SA 7s draw Kiwis for Dubai

The Springbok Sevens and New Zealand have been seeded in the same pool for the Dubai Sevens next weekend.

Fiji’s 26-12 victory over the Kiwis saw the defending World Series champions drawn as the top seed of Pool B. The Blitzboks finished third, but France and Wales were the lucky picks from the Cup quarter-finalist bag to be the top seeds of Pool C and Pool D respectively. USA and Portugal complete Pool B.

Gold Coast Sevens champions Fiji find themselves with Pacific Island rivals Samoa in Pool A, along with Argentina and UAE. Pool D is the toughest group of the competition as Wales, Australia and Scotland will be competing for a Cup quarterfinal place.

Dubai Sevens pools:
Pool A: Fiji, Samoa, Argentina and UAE
Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, USA and Portugal
Pool C: France, England, Kenya and Zimbabwe
Pool D: Wales, Australia, Scotland and Canada