Wallabies add to Matfield’s woe

JON CARDINELLI watched the Wallabies thrash the Barbarians 60-11 to ensure Victor Matfield’s international career ended on a depressing note.

Australia edged South Africa 11-9 in last month’s World Cup quarter-final, a result that stretched their record against the Springboks in 2011 to three from three. This Saturday’s fixture at Twickenham represented a final attempt at revenge for Matfield, but as much as he tried as an individual, he couldn’t lift the collective to the point where they could mount any real challenge.

The result sees the Baa Baas missing out on a hat-trick of wins against the Sanzar nations, having beaten New Zealand in 2009 and South Africa in 2010. It also sees Wallabies coach Robbie Deans getting one over the All Blacks’ Graham Henry and Steve Hansen, who took charge of the Barbarians for this particular encounter.

The Baa Baas looked a disinterested and disjointed bunch for much of the contest. They butchered two early try-scoring opportunites, and failed to make the Wallabies pay when Adam Ashley-Cooper and James Slipper were yellow-carded at separate intervals in the first half.

The visitors struggled to fire early on, but certainly looked the more structured and ambitious of the two teams. It finally came together in the 26th minute when flyhalf James O’Connor found Digby Ioane, who proceeded to expose some poor Barbarians defence.

This aspect of the Baa Baas’ game grew worse as the game progressed. They managed to keep the Wallabies in check in the first half thanks to the two yellow cards, but in the second stanza, there was no stopping the relentless green and gold wave.

The Wallabies’ bench provided the desired impetus, but the defensive effort of the Barbarians was nothing short of shocking. In a definitive period between the 40th and 70th minute, those wearing the black and white hoops ushered the Wallabies to the tryline no less than five times.

It will go down as the worst performance by a Barbarians side in recent times. Although they managed to score one consolatory try in injury time through young league star Sam Tomkins, it was the gutless defensive effort that will anger officials and members of an extremely proud and elite club.

446 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

• 351.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Morning all. Just reading all the stuff about surfing etc :)

• 352.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-347: it’s very funny. it’s on youtube, type in “Nandos last dictator”

• 353.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Hi Charo Robzim and skoppie and stormersboy

• 354.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I suppose they the only people here!
    :evil:

• 355.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Get Shorty on tv. My fave.

• 356.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

oh sorry Dawn :) sorry about that

• 357.charo: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-353:

howzit pete

@Dawn(Dawn)-354:

good evening madam

• 358.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-355:
    Just you were not talking surfing :)
    Can you surf Dawn?

• 359.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-353: Hey Coach :)

• 360.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Many good memories about surfing with the Parrmans
    and with Peter Whipp too

• 361.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-359:
    Keo should have a surfing section here :)

• 362.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-360: Did they still make the boards out of wood in those days ? :)

• 363.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-362:
    Nope foam :)
    John Whitmore made them he was out of Bakoven
    Good boards with stringers
    Although the cheaper boards were made of the older type foam
    and got waterlogged quick after one ding

Hey we paved the way :)

• 364.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-361: Surfing, Kiteboarding, windsurfing, paddling, all the good stuff!

• 365.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-364:
    Yeah I think it would be a good section to open here on Keo
    For all those sports

• 366.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-363: Yeah you have to start somewhere. :)

I started windsurfing on the early ’80′s and the boards back them were as heavy as a house and it took over half an hour to rig.

Only later did things get more user friendly lol….

• 367.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-366:
    Yes I also windsurfed in the 80′s yes the boards and rigs were huge
    Kinda put me off windsurfing.

• 368.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-367: sailed when the wind came up, surfed when it was calmer.

Win-win.

• 369.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

yes did you go to Blouberg? pumping 100 miles and hour :)

• 370.charo: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-363:

always thought that max wetteland was the pioneer of surfboards back in the day.

introduced the first “pop-outs” for mass consumption.

the late baron stander was also part of the early durban surfboard scene.

but then read that john whitmore was the grand daddy of the foam board.

early photos show durban lifesavers riding plywood planks back in the dark ages

• 371.David: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-366:
    That’s when I started, It wasn’t that bad. :lol: Do remember Liz Parker from Computer Shop?

• 372.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-369: Yip. If you can sail there you can sail anywhere!

I used to laugh when the jhb guys would come down over December with there large lake sails. No use here!

