternoon being Mortlock’s huge hit. Colossal. Gave me a headache.
That’s the way it’s done Pierre.
27 Nov 2011, 15:47 pm
Boks 1980 Morne, Louw, Stofberg.
Boks 1981 Wynand, Louw, Stofberg.
Nothing wrong with those combos.
27 Nov 2011, 15:49 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-224:
Pierre’s an 8th man. Nobody told him he’d have to tackle like that, otherwise he’d of stayed at wing.
27 Nov 2011, 15:53 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-218:
At least that!
27 Nov 2011, 15:58 pm
@David(David)-225: Good combos, son… Ruff and tuff.
27 Nov 2011, 16:01 pm
@David(David)-225:
You could go back to Ellis, Bedford and Boland too but you have to draw the line somewhere, those greats loosies only played 5 Tests a year, no EOYT, no warm ups and had no Super Rugby’s 9-14 extra games per season
27 Nov 2011, 16:03 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-228:
Yup, then before them there was the Greyling/Ellis combo, probably the worlds best at the time.
27 Nov 2011, 16:07 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-229:
Yeah, but if we’re also including the cavaliers it’s a fair stretch.
You beat me to it.
27 Nov 2011, 16:16 pm
My Best Boks
15 Jouba
14 Mordt
13 Gerber
12 Du Plessis
11 Van Vollenhoven
10 Honiball
9 Joost
8 Du Plessis
7 Venter
6 Kruger
5 Frik
4 Matfield
3 Domkrag
2 Uli
1 Os
27 Nov 2011, 16:22 pm
jw is the biggest selfserving piece of trash cn’t going and he ain’t even a decent rugby coach
Totally faked by his own self serving infatuated opinion of himself
27 Nov 2011, 16:26 pm
@233 Ollie Le Roux,
I get why you hate smit, why do you hate White?
27 Nov 2011, 16:27 pm
Heavensgame:
who would your coach have been? I hope its a coach that would not drop honniball for naas for fear of not having a recognised kicker!
27 Nov 2011, 16:30 pm
best 11 is Carel not Van Vollenhoven and Matfield is a 5 not a 4
27 Nov 2011, 16:32 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-232:
Nice selection, but there’s a number of other contenders for all those positions if you want to go back as far as Van Vollenhoven. Personally, I reckon Wynand was a better 8 than Morne at the time and what about Hennie Muller? In my opinion, Frik was a better 7 than lock. Gerber’s a non negotiable, but remember that he played 12 and 13. At 12 I’d also rate Whipp and if Gerber played 12 there’s also Peter Cronje at 13 or Roux. HO at 15. The list goes on.
27 Nov 2011, 16:33 pm
@BULLET(BULLET)-235: Only one coach, Cuzzie… Kitch.
Honiball is my man, and Michael DuP had a decent boot too, but if a kicker was absolutely needed then Keith Oxlee would be my man… Hard one, but if that Natal Soutie could make it in that era then he must have been farken good…
27 Nov 2011, 16:35 pm
@David(David)-237: Hold on, its my team… My bunch of favourites… Pick your side… Mine will shag yours 6 days out of a seven day week, guaranfukkenteed …
27 Nov 2011, 16:37 pm
Do you REALLY want to be asking skoppiekins why he dislikes JW? Where have you been? Skopster tells us why at least three-hundred-and-forty-six times a day.
27 Nov 2011, 16:38 pm
@BULLET(BULLET)-235:
You know, if you want Honiball at 10, then you should also consider Michael Dupe. They’re very similar players and both played 10 and 12 successfully, and both kicked like sh*t.
27 Nov 2011, 16:39 pm
White is a can’t Smit a selfish useless palooka who cost his country a Wc through his desire to be immortalized
And you Bullet are a moron who can’t see sh’t for trees you hail these can’ts like Smit and White while denouncing Mallet for dropping your hero Teichman for Bobby S
27 Nov 2011, 16:39 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-239:
Prove it!
27 Nov 2011, 16:49 pm
My favourite team of all time:
15 Blanco
14 Mordt
13 Gerber
12 Sella (had to move him inside)
11 Campo
10 Porta
9 Joost
8 Du Plessis
7 Kruger
6 JP Rives
5 Eales
4 Matfield
3 JP Garuet
2 Uli
1 Os
27 Nov 2011, 16:55 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-244:
Joost instead of Gareth Edwards? I can also think of a number of better choices for 8 than Morne.
27 Nov 2011, 17:07 pm
@au revoir mon tout noirs, au revoir…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-222:
yer mate the Ab’s are supposed to tamely surrender every year, this time next year we all know who’ll be top of the world rankings
27 Nov 2011, 17:12 pm
@David(David)-245: Joost over Edwards any day of the week… Morne Du Plessis is an IRB Hall of Famer, a good leader, a good man and most of all a great Rugby player…. A great example of the best of South African… Got that?
27 Nov 2011, 17:17 pm
@David(David)-245:
watched a doccie on barry johns take apart the kiwis in ’71 series, he looked pretty amazing, called the george best of rugby, looked like it, effortless.
27 Nov 2011, 17:24 pm
@cab(cab)-248:
Now do you see why I rate him above Bennett?
27 Nov 2011, 17:26 pm
Here’s a 15 for you to chew on:
1. Sepaka
2. Ollie
3. Eddie Andrews
4. Quintin Davids
5. Elandre Van Der Berg
6. Tim Dlulane
7. Solly (Sorry boet)
8. Twatson (not sorry)
9. Van Hoeselin
10. Sherryl (He had a hot wife though)
11. Khaya Molatana
12. Jorrie Muller
13. Danie Van Schalkwyk
14. McNeil hendriks
15. Earl Rose.
Special Mentions:
Dale Santon
Deon De Kock
Gio Cronje
Owen Nkumane
27 Nov 2011, 17:27 pm
(Repost) Here’s a 15 for you to chew on:
1. Sepaka
2. Ollie
3. Eddie Andrews
4. Quintin Davids
5. Elandre Van Der Berg
6. Tim Dlulane
7. Solly (Sorry boet)
8. Twatson (not sorry)
9. Van Hoeselin
10. Sherryl (He had a hot wife though)
11. Khaya Molatana
12. Jorrie Muller
13. Danie Van Schalkwyk
14. McNeil hendriks
15. Earl Rose.
Special Mentions:
Dale Santon
Deon De Kock
Gio Cronje
Owen Nkumane
I met both Mallet and Morne du Plessis at a function together once
The contrast between the ultimate humble gentleman and the brash egoist was poignant obvious. I’ll leave you to guess who was which
@cab(cab)-248:
Hey Cab, the only time we have lost to the Lions, check the scores he didn’t really take us apart.
26 June 1971
The Lions
Dunedin, Carisbrook
3 – 9
10 July 1971
The Lions
Christchurch, Lancaster Park
22 – 12
31 July 1971
The Lions
Wellington, Athletic Park
3 – 13
14 August 1971
The Lions
Auckland, Eden Park
14 – 14
27 Nov 2011, 17:30 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-252:
Mallets a Pom.
27 Nov 2011, 17:34 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-254:
For 6 weeks.
27 Nov 2011, 17:36 pm
@David(David)-249:
yes, he was brilliant.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-253:
yes, pretty amazing that the only series ever lost on NZ soil, but he did take u apart a bit, even the AB players that were interviewed said he was very special.
27 Nov 2011, 17:36 pm
@David(David)-255:
Don’t tell Big Hit, he’ll accuse you of poaching.
27 Nov 2011, 17:37 pm
only series ever lost to BIL – should read.
27 Nov 2011, 17:37 pm
@cab(cab)-256:
I’m sure he did but the scores were pretty close in that series Lions deserved it but could have gone either way, Meads last test at the garden of Eden,
27 Nov 2011, 17:39 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-247:
I have tremendous respect for Morne. I stiil remember a game at Ellis Park against Tvl. Someone broke his jaw when he was coming down in a lineout, with a realyy nasty punch. He came back and almost single handedly took Tvl apart with a performance of controlled, cold fury.
27 Nov 2011, 17:39 pm
Personally I couldn’t give 2 ***** what personality the coach has, provided the team wins the games it should.
Every home game.
Every NH game.
27 Nov 2011, 17:42 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-261:
90% of home games, all NH games
27 Nov 2011, 17:42 pm
Mallet’s a saffa who was educated like a Pom, thats the diffs. But he’s an Ok old oak in spite of his Pom like breeding nevertheless. Far better all round person than that snake eyed schmuck White
27 Nov 2011, 17:46 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-250: Fck me. Lost for words. Make Straueli coach of that side and Bobs your Uncle
27 Nov 2011, 17:56 pm
Danie Craven is statistically the best coach ever in SA rugby (only taking into account those who coached for >20 tests). He “won” 17/23 = 74% including a 4-0 whitewash against the 1949 All Blacks.
27 Nov 2011, 17:59 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-263:
From Wikki:
Mallett moved to Rhodesia with his family in 1956 when he was only six weeks old, and his father, Anthony Mallett took up a post as an English teacher at the recently founded Peterhouse School, in Marandellas near Salisbury.[2] Nick first arrived in Cape Town, South Africa in 1963, when his father, was appointed Headmaster of Diocesan College, after which he attended St. Andrew’s College in Grahamstown. He graduated from the University of Cape Town in 1977 with a BA in English and History. While a student at the university, he was selected to play for the Western Province rugby union team.
In 1979 Mallett moved back to England to attend the University of Oxford (University College), where he not only gained further qualifications but also won Blues in rugby union and cricket, famously hitting three sixes in one over off Ian Botham. Eventually he returned to South Africa, where he represented Western Province in four consecutive Currie Cup wins between 1982 and 1985, and played two games for the Springboks in 1984 against the South American Jaguars
27 Nov 2011, 18:00 pm
what the purpose of that post 251/250?
Some those players were Ok including Watson and Tiyabilika or Andrews, Le Roux and Davids
Seems your prejudice is clouding your rugby judgment
27 Nov 2011, 18:01 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-265: there are surprisingly few coaches who have coached the Boks for 20 or more games, given the long history.
27 Nov 2011, 18:02 pm
@David(David)-266:
what position did he play?
27 Nov 2011, 18:03 pm
Mallett’s blood is as green as anyones. Others will try lead you to believe otherwise for their own nefarious purposes.
27 Nov 2011, 18:03 pm
@cab(cab)-256:
I saw him at Newlands in the opening game of the ’68 Lions tour against WP. He broke his leg, but not before two amazing breaks. The guy was imperious.
27 Nov 2011, 18:05 pm
Ok I stand corrected David so our man Nick is actually a Pom posing as a saffa
27 Nov 2011, 18:08 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-268:
True, but in the old days they also did not play so often. It took Craven for example 7 years to do his 23 tests as a coach.
27 Nov 2011, 18:11 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-269:
8th man. His brother Ashley, also played for WP.
27 Nov 2011, 18:12 pm
Mallett sister lived in Fish Hoek when I moved here in 96 there was an estate agency called Mallett’s Estate Agency. I think he also played for False Bay rugby club some time
27 Nov 2011, 18:13 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-272:
He’s as genuine a Saffa as the Kiwis claim their PIs are.
27 Nov 2011, 18:14 pm
Mallett is pretty much south african if he grew up in SA and rhodesia until his mid-twenties, he’s got a south african accent and im sure thats where he considers his roots. Mallett was opinionated and the old SARU farts at the time didnt like that. there’s nothing wrong with that at all, but he was he was a brilliant coach, and went on to have a great deal of success with stade francaise really making them into a powerhourse, probably he and kitch our best since readmission, only SA could be that stupid and chase him away.
27 Nov 2011, 18:14 pm
Lol, Mallett spent his 1st seven years in Rhodesia and then spent three years at Oxford and all of a sudden he is a pom?
27 Nov 2011, 18:15 pm
@David(David)-274:
Nic’s brother is called Dave- used to play flank for UCT and False Bay.
I think Ashley Mallett played cricket for Australia
27 Nov 2011, 18:16 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-278:
It is like calling Andrew Merthens a South African.
27 Nov 2011, 18:19 pm
@cab(cab)-277:
He was born in England and spent the first 6 or 7 years in Rhodesia but he’s a SAFFA no problem with that , if a PI comes to NZ when they’re 1 or 2 and then plays for NZ what does that make him?
27 Nov 2011, 18:21 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-281: no problem with that.
27 Nov 2011, 18:22 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-279:
You’re right.
27 Nov 2011, 18:26 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-282:
there should be problem with 27 year old Nzers going to England and then 3 years later playing in white though
27 Nov 2011, 18:28 pm
@David(David)-266: Qualifications at Oxford… Geography…? While playing Rugger of course… lol
27 Nov 2011, 18:29 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-281:
yeah but u guys recuit from islands that are so far away from new zealand that they may as well be in japan or the u.s.a. rhodesia used to play in our currie cup, ray mordt was rhodesian, also had a spell in rugby league for wigan i think.
27 Nov 2011, 18:31 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-284: yes, agree. Like Rathbone… captained our u21 side then next thing shedding tears at the sound of Watzing Matilda. It’s all a bit fake, you can’t lose or change what’s deep down in you.
27 Nov 2011, 18:33 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-285: Good to see Mallet has got a bit of Rhodesian in him… Like Mordt… Like Pocock nowadays… A bit like a Super Saffa – a bit of steel and brains added to the brawn….
27 Nov 2011, 18:35 pm
Saying guys like Hape and Flutey are English is like suggesting the Pope is actually muslim. I reckon you should have to have lived in a country for at least 10 to 15 years before qualifying to play there.
27 Nov 2011, 18:38 pm
how the hell can ngwenya, the zim speedster that skinned habana and scoring countless tries for biarritz, slip through the fingers of the SA talent scouts? imagine him and habana on the wings in their pomp? good god almighty, and then there was chavanga, probably the fastest players that union’s ever seen tho the welsh had that olympic sprinter, pretty hopeless rugby player tho.
27 Nov 2011, 18:38 pm
Nick’s brother is coach at Bishop’s I believe
And has much to say about the make up of Uct 1st rugby team
Man City 1 – Liverpool 1
Man City scored twice, once in each net
27 Nov 2011, 18:43 pm
95% of the island boys who have ever played for the ab’s grew up in nz like mallet did in sa, for some reason this is viewed differently in sa as its perfectly ok for a Rhodesian to play for the Bokke, anyway that topic has been overdone around here it is what it is, lets hope your new coach has already started to plot the downfall of the world champions late in china good night
27 Nov 2011, 18:44 pm
night night NZINCHINA
27 Nov 2011, 18:48 pm
Mallett’s just like a bloody Ridgeback, once a Rhodesian always a Rhodesian, just like Beast and Bob Skinstadt too, and seems all these ex Rhodesian ridgebacks all gravitate to Cape Town unless they end up on Richmond upon Thames
27 Nov 2011, 18:50 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-291:
Nic is married to Peter Whipp’s sister.
And Peter is nowadays quite a useful long board surfer often seen in the waters of Muizenberg – when your favourite predator is lurking at nearby fish hoek
27 Nov 2011, 18:51 pm
wtf u talkin about, u come from bladdy springs by way of israel, and u also ended up gravitating to CT.
27 Nov 2011, 18:54 pm
christus, everyone seems to know everyone in cape town, i thought all they did down there was smoke peace pipe and surf…
27 Nov 2011, 18:59 pm
@cab(cab)-297:
unfortunately they aren’t very good at surfing these days.
last decent one was jonathan paarman but he was ages ago.
27 Nov 2011, 19:00 pm
@charo(charo)-298:
lol, were u into the surfing off the natal coast?
27 Nov 2011, 19:01 pm
all the good guys gravitate to Cape Town its the bums that land up in Kingston upon Thames. Bobby Skinstadt lives just down the road in Noordhoek so he should know. Same as Bryan Habana, James Small and Jacques Fourie, they know a decent place to settle down in when they see it.
27 Nov 2011, 19:02 pm
we had a big surfing world champ in the 80s didnt we, from durban, shane something or otehr? only thing i remember were the guntson 500 adverts, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 – sounded like a horse-racing commentator.
27 Nov 2011, 19:05 pm
wtf’s in kingston upon thames?
27 Nov 2011, 19:08 pm
my mate Donald Paarman was the best surfer of them all except he smoked so much peace pipe he couldn’t give a fck about all the pseudo name up in lights jingo jargon even though he was Bok surfer already at age 16
27 Nov 2011, 19:12 pm
@cab(cab)-301:
shaun tomson.
i’ve surfed this whole coast – from elands on the west coast to some secret spots on kzn north coast.
also tamarin bay in mauritius.
rate elands over supers any day.
yep, they all love that peace pipe, its like mothers milk. couple of toots on that and they reckon they some sort of no-ego koos kombuis modern lothario.
@cab(cab)-301: Shaun Tomson?
27 Nov 2011, 19:13 pm
Rhodesian Bok Side
15 Ian Robertson
14 Mordt
13 Ryk Van Schoor
12 Andy Marinos
11 Tony Watson
10 Kennedy Tsimba
8 Teichmann
7 Skinstad
6 Des Van Jaarsveldt
5 Salty Du Rand
3 Adrian Garvey
2 Ronnie Hill
1. Andy MacDonald (Wrestled a Lion with bare hands)/Beast
Coach: Ian Mac
Missing a lock and scrummy and the Rhodesian Bok side is complete.
27 Nov 2011, 19:14 pm
Shaun Thompson from Durbs big bok surfing champ , but Donald Paarman was better only he didn’t chase the name and fame and smoked peace pipe instead.
27 Nov 2011, 19:14 pm
@charo(charo)-304:
oh yes thats him, the kzn coast was pretty treacherous waters and currents, esp up north of durban, near mandini and stanga. that surfing looks really good tho, there’s a video called liquid on utube where they show the whole californian surfing scene.
27 Nov 2011, 19:19 pm
couple buddies of mine built their dream hide away retire cottages on Elands bay beach, when you building yours Charo buddy
27 Nov 2011, 19:20 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-307:
**** thats one **** Bok side, didnt u guys have better players, wasnt tommy bedford a whenwe?
27 Nov 2011, 19:21 pm
@charo(charo)-298:
Do not talk kak man- you have lost “touch”- too much golf
Of the top 20 men on the local Pro Surfing Tour there are 7 from East London, 6 from Cape Town, 6 from Durban and 1 from Mossel Bay. We can claim the MB bloke (close enough) so we have more than Durban in the top 20..
27 Nov 2011, 19:22 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-307:
who was that rhodie scrummie with the beard?
buchanan or something?
27 Nov 2011, 19:24 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-310:
water’s too cold for my old bones.
stick to the indian ocean these days.
@Robzim(Robzim)-312:
rob, since when does “local pro” count for anything?
jordy smith is in the world top 10 – that’s all that counts for me 8)
27 Nov 2011, 19:26 pm
@cab(cab)-311:
tommy bedford came from harrismith if i remember correctly.
27 Nov 2011, 19:27 pm
@charo(charo)-315:
lol, oh right, thought he was the natalian who went on about last outpost and so on, so might have had rhodesian roots or something?
@charo(charo)-314:
It was worth a try, lol.
Was Craig Jameson not a whenwe?
27 Nov 2011, 19:28 pm
@cab(cab)-311: Tommie Bedford, scion of the Last Outpost of the British Empire was born in…. Vrystaat actually… Funny that.
27 Nov 2011, 19:31 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-318: Thought about him but can’t find anywhere that says where he was born…
27 Nov 2011, 19:33 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-317:
actually i was joking.
didn’t realise that so many guys on the pro tour came from slummies.
good on them.
surfed nahoon and gonubie a lot in the early eighties.
27 Nov 2011, 19:33 pm
ANdrew Blades, Steve Atherton?
27 Nov 2011, 19:35 pm
@charo(charo)-313: Yup… Wasn’t a Bok but we’ll put him in…
Just need another lock.