I remember rigging a 3.6m (square) sail for some of those gales. Was a jol.

• 373.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-370:
    Yes John Whitmore was close friend of my dad
    He made the best boards until others got into the business
    Then he got into making the Hobie cats and his board making stopped

• 374.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-371: LOL Liz Parker….. no I don’t think so. Was she hot? :)

• 375.charo: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-370:

wouldn’t be surprised if surfing in sa actually started in durbs.

reason why is that cpt surf spots were away from the city in those days – probably muizenberg.

whereas everything beachwise in durbs was right in front of the city.

hmmmm…might be an interesting study for someone…there you go cab?

• 376.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-372:
    Yeah and they had the NSRI ready to catch the guys blown miles out to sea :)

• 377.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-372: there = their.

Sheesh, I’m beginning to spell like ET….

• 378.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-375:
    Naw, it was Cape Town :)
    Muizenberg and glenn beach early days
    and of course Clifton :)

• 379.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I surf TV channels

• 380.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-375:
    A project for Skoppie maybe?
    He knows Donald parrman :)

• 381.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-376: Yes true! I got into trouble off Langebaan once. Rigging broke and the drag was too strong to paddle in. I could have ditched the rigging and been OK but you guarded that stuff like gold, so I stuck with it longer than I should have.

Ski boat picked me up. Was practically half way on my way to Rio by then…..

Sometimes you get lucky in spite of yourself.

• 382.David: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-374:
    Very! She started the retail computer business in Cape Town. A genuine legend.

• 383.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-379: That’s not bad surfing Dawn!

• 384.charo: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-373:

never came across whitmore boards until i moved to cpt early 70′s.

was brought up on wetteland and safari and later lamont.

still have my last board – “faith” of jb – on display in my porzie.

• 385.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-382: Dang. Opportunities missed :)

C’est la vie

• 386.charo: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-378:

ok, we’ll agree to disagree until someone can come up with irrefutable truth 8)

• 387.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-384:
    Whitmore started to use the new foam
    The older boards were horrible
    I think one name i remember was Sunset surfboards
    real kak

• 388.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-384: Before my time.

I had a couple of Gavin Rudolf designs in the ’80s and early ’90s

• 389.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-386:
    Actually I will ask my boet he is still big wig in SA surfing so should have that information

• 390.David: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-381:
    That channel at Langebaan could be a ******* at times. I was caught in the tide at the Knysna Heads once, and sh*t myself. Fins broke around me and it took a few minutes to realise that they were dolphins and not sharks. :lol:

• 391.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-388:
    I remember Ggavin Rudolf :)

• 392.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-390:
    Yeah I spent many a weekend at langebaan
    Built my own house there :)
    Had the inflatables and used to do tow in surfing with a knee board at the beach a bit north from the main launching area

• 393.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-390: LOL I never had that experience thankfully!

Yes the sea is to be respected at all times. Isn’t it amazing that just as you get too windgat it brings you back to reality?

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-391: Yes, nice boards. Affordable on my student budget at the time.

Windsurfing was always my first love though.

• 394.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

It was Muizenberg 1919 :)
    http://www.surfingheritage.co.za/site/our_history

• 395.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

And Dawn, it included a woman nogal :)

• 396.charo: Reply to this comment

seems i am outnumbered here – surrounded by capetonians 8)

still reckon that surfing in sa started in durbs.

reason being that wetsuits only came about in the 60′s.

before that who could even think of surfing in slaapstad?

• 397.cab: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-375:
    never really got into surfing, but the surfing culture and being at one with nature and all that **** seems pretty good.

• 398.David: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-372:
    I also remember watching the Vaalies at Sandvlei arrive in their BMWs with their designer wetsuits and designer girlfriends. They’d make a fuss of rigging up and then get wiped out 10 metres later when the wind hit. :lol:

• 399.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-396:
    Muizenberg is pretty warm as you know (great whites seem to like it too)
    Glen beach Clifton and Kom were cold yes :) but in those days men were men :) (well if we could find it after a long surf session) :)

• 400.carol: Reply to this comment

Evening All

‘London Keo’ invited me to this game…… Was away for the weekend so missed the encounter, actually rather glad I did not see my Blue Bulls Boys humiliated!!

Victor, what was going on?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.