27 Nov 2011, 19:36 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-320:
got some good news for you.
remember my issue with under taxing my local staff in ghana?
quite a lot of septic dollars involved.
well…. i got out before the revenue guys got to me.
my american successor sit with the problem today
27 Nov 2011, 19:37 pm
@cab(cab)-322: Nope, Blades and Atherton not Rhodesian… Blakeways were too farken stupid to be Rhodies…
27 Nov 2011, 19:39 pm
@charo(charo)-324: Lol… Fck me you must have run like the wind… Sounds like one helluvathing you were involved with there…
27 Nov 2011, 19:40 pm
keith oxlee, hugh-reece edwards?
27 Nov 2011, 19:41 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-325:
sorry think it was blakeway was thinking of, hard-working unsung flank grafter in early 90s.
27 Nov 2011, 19:43 pm
@cab(cab)-327: Sheezus, you like a typical farken Vaalie… Any Natal player with a half soutie sounding name you reckon must be a Rhodesian…
Nope, neither of them… Looking for a lock and then my team is complete.
27 Nov 2011, 19:44 pm
@cab(cab)-328: Two Blakeway brothers… Andrew and Lyle, both mad as a pack of dogs. Natal Midlands thru and thru…
27 Nov 2011, 19:45 pm
@charo(charo)-321:
I was also surprised – only did the count to reply to your post.
Same here- have not been to Nahoon for probably 20 years-.never really felt at ease at that place for some or other reason.
A buddy of mine once got dropped in at Nahoon by a bloke on a paddle ski- he told him to fark of with his bathtub and all- the bloke apologised and it turned out to be the SA champ called Kola Le Roux- nice people in Slummies actually.
27 Nov 2011, 19:54 pm
Just found out that Johnny Wilkinson’s parents are from Bulawayo…
27 Nov 2011, 19:55 pm
Max and Thom Evans from Scotland born in Harare.
27 Nov 2011, 19:57 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-264: Thought you’d enjoy that one.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-285: Many of the guys went to oxford and got an honors in business management. MBA light, if you will.
Brink, Aitken, Michael Kirsten are just some of my peers who went over.
@charo(charo)-298: I used to own a Jonathan Paarman waveboard (windsurfer). Fantastic board. He is a legend. I see he now makes canopies.
27 Nov 2011, 20:00 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-317: Hey Rob, I saw your post on the other thread about Eric, Anette and Neil. I have the same thing in common
Not representing SA, the other thing lol..
We had quite a few good’uns over the years….
27 Nov 2011, 20:04 pm
Are there any honkeys left in Zim these days?
27 Nov 2011, 20:05 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-334: honours in business management – didn’t even know Oxbridge had such a thing… Thought it was always Land Management or Geography for most of the Sporting Blues…
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-337: Forgot the lol
1. Guthro Steenkamp/Beast Mtawarira
2. Bismarck du Plessis/Chilliboy Rallepele
3. Brian Mujati/Jannie du Plessis
4. Bakkies Botha/Alistair Hargreeves
5. Andries Bekker/Eben Etsebeth
6. Heinrich Brussow/Schalk Burger ©
7. Juan Smith/Josh Straus
8. Pierre Spies/Willem Alberts
9. Francois Hougaard/Jano Vermaak
10. Patrick Lambie/Elton Jantjies
11. Lwasi Mvovu/Michael Killian
12. Jean de Villiers/Juan de Jongh
13. Jaque Fourie/ Johann Sadie
14. Lionel Mapoe/JP Pietersen
15. Jaco Taute/Johan Goosen
1. Graeme Smith
2. Rilee Rossouw
3. Hashim Amla
4. Jaques Kallis
5. AB de Villiers (wk)
6. Reeza Hendricks
7. JP Duminy
8. Vernon Philander
9. Dale Steyn
10. Morne Morkel
11. Imran Tahir
27 Nov 2011, 20:07 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-336: Yeah, but the only ones earning any decent money and not in dire poverty are farken crooks or work for UN/NGOs which puts them in the same bracket I reckon.
27 Nov 2011, 20:10 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-337: Yeah who knew. Still not too stressful. More rugby than anything else. I worked with another guy, Pierre Du Preez, got his blues for both cricket and rugby.
27 Nov 2011, 20:10 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-340: funny that Malema and friends don’t ever hold up Zim as a shining light of African nationalism. I wonder how they see SA turning out any better?
27 Nov 2011, 20:13 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-335:
OK, I thought you attended that institution, lol.
I do not know Anette or Neil personally but have met Eric at Virgin Active some years ago and spoke a few times to him since – great bloke indeed, I am glad he had the success in India together with Gary.
27 Nov 2011, 20:14 pm
sheez Ollie Le Roux,
Why are you so touchy today?
27 Nov 2011, 20:16 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-341: Pierre Du Preez… Familiar name…
27 Nov 2011, 20:17 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-342: Oh, but Malema does… Bob’s his Uncle – his hero… Zanu is his template.
27 Nov 2011, 20:21 pm
i believe there is a nandos ad out thats caused a bit of controversy, where it shows a number of dictators in a dream sequence with water pistols. i also enjoyed those nandos ads, very subtle.
27 Nov 2011, 20:29 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-345: Married a Getty?
27 Nov 2011, 20:35 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-343: Never met Neil. I swam with Anette through Primary school and high school but she was a few years older than me, so I hardly knew her.
I know Eric fairly well, I got him to speak at some functions over the years, a really good guy.
27 Nov 2011, 20:57 pm
Historybollocks!
27 Nov 2011, 20:58 pm
Morning all. Just reading all the stuff about surfing etc
27 Nov 2011, 21:00 pm
@cab(cab)-347: it’s very funny. it’s on youtube, type in “Nandos last dictator”
27 Nov 2011, 21:01 pm
Hi Charo Robzim and skoppie and stormersboy
27 Nov 2011, 21:04 pm
I suppose they the only people here!
27 Nov 2011, 21:05 pm
Get Shorty on tv. My fave.
27 Nov 2011, 21:06 pm
oh sorry Dawn
sorry about that
27 Nov 2011, 21:06 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-353:
howzit pete
@Dawn(Dawn)-354:
good evening madam
27 Nov 2011, 21:07 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-355:
Just you were not talking surfing
Can you surf Dawn?
27 Nov 2011, 21:11 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-353: Hey Coach
27 Nov 2011, 21:11 pm
Many good memories about surfing with the Parrmans
and with Peter Whipp too
27 Nov 2011, 21:12 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-359:
Keo should have a surfing section here
27 Nov 2011, 21:13 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-360: Did they still make the boards out of wood in those days ?
27 Nov 2011, 21:16 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-362:
Nope foam
John Whitmore made them he was out of Bakoven
Good boards with stringers
Although the cheaper boards were made of the older type foam
and got waterlogged quick after one ding
Hey we paved the way
27 Nov 2011, 21:16 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-361: Surfing, Kiteboarding, windsurfing, paddling, all the good stuff!
27 Nov 2011, 21:17 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-364:
Yeah I think it would be a good section to open here on Keo
For all those sports
27 Nov 2011, 21:18 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-363: Yeah you have to start somewhere.
I started windsurfing on the early ’80′s and the boards back them were as heavy as a house and it took over half an hour to rig.
Only later did things get more user friendly lol….
27 Nov 2011, 21:20 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-366:
Yes I also windsurfed in the 80′s yes the boards and rigs were huge
Kinda put me off windsurfing.
27 Nov 2011, 21:22 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-367: sailed when the wind came up, surfed when it was calmer.
Win-win.
27 Nov 2011, 21:23 pm
yes did you go to Blouberg? pumping 100 miles and hour
27 Nov 2011, 21:24 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-363:
always thought that max wetteland was the pioneer of surfboards back in the day.
introduced the first “pop-outs” for mass consumption.
the late baron stander was also part of the early durban surfboard scene.
but then read that john whitmore was the grand daddy of the foam board.
early photos show durban lifesavers riding plywood planks back in the dark ages
27 Nov 2011, 21:24 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-366:
Do remember Liz Parker from Computer Shop?
That’s when I started, It wasn’t that bad.
27 Nov 2011, 21:25 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-369: Yip. If you can sail there you can sail anywhere!
I used to laugh when the jhb guys would come down over December with there large lake sails. No use here!
I remember rigging a 3.6m (square) sail for some of those gales. Was a jol.
27 Nov 2011, 21:26 pm
@charo(charo)-370:
Yes John Whitmore was close friend of my dad
He made the best boards until others got into the business
Then he got into making the Hobie cats and his board making stopped
27 Nov 2011, 21:26 pm
@David(David)-371: LOL Liz Parker….. no I don’t think so. Was she hot?
27 Nov 2011, 21:27 pm
@charo(charo)-370:
wouldn’t be surprised if surfing in sa actually started in durbs.
reason why is that cpt surf spots were away from the city in those days – probably muizenberg.
whereas everything beachwise in durbs was right in front of the city.
hmmmm…might be an interesting study for someone…there you go cab?
27 Nov 2011, 21:27 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-372:
Yeah and they had the NSRI ready to catch the guys blown miles out to sea
27 Nov 2011, 21:28 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-372: there = their.
Sheesh, I’m beginning to spell like ET….
27 Nov 2011, 21:29 pm
@charo(charo)-375:
Naw, it was Cape Town
Muizenberg and glenn beach early days
and of course Clifton
27 Nov 2011, 21:31 pm
I surf TV channels
@charo(charo)-375:
A project for Skoppie maybe?
He knows Donald parrman
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-376: Yes true! I got into trouble off Langebaan once. Rigging broke and the drag was too strong to paddle in. I could have ditched the rigging and been OK but you guarded that stuff like gold, so I stuck with it longer than I should have.
Ski boat picked me up. Was practically half way on my way to Rio by then…..
Sometimes you get lucky in spite of yourself.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-374:
Very! She started the retail computer business in Cape Town. A genuine legend.
27 Nov 2011, 21:32 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-379: That’s not bad surfing Dawn!
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-373:
never came across whitmore boards until i moved to cpt early 70′s.
was brought up on wetteland and safari and later lamont.
still have my last board – “faith” of jb – on display in my porzie.
@David(David)-382: Dang. Opportunities missed
C’est la vie
27 Nov 2011, 21:34 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-378:
ok, we’ll agree to disagree until someone can come up with irrefutable truth 8)
27 Nov 2011, 21:35 pm
@charo(charo)-384:
Whitmore started to use the new foam
The older boards were horrible
I think one name i remember was Sunset surfboards
real kak
27 Nov 2011, 21:35 pm
@charo(charo)-384: Before my time.
I had a couple of Gavin Rudolf designs in the ’80s and early ’90s
27 Nov 2011, 21:36 pm
@charo(charo)-386:
Actually I will ask my boet he is still big wig in SA surfing so should have that information
27 Nov 2011, 21:37 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-381:
That channel at Langebaan could be a ******* at times. I was caught in the tide at the Knysna Heads once, and sh*t myself. Fins broke around me and it took a few minutes to realise that they were dolphins and not sharks.
27 Nov 2011, 21:37 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-388:
I remember Ggavin Rudolf
27 Nov 2011, 21:39 pm
@David(David)-390:
Yeah I spent many a weekend at langebaan
Built my own house there
Had the inflatables and used to do tow in surfing with a knee board at the beach a bit north from the main launching area
27 Nov 2011, 21:40 pm
@David(David)-390: LOL I never had that experience thankfully!
Yes the sea is to be respected at all times. Isn’t it amazing that just as you get too windgat it brings you back to reality?
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-391: Yes, nice boards. Affordable on my student budget at the time.
Windsurfing was always my first love though.
27 Nov 2011, 21:43 pm
It was Muizenberg 1919
http://www.surfingheritage.co.za/site/our_history
27 Nov 2011, 21:44 pm
And Dawn, it included a woman nogal
27 Nov 2011, 21:45 pm
seems i am outnumbered here – surrounded by capetonians 8)
still reckon that surfing in sa started in durbs.
reason being that wetsuits only came about in the 60′s.
before that who could even think of surfing in slaapstad?
27 Nov 2011, 21:47 pm
@charo(charo)-375:
never really got into surfing, but the surfing culture and being at one with nature and all that **** seems pretty good.
27 Nov 2011, 21:48 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-372:
I also remember watching the Vaalies at Sandvlei arrive in their BMWs with their designer wetsuits and designer girlfriends. They’d make a fuss of rigging up and then get wiped out 10 metres later when the wind hit.
27 Nov 2011, 21:48 pm
@charo(charo)-396:
but in those days men were men
(well if we could find it after a long surf session)
Muizenberg is pretty warm as you know (great whites seem to like it too)
Glen beach Clifton and Kom were cold yes
27 Nov 2011, 21:49 pm
Evening All
‘London Keo’ invited me to this game…… Was away for the weekend so missed the encounter, actually rather glad I did not see my Blue Bulls Boys humiliated!!
Victor, what was going on?
27 Nov 2011, 21:49 pm
@David(David)-398:
yeah , and then need to get rescued by a local 10 meters from shore
27 Nov 2011, 21:50 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-399:
I dipped my toe in the water at Blouberg in March…Fark me, took my breath away!
@charo(charo)-396:
You’re right about surfing starting in Durban.
Actually we used to leave them out there waving their arms as we chatted up their girlfriends
27 Nov 2011, 21:52 pm
@carol(carol)-402:
Hi Carol How are you ? Yes it can after a 5 day South easter its would get sooo cold
27 Nov 2011, 21:52 pm
@David(David)-398:
yeah but we always had bigger and better kit, just couldnt use it. something’s not right there.
27 Nov 2011, 21:53 pm
@David(David)-403:
did you see my link ? I think it was Muizenberg i think 1919
27 Nov 2011, 21:53 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-401:
I’d let them drown! Well almost.
27 Nov 2011, 21:54 pm
@David(David)-408:
Oh yes a few less vaalies to worry about
27 Nov 2011, 21:55 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-394:
very nice website.
looked under “publications” and that sa surfer vol 1 i bought as a young kid – will never forget that cover.
27 Nov 2011, 21:56 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-405:
I am really good thanks……However slightly miffed that we have not got our usual tickets for the Wales v Aus game.
Still managing to do some construction over there in the States?
27 Nov 2011, 21:57 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-407:
nice try but not convinced.
anyway, night all – school tomorrow.
27 Nov 2011, 21:58 pm
@carol(carol)-402:
I think it’s called an ******, who were you with?
27 Nov 2011, 21:58 pm
@charo(charo)-412:
Don’t forget to brush you teeth before bed!!
Nighty Night
27 Nov 2011, 21:59 pm
@carol(carol)-411:
Good to hear
I am still miffed about the Oz/bok game at WC and the foking ref
(that should bring in Hurrican
Construction in USA is non existant. I am battling along however.
27 Nov 2011, 21:59 pm
@David(David)-413:
Hehehh….A fellow blogger!!
27 Nov 2011, 22:00 pm
@charo(charo)-412:
27 Nov 2011, 22:01 pm
@carol(carol)-402:
Carol we used to surf without wet suits in that cold water
27 Nov 2011, 22:01 pm
Actually David, what is an ******* ?
27 Nov 2011, 22:02 pm
Orgas*m seems to be a rude word. No wonder that keo and friends are tight arsed.
Anyway, good night guys.
27 Nov 2011, 22:02 pm
@carol(carol)-419:
Yes i was wondering to?
Just change the spelling so it cant get censored
27 Nov 2011, 22:04 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-418:
How could you even think about that, no wet suit in that temperature.
I honestly could not even paddle without wincing!
Until I talked to you guys here I had no idea there was such a strong surf culture in South Africa!
You lot are passionate about your water sports.
27 Nov 2011, 22:04 pm
@David(David)-420:
nite
with the water that cold we could not find it let alone have an orga*m
27 Nov 2011, 22:05 pm
@carol(carol)-422:
Watch “Endless Summer” great movie and they go to SA
its funny too
27 Nov 2011, 22:06 pm
@David(David)-420:
David, really…..!!
Good Night
27 Nov 2011, 22:09 pm
S Easter blowing like the clappers here
27 Nov 2011, 22:10 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-423:
You are not selling this to me!!
It sounds almost painful!
‘Endless Summer’ right, one for the list!!
I must slip off now. Nice to catch up Coach, enjoy your afternoon.
27 Nov 2011, 22:10 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-426:
Your in for good weather
You going to Blouberg to dip your toe too?
27 Nov 2011, 22:11 pm
@carol(carol)-427:
Cheers Darling
27 Nov 2011, 22:15 pm
Hout Bay.
Always.
27 Nov 2011, 22:16 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-430:
My boet lives there
27 Nov 2011, 22:16 pm
Ok all I am off Cheers
27 Nov 2011, 22:17 pm
I go there if I can get past the Gautengers
27 Nov 2011, 22:19 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-433:
yes they stay away from the fishy smell at Hout bay
27 Nov 2011, 22:43 pm
Awwwwww…. why not a big group hug with lots of smileys?????
Yegads
28 Nov 2011, 03:45 am
@Bod(bod)-435:
So you come here on the site and make fun of people after they have left? Coward
If you dont like smiley faces then go f*&k yourself, You Pri@k
If it upsets thy that much then stay off this site and go get drunk on some Guiness
28 Nov 2011, 05:48 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-436:
hehehe, go coach, don’t hold back boet!
28 Nov 2011, 05:54 am
@whatever(whatever)-437:
Thanks mate
How are you ?
28 Nov 2011, 06:14 am
@Caper(Caper)-101:
Very well said
Victor is a heck of a lock and rugby player and this irrelevant Baa Baas game did not define or diminish his career
He had an amazing playing career for both the boks and Bulls and was one of the best locks ever to play the game
28 Nov 2011, 07:17 am
I think that over the last couple of decades the Barbarians games have lost a lot of their magic.
These days they really seem to ho-hum affairs that nobody takes seriously at all.
As someone said earlier in the thread… perhaps they should be confined to playing SH teams after they’ve played all their Tests in the end-of-year tour… as a last crack with the best Europe has to offer… I seem to remember in the old days the teams would be largely European with one or two SH players…
anyway… a largely inconsequential game… with all the excitement of metal rust…
But have to say… IMO… proved beyond doubt that James O’Connor should play at Number 10 for the Rebels and for Aus… The kid just makes things happen…
I honestly believe if he is given the jersey for a year (and hopefully longer) he will become one of the all-time great flyhalves…
28 Nov 2011, 07:21 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-439:
Hi Pete,
If you are still around, sorry I missed you guys last night, seems I baled just before a good session was about to start.
The names of the boards you blokes mentioned brought back many memories. I started with a Safari (Spider) and as a good Capetonian should do “progressed” to a Tich Paul- 6 feet 3 inches single fin in those days- still have the remains of it.
Saw an interesting article in the argus on Sunday re the “turf wars” in Hawai- becoming more and more violent it seems- mainly Hawaiians taking exception to the Brazilians who they claim do not show “respect” for the locals- sounds familiar lol- luckily not as bad here (as yet) – I will check up on the history – got a book on it at home – but I think Charo might be right, it probably started in Durban.
28 Nov 2011, 07:39 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-380:
Old Donald is still kicking.
Check him on you tube chatting about competitions and stringless surfboards:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ZSY6nnLtRw
28 Nov 2011, 07:41 am
Matfield should have done his talking on the field not in the media – well it should be a breath of fresh air for the Bok supporters that the old guard has gone – the desire seems to have disappeared completely.
28 Nov 2011, 07:51 am
Henry and Hansen disrespected the Barbarians tradition and put the concept in danger. Shame on them.
28 Nov 2011, 07:59 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-444:
huh…?
how did they do that BH…?
what did i miss…?
28 Nov 2011, 10:02 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-138:
So nice to hear your bleating continues unabated.
Long may it continue